Stats: 3,152,744 members, 7,817,056 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 01:42 AM

Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week (16866 Views)

FG Begins Payment Of Wage Award For November / FG To Clear N35,000 Wage Award Arrears, Resume Payment / Nkeiruka Onyejeocha Loses Re-election To Lp's Ogah (2) (3) (4)

Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by ijustdey: 4:52pm On Feb 14
The leadership of the organised labour has maintained that major actions it is planning to carry out after a 14-day ultimatum it gave expired would…

The leadership of the organised labour has maintained that major actions it is planning to carry out after a 14-day ultimatum it gave expired would go on as planned if the federal government does not resolve all the issues it raised.

This is just the federal government, begging the two labour centres to withdraw their notice of strike issued last week Thursday over what it described as non-implementation of 16-point agreement it reached during October last year negotiation meeting.

Nkeiruka Onyejeocha, Minister of State for Labour and Employment, who made this plea at a meeting with the two leaderships of both Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and Trade Union Congress (TUC), promised again that the government would resume payment of N35,000 wage award to workers.

Daily Trust reports that the federal government has only paid N35,000 wage award to workers twice since September 2023 when the payment was initiated as agreed by both parties – the development many workers had described as “unfair”.

Speaking before the meeting went into a closed-door, Onyejeocha explained that the government had stepped up efforts to complete the implementation of those agreements, adding that she convened the meeting in order to brief the two Labour centres on the progress of the implementation.

“It is true we entered into an agreement, but the government has shown good faith, and considering the urgency of the issue at hand, I called this meeting because dialogue has always been the best way out, and we are all for the well-being of our people.

“I am here to show good cause on why some agreement has not been met,” the minister told the gathering led by the NLC President, Joe Ajaero and his counterpart from TUC, Festus Osifo at the headquarters of ministry of Labour and Employment.

She noted that while the reaction of the labour organisations was not unwarranted in the face of government’s non-completion of the agreement, bearing in mind that some items in the agreement could only be achieved in stages.

She assured them of President Bola’s sincerity of purpose and unflinching dedication to the implementation of that agreement, adding that he would leave no stone unturned to satisfy the demands of the labour organisations.

But the President of NLC, Joe Ajaero, enjoined the Federal Government to be committed to beating the deadline of the 14-day ultimatum, which started on 9th February 2024, by ensuring the implementation of that agreement.

Ajaero, who declared that the organised labour had resolved to stand by their ultimatum, and that every party to the agreement should endeavour to live up to expectation for the interest of Nigerians and the government, stressed that the Congress would always fulfil its part of the bargain, so long as the federal government would do same.

https://dailytrust.com/well-resume-payment-of-wage-award-this-week-fg/

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by MADIFF: 4:58pm On Feb 14
grin 35k half bag of rice money. grin

They know Nigerians like bribe like stipend.

Instead of that why not use the money for public infrastructure for benefit of all, 90% of us don't work for the government at all levels.

18 Likes

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by slivertongue: 4:59pm On Feb 14
disasterous govt

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by Ogiame: 5:14pm On Feb 14
So if NLC did not make this move, the federal government would have only paid N35,000 wage award to workers twice since September 2023 when the payment was initiated as agreed by both parties?

It will not be well with anyone supporting this wicked government.

55 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by surgical: 5:24pm On Feb 14
Tinubu is not there for Nigerians but for himself and friends, the earlier Nigerians get this the better for them, they should resist the brain wash by his supporters who doesn't know better
A very good example is the salary award promised to workers 35k,pension 25k since he promised this he has only paid workers 2times pensioners nothing, meanwhile it is his policies that has devalued peoples income and thereby making them poorer,he deceived the labour union with announcements of the award he does not intend to fulfil because the people mean nothing to him,but he was quick to buy 160million naira vehicles for each national assembly members without delay, billions in renovation without delay, humongous allowances for legislators and ministers without delay,approve 500m for inauguration of wage committe he will not implement its report,wastages and corruption everywhere but anything that can give people some respite will have to take backstage,is that how a leader behaves
Tinubu as a leader is wicked, insensitive,callous and selfish.
He believes so much in his propaganda machinery to always bail him out.

47 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by olatade(m): 5:42pm On Feb 14
Only one month is coming on Friday just to scam our union leaders

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by gaby(m): 6:18pm On Feb 14
Wetin the wage award wan buy?

Is it garri, ewa, or agbado?

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by Wealthoptulent(m): 6:44pm On Feb 14
ijustdey:
The leadership of the organised labour has maintained that major actions it is planning to carry out after a 14-day ultimatum it gave expired would…

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by slaawomirr: 6:44pm On Feb 14
Damnnn niggarrrr

Bunch of moda fuckkkers

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by MorolayoVictor(m): 6:45pm On Feb 14
I don't believe you.
Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by cjudy(m): 6:45pm On Feb 14
What’s 35k? Make thunder fire all of una.

You’re paying $20 as minimum wage. Money for 2hrs job in Canada. Make Ogun kill all of you wicked politicians and leaders

11 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by tnerro1(m): 6:46pm On Feb 14
If you believe that woman, then I go show you where u can buy fuel #20 per gallon

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by merits(m): 6:46pm On Feb 14
ijustdey:

Lamba as usual fake news.

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by Kemadealadire(f): 6:47pm On Feb 14
Lol, when they don't go on strike again, you won't pay until when they announce another strike action, this government sha, smh.

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by surgical: 6:47pm On Feb 14
olatade:
Only one month is coming on Friday just to scam our union leaders
Tinubu na scam from time immemorial

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by uba1991: 6:48pm On Feb 14
Stupid people, just because of the 14 days NLC gave to Tinubu abi?

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by youngrichnigga: 6:53pm On Feb 14
Government of "we will, plan to, intend to"

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by FARA4GA: 6:56pm On Feb 14
Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by laivwire(m): 7:18pm On Feb 14
"We will" all the time

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by israelmao(m): 7:20pm On Feb 14
Heartless,wicked and clueless government that performs economic surgery without anaesthesia.And it's surprising that the subsidy said to have been removed is now being paid through the backdoor according to IMF.

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by bluefilm: 7:21pm On Feb 14
Nonsense angry

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by FireUpNow(m): 7:39pm On Feb 14
Swahili language
Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by WakeUpNigerians: 7:40pm On Feb 14
FG and NLC Leaders are just working together to scam Nigerians!

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by Bimpe29: 7:45pm On Feb 14
The height of government insensitivity is disturbing.

Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by felix2018: 7:47pm On Feb 14
NA WAITING THE PEOPLE WANT BI DIS LIARS AT ALL LEVELS OF GOVERNMENT
MAKE UNA REMEMBER SAY UNA VOTE FOR AM grin grin grin grin grin grin grin
Re: Nkeiruka Onyejeocha: We Will Resume Payment Of Wage Award This Week by Pinicop(m): 7:52pm On Feb 14
Most governors, including Kano state, didn't pay a dime as wage award to civil servants despite the fact that they collected billions of Naira for the FG.

Kano governor keep deceiving the state civil servants that he will pay them 20k for six months. But apparently he was lying as 5 - 6 months has already passed.

LP: Appeal Court affirms Abure as National Chairman, orders Apapa to pay N1m / Former Abia Policeman Sentenced To Death By Hanging / Mobolaji Johnson: Sanwo-Olu Mourns Death Of The First Governor Of Lagos

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 24