Stats: 3,151,319 members, 7,811,946 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 12:40 AM

I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? (7647 Views)

Why are majority of those who fall under annointing female? / The Cowardice Of Atheism / There Are Different Callings In God. Stop Judging One Another. We Be Brethren. (2) (3) (4)

I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 2:45pm On Sep 21, 2011
Alright. I was reading something online last night before i stumbled on a forum as  well as other sites and blogs wherein the subject atheism/atheists' were being discussed. I became enthused and then chose to review what had been discussed.

Some of their views will be captured on this thread, which i may or may not agree with.

NB
atheism is still used in a wide variety of ways.

Someone may announce that she is an atheist, and her listeners may assume she is one type of atheist, when really she is a different type of atheist.

So to clear things up, here are 17 kinds of atheism, organized into 7 sets. Some kinds of atheism can be combined in a person, and some cannot. For example, it is perfectly consistent to be an agnostic, narrow, friendly atheist. But one cannot simultaneously be both a passive atheist and a militant atheist.

Please take note of the characters in bold cos on NL we have both friendly atheists(seun osewa and globelx) and the militant atheists(they know themselves) lol

This list is not definitive. There are many ways to organize and label different kinds of atheism.

1.[size=15pt] Difference in Knowledge[/size]

A gnostic atheist not only believes there are no gods, he also claims to know there are no gods.

An agnostic atheist doesn’t believe in gods, but doesn’t claim to know there are no gods.

2. [size=15pt]Difference in Affirmation[/size]

A negative atheist merely lacks a belief in gods. He is also called a weak atheist or an implicit atheist.

A positive atheist not only lacks a belief in gods, but also affirms that no gods exist. He is also called a strong atheist or an explicit atheist.

3. [size=15pt]Difference in Scope[/size]

A broad atheist denies the existence of all gods: Zeus, Thor, Yahweh, Shiva, and so on.

A narrow atheist denies the existence of the traditional Western omni-God who is all-good, all-knowing, and all-powerful.

4. [size=15pt]Difference in the Assessed Rationality of Theism[/size]

An unfriendly atheist believes no one is justified in believing that gods exist.

An indifferent atheist doesn’t have a belief on whether or not others are justified in believing that gods exist.

A friendly atheis[/b]t believes that some theists are justified in believing that gods exist. The late Bawolomo belongs here

5. [b][size=15pt]Difference in Openness[/size]

A closet atheist has not yet revealed his disbelief to most people. we have plenty of them on NL

An open atheist has revealed his disbelief to most people.

6. [size=15pt]Difference in Action[/size]

A passive atheist doesn’t believe in god but doesn’t try to influence the world in favor of atheism.

An evangelical atheist tries to persuade others to give up theistic belief. more than half of the entire atheists on Nairaland belongs to this category embarassed lipsrsealed undecided

An active atheist labors on behalf of causes that specifically benefit atheists (but not necessarily just atheists). For example, he strives against discrimination toward atheists, or he strives in favor of separation of church and state.

A militant atheist uses violence to promote atheism or destroy religion. (Often, the term “militant atheist” is misapplied to non-violent evangelical atheists like Richard Dawkins. But to preserve the parallel with the “militant Christian” who bombs abortion clinics or the “militant Muslim” suicide bomber, I prefer the definition of “militant atheist” that assumes acts of violence.)

7. [size=15pt]Difference in Religiosity[/size]

A religious atheist practices religion but does not believe in gods.

A non-religious atheist does not practice religion.

Of course, there are many more “kinds” of atheism than this, for one may be a Republican atheist or a Democratic atheist, a short atheist or a tall atheist, a Caucasian atheist or an Hispanic atheist, a foundationalist atheist or a coherentist atheist, an enchanted atheist or a disenchanted atheist.

lol.

To be continued in next post
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 2:47pm On Sep 21, 2011
8. [size=15pt]Difference in attitude of function of Religion[/size]

Sympathetic Atheist: sees religion as having possible useful and benefitial contributions to individuals and/or society without large harm if done well.

Unsympoathetic Atheist : Sees religion as always harmful in the long run.

Apathetic Atheist : Cares not if people have or do not have religion. Not worried about the issue.

Closet Atheist
–> add “partially closeted” — open with many theists but may be careful in some situations like at place of employment (“Don’t ask, Don’t tell”)

9. [size=15pt]Natural vs. Reformed Atheist[/size]

Has never believed and even when if ever in a Church, never did believe.
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 2:48pm On Sep 21, 2011
[size=15pt]Enchanted vs. Disenchanted Atheists[/size]

– as Luke has written of before but in terms of Naturalists
The enchanted includes those that still get mystical intuitions inspite of being an atheist.
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 2:53pm On Sep 21, 2011
[size=15pt]An evangelical atheist is one who not only believes there is no god or other supreme being, but is obsessed with convincing everyone around them to become an atheist too[/size], usually through hard-line intolerance (the kind they accuse other religions of). When cornered they usually try to put down their opponent's religion and bash them for 'blind faith', not realizing that their belief that there is no god is no more or less valid or provable than the other guy's belief that there is one.

[size=15pt]Not to be confused with normal atheists/agnostics[/size], who for the most part just dont talk about religion and accept the beliefs of those around them as their prerogative. [size=15pt]Evangelical atheists are particularly common on the Internet[/size], as organized religion is generally accepted as part of 'the system' of global human society, and lately it's become cool on the Internet to hate 'the system'. Mostly teen angst if you ask me,

source urban dictionary
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by dare2think: 3:41pm On Sep 21, 2011
Is athere an analysis of the different Christian or moslim categories.

Would love to hear from the atheistic brethrens. (as in your own analysis of different theistic types, if you have any)
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 3:49pm On Sep 21, 2011
dare2think:

Is athere an analysis of the different Christian or moslim categories.

Would love to hear from the atheistic brethrens. (as in your own analysis of different theistic types, if you have any)

Well if u read the posts above, there are different kinds of atheists. Im sure u might get a response soon from an evangelical atheist that actually love talking about religious matters lipsrsealed
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by manmustwac(m): 5:45pm On Sep 21, 2011
What is an,evangelical atheist I have never come across or seen an evangelical athiest with his loudspeaker shouting in the middle of bus stop oshodi that "GOD IS IMAGINARY" or "FREE YOUR MIND FROM RELIGIOUS INDOCTRINATION" at the same time handing out leaflets explaining that god dose not exist. Or going from door to door doing the same thing. You and I know that any freethinker that tries that could end up being severly beaten or even lynched. Our country which is still developing will never tolerate such freedom of speech.

Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 6:31pm On Sep 21, 2011
moderator, u know evangelical atheists arent limited to Nigeria. if the evangelical atheists are cowards in Nigeria, they are bold in other countries like sweden. also that they dont carry loud speaker doesnt mean they dont evangelize. ok see my third post. the definition says we find evangelical atheists more on nairaland/internet. some of u pple that poke your nose into trying to convince me that my bible is false and that there isnt any scientific proof for my God, telling me to drop my belief and either take up yours or believe in absolutely nothing are evangelical atheist. Agonistic would say i dont know but a militant atheist would want to convince me. here on nl we such words as 'theres poor evidence for my God'
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by claremont(m): 7:06pm On Sep 21, 2011
I think the OP is misconstruing "evangelical atheism" with "militant atheism". There is NO such thing as "evangelical atheism"; what are we evangelising?! We have no religion!

Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 7:17pm On Sep 21, 2011
u may be right though. but im sure u still have some data available on ur internet access. why dont u just consult one of the numerous search engines to disprove my claim? try google for the definition of evangelical atheist/atheism. im sure most of u that tries to put ur mouth in religious affairs falls within that box.

i have highlighted different kinds of atheism above, which one of the kinds do u belong to?
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by manmustwac(m): 7:22pm On Sep 21, 2011
Come on man don't decieve yourself why call us cowards who's going to risk thier life or risk serious injury just to express his beliefs in public. And besides there is no doctrine in atheism that says athiests must go out and spread thier beliefs. I have never come across pamphlets being distributed or any atheist stopping me in the street expressing his views on religion. Atheist evangelism don't exist toba
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by claremont(m): 7:22pm On Sep 21, 2011
toba:

u may be right though. but im sure u still have some data available on your internet access. why dont u just consult one of the numerous search engines to disprove my claim? try google for the definition of evangelical atheist/atheism. im sure most of u that tries to put your mouth in religious affairs falls within that box.

i have highlighted different kinds of atheism above, which one of the kinds do u belong to?
Atheist.
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 7:37pm On Sep 21, 2011
manmustwac:

Come on man don't decieve yourself why call us cowards who's going to risk thier life or risk serious injury just to express his beliefs in public. And besides there is no doctrine in atheism that says athiests must go out and spread thier beliefs. I have never come across pamphlets being distributed or any atheist stopping me in the street expressing his views on religion. Atheist evangelism don't exist toba
sir u have just contradicted your self. take note of the characters in bold. u have admittted that 'us' have belief. this is your doctrine. so why then do u pple still say atheism isnt a belief system? thats exactly what u try to sell to the theists on nl. MMW u have told me countless times that its man that created god, havent u? this is exactly what u believe and are indoctrinated into. i.e no god and that the bible is false. u do this almost on every of your post. u can first llok up for the definition of evangelism and then add atheist to it or atheism. better. just google the expression or question. what is evangelical atheism/atheist. once u have a result, post it here. BTW i use to think u belong to thei donk know group not until u began convincing me that science says theres no god. u are actually trying to convince to abandon my belief and take up yours
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Enigma(m): 9:05pm On Sep 21, 2011
Evangelical atheism in evangelising action: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/7813812.stm

An evangelical atheism chaplaincy(!): http://harvardhumanist.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=8&Itemid=46

Push for atheist chaplains in the US Military: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/04/27/us/27atheists.html?pagewanted=all

And finally from http://evangelicalatheism.org/

"Evangelical atheism": Sounds like an oxymoron, doesn't it? But "evangelism" literally means "bringing of good news." I believe that strong atheism, the belief that there is no god, is not only true but is also good news. I also believe that the world would be a better place if there were more atheists. Unless you already are one, I believe you would be happier and the world would be a better place if you were an atheist.

There are already a number of resources on atheism: books, web sites, movies, you name it. Most of them patiently deal with the rational. This is as it should be; atheism is the only rational response to the question of whether there is a god. What I want to focus on, though, is the emotional. I believe that emotion, not reason, is the moat between the fantasy of religion and the reality (Edit: really?) of atheism.

Life is hard, and religionists take comfort in "knowing" that it's all according to God's purpose. But, if true, would it really be comforting? That a benevolent, loving god could think of no better way to do what he needs to do by causing so much suffering along with joy?

Life ends in death, but wouldn't eternal life be worse?

Many people go to religious services to reinforce their love of God, but isn't that palpable feeling really the love of each other?

We all are lonely, but aren't six billion of us, most of whom are really fine people, enough?

So, yes, evangelical atheism does indeed evangelise and is basically a religion.

Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 10:19pm On Sep 21, 2011
MMW if u cant believe me, i hope u educate ur self with what enigma has posted regarding evangelical atheism
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by jayriginal: 10:00am On Sep 22, 2011
Atheism is NOT a belief. You cannot believe in something that is not. If I believe that there is no God, its a belief that there is no God, but its not the same as believing there is a God. This is a limitation of language but common sense should override that limitation.

You cannot have evangelical atheists because there is nothing to preach or evangelize. No atheist will go around telling people that there is no God. In fact, christians hound, taunt and ridicule atheists and turn around to complain when atheists put them to shame with cold logic. Then you come out and say atheism is a religion. Or evolution is a religion. That is dumb to say the least.

While you were busy with your urban dictionary and other links, you should have at least sought the definition of religion. Then you would have known if atheism falls into your category.

There is no doctrine and no need for one. A religion by its very definition requires belief in a supernatural being or deity.

You cannot expect to flaunt your self approved righteousness and circular logic in another persons face and expect him to be quiet when he doesnt share your belief. You cannot call a person a fool to his face and expect him to smile.
Now that we are comfortable in the knowledge that you will not burn us at the stake as you were likely to do in times past (following your scriptures), we can now tell you why we dont believe.

Let me give you a typical scenario
Friend : What church do you attend
Me: I dont
Friend: Why ?
Me: I have better things to do with my time
Friend: But you are a christian
Me: No
Friend: You dont believe in God

then the preaching starts. Im being told next that theirs is the one true religion bla bla bla. Who is evangelizing here?
Sometimes its fun to taunt christians, I'm surprised many even respond. We take more of it than you guys do. For a fact, most of you christians dont even believe in God sef. You just dont realise it yet. Then there are a few nut jobs that believe that God talks to them.

Well God spoke to me last night. He told me that he was annoyed that you could ascribe such an error riddled primitive piece of literature to him and say he inspired it. He said that if he didnt want you to use your brains, he wouldnt have given them to you. He then showed me a vision of Paul burning in hell.
Finally he told me very clearly that he didnt exist and promised to visit me soon and inspire me with real revelation.

For all those screaming about evangelical atheism, it may have a definition, but that doesnt mean it exists. Otherwise dragons and unicorns would exist (these mythical creatures are found in the bible by the way).

SMH
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by globexl: 5:04am On Sep 23, 2011
@jayriginal: You said best.
I get harrsed every single day of my life by people who want save me from i dont know what. I keep beliefs(or unbeliefs) to my self. I get harrased at home, at work, on the road, on the bus. i was almost forced to slap someone one who forced a pamphlet into my car despite the fact that i refused to take it.
As soon as u tell them that ur not interested in what they are preaching, the verbal asualts and condemnations begin.

@Toba, my good friend. thank you for puting me on your good side. I'm honoured. grin

Now let me ask you:
Just as you cannot understand how the mind of an athiest work, I still dont understand how the religious mind works. Why cant a religious mind be content with its beliefs and faith?. Why must I share your(not u inparticular) faith? You want everyone to share you faith, then what is the difference between the average evangelical christian and Boko Haram? Not much ,as far I can see. Boko haram uses violence , but I suffer verbal violence from evangelicals on a daily basis.
What is it about these middle east religions and intolerance?
If god exists as you believe, think about it, look at the diversity in nature. There are more than 10 million different species of animals and more than 50 million different species of plants. Obviously, god loves diversity that is why he must have created different people , different climates, different languages with different cultures and beliefs. No two human beings have the same finger prints and no two human beings see the same shade of colour. If god wanted everyone to be the same, he could have just cloned all of us as replicas of each other, Abi?
If god exists, then we are diverse for a good reason.

Imagine 5 billion human beings with just 1 viewpoint, and then, imagine 5 billion human beings with 5 billion viewpoints. Which, do you honestly think ,an intelligent and wise god would prefer?
Scientific studies have shown that societies where there is no diversity tend to stagnate ,whereas, societies where there is a lot of diversity tend to be vibrant and progressive.

I just cannot understand why someone who believes in something and happy about their belief should have headaches about those who do not share the same beliefs.
Religion is a mystery to me.
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by claremont(m): 9:03am On Sep 23, 2011
I am sure if Toba had found out from the Internet that there is such a thing as "Goat Atheism, "Cow Atheism", or "Tortoise Atheism, he would have come on here asking us which one are we. My point is, there are a million and one mundane concepts out there, it doesn't mean that these concepts make any form of logical sense, the concepts only make sense to the persons who may have invented them.
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by jayriginal: 9:59am On Sep 23, 2011
globexl:

@jayriginal: You said best.

Thank you Sir.

Scientific studies have shown that societies where there is no diversity tend to stagnate ,whereas, societies where there is a lot of diversity tend to be vibrant and progressive.

Just to add to the above point which I think is very important, we wouldnt have such a technologically advanced world if we all accepted the bible. Look at what the church did to scientists.
What if we all believed that sickness was caused by sin, and when we get sick instead of going to the hospital, we all called the elders of the church to lay hands on us. Imagine what would happen.
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 10:21am On Sep 23, 2011
Interesting.
U could have saved your self lot stress, energy and time by actually reading what Enigma posted. I mean some of the links he posted with an open mind. Since u didnt, i would go ahead to point out to u some of the flaws behind the logic u've used in responding to this discourse.

jayriginal:

Atheism is NOT a belief. You cannot believe in something that is not. If I believe that there is no God, its a belief that there is no God, but its not the same as believing there is a God. This is a limitation of language but common sense should override that limitation.
Take note of the characters in bold. A fellow atheist on this same thread actually agreed with me that he has a belief and might be scared to go on the street openly professing same. However, i think u need to first arm your self with the true meaning of some words before using them.

belief

   [bih-leef] Show IPA
noun
something believed;  an opinion or conviction: a belief that the earth is flat.
confidence in the truth or existence of something not immediately susceptible to rigorous proof: a statement unworthy of belief.
confidence; faith; trust: a child's belief in his parents.
a religious tenet or tenets; religious creed or faith: the Christian belief.

From what i have read from your previous post, u believe strongly that theres no god or God. U now making it a conditional statement here by the word 'if' doesnt take away anything from your belief and what u actually believe in, Forget about the context of its usage. I believe in God and also believe in science. U believe so much in science and u also believe there's no god. Coming here to claim or allege something else is not good enough.  U are a believer so also i am a believer.  U have conviction that there's no god, this is your belief and from every of ur responses on NL, u dont hide this your conviction.

In addition,  U also need to state the particular kind of atheism thats not a belief. I have highlighted above some of the kinds of atheism. All these kinds have different atheist under their category who are ready not to hide their belief. Your claim above that atheism isnt a belief is faulty based on the definition given.

Thats flaw number 1

jayriginal:

You cannot have evangelical atheists because there is nothing to preach or evangelize. No atheist will go around telling people that there is no God. In fact, christians hound, taunt and ridicule atheists and turn around to complain when atheists put them to shame with cold logic. Then you come out and say atheism is a religion. Or evolution is a religion. That is dumb to say the least.

This is another poor attempt to defend what cant be defended. Have u actually studied what evangelical atheism is all about? have u actually found out beyond the shores of Nigeria that there's nothing like evangelical atheism/atheists? Have  tried reading some of the links Enigma gave s on this thread? If not then u need to do that first. Some of the online forums owned by atheist are available for free members registration. Go there to learn more about atheism and how r people are reading to defend their belief in order to silence the theists.

U may also have forgotten that  ur fellow atheist go about nl trying to convince the theist with some scientific logic that theres poor evidence for a God. dont ? These makes u fall into the same group. U really need to read the some of the posts on this thread.  U were actually in a haste  to respond without adequately reading what we are talking about. Its clear from one of the definitions that we find people like this on the Internet. We are chatting on the internet arent we?

Flaw number 2
jayriginal:

While you were busy with your urban dictionary and other links, you should have at least sought the definition of religion. Then you would have known if atheism falls into your category.

There is no doctrine and no need for one. A religion by its very definition requires belief in a supernatural being or deity.

This is shocking. Did u care to read the title of this thread? Now this is what the title says[b] 'I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under?'[/b] I am not here to claim or not claim that atheism is or is not a religion. Its a pity u are using the same atheist tactic to allege what im yet to claim.

jayriginal:

[b]You cannot expect to flaunt your self approved righteousness and circular logic in another persons face and expect [/b]him to be quiet when he doesnt share your belief. You cannot call a person a fool to his face and expect him to smile.
Now that we are comfortable in the knowledge that you will not burn us at the stake as you were likely to do in times past (following your scriptures), we can now tell you why we dont believe.
Exactly the point. Which means both sides are actually doing the same thing. An atheist tells me theres no god or God, in order for me not to be called a fool, i choose to defend what i believe in just as the atheist did.
jayriginal:

Let me give you a typical scenario
Friend : What church do you attend
Me: I dont
Friend: Why ?
Me: I have better things to do with my time
Friend: But you are a christian
Friend: You dont believe in God

then the preaching starts. Im being told next that theirs is the one true religion bla bla bla. Who is evangelizing here?
Sometimes its fun to taunt christians, I'm surprised many even respond. We take more of it than you guys do. For a fact, most of you christians dont even believe in God sef. You just dont realise it yet. Then there are a few nut jobs that believe that God talks to them.

Well God spoke to me last night. He told me that he was annoyed that you could ascribe such an error riddled primitive piece of literature to him and say he inspired it. He said that if he didnt want you to use your brains, he wouldnt have given them to you. He then showed me a vision of Paul burning in hell.
Finally he told me very clearly that he didnt exist and promised to visit me soon and inspire me with real revelation.
This your scenario really makes no sense to me. U may be right to tell this to other christians who go about doing some of what  highlighted in the scenario and not to me. The title of the thread is very clear. Which of the kinds do u  fall under. I can tell u straight away the one  fall under cos having read some of your previous responses, i can draw a conclusion.

BTW some atheists are equally guilty of this judging by what they do on NL
jayriginal:

For all those screaming about evangelical atheism, it may have a definition, but that doesnt mean it exists. [/b]Otherwise dragons and unicorns would exist (these mythical creatures are found in the bible by the way).

SMH

This is why i frown at your laziness.  dont just make a claim without backing it p. Im sure  u have the internet and also some available data. Kindly do your research. Lawyers aren't lazy to read and learn. Do that your self to  find out if we have evangelical atheism or not. In some countries, this people are even shouting for constitutional recognition. Pls read through the links Enigma provided. That u dont believe in something or have never heard about something doesnt make such thing to be a myth.

[b]Flaw number 3
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 10:26am On Sep 23, 2011
jayriginal:

Thank you Sir.

Just to add to the above point which I think is very important, we wouldnt have such a technologically advanced world if we all accepted the bible. Look at what the church did to scientists.
What if we all believed that sickness was caused by sin, and when we get sick instead of going to the hospital, we all called the elders of the church to lay hands on us. Imagine what would happen.

NAAAAAAAAA. why are u like this? most of the world's best scientist, dont they believe in God? some of them actually believe and do read the bible yet it doesn't affect their scientific studies
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 10:30am On Sep 23, 2011
claremont:

I am sure if Toba had found out from the Internet that there is such a thing as "Goat Atheism, "Cow Atheism", or "Tortoise Atheism, he would have come on here asking us which one are we. My point is, there are a million and one mundane concepts out there, it doesn't mean that these concepts make any form of logical sense, the concepts only make sense to the persons who may have invented them.

im yet to see make a reasonble point on this thread. have just been cheer leading r fellow atheists. Lets try to reason. What i posted here are some of the things being belived to be in practise by r fellow atheist.

The bible says stdy to show r self approved. Most of atheists need to stdy very well abot atheism.

base most of ur belief in What Dawkins and Darwin have said. Try to do some research r self and learn more about ur belief
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Enigma(m): 10:51am On Sep 23, 2011
@toba

In addition to what you have said, evangelical atheism actually exists in Nigeria as well; sometimes publicly with people like Leo Igwe (who is actually a decent writer occasionally) and the anonymous evangelical atheist campaigners on this forum and on this very thread. Indeed, now they dominate the Nairaland religion forum and many Christians are now leaving them to it; (in fact as an aside I wonder what the "intellectual" Christians who tend to side with the atheists and other anti-Christians now make of it!)

Further, the evangelical atheists saying there is no such thing as evangelical atheism are simply in denial being ashamed to admit that they are doing exactly what they accuse religionists of and have themselves become members of a religion!

Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by jayriginal: 2:53pm On Sep 23, 2011
@Toba ****yawn***
There really is no need to reply you but I'll try.

I read everything that was posted. You see that out of everything I took particular issue with the term evangelical atheism. Once again, its a misnomer in case you didnt get it the first time.
Atheism is NOT a belief, its a lack of it. Why do you want to put an atheist in the same category as yourself. Where is your sense of logic. I ask you, how is it possible to believe in a thing that is not. Infact since you are the very epitome of research and diligence, you might want to show me where I ever said that I am certain there is no God.

In case you don't find it, let me categorically state it here. I[b] have no belief [/b]in a supernatural deity by whatever name so called (is that better phrasing for you) but I cannot say for certain that there is none. Until I see evidence to the contrary, this is my stand.

Do the bolded parts satisfy you? I hope this will quench your desire to tag me as one of you.

Now, that is my position, and please do not tag me as agnostic. I'm not. Another atheist may say he knows for certain that there is no God.  Each person with his own way of thinking.

If you wish to believe a bunch of primitive tales and guidelines each at variance with itself, so be it. But keep such away from me. Go to your heaven or hell. See your visions, its fine. But when you bring them to me its a different story.
You made a very silly point that might titillate those with a feeble grasp of logic. You said
Its clear from one of the definitions that we find people like this on the Internet. We are chatting on the internet arent we?

This proves nothing. Its a pathetic attempt really.

Moving on, in my personal life, I dont bother people. I dont even like debating or explaining my position. Every now and then, there comes a person who thinks he knows better than you (majority call you fools to your face or in their minds), a person whose religious fervour knows no bounds, a person who feels he/she can change you, a person who is intolerant of anything but his own viewpoint. Then they make certain claims which are false and need to be refuted.
A good example of this is calling atheism or science or evolution a belief. Or a silly term like evangelical atheism.

I read the topic and it asks the question which kind of atheist are you. I didnt answer because I dont even like being called an atheist. I'm a human being simple and plain. The term atheist is just a convenient grouping for people who have no belief in a supernatural being.

have u actually fond out beyond the shores of Nigeria that theres nothing like evangelical atheism/atheists? Have  tried reading some of the links Enigma gave s on this thread? If not then  need to do that first. Some of the forms owned by atheist are available for free members registration. Go there to learn more about atheism and how r people are reading to defend their belief in order to silence the theists.
You havent told me you have either. What forms are owned by atheists ? Is it forms or forums ? There is a difference between a religious sect and an association. I'm not a member of any atheist forum and I dont need to be. Its really not my business what you do with your life, just dont expect me to do the same. If christians kept their wahala to themselves, you wouldnt have any problem with atheists. As I see it, you are a desperate bunch. The wiser christians among you read and move on. They dont contribute because its a war thats impossible to win. I respect that. Those of you coming here with half baked logic and spurious rebuttals garnished with heavy doses of vile insults are the ones I pity.
You cant win. A true atheist wont win either because he knows that religion and logic are incompatible. Its based on belief. The same word that is causing this dispute now. How else can your mind comprehend a position other than to call it a belief.
Thus you reason "call it a belief, then its more familiar to us and we can engage it on our turf". Sorry, you are wrong. Atheism is a lack of belief.
If any man is going on the streets sensitizing people about the non existence of God, I would suggest that his head be examined. Its just not normal to do this just like its not normal for a christian to take to the streets and force his religion on anyone. The internet is a different thing entirely. Its not "in your face". You are neither forced to read or having read, to respond. Religion has more than its fair share of fanatics. You people would like to bad mouth Islam forgetting that the oceans of blood that were spilled have only just dried up (I'm speaking figuratively since its hard for you to figure things out).

NAAAAAAAAA. why are u like this? most of the world's best scientist, dont they believe in God? some of them actually believe and do read the bible yet it doesn't affect their scientific studies
Where are your statistics Sir ?
I reacted to this issue today, I dont feel like doing it again. Since you are a great researcher and you have followed most of my posts, go and dig out the answer.

U may also have forgotten that  and r fellow atheist go about nl trying to convince the theist with some scientific logic that theres poor evidence for a God. dont ? 
U were actually in a haste  to respond without adequately reading what we are talking about

Theres poor evidence for God really. I believe I mentioned that its fun taunting theists cos they do it a whole lot. The fun is actually when people like you attempt to violently stand logic on its head and resort to crude insults to cover up their lapses. Sometimes too, its wiser to refrain. It just depends on your mood. The best way to win this war is not to fight it. Just keep on doing what you do, and leave us alone. You need to get your spiritual heads to decree this . After that, peace shall reign. If you want to talk, you have to be prepared for a response as well.

No Sir, I wasnt in haste. You are apparently, from your spelling and grammar.

Wow i thought  said  were a Lawyer. This is shocking. Did  care to read the title of this thread? Now this is what the title says 'I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under?' I am not here to claim or not claim that atheism is or is not a religion. Its a pity u are using the same atheist tactic to allege what im yet to claim.
Not worthy of a response since you didnt get my meaning the first time.

Exactly the point. Which means both sides are actually doing the same thing. An atheist tells me theres no god or God, in order for me not to be called a fool, i choose to defend what i believe in just as the atheist did
Theres nothing that gives an atheist the direction or mandate to call another man a fool, so we quietly wait for you to quote the verse in psalms and then we hint you that you are now in danger of hell. I have never in my entire life attacked any christian for his faith. Rather I find myself having to explain my position. The response and degree may vary in proportion to the delusion of the christian, but the responses are typical.
I'd be surprised if any of the atheists on this forum went about asking people to stop believing in God. Its usually the other way round.

This your scenario really makes no sense to me. U may be right to tell this to other christians who go about doing some of what  highlighted in the scenario and not to me. The title of the thread is very clear. Which of the kinds do  fall under.
It requires faith for you to accept that God came to me and told me he didnt exist (it really happened). Ask for the spirit to guide you and you will understand.

Yes the title of the thread is very clear but the information contained in it is misleading. If I say nothing at all, another day when I object to the term, they will ask "but why didnt you say something then".

I can tell u straight away the one  fall under cos having read some of your previous responses, i can draw a conclusion.
Well Sir, you seem to know me very well. Where do I fall ?

This is why i frown at your laziness.  dont just make a claim without backing it p. Im sure  have the internet and also some available data. Kindly do your research. Lawyers arent lazy to read and learn. Do that your self to  find out if we have evangelical atheism or not. In some countries, this people are even shouting for constitutional recognition. Pls read through the links Enigma provided. That u dont believe in something or have never heard about something doesnt make such thing to be a myth

I dont know what your thing is with lawyers. It has no bearing on your poor comprehension.

What claim do you want me to back up ? Mythical creatures in the bible ? I didnt think there was a need for that.
I never said my ignorance of something made it a myth . Did I ? What I said was that if something had a definition, it doesnt conclude (Im rephrasing for your sake) that such a thing exists.
Isaiah 13:21 "But wild beasts of the desert shall lie there; and their houses shall be full of doleful creatures; and owls shall dwell there, and satyrs shall dance there."
What is a Satyr Sir ?
Numbers 21:6
What is a fiery serpent Sir ?
Jeremiah 8:17 - "For, behold, I will send serpents, cockatrices, among you, which will not be charmed, and they shall bite you, saith the Lord
A cockatrice ? Have you seen one ?
Isaiah 34:7  "And the unicorns shall come down with them, and the bullocks with the bulls, and their land shall be soaked with blood, and their dust made fat with fatness." See also Job 39:9-12
The only unicorn I know of is the Invisible Pink Unicorn which is a great spiritual being. We know this because it is capable of being pink and invisible at the same time. Like every religion, it relies on a mixture of faith and logic. We have faith that it is pink and logically we know its invisible because we cannot see it (though it is everywhere).

Sir, have you seen a unicorn before (I know you dont have the faith to do it).
Please use the old king james if you have access to it because modern bible editors are ashamed of these ridiculous monsters (and they have definitions) and are replacing them.

Malachi 1:3 "And I hated Esau, and laid his mountains and his heritage waste for the dragons of the wilderness."
Dragons Sir ?

toba:

1) im yet to see  make a reasonble point on this thread.  have just been cheer leading r fellow atheists. Lets try to reason. What i posted here are some of the things being belived to be in practise by r fellow atheist.

2)The bible says stdy to show r self approved. Most of  atheists need to stdy very well abot atheism.

3) base most of your belief in What Dawkins and Darwin have said. Try to do some research r self and learn more about your belief

1) I dont doubt that you are yet to see a reasonable point.
Look again.
Keep looking.
Tell us how long it took you.
Still looking ?

2) Thats what your bible says. An atheist is free from all that because he has no belief. The basic premise of atheism is "until you show me your God, I cant believe in it". How that equates to a belief to you is unfathomable.

3) Actually theres Carl Sagan, James Randi, Edward Current, Comedian George Carlin, Bertrand Russel, Bart Erhman,
and the list is endless. You apparently dont know the meaning of research There are plenty of atheists out there and they are not the reason that anyone is an atheist. Nothing I can say will convince you, I know that already. Usually an atheist passes through stages before he gets there (unless he is born into an atheist family). Infact, I'll leave you with this quote from Isaac Asimov
Properly read, the Bible is the most potent force for atheism ever conceived.

The other day I was discussing with a friend and he called himself a "thinking christian". I promptly told him that there was no such thing.
Likewise, there is no such thing as an evangelical atheist. An atheist is just that.

Enigma:

@toba

In addition to what you have said, evangelical atheism actually exists in Nigeria as well; sometimes publicly with people like Leo Igwe (who is actually a decent writer occasionally) and the anonymous evangelical atheist campaigners on this forum and on this very thread. Indeed, now they dominate the Nairaland religion forum and many Christians are now leaving them to it; (in fact as an aside I wonder what the "intellectual" Christians who tend to side with the atheists and other anti-Christians now make of it!)

Further, the evangelical atheists saying there is no such thing as evangelical atheism are simply in denial being ashamed to admit that they are doing exactly what they accuse religionists of and have themselves become members of a religion!

Everything I said to Toba applies to your post.

At this point, Id like to say something before I leave. I have heard that some people just pick flaws in peoples arguments without adding anything constructive. I have been accused of that personally and this is always my response. I like to learn because I dont know everything. If you state a case, I may not be able to counter you with facts, neither will I make them up on my own. If however you make an unsound argument, you cannot force me to take your conclusion, even if I have no facts to counter you as yet (and I will not make any up as mentioned earlier).

The fact that Im not going to tell you what kind of atheist (a rubbish classification in my opinion) I belong to, does not stop me from pointing out to you the absurdity inherent.
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Enigma(m): 3:32pm On Sep 23, 2011
jayriginal:
. . . .
At this point, Id like to say something before I leave. I have heard that some people just pick flaws in peoples arguments without adding anything constructive. I have been accused of that personally . . . .

Well, it is indeed true that several of the evangelical atheists and some other anti-Christians here rarely say anything constructive and, accordingly, some of us don't take them seriously other than to point out their own dogmas, absurdities, inconsistencies, intellectual folly, sleight of hand and even intellectual dishonesty.

Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Enigma(m): 3:51pm On Sep 23, 2011
Let me demonstrate for the atheists here how they can be taken seriously by contrasting some scenarios.

Scenario 1 --- an atheist (especially evangelical atheist) comes to this forum and says: Christians believe in stoning people to death because of passages in Leviticus. Well, I personally will not take the person seriously and while I may not say so openly on the forum (or only use clever/polite language to say it) I will certainly consider the person a fo.ol in my mind.

Scenario 2 --- an atheist person says with discernibly genuine honesty: 'You these Christians, I don't understand you and this your Bible; I mean your Bible says to stone some people to death!' I will regard the person as misinformed (but not necessarily a fo.ol) and may be prepared to engage in discussion.

Scenario 3 --- here I present to the atheists (especially the evangelical atheists) what may make them begin to earn my respect: they say I know that in Leviticus the Bible says stone some people to death, I know that you Christians do not today really believe people should be stoned to death, I have some idea how you manage to "side-step" those provisions in Leviticus but I am interested in a detailed understanding of the argument(s) or way(s) for "side-stepping" those provisions in Leviticus.

Scenario 4 --- an atheist says I understand some of your arguments for "side-stepping" the Leviticus "difficult passages" and I can understand how you find that those arguments give you peace of mind; however, for me as an atheist I do not find those arguments convincing!   Again, I can understand that kind of position.

But to come here and say Christians believe in stoning people to death (or Christians don't believe in taking conventional medicine as one of the evangelical atheists argued incredibly some time ago), either out of ignorance or in intellectually dishonest fashion, earns nothing but contempt from me.

Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Enigma(m): 4:10pm On Sep 23, 2011
jayriginal:

. . . . Everything I said to Toba applies to your post. . . .

I completely stand by that post and my other posts on this thread: the evangelical atheists are doing exactly the same things that they accuse "religionists" of and are now themselves also practising a religion.  smiley

Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 4:50pm On Sep 23, 2011
jayriginal:

@Toba ****yawn***
There really is no need to reply you but I'll try.
really? this is pathetic after reading your post, i found more grounds to still question your logic cos your attempt at shifting the goal post isnt good enough sir and haven't helped push your  matter very well thus far.

jayriginal:

I read everything that was posted. You see that out of everything I took particular issue with the term evangelical atheism. Once again, its a misnomer in case you didn't get it the first time.
this is still a pathetic attempt cos your biased view shouldn't be used as a basis for generalization. Once again i would still give u the same response. Kindly educate your self well with what the term evangelical atheism means. This subject have long been trashed out on NL and should in case u aren't satisfied with what has been said here, don't be lazy, do some research i wouldn't have time to spoon feed u for too long

Atheism is NOT a belief, its a lack of it. Why do you want to put an atheist in the same category as yourself. Where is your sense of logic. I ask you, how is it possible to believe in a thing that is not.
I will still give u the same response. Dont generalize. the definition of belief i gave applies to atheist. It might be different whats being believed in but yet it still applies. Many atheist are so much convinced that they arent even ashamed to go public. U may still look up for the meaning of belief from other mediums to see how atheism fits in. Dont return here to tell me atheism isnt a belief without looking well into the definition of belief

Infact since you are the very epitome of research and diligence, you might want to show me where I ever said that I am certain there is no God.

Are u willing to show me where i have stated and mentioned that certainly u believe in no God. If  u can show me where i did made such allegation, i may be willing to retract my statement if im convinced i did

In case you don't find it, let me categorically state it here. I[b] have no belief [/b]in a supernatural deity by whatever name so called (is that better phrasing for you) but I cannot say for certain that there is none. Until I see evidence to the contrary, this is my stand.
Interesting. Can u please give me the definition of doctrine? U can also add the definition of belief to it for me to put it into the context of the characters in bold

Do the bolded parts satisfy you? I hope this will quench your desire to tag me as one of you.
Let me say to you that this thread is not particularly directed to an individual but to a group of which u may belong to. really i wouldnt have bothered if  u never made an attempt at shifting the goal post of the subject of this discourse to review some of your post to see your orientation.

Now, that is my position, and please do not tag me as agnostic. I'm not. Another atheist may say he knows for certain that there is no God.  Each person with his own way of thinking.

Now this is really pathetic. your contradiction knows no bound. U have generalized that atheism isnt a belief and know u want me to believe  that other atheists may have divergent view about the subject. Where did u leave the characters in bold before making a  pathetic attempt at defending atheism? SMDH grin

If you wish to believe a bunch of primitive tales and guidelines each at variance with itself, so be it. But keep such away from me. Go to your heaven or hell. See your visions, its fine. But when you bring them to me its a different story.
You made a very silly point that might titillate those with a feeble grasp of logic. You said
May be if u had kept yours to yourself, we could have been saved this part. I really do not care about anything. I just love fair play. If atheist accuse the theist of something, have they checked thoroughly if they arent guilty of same? Remember u started this with your long tale. Its only fair for me to respond in kind manner smiley sir check your logic

This proves nothing. Its a pathetic attempt really.

No it does.  U only need to read others' post with an open mind and stop being biased. I told u the definition says we find them on the internet. Again are we not using the internet as a discussion platform?

Moving on, in my personal life, I dont bother people. I dont even like debating or explaining my position. Every now and then, there comes a person who thinks he knows better than you (majority call you fools to your face or in their minds), a person whose religious fervour knows no bounds, a person who feels he/she can change you, a person who is intolerant of anything but his own viewpoint. Then they make certain claims which are false and need to be refuted.
A good example of this is calling atheism or science or evolution a belief. Or a silly term like evangelical atheism.

Thats one of the issues i may have with . have  u bothered an attempt at reading what  evangelical atheism is all about?  U cant sit comfortably behind a system and say what u have little knowledge about, having the opportunity to arm your self with what it entails. Before  u make claims kindly read the definition or meaning once again. pathetic

I read the topic and it asks the question which kind of atheist are you. I didnt answer because I dont even like being called an atheist. I'm a human being simple and plain. The term atheist is just a convenient grouping for people who have no belief in a supernatural being.
Na and how do u know this about atheist? do u know that we also have different kinds of atheists/atheism? Which one of this kinds have no belief?

You havent told me you have either. What forms are owned by atheists ? Is it forms or forums ?
I must lol here. I just discovered that the letter 'u' on my keyboard is failing. hence the letter missing is u. i would get it checked after this post

There is a difference between a religious sect and an association. I'm not a member of any atheist forum and I dont need to be. Its really not my business what you do with your life, just dont expect me to do the same. If christians kept their wahala to themselves, you wouldnt have any problem with atheists. As I see it, you are a desperate bunch. The wiser christians among you read and move on. They dont contribute because its a war thats impossible to win. I respect that. Those of you coming here with half baked logic and spurious rebuttals garnished with heavy doses of vile[b] insults are the ones I pity.[/b]
Naaa. U really have to pity your self here cos most of atheist get agitated over frivolous matters during online discussion and hence result to insult. your pathetic response is amusing. I havent insulted u thus far even though u have used poor logic in most part of this discourse. It may also be good for u to know that same thing  U have said in this paragraph also applies to u and other atheist.  U are trying to make us believe in what u believe in, its only fair that u get same response on what u are giving out.

Its the atheist here that get fed in time hence change the goal post and turn to insult others. U have attempted that on this thread. Trust me, u give it to me, i give it to u back. Im ready for it.

You cant win. A true atheist wont win either because he knows that religion and logic are incompatible. Its based on belief. The same word that is causing this dispute now. How else can your mind comprehend a position other than to call it a belief.
Thus you reason "call it a belief, then its more familiar to us and we can engage it on our turf". Sorry, you are wrong.

Muhehehehehe. So sir what is the logic u have been passing so far? Arent we chatting in English? Havent i told  to go check for meaning of words before u apply them on this thread? what else are  u talking about here? at a point, u  would say people have different thinking at another u would want to speak for all atheist. this is poor logic mr man if u dont know

If any man is going on the street sensitizing people about the non existence of God, I would suggest that his head be examined. Its just not normal to do this. Religion has more than its fair share of fanatics. You people would like to bad mouth Islam forgetting that the oceans of blood that were spilled have only just dried up (I'm speaking figuratively since its hard for you to figure things out).
Thats why i said u still need to do more in terms of intensifying your effort. We have evangelical atheist, kindly learn about them and convey your message to them via the same internet u are using in responding to me. ok? U must discover that we have fanatics among atheist as well.

I reacted to this issue today, I dont feel like doing it again. Since you are a great researcher and you have followed most of my posts, go and dig out the answer.
Naa dont feel on top of the world. i only reviewed your post before responding to u to see your logic.

If u like, respond and if u dont like dont respond. Its not by force. This is a public forum and not a private one. Anyone is free to post provided such one doesn't violate the rules

Theres poor evidence for God really.

How do u know this?

I believe I mentioned that its fun taunting theists cos they do it a whole lot. The fun is actually when people like you attempt to violently stand logic on its head and resort to crude insults to cover up their lapses. Sometimes too, its wiser to refrain. It just depends on your mood. The best way to win this war is not to fight it. Just keep on doing what you do, and leave us alone. You need to get your spiritual heads to decree this . After that, peace shall reign. If you want to talk, you have to be prepared for a response as well.
I would still ask u, what are the logic u have demonstrated on this thread? U are attempting to shift the goal post again. U brought in the issue of God here and its only fair to give  a response. I havent started this thread to discuss god or God. your poor logic has drifted us into doing this. Its also very pathetic that u  kept on calling this or discussion a war. War for what exactly? I really dont care if anyone believes or do not believe in god. if truly there's a God, we shall all know one day. The way u are going about this is just too poor. Let me tell u this isnt a war. Pls change your poor logic sir

No Sir, I wasnt in haste. You are apparently, from your spelling and grammar.

u may be right though. What caused this is actually my keyboard. the letter 'u' decided to get angry with me. How ever, i have modified appropriately

Not worthy of a response since you didnt get my meaning the first time.
U are free to run if what i posted was too much for u to comprehend.

Well its still up there,  u can go review and come back here

Theres nothing that gives an atheist the direction or mandate to call another man a fool, so we quietly wait for you to quote the verse in psalms and then we hint you that you are now in danger of hell. I have never in my entire life attacked any christian for his faith. Rather I find myself having to explain my position. The response and degree may vary in proportion to the delusion of the christian, but the responses are typical.
I'd be surprised if any of the atheists on this forum went about asking people to stop believing in God. Its usually the other way round.

Naaaa. This is really really pathetic. What brought about this trash? Did i start this thread to preach about God? Have u forgotten that the God subject was brought in by u? Too bad. Its just too obvious that most of u are just against the christian and the christian God with a stereotyped and biased opinion which has been preconceived in your minds. U bring this into a every discussion and make the christian look guilty at all times. This is very very bad. What sense have u made with your logic here?

It requires faith for you to accept that God came to me and told me he didnt exist (it really happened). Ask for the spirit to guide you and you will understand.
And how do  u know it requires faith to accept that God did that?

Yes the title of the thread is very clear but the information contained in it is misleading. If I say nothing at all, another day when I object to the term, they will ask "but why didnt you say something then".
Dont tell me that u deliberately posted trash on this thread to please some people. Is that the correct position? shocked

Well Sir, you seem to know me very well. Where do I fall ?
U fall into one of the above categories. satisfied?

I dont know what your thing is with lawyers. It has no bearing on your poor logic.
I have no issues with them really cos what i do, they supplement it by preparing tenancy and lease agreement for [/b]me. I have issues with comprehending how a barrister would be applying very poor logic in a discussion. U have shifted the goal post severally which is very pathetic cry cry cry cry

What claim do you want me to back up ? Mythical creatures in the bible ? I didnt think there was a need for that.
I never said my ignorance of something made it a myth . Did I ? What I said was that if something had a definition, it doesnt conclude (Im rephrasing for your sake) that such a thing exists.
U see. i was talking about something else and u are referring to something else. U said theres nothing like [b]evangelical
atheism. I responded by saying  should back it up. See what in came p with? this is pathetic. This your God obsession is becoming embarrassing embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed

What is a Satyr Sir ?

What do  think it means since u brought it to this thread? BTW whats the relevance of this to the title?

What is a fiery serpent Sir ?
What do  think it means since u brought it to this thread? BTW whats the relevance of this to the title?

A cockatrice ?

Have you seen one ?
Where can i find one since u brought it to this thread? BTW whats the relevance of this to the title?

The only unicorn I know of is the Invisible Pink Unicorn which is a great spiritual being. We know this because it is capable of being pink and invisible at the same time. Like every religion, it relies on a mixture of faith and logic. We have faith that it is pink and logically we know its invisible because we cannot see it (though it is everywhere).
And whats the relevance of this trash to this thread?

Sir, have you seen a unicorn before (I know you dont have the faith to do it).
what is a unicorn? is it the same thing as popcorn? grin grin grin grin grin grin

Please use the old king james if you have access to it because modern bible editors are ashamed of these ridiculous monsters (and they have definitions) and are replacing them.
Dragons Sir ?
Really? please tell me more abeg

1) I dont doubt that you are yet to see a reasonable point.
Look again.
Keep looking.
Tell us how long it took you.
Still looking ?
I have looked and stopped looking having discovered that theres non. Can u find any? if yes can u please post at least 50 of such to convince me?

2) Thats what your bible says. An atheist is free from all that because he has no belief. The basic premise of atheism is "until you show me your God, I cant believe in it". How that equates to a belief to you is unfathomable.
Go and read what the definition of belief says. I have done  u a favour by posting it here for u to read. Kindly read your self

3) Actually theres Carl Sagan, James Randi, Edward Current, Comedian George Carlin, Bertrand Russel, Bart Erhman,
and the list is endless. There are plenty of atheists out there and they are not the reason that anyone is an atheist. Nothing I can say will convince you, I know that already. Usually an atheist passes through stages before he gets there (unless he is born into an atheist family). Infact, I'll leave you with this quote from Isaac Asimov

Whats the percentage of atheists in the world? I have a thread on that on this same NL. pls do your own research and if u cant, ask me for the link and i would gladly bring it up for u. Just before u do that, i can confidently tell u that the entire atheists on earth arent up to 25% of the worlds total population. This only confirms that those that doesnt believe in anything like God or a supreme being or spirit, etc belongs to the minority of which  u are one. pathetic cry cry cry cry cry

U need to do more evangelism to win souls. lol

The other day I was discussing with a friend and he called himself a "thinking christian". I promptly told him that there was no such thing.
Likewise, there is no such thing as an evangelical atheist. An atheist is just that.

It might not make too much sense continuing this discussion with u cos of your lazy attempt to learn. [size=25pt]GO AND ASK GOOGLE IF THERE'S NOTHING LIKE EVANGELICAL ATHEISM[/size]

Everything I said to Toba applies to your post.

What have u  said thus far?

At this point, Id like to say something before I leave. I have heard that some people just pick flaws in peoples arguments without adding anything constructive. I have been accused of that personally and this is always my response. I like to learn because I dont know everything. If you state a case, I may not be able to counter you with facts, neither will I make them up on my own. If however you make an unsound argument, you cannot force me to take your conclusion, even if I have no facts to counter you as yet (and I will not make any up as mentioned earlier).
Its obvious u dont want to learn cos   u believe  u know too much already. I have told u to do something simple since, u havent done it. Pls read up the links from Enigma or  go ask Google for what is meant by evangelical atheism

The fact that Im not going to tell you what kind of atheist (a rubbish classification in my opinion) I belong to, does not stop me from pointing out to you the absurdity inherent.
Thats exactly what i have done to your post. I have being able to educate about the different categories of atheism which u  have failed to grab. Its pathetic.

Im still available so if  u need more, consult me cheesy cheesy wink wink smiley smiley smiley
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 5:37pm On Sep 23, 2011
Enigma:

I completely stand by that post and my other posts on this thread: the evangelical atheists are doing exactly the same things that they accuse "religionists" of and are now themselves also practising a religionsmiley

Let him keep pretending as if some atheists arent  guilty
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by unphilaz(m): 8:10pm On Sep 23, 2011
nice contribution from both sides.
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by Nobody: 9:55pm On Sep 23, 2011
see them in action
Re: I Heard There Are Different Kinds Of Atheism/atheist, Which One Do U Fall Under? by jayriginal: 10:17pm On Sep 23, 2011
@Toba, try not to hurt yourself. I wouldnt have responded but for the sheer length of your post. My teachers used to say "just write, at least even if you write rubbish, we will give you one mark for your biro". I know its not going to do any good, but I'll just try and respond.
really? this is pathetic after reading your post, i found more grounds to still question your logic cos your attempt at shifting the goal post isnt good enough sir and haven't helped push your  matter very well thus far.
No need to engage you on this.
this is still a pathetic attempt cos your biased view shouldn't be used as a basis for generalization. Once again i would still give u the same response. Kindly educate your self well with what the term evangelical atheism means. This subject have long been trashed out on NL and should in case u aren't satisfied with what has been said here, don't be lazy, do some research i wouldn't have time to spoon feed u for too long
What pathetic view ? What spoon feeding. At least spoon feed me once before you say you wont have time for it for too long. I repeat, there is nothing like evangelical athiesm. If I told you there was a true christian that accepted that Mohammed (pbuh) was the comforter Jesus spoke about, would you agree ? There is literature documenting that fact. Does it make it true to you ?
I will still give u the same response. Dont generalize. the definition of belief i gave applies to atheist. It might be different whats being believed in but yet it still applies. Many atheist are so much convinced that they arent even ashamed to go public. U may still look up for the meaning of belief from other mediums to see how atheism fits in. Dont return here to tell me atheism isnt a belief without looking well into the definition of belief
In your mind, a lack of belief is no different from a belief. No wahala.
Let me say to you that this thread is not particularly directed to an individual but to a group of which u may belong to. really i wouldnt have bothered if  u never made an attempt at shifting the goal post of the subject of this discourse to review some of your post to see your orientation.
A second reference to shifting the goal posts. Now Sir, let me classify christians on my personal experience (which may attract attention and get its own standard definition later on). In my classification (and possibly a lot of atheists), there are two types of christians.
1) The genuinely confused
2) The hypocrites.
Now Toba, under which category do you fall. Answer me this if you are a man.

Now this is really pathetic. your contradiction knows no bound. U have generalized that atheism isnt a belief and know u want me to believe  that other atheists may have divergent view about the subject. Where did u leave the characters in bold before making a  pathetic attempt at defending atheism? SMDH
What contradiction? There is only one if you hold the stubborn opinion that atheism is a religion. If you are determined against all reason to hold so, then there is little I can do. I can only repeat what I said earlier; atheism is not a belief. You can actually find two atheists having different views. Their converging point would be that there is no God.
I'll try and clarify a bit. I'm never going to say for certain that there is no God. Until I have proof, I wont say so. The reason for this is that Im not from a science background. I cannot directly determine for myself if what Darwin, Dawkins et al say is true. My atheism journey started before I entered University and continued. I didnt need science to tell me there was no God. Science says "A" today and "B" tomorrow because they are forever questioning their theories and establishing new truths. I look to science to provide me with plausible answers. I can rely on those answers because of the peer review system. I dont need to test these things myself. I suspect atheists who declare with certainty that there is no God are of the scientific calling and they have tested these things for themselves.
Yet again, the one thing I will say with great certainty is that your God of the bible is a non entity.
May be if u had kept yours to yourself, we could have been saved this part. I really do not care about anything. I just love fair play. If atheist accuse the theist of something, have they checked thoroughly if they arent guilty of same? Remember u started this with your long tale. Its only fair for me to respond in kind manner Smiley sir check your logic
Thats like you assaulting me and when I fight back, you accuse me of starting it. Its possible that you never antagonised an atheist (I doubt that) but you belong to a body which does and you cannot escape liability.
On a similar note, most of the christians I have met have nothing but contempt for the atheist. If I said I was muslim, the more tolerant of them would be like "OK. At least you believe in something". Some christians even tell me that even if I dont believe in their God, I should at least believe in something. Why is it so hard to comprehend a human without belief in a deity ?

No it does.  U only need to read others' post with an open mind and stop being biased. I told u the definition says we find them on the internet. Again are we not using the internet as a discussion platform?
Do I really need to refute this silly assertion. I want to spare you the embarrassment.
Thats one of the issues i may have with . have  u bothered an attempt at reading what  evangelical atheism is all about?  U cant sit comfortably behind a system and say what u have little knowledge about, having the opportunity to arm your self with what it entails. Before  u make claims kindly read the definition or meaning once again. pathetic

*Yawn*. I believe Ive addressed this before.
Na and how do u know this about atheist? do u know that we also have different kinds of atheists/atheism? Which one of this kinds have no belief?
Dont hurt yourself Sir. Who gave atheists different classifications ? Is it in your bible ? For the 500th time, an atheist is an atheist. An atheist is one who has no belief in a supernatural deity. When it comes to Ogun, Sango, Allah, Buddha etc, you are an atheist too. Under which of your misguided categories do you fall ?
I must lol here. I just discovered that the letter 'u' on my keyboard is failing. hence the letter missing is u. i would get it checked after this post
Thank "God" your "U" is now working. It hasnt made much of a difference though.

1)Naaa. U really have to pity your self here cos most of atheist get agitated over frivolous matters during online discussion and hence result to insult. your pathetic response is amusing.
2) I havent insulted u thus far even though u have used poor logic in most part of this discourse. It may also be good for u to know that same thing  U have said in this paragraph also applies to u and other atheist.  
3) U are trying to make us believe in what u believe in, its only fair that u get same response on what u are giving out.

4) Its the atheist here that get fed in time hence change the goal post and turn to insult others. U have attempted that on this thread. Trust me, u give it to me, i give it to u back. Im ready for it.

1) I agree, some atheist on this forum (not all) dish out insults. Sometimes they fight back when they have been insulted and sometimes they dish it out without provocation. I am not for the latter, but you never know what these people have suffered in the hands of christians and theists.
2) No Sir, you didnt insult me. You only called me lazy and made references to my profession when you do not know how I came up.
3) Nobody is trying to make you believe in anything. Trust me, if you ever become an atheist, it will come from you. If I had conclusive proof that God doesnt exist, you still wouldnt believe. An atheist doesnt believe in anything, so what is he trying to make you believe ? Speaking for myself, I never argue with the idea of getting someone to stop believing. If you want to take 10 percent of your hard earned money and throw it at a charlatan (who is most likely an atheist himself) whats my business? All I ask is for peace and quiet. Let me be without religion. I dont need it.
4) I didnt insult you. Maybe my reference to your poor logic ruffled your feathers but hey, it is what it is.
Muhehehehehe. So sir what is the logic u have been passing so far? Arent we chatting in English? Havent i told  to go check for meaning of words before u apply them on this thread? what else are  u talking about here? at a point, u  would say people have different thinking at another u would want to speak for all atheist. this is poor logic mr man if u dont know
I said a true atheist. I dont presume to speak for all atheists. Its my opinion in anycase. Im sure you wont own up to every act committed by christians. If you will, I'm sure the atrocities of Reverend Dr James is enough to debunk your faith. However if I attempted to put you in the same category as the Reverend Dr James, you would probably make an effort to distinguish yourself
Thats why i said u still need to do more in terms of intensifying your effort. We have evangelical atheist, kindly learn about them and convey your message to them via the same internet u are using in responding to me. ok? U must discover that we have fanatics among atheist as well.
Not bothering with that. Too base.
I would still ask u, what are the logic u have demonstrated on this thread? U are attempting to shift the goal post again. U brought in the issue of God here and its only fair to give  a response. I havent started this thread to discuss god or God. your poor logic has drifted us into doing this. Its also very pathetic that u  kept on calling this or discussion a war. War for what exactly? I really dont care if anyone believes or do not believe in god. if truly there's a God, we shall all know one day. The way u are going about this is just too poor. Let me tell u this isnt a war. Pls change your poor logic sir
Poor logic, poor logic, shifting the goal post. It would appear I touched a nerve somewhere. The basic point of my post was to address/correct certain inconsistencies. The most outstanding were
a) Atheism is not a belief system and
b) There is no such thing as an evangelical atheist.
And as for the "war" thing, its metaphorical. I dont hate christians or people who believe in a God of some sorts. I dont think most hate me either. They mostly pity me or feel superior to me.

Naaaa. This is really really pathetic. What brought about this trash? Did i start this thread to preach about God? Have u forgotten that the God subject was brought in by u? Too bad. Its just too obvious that most of u are just against the christian and the christian God with a stereotyped and biased opinion which has been preconceived in your minds. U bring this into a every discussion and make the christian look guilty at all times. This is very very bad. What sense have u made with your logic here?
You didnt preach about God. Not directly at least. However Id like to hear you explain or have a discussion about atheism without God coming into it. Nuff said.
Dont tell me that u deliberately posted trash on this thread to please some people. Is that the correct position?
No Sir. This is not a question you should ask.
And how do  u know it requires faith to accept that God did that?

As a christian, you are adept at believing the unbelievable. This is a small thing for you . Just have faith.
No Sir. What category ?
I have no issues with them really cos what i do, they supplement it by preparing tenancy and lease agreement for me. I have issues with comprehending how a barrister would be applying very poor logic in a discussion. U have shifted the goal post severally which is very pathetic
You must be into real estate then. It would be poor logic to you. That doesnt surprise me.

U see. i was talking about something else and u are referring to something else. U said theres nothing like evangelical atheism. I responded by saying  should back it up. See what in came p with? this is pathetic. This your God obsession is becoming embarrassing
No Sir, infact you said
This is why i frown at your laziness.  dont just make a claim without backing it p.
Because I had already decried the term evangelical atheist (in no uncertain terms), and I thought that the point had sunk in, I thought you were insinuating that those mythical beasts were not found in the bible. I still think that is the case (the opposite scenario is too severe for me to contemplate concerning a fellow human being). My post is still there. You may want to refer to it again.
Interestingly, you have nothing to say regarding the mythical beasts.

Whats the percentage of atheists in the world? I have a thread on that on this same NL. pls do your own research and if u cant, ask me for the link and i would gladly bring it up for u. Just before u do that, i can confidently tell u that the entire atheists on earth arent up to 25% of the worlds total population. This only confirms that those that doesnt believe in anything like God or a supreme being or spirit, etc belongs to the minority of which  u are one. pathetic

U need to do more evangelism to win souls. lo
I warned you not to hurt yourself Sir.
Truth is not measured in mass appeal. At the risk of galling you further, this is terrible. Are you insinuating that you are a christian because its one of the major religions ? Are you a catholic ? Are you afraid to be different. If you are in a group of 10 people and 9 say 1+1=4, would that make it true ?
I dont need to do any evangelism. What am I evangelising about? Im not concerned about any souls. If you eventually see the light, you will do it on your own.
25% is even a big number. I thought atheists were less than that. The number has no bearing on reality.
In your mind, its pathetic to belong to a minority. Have you ever heard of the word "sheeple" ?

It might not make too much sense continuing this discussion with u cos of your lazy attempt to learn.
Evidently you consider this a compliment not an insult
I have being able to educate about the different categories of atheism which u  have failed to grab. Its pathetic.

Im still available so if  u need more, consult me
*Yawn*

I completely stand by that post and my other posts on this thread: the evangelical atheists are doing exactly the same things that they accuse "religionists" of and are now themselves also practising a religion.
This is why I asked you for a definition of a religion. Are you afraid to define it because you know that the very definition will expose the inherent absurdity in the term "evangelical atheism"?

@Enigma, I was going to take out a separate post to respond to you but I dont think there is any need. It is silly to consider atheism a religion unless you are saying that tongue in cheek just to "find our mouth".
If you keep holding that opinion after clear explanations have been given to you, then we have nothing to contribute to knowledge on this subject.

@Toba once again, just so the point doesnt get lost. I want you to tell us on nairaland, what type of christian you are.
1) a hypocrite
2) a genuinely confused christian

Thanks in advance for identifying which category you fall under.

RCCG Holy Ghost Night: Your Experience / Who Is In The Best Position To Bless You; Your Parents Or Pastor / Is The Title General Overseer Scriptural?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 297