MDCEO1's Posts
Nairaland Forum › MDCEO1's Profile › MDCEO1's Posts
Siena: You asked for advice,which is what you got. Your comment here makes you come across as smug and conceited. I'm not saying you are, just that's the way I read it.Haba Siena, that's the last thing on my mind. Actually, among my friends, the cool guys are the guys that speed seriously on the highway and pull wonderful overtaking stunts just to prove they can do it. I stay on the opposite side of the spectrum, preferring to go slowly till I reach wherever I'm going. They usually yab me about that, saying I drive like an old man, but i don't really mind. So its paradoxical that i would be feeling cool about driving slowly. Definitely didnt mean anything like that, but thanks for saying your mind anyway. At least that clarifies it for other people that may have gotten the same impression. |
qualityovenbake: I. Didn't hear from you today. Here is my mobile no. 08024246344Today was really tight. Will call you tomorrow morning. |
I'm interested in this as well. Any answers from anybody? Bump! Op, do you have any specific products/chemicals in mind? I could help you make some enquiries. |
Ikenna351: In one of the trips i have done in my Baby, i had a blowout (long story), along Enugu-Onitsha Expressway. I got to Enugu and searched for the same size of the damaged tyre (195/60 R15), since the 4 tyres were the same size, including the spare. Unfortunately, I couldnt find 195/60 in Coal Camp, rather, 195/65. Why? Because there was more demand of high profile tyres in the East, considering the nature of the roads down there. Because i would be driving back to Abuja the next day, I had to buy the 65 available, instead of 60, since i didnt have the time to go round the town in search of the size 60. I mounted the tyre that same evening. The next day, on my way back to Abuja, It was a nightmare. Every hard braking or sharp steered of the wheel, the car would try to veer off the road. It was as if it was a different car. Did i enjoy the drive? Not even for a second. . I got to Abuja and replaced it with size 60, since low profile tyres are very much available here in Abuja. Thanks to Abuja road!Well, since i made the 2 front tyres to be of equal size, i havent really noticed any veering off or poor handling. Maybe because i don't speed though, and I don't attempt to pull any James Bond stunts... |
Ikenna351: Aside fuel consumption, you should forget about the speedometer, because it's going to be useless. It will simply throw off the speedo. Imagine doing 80km/h, while your speedo is reading 120km/h or so. It's just like swapping in an Inline-4 Tachometer in a V6 Car. The V6 engine will simply throw off the tacho. That is, if your actual rpm at idle is 750 rpm, the I4 tacho in V6 car will be reading 1,500 rpm or even more.Ok, noted, thanks. But leaving bigger tyres on is not going to spoil anything serious, provided they are all of equal sizes right? Like transmission or engine tinz.... |
Siena, pls did you see my last question in my comment just above yours? I'll like to hear your thoughts. |
Thank you all for your comments and expert insight. I eventually bought 1 tyre for the driver's side that is the same size as the one on the front passenger side, so that the 2 front tyres are now the same size (235-50-18). If I can, I'll pick up another one thats the same size as one of those at the back, so that i'll also have the 2 rear tyres being the same size, then cruise it that way for now till I can change all 4 tyres simultaneously in January. Though even when i'm finally buying 4 tyres at once, i dont think i'll ever go back to the factory recommendations(205-65-16)......i prefer the fatter-looking tyres and bigger rims. And if its just mainly fuel that I should be bothered about for using bigger tyre and rims, I think I can cope well with that for the distance I commute daily. Abi is there any other issue with using bigger tyres than recommended, other than fuel consumption? (provided the 4 tyres are all the same size, or at least, the same size on each axle). |
Double post. |
Havilah93: 2. Sexual activity for young people arrests their psychological, social and academic development. Studies show that when young people engage in premarital sex, their academic performance declines and their social relationships with family and friends deteriorate. This is because adolescents are too immature to deal with the explosive sex drive and it tends to dominate their life.Points 2, 3 and 10 are just a whole load of hogwash. |
Ok, so I will drop it on Monday morning. Thanks. |
Onyenna: 235-50-18 and 245-50-18 will have same height..the only difference is the width(ie 235 & 245)...255-40-18 will still be of same height but shorter-stomach-area(by the side) and it will probably have the largest width compared to 235 and 245...they all have a difference of 10(width-wise) ie 235,245 and 255...... Summary: they all have same height which means your car is Balanced..... You're not in any Danger sir.....Actually, when i browsed it, i found that the second set of figures, thats the '50' or '40' is not an absolute statement of the height of the tyre. Rather, it is a percentage of the width of the tires. Thus the 50 actually means 50% of the width (thats 50% of 235 or245). So if thats the case, then the tire width will determine the height even if they are both size 50 for the middle pair of figures. |
icemann: IF YOU DONT ANY THING ABOUT TIRES DO NOT POST. WHY ARE YOU GIVING S'TUPID ADVICE?Lol, bros you dey vex o! |
lomomike: For driving a car with 3 different tyre specs I'm soooo sure your vulcanizer even pumped the tyres over pressure "oga na 40 be the normal tyre pressure" by the way, how much do you spend on fuel (what's your current MPG) I know your MPG is way low. I can imagine how the car will squat to one side and how unstable, harsh and unforgiving that ride will be. How about your wheel arches, tyre wells and mud flaps (inner sand protector) and the other little components that are located where your tyes are. You're putting those places under undue stress and risk of damage. Better go back to your owners manual see the correct tyre specification and ratings for that car and purchase it ASAP.Dont really commute much, so fuel is not a major part of my budget. Lol @your imagination, the handling is definitely not anywhere as bad as that. Do i necessarily have to use themanufacturer's specs? I read somewhere that there's no harm in using bigger tyres, provided they're all of the same size and specs. The only drawback is that you must be ready to spend more on fuel. Is that info correct? |
Onyenna: I have one more question for you sir; anytime you steer right/left, is there any contact between your front tyres and the car?No Sir. |
nissparts: You dont only need 4 tires, you need 4 new rims.Lol about the Nigerian maintenance thingy. ![]() Actually, i dont really do much commuting, so fuel consumption isnt too much of an issue. And i quite like the look of those large rims and tyres. |
icemann: What is the size of the 4th tire? Also the Trim and engine size of your car?The 4th tyre is the spare tyre i fixed in place of the spoilt driver's side tyre, and its only a temporary one meant to take me to where I can get a definitive standard tyre. The size is T135/90 D16. Engine size and trim is 2.5 S. Thanks. |
Email is a long thing. I'll give you a call straightaway lets talk it over. |
I just got a registered Nissan Altima 2003 a few days ago. Today I noticed that one of the the tyres (drivers side front tyre) went flat and is completely bad. I changed it to the spare and decided to look closely at all the other tyres. To my amazement, i found that all the other 3 remaining tyres had different sizes. The sizes are- 235-50-18 245-50-18 255-40-18. Meanwhile, i checked the car user manual i downloaded online, and found that the recommended tyre size was 205-65-R16. Is there any immediate danger in driving them as they are now? I'm asking because i'm really hard pressed for cash this Christmas season with so many other things to do simultaneously. I'll prefer deferring changing all 4 tyres till sometime in January when there'll be more cash liquidity for me. For now, i can only really afford to buy one tyre to replace the single one that went bad. What size should i buy now with the multiple sizes I already have on the other 3 tyres. What do you advise? |
So if I want to bring my car over to your place for a lookover and routine servicing, as per just taking over from someone else, how much will it cost me? Abeg bear in mind that this is Christmas season o, and i'm quite a bit cashstrapped at the moment, but feel I just have to do it.... |
Hahahahaha!!!! LMAO!!!! That got me bursting out loud laughing. ![]() |
My mechanic said i should find out what transmission oil and engine oil the former owner was using and make sure I use exactly that same oil,even if it is not the manufacturer's recommended oil. I told him that I had already found out the manufacturer's recommendations for my car's model, which is exactly what you listed above. I asked him that shouldnt I change it to the manufacturer's recommendation? He replied that I had better use whatever oils the former owner was using, that if I change it to the manufacturer's specs after having used a different one all this while, it might lead to problems for the car. He said it's only tokunbo cars that should stick to manufacturer's specifications, that since my car is a Nigerian used one, that I had better stick to whatever the previous owner was using. Is this information correct from actual street experience, or is it just a load of bullcrap? |
Hi, I have looked through your thread from page 1-25 and I think you do a good job. May God expand your coast more and more. I want to respray my Nissan Altima 2003 from brown to a shiny black, so shiny i can see my teeth inside. There are no dents in the car, so its basically a respray. Hope it is still 50k. How long will it take (i'm a bit pressed for time) Is there any hope of a discount or promo in the spirit of Christmas...try do something for us NLanders na, as money has many seriously competing needs this Xmas season... ;-) |
^^^Thanks. So apart from scanning, the only things i need to do for now are to change the engine oil and transmission oil right? Do you do the scanning, if so how much does it cost or is it for free? |
Hi Nissparts, I just bought a registered Nissan Altima 2003 model.(auto tranny). Its only obvious issue is that the AC is not cooling well as the coolant appears to be leaking from somewhere along the piping. My questions are- What are the things I need to check or do now for its first routine servicing in my hands, having just bought the car from another owner, to ensure optimal performance. What type of ATF should I use for Nissan Altima 2003. What engine oil should I use? Do you work on car ACs too? I need your prompt reply please. Thanks. |
honsule: MTN BBC PLAN of (1500) is the best.It has 3G data cap.It is interesting to note that, even when u exhausted ur data u can use just 250 bucks to reactivate and continue to enjoy UNLIMITED data on same BIS.At least that is what am using on my SGS 3Thanks a million. Will try that out tomorrow. Thanks again. |
Please, Honsule which data bundle can I use for my android that has the most data at the best price? Is it any of the BIS plans? Or a regular data plan. I'm about getting a sim and I'm looking for the one I can get the most data at the best price. Virtually all the networks go reasonably well in my location so its just about finding the one that has the best deal. Thanks for your help. |
Please guys, is the Glo BIS and Airtel BIS that has been talked about on this thread still working on android currently? Or is any other BIS working on android now (maybe Etisalat or Mtn)? I want to get a sim for my Galaxy Tab2 today, and I'm looking for the one that will give me the most data at the best price. And, in case the BIS plans are not working anymore, which plans can I get the best data now? And how do I configure it (that's d codes)? Abeg, all these Android gurus on NL, I need your input asap. Thanks. |
Why don't you ask in the Medical Doctors thread? U might get more answers that way. You'll find the link to their thread inside the Career directory thread at d top of the Careers section. |
@Op, really good job here. I think being a long term trader is the way to go. I started forex as a short term trader (placing very short term trades and scalping), first demo then later went live some years back during d forex hype, but the whole short term trading and scalping thingy was almost giving me hypertension. My eyes were always glued to the laptop screen, and even when I managed to get myself away from the computer, I was always going to check my trades every 5minutes or so. Eventually, it seemed more of a bondage than a brand new source of income. It wasn't fun at all. To make matters worse, I blew my initial capital then due to poor training, poor money management principles (never practised risk management at all) and lack of control on my emotions. So I stopped. Now, a bit wiser from my past experience, and also because of the demands of my work and time constraints, I'm thinking of coming back, but this time as a long term/position trader. I think, even though u might make less profit as a long term trader because you don't follow the daily ups and downs of the market hoping to catch every single pip, the time freedom and peace of mind it gives you is priceless. This your thread looks inspiring. I've forgotten most of what I used to know....its been quite a while since I looked at anything forex-related. I'll be asking questions as we go along. Thumbs up! |
coogar: the nigerian health system is a disgrace......Bro, I used to credit you with a lot more intelligence than this. If you believe this kind of tale carried by such an unverified source, u'll just as well believe a NL homepage story that says you were just crowned the US President this morning. |