Stats: 3,159,420 members, 7,839,819 topics. Date: Saturday, 25 May 2024 at 09:52 AM

Ifywhyteman's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Ifywhyteman's Profile / Ifywhyteman's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (of 3 pages)

Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Worker Program - Connect Here Part 11 by Ifywhyteman: 1:59am On Nov 12, 2023
Funky123:
Hi guys

For HND holders, will I be paying 2 fees for Wes or just the $240. I mean for ond and hnd

It is best to evaluate your highest certificate with WES. If you have two certificates, evaluate the higher one with Wes so you pay once.
Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Worker Program - Connect Here Part 11 by Ifywhyteman: 1:56am On Nov 12, 2023
I greet you all. Have a quick question. Is it true that IRCC is no longer accepting fixed deposits certificates from Microfinance banks as POF?
Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Worker Program - Connect Here Part 11 by Ifywhyteman: 6:01pm On Nov 01, 2021
Hello guys, do we have applicants that schooled in Unical? Is it true that the school is asking for $100 to do the Wes verification of transcript?
Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 10 by Ifywhyteman: 4:29am On Nov 01, 2021
Hello guys, do we have applicants that schooled in Unical? Is it true that the school is asking for $100 to do the Wes verification of transcript?
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifywhyteman: 7:07pm On Oct 21, 2021
I greet una o, quick question, I have Lester B Toronto Intl Airport on my flight ticket, and wanna fill the ArriveCAN stuff only to discover there are like 3 options to choose from under Arrival Airport, Lester B Pearson Toronto Intl Airport, Toronto Pearson Airport Terminal 1 and Toronto Pearson Airport Terminal 3, all with the YYZ code. Friends that have travelled to Canada via Toronto Airport are advising I choose Terminal 1. What do you guys think? Don't wanna have issues with officials at the port of entry.
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifywhyteman: 8:22am On Oct 18, 2021
Anybody or family going to Canada from Abuja via Ethiopian Air on 22nd Oct (coming Friday)? Need a travelling buddy for a family member please...Thanks.
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifywhyteman: 8:42pm On Oct 06, 2021
Pls is there a family or person that is travelling to Canada from Abuja on 22nd Oct via Ethiopian Airline? Need a travel buddy...���
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifywhyteman: 1:44am On Sep 13, 2021
I greet you sirs and mas...Pls do we have anyone or family coming from Abuja in early October? Pls I need someone or people to accompany. Heading to Saskatchewan. Thanks
Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 by Ifywhyteman: 4:28pm On Apr 21, 2020
Is there anyway one can do Biometrics with this whole Covid-19 stuff and lockdown? Any info will be appreciated.
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Ifywhyteman: 1:55am On Jan 25, 2019
I dey greet una from Regina, unu dey follow me flex cold abi? Please an important question for those based in Saskatchewan, is anyone aware of any thing like Saskatchewan Family Health Benefit? I got a letter from Canada Revenue Agency informing us that we are qualified to apply based on the income we reported on our income tax return. Are PRs eligible to benefit from this or do one need to be careful. Thanks

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 6:53am On Dec 05, 2018
Please has any landed senior had a situation where they got mail from IRCC, months after landing and settling down, that the passport of one of their dependant or spouse did not meet PR card specification and should retake and send one that meets specification within 30days or risk PR application being cancelled that particular family member. Please information is needed urgently. Thanks
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 4:52pm On Dec 04, 2018
Who again in Regina is experiencing this morning power outage?...Is it a general stuff, abi na only my house. Hope naija NEPA never follow me reach here...lol.

28 Likes

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 7:17pm On Dec 03, 2018
Hello guys, please I need info on how this credit card stuff works. Let's say you want to withdraw cash from your credit card and will be paying back in some days time. Will the interest be charged daily. Cos someone was saying TD bank charges $22.99 daily until you finish paying back. How true?
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 3:26am On Nov 24, 2018
jelmusboy:
To those who have used Egypt airlines, how many times were you served food on board? Someone who just landed said Ethiopian airlines served six times from Lagos to YYZ.

Food is key in this long journey

I will advice you to get some biscuits, cake, bread etc for the journey. The only thing that looked like food Egypt Air served us was from naija to cairo, when they served us rice. But from Cairo to Toronto, I no challenge their food after the first spoon. I didn't even know what it was. The odour was even repulsive. I think from Cairo to Toronto "food" was served twice, with light snack (biscuits) in between. There was also juice, tea or coffee and water. I had stomach upset from the nonsense I tasted. Thank God I didn't eat much else...lol. Just buy some stuffs you could eat in the plane from naija.
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 3:25am On Nov 24, 2018
jelmusboy:
To those who have used Egypt airlines, how many times were you served food on board? Someone who just landed said Ethiopian airlines served six times from Lagos to YYZ.

Food is key in this long journey

I will advice you to get some biscuits, cake, bread etc for the junior. The only thing that looked like food Egypt Air served us was from naija to cairo, when they served us rice. But from Cairo to Toronto, I no challenge their food after the first spoon. I didn't even know what it was. The odour was even repulsive. I think from Cairo to Toronto "food" was served twice, with light snack (biscuits) in between. There was also juice, tea or coffee and water. I had stomach upset from the nonsense I tasted. Thank God I didn't eat much else...lol. Just buy some stuffs you could eat in the plane from naija.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 3:08am On Nov 24, 2018
MummyJaygirls:

na only from window e dey hot, go outside first, u go know how far, lol

Very true...I later came outside and the warmness I was getting from my window disappeared...Na only the light I come dey see, no heat...Na it cold rush me like say I find am trouble...lol. Snow dey humble sun here well well.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 5:27pm On Nov 23, 2018
Mennnn see sun for Regina this morning...Kinda naija standard, feeling the warmth from my window...Where all those wey don dey miss Vit D. Una come out o...lol.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 12:20am On Nov 22, 2018
Walebayo:
hello landed colleagues... do tecno phones work in canada?

My wife's Techno phone didn't work with the Koodo mobile. But my phone from Nigeria did, a Gionee phone. So there is a possibility that it may not work it the Koodo mobile. Except you may want to try and see or opt for other networks.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 12:08am On Nov 22, 2018
Jalzy29:
Dear landed seniors,

I'm a silent reader and follower.

May I know if it's possible to leave my money in my Nigeria account because I'm about to land and yet to get dollars as it's scarce and the BDC guys keep hiking the exchange rate. 1. How can I access my money when I eventually land.
2. Does anyone need naira and will give me Canadian dollars on landing.
3. Has anyone travelled without Dollars and accessed the money.
4. Does GTB MasterCard work in Canada.
5. If there's anyone with dollars that wants to sell at a good rate kindly send me a email.

Had same concern before I came. What I did is, I went to my bank (Zenith) was told to write a kinda letter to activate my usage of my card in foreign country. I did that. And ever since I came I have withdrawn a couple of times with my naira debit mastercard. So, so long as it is a MasterCard it can be used here, either to pay for goods or services with POS or withdraw from an ATM machine. It will just do the conversion for you and give you the Canadian dollar equivalence. But find out from other Banks of yours is not Zenith bank. But they charge like $3 each time I withdraw with the ATM.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 5:45pm On Nov 20, 2018
I dey greet una o....Please is this Canada Post strike general or only in Ontario? Have been expecting some post from there and they are telling me the strike is causing the delay. While I just got a mail from Winnipeg, Manitoba.
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 2:35am On Nov 15, 2018
Boss13:

I’m sorry madam I do not agree with you. We are quick to invalidate others. If I approach you on the street all smiling and expressing cordial greetings, would you respond to me accordingly. Please first note that you don’t know me and my being a Nigerian doesn’t instantly make me familiar with you. I am still a stranger. Skin color has nothing to do with it.

However, if I was introduce to you by a common acquaintance, don’t you think it would make our introduction seamless?

Please let’s not be quick to presume that Nigerians are snobs. I have met fantastic Nigerians and some Nigerians who just want to be at peace with themselves probably we don’t share common interests. It’s human nature and has nothing to do with a specific type of people, race or country. Even the whitey, after you discuss with them today, tomorrow they see and blank their face like they don’t know you.

People are talking from experience. I have had my own fair share of it. Some Nigerians snub you outrightly, that is the truth. We are not saying, you owe anybody any greeting or hailing or heads up or hi on a good day. But, it is in our nature to hail a brother "what's up" when you cross path on a goodday. But, bros, some people no dey even do like say them see you, talk-less of responding to your greetings. It is not as if you want to stop and have conversation with anybody. Just normal hailing, person go just blank you as if una dey quarrel. But we have some correct people sha wey dey catch person network from far, and answer you wella when you hail.

18 Likes

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 2:26am On Nov 15, 2018
softandmoist:
This is not me whining or anything. Just something I noticed since landing here in Canada and going out and about.
Many of our Nigerian brothers act all cold when you greet them then get warm when greeted by a white.
Really.
Like your sucking up will change your complexion?
The friendly ones know better, I suppose. They give you pointers on how you can get settled in easily and integrate.
One man snubbed me this morning when I greeted him twice at my daughter's school, but got all chatty with one woman who was white�. His daughter and mine are in the same class so I was wondering what the superiority complex was all about.
Shior.
What pained me most for him was that the woman didn't hear anything he was saying because even on the verge of swallowing his tongue to speak Canadian English, she wasn't just understanding. Kikikikiki.
Ok, seriously now.

Please seniors, let's be nice to ourselves. Tenkiu.

So true...I just don't understand them sha. Well have adopted my own pattern, I dey approach you I flash you head ups, if you acknowledge am, we greet wella, if you blank me, I switch off kwa pass you. I must say from my little observation, truth be told some of the Yoruba folks, appear nicer and ready to relate with you, compared to some of my fellow Igbo guys who will only wanna talk when they have coded finally that I am Igbo like them. But anyhow sha, na come we all come, and we all go survive and make am.

14 Likes

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 1:30am On Nov 15, 2018
I dey greet o...Please how long does it actually take to get the PR Cards from the date of landing...One yeye survival job like that say they don't accept COPR as one of the identity verification documents, except the PR card is seen.

Again, how long does it actually take to get the health card in Saskatchewan. Can one still access free Medicare even if the card is not ready?

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 5:50am On Nov 08, 2018
I dey hail o...Pls guys in Regina SK, any idea of a Catholic church that has naija flavour...This Oyibo mass dey tire me somehow o, hands sef we no dey clap. Which kind thing...lol

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 10:09pm On Oct 02, 2018
Landed seniors I'm still awaiting your response to the question I asked about which bank in Canada do you advise one to open account with?
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 10:05pm On Oct 02, 2018
Regina also experienced snowing today...

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 2:08pm On Oct 02, 2018
michaeladesiyan:

Thank you sir.
Im going with my family of 5.
Buh hope transferring the cash to Canada from my Nigerian account won't be issue when I get to Canada?

I'm still a novice my brother, don't know much about financial transactions and transfers between naija and Canada banks, maybe our seniors that are more knowledgeable in that area can help u. I will advise u also discuss with ur bank how they do it. I was told by my bank that I can use my mastercard for purchases and even withdraw from ATM machines here. It will just convert the amount in CAD equivalence and dispense to u. GTBnk told me I can only withdraw 300CAD with their own debit mastercard daily. So I had to leave some of my monies in my Naija account since I can still operate them from here. But find out.
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 12:47pm On Oct 02, 2018
michaeladesiyan:
Pls I want to ask , will I need to go with raw $25000 while landing or I make it electronic. Pls I need clarification

No, you don't need to carry that much, else you will have to declare it. Just carry below 10k CAD and put the rest on ur account. They only asked me how much I was having with me...Mine was even about 4k CAD in cash, and they said ok. Nothing much. Don't carry huge amount, even for safety purposes. Make u no lose am sef.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 11:39am On Oct 02, 2018
Greetings to you all...I bless the name of God for a successful landing yesterday. The journey for air no be here o...Understood what you guys were saying about the cold weather of Regina Saskatchewan yesterday when I stepped out of the airport entrance down. My friend that came to pick us at the Regina airport said, "o boy calm down na, the weather still dey warm"...Ah! Warm at 5°C? Wahala dey be that o. But God dey sha. Really wanna thank all that helped me with one or two information on this platform. Please I need advise on a good bank with better packages or services one can open account with. Thanks

25 Likes

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 2:38am On Sep 30, 2018
I don come again my people, hope no kwam's carrying some antimalarials, analgesics, and antibiotics aboard...

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 5:34am On Sep 27, 2018
Please do I have anyone that has used Egypt Air here, want to make some important findings from you. Please .
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant by Ifywhyteman: 8:41pm On Sep 26, 2018
Akingsqueen:
Call Mr Deen on this number +234 802 453 4550
Where are you sending to?

Regina , Saskatchewan

(1) (2) (3) (of 3 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 49