Stats: 3,163,868 members, 7,855,559 topics. Date: Monday, 10 June 2024 at 04:18 AM

CaseTemplar's Posts

Nairaland Forum / CaseTemplar's Profile / CaseTemplar's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Phones / Re: How To Choose What Dual Camera Setup Is Best For You In 2019! by CaseTemplar(m): 11:18am On Feb 04, 2019
MeshachMARTINS:
nd u didnt even mention lg that started dual camera before i7plus with lg g5, neither did u mention them in ultra wide angle side.......
I agree bro but I think the iPhone made them popular besides that I wanted to keep the post as short as possible. wink
Phones / How To Choose What Dual Camera Setup Is Best For You In 2019! by CaseTemplar(m): 10:25am On Feb 04, 2019
[img]https://2.bp..com/-I07A-G2v8OM/XFenOaIaDQI/AAAAAAAAAGg/-8tuHVJl-lwrrh94KRJnb62kvcxgm5rugCLcBGAs/s1600/images%25287%2529.jpg[/img]

It's no more news that dual camera phones have been on the proliferation since 2018. From a core flagship feature to mid-range and even budget devices. Sometimes, these camera modules carry confusing and sophisticated tags that quite makes it difficult to get the satisfactory combination in order to shoot the beautiful you.If you don't fancy the single camera approach of the Google pixel, or you just want something cool to brag about, we think this guide will help you to make a personalised choice. As promised we will give a short guide to the world of dual camera placements and give you options as well as the working principles behind them.

1.0 Brief History and Introduction:

Although the first dual camera phone was the HTC Evo 3D(released back in 2011). The main jump starter of the dual camera trend was the Apple Iphone 7 Plus. Launched in September 2016, the Plus employed a dual 12MP camera setup, with one being a Wide angle lens of about 28mm, and a secondary Telephoto lens with a good 58mm. You saw the bolder terms right? To choose the optimum camera option you must first understand the camera tags which show their capabilities and how they play into your picture. So just sit back and relax, Because Techtemplar got you covered. wink

[img]https://4.bp..com/-y2McXz5tJnU/XFeoOtW-MuI/AAAAAAAAAG4/bUaZs9ZJ7tYIMDALMNywSqLgnitPcGbGQCLcBGAs/s1600/images%25288%2529.jpg[/img]
The HTC Evo 3D, The first Dual camera phone

Note 1: We'll be taking dual camera setups for Placements with a Primary ordinary camera and a second "super powered" lens.

Note 2: The list will most likely concur with rear camera modules and not selfie cameras.

2.0: Types of camera lens and their principles:

We'll explain the various lens used in camera photography(mobile) as well as their mechanism and examples.

2.1: Wide-angle lens:
Use this if you take like to take larger photos like groupies, more scenery or you're a tourist who wants to capture the details or add some depth to your photos.

A Wide angle lens uses a 120° FOV(field of view), and sits between 25mm-35mm focal length. 120 degrees is pretty much the standard, but some phones have up to 125 degrees also.

The wide angle lens(usually the second lens) takes the picture and projects it within an image frame that the first lens can't even make even if it was of the same focal length. The image formed provides enough movement and tilt for viewing under a field of view camera.

Examples of phones that use this: Samsung galaxy note 9, Google pixel 3xl , Samsung galaxy s9 plus, Iphone X.

2.2: Ultra Wide-angle lens:
You might think they're the same, but they're not.
Use this for even more zoomed out pictures coupled with depth effects and exaggeration of scenes.

The UWA lens mostly applies a focal length smaller than 25mm. Longer lenses used here can magnify the subject, compact the environment and deliver stunning bokeh effects when placed with a generous focus space.

Examples of phones that use this: Google's pixel 3 uses two front facing cameras, dual 8MP lenses one wide angle, the other ultra wide. Huawei mate 20 pro, Asus zenfone 5z.

[img]https://3.bp..com/-g_QlazrTCWI/XFennlRrOtI/AAAAAAAAAGo/o9z01ZCwc_oEDxjSNs7LSEXXCeoiaZGLACLcBGAs/s1600/1549248072201.jpg[/img]

A Wide Angle Photo

2.3: Telephoto Lens:
The most popular secondary rear camera placement.
Use this if you like to take zoomed in photos. Capture even the farthest and smallest bits of details with this.

The telephoto lens usually comes with a higher focal length than the primary sensor. Here the physical size of the lens is smaller than the focal length. Let's say a phone has a primary sensor with an F-length of 26mm. The telephoto lens here would have about 36mm more which would allow for up to 3x optical zoom.

Some smart phones normally ditch the telephoto/optical zoom for a digital zoom so as to use the lens for another placement. Confused about optical and digital zoom? Let's explain:

2.3.1: Difference between Optical zoom and digital zoom:
Optical zoom is the type of lens we explained in the beginning of 2.3. It just means adjustable lens of varying focal length.

Digital zoom uses algorithms and processing power to stimulate a zoomed in function. Some phones like Google's Pixel 3 and the Oneplus 6 Use this zoom type, as they utilize another type of lens placement. Confused about what type of zoom available on your phone? If it's a single camera or your phone doesn't have the telephoto tag, it's digital.

Examples of phones using this feature: Iphone X, Xiaomi Mi 8, Lenovo s5 pro. Lenovo Z5s, Huawei P20 Pro.

[img]https://4.bp..com/--gk1oAwGhfc/XFgCwoEDO3I/AAAAAAAAAHQ/aT6tTOOnj90A187ZIcVmvbu4yx2_5cznACLcBGAs/s1600/1549271713838.jpg[/img]
[b]A Telephoto Lens in action

2.4: RGB(Red Green Blue) Sensors:
Use this for your perfect black and white photographs.
Mostly used in Huawei phones, They provide extra layers of sharpness to the subject photo.

To truly understand the principle behind RGB sensors, Think of Airtel(Red), Glo(Green), and Ntel(Blue), customer outlets. Airtel(Red), would only collect customers that use Airtel, and Glo from glo customers. That's the case with RGB sensors. The glo etc are called Photosites. Each photosites would take only colours from each proprietary RGB spectrum.

When a ray of light reaches them, the Photosites cannot collect them in a regular pattern as a green Photosite would reject the others. A complex algorithm called demosaicing is used to join the Photosites and fill up the colour spectrum gaps. Software processing isn't usually shaping up and fails to separate the spectrum evenly. The picture might even end up with a lot of noise.

Example of phones that use this lens: Huawei P20, Redmi note 5 Pro, Huawei Mate 10 Pro.

2.5: Monochrome Lens:
An upgraded form of RGB sensors.
If you take a lot of low light shots this can help you get a more detailed photo.

In the previous unit we learnt how RGB Photosites take only their respective colours in the spectrum. However in Monochrome sensors they can receive from any colour in the spectrum.The data collected from the Photosites are related directly to the Computer which processes it and joins the dots. Demosaicing is no longer needed at this point which leads to increased light passage, more detail and exceptional colour views.

Monochrome sensors can be used with any of the above lens especially telephoto for combined functions. Couple this with an aperture of about f/2.0 and below and it will be the bomb.

Phones using it: Honor 9, Honor 10, huawei mate 20.

2.6: Time of flight sensors:
You can use this for you perfect slow-motion videos. 3d shots. Who Knows your smartphone developer might add in support for Augmented reality.

The Time of flight camera uses the range imaging system on the basis of the average light speed, measuring the TOF of a light ray within the range of the subject and the object camera.

As of now,not many phones use this sensor and the upcoming Sony Xperia XZ4 is tipped to come with one.

2.7: Depth Sensors:
Yes you read right, a secondary camera dedicated to depth sensing. cheesy
Good for your portraits and added depth effects in your pictures.

The main camera captures the subject, while the depth sensor helps to detect edges and apply better bokeh implementation. Normally, this lens is less in Megapixel count than the main because of the rather simple function. For example the Redmi Note 5 pro has a 12MP and a 5MP depth sensor. While the infinix hot 6x has a 13MP sensor coupled with a 3MP depth sensor.

Examples: Redmi note 7, Honor play, Oneplus 5t, Asus zenfone max pro m2, Honor 8x, Tecno Camon 11 pro.

[img]https://1.bp..com/-BWXkE-OCvSg/XFen2OIKJQI/AAAAAAAAAGs/7TdTBeHpCvQnAbz681xEqiNEuDYCQXhiwCLcBGAs/s1600/images%25289%2529.jpg[/img]
The Nokia Pureview 9 Might Combine Most Of These Lenses.

Any of the above lenses playing a supplementary role can easily take its place. Wether or not a depth sensor is a glorified decoration is a topic for another. lipsrsealed

So when next you're shopping for a DSLR alternative, or you want to capture that seamless and flawless moment, Using any of these sensors can be useful when utilized effectively. So smile, visit places and beat the high score. All with your trusty phone camera.

Cc: Lalasticlala
Mynd44
Dominique
Seun Thanks cry

Source: https://techtemplar..com/2019/02/how-to-choose-what-dual-camera-setup-is.html

Phones / Re: Do Higher Megapixels Translate Into Better Cameras/photos? The Truth.... by CaseTemplar(m): 4:45pm On Feb 01, 2019
apelike:
oga you copy no vex.

Na from Android authority you copy am.

And by the way! Why you no use them Tecno and infinix to base your fact undecided

Dey use Samsung

You copy
Please show me the screenshot of the page I supposedly copied. Tecno and infinix don't normally show their sensor size and effective pixel micron. I don't even know what company makes their camera sensors.
Phones / Re: Do Higher Megapixels Translate Into Better Cameras/photos? The Truth.... by CaseTemplar(m): 4:41pm On Feb 01, 2019
oshosegun27:
How About The Device's Screen Quality?
It's One Thing For The Camera To Snap Great Pictures And Its Another Thing For The Screen To Interpret Such For The Human Eye
Yhea Bro amoled screens would make the picture to appear more lively and more colour accurate than normal LTPS IPS displays. But that's not really an advantage for us in terms of photography unless you just like looking at your beauty grin. If you would upload the picture on facebook or instagram the real state would show(minus picture scaling inherent in social media) Hence why reviewers like Techtablets normally view the pictures on their computer screens before judging good or not. wink
Phones / Re: Do Higher Megapixels Translate Into Better Cameras/photos? The Truth.... by CaseTemplar(m): 4:29pm On Feb 01, 2019
Delivar:

At least you read it from somewhere and repackaged it.
Nope grin The only thing not mine here is the pictures and the pixel size hierarchy example cry Every here is genuine and uniform across any article about megapixels in photography. You can access my Blog and check my other posts.

Phones / Re: Do Higher Megapixels Translate Into Better Cameras/photos? The Truth.... by CaseTemplar(m): 4:25pm On Feb 01, 2019
jetz:
In a long while this is one of the best tech writeup on NL since tis year started
Thanks smiley smiley

Phones / Re: Do Higher Megapixels Translate Into Better Cameras/photos? The Truth.... by CaseTemplar(m): 4:24pm On Feb 01, 2019
netsurfer01:
Nice one bro. wink
Thanks So Much
Phones / Re: Do Higher Megapixels Translate Into Better Cameras/photos? The Truth.... by CaseTemplar(m): 10:40am On Feb 01, 2019
adefemi007:
good one
Thanks My Man
Phones / Re: Do Higher Megapixels Translate Into Better Cameras/photos? The Truth.... by CaseTemplar(m): 10:30am On Feb 01, 2019
Immaculatesnow:
grin copy copy op grin all these ode bloggers sha

I need a verified Nigerian Adsense to buy asap
I dare You to show me where I copied this from. I stayed up all night writing this and you belittle my work. May God not treat you the same way you treated me.

151 Likes 4 Shares

Phones / Re: Do Higher Megapixels Translate Into Better Cameras/photos? The Truth.... by CaseTemplar(m): 10:15am On Feb 01, 2019
jantofubu:
Fp material
Really? Thanks
Phones / Re: Do Higher Megapixels Translate Into Better Cameras/photos? The Truth.... by CaseTemplar(m): 10:14am On Feb 01, 2019
chido20:
nice one
Thanks Bro
Phones / Do Higher Megapixels Translate Into Better Cameras/photos? The Truth.... by CaseTemplar(m): 9:56am On Feb 01, 2019
[img]https://2.bp..com/-wVYLjct87SU/XFPAUeM_vCI/AAAAAAAAAF8/6TFl0nnY5scY1baRZviEGmleD_o9eKzIwCLcBGAs/s1600/images%25284%2529.jpg[/img]

It seems the megapixel wars are upon us again! We at Techtemplar have taken it upon ourselves to enlighten people about megapixels and phone camera workings!!

If I were to state one of the highest form factors that people choose when selecting a phone it would be the Camera...well after the processor and display. Then again, Under the photography department the single highest point that drives consumers to pick a phone should be the megapixel count. You see, people are more likely to choose a phone with a high megapixel rating than one with less. You stand at a shop trying to choose what phone would have a better camera performance between a 24MP and a 12MP. Then you hear of a phone with a whooping 48 megapixels! phone marketers try to cram a lot of megapixels into their phones so as to appear more enticing to potential buyers. Ask any normal person on the street and he'll tell you that a 24mp camera would beat a 12mp camera hands down. Maybe..... But does that mean that a Nokia Lumia 1020 with 40mp would beat a Standard DSLR with 12mp? Now that's where we pin our question. Let's start with the basics and learn what a Megapixel is. You know what a wise man once said, to know what a megapixel is you have to think like a Pixel. cheesy

1.0: What are megapixels?

To define megapixels properly, we must first define a pixel. A pixel is simply the smallest element in a visual image. Back in the days of the old television sets, I bet you could notice tiny squares that on the TV when a movie was showing. Now that might not be possible now with the modern ones because developers just cram more pixels into TV spaces. Think of a pixel like the atom of the Optical Display world.

A pixel in a digital camera captures the image data of the subject( what you're taking a picture of) in a connection to a reflection of the light coming from the subject. The pixel collects the light and turns it into data. The data is the processed to become a final image. So that means pixels work with light right? Ever wondered why low light shots are poorer than perfect light shots? We're coming to that.

A Megapixel is equal to 1,048,576 pixels. Or just say a million pixels. When the pixel collects the data it comes with some kind of grain like poor colour bits. Those bits are called "noise". That's why low light shots are poorer than brightly lit photos. Low-light makes it harder to distinguish between noise and optimum photos.

A megapixel is the normal count of pixels in an image. Simply put, a 5MP camera would capture 5 million pixels, and a 48MP camera would capture 48 million pixels. Cool right?
In fact the world pixel is a combination of two words; Picture and Element.

2.0: Do Megapixels affect camera performance?:

Yes. Megapixels play an integral role in image production. Where they shine more is when you take zoomed photos or just crop out the part you want from a picture. They also play a good deal in printing but we're not going into that for now.

The higher the amount of megapixels on your camera, the higher the amount detail that could be captured. For example a 8MP camera would capture about 50% more detail than a 6MP camera in an image. And double of a 4MP camera which is about four times that of a 2MP camera.

A 20MP photo cropped out would have ''Spare'' megapixels compared to a 12MP camera.

3.0: Do higher megapixels translate into better photo quality?
No. more megapixels does not mean more quality. There are other factors that come into play other than megapixels. The overall quality of a camera or even a photo is determined by the Sensor quality, not only by megapixel count. The size of the sensor and pixel also takes its toll and not to mention the quality of the lenses used.

[img]https://3.bp..com/-WYZ21KJK7WY/XFPAtaqkfTI/AAAAAAAAAGE/a_4rYtyQh-ESrQ_vHk2m6yBu31kUVyAawCLcBGAs/s320/images%25286%2529.jpg[/img]

Cropping Mechanism

Therefore, don’t be surprised when a smartphone that has a lower megapixel count but better sensors and lenses getting the job done more than a smartphone with higher megapixels. Notice this, the more pixels being crammed the small the smaller the area size in the camera sensor to collect the light ray in a junction to the pixels themselves. The sensor and the lenses must align the light direction to produce a satisfying photo.
Now, in essence, a Smartphone with a bad sensor and lenses but with high megapixels would
take bad photos. That’s why the Samsung galaxy S9 and the MI 8 has a standard 12MP camera sensor. Cramming a lot of pixels into a sensor seems easy but the higher the pixels the smaller they become in order to fit in the sensor. Small pixels are also prone to noise. Larger pixels on the other hand collect good bits used to create an image. Pixel sizes are measured in micron.
For example, Samsung’s galaxy S6 had a 16MP camera. The pixel size here was an effective 1.12 micron. On the other hand, the newer S9 has a pixel size of 1.4 micron, on a 12MP camera. You can’t say the S6 is better than the S9 now can you?
More megapixels would just increase the file size of your picture and eat up storage. For a fixed storage phone with no expandable means this can be a problem.

4.0: How to make a good camera phone selection?:

Nice question! If you’re not walking into a store to buy a smartphone, and you have some time to research check out these other form factors regarding your prospective phone.

4.1 The Sensor size:

Mobile phones have smaller build than DSLR cameras hence the reason why they can only host smaller sensors. The more pixels you try to put in a sensor, the smaller they need to be or you increase the sensor size.
A bigger sensor would collect more pixels just like a Jar collecting more cookies. You can break the cookies (maybe grind) to fill the jar or you can just try to fit them as large as they are which is better because no one wants to eat broken cookies. As said above larger pixels produce better photos. Even apple’s Senior VP of worldwide marketing Phil Schiller during the launch of the IPhone 5 was quoted saying ‘’ Bigger pixels mean better pictures’’.

4.2 Look at the Pixel size:

As a follow up to the first point, Smartphone developers are working on means to better low light sensitivity and also reduce noise concentration. These are centred on increasing both pixel and sensor size.
The sensors of DSLR cameras are usually measured in height, width in millimetres (mm) but in smartphones its measured in inches or fractions of an inch.
Most measurements take the place of a form like this, from highest to lowest:

· Full Frame [ 36mm x 24mm]
· APS-C (advanced photo system type-c) [23.5mm x 15.6mm]
· Micro ¼ and 4/3 inches [translates to 17.3 x 13mm]
· One [1] inch [13.2mm x 8.8mm]
· 1/1.7 inch [7.6mm x 5.7mm]
· ½.3 inch [ 6.3mm x 4.7mm]

For example: Huawei’s P20 has a 1/1.7-inch sensor (in line with the 5th point).

But in the case of pixels, the larger the size can help in better photos too.
For example: Google’s Pixel 2 has a pixel size of 1.4 micron on its 8MP sensor.

[img]https://3.bp..com/-fQDOfaHRyPw/XFPA6Mu46jI/AAAAAAAAAGI/vq7rs-MvkIo7RCRcoUjl0nUJcELfhBTrACLcBGAs/s320/images%25285%2529.jpg[/img]
The Google Pixel 3 XL, There's a reason google named it Pixel....

4.3 Check the Aperture:
Another form factor often neglected is the aperture of the camera on the phone you like. The aperture is the opening by which light comes in. This plays a good deal in low light conditions, thus makes it a good factor.
Aperture is shown by an F/number fraction like
· f/1.2
· f/2.2
· f/10 ETC

Note: The lower the f number, the more light can pass through.
For example: Samsung S9 has a dual focus aperture that gives you a choice of f/2.4 or f/1.5.
Google’s pixel 2 has a aperture of f/1.8.

4.4 CHECK THE MEGAPIXEL OF THE DEVICE:

Please forgive us, but if you check the other factors you can surely let this one slide hehe. grin Just in these modern times, A 12MP camera would definitely do better than a 1MP camera.

[img]https://3.bp..com/-rI8ijQQmNeE/XFPBFOo_faI/AAAAAAAAAGQ/u0dXkiFf6CUfxLifuyRtn-1UKcC2_vmLQCLcBGAs/s320/redmi-note-7-696x391.jpg[/img]
The Redmi Note 7 with the 48MP Sensor.....Beast on its own

So that’s enough to keep you armed against the upcoming battle. Hopefully it won’t come though. Lets hear your thoughts and also, we will soon drop a guide on what dual camera Set-up is best for you in 2019.

https://techtemplar..com/2019/01/do-higher-megapixels-translate-into.html?m=1

32 Likes 8 Shares

Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by CaseTemplar(m): 3:26pm On Nov 29, 2018
Gptech:

The screen can only be small depending on where you are coming from or where you are heading to. For the shape, it's better to watch videos, to get an idea of what to expect. What do you want from your next device?
Thanks I've Watched Lots Of Videos But I Can't Really Guess The Shape Unless I Feel It In Hand. I'm Using A Black berry Z30 Though. I Just Need....

1. Iphone X Design: Weird But I Like Notches. grin
2. A Big Screen.
3. NFC(If Possible, I Can Skip This One)
4. Snapdragon 670,710, Or 845 if Possible
5. Type C
6. A Trustworthy Brand.... If Not Xiaomi
7. Nice Cameras
8. All For A Budget Of 90k....Please Help Me....I Haven't Been Able To Make A Choice.
Phones / Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by CaseTemplar(m): 2:52pm On Nov 29, 2018
Hello House I Was Thinking Of Buying A Snapdragon 710 Device And I Landed At The Mi 8 SE. But I'm Thinking The 5.88" Screen Might Be Too Small. And I Also Dont Really Like The Boxy Shape. Anyone Got This Phone? Please Advice Me If I Should Buy This.

Cc: Gptech Grandmufti
Thanks smiley
Romance / Re: Male Feminist Lists All He's Been Accused Of For Pushing For Women's Right by CaseTemplar(m): 6:16pm On Nov 16, 2018
Wow
Phones / Re: Xiaomi "Biggest Party Yet" To Hold On December 8. by CaseTemplar(m): 10:27am On Nov 16, 2018
They Might Release A New Phone On That Day
Phones / Re: This Is The Reason SD Card Slots Are Disappearing From Phones by CaseTemplar(m): 9:03am On Nov 16, 2018
JeffreyJames:
All this one Na story. SAMSUNG flagships still has SD slots even with Their flagships and their slots can even carry more powerful SD cards. The note 9 has an inbuilt memory or 128gb and 512gb and still has a memory card slot that can take another 500gb. So all these small rats should go and find out how Sammy does it and stop asslicking Apple .
Chaiii!!!

Phones / Re: This Is The Reason SD Card Slots Are Disappearing From Phones by CaseTemplar(m): 9:01am On Nov 16, 2018
haibe:
This is an amazing post. A mini research and i love it. Kudos
God Bless You....Means So Much To Me cheesy

Phones / Re: This Is The Reason SD Card Slots Are Disappearing From Phones by CaseTemplar(m): 7:53am On Nov 16, 2018
krattoss:
One thing about this is that once it becomes a trend, all products and smartphones will follow suit irrespective of the fan boys choice.

We live in a world where none of our opinions matter again but that of our masters embarassed
Bro I Just Tire. They Might Even Remove The Front Camera And Bluetooth And Give Us One Ridiculous Reason. sad

Phones / Re: This Is The Reason SD Card Slots Are Disappearing From Phones by CaseTemplar(m): 7:50am On Nov 16, 2018
meobizy:
Well this is one option I wouldn’t miss, this and SIM card slots.
The only reason I ever needed an SD card was because my phone manufacturer at the time gave only a meager 75MB as phone storage.
grin Bro Yours is Even Better grin
Mine In My First Phone, Sagem Was 10mb!

But Sim Cards Are Important Though

Phones / This Is The Reason SD Card Slots Are Disappearing From Phones by CaseTemplar(m): 6:23am On Nov 16, 2018
It's inevitable, One day your music, movies and games would have a limit, And you would either have to delete or move your files to a Computer or a cloud service. Previously, expandable storage was a thing. You see, people would buy a micro sd card( maybe a sand disk or a samsung card) and have enough space to store files and documents. Now, that feature sadly might become a figment of the past, As we saw with the loss of the poor headphone jack.The larger storage configurations of phones would be ignored, As people would just choose the mobile with the lowest storage and expand later by a cheaper Micro SD card. Smartphone OEMs have a reason for this though, Yes a reason that is beyond just saving a couple of dollars and trying to copy Apple. Now to the first question......

Do You Need The Extra Expansion?

This is a question you have to ask yourself before you choose between a Phone without SD card support. Now people often take pictures, Movies, Store games and also those rather heavy 4k Videos. If you use your phone as a kind of warehouse for files you should get a phone with an expandable option. Normally if you have a computer you could always store the big files there on the Hard disk of the computer. But if the phone you need doesn't have a Micro SD slot there are some solutions to use effectively though. Luckily Phones are coming out with a Standard base configuration of about 64gb with phones like the OnePlus 6T with about 128gb Internal storage.

Why The Removal?

Hugo Barra, The Vice President of the popular Chinese smartphone producer Xiaomi and former Vice president  Google's Android Vision, Once said that Micro SD cards on phones wasn't as convenient as widely speculated. This was a response to the question of why Xiaomi's Flagships didn't come with expandable memory support.  In his words, he was reported saying:

"For high performance devices, we are fundamentally against an SD card slot."

Now the flagship in question as of that time was the Mi4i, and he supported the motion with the fact that his development team would not sacrifice a ton of features, Like appearance, Battery life and a Hybrid sim slot( As developers usually opt for this instead of dedicated slot maybe to save cost) Also he was reported saying:

"Micro SD cards are incredibly prone to failure and malfunctioning of various different sorts,"

He's right on this one though. Due to the fact that there are lots of Fake Memory cards in the market. And Micro SD card failure is quite rampant in mobile phones.
Sometimes a phone's malfunctioning might be SD card related. Yes, the constant freezing, loss of information and "Unfortunately Android Has Stopped" are most likely as a result of a Memory Card present in the device. So in essence, A Phone with Micro SD would be more prone to Crashes than one without. That's why Phone OEM's usually don't use expandable memory on their flagships. They might use on their Budget/mid-range but not their main phones.
 Normally Internal storage is a lot faster than an expandable option. The UFS( Universal flash storage) Since its introduction in 2011 by standards body JEDEC, the aim of UFS has been to provide ultra-fast read and write speeds for mobile devices, using less energy in the process. You gcan't really compare this advantage to an ordinary card slot. That's why Hugo suggested that Micro SD Cards are slow. This is the complete quote of the Vice President:

"You think you're buying like a Kingston or a SanDisk but you're actually not, and they're extremely poor quality, they're slow, they sometimes just stop working, and it gives people huge number of issues, apps crashing all the time, users losing data, a lot of basically complaints and customer frustration."

Additionally:

"It's gonna be a while before you finally accept that maybe the reason why it's not performing is because you put in an SD card, right? You're gonna blame the phone, you're gonna blame the manufacturer, you're gonna shout and scream and try to get it fixed, so many different ways until you say, 'Actually, let me just take the SD card out and see what happens."

Now that's an answer from the developer perspective, But for us there's a really big reason under the diplomatic answer.

From A User:

The main reason developers are ditching the Micro SD cards is because of Money. Of course developers can't charge you for an SD card but they can charge you more for a higher storage configuration. Remember when we said that due to
SD cards, That higher storage configurations were ignored? The lack of expandable memory support would force the user to plan his storage through out the life span of the phone.
On a bigger picture this would mean that a user would most likely try to purchase a mobile with a higher internal storage to satisfy his needs. Now, from an economical view this would be a good idea, judging from the fact that a higher storage form would cost about 100$ more, when it costs about 20$ to build a Micro SD card slot.
Also on the VP Hugo barra's SD card opinion:

"It is a trend: SD cards will disappear."

Also Google's Vice President of design at that time Matias duarte actually said that SD cards are "Confusing for the users"
Whether SD cards are a trend is what we don't know, As in the headphone jacks and removable batteries. Now to the solution...
How to deal with no SD card slots on Phones:

Like suggested above, you could use your computer as a storage warehouse or option for your files. You would then connect your smartphone to your PC and transfer files when needed.

Another option is Cloud Storage.There are quite a few cloud storage services to use such as One drive, Google drive or even Dropbox. If you are looking for unlimited storage and for free, you can always count on Hive, Only if you can stand the swarm of Ads.

Lastly, You could use a Micro Sd card adapter, which you could plug into your Phone through the Micro USB port or get one that supports Type C. Like This.

Or you could just use a wireless type for convenience.

Note:

The two last options might not work for everyone, as smartphone OEM's usually use tweaks in their Software to cut off Detection completely.

Now With a conclusion, what do you think about the disappearance of SD cards? Do you see it removed or extinct in the future? Share your thoughts below:

Source: https://techtemplar..com/2018/11/its-inevitable-one-day-your-music.html?m=1[quote]

Phones / Re: 10 Phones With 5000mah Battery Capacity In Nigeria (november 2018) by CaseTemplar(m): 6:17pm On Nov 06, 2018
It's Not By Giant Mah Oh...... grin
FinFet Process....For Those Who Understand...

Phones / Re: In-display Fingerprint: How It Works: by CaseTemplar(m): 4:41pm On Nov 01, 2018
Ejadike:
Nice one. Very innovative. Technology has really advanced
Exactly cheesy
Phones / Re: In-display Fingerprint: How It Works: by CaseTemplar(m): 4:39pm On Nov 01, 2018
PhenomenalMorgan:
i love the tech, nice to see it on the hauwei mate 20 pro, thats what apple would have done in iphone x but if so that would skyrocket the price trust apple and their high pricing...
So True Bro, Apple Seems Pretty Confident In Their IR Face Unlock We Wont See Any Thing Fingerprint From Them Soon....
Politics / Re: Aisha Buhari Hosts Artistes Supporting President Buhari (Photos) by CaseTemplar(m): 12:55pm On Nov 01, 2018
Interesting....

Phones / Re: In-display Fingerprint: How It Works: by CaseTemplar(m): 12:27pm On Nov 01, 2018
FreshBoss007:
for me this is the tie breaker for any new smartphone
notch and facial scan Na scam
Agreed Bro But A Phone With An IR Scanner Like That Fancy Mi 8 Up There Is Pretty Decent.
Phones / Re: Oneplus 6T Unveiled With In-screen Fingerprint And 8GB RAM, Full Specs And Price by CaseTemplar(m): 12:25pm On Nov 01, 2018
amjustme2:
Until phone battery manufacturers come up with a decent solution to improved battery life, these phones are just fancy.

6Gb RAM on a 402ppi display plus Snapdragon 845 processor, I smell battery sucker!!

3700Mah With A 10nm Process Snapdragon 845 Is Actually Battery Efficient.
Phones / In-display Fingerprint: How It Works: by CaseTemplar(m): 12:13pm On Nov 01, 2018
See The magic behind the successful innovation.....

We all remember when the iphone 5s created a revolutionary trend with the introduction of a sophisticated biometric feature called the touch id. This would turn out to be a great leap in smartphone development, with fingerprint scanners found in virtually all tiers of mobile phones, No longer restricted to flagships. Not surprisingly, Every 3 out of 5 phones released comes with a fingerprint scanner.

The fingerprint scanner had different positions on a mobile smartphone. Most are positioned on the back of the device,Embedded in the Home button or at the side with the power button.

The elimination of the traditional Soft buttons on mobile phones and the introduction of taller displays and more screen ratio, fingerprints were now moved to the rear of devices with some at the side. In-display fingerprints Now aim to provide a faster and more accurate approach as well as implement an exciting way to unlock your Smartphone.

The in-display fingerprint scanner was rumored to appear on the samsung galaxy note 8 and also apple's iphone X. Both failed in it's Vision, But a chinese smartphone developer called VIVO (from the same company that has oppo and oneplus ) unveiled the Vivo x20 UD,  The first Mobile phone ever to come with this outstanding innovation.

With the introduction over, lets dive into the mechanism behind this revolutionary trend.

The Us based Sensor developer, Synaptics made a collaboration with vivo to bring the smartphone to reality. The result of this partnership was the introduction of an optical sensor known as Clear ID FS9500, An ultrasonic sensor that can be placed under the display panel. In aunthetication , piezoelectric effects (in simple terms, the mechanical stress or the pressure put on the surface) are used to exchange ultrasonic signals which move past  the OLED screen.

Once the ultrasonic signals travel through the OLED screen, they create a 3D map of the fingerprint under the display. Consider this as a sound wave traveling through compatible surfaces and creating unique fingerprint-based identities with the help of software.

The OLED screen, Is an organic light emitting diode in which the emissive electroluminescent layer is a film of organic compound that emits light in response to an electric current. The optical sensor takes clear use of the spaces between the pixels and uses it to it's advantage as the user's fingerprint is interpretable. 

The optical sensor cannot physically sense a pulse, But synaptic claims that it built an anti spoofing system to prevent people from trying to imitate your fingerprint.

The sensor is only noticable when the phone displays a fingerprint on the screen. It is relatively easy to set up like the traditional rear placed fingerprint scanner. Although it is marginally slower than the latter which gives room for further research.

The technology might be readily available in the coming years. For now it is seemingly a Flagship feature.

Source: https://techtemplar..com/2018/10/in-display-fingerprint-how-does-it-work.html?m=1:

Cc:
Mynd44
Lalasticlala
Dominique
Seun

Nairalanders Please Share Your Thoughts On This Innovation....

Phones / Re: Does The Computer A.I Cheat In Video Games? Let's Find Out by CaseTemplar(m): 12:08pm On Oct 26, 2018
Come on Guys I Know You Have Really Cool Experiences With Games grin
Phones / Does The Computer A.I Cheat In Video Games? Let's Find Out by CaseTemplar(m): 9:54am On Oct 26, 2018
We've all had that experience whereby the computer A.I had unbelievable and unfair advantages that a human player could not even object or complain. Mostly the developers gave the Computer A.I these "powers" to even out the playing field with the human opponent as the A.I wasn't as skilled. But do you think the A.I really cheats? Let's find out:

Normally when you think of computer A.I you're mind goes to The terminator. If that's true you should know you're not the only one..lol. Funny but the A.I we have in games are not really as smart or as competent as the human player.  The game designers added this cheating feature to lessen the hardware and stock restrictions of the computer opponent. The human player in turn cannot perform these actions no matter how skilled he/she might be. That doesn't mean the Computer is unbeatable but.......

Although the players also have advantages also, I mean sometimes the computer opponent doesn't have the perks we get in games. like in Great battles medieval, where the A.I could'nt use the cool battle cards. Also in test your luck type of games (lottery, jackpots) the algorithm was usually fixed to favour the player. Yes it doesn't we were always lucky but just that the game developers put that there to make sure the player enjoys the game. But hey the A.I wasn't the one who bought the game now was It?

For example, I remember playing midtown madness 2 for mobile phones with my big bro. There was a racing delivery mission where we had to take the wheels against the computer opponent called Matilda. This turned out to be our hardest mission as she could literally drive through walls. Man..Me and my bro took days before we could complete it. Not that it was impossible but it provided a different type of challenge.

Also when I first played medieval 2 total war, I noticed the A.I was really poor and often made suicidal actions like declaring war on england as wales and so on. Then I cranked up the difficulty and boom, the A.I would get full stacks of soldiers before I could even build a watchtower. This "Difficulty" setting just gave the A.I a whole lot of cheats while handicapping the human player.

With that said, it's worth noting that in Real Time Strategy games the A.I will always cheat. To our surprise the Computer can have access to your research progress, battle plans and even policies. I've played hearts of iron Iv and man that Veteran button is deadly. I won't even talk about stelaris or Europa universalis.

Racing games might even be the worst. Playing blur and watching how a hopeless truck would overtake your Ford and make insane curves and high precision Drifts and turns. Man I've been playing racing games for years and I still can't make that sharp turn. I would always wonder in the older asphalt titles why the police would just focus on me and I'm like" officer, hope you know I'm not the only one racing you know!"
Even in soccer games especially Pro Evolution Soccer, When set to a higher difficulty the A.I would make unbelievable passes and nearly 99.99% Shot accuracy.

First person shooter games are deadly in their own way. Have you had that feeling that the A.I knows your position in  Counter strike??. Just switch on the "expert bots" option and see what I'm talking about. When the Computer knows you're every move and is basically a killing machine, only then can we talk about the cheating A.I.

Those are just my experiences by the way. Now let's evaluate the various way the Computer A.I can "Cheat".

Ways the A.I Cheats:

1: The All seeing A.I:
In this system, the Computer player is granted the special ability to observe and see the player's information which in accordance to the structure of the game, should NOT be seen. In this case, the player usually cannot observe the A.I's moves so therefore is placed at a disadvantage. This one can practically have access to your in-game data and even plan ahead before you recruit a soldier.

2: The strategic resource A.I:
Here the A.I is granted unfair access to stockpiles of in-game resources and loads of rare items at start. Some of which the Human player would have to Farm or grind for days to obtain. Talk of strategy and tactics Android where a small country like Bulgaria would have a 8-stack Tank division.

3: The unbelievable Boss A.I:
This one is literally the worst. The Boss can ignore a lot of game mechanics and break the laws of the game just to appear badass. I believe all of us has encountered this type in the past. Come on Guys Shao Kahn, The sisters of fate and dark souls! We won't forget Dark souls...Man!!

4: Hidden Move A.I:

Here the A.I has secret abilities that improve the accuracy and efficiency of the Computer which the human player would not have. I remember in mortal kombat 4 where the A.I would literally guess every move I try to do and would even get up 100% faster when knocked down.

5: The hero of war A.I:
With A 100% firing accuracy, ability to spot your player even in the unlikiest of places, Health that's obviously twice yours.....Should i say more?

With that said, the cheating patterns of the A.I's of various games seems to fit in those descriptions. But there are some reasons we believe the A.I does not play dirty.

1: The A.I stands to gain nothing:

The Computer does not gain anything from winning. If it wins maybe it'll hang out in the Virtual hotel and sip some champagne.

2: Consumer dissatisfaction:
Developers are at risk of losing potential players if a game is notorious for A.I Cheating. No serious game designer would want that.

To add in a little detail, The lead designer of Civilization 4, Soren Johnson, blogged about the very specific problems that developers face when making single-player games an equal challenge for players.
"Under symmetrical conditions," he Noted,  "artificial intelligence often needs to cheat just to be able to compete with the player. Accordingly, designers must learn what cheats feel fair to a player and what cheats do not. As the Puzzle Quest team knows, games need to avoid situations in which players even suspect that the game is cheating on them."

At the end, we can justify the Cheating A.I. It serves as a way to level the playing field as well as provide a challenge on a whole new level. Also we get to fight epic bosses and a have a righteous feeling of victory when we win.
At least we're compensated with Cheat Codes too,Heh? wink

[/quote]lalasticlala
mynd44
dominique What Do You Think About This Matter[quote]

https://techtemplar..com/2018/10/does-computer-ai-cheat-in-games-lets.html?m=1

Please Share Your Experience Below....

Phones / Re: The Various USB Types Explained: Type A, Type C E.t.c by CaseTemplar(m): 9:04am On Oct 16, 2018
Prechy2836:
USB Type C so cool I no want know which way I plug in the cable and its 3.0 type C
Is it on a mobile device if I may ask? Or a gaming laptop?
Phones / Re: The Various USB Types Explained: Type A, Type C E.t.c by CaseTemplar(m): 9:03am On Oct 16, 2018
pavlovgoc:
Please what type of USB do I need to connect my phone to my LG TV
You'll need an OTG(On the go) or even a MHL adaptor and a HDMI cable. The MHL cable is more preferred though. Check it out below....

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 122