Stats: 3,152,717 members, 7,816,954 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 09:04 PM

See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food - Food - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food (5480 Views)

Nigerian Families Struggle To Survive As Food Prices Soar - Al Jazeera / Honeywell Spaghetti Releases “Mini” Version As Food Prices Increase (Photos) / NAFDAC Warns Nigerians On Consumption Of Animal Hides And Skin (ponmo) As Food (2) (3) (4)

See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:25pm On Aug 26, 2023
Me I am Igbo and from when I was born till now I have eaten just one insect.

(Roasted cricket).

Although some of my Igbo brothers and sisters eat some insect that flies when it rains I see it in the market I have never tasted it .

I have seen uroboh people eating edible worms.

Many food might look yuk or wow to you.

But that is why it's good to explore.

Let me show you.

Feel free to point the ones you love or the ones that bring back memories.

Follow me let's go

Palm Weevil larvae

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by illicit(m): 1:28pm On Aug 26, 2023
The worm is delicious

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:29pm On Aug 26, 2023
Number 2 here is snake.

Same people say it tastes like fish.

Me I don't understand how hunger will make someone to be eyeing snake Sha

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:29pm On Aug 26, 2023
illicit:
This worm is sweet

Sweet how ?

Heard it tastes sour because it's filled with palm wine .

Any health benefits?
Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by opera1(m): 1:30pm On Aug 26, 2023
Uyomiya:
Me I am Igbo and from when I was born till now I have eaten just one insect.

(Roasted cricket).

Although some of my Igbo brothers and sisters eat some insect that flies when it rains I see it in the market I have never tasted it .

I have seen uroboh people eating edible worms.

Many food might look yuk or wow to you.

But that is why it's good to explore.

Let me show you.

Feel free to point the ones you love or the ones that bring back memories.

Follow me let's go

Palm Weevil larvae

Highly proteious with saturated fat

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:32pm On Aug 26, 2023
Number 3 Winged termites

This is the one I said it's being sold in the market.

I have seen it in imo state, it's being sold in cups like rice with sliced pepper, people chew it like snacks

21 Likes 1 Share

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by illicit(m): 1:32pm On Aug 26, 2023
Uyomiya:

Sweet how ?

Heard it tastes sour because it's filled with palm wine .

Any health benefits?

I don't know about the benefits tho but I know it must be nutritious

It's sour if u eat it raw, I can't.

It's delicious if u cook it in Stew or soup. tongue

It's found in Palm trees

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:33pm On Aug 26, 2023
illicit:

I don't know about the benefits tho but I know it must be nutritious

It's sour if u eat it raw, I can't.

It's sweet if u cook it in Stew or soup. tongue

It's found in Palm trees

I had someone taste It in the car back during my NYSC .

It was roasted with fresh pepper on tiny sticks by the roadside.

According to few in the vehicle it was sweet , according to some it was awful

Picture example is below

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Chinjo2: 1:35pm On Aug 26, 2023
Add frog join am
Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:37pm On Aug 26, 2023
Number 4 grasshopper.

Is this for snack abi e get taste when different like I don't understand

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by kestolove95(m): 1:38pm On Aug 26, 2023
If no n cow, goat nd chicken count me out

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:39pm On Aug 26, 2023
Chinjo2:
Add frog join am

Frog no bad oo.

Some part of ebonyi,Kwara and Benue dey chop.

Called jumping chicken.

I go like taste am

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:40pm On Aug 26, 2023
kestolove95:
Even Grasshopper men dey chop am

My elder brother buy grasshopper full nylon him and e guys use am drink beer.

My eyes wan fall that day

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:41pm On Aug 26, 2023
opera1:

Highly proteious with saturated fat

Cool
Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:43pm On Aug 26, 2023
Number 5 Agama lizard

Oboi okay let's continue

Agama lizards were very popular during the civil war when there was little to eat. Now it is something that is eaten, not quite often and especially by children in rural areas who are adventurous. The lizard is roasted for its meat.

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by opera1(m): 1:44pm On Aug 26, 2023
Uyomiya:
Number 3 Winged termites

This is the one I said it's being sold in the market.

I have seen it in imo state, it's being sold in cups like rice with sliced pepper, people chew it like snacks

Rich in protein too
Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:45pm On Aug 26, 2023
Number 6 caterpillars

You can find the black worms in fried, dried or roasted state, being sold in local village markets in Nigeria. They can be eaten roasted or used in soups and stews.

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:46pm On Aug 26, 2023
opera1:

Rich in protein too

I have not tasted it .

I can't bring my mind to do it , but I will try it let me just see
Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by illicit(m): 1:47pm On Aug 26, 2023
I can never eat Lizard

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:48pm On Aug 26, 2023
Number 7 dog meat.

As for me if I try everything on the list I will never try dog meat.

I train dogs and they are wonderful creatures that behave like humans

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:49pm On Aug 26, 2023
illicit:
I can never eat Lizard

Such is life and people rush it .

That is why I said some may sound yuck or wow

That's life
Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by illicit(m): 1:50pm On Aug 26, 2023
Uyomiya:

Such is life and people rush it .

That is why I said some may sound yuck or wow

That's life

Yes

I have never ate grasshoppers too

But u see frog ehn, it's very delicious
Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 1:52pm On Aug 26, 2023
illicit:

Yes

I have never ate grasshoppers too

But u see frog ehn, it's very delicious

I go like taste frog.

I mean what can go wrong, na meat na

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 2:14pm On Aug 26, 2023
Number 8 Tortoise

Omo

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 2:16pm On Aug 26, 2023
Number 9 Alligator

I have seen this in warri also ibudu market in warri and it's like normal.
I have not tasted it , I will love to try .

Just confused because I heard if you don't Cook it right it's poisonous.

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 2:23pm On Aug 26, 2023
Number 10 snails

Some people forbid it , but I love it I have tasted it and it is cool .

Although the bigger ones are expensive, you can get just one piece for 500 and if you are buying in a hotel one can be 1000 naira .

20 Likes

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by loosecanon50(m): 2:26pm On Aug 26, 2023
Any weird food wey pass winged termites, abeg I no chop. Yuck

6 Likes 3 Shares

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by mightyhaze: 2:27pm On Aug 26, 2023
illicit:
This worm is sweet
delicious actually

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 2:28pm On Aug 26, 2023
Number 11 rat

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 2:33pm On Aug 26, 2023
loosecanon50:
Any weird food wey pass winged termites, abeg I no chop. Yuck

Hahahahah that one when you call fit still be yuck for another person

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 2:33pm On Aug 26, 2023
Number 12 bat

Re: See Weird Things Nigerians Consume As Food by Uyomiya: 2:40pm On Aug 26, 2023
mightyhaze:
delicious actually

Hmmm

Woman Keeps Changing Expiry Date Of Gala / High Quality Protein / Enviroshade

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 23