Nairaland General › Re: Re: Immigrate To Canada Through AIPP Part 1 by achievep: 12:27am On Sep 15, 2020 |
TV/Movies › Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by achievep: 6:41am On Aug 22, 2020 |
TV/Movies › Re: What Movie Did You Watch Today? by achievep: 6:37am On Aug 22, 2020 |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by achievep: 6:11am On Aug 18, 2020 |
There is a course you can take with SOPA Online. You can check out their website and register as long as you have your COPR already. Mamaroon: So just curious...I've heard it said that we can't be spraying our "parfum" anyhow because of collegues' allergies, please is there any other workplace "etiquette" we should prepare ourselves for? Firm handshake, eye contact...tick.....but are there any other nuances a typical Nigerian should pay attention to?
Weather for small talk...ok.....but do you talk hobbies, holidays etc with your colleagues....or are these consided personal?
And ladies...do you make our hair however you like to work: braids (moderate length, not the 30inches kind), crochet, locs, kinky, twists, thread (kiko) ? Makeup, nails, jewellery? Just seems Canadian employers are very easy going, mellow and I wonder what's considered "ok" versus "too much".
Also when you move houses, do you go say hello to your new neighbour or is that nosey? |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 by achievep: 5:35am On Aug 18, 2020 |
Congrats on the ITA. Have you been added to the group now? Queenmaker: Hello, good people! I got ITA email from Saskatchewan early hours of today. Please can I be added to an SINP WHATSAPP group so I can submit my documents with absolutely no errors. Telegram ID is @Queenmaker . Thank you. |
TV/Movies › Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by achievep: 5:12am On Aug 15, 2020 |
TV/Movies › Re: What Movie Did You Watch Today? by achievep: 5:08am On Aug 15, 2020 |
Nairaland General › Re: Re: Immigrate To Canada Through AIPP Part 1 by achievep: 4:24am On Aug 14, 2020 |
Amen and amen �� Pejudear: To all the seniors in the house: weldone and thanks for the great insight. To all that has cross over through this AIPP: congratulations. We shall all testify this year whether covid or no covid |
Nairaland General › Re: Re: Immigrate To Canada Through AIPP Part 1 by achievep: 4:21am On Aug 14, 2020 |
You are in the right company ���� UmmuYusroh: Thanks for referring me here. It seems I will be asking lot of questions because I don't want to make any mistake in my application. Have created an account in their site and have chosen the program that am interested in. After this, is it payment that I have to make or what is the next procedure? |
Nairaland General › Re: Re: Immigrate To Canada Through AIPP Part 1 by achievep: 4:44am On Aug 12, 2020 |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by achievep: 4:39am On Aug 12, 2020 |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 by achievep: 4:38am On Aug 12, 2020 |
No worries. You can send me a PM. Thanks Zeus04: Wow! Thanks for sharing...quite inspiring!
Meanwhile, good things for you guys... I saw a recent tweet from Justin that the monthly child care support stipend is going up by over 50%...was really wowed! And kept thinking how good a country Canny is... Funny, the news came just when I was frustrated with our Naija leaders for the useless NDDC peeps that misappropriated 1.3b.
If you guys (You and @Ednut) don't mind... Would like to connect with you peeps via mobile. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 by achievep: 4:37am On Aug 12, 2020 |
You are welcome �� maak400: Thanks a lot sir |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by achievep: 4:34am On Aug 12, 2020 |
I don’t know much about South West communities as ai live in North West (Nolan Hill). You can check rentfaster.ca to get an idea of the communities in the South West. However, if you see some communities that are of interest, do let me know and I can ask some friends. You should use the school you have chosen as guide to determine the communities you want to explore. All the best oludolao: Thank you so much for this. I am seriously considering Calgary now, the schools I am interested in are on the southwest side. Can you tell me about good and walkable communities in this area. Thanks.
quote author=achievep post=92684984]I live in Calgary and I love it. The people in Edmonton May say the same thing. So, you will need to come up with a criteria to help you decide on the city that works for you. I believe the cost of living is similar in both cities.
As regards Calgary, there are Nigerians in almost every part of the city. I chose to live in North West because that is where I have friends that helped with setting down. Aside family, you need to consider school for your children if you are married with children. You should also consider the city you believe will give you the best chance of getting a job.
You can check https://africaextended.com/things-that-matter/how-to-select-the-right-canadian-province-and-city-to-land/ for things to consider in selecting the right city for you.
If you need more clarification, please let me know. Thanks and all the best |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 by achievep: 6:46am On Jul 25, 2020 |
You can go ahead to create your profile. However, if there is any way to improve your IELTS score, please explore it, if you decide to write the exam again, try to target a minimum average score of 8. All the best maak400: I got my IELTS results yesterday. My people I hope this is good enough pls. Can I proceed with creating express entry profile?
Listening 8.5 Reading 7.0 Writing 6.5 Speaking 7.0
Overall 7.5 |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 by achievep: 6:44am On Jul 25, 2020 |
I believe so. I will suggest you go ahead with your application process. CTOBY: Hello to all, Please I have a question and would love to get a reply as well as proof to the answer. I have a first cousin in Saskatchewan who is willing to provide information for me to apply under SINP. There is a situation, he has a single (unmarried) brother you wants to enroll or participate in Express entry. He is not eligible for SINP due to occupation in demand and education not related to work experience.
Can my cousin provide information for me as a connection in SINP and at the same time can his brother gets points for EE as well apply for FSW?.
The brothers EE point is quite low even with points from his brother and an extremely good IELTS result. |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by achievep: 6:36am On Jul 25, 2020 |
Hello, there are investment opportunities and platforms but the rates are not like what you will get in Nigeria. So, your best bet will be to speak with a financial advisor and s/he will be able to advice based on your risk appetiteX Pee2Jay9: Dear Seniors in this hustle, kindly enlighten me on the investment opportunities available in maple land. Are there available platforms like Fixed deposits and Asset management investments? Are their interests better than the ones in Naija? Is there any twist to them? Which investments are you doing currently? |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 by achievep: 4:27am On Jul 21, 2020 |
Well, where you stay will actually determine how you much you pay. If you want to save money on accommodation, you can decide to stay away from dusty centre in any city you decide to stay. But again, you want to stay in city where you are sure of getting a job. Btw, you can read the story - https://africaextended.com/things-that-matter/immigration-hub/immigration-journey-how-to-turn-adversity-to-blessing/ - of how someone was able to buy his house within 2 years of arriving in Ontario. He was living in a basement and got a message from his landlord that put him in panic mode. Thank God, he was able to turn the situation around. ednut1: you can decide to stay in lekki, yaba or ikotun. they all have different prices. Basement apartment of 1400 to 1500 2 bed still dey same gta  |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 by achievep: 4:21am On Jul 21, 2020 |
Yes, this is correct. Both provinces go into the pool to nominate people. Alberta does the same also muvey10: I think it’s because they pick from the pool and you don’t express interest like the other provinces |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by achievep: 4:10am On Jul 21, 2020 |
If you have access to DSTV account, you can use VPN to log in to your account online etrange: Please o, good people of Canada, how can I watch BBN from Toronto? |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by achievep: 4:08am On Jul 21, 2020 |
Hello, If I get your first question right, you are looking for a flight from Nigeria to Canada. There has been some evacuation flights in the last few months and I think one just came this week. You may need to reach out to the Canada high commission in Nigeria to learn if there is anyone planned for next week. As regards isolation centre, you may need to book an Airbnb. The accommodation might be required at the point of entry by the immigration officer. When you land, you can always arrange to buy your groceries. There are supermarkets/ grocery stores that deliver to your door steps. All the best in your travelling plan. POTUSUK: Canny19_ or anyone else who has useful info -- Pls, so I'm due for Canada next week and would like to run some questions by you: 1. how did you charter a flight to Canada ? 2. is there an existing group (WhatsApp /facebook) of immigrants I can join? -- both for flight purposes and information sharing? 3. how did you go about booking for your isolation home? airbnb or what? 4.how did you arrange for grocery shopping and medicals too etc?
Please do let me know. Cheers |