Stats: 3,151,165 members, 7,811,375 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 10:33 AM

Gpdwise's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Gpdwise's Profile / Gpdwise's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 10 pages)

Jokes Etc / Re: Lets Play A Game 'A Thousand Ways To Die In Nigeria' by Gpdwise(m): 9:16am On Oct 02, 2016
Majoroperation:
When a pastor go destroy Ogun shrine

lolz!!! u got me laughing bad
Politics / She Woke Me Up Just To Wish Me Happy Independence Day WHO DOES THAT????? by Gpdwise(m): 8:52am On Oct 01, 2016
Even president Buhari wont find this gesture funny
WHO DOES THIS!!!
what is even happy about today
my sweet sound sleep!!
U think am na
infact!!!what is Happy about today
Should i be happy that PDP lost Edo gubernatorial election
Are Nigerians Happy that a dollar is now #480
Are parents happy that their salaries haven't been increased and every other thing being bought are on the rise
You who is reading this post are you even happy that you are a Nigerian
And she woke me up to wish me happy independence.
WHO INDEPENDENCE EPP!!!
I just wonder what this country would ve been like if independence never came 1960 October 1st!!!

Jokes Etc / Re: Lets Play A Game 'A Thousand Ways To Die In Nigeria' by Gpdwise(m): 7:46am On Sep 28, 2016
954- when you chop local made salad from celle bustop in Lagos and you wake up inside casket because cholera has sent you to your maker
Religion / Re: What Will The Faith Of This World Be Without Atheists by Gpdwise(m): 9:06am On Sep 24, 2016
science hasn't disapprove the fact that God exist instead it has supported the fact that most biblical account occur like the great flood of Noah, or the rise and fall of kingdoms as predicted by Daniel. all these ve been confirmed by archeologist and more finds are still being made. your believe is yours and for something as small as GRAVITY that science can't even explain after 400years of discovering it, how long do you think it will take science to prove that God is a fallacy. u will wait eternity
Religion / Re: What Will The Faith Of This World Be Without Atheists by Gpdwise(m): 7:21am On Sep 24, 2016
donnffd:

First of all, i dont find evidence for the God of christians or any other God and so i dont believe in any of those Gods.

Does that mean i know for sure that there is no God or force behind it all?, No, i cant know that, but i prefer to wait for the evidence.

Now, it seems to me, that theists already come to the table with a preconceived notion that God exists and so any finding is attributed to him or she or it.

That seems like bad science in my point of view, it is better to come with a clean slate and always begin with a plausible answer and if and only if that fails before jumping into extraordinary ones.

The idea that an intellectual is behind the creation of the universe when we have found no evidence whatsoever in the universe for intelligence except for us humans, is an extraordinary claim and it needs extraordinary evidence.
science is growing and new findings are discovered everyday. what will you do if science proves that God exist and you no longer alive to witness this ground breaking discovery. what will now be your faith.. science with all its sophistication can't even tell you what causes GRAVITY
Religion / Re: What Will The Faith Of This World Be Without Atheists by Gpdwise(m): 6:14pm On Sep 23, 2016
Lennycool:

Know the difference between a Creator and a God. Science cannot simply do away with the possibility of a creator since there are still so much we don't understand about the the universe, but the possibility of a Human God being the author of all we see today is laudable. And science rejects this notion. Based on all the facts and evidences available and tested there is no human God that exist or has ever existed. So while there is the possibility of a creator there is almost non for a God. Some might ask whats the difference, but it is this, a creator doesn't have to be a being, in can simply be a cosmic force, that provided the building blocks for the universe today, it does not demand recognition or reverence, it simply is what it is, a force of nature. There is no way to confirm this theory. But a God is a deity that demands human worship, that looks after and protect humans, that plays a large role in the affairs of humans. But this God(deity) can simply be disproven.
Why would a God create the entire universe, in all it's incomprehensibly large glory, just to focus on a small portion of it. To care about the prayer and life of humans, that he helps us pass exams, get jobs, win battles, that he cares what we thinks of him. Does this seem reasonable to the rational mind?
I like the fact that you agreed that there is a creator even if you called your creator cosmic force or force of nature they both have one thing in common FORCE.
force is defined as the physical strength possessed by a living being.. So who is the being that possess such power to cause the big bang
Religion / Re: What Will The Faith Of This World Be Without Atheists by Gpdwise(m): 4:46pm On Sep 23, 2016
donnffd:

I hear this argument alot, and i cant just help but to think that theres alot of fallacies that goes off when that is mentioned.

First, great post, i am happy atheists makes you think about your believes, and to correct the notion, many atheists i know accept everyone for who they are and hardly discriminate, although there are some few exceptions, but belief is a personal thing, you can believe what you want to, i personally am against superstition, but believes are harmless. So great for you.

Secondly, you use the law of physics to deduce the creation of the law of physics and that in it self is an error. We know that the laws of physics were created at the big bang and many theists accepts this, but still ask what caused it, they use the famous "to every effect, there must be a cause" as their premise.

I beg to differ, if the laws of physics(including the cause and effect law) was created at the big bang, then its not necessarily at all for the big bang to have a cause because it doesn't follow the law of physics.

Its simple logic...

Fred Hoyle is the atheist astronomer who coined the term “Big Bang.” He once confessed that his disbelief was “greatly shaken” by the undisputed science, writing that“a common-sense interpretation of the facts suggests that a super-intellect has monkeyed with the physics, as well as with chemistry and biology.”

The fanatical atheists are like slaves who arestill feeling the weight of their chains which they have thrown off after hard struggle. They are creatures who – in their grudge against traditional religion as the ‘opium of the masses’ – cannot hear the music of the spheres.”“I’m not an atheist,”added Einstein.“Theproblem involved is too vast for our limited minds. We are in the position of a little child entering a huge library filled with books in many languages. The child knows someone must have writtenthose books. It does not know how. It does not understand the languages in which they are written. The child dimly suspects a mysterious order in the arrangement of the books but doesn’t know what it is. That, it seems to me, is the attitude of even the most intelligent human being toward God. We see the universe marvelously arranged and obeying certain laws but only dimly understand these laws.”

Illustrious NASA scientist (and agnostic) Dr. Robert Jastrow (1925-2008) put it this way:“For the scientist who has lived by his faith in the power of reason, the story ends like a bad dream. He has scaled the mountain of ignorance; he is about to conquer the highest peak; as he pulls himself over the final rock, he is greeted by a band of theologians who have beensitting there for centuries.”
Religion / Re: What Will The Faith Of This World Be Without Atheists by Gpdwise(m): 4:40pm On Sep 23, 2016
johnydon22:

You can be the best you can be without religion - human behaviour transcends religious influence.

Nigeria is a very religious country why is it that your statement does not hold true for this scenario?
u can't blame religion for our problem, religion isn't the EFCC or Nigeria police
religion isn't our judicial system.
religion isn't even our educational system or our society. while put the blame on something most people visit weekly or at most twice a week and claim they keep the law only with their lips. habbah allocate ur blame to right quarters na
Religion / Re: What Will The Faith Of This World Be Without Atheists by Gpdwise(m): 4:16pm On Sep 23, 2016
johnydon22:

It is the bleakest form of existence, the saddest form of life i know for people to say that without a particular thing or someone they have no direction, purpose or meaning to their life - they have in admiting that make out their life to be pitiably dependent to derive meaning.

You do not need anything to give you direction, or hope ora sense of connection - these are all around you, you are the driver of your being, of your purpose and meaning - Don't demean yourself by roping them around and elusive abstract vague idea, that makes your life likewise vague.
that isn't what religion is abt!! its abt making u the best u can be and not make u as pathetic as ur quote suggests
Religion / Re: What Will The Faith Of This World Be Without Atheists by Gpdwise(m): 3:39pm On Sep 23, 2016
Lennycool:

Comparing the beginning of the universe to simple human reproduction is the height of stupidity.
what should I now compare it to!!:
or are you trying to tell me the beginning has no scientific explanation
Religion / Re: What Will The Faith Of This World Be Without Atheists by Gpdwise(m): 3:37pm On Sep 23, 2016
johnydon22:
Yes it is nothing, it is not an organization, a philosophical system or belief system - it is just a label given to people who lack belief in God(s).

Let me explain -

Theism - the belief that there are God(s) : theism is not a religion, neither is it a philosophical system or organization, its just a label for people who have a belief in God(s).
But then religions can be from the basis of theism, like Islam, christianity, Hellinism - they are theistic religions but in general theism is not a religion.

Atheism - Non-belief in God(s): its neither a religion, philosophical system or organization, it's just a label for people who have no belief in God(s).
A religion can be operated on the position of atheism - like Jainism, Taoism etc.

Theism, Atheism are not religions - simply positions of belief and unbelief.. Let me hope this clarifies you
imagine I tell u I follow nothing!!
and you have something that gives you hope and a feeling of connecting to something that can change ur situation in a moment, something that gives you hope , that gives your life a sense of direction and I should leave it all for NOTHING
Religion / Re: What Will The Faith Of This World Be Without Atheists by Gpdwise(m): 3:26pm On Sep 23, 2016
donnffd:

I hear this argument alot, and i cant just help but to think that theres alot of fallacies that goes off when that is mentioned.

First, great post, i am happy atheists makes you think about your believes, and to correct the notion, many atheists i know accept everyone for who they are and hardly discriminate, although there are some few exceptions, but belief is a personal thing, you can believe what you want to, i personally am against superstition, but believes are harmless. So great for you.

Secondly, you use the law of physics to deduce the creation of the law of physics and that in it self is an error. We know that the laws of physics were created at the big bang and many theists accepts this, but still ask what caused it, they use the famous "to every effect, there must be a cause" as their premise.

I beg to differ, if the laws of physics(including the cause and effect law) was created at the big bang, then its not necessarily at all for the big bang to have a cause because it doesn't follow the law of physics.

Its simple logic...
you can't give what you Dont ve. my dad can't give birth to a white boy because both of my parent come from a linage of dark skin. if the big bang didn't follow normal law of physics then it couldn't ve given birth to physics
Religion / Re: What Will The Faith Of This World Be Without Atheists by Gpdwise(m): 1:29pm On Sep 23, 2016
EyeofHorus:
Atheism is not a religion
if its not a religion its now what!!! oh I forgot its NOTHING
Religion / Re: What Will The Faith Of This World Be Without Atheists by Gpdwise(m): 1:27pm On Sep 23, 2016
butterfly88:
"what" caused the big bang? what caused the cause of the big bang..and the cause of the cause?

and finally what are your proves?
u should tell me!!! cos the last time I checked it all started with a big bang!! there must be an action before a reaction isnt that science or has that law changed. something has to cause the bang!!!

Religion / Re: What Will The Faith Of This World Be Without Atheists by Gpdwise(m): 1:00pm On Sep 23, 2016
butterfly88:
That's the difference the athiest works with evidence send proof not what another person believes or disbelieve, the Big Bang theory has been scientifically proven and it hasn't been falsified at least not yet

so you see the atheist didn't believe in the big bang because it is a form of myth,but because it is based on careful scientific and inductive studies

Not because one man claims without logical prove that it is true
and u forgot abt what caused the big bang!!! we all are product of our believe
Religion / What Will The Faith Of This World Be Without Atheists by Gpdwise(m): 12:32pm On Sep 23, 2016
Atheists a group of people that BELIEVES that God doesn't exist and here are Christians who BELIEVE in God. I have often wondered which is more easy to believe in. A God up there who has your best interest at heart and who sometimes just sit quietly while you struggle through some difficult stuff OR
To believe you are self sufficient and you owe nobody nothing to be either good or bad. I have followed most trends on nairaland. I admire the steadfast devotion of some Atheists and there indebt knowledge and I just can't fail to draw a similarity that both religion are based in BELIEVE. If u believe the big bang happened billions of years ago while is it hard for you to accept another persons believe that God is just and loving.
if his believes makes him a better person what right do you have to take that away from him!
the world without Atheists I Dont know how it will be but am greatful to them because for each of there criticism about Christianity they have made me study more about Christianity and each time I feel blessed being a Christian. so thank you Atheists for making me a better Christain

Politics / Re: Can NGOZI OKONGO IWEALA Be A Solution To Nigeria Economic Recession by Gpdwise(m): 10:59pm On Sep 20, 2016
Ofemannnu:

Some people are just as dumb as dodo.They continue to disturb NOI to come and do what?Sell Nigeria?These are the people that laid the foundation for this recession as confirmed by Kalu,Amaechi and co and some enemies of the progress of the nation still want them back to come and give the nation a TKO.God dey see all of una.
and Amechi and co like saraki and kowaso are saints u better open eyes because because it is still the same old faces in PDP that are in APC.

Religion / Re: Plagiarism In The Bible? by Gpdwise(m): 10:43pm On Sep 20, 2016
wolesmile:
"Read not to contradict and confute, nor to believe and take for granted, but to weigh and consider." - Francis Bacon.

This is not about the popular John 1:1 which the writer of the Gospel of John failed to credit the original writer of those words, Phyllo of Alexandria.

This is about two "divinely inspired" writers of two books of the Bible.

1. The book of Isiah.
The book of Isiah was written, as agreed by Bible scholars, by the prophet Isiah. They also agreed that it was written somewhere between 740 and 680 BC. Isiah was a great Jewish prophet in his time, and many of his prophecies are still subjects of debate till date.

2. The book of Kings
A general agreement is that the author of I and II Kings is unknown. But some Bible scholars believe the books to have been written by the prophet Jeremiah around 562 or 561 BC.

No doubt, both books were written about two centuries apart.
But check the whole of Isiah chapter 37, and the whole of II Kings chapter 19!!!

Were both chapters written through inspiration?
Or one author copied the work of the other? (By inspiration, some will say)
Or that it was an error of compilation?

OLAADEGBU
Truthman2012
Malvisguy
Winner01
King_Ebuka
Anunaki
and the others... please explain o

Well my curiosity got the better of me and I dug out the old Bible and looked up what you said. From what I can tell, at the end of the passage in 2 Kings 20, it says"isn't this all written in the book of the kings of Judah?" So it's acknowledged in the text that it is elsewhere. Kinda goofy, whatever. I don't think it necessarily demonstrates any real contradiction or error ... to me it's like an illustration of how the Hebrew scriptures weren't really meant to be read like a cohesive story but as a bunch of often random historical documents written by lots of different men. When thought of this way, it proves that the Bible is a right. I see the Bible as a historical document and as a mythological document ... I think it must captured life pretty well in that time and place. I think it has wisdom and beauty in it, and it has stupidity and sordidness in it too. Pretty much like the rest of what's out there in the world. The Bibles is a complete book with fairy tales, war, love, tragic and even drama stories .If asked I think the Bible is inspired, I'll say sure it is !!! But so are some really great books like homers Iliad, Qur'an etc but the bible gives hope. I just wonder why you the OP want take away this hope from people. what is life without it.
Politics / Re: Can NGOZI OKONGO IWEALA Be A Solution To Nigeria Economic Recession by Gpdwise(m): 9:22pm On Sep 20, 2016
MrTruth4real:
Can the cause of the recession be the solution to the recession?

u wrong!!! hope u heard that PMB chief of staff collected 500 million from MTN to reduce the company fine and PMB hasn't done nothing abt. why do you think EFCC isn't after her. my guy she would ve been the first collateral damage and not dasuki.. Am not saying she is a saint but what am saying is that she is a spotted sheep in the midst of wolves. the devil you know is better than the angel you Dont know
Politics / Can NGOZI OKONGO IWEALA Be A Solution To Nigeria Economic Recession by Gpdwise(m): 8:15pm On Sep 20, 2016
I thought it rough play when it became a norm for States to owe its workers more than six months salary almost half a year of no pay.
The removal of fuel subsidy didn't come as a surprise even if PMB promised not to remove it during his election campaign. Single Tertiary Account was also adopted by PMB led government and recently I couldn't help but agree with Ngozi when she offered some tips on the way out of the woods, saying effective handling of spiralling inflation, foreign exchange problem, fiscal deficit and debts control were key to resolving the current economic crisis.
before you crucify me and start calling her all sort of name that she condoned corruption and gave dasuki money to build his gate.
Nigeria Economy didn't just go on recession but all of a sudden we are feeling the recession to our very bone.
Never has any government policy affected Nigerians this way. Hunger has no competition and money has even become more scarce than refined crude product in our refinery.
if Ngozi can lead us out of this mess, I just hope PMB is man enough to swallow his pride for the benefit of Nigerians

Religion / Re: Mobile Phones As a god and The Mark Of The Beast by Gpdwise(m): 8:03am On Sep 19, 2016
delikay4luv:
Ignorance is Venomous, it murders the soul
u didn't read the post. wise nairalander and if you did u won't be so myopic with your word. so drawing people mind toward the fact that there mobile phone has becoming a god now makes me an ignorant person

Religion / Mobile Phones As a god and The Mark Of The Beast by Gpdwise(m): 6:38am On Sep 19, 2016
while growing up many things such as weavon, attachment, makeup all was said to be the mark of the beast and I wonder why our mobile phones hasn't been associated with it yet
“Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one. You shall love the LORD your god with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.(Deut 6:4-9)The practise of laying tefillin (phylacteries) The Book of Revelation stood this practise on its head, and foretold that towards the end of time, people would be unable to buy or sell without using a similar box-shaped device, but that this time it would be a public display of allegiance to the Antichrist, and would bear the number666. Much in the same way that the future of commerce is now inextricably linked to cell phones - which are being actively promoted by various world governments, banks, and above all mobile phone companies, as the future replacement of credit cards, and ultimately, of cash itself. finally to awaken to the possibility that the prophecy of the mark of the Beast has already been realised in modern cell phone technology.
just ask your self is your phone the first and the last thing you see everyday, do you spend ridiculous hours on it during one thing or the other, then your phone has become a god to you and that should be a warning sign to you.
In truth too much of everything is an abuse.
Politics / Re: Why Every Niger Deltans Most Not Smile With The Crocodile In Their Communities by Gpdwise(m): 8:39pm On Sep 13, 2016
APCsupporter:

Are you okay? You mean half of Kaduna state is populated southerners? This is my state we are talking about here so do not think i have no information on what im saying. 80-95% of Kaduna state is populated by Northerners (christian indigines inclusive).
before restructuring of the federation I would like buhari led administration to empower local government and while at it. I would want the presidency to empower all National Institutions to be independent.. that way I promise you Nigeria will be a different country
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Post Entry Level/Industrial Trainee Jobs Here For Those Without Experience by Gpdwise(m): 10:48am On Sep 11, 2016
OlatunjiOmotayo:
who else got this?

You are hereby invited for an interview for the position E-COMMERCE on Wednesday 14th Sept, 2016. Time 9.00am. Venue: No. 15 Bishop Oluwole street Victoria Island, Lagos. (Near Imo Govt liaison House. Kindly confirm your presence for the interview by replying with an sms. Yes. Come with a copy of your CV.
I also got a mail from them for the position of COO but my interview is on the 15th september.. would like to know how your interview went and best of luck in advance
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Post Entry Level/Industrial Trainee Jobs Here For Those Without Experience by Gpdwise(m): 9:57pm On Sep 08, 2016
I am a marine engineering with relevant documentation I am have been looking for sea time all to no avail. I am currently looking for internship in any good generator repair company!!!
Religion / And Jesus Could Not Do Any Mighty Work by Gpdwise(m): 7:03am On Sep 07, 2016
I have always wonder what went wrong in Nazareth in Jesus own home town.
imagine a Leo messi of Barcelona playing like a Yakubu Aiyegbeni for Argentina.
its strange the verse started with a prophet is not appreciated at his town.
Leo messi until recent hasn't really played good football for Argentina and here is the mighty Jesus in trouble because the people lacked faith.
They knew his parent and younger sibling they knew how rich his parent where
They even saw Jesus playing with pants
sometimes when we know too much we make too many mistakes.
They had no faith and made Jesus powerless but I trust my saviour he didn't leave Nazareth without performing other miracles. He just didn't do great miracle
your faith is your miracle activator.

mark 6 vs 5

Religion / Re: My Six Year Old Half Brother Doesn't Seem To Understand That God Is Real by Gpdwise(m): 9:45am On Sep 06, 2016
I can't believe the out of 268 post made. only just two post made sense and more useless post keep adding up. I need people with deeper understanding of how to explain God in a practical way and pls atheist stay out from this post.
Sports / Re: DIE DIE DIE Every Spirit Of Yaya Toure by Gpdwise(m): 9:01am On Sep 05, 2016
smithsydny:
No vex op. U didnt say anything in this your write. U didnt any particular problem here..

u sure u read the post well with your two eyes open..
Sports / DIE DIE DIE Every Spirit Of Yaya Toure by Gpdwise(m): 7:39am On Sep 05, 2016
three years ago yaya toure was the biggest thing in African football. A three time African player of the year and the driving force of the most expensive club in the premiership.
On your way up remember the people you left behind because on your way down you will soon meet them. Yaya forgot these when he left Barca after he received shady treatment from Pep and according to Pastor Dave a man can only stay successful if he learns how to stomach nonsense irrespective of who is dishing it out. imagine the man of a kingdom to be relegated to a nobody overnight.
Thank God Yaya is not Emmanuel Adebayo because we would ve been hearing things like my Mother is a witch but a man is never down continuously and no matter past mistakes life happens to everybody.
Samuel Eto had the best laugh during his epistle with Pep Gardiola and I just wonder if Yaya would achieve that same feet.A corner stone that has been cast aside, its a painful experience and the exclusion of his name from UEFA is just another blow.
So imagine my surprise at hearing "pray that the spirit of taking away my success, the spirit of Yaya Toure should die in your life!!!"
pray!!!!
Politics / Re: Change Begins With Me Imagine NPF Collecting Bribe With POS by Gpdwise(m): 10:37pm On Sep 04, 2016
osasyankee:
ok. change has come
that's to tell you how corruption can also evolve with new and implemented policies.. in truth if saybaba can't cub the corrupt practises going on in NPF then he hasn't done anything. because every morning you leave your house the first sight u see as you enter the main road is a tout collecting money from a public driver on behalf of a police man. why won't u want to turn your own job to a workshop too just to meet up
Politics / Change Begins With Me Imagine NPF Collecting Bribe With POS by Gpdwise(m): 10:28pm On Sep 04, 2016
After fighting dasuki, fayose and Alex badeh I have realised that these are not just the corrupt men in Nigeria but these where the unfortunate once.
I will change this country and its public sector. everywhere I turn and look its one corrupt practise or the other and this sickness has no respect for religion. That's why starting from Monday I am starting this program Change starts with me. imaging Nigeria Police using POS to collect bribe if we effect our cashless policy. That's why the people need to know that change start with me your president Buhari

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 10 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 82