Gideonjeta's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Gideonjeta's Profile › Gideonjeta's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 (of 23 pages)
Take a break from the noise , sweat and tension from the football games and explore Russia beyond the stadia . True, the main aim of travelling to this beautiful country is to see the games ,live . There are other activities to indulge in to relax and calm your nerves from the intensity of the games . Seek the thrill of outdoor activities and discover destinations right there in Russia. City of the dead Dargavs also known as the City Of the dead lies in North Ossetia . It is an ancient city dating back to the Bronze Age . This city was founded around the 15 th Century . Although it is deserted , not one person is found in it, it was the centre of Tagaurian society[sounds like something from the game of thrones ]. This city has beautiful distinct architecture . Dargavs has 98 graveyards . There is a myth that whoever ventures into this city will not live to tell tales. It is quite a mystery . Irkutsk Irkutsk is a beautiful city that looks like something from a storybook . It has a rich culture and beautiful land marks like theatres , churches , museums and has architectural wooden houses. This city is closest to Lake Baikal, the largest lake in the world. Lena Pillars Lena Pillars is on the banks of the Lena River in the Yakutia Khangalaasky Region, it is quite a captivating nature park in Russia. Lena Pillars consists several meters tall rocks stretching over 260 kilometers. It is around the village of Tit -Ary in Russia. Scientists believe that the pillars date more than 500 million years old ago . It is an captivating place to visit . There are other awe-inspiring places to visit in Russia. Swap the fan jerseys for explorer hats and discover. https://www.nigerialog.com/travel/discover-breathtaking-sightseeing-locations-in-russia(photos)/new/#new
There are a few things you didn ’ t know made you gain weight and you have probably blamed every single weight you have added on food , well you should apologize , because other things which you least expected could be the cause of your weight gain ( bummer yeah ?) . Well, you would probably need to stop doing a few things you love doing to stay fit. Sitting for too long The average adult sits for 9 to 11 hours per day . This is definitely a major reason for your weight gain especially if you never exercise If your job involves sitting for a really long time you need to make up for it by exercising regularly. An analysis also states that adults who sit for more than 10 hours per day are at a 34 % risk of early death . Not drinking enough water More often than not , we mistake our thirst for hunger and tend to eat most of the time rather than drink water when we get this craving . It is advisable to drink at least two cups of water before your breakfast ; studies say it makes you eat 75 to 90 fewer calories over the course of a meal than you otherwise would . Not packing lunch Chances are when you eat out for lunch you are taking in more calories than you would if you ate something you brought from home. While restaurant chefs are known for using heavy spices and seasoning than necessary , things like appetizers and desserts you would normally ignore you end up requesting for them because they are more than within your reach now . Not having healthy snacks within reach We all know that hunger is one of the main reasons people gain weight . Avoiding the daily food craving temptations is hard so , it is best to take along with you healthy snacks like nuts ( cashew nuts, groundnuts and tiger nuts among others) , dark chocolate and fruits. https://www.nigerialog.com/health/four-things-you-did-not-know-made-you-gain-weight/new/#new |
Face mask is important for skin care treatment . A good face mask can leave your face cleansed and smooth and makes your face relaxed and rejuvenated . Face masks help to cleanse impurities from the skin like oils , dirt and makeup . It helps to open the pores and deep cleanse the impurities that cause infections and pimples . A good face mask helps to circulate the blood . When the mask hardens on the face, there is a sensation that drives the blood vessels to expand and then improves the skin tone . There are so many brands of face masks that you can buy from supermarkets or beauty stores . But there are natural face masks that you can mix in your kitchen which can give an amazing result. You can absolutely do this yourself . Honey Oats Face Masks To make Honey Oats Face Masks , you need ; Ground oats , Coconut oil and Natural Honey. Mix the ingredients together and you will have a paste . Apply on the face and leave for 15 minutes and wash . Papaya Face Mask To make papaya face mask , you need 1 Papaya [ Pawpaw] 1 tbsp , Natural Honey 1 egg white Mix the Papaya , honey and the egg white. Whisk the egg before you add. Mix thoroughly and apply on the face. Leave on the face for 15 minutes and wash off. do this at least 2 or 3 times a week for a clearer , even skin tone . https://www.nigerialog.com/beauty/diy-simple-home-made-face-mask/new/#new |
To most people in Nigeria , June means that the Sallah holidays are nigh. This means an extended weekend of rest … and travel ! As you pack your bag and set out to escape the hustle and bustle of the city , you have to ask yourself two questions . Will you be returning from the holidays with dry, tangled hair, sunburned skin and chipped nails , or will you return looking well -rested and radiant to work on Tuesday ? It doesn ’t matter whether it’s a get -away at the beach or a nice place out of town. The key is to pack light while packing multi - purpose items that can come in handy in a pinch . We have put together a few pointers on what you should absolutely pack as you travel . Moisturiser Unless you want to look roasted and parched when you come back , do not forget your favourite moisturiser at home. Wind, water and luxurious soft sheets are great for putting you in the best mood, but your skin will not thank you when you get back to the real world . Make sure your moisturiser is packed with SPF for adequate sun protection . Spray bottle Your spray bottle is essential ! It should contain some leave -in conditioner, water , moisturising oil ( coconut oil or olive oil ) and apple cider vinegar . A spritz of this cocktail will keep your hair soft and pliable for the holidays and work -ready when it ends . Deodorant Pack a travel -size deodorant for the weekend. Don ’t be that weirdo at the beach with smelly pits . The weather is hot right now and being drenched in sweat will put you in an irritable mood that will put a pall on the restful weekend . Mini makeup bag If there ’s any time when you should glow, it’ s on holiday , so pack a mini-makeup bag . This should contain the essentials: moisturising face wipes , lip balm with SPF , your go-to lipstick, a powder / conditioner compact, mascara and eyeliner. Remember , the goal is to pack light and functional. Toilette Last but not least, your toiletry bag should include a toothbrush , hand sanitiser, travel -sized soap , mouthwash, shaving stick and a hand towel. Not all hotels will have these essentials , so you should come prepared . Don ’t forget to drink lots of water ( don ’t be tempted to only binge on alcohol) , stay safe and have lots of fun . You’ve earned a break . Happy Eid - il -Fitr ! https://www.nigerialog.com/beauty/five-travel-beauty-essentials-for-the-sallah-holiday/new/#new |
As Nigeria joins the five African nations to grace the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, they have sure earned their place as the most fashion -conscious nation with their edge of style. Just like their impeccable style, the selected Nigerian players are arguably the finest melanin and mixed - race players yet . Here are our top five hotties this season : Alex Iwobi Alexander Chuka Iwobi , is a 22 -year -old player who has caught our attention . Keen with his interest in football at a young age , he joined English team , Arsenal , when he was in primary school . He is the football legend Jay Jay Okocha ’s nephew . He became a professional footballer in 2013. He is credited with securing Nigeria ’s place in the Russia 2018 FIFA world cup . He is a midfielder . Leon Balogun 29 -year - old Leon Aderemi - Balogun was born to a Nigerian father and a German mother . He made his debut in 2009 for Hannover 96 at Bundesliga . He is a defender . Tyronne Ebuehi Born to a father and a Dutch mother , Tyronne Efe Ebuehi is a 22 -year - old Nigerian player who made his Nigerian debut in 2017. He is a right -back. William Troost - Ekong Known as the other half of the “Oyinbo Squad ”, 24 - year -old William Paul Troost- Ekong was born to a Nigerian father and Dutch mother . The 24 - year -old played for the Netherlands at the under-19 and under-20 levels. He , however , decided to obey the call and made his senior Nigerian debut in 2015 . He is a defender . John Mikel Obi John Michael Nchekwube Obinna popularly known as John Mikel Obi or Mikel John Obi kick - started his football at the age of 12 at the Pepsi Football Academy . The 31 - year -old officially caught and held the interest of Nigerians when he played when he played at the FIFA Under - 17 World Championships. A promising footballer, he won the “Silver Ball ” for the second - best player at the 2005 FIFA World Youth Championship finishing only behind Argentina ’s Lionel Messi . He is a midfielder . https://www.nigerialog.com/sports/russia-2018-top-five-nigerian-finest-players(photos)/msg44930/#msg44930 |
The rainy season can be an amazing experience for people who have prepared ahead . For most places in Nigeria with bad road and no drainages, it would be a bad experience for people plying such roads . However , we have prepared a list of ways and items to help you get through this rainy season : Durable clothing When you think about the rainy season , the first thing that comes to mind is getting clothes or items that would protect you from getting soaked in the rain . Items such as a durable umbrella , raincoat , a pair of rain boots and pairs of waterproof shoes would come in handy during this season . As much as it may seem like a lot of stress to carry about , it is worthy to note that there are foldable umbrellas , raincoats and even rubber shoes which are waterproof and can fit into a tote bag . Windscreen wipers and car batteries To avoid a car break down or having a bad day during this season , make sure to check that your windscreen wipers are in good condition and fix if not. Also , do a battery check to ensure they are fixed properly to avoid breaking down on bad roads . Risking a weak battery can cost you more if your car goes off. Inspect your roof Make sure to fix or replace any crack , loose area, hole or rusty spot on your roofs. You wouldn ’t want the rain water getting through as a leakage can weaken the walls and ceilings or cause embarrassments when they fall into your home. Mosquito nets Rainwater could serve as breeding grounds for mosquitoes especially the female Anopheles mosquitoes which is responsible for malaria. Make sure to double check that water isn’t logged in outdoor containers and also install mosquito nets at your windows and around sleeping areas . Take Plenty of Vitamin C To stay healthy in this season take foods and supplement rich in vitamin C . Vitamins C , according to experts , are known to protect you against immune system deficiencies and increase your body ’s ability to ward off cold, fever and flu that are characteristic health issues that come with the rainy season. https://www.nigerialog.com/metro/five-ways-to-get-by-this-rainy-season/new/#new |
Nigerian fried beans is almost like ewa agoyin but this time it has to be coated in palm oil. Ingredients for making fried Nigerian beans Brown beans Onions Palm oil Stock cube Salt and pepper Water Preparation 1. Place beans on medium heat, add the stock cube and onion. Start cooking. Cook the beans till very soft. 2. When the beans is done and the water is dry, add salt. Then transfer to a bowl. 3. Set a dry pot on the stove, pour the palm oil and heat it up. 4. Fry onions in the oil for a while then add the ground pepper and stir till everything is heated up very well. 5. Add the beans and stir for about 2 minutes. Cover and leave to simmer for about 2 minutes. Your fried Nigeria beans is ready. https://www.nigerialog.com/food/how-to-cook-nigerian-fried-beans/new/#new |
Ngerians have continued to lament the increasing number of suicide cases in the country and have urged government at all levels to take drastic measures to curb the trend . This followed the death of a woman who jumped into the Lagos lagoon yesterday, which raised the number of deaths by suicide to 80 in the last one year. A World Health Organisation ( WHO )’ s suicide ranking , showed that 800 ,000 people die globally from suicide every year, with 15 . 1 suicides per 100 ,000 people annually , Nigeria now ranks the 30 th most suicide-prone country out of 183 nations in the world . Nigeria is also ranked the 10 th African country with a higher rate of suicide , leading countries like Togo ( 26 th) , Sierra Leone ( 11 th) , Angola ( 19 th) , Equatorial Guinea ( 7th ) , Burkina Faso ( 22 nd ) and Cote d ’Ivoire ( fifth) . With causative reasons varying from mental disorders , financial difficulty , marital problems , academic challenges, depression and rejection among others , Lagos State leads the list with 15 reported cases within the period under review. A trending Whatsapp message from the Lagos University Teaching Hospital ( LUTH ) further buttresses the recent upsurge and the need to quickly tackle the challenge. Coordinator, Suicide Research and Prevention Initiative ( SURPIN ) , Raphael Ogbolu, explained that more than 90 per cent of those who died by suicide had depression . He noted that there was the need to train families , individuals and religious leaders continuously to close the gap in the treatment of depression . Ogbolu, who identified awareness among Nigerians as key to reducing the scourge , explained that the helplines have been provided since March 2017 , but the need to accelerate its publicity result from the few cases this year , especially the woman who jumped into the lagoon yesterday. The psychiatrist argued that criminalising suicide attempts and administering its full punitive measures would help reduce suicide cases in the country . “Prosecutions of those who attempt suicide appear to be rare and we are trying to ensure that suicide attempt is criminalised because it is a crime to attempt suicide. We are also working to see that we make our helplines toll -free . This will help reduce reoccurrence in large numbers , ” he said . A Public Policy Analyst , Alex Ogundadegbe, who said although suicide was not the best way to manage any situation, blamed the government for the increasing number of suicide cases . According to him , while depression constitutes a major challenge in the country , the requirements to settle those that are depressed are non-existent . “Suicide is not only related to Nigeria but a general societal problem . All we expect is for government to remedy the situation by providing what will make citizens comfortable. “We know that the major cause of the problem is depression , but the requirements to settle the depressed among us are non - existent . There are no working national security system , unemployment benefits , good infrastructure and economy , all these lead to depression , ” he stated . Media Relations Strategist and CEO Yinkus Coverage and Logistics , Olayinka Ajayi , noted that it was unfortunate that government was busy fighting corruption , while Nigerians were jobless and many others were dying of frustration. https://www.nigerialog.com/random-thoughts/nigeria-loses-80-persons-to-suicide-in-one-year/new/#new |
Having to decide what to wear to work in the new week could be a burden to many people . The workplace or environment is a factor to consider when choosing clothes for the new week . Some workplaces allow for casual appearances . Others are quite strict and only approve of corporate outfits . The millennial culture is catching on , and jeans are now becoming more acceptable in the workplace . Here are five tips to rock your jeans stylishly and professionally . Throw on a blazer A blazer can transform any look into a professional one. Brighten up your casual jeans with either a light or dark -coloured blazer. Wear dressy shoes Wearing a great set of shoes , like heels, can boost your looks and confidence . Wear a classic pair of pumps in either nude or black and you will go from casual to formal in seconds . Go dark Dark jeans are more appropriate for work as they appear to be more conservative than light -coloured jeans which look casual and laid back. It is best to save your dark jeans for the office and lighter shades for your days of fun . Tuck it in Nothing says formal than a well tucked in shirt in either a skirt or pair of jeans . Perfect this look by throwing on a belt and corporate shoes . Wear classic cuts Classic cuts look more professional than casual . It ’s always safer to go for something comfortable and a bit roomy . Try wide -legged or boot- leg cut jeans . https://www.nigerialog.com/fashion/ive-trendy-ways-to-style-your-jeans-to-work/msg44820/#msg44820 |
A man ’s little swimmers are almost as important as his being . However , not many are aware that some activities they enjoy might be the reason for their low sperm count. Below are some activities that men should avoid: Hot Bath Although a relaxing remedy when the weather is quite cold, hot baths or any form of heat affects the sperm. The sperm is produced when the scrotum is four degrees cooler than the other parts of the body. It, therefore, goes that exposing yourself to hot heat for more than 30 minutes reduces sperm production . Although redeemable , it takes up to nine months for sperm production to return to its normal state . Fish Fish high in mercury such as King mackerel and tuna steak should be avoided . This is because they are high in mercury and can negatively affect the level of omega -3 in the body leaving the sperm to be deformed or damaged . Instead, opt for fish that are rich in omega - 3 or zinc. Laptops A research done by the State University of New York found that there is an existing relationship between staying on the laptop for a prolonged period of time and an increase in the scrotum temperature. Findings showed that the result of the relationship is that there is a low gamete formation . Whatever you do, place the laptop on a table , not on your lap . Alcohol and Carbonated drinks Men who indulge in alcohol -binging , carbonated drinks and smoking are prone to infertility . This is because the caffeine in the drinks can damage the sperm. Sugary drinks cause an increase in insulin resistance resulting in oxidative stress which generally affects sperm production . Cigarettes , on the other hand , affects semen mobility while alcohol and carbonated drinks affect the sperm production . https://www.nigerialog.com/health/four-activities-that-cause-male-infertility/new/#new |
Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr insists the Super Eagles will be arriving in Russia for the 2018 World Cup to make a bold statement, not as frightened rabbits. The three-time African champions, who are scheduled to hit Russia on Monday, have copped a lot flake for losing their last pre-World Cup friendly match 1-0 against Czech Republic in Austria on Wednesday. The defeat came after they lost 2-1 against England on June 2. However, Rohr has brushed off the defeats, saying they had made the necessary corrections based on their observations. “We are okay with the garb of the underdog. But the defeats have done something for us — we have our heads firmly on our shoulders and we are focused,” the German told the Nigeria Football Federation’s official website on Sunday. “Together, we have reviewed the matches and learnt so many lessons. We will approach the World Cup matches differently.” The former Gabon manager said the Eagles would be ready for their tournament’s opening fixture against Croatia in Kaliningrad on Saturday, warning the Europeans not to underestimate his team. The 64-year-old said, “We will take it one match at a time. I love this group because we know how to rise to the occasion together. “Nigeria will be ready for Croatia.” Meanwhile, reports on Sunday indicated that Rohr is planning to start versatile Israel-based John Ogu alongside Leicester City star Wilfred Ndidi in the defensive midfield against Croatia. Turkey-based midfielder Ogenyi Onazi started in the holding positions alongside Ndidi in past matches but his recent below-par performances must be giving Rohr some concern. Mikel Obi is expected to play in front of the duo with Victor Moses and Alex Iwobi also in line to start. Rohr is said to have since pencilled in new Brighton defender Leon Balogun and William Troost-Ekong for starting roles. https://www.nigerialog.com/sports/rohr-warns-croatia-considers-ogu-for-starting-role/ |
Sometimes men find it very hard to express their feelings to their partner . Especially emotional issues . They have absolutely no one to share their problems with . Most of us think when they hang out with their buddies; all they think or do is gossip . It’s not true all the time . It turns out that men don ’t really talk to anyone when something is bothering them . They tend to go off on their own and figure out the problem in some logical fashion that feels right for them . They generally prefer to mull things over in their head , preferably alone , before they make their next move. Often times , men actually do get lonely and they suffer from this just as much as women can . The difference is, men don’t talk about it or seek out a friend to discuss it with or find others who are also feeling the same way . Our environment has even made it more difficult for men to even admit that they ’re lonely let alone talk about it freely . Men feel the pressure of portraying themselves as strong and stoic , as if nothing bothers them and nothing can penetrate their armor of steel . Meanwhile, men suffer from feelings of seclusion and many of them long for a deeper connection with women , as well as other men . You have got to understand that men have long struggled with emotional intimacy, which is described as : “The experience of being deeply connected to another person who knows and understands your most important feelings and who shares his or her own with you.” I will tell you that guys who struggle with emotional intimacy are more likely to withdraw and isolate themselves during times of stress , when they most need help . Men of all ages feel lonely at times and many feel as though they have no one to talk to. Married men are concerned that their wives wouldn ’t understand their loneliness , nor would they have much sympathy for them , and most men assume their male friends aren’t exactly willing to hear how their buddy feels alone and depressed . Guys talk about sports, work , politics and attractive women , probably in that order. Because we are talking about both married and single men here , there are differences between the two groups . It turns out , that men , who have been married for several years and have children, are the loneliest of them all . This , of course, does not mean that all married men with children are terribly lonely , but majority feel very lonely and isolated in their marriage. It stemmed mainly from the feeling that their spouse was no longer interested in them and they had fallen to the bottom of the priority list. Countless men say that once their wives have given birth , everything changes . It felt to them that the children, their wife, the house had become more important than them . And while men are more inclined to put their wives happiness first , typically before their own, men feel as though their lives no longer matter . These type of men describe themselves as, “incredibly lonely .” These type of men have also become accustomed to very sparse sexual encounters with their wives . This fact alone has contributed to much of their feelings of isolation. Men connect with women sexually and a good part of their happiness comes from being sexually active with , and receiving affection from , the woman they love . Men are not looking for threesomes , anal sex, swinging or even MouthAction for that matter ; they are mainly looking for affection and the feeling that they still had the ability to turn their wife on. A 54 - year -old engineer friend of mine who had been married for 16 years with 2 children told me that one of the most devastating things that can happen to a man is to know that he no longer turns his wife on and that she can ’t stand the idea of being intimate with him. For him , this was at the heart of his feeling lonely and miserable . The irony of these stories is that almost all the men said they couldn ’t imagine being married to any other woman and that they still loved their wives , but the lack of sex and affection was sometimes too much to bear . There were some other male friends of mine who told me they felt they had no other option but to have an affair , but many said they suffer through this isolation because they love their families and can ’t imagine cheating on their spouse or living life without them ; so they press on . Now , Is “pressing on ” the best we can hope for these days ? I mean it was very disheartening to hear so many stories of men who feel they can ’ t share their true feelings with anyone . Most of the men I know didn ’ t have male friends that they felt comfortable discussing such deeply personal issues with, and typically married men have few close female platonic friendships . So where does this leave men who are feeling hopeless and isolated ? I don’t have the answer to that , but I can tell you that it is extremely prevalent and I would guess that more than half of the wives out there have no idea how terribly lonely and miserable their husbands truly are. If you’ re a woman reading this , flirting with your husband and letting him know that he still lights your fire , could go a long way . If you’ re a man and this resonates with you, perhaps try telling your wife your real feelings and ask her for some understanding. Let her know how much her affection means to you and how much you intensely miss the girlfriend you married . To our happiness . Cheers . https://www.nigerialog.com/family/loneliness-in-men/new/#new |
Keen to prevent a repeat of ugly scenes from previous tournaments, authorities in Russia have imposed draconian measures during the World Cup, cracking down on everything from alcohol to kebabs. Here are some of the new restrictions that affect Russians as well as international fans during the tournament, which runs from June 14 to July 15 . – Sale of alcohol – On matchdays and the day before, the sale of alcoholic drinks and all drinks in glass bottles will be banned in fan zones , around stadiums and in other busy locations such as parks and railway stations in host cities . The authorities also intend to revive the Soviet institution of drunk tanks , run by the police , where drunk fans will be taken to sober up . – Registering with police – Both foreigners and Russians who travel to one of the World Cup host cities will have to register with police within 3 days of arrival , displaying proof of identity and showing they have accommodation . Previously , Russians were only supposed to register with police if they stayed in another city for more than 90 days . In any case , these rules had rarely been implemented in recent years . Foreigners who travel to several of the 11 host cities and stay in each for more than 3 days will have to register multiple times . While hotels will organise registration, this is more complex for those renting private flats with the owner expected to register them . Some journalists covering the World Cup have already had problems after failing to register in time on arrival . – Crackdown on protests - A decree signed by President Vladimir Putin drastically curtails the rights of Russians to hold protests during the World Cup . Public events unconnected to sport can only be held in certain places and at times approved by the authorities. For example in the city of Yekaterinburg in the Urals , demonstrations must not involve more than 100 people and can only be held between 2 and 4 pm . Music festivals planned for this summer in Russia have also had to move their dates to after the World Cup. – Sightseeing – While prices for hotel rooms and rented flats have soared , the authorities have also decided to squeeze out organised tours , which are particularly popular with Russians. Coaches of sightseers will be banned from entering host cities and pleasure boats will not be allowed to sail on their rivers . The authorities have identified 41 locations over which all of types of flights will be banned during the World Cup, while the use of drones is banned in a 100 - kilometer radius around the host cities . A special army squadron will be deployed to set up electronic jamming around stadiums. In Moscow , known for its snarled traffic , as well as in other big cities , some streets in the centre and near stadiums will be closed , risking further jams . The mayor of Kaliningrad, one of the host cities , has even urged residents to leave the city and have a relaxing break in the countryside during the matches . – Barbecue ban – Already hit by sanctions banning European meat and other foods , Russians will now find it harder to fire up barbecues to grill their beloved kebabs ( known as shashlik) . Due to forest fires that have spread over large areas this summer , particularly in Siberia , the authorities have ordered tougher restrictions on lighting fires outdoors during the World Cup. The rules to be implemented by the host cities call for bans on campfires , setting fire to grass and cooking meat al fresco in areas that lack special facilities . https://www.nigerialog.com/sports/alcohol-and-other-restrictions-at-the-russia-2018-fifa-world-cup/new/#new |
Getting a father ’s day gift may be one of the hardest things you will have to think about this month of June . We presume right now you are stuck with trying to get the perfect gift for your dad while trying not to wreck yourself , no worries we got you! These gift ideas should be considered when thinking of what to get him . 1 . A classic tie If your dad a lot of OTT and vintage prints ties , it’s time to get him a classic grey , blue or black tie that will be a staple on any of his outfits . 2 . Customized mugs What is more thoughtful than a customized mug ? It does not have to be about expensive gifts and dinner at expensive restaurants either . A customized mug with your thoughts written out on it is a splendid gift. 3 . A Sophisticated Pair of Cufflinks As little as these may seem they will do a lot in elevating your dad’ s simple shirt look into looking like a sophisticated classic man . 3 . A set of socks Lift up his socks collection from regular “old daddy ” patterned socks to fun patterns of neutral black, grey and white colour scheme that will go with everything. 4 . A comfortable pair of pyjamas This may not seem like the best gift to get your dad but he sure will appreciate it, pj ’ s are not what people think of changing every now and then , getting a new pair might have been on his wish list , so make yourself a genie and fulfil his wish . 5 . A pair of shoes Odds are your dad already has a few pairs of shoes and may seem satisfied with what he own well, he isn’t . Everyone loves new shoes , and so does your dad. A pair of shoes is a father ’s day gift that can never go wrong. 6 . A cologne Again, you can never go wrong with a cologne 7 . Trending Glasses Cool dads are the best dads. Get your dad a pair of glasses he ’ll look super cool in them , preferably Tortoise-Shell Sunglasses they always look good and are a contrast between he ’s medicated glasses he wears on a daily basis . https://www.nigerialog.com/fashion/seven-affordable-fathers-day-gifts/new/#new |
Eko or Agidi in Nigeria's is made of corn flour. Eko is just like ogi but the process of making is different. Nigerians eat eko with pepper soup or hot akara. Ingredients for making eko Corn flour (corn starch) Cold water Preparation of eko 1. Mix the cornstarch or flour with cold water in a pot. Add water bit by bit to reduce lumps. 2. Place the pot on the stove and stir continuously, make sure you are constantly stirring the mixture. After some time, you will notice the cornstarch mixture begin to thicken. Continue stirring on medium heat to avoid lumps. 3. When completely thickened, pour some water to the sides of the eko, cover the pot and leave to simmer for about 10 minutes on medium heat. Stir well to mix the Agidi with the water. 4. Transfer to containers and leave to cool down. Wrap in uma leaves to get the Agidi shape. https://www.nigerialog.com/food/how-to-make-eko-or-agidi/msg44597/#msg44597 |
Unripe plantains are not as sweet as bananas unless they are ripe . For decades, plantains have been one of the most common staple foods that thrive in the tropics . They contain many health advantages when taken unripe. They are not sweet when boiled. But you will be amazed the various benefits this food possesses . Nutritious Unripe plantains contain iron , calories , carbohydrate , protein and vitamins . Pregnant women are advised to eat it because of its nutrients. Contains antioxidants Plantains contain a high level of vitamins which is an antioxidant that protects the body and helps to remove damaging oxidising agents . Plantain contains a high level of potassium Potassium intake reduces the risk of stroke and helps the kidneys to reduce the formation of kidney stone . Plantain helps in weight loss Carbohydrates are not necessarily bad. Unripe plantain contains enough carbs to ensure that you meet dietary requirements. Plantain is a heavy meal . It discourages unnecessary snacks after meal . Unripe plantains have various ways to prepare and make them savory for even the sweetest tooth . Plantain floor with vegetable soup , plantain porridge and fish pepper soup with plantains . https://www.nigerialog.com/food/four-nutrition-facts-about-unripe-plantains/new/#new |
Owo soup is a delicious staple popular among the Urhobo, Isoko, Itsekiri and Benin people. It is a traditional soup prepared, mostly, during traditional activities. Recipe ingredients Goat meat or assorted meat Palm Oil Knorr cubes Potash Tomatoes Habanero pepper - ata rodo Recipe instruction Boil and season your meat. Once they have sufficiently cooked with some stock left, add your blended tomatoes and pepper. Add the crayfish and smoked fish. Bring the contents of the pot to a gentle simmer. Dissolve potash about the size of half - 3 quarters of a Knorr cube in water and add to the pot and bring to the boil. The presence of the tomatoes, will mean it wouldn't bubble up as much. Leave it to cook and in a few minutes, you will notice that the addition of the potash has caused the prior watery stock to thicken a little. Take it off the heat and let it cool down a little. Stir in palm oil into the pot. The soup will thicken and the colour will change to a pale shade of yellowish orange. Owo soup is delicious and can be enjoyed by everyone. https://www.nigerialog.com/food/here's-how-to-cook-the-delicious-owo-soup/new/#new |
Every week , there is a possibility that you spend between 49 to 63 hours in bed lying on those sheets . This leaves quite a lot of time for sweat , dirt , oil , makeup and other allergens to build up. Add all that up and one could get skin issues like those breakouts we hate, allergy symptoms and even fungal infections. Sounds scary, right? This is why it is very important to keep your sheets clean . But how often should you wash and change your bedding ? We all know that washing them too often may cause them to wear out and fade . But washing them too rarely can let all that dirt and allergens build up . Well, there is no rule for how often to wash your sheets . But a good rule of thumb is to change them once a week . Or you can stretch that out to once in two weeks if you don’ t sweat while you sleep . Also , remember to have them washed once you have been sick to kill any lingering germs. You don ’t want to give yourself a cold all over again . Another tip , especially when you cannot wash your sheets every week , is to wash your pillowcases once a week . This is because your face is more likely to break out than other areas in your body . You can also ingest allergens like dust mites more easily through your nose and mouth . When washing your sheets , use warm water and not hot water which can shrink the fibres in the fabric, making it easier for them to wear out . Also , make sure your sheets are completely dry before you store them , otherwise, mildew may form on them . One last thing to note is that not every single thing on your bed needs to be washed often. Duvet covers should be washed once a month. Pillows , comforters and blankets should be washed only a few times a year. You can wash them once every three months . Wash these items delicately and make sure to rinse properly to get all the soap out . https://www.nigerialog.com/health/how-often-do-you-really-need-to-change-your-bed-sheets/new/#new |
Vaginal cancer is a rare type of cancer that affects one in 1000 women . Unlike the others that spread across the body , it spreads around the vagina and beyond, hence the name . It is more common among Black Americans and Hispanics. Every year , about 1240 deaths occur from this illness . Vaginal cancer and cervical cancer are linked but are not the same . Vaginal cancer occurs in the vagina , the opening that is linked to the cervix. Cervical cancer occurs in the cervix, the small neck -like passage at the end of the uterus . Although the cause of this remains unknown, it is sometimes triggered by sexually - transmitted human papillomavirus ( HPV) which causes vaginal intraepithelial neoplasia. There are four types of this cancer : the vaginal squamous cell carcinoma affects the thin cells that outline the surface of the vagina ; the vaginal adenocarcinoma occurs on the surface of the vagina ; the vaginal melanoma occurs in the melanocytes of the vagina ; the vaginal sarcoma affects the connective cells in the walls of the vagina . There is no known cause of this cancer and it is usually not detected at the early stage until there is a diagnosis . These are some of the signs of vaginal cancer : Lump in the vagina Difficulty when urinating Painful sex Frequent urination Pelvic pain Vaginal bleeding after sexual intercourse There are also some things that can trigger it. They include: Old age Smoking Diethylstilbestrol ( DES ) – a drug that prevents miscarriage It is usually detected through a pelvic exam, a pap smear test or the cervix examination . Treatment can be though radiation therapy or chemotherapy with the advice of the doctor . https://www.nigerialog.com/health/a-quick-guide-to-understanding-vaginal-cancer/new/#new |
The “architectural masterpiece ” that is the National Arts Theatre was built in 1976 as the primary centre for the performing arts. It boasts a 5 ,000 -seater main hall with a collapsible stage and two cinema halls . It was also one of the four main venues for the landmark Festival of Arts and Culture ( FESTAC ) in 1977 . Forty years later, The National Theatre is no longer regarded as one of the top homes for the performing arts in Lagos . Its position as the national culture hub has since been claimed by the likes of Terra Kulture , Freedom Park , and the MUSON Centre. The space has gradually devolved into a meeting venue for Lagos branch gatherings of development unions. It also may or may not host occasional low budget theatre productions . What happened to this national treasure? First was the failure to plan. The government must have never accounted for the performing arts growing into the force that it is today . Think of Bolanle Austen-Peters’s production company which has created sold out shows like SARO The Musical and Wakaa The Musical home and abroad . There have been rumours of handing the theatre over to private conglomerates to convert it into shopping malls and hospitality spots. Yet , these plans have never materialised. In 2010 , former President Olusegun Obasanjo ’s plans to privatise the theatre received pushback from patrons like Wole Soyinka . In December 2017, this idea floated once again , this time , as hushed talks that the federal government was going to hand over the property to Lagos state for renovation. Six months after , the imposing edifice is still mostly empty and without activity . There is also the non -existent maintenance culture, especially as regards public infrastructure . This national failing can be seen in other popular locations in the country . Iconic venues like The National Stadium in Surulere , which also played host to the activities of FESTAC 1977, remains in a very poor state . It has now replaced by The Godswill Akpabio International Stadium , which has become the go- to venue for all international matches . Case in point is the friendly between the Super Eagles and Atletico Madrid . The unfortunate thing is that people are in charge of these institutions and huge sums are probably allocated annually for maintenance . Until there is a system that holds people in office accountable for monies allocated , nothing is likely to change . There have also been reports of people suffering violent attacks while attempting to access these facilities . After identifying these problems , what next ? The government has to invest in the arts and culture space . The industry is a potential money maker, capable of generating millions of naira to boost the economy . But , to harvest these gains , monies have to be sown in the first place . Not just in talent and infrastructure , but also in maintenance and capacity building . Square pegs must be placed in appropriate holes and government must entrust the facilities in the hands of people committed to the arts and its development . A functional and renovated theatre will be a catalyst for the booming film and music industry and will help the theatre industry move to greater heights . There is a lot of work to be done , no doubt, to return The National Theatre to its glory days and the rewards of such an endeavour are endless. https://www.nigerialog.com/culture/can-the-national-theatre-return-to-its-glory-days/new/#new |
If you’ re one person who finds it tasking deciding what to wear every morning , then you are in luck . We ’ve put together some tips to make the process of getting dressed each morning much easier . Rearrange your wardrobe One way to make choosing outfits easier is to take an inventory of your clothes. Then separate them into what you like to or may never wear. Store away or give out the ones you don’t see yourself wearing in coming months to reduce the clutter . Organise your clothes Start by giving priority to the ones you wear frequently . For instance , the clothes you wear to work every day should be easily accessible . Organising your clothes in types and colours also makes identifying them easier. Plus , you’ll know not to buy black denim pants when next you go shopping because you already have too many. Store your accessories Put all accessories where you can see , whether in a jewellery box or in a side cabinet . You can also get smaller storage pieces and trays for different types of accessories . This also applies to scarves, hats , shoes , bags and purses. Organise your wardrobe electronically Take a picture of that pretty jacket you just got and save to an album on your phone . This will help you to plan and avoid buying duplicates when shopping . There are also applications like Polyvore and Stylebook to plan looks and keep track of your outfits . Or you can use an excel spreadsheet . Plan your looks in advance You can plan around the clothes you have for a week or a month and then adapt that plan to suit your day . Set out all your clothes for the week separately from your other clothes. https://www.nigerialog.com/fashion/tips-for-organising-your-wardrobe-for-stress-free-planning/new/#new |
Dry skin comes with a lot of challenges – yeah we absolutely love that it can stay dry with makeup on it but does it glow? Most times nope and there we have an issue. This skin type can sometimes be dull and generally lacklustre and we’re so about the glow and healthy shine so what to do? With this skin type it’s essential to moisturize regularly especially with products containing Vitamin E and oils that penetrate the skin without clogging the pores. A great way to start is by cleansing it right meaning no harsh chemicals, alcohol or any drying ingredients. The oil cleansing method is a natural way to get started. Oil cleansing is simple and a very effective way of cleansing without drying up the skin or disturbing its natural oils. All you need is coconut oil, olive oil and a facecloth and these steps: Put 4 drops of olive oil and 2 drops of coconut oil into your hand and massage, gently working it into the skin for about 3-4 minutes. Soak the facecloth in hot water (not hot enough to scald your face!) and get excess out Place the steaming facecloth over the face for a few seconds and rub on the face in circular motions Continue with a gentle, fragrance free cleanser for this skin type and lock in moisture with an intensely hydrating moisturizer. Do you have dry skin? Share your experiences. https://www.nigerialog.com/beauty/if-you-have-dry-skin-you-should-try-this!/new/#new |
People wear contact lenses for various reasons : To correct refractive errors ( poor vision that can be improved with spectacle ; myopia ( short - sightedness ); hypermetropia ( long -sightedness ) and astigmatism ( unequal curvature ) . People with high refractive errors tolerate contact lenses better , because of some distortions they experience with high -powered spectacle lenses . Also , some types of astigmatic errors cannot be optimally corrected with spectacles . In addition , high -powered spectacles are often heavier and less cosmetically appealing. Some types of contact lenses can also be used to prevent worsening myopia . This is called Orthokeratology . People also wear contact lenses for cosmetic purposes . In such a case , such people wear coloured contact lenses to alter the colour of their eyes for aesthetic reasons and also for people with unsightly scars in the eyes . There are also medical reasons for wearing contact lenses . Tinted contact lenses can also be used for people with conditions in which the Iris ( brown/black/ grey circular diaphragm - like structure is partially or totally absent such as Aniridia, following trauma and in albinism to reduce glare and photophobia . Other non - cosmetic contact lenses can as well be prescribed for pain relief , severe dry eye , promotion of wound healing , small corneal leaks , following trauma or surgery . Some eye medications can also be delivered to the eye using contact lenses . The latest is contact lens for measurement of eye pressure . Contact lenses can be classified as follows: Based on material into hard , soft , rigid gas -permeable , hybrid contact lenses . Based on optical design into Spherical ( for long or short - sightedness ) , Toric ( for astigmatism ) , Multifocal ( for presbyopia ) . Based on wear schedule into daily disposable ( disposed after one day ) . Daily wear has to be removed every night, while Extended wear can be worn overnight , though usually for a maximum of two weeks . Based on diameter into Corneal ( smaller and rests on the cornea) and Scleral ( larger and rests on the sclera ) contact lenses . These include: Infective keratitis , which is infection of the cornea. This can spread to involve the whole eyeball , and can also lead to blindness and loss of the eye . More often than not , this results from use of inappropriate fluid / solution as storage or cleansing liquid e .g . tap water . Unhygienic practices, such as not washing hands before insertion or removal of the contact lens, can also predispose to an infection. There is also Toxic keratopathy, brought about due to exposure to toxic substances in the cleaning or storage solutions. This may result into red and painful eye , and if not properly treated can lead to loss of vision. People should ensure that the right cleansing solution is used . Then, there is Giant papillary conjunctivitis. This is allergic reaction to the presence of contact lens or lens solution. It may result in moderate /severe itching or gritty sensation ( sandy sensation ) , and redness of the eyes . Corneal abrasion ( scratch ) can occur with chipped lenses or from fingernails during insertion or removal of the contact lens. Very uncomfortable foreign body sensation pain and redness of the eye may affect vision. Corneal warpage results from prolonged use of contact lens, and can also change the curvature of the eye . This is reversible with discontinuation of contact lens use. It can cause distortion of images . Corneal oedema and vascularisation occurs due to poor supply of oxygen and nutrients to the cornea caused by tight contact lens and prolonged wear. The cornea swells up, can become whitish and painful with abnormal growth of blood vessels in the cornea. Dry eyes are very uncomfortable . The situation occurs when eyes are not well lubricated by natural tears because the lens prevent adequate wetting of the cornea. Symptoms and signs of contact lens problems include , redness of the eyes , foreign body sensation , excess tearing , blurry vision, photophobia , eye discharge, pain , whitish opacity of the cornea and loss of vision. Once a contact lens wearer notices any of the symptoms listed above , he / she should immediately discontinue contact lens wear and see an Ophthalmologist immediately . Preferably , he/ she should take the contact lens, its container and cleaning / storage solutions along to the hospital. Alternatives to contact lenses are spectacles and Refractive surgery ( Laser surgery ). https://www.nigerialog.com/health/what-to-know-about-contact-lens/new/#new |
Last month, Nigerian pop artist Ayo ‘Wizkid ’ Balogun had a sold - out concert at the revered 02 Arena, joining an illustrious list of international acts that include Beyonce , Rihanna, Gary Barlow and the Spice Girls . Weeks before Wizkid ’ s epoch -making moment — now a bench for any Nigerian artist seeking to flaunt his worth on the international stage — his once -upon -a -time rival and now friend , Davido , performed before a crowd roughly half of Wizkid ’s 20 ,000 - strong audience in Suriname , a country alien to a bulk of his loyal fan base in Nigeria . Last week , Falz ’ s new video , This is Nigeria, a remake of Childish Gambino ’s viral hit , This is America , was co -signed by one of the biggest names in world hip - hop , Sean ‘ Puff Daddy ’ Combs , with a promise that the socially- conscious video would be given generous airplay on his Revolt TV network. That three of the biggest Nigeria ’ s entertainment export in the last decade are constantly expanding the frontiers is not only a testament to their tenacious work ethics . It also follows in the paths already charted by equally talented and influential front -runners such as Fela Kuti , King Sunny Adé and, more recently , D’banj . But it has not always been that way . The pioneers With its diverse cultures and ethnicities , it was difficult for popular music in Nigeria to have a mono- cultural identity . The early styles of popular music saw highlife and palm wine music spread across Nigeria and neighbouring countries such as Ghana and Senegal in the 1920 s. Palmwine music derived its name from the alcoholic beverage tapped from trees and drunk at bars where the urban music style was frequently played. These popular styles of music eventually evolved into a genre called jùjú that thrived for many years and saw famous stars like Baba Tunde King and IK Dairo who helped create and popularise the early jùjú sound . During this time , we also saw the apala style of music that was derived from traditional Yoruba music but had a more limited audience . Evolving By the end of the second world war , Nigerian musicians had taken on new instruments and techniques from western countries such as Cuba and America , incorporating these elements into jùjú music . Highlife also started gaining popularity among the Igbos , who made it unique to their tribe over time . It also saw other guitar -band styles from other countries like Ghana , Cameroon and Zaire. The 1960s saw a number of Nigerian musicians growing in the booming music industry . Haruna Ishola dominated the apala style of music . The early 1970 s saw some of the biggest names in the history of Nigerian music at their peak , including Fela Kuti , King Sunny Adé and Ebenezer Obey . Traditional music also spread throughout Nigeria with stars like the Hausa Dan Maraya . These westernised pop influences and imported music resulted in a profusion of new styles like waka music , Yo -pop, Nigerian reggae and the popular Afrobeat . These styles thrived all through the 20 th century . At the end of the decade, hip -hop music had spread to the country . A new age The last two decades have seen the Nigerian music scene evolve exponentially, giving rise to a number of stars . These young people have evolved in their musical careers , eventually becoming some of the greatest voices in music in Africa . At the core of that rise is Kennis Music , a record label founded by Kenny ‘Keke ’ Ogungbe and Dayo ‘ D-One ’ Adeneye . Both OAPs in the Ray Power radio station at the time signed on artists such as The Remedies, Wale Thompson , Eedris Abdulkareem, Tony Tetuila and Sound Sultan . At this point , the artists with a mainstream following in pop culture were mostly rapping hits by their American counterparts . Artistes such as Maintain , Rasqie and Black Reverendz became popular for remaking Ludacris ’ Area Code ( I Catch Cold ) , DMX ’s Ruff Ryder’ s Anthem ( Soji ) and Busta Rhyme ’s Dangerous ( Ayangba ) . The relatively fresh breath offered by the artistes on Kennis’ roster meant the Nigerian music industry was directed to create more homegrown pop culture - ready songs . However , external influences were still very visible . Evident in the music made in the early 2000 s were the act of storytelling and socially -conscious lyrics . Sound Sultan ’s Mathematics , a mellow, yet groovy track became an anthem of soft with its poignant critique of prevailing socio - political ills in the country . Even the feel- good songs released were driven by well- thought -out lyrics and structure . The Remedies’ Shade and Plantashun Boiz ’s Knock Me Off fit this frame. Although the first Nigerian rap album I am African by Ibrahim Omari Salim , an American rapper on exile in Nigeria , was released in the 1980s, the genre did not enjoy mainstream acceptance until the likes of Modenine and Ruggedman came to the fore . The former’s first official single , Elbow Room , became a mainstay on Nigerian urban radio while Ruggedman ’s Ehen , a stinging diss track which mocked the likes of Eedris Abdulkareem, opened a new vista for Nigerian rap music . These forerunners of Nigerian rap paved the way for a new breed of rappers who have now found unique ways of infusing their culture into their music . Case in point are the likes of Phyno and Olamide who sell out venues locally. The new breeds The coming of the 21 st century saw women standing out in the Nigerian music industry for their talents and achievements in genres like rap, hip -hop and Afrobeat . Rappers like Weird MC , Sasha P and Eva Alordiah and Afrobeats singers like Omawumi Megbele , Tiwa Savage and Yemi Alade shot into the spotlight and flourished . Regardless , the face of the Nigerian music industry today is masculine with the likes of Wizkid and Davido flying the flag of the country in different arenas while smashing the records created by their countrymen who came before them . While both Wizkid and Davido still , in some ways , pander to the Western music genres , Urban highlife singer Omoba ‘Adekunle Gold ’ Kosoko draws inspiration from King Sunny Adé and Ebenezer Obey . He became popular in 2014 when he released a cover of One Direction’s Story of My Life titled Sade . With multiple awards under his belt , the singer has gone on to become one of the most widely- acknowledged highlife musicians today . Simisola ‘Simi ’ Bolatito Ogunleye shot into the limelight in 2011 after the release of her song , Tiff . 20 - year-old Tay Iwar has been labelled as the future of Nigerian music with his lyrical depth and a melodramatic mix of alternative RnB and psychedelic hip - hop . 21 - year -old neo-soul singer , Lady Donli , drew influences from RnB, jazz , hip - hop and alternative music to form her own unique style. However , while the bulk of the songs released nowadays are lacking in depth in terms of lyrics , and are mostly bereft of socially conscious content, the likes of Folarin ‘ Falz ’ Falana are recreating themselves in the mould of firesome Fela . Falz recently gained international recognition with his video for This is Nigeria. The song, inspired by Childish Gambino ’s This is America , included commentary which held a mirror to the social ills in Nigeria from drug abuse to corruption . This was a striking contrast to some Afro - pop songs by other popular Nigerian musicians that seemed to endorse the abuse of drugs, especially codeine . Take, for instance , Diet by DJ Enimoney featuring Reminisce , Slimcase and Tiwa Savage , a song which couldn ’t have come at a worse time . No doubt that Nigerian music has progressed and evolved over time and, with the internet and the external influences that have made it what it is today , a number of things are evident . Every generation of musical artists has their peculiarities and has produced frontline popular music . However , in terms of production quality, international recognition and the forms of music that are classified as popular , there is an obvious fact that it has changed from what it was to what it is now. Today , more Nigerians have international collaborations with their foreign counterparts , are selling out shows and shutting down arenas . This proves that there is a possibility that Nigerian artists who dare to be different to create sounds that the world has not heard before will be raised higher than the likes of today ’s international pop stars. https://www.nigerialog.com/random-thoughts/nigerian-music-then-and-now/ |
On this side of the planet, weddings have become a part of the weekend lifestyle. Every other Saturday, somebody you know or someone that knows someone you know is getting hitched. And one question that often times will come to your mind is: What do you wear? Well, maybe it’s time you also start asking yourself “What shouldn’t I wear?” Here are the wedding etiquette you need to know. 1. Follow the dress code. Most weddings have a dress code and as guests, you are often times told what to wear even when there is no aso-ebi. So stick to it. For example, if the invitation says purple dinner dress with dark heels specifically, wear it-just don’t be shy to add your touch to it. 2. Wedding Etiquette suggests you avoid dressing in white. Unless the dress code specifically says white, please do not go to any wedding in a white dress. White is traditionally saved for the bride. Even the chief bridesmaid isn’t allowed to dress like the bride all in white. Though now days, brides go in other colors, it’s still safer not to be caught unawares. 3. Try to evade stealing the spotlight from the bride. This is a NO! NO! The golden rule is to keep the attention on the bride of the day-she is supposed to be the most beautiful woman at her wedding. Avoiding going in clothes that are revealing, overly short and tight. 4. Pay attention to the venue chosen. Whatever you choose to wear should befit the location and type of wedding you are attending. Think about the aura of the event, the people attending and even what the experience will be like. Finally, don’t be scared to ask for clarification if you don’t totally understand the theme or dress code of the wedding. https://www.nigerialog.com/fashion/wedding-etiquette-what-you-should-avoid-wearing-to-a-wedding/new/#new |
Makeup is a collective name for lipsticks and such that are widely used by ladies as a form of beauty to lure men to some extent. However, be in the know that this beauty stuff are endowed with hazardous metals such as lead which have long-term devastating consequences. Here are the risks associated with some of the makeup (s) that you need to know. Cancers Medically, most makeups are carcinogenic in nature that is, they bring about cancers. A good example of cancer caused by makeups is skin cancer. It usually occurs when the cells of a tissue undergo uncontrolled proliferation on the skin. Acne This is a common side effect of makeup that manifests itself in women who wear makeups. Usually, acne is the result of different factors like environmental conditions including wearing makeups. Makeups clog the skin pores which in turn cause blackheads, also known as acne. Headaches This might sound incredible but according to a recent study, headaches are also caused by makeups. Eye infections Common eye infections include endophthalmitis, viral keratitis, conjunctivitis and such. The infections occur when pathogens, bacteria, fungi, viruses, and chemicals invade any part of the eye. In this case, makeups are also among the contributing factors of the infections. https://www.nigerialog.com/beauty/diseases-women-can-acquire-from-makeups/new/#new |
Want soft lips? Then you need to start doing this. We promise you’d be thanking us after. Soft lips are ever desirable aka kissable pout, there’s something not only sensual but easily allows lipwear to glide on smoothly and leaves it long lasting. Hey everyone loves those ‘magazine lips’ the ones that look intensely moisturized and clean even when they are bare or stay hydrated when you decide to wear nude lips. There are products and treatments to get the lips in great shape but it’s best to always go with ones without adverse effects and won’t damage the skin around the area. One cheap and easy way is to drink enough water! When you stay hydrated, it will reflect even on the lips so drink those 8 glasses! There’s one thing to do every night or every other night before bedtime to get the lips softer though and it’s simple and works! All you need is a soft bristled brush that won’t crack your lips and vaseline – you can even switch that will shea butter or coconut oil. How? Apply vaseline, shea butter or coconut oil to your lips Scrub gently with clean/new soft bristled brush for about a minute Wipe off the vaseline/shea butter/coconut oil gently Apply lip balm to moisturize the lips When you do this often at night, you’d get the results in no time. So would you be trying it out? https://www.nigerialog.com/beauty/soft-lips-heres-1-thing-you-need-to-be-doing/msg44334/#msg44334 |
Do you think there is a certain age maturity befriends? Could that be 20, 30, or 40? Maturity does not have anything to do with age; maturity comes with experience. There are some young people who behave maturely than older ones. What are the signs that show a person is still not mature? Let us examine them. 1. Listening less and talking more A person who is not mature always talks and talks. In fact, the one is known as a talkative- presenting himself to the public as being childish. 2. Over-reactive Situations need to be handled calmly, not impulsively. A person who responds to situations impulsively is showing that they are not mature because mature people think before they react. 3. Always defensive An immature person does not accept and show respect for another’s point of view. She does not want to accept her wrongs- she is always defensive. 4. Self-absorbed and self-centered An immature person always wants things that will benefit her only. She is self-centered. A mature person does not think about himself, he does things for the benefits of others too. 5. Irrational and frantic Another sign to know a person who does not show maturity is that she is unreasonable, she cannot make decisions on her own and thus, feeling extremely worried. Mature people are not irrational, although it is not easy to make decisions. Are you still behaving childishly? You have to strip off that childish behavior and put on the complete suite of maturity. https://www.nigerialog.com/random-thoughts/signs-that-show-you-are-still-not-a-mature-person/new/#new |
Depression affects a large number of people . However , when someone close to you is depressed , offering support can feel tricky if you don’t know what the person needs . When a person is depressed , it affects everyone surrounding them and family members and friends often do not know what to do to help . It’s even harder when the depressed person cannot vocalise their needs as their communication skills are significantly diminished because they are too embarrassed to say how they feel, anticipating judgment . How does a family member proceed , then , with little or no direction ? These universal tips provide a basis for how you can lend a hand when someone you care about is depressed . 1 . Educate yourself You may not be able to cure your loved one, but you can understand better and be more tolerant of their situation by educating yourself about their mood disorder. 2 . Ask questions One good way to understand depression and anxiety is to ask questions . Everyone ’s experience is different and your loved one may not voluntarily dish out the information you need , so dig for it to find the root cause. 3 . Make them smile Laughter heals . One of the best things you can do for your health is to laugh. The effect is surprisingly powerful . Make your loved one laugh as often as you can . It helps . 4 . Listen If there ’s only one thing you do, let it be this . Genuinely give them your attention and lend a listening ear to them . Suspend all judgements and interjections. Care about what they’re saying . Most times , this simple thing is more important than understanding. https://www.nigerialog.com/family/four-important-ways-of-helping-a-depressed-friend-or-family-member/new/#new |
Being in a relationship should be an advantage. However there are things you should never sacrifice for a relationship,here are some of them: 1. Freedom. If you constantly have to check in with your partner or feel guilty about going somewhere with friends or family, this shows that your significant other lacks confidence in him or herself. Possessive behavior almost always points to an extreme internal insecurity, often from unhealed childhood wounds, such as abandonment or neglectful parents. Even though this person deserves love and kindness, you need to cut ties with the person to allow them to heal on their own. Controlling behavior suggests that the person does not feel comfortable with him or herself, and this definitely needs to be worked out before he or she commits to any long-term relationships. 2. Yourself. Never change yourself for someone else; the right person will love you for nothing less than your full, authentic self. Also, the right person would never want you to change, because they truly enjoy your genuine essence, without you having to change a thing. Granted, relationships all require small compromises, like maybe eating at a restaurant your partner wants to try instead of the one you really wanted to go to, but you shouldn’t have to alter your personality or beliefs for someone else. Be yourself unapologetically, and if your partner can’t accept you, you need to go for someone who will. 3. Happiness. If someone doesn’t enhance your life and add to your joy, then what purpose do they serve in your life? Bottom line: if your partner drags you down and makes you feel crappy about yourself and life, then it’s time to call quits on the relationship. You need someone who will match your vibration and bring vibrant energy into your life, not someone who leeches the energy from your life. Of course he or she won’t always feel completely blissful, but if they can’t seem to find happiness on their own or offer it to you at all, then let them go…they need to focus on inner healing, not a relationship. 4. Your dreams. An ideal partnership consists of two people on the same mission, supporting each other every step of the way. Or, just two people who have different dreams, but still encourage and cheer each other on. If you don’t have someone on the same path as you, or even someone who has your back, don’t hesitate to leave the relationship. What you want out of life makes up a large portion of who you are, and you don’t need someone who dismisses or bashes your goals. 5. Inner peace. Your guy or girl should make you feel a deep sense of calm that makes you forget about the chaos around you. If they make you anxious, nervous, or angry a majority of the time, they will only weaken your own vibration and cause you to become vulnerable to negative energy. Your partner should have peace within him or herself, and reflect it onto you as well. https://www.nigerialog.com/romance/5-things-you-should-never-sacrifice-for-a-relationship/new/#new |
Ageing comes with a lot of signs that we are not happy with . However , while we cannot necessarily do anything to them , there are certain things we can keep doing or stop doing to ensure that we age gracefully . Quit smoking This already states what literally every man already knows , smoking is bad for your skin . There are a lot of chemicals in cigarettes known as toxins that do nothing but harm the skin , not to mention things like cancer, heart disease among others . However , if you smoke, it’ s probably time to quit before signs of ageing start to dig in . Regular exercise You can never overestimate the power of exercising . Working out not only keeps you fit but also gives you that youthful glow even in your 30 s . Exercise is one of the secrets to youth. It really doesn ’ t have to be incessant exercising ; as little as walking 20 to 30 minutes a day may seem small but it does a lot more than you can imagine from increasing blood flow to detoxification. Hydrate as much as you can Now , you probably knew this and have heard it millions of times , but probably didn ’t know the benefit of it. Water is an element that keeps your skin elastic and gives your face an appealing glow . This is why most men look healthy and fleshy even after their 30 ’ s. Do not use cleansers that deprive your skin of important or essential oils . Lips also get old You probably didn ’ t know this , but your lips age with time . The fine lines you notice on your lips when you look closely in the mirror are because of your lips ageing . Unfortunately, men do not have the advantage women have with being able to cover these skin pet peeves with makeup. Applying lip balm does the job. https://www.nigerialog.com/beauty/skin-care-tips-for-men-in-their-30s-and-above/new/#new |
Abacha is a Nigerian meal native to the Igbos. It is made using dried shredded cassava and can be eaten as a snack or a full meal. Ingredients Abacha Ugba (ukpaka) Palm oil Powdered Potash Dry/roasted fish Onion, chopped Salt and dry pepper Ground crayfish Stock cubes Ground Ehu seeds Boiling water Preparation 1. Soak abacha until it softens. Drain out the cold water, pour boiling water over it and quickly drain out the water. 2. Rinse the ugba/ukpaka in warm water and set aside. 3. Stir the potash with the palm oil in a pot. Place on heat and add the ground ehu, pepper, crayfish and seasoning. Stir properly then add the ground ehu, crushed stock cubes, crayfish, diced onions, and ugba/ukpaka. 4. Take it off the stove and add ogiri, mix properly, then add the fish and ponmo. 5. Add your abacha and mix properly allowing all the ingredients to blend. Add sliced utazi and salt to taste. Garnish with chopped garden egg leaves and sliced onions. https://www.nigerialog.com/food/how-to-make-abacha-(african-salad)/new/#new |
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 (of 23 pages)