Stats: 3,156,205 members, 7,829,312 topics. Date: Thursday, 16 May 2024 at 01:38 AM

Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] (6959 Views)

Owerri Flyover And Ado Ekiti Flyover Which Looks Beautiful : Pictures / LP, PDP Used Russian Hackers To Hack INEC Servers - APC Official (Photos) / President Buhari Wears Igbo, Yoruba & Hausa Attires As He Accepts APC Ticket (2) (3) (4)

Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Nobody: 7:27am On Jun 12, 2023
1. Wearing the normal West African/Nigerian agbada with the red Igbo cap
2. Wearing the Isi Agu with the red igbo cap

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Nobody: 7:29am On Jun 12, 2023
The agbada and igbo cap was popularised by Zik in his official portrait

14 Likes 1 Share

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Igwe9(m): 7:29am On Jun 12, 2023
The second one

26 Likes 1 Share

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by MrAmbrose(m): 7:30am On Jun 12, 2023
The first.

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Dpen11(f): 7:31am On Jun 12, 2023
Obi cubana

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by magoo10(m): 7:31am On Jun 12, 2023
The second one
Igboamaka

31 Likes

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by kokoA(m): 7:32am On Jun 12, 2023
Who really owns agbada sef? Seems every tribe within the entire West Africa sees agbada as traditional attire.

24 Likes

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by NOC1(m): 7:32am On Jun 12, 2023
The first is not full igbo attire, the second is more official

35 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Nobody: 7:34am On Jun 12, 2023
kokoA:
Who really owns agbada sef? Seems every tribe within the entire West Africa sees agbada as traditional attire.
which is not bad....but it was most likely popularised by Nigerian politicians.

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Nobody: 7:36am On Jun 12, 2023
The isi agu was popularised by Michael okpara

23 Likes

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Maize247(f): 7:38am On Jun 12, 2023
The first one is mostly popular with the Yorubas

13 Likes

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by kokoA(m): 7:39am On Jun 12, 2023
Razgas:
which is not bad....but it was most likely popularised by Nigerian politicians.
True and they have also made it a symbol of corruption. I like these modern designs better, quite simple and classy unlike the normal old school babanriga, atleast it shows the younger generation "might" be different from these current criminals.

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Nobody: 7:45am On Jun 12, 2023
kokoA:
True and they have also made it a symbol of corruption. I like these modern designs better, quite simple and classy unlike the normal old school babanriga, atleast it shows the younger generation "might" be different from these current criminals.
lol...this is funny cheesy

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Nobody: 7:46am On Jun 12, 2023
Maize247:
it's a pan Nigerian dress.
This is the yoruba own

25 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by christejames(m): 7:56am On Jun 12, 2023
The second one is more official for an average Igbo man...

15 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by spy24(m): 7:59am On Jun 12, 2023
The first one is a northern Nigeria style

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by lastmessenger: 8:00am On Jun 12, 2023
The real official Igbo attire is isiagu. That agbada is too clumsy and dull to my liking

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Nobody: 8:02am On Jun 12, 2023
spy24:
The first one is a northern Nigeria style
you may not notice the subtle difference but this hausa agbada is different from the Nigerian modern agbada that obi cabana was wearing.

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by incandescentena: 8:05am On Jun 12, 2023
Someone should please post BUHARIs picture wearing the isi agu... grin

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by mrvitalis(m): 8:16am On Jun 12, 2023
Maize247:
Yorubas and Hausa starch their agbada Igbos don't ...the material should be very soft

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by backtovillage: 8:16am On Jun 12, 2023
kokoA:
Yoruba I think

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by mrvitalis(m): 8:17am On Jun 12, 2023
Razgas:
1. Wearing the normal West African/Nigerian agbada with the red Igbo cap
2. Wearing the Isi Agu with the red igbo cap

Personally neither
I prefer this ones below tho less popular but I love it

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by mrvitalis(m): 8:24am On Jun 12, 2023
backtovillage:

Yoruba I think
Everyone has theres it's a west African dress
Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Ttipsy(f): 8:27am On Jun 12, 2023
If I be president
I will ban all this nonsense of dress!

If you can't dress on suits or corporate you can't run for an election let alone occupy official Post.

I don't like traditional wears I'm sorry about this. It makes them look stupid

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by dealslip(f): 8:28am On Jun 12, 2023
The second one. It is not just a clothing it is an identity. A five year old can easily relate it as an igbo traditional attire.
The first one isn't clearly Igbo. Everyone in west Africa wears an Agbada. The cap is usually the distinctive factor among the tribe but then the red cap is not necessarily Igbo. People from Nassarawa and Taraba easily put on that type of red cap too, though slightly wine color.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by nazicartel(m): 8:39am On Jun 12, 2023
dealslip:
The second one. It is not just a clothing it is an identity. A five year old can easily relate it as an igbo traditional attire.
The first one isn't clearly Igbo. Everyone in west Africa wears an Agbada. The cap is usually the distinctive factor among the tribe but then the red cap is not necessarily Igbo. People from Nassarawa and Taraba easily put on that type of red cap too, though slightly wine color.
red cap differs

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Nobody: 8:42am On Jun 12, 2023
Ttipsy:
If I be president

If you can't dress on suits or corporate you can't run for an election let alone occupy official Post.

there are laws like that in Eastern African countries and southern African countries

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by IkeIgboNiile(m): 8:44am On Jun 12, 2023
Ttipsy
If I be president

This is why you'll hold elective position. How can an African talk of banning traditional wears for European wears.
Just the same stupidity that goes on during African awards. Where you'll see celebrities going broke just to afford an European gown for an African event.

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by dealslip(f): 8:46am On Jun 12, 2023
nazicartel:
red cap differs
Read again. I indicated the difference there
Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Nobody: 8:51am On Jun 12, 2023
IkeIgboNiile:
Ttipsy
If I be president

This is why you'll hold elective position. How can an African talk of banning traditional wears for European wears.
Just the same stupidity that goes on during African awards. Where you'll see celebrities going broke just to afford an European gown for an African event.
I used to think like Ttipsy. The reason is because there are laws like that in Asian countries and I can tell you now that their cultures are deeper than ours. But you will never find a Chinese or Japanese politician dressed in traditional attire.
However I now realise that the Europeans actually now are starting to appreciate our culture. I once dressed in my isi agu in Australia and many white people kept telling me how they love it

Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Nobody: 9:02am On Jun 12, 2023
mrvitalis:

Personally neither
I prefer this ones below tho less popular but I love it
they also look alright but doesn't have a name yet
Re: Between These Two Igbo Attires Which Looks More Official [Photos] by Ttipsy(f): 9:03am On Jun 12, 2023
Razgas:
there are laws like that in Eastern African countries and southern African countries
I don't understand why they dress as if official position or corporation is a traditional or masquerade expedition

It doesn't make sense! Even Ghana, SA, Kenya, recently Saudi Arabia, turkey all dress really attractive on suites.. as long as you have a public/official position

Violence In Sokoto? Not Religious/Political Says Police / S’East Plots To Dump PDP, Plans Merging APGA With ACN? / Fraudulent Marketers To Refund Subsidy Payments & Face Trial

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 36