Stats: 3,325,149 members, 8,420,564 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 02:02 AM

Mufc009's Posts

Nairaland ForumMufc009's ProfileMufc009's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 10 pages)

PoliticsRe: Labour Calls Off Strike! by mufc009(m): 1:38pm On Jan 16, 2012
Labour don finish dem part. What about us? *Martyr Muyideen Mustafa was murdered on Jan. 3rd, while labour joined the protest on Jan. 9th.This fight has now gotten worse, lives will be occupied aggressively! Don't chicken out please in d name of God
PoliticsRe: Labour Calls Off Strike! by mufc009(m): 1:34pm On Jan 16, 2012
How did the FEC get N97? Diezani's age(52) + Ngozi's age(58) minus the number of years PDP has ruled Nigeria 110-13 = 97. Prove me wrong.
PoliticsBreaking: Labour Suspends Strike! by mufc009(op): 1:22pm On Jan 16, 2012
BREAKING: Labour suspends strike!
PoliticsEzekwesili Quits World Bank by mufc009(op): 1:16pm On Jan 16, 2012
Vice-President for Africa, World Bank, Mrs. Oby Ezekwesili, has resigned from the Bretton Woods institution, after five years of meritorious service. Her resignation takes effect from the first week of May.

The World Bank President, Mr. Robert Zoelick, who made this known in a letter made available to THISDAY, said Ezekwesili would be back to Nigeria after "five years of important and successful service to the bank and Africa".

Zoelick said he had to delay the exit of Ezekwesili, who was a two-time minister when former President Olusegun Obasanjo held sway, by one year, to enable her implement the new strategy, "Africa's Future and World Bank support to It," that "she did so much to develop".

"Ezekwesili will be succeeded by Makhtar Diop, a Senegalese national, who has been the Country Director for Brazil since 2009. Diop is expected to resume on May 5. Zoelick gave no reason for her resignation but extolled her virtue.

According to him, "Under Oby's leadership, our Africa team employed innovation, knowledge, partnership and financial services to strengthen results across Africa and to improve the prospects for Africa's economic performance.

"Her close attention to the needs of our clients, engagement with African leadership and with regional institutions -- such as the African Union, EAC and ECOWAS - as well as with the UN and other partners, has helped us to leverage our effectiveness across Africa.

"Oby has done excellent work mobilising private sector engagement and better connecting Africa's development to that of other regions, particularly through South-South partnerships."

Zoelick added: "Oby has built a strong team across the range of the Bank's work: infrastructure and human development; agricultural production and productivity; private sector development; economic reforms to overcome poverty; and governance and accountability.
Relevant Links

* West Africa
* Nigeria
* International Organisations

"Reflecting her experience and background, Oby has been a relentless campaigner for transparency and against corruption. She has also led in the use of ICT for Development; in supporting social accountability mechanisms through civil society engagement; and in promoting innovative approaches to regional integration.

"The new Bank strategy for Africa and its implementation plan, both developed under Oby's leadership, offer a strong legacy. I also appreciate Oby's close work with IFC and MIGA, underscoring the interconnectivity across the World Bank Group to achieve better and more far-reaching impact."

The World Bank President wished Ezekwesili "all the best in her future endeavours working with civil society, in which she will help to strengthen public sector capacity, and work especially with young people and women".

"I am especially appreciative of her committed and devoted service - including the years spent away from her family," he added.
source:http://allafrica.com/stories/201201160754.html
PoliticsSss Invade Cnn And Bbc Lagos Office: by mufc009(op): 1:12pm On Jan 16, 2012
Reports say the BBC Lagos office has also been "invaded" by the SSS,
Details coming shortly
SportsArsenal Prepare For Pre-season Trip To Nigeria by mufc009(op): 2:36pm On Jan 15, 2012
Ivorian forward Gervinho will be among Arsenal's star names due to visit Nigeria

Arsenal are finalising plans for a pre-season visit to Nigeria this summer.

Officials from the London club visited Nigeria last month to inspect facilities and met with the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) to discuss the tour, scheduled for July.

On Friday, organisers DanJan Sports and Arsenal officials met at the Emirates Stadium to finalise details.

"Everything is right on track. Nigeria will happen," Arsenal's marketing director Angus Kinnear told BBC Sport.

"We had a successful meeting and covered a lot of ground.

"It's very important to get the right message across to the fans in West Africa and the entire continent.

"There is a strong desire to connect with our fans in Africa and the first step starts in Nigeria."
Continue reading the main story

This is very big because Arsenal has got a huge fan base in Nigeria, the most populous country in Africa

David Omigie Tour organisers DanJan Sports

The club traditionally hosts an annual pre-season tournament at the Emirates Stadium, but they opted to postpone the event for a year because of the 2012 London Olympics.

As part of their preparation for the 2012/13 season, the club have opted to connect with their huge fan base in Africa, by visiting the continent for the first time.

David Omigie of DanJan Sports, a Fifa-licensed match agent said: "This is very big because Arsenal has got a huge fan base in Nigeria, the most populous country in Africa."

"It was very important to meet others from different departments of the club and everyone is excited with the trip to Nigeria."

In July 2008, DanJan Sports brought two other English clubs, Manchester United and Portsmouth, to the Nigerian capital Abuja for pre-season friendly.

Manchester United took on Portsmouth before Pompey then played against Nigeria Premier League (NPL) side Kano Pillars.

The English Premier League is hugely popular in football-mad Nigeria, with millions of fans following the league on both terrestrial and satellite television.

Source http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/16567387.stm
PoliticsFg Vs Labour, Civil Society : How Govs, Ministers, Misled Jonathan by mufc009(op): 12:27pm On Jan 15, 2012
*Strike would not lastfor more than two days – President’s men

*’We can break the ranks of labour’

By Jide Ajani

But for the misleading counsel and false assurances given to President Goodluck Jonathan by some of his ministers and a few state governors, the president may have done more to avert the commencement of the strike action called by the leadership of the Nigeria Labour Congress, NLC, and the Trade UnionCongress, TUC, Sunday Vanguard can reveal.

The suggestion that Jonathan may have done more to ensure that the strike did not get off the ground, it was learnt, was sequel to security reports provided at a meeting, held, penultimate Monday, January 2, 2012, inside Aso Rock Presidential Villa.

The meeting, which had a few ministers , security chiefs and a former president, Alhaji Shehu Shagari, in attendance, was called to review the implications of the removal of subsidy on Premium Motor Spirit, PMS, otherwise known as petrol, about 24 hours earlier.

Sunday Vanguard was informed by a source privy to the meeting that the prognosis, according to the security chiefs, was very terrible. Jonathan was said to be have been made to understand that everything that ought to be done to avert the strike should be done. The briefing made it very clear that should the strike go ahead and last beyond a week, “there would be serious implications for this administration”.

Although the source said the language at the meeting was very weighted, “there was no mistaken the fact that the prognosis was very bad”.

Specifically, it was understood that one of those in attendance at the meeting pointedly stated that allowing the strike to go on for “up to 11 days would mean total disaster and eclipse” for the Jonathan administration.

(SEE DETAILSIN ‘TORN BETWEEN THE ROCK AND THE DEEP BLUE SEA’ in Subsidy Series)

At the end of the meeting, thepresident’s body language reportedly suggested that something would be done earnestly to avoid the mass action.

However, information reportedly suggests that one of Jonathan’s cabinet members from the North Central Zone, Information Minister, Labaran Maku, along with another minister from the South South geo-political zone, Elder Orubebe, prevailed on the president not to shift or accede to labour’s demand.

The Information Minister was said to have impressed it on Jonathan that reverting to N65 would be seen as a sign of weakness and unseriousness. He may have been right!

Secondly, according to SundayVanguard’s source, the president was made “to believe that the strike action would normally kick off on the first day as threatened by labour but would quickly lose steam by the second day.

It was gathered that the impression conveyed to Jonathan was that the strike action would not go beyond “just two days before it loses steam”.

The president, the source further revealed, was misled into believing that, like past strike actions, the involvement of security agencies would contain its spread.

Lagos and the Federal CapitalTerritory, FCT, Abuja, were the main focus of attention.

“It was this advice that President Jonathan took hook, line and sinker”, the source said.

Finance Minister and Head of Jonathan’s Economic Management Team, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, and Petroleum Resources Minister, Diezani Allison-Madueke, were also of the opinion that the president did not need to back down.

And whereas Jonathan was said to have made private moves, one of which was to prevail on some state governors to assist in persuading members of the House of Representatives not to sit last Sunday and the telephone calls he made to some state governors to assisting in ensuring that the strike action was not allowed to go ahead “and if it did, must be drawn back,” the president could not achieve his heart’s desire: To pile what was thought to be maximum pressure on the NLC. It did not amount to anything because the leadership of NLC still went ahead.

A few governors reportedly misled the president.

Jonathan, believing what he heard during private conversations “with some state governors, went away with the impression that state governments could tame the monster of the strike.

The governors reportedly assured the president that “they were in talks with the leadership of labour in their states and that moves to break their ranks were almost completed”, a source close to The President disclosed.

“Some of these governors, just as they did during the crisis over zoning and the contest for the presidential ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, deliberately set President Jonathan up so that he would stick to the N65 and be made to look like an unpopular president on the one hand and on the other hand the fact that he had bargained with them late last year to ensure the removal of the subsidy so that they can have more money,”the source said.

“If some of them had told him the truth, he would have known better that what he was going to confront from last Monday would be so massive that the international community would focus more on other issues of corruption in government, a matter that is at the root of the subsidy issue”.

Some of the governors gave assurance to the president on the basis of the need not to allow “hoodlums to hijack the protest in some states of the federation and go ahead to engage in reprisal attacks as a consequence of the Christmas Day church bombing in Madalla, Suleja and some kept their words”.

That was why, for instance, the Enugu State governor, Sullivan Chime, acted fast by ensuring that there were no rallies or street marches in his state.

It was for the same reason that Governor Adams Oshiomhole of Edo State also swung into action to prevent Muslims from being attacked in his state.

Plateau State, where the strike is als obeing observed, saw a situation whereby workers merely stayed at home without marching on the streets.

Sunday Vanguard was further told that when the strike commenced on Monday, it was a stunned Jonathan who saw first-hand how Nigerians reacted.
PoliticsRe: Fire At National Assembly Building In Abuja: Can Anyone Confirm? by mufc009(m): 6:37pm On Jan 14, 2012
Are there any senators inside pls grin grin grin grin?
PoliticsRe: Jonathan, Labour Leaders To Meet At 5pm Today by mufc009(m): 6:21pm On Jan 12, 2012
Things 2 look 4 in d next election, Candidate must have shoes, common sense & a wife with above average communication skills" wink
PoliticsRe: Jonathan, Labour Leaders To Meet At 5pm Today by mufc009(m): 6:20pm On Jan 12, 2012
Riddle of the day: I am a person, when I was young I had no shoes and I trekked 2 miles to my school with no school bags, now I eat with 3million naira per day and now I want people to trek and follow the same bitterness I felt while growing up and my slogan now is "if I can make it, you can make it". Who am I? grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin
PoliticsBuilding Hospitals, Constructing Roads Are Not Palliatives, Dey Are Government's by mufc009(op): 3:12pm On Jan 12, 2012
Things 2 look 4 in d next election, Candidate must have shoes, common sense & a wife with above average communication skills(My own words)
PoliticsRe: Occupy Nigeria: Updates From Across The Nation by mufc009(m): 1:36pm On Jan 11, 2012
its only in nigeria that we shoot in the air and peoole die by stray bullet. our country defies the laws of physics. watch out for those black assassins pls
PoliticsRe: Femi Falana & Funmi Iyanda On Fuel Subsidy Removal - Channels TV by mufc009(m): 1:23pm On Jan 11, 2012
nku5:
I've never her or even femi falana spit fire like this before
Let him kill em all with his words embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed
I guess the idiot will be peeing in his pant by now,

Jobs/VacanciesRe: When Will Sss Start Dis Years Recruitment by mufc009(m): 5:00pm On Jan 10, 2012
SSS job? sign me up clonebolaji@gmail.com
PoliticsRe: Occupy Nigeria: Updates From Across The Nation by mufc009(m): 3:34pm On Jan 10, 2012
alj harem:
today

we are one

[img]http://desmond.yfrog.com/Himg739/scaled.php?tn=0&server=739&filename=x6kcj.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=640[/img]
jOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORH grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin
PoliticsRe: Occupy Nigeria Twitter Update by mufc009(op): 1:45pm On Jan 09, 2012
"@olugbedu: RRS 101 LA Vehicle Registration number of Policemen who allegedly shot protesters @ Ogba area of Lagos State Nigeria.Plz"
PoliticsRe: Occupy Nigeria Twitter Update by mufc009(op): 1:42pm On Jan 09, 2012
GEJ proposed 25%cut of basic salary.His basic salary is N3.5m per annum so he is willin to let go of N875000, how generous of him#FOOL
PoliticsRe: Occupy Nigeria Twitter Update by mufc009(op): 1:41pm On Jan 09, 2012
@elrufai d govt people sim 2b blamin u 4 evrythg,instead of dem 2admit their own failure.
Retweeted by Nasir El-Rufai
PoliticsRe: Occupy Nigeria Twitter Update by mufc009(op): 1:39pm On Jan 09, 2012
Confront the cabal or Boko Haram, GEJ says hes not a Lion or general but when it comes to unarmed protesters he can act #occupyNigeria
PoliticsRe: Occupy Nigeria Twitter Update by mufc009(op): 1:39pm On Jan 09, 2012
Gates of #Kano state house set ablaze by protesters #occupyNigeri
PoliticsRe: Occupy Nigeria Twitter Update by mufc009(op): 1:38pm On Jan 09, 2012
Breaking News: “Nigerian Government deadly clampdown on peaceful protesters is unacceptable” Viraj Mendis IMRV (Germen Human Rights Group)
PoliticsRe: Occupy Nigeria Twitter Update by mufc009(op): 1:37pm On Jan 09, 2012
#BokoHaram spokesman this morning on BBC Hausa Service said they are in full support of the protests. Bomb threats fake! #occupyNig
PoliticsOccupy Nigeria Twitter Update by mufc009(op): 1:37pm On Jan 09, 2012
Another 7year old crushed to death in a stampede at the protests in #Kano #occupyNigeria
PoliticsRe: Sources Confirm Ademola Aderinto Was The Name Of The Protester Shot Dead In Cold by mufc009(op): 1:25pm On Jan 09, 2012
norrisman:
Ademola Aderi[b]nde[/b]
thanks man

PoliticsSources Confirm Ademola Aderinto Was The Name Of The Protester Shot Dead In Cold by mufc009(op): 1:09pm On Jan 09, 2012
Sources confirm Ademola Aderinto was the name of the protester shot dead in cold blood in Ogba, #Lagos #occupyNigeri
PoliticsRe: Occupy Nigeria: Updates From Across The Nation by mufc009(m): 1:04pm On Jan 09, 2012
WARRI GUY and JONATHAN over
fuel subsidy
WARRI GUY: Bros I hail oh!
JONATHAN: U er welcome
WARRI GUY: Bros the tin wey mak
mi com see u, na because of d mata
wey dey ground so,
JONATHAN: U mean d removal of
fuel subsidy
WARRI GUY: Exactly!bros mak I ask
u, na u put d subsidy dere?
JONATHAN:NO
WARRI GUY: Why u go dey comot
somtin wey anoda person
put, abacha,obasanjo nd oda
sturborn past president no comot
am ,na u wey soft like banana com
get mind take comot am, u wel so!
JONATHAN: But its for d gud of
Nigeria
WARRI GUY: Abeg hold am! Wetin
una don do for Nigeria wey
gud, ASSU de strike, Boko haram
dey bomb, NEPA wit dere madness,
now u com worsen d whole
tin, go comot subsidy wey person
lik u put, Bros u don fall my hand.
JONATHAN: Pls dont b annoyed
WARRI GUY: Bros no provoke mi
ooo, if u knw wetin gud for u
make u go put back wetin u
comot. See as ur face b lik som tin
wey dem comot subsidy 4rm grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin
PoliticsRe: Occupy Nigeria: Updates From Across The Nation by mufc009(m): 12:28pm On Jan 09, 2012
alj harem:
Just scroll down you page and click on "Insert Quote" on the comment you what to quote

then comment
keep it up guy,you are making my day.Are you a moderator here pls?
PoliticsRe: Occupy Nigeria: Updates From Across The Nation by mufc009(m): 12:09pm On Jan 09, 2012
@alj_harem: if i want to quote your comment and make a comment under it pls how will i do it wink
PoliticsRe: Occupy Nigeria: Updates From Across The Nation by mufc009(m): 11:59am On Jan 09, 2012
Se na lyk dz we go dey dey? huh huh
PoliticsRe: What exactly is wrong with Beaf? by mufc009(op): 12:49pm On Jan 06, 2012
@Rhino.5dm
i rest my case,
PoliticsWhat exactly is wrong with Beaf? by mufc009(op): 3:38pm On Jan 05, 2012
How the hell could you support a government that plans to spend approximately N1 billion in feeding its first and second citizens.The estimate indicates that of the N18.34 billion budgeted for the State House, about N1billion would be spent on providing food for the president’s household as well as that of his deputy.

A further breakdown shows that taxpayers would have to cough out approximately N477million to pay for foodstuffs and “catering materials supplies” for the president’s office. The taxpayers, most of which are poor and frustrated, will have to fork out an additional N293 million to provide “refreshment and meals” for the president’s comfort at his home and office.

Yet, an additional N45.4 million would be needed to buy canteen and “kitchen equipment” for the president’s household, although similar purchases were made last year.

For the vice president’s office, the foodstuff, catering and materials supplies are to cost N104 million, while cooking gas and cooking fuel will consume N6.2 million.

Refreshments and meals at Mr. Sambo’s office and home are estimated at N20.8million. Then separately, another N45.4 million has been allocated for purchase of kitchen and household equipment at the state house headquarters.

At N70,000 a month, the N1billion budgeted for presidential feeding would pay the wages of 1,200 Nigerians for a year. Analysts believe that for a nation grappling with widespread poverty and growing unemployment, spending such an amount on food is wasteful.Even d richest of rich like carlos slim, Bill Gates nd warren buffet cant use dat amount 4 food. its vry obvious dat leaders dat re 4rom miserable background like jonathan wudnt knw how 2 b financially prudent.
PoliticsRe: Funny Breaking News On Subsidy Removall by mufc009(op): 10:33am On Jan 05, 2012
no be seresere,

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 10 pages)