Stats: 3,193,954 members, 7,952,840 topics. Date: Thursday, 19 September 2024 at 05:07 AM

OBALORLA's Posts

Nairaland Forum / OBALORLA's Profile / OBALORLA's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 18 pages)

Travel / Re: A Trip With My Girlfriend To Obudu Cattle Ranch (pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 1:05pm On May 15, 2018
chukxie:
@ Op: Your writing skills are good. I love the way your play with words; and your use of humour made your article an interesting read. Do you make YouTube videos?

Thanks for the acknowledgement.
I actually just launched a YouTube channel.
Please subscribe here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqB4KydWO99qODVVKikRN6g
Travel / Re: A Trip With My Girlfriend To Obudu Cattle Ranch (pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 9:47pm On May 14, 2018
mhisbliss:
what's 042
Enugu

Travel / Re: A Trip With My Girlfriend To Obudu Cattle Ranch (pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 9:14am On May 14, 2018
hadjipapiey:
This trip seem indeed interesting...

I thought I was going to hear another Chioma kiss

M Coming.. wink

hahahahahha! cheesy

Travel / Re: A Trip With My Girlfriend To Obudu Cattle Ranch (pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 9:13am On May 14, 2018
biacan:
Did you propose to her at the cause of this trip
No i didn't. I just wanted us to go away from our homes.

Travel / Re: A Trip With My Girlfriend To Obudu Cattle Ranch (pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 8:52am On May 14, 2018
Lalasticlala, I think people will find this interesting.

Travel / A Trip With My Girlfriend To Obudu Cattle Ranch (pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 8:49am On May 14, 2018

After a terrible road trip on Friday, I remained indoor for most part of Saturday. I took breakfast but couldn’t remember what it tasted like. Chidinma dragged me out of bed after noon to brush my teeth and shower. Clad with just my boxers short, I collapsed face-down on the 50″ by 100″ foam she used as bed. It was obvious we weren’t traveling to Obudu cattle ranch again that day.

Suya Arcade
Towards evening, I felt a lot better and ready for the night stroll she had always longed for. the time was 5:14, the destination was Mary Slessor Avenue Bogoberi- home to Suya Arcade, a really popular spot where suya vendors (mostly northerners) jostled to get the attention of every potential customer. “oga come, I go sell am well for you.” Madam, my meat fresh well well.” For a moment, I felt what ladies go through when walking alone in a street filled with unserious boys.

We finally made our way to the third stall. Chidinma chose him.

This stainless plate was used in serving us some diced suya as sample.

Popularly dubbed the white queen of Calabar, Mary Mitchell Slessor is most famous for having stopped the common practice of infanticide of twins in Calabar.

We bought suya, went into a pub just opposite the arcade to have some drinks before buying two bowls of ice cream for the road from a cream store on the other side of the road before retiring back to Eburutu Army cantonment. Sleep came faster than I envisaged and I wasn’t angry she took me that early.

Calabar To Obudu Cattle Ranch
6am on Sunday was like every other day. Save for the aches I was still feeling from Friday’s trip everything was perfect. We had cleaned up and packed our things. Chidinma was also a minimalist so my bag was enough to take the things we’d need for a 2-day road trip to Obudu cattle ranch.

The streets of Calabar were as gentle and clean as ever. Even when cars honk, it was mild, so soothing that you’d wish they never stopped.

On getting to the motor park by 7am, there was no bus going straight to Obudu, so we agreed to join that which was going to Abuja (paying N1,000 each) so we could stop on transit at Abuochicie to join another to Obudu for N500 each.

Abuochicie: Look closely, this kind of bikes are the only ones used over here

“These journeys were not as easy as I’ve mentally calculated them.” I thought as I stole a fearful look at the digital clock on my phone’s screen. Four hours was what it took to get to Obudu from Calabar. If you think Obudu is the same as Obudu cattle ranch, you aren’t thinking right just like I wasn’t because on getting to Obudu, we were told we’d still need to take a shared cab to Utanga (for N500 each). This journey also took about an hour and half. We paid N250 each to a biker who took us to ‘bottom hill’ the popular name the locals call the main gate of the ranch.

The dusty road which leads to Obudu Town.

Climbing up
At the checkpoint, bikes and their riders clustered as though a ghastly accident just happened. we tore our way through, paying deaf ears to a number of them calling out to inform us they can take us up. “The cable cars nkor?” Chidinma asked a middle-aged man who I’m sure was in charge of the gates. “dem no dey work. Ranch people don strike.” He replied as though he’s just sipped a bitter medicine. His face was unwelcoming. A lady beckoned on us to come into a tiny room which served as the reception. It was where visitors were registered. We paid N200 each as entrance fees. I wondered what the management actually do with the data entered into this log book aside collecting money.

https://i2.wp.com/www.nomadicnegro.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/05/20180501_130043.jpg?resize=768%2C432
Bottom Hill

I was trying to sign in when a short man clad in padded suit walked in gently, tapped me and his carefully arranged teeth shone as our faces met. He introduced himself as John, a Driver guide. I wouldn’t have given him much attention but for his outspokenness.

Since the road which leads up the hill is somewhat dangerous, His job is to drive people up the hills while he tells them stories about the ranch.

I think I had my first real adrenaline rush here. Thousands of uncoordinated thoughts paced in my head. The same way it did when I went alone to explore Owu Fall in Kwara state only that this time, I managed it poorly. My heart stopped pumping blood. I initially thought it was in solidarity with the striking staff of the Ranch. My tongue dried but water wasn’t what I wanted. Chidinma looked back at me at intervals. The look she wore needed an assurance from me that all this wasn’t a dream.

As we ascended, the temperature moved steadily towards zero, I the breeze coiled up with the cold tearing through my pores. My bones became so cold. Chidinma grabbed my now trembling knee caps with both of her hands, as though they had threatened to fall off. I barely felt I had joints. Fog rushed recklessly into my mouth. When I tried looking down to see how high we’ve climbed, my eyes caught a view of the mountains, scattered in their numbers, reminding me of the aged market women who sold garri on the busy streets of Bodija market in Ibadan.

At every major turn, my mind skipped. Chidinma would clinch tighter, pressing her nails against my skin. I could have protested but it gave me joy. John tried telling us stuffs about the famous resort but the wind was bent on thwarting his efforts.

We Finally Made It To The Top!
At this point I wished the journey wouldn’t end as my legs still seemed on motion even though both were firm on the ground. Our first stop was a GTB cash point, the only one on the ranch. I mentally calculated how much the bank would be making from daily transactions and what’d happen should the machine be temporarily unable to dispense cash. The screeching of the machine jolted me from my revere. It wasn’t my business anyways, I shrugged as I dragged my money forcefully from the machine’s teeth. I flashed back quickly to how I started saving for this trip on Cowrywise. John kicked his bike to life and he sped through the sloppy road leading to the residential parts of the ranch. The time was many minutes past 5pm.

The Ranch
The ranch itself is a small community of people whose primary occupation was subsistence farming. their proceeds were mostly sold to visitors on the ranch. Those who weren’t farming either sold foods or engage in the business of hospitality which was pretty huge there. The is a primary school which served the whole community, a redeemed church, a police station and also a honey factory.

Though small, its relevance is immeasurable.

After giving us the price ranges of all accommodation options, we decided we’d be going for the cheapest which costs N12,000/night. John promised to come back the next day to give us a tour of the most important places on the ranch, but he still has a final mission before calling it a day with us. He needed to take us to buy food and shop for a few items for the night.

The window you see on the left is that of our room.

We were there in no time. we bought one plate each of FuFu and Eba with Oha and Egusi respectively. John rode us back home like a donkey on drugs. I tipped him N1,000 for his troubles with a promise to give him more should he show up the next day as promised. I could easily tell that he was happy. “I will come by 7:00 sharp tomorrow!” he blurted as he disappeared into the intense fog.

WE SETTLED INTO OUR ROOM. IT HAD NO FAN NOR AC BUT WE WERE REALLY HAPPY IT DIDN’T.

It was so cold that on getting to the bathroom, it took a lot of self convincing before agreeing to pour water on my skin. I couldn’t really tell which it was between the fufu and stress of the trip. All I knew was that sleep overpowered me yet again.

Monday Morning Came, And It Did Fast!
John’s knock jolted us out of bed at exactly 7am. He must have been there many minutes before the knock. “Please give us 15 minutes ooo!” Chidinma blurted as she dashed into the bathroom. I opened the window to be sure it was morning, I saw nothing. Only fog.

We were ready 20 minutes later and with a loosed smile, John dictated our itinerary. I’m sure his smile is a built-in feature. He rode like he smiled, effortlessly, making us disappear into the clouds till we saw nothing behind us.

First point of call
African hut

These huts have been specially built (about 20 of them) to give you a feel of a rural setting though with modern interior. Perfect for couples due to its size and look. It costs N28,500 to sleep in any of them per night.

Mountain villa

More expensive than the African hut at N75,000 per night. these villas are awesome for group of friends or a small family who’d like to have a nice timeout. Each one has 3 rooms, kitchen, toilet and a pent house.

Presidential villa

Heavily guarded. A night goes for as much as N250,000

Beachive nature reserve canopy
Then we left the residential space for the jungle. John led the team, moving like he’s got no joints. His small frame found it easy among the dead sticks obstructing the path.

This canopy walk is 60m long and 25m high above ground level. Beachive nature reserve canopy

OBUDU CATTLE RANCH HOSTED THE 2ND EDITION OF GULDER ULTIMATE SEARCH, A POPULAR NIGERIAN REALITY TV ADVENTURE (MAY 14TH AND ENDS JUNE 4TH, 2005)

John shot this

On leaving the Beachive nature reserve canopy, John rode us further and even higher into the mountains. He wanted to show us the highest point on the ranch where he said we could see a waterfall and an aerial view of the snakelike road which led to the top of the ranch from the bottom. On getting to the cliff, the weather changed rapidly, as if trying to hide something from us, like a teenager who’s about being caught watching porn. The fog got thicker, we gave up shortly afterwards.

The waterfall was supposed to be pouring from the right, but look at how angry the fog is.

John smiled sheepishly as he directed us to take few steps leftward. Chidinma couldn’t hear him probably due to the strong wind (which took away speeches as soon as they were vomited) or carried away by the countless selfies she was taking. Her lips were red, not pink as they normally were. I felt like grabbing her and plant a kiss on them, I wanted to add moisture on them but I felt for John. He’s here with no one.

I was glad we rode on this road instead of using the cable cars. I couldn’t wait to ride down. I needed to savour it once more.

“Babe, we need to go now.” I said loudly as I made my way to the parked bike. John followed me briskly like a toddler going with his mother to the market for the first time. Chidinma didn’t bulge, she took even more pictures and we had no choice than to wait till she’s fine.

On getting to our cabin, we quickly stuffed our things into my brown backpack including the bottle of honey we had bought near the honey factory in the ranch.

My mind skipped anytime we rode past any oncoming vehicle or bike due to the narrowness of the road. I tried thinking about how difficult it’d be to find my body should the bike tilt off the road but Chidinma’s grip brought me out of my reverie. She searched my face as though I had hidden her lost usb cord under my eyelid. She wanted to know why I wore a wry smile. I planted a long kiss on her lips as the heavy breeze forced out a tear from her eyes. John was talking but none of us answered. He kept quiet shortly after, leaving the wind and sound from the bike to do the talking.

We Finally climbed down!

John rode out of the ranch adding more speed to the lonely road guided on both sides by mountains and forests. All covered in green. We made a 1800 turn to see the Scary looking cattle head hung at the centre of the gate. I wished we could stay for just another night. I regretted not saving more than I had done on Cowrywise . The bike propelled faster than it had been running, I was absent-minded, refusing to acknowledge the present. I placed my focus on what was ahead and all that had happened before climbing up the ranch. I avoided every temptation to give myself a spoiler of this amazing movie!

Tips On Touring Obudu Cattle Ranch

- Try not to go during a public holiday. Prices are unnecessarily high. The room we paid N12,000 for would have gone for N7,000 on a good day.
- Try as much as you can to come along with your girlfriend/wife/anyone you can hug tightly because it is severely cold up there.
- The best route to take if you are coming into Cross River by road is through Enugu. I advise you fly!
What to bring along
-Sweater
-Socks
-Camera
-Basic toiletries
-Cash (loads of it)

Have you ever been to Obudu cattle ranch? What was your experience like.

Have you never been there? Why haven’t you?
I document all my travel adventures on nomadicnegro.com

Source:http://www.nomadicnegro.com/a-trip-with-my-girlfriend-to-obudu-cattle-ranch/

83 Likes 10 Shares

Webmasters / Re: How My 5months Old Blog Got Approved By Ad Sense With Just 12 Posts. by OBALORLA(m): 8:21am On Apr 11, 2018
1kingwriter:
OP a greater site you own here.
Thank you!
Travel / Re: 7 Things I Learned Traveling Round South-west Nigeria by OBALORLA(m): 1:02am On Mar 21, 2018
revontuli:

How many hours did it take to hike to the suspended lake?
Do they speak only Yoruba?

It too k me about an hour and half due to the stops I had to make at intervals.
Travel / Re: 7 Things I Learned Traveling Round South-west Nigeria by OBALORLA(m): 2:55pm On Mar 19, 2018
ogundeleai:
You did not mention peacefulness and best form of accommodation in comparison with any region

It's actually relative though. Ever heard about the proverbial son who hasn't been to his friend's father's farmland?
Travel / Re: 7 Things I Learned Traveling Round South-west Nigeria by OBALORLA(m): 1:56pm On Mar 19, 2018
placeofallure:
Obalorla, nice work! However, you didn't include my state, Kogi. I know many people like to see us as North Central but my part of Kogi speaks the Yoruba language and I will better love to identify with South West than the North. You should let your tourism activities take you to Kogi one of these days, you'll love it!

Awwn. i sure will do a stopover in Kogi on one of my subsequent trips this year.
Travel / Re: 7 Things I Learned Traveling Round South-west Nigeria by OBALORLA(m): 1:16pm On Mar 19, 2018
PoisonedOne:
I've always wished to visit Ekiti state and take a one week vacation there, my friend served there and told me how life is cheap, easy and cool there and that they've tomotaoes and some other fresh fruits there. Lagos has turned me to something else. I need a cool place to unwind.

You won't regret it bro. Especially when you do a quick stop at Ondo.

Travel / Re: 7 Things I Learned Traveling Round South-west Nigeria by OBALORLA(m): 12:40pm On Mar 19, 2018
zillonnair:
OP nice work, but you really need to leave your comfort zone and see the East and the North. The North will wow you!

Start with Obudu Mountain, Mambilla - Gashaka Gumti, Kajuru Castle in Kaduna, Tinapa, Ogbunike Cave, Visit Enugu and you will know that Nigeria is truly blessed with abundant natural resources and tourist destinations.

Obudu and Mambilla is a must go, if you love hiking.

Travel / Re: 7 Things I Learned Traveling Round South-west Nigeria by OBALORLA(m): 12:14pm On Mar 19, 2018
Chukazu:
Nice Job!

But not comprehensive enough, are you having a second part to this?

Because nothing was really said about different lifestyles and cultures

Nothing about their women in case someone wants to marry from there cool

What is bride price ?

It's actually intended to be a summary as I usually put down every of my trip on my blog (www.nomadicnegro.com)
Travel / Re: 7 Things I Learned Traveling Round South-west Nigeria by OBALORLA(m): 11:35am On Mar 19, 2018
hermosa7:
What's the colour code for cabs in Osun State?
Thanks for that!
Cabs aren't popular in Osun state as a major means of transportation. Instead, mini buses are used and they have no uniform colour.
Travel / Re: 7 Things I Learned Traveling Round South-west Nigeria by OBALORLA(m): 11:33am On Mar 19, 2018
pinnket:

I give it to Kwara state... The life in Ilorin is so cool and cheap... Transportation is as cheap as #50 and a very friendly environment too... The girls in Tanke Road are very good too (don't ask how I got to know)... I didn't regret staying there.!

OP, You forgot to add that they are good skull harvesters...!!

I enjoyed my stay in Kwara as well. I however beg to disagree with your stance on westerners being skull harvesters. Even though undeniable is the fact that ritualists exist. Please don't be ignorant by acting according to hear-says.

Travel / Re: 7 Things I Learned Traveling Round South-west Nigeria by OBALORLA(m): 11:27am On Mar 19, 2018
debolayinka:
When it comes to tourist sites, South West leads.
Not in the real sense of it. Every region in Nigeria is blessed somewhat equally in terms of tourism potentials.
Travel / Re: 7 Things I Learned Traveling Round South-west Nigeria by OBALORLA(m): 11:14am On Mar 19, 2018
ModsWillKillNL:
Good
@Obalorla
Some places in Ondo state are about 8 to 9 hours away from Lagos.
Yes, you are very correct. What I was however referring to was the average time it takes to travel from Lagos to any south-west state.
Ogun state for instance is about 45minutes to an hour while the likes of Kwara takes as much as 5 hours.
Travel / Re: 7 Things I Learned Traveling Round South-west Nigeria by OBALORLA(m): 6:39am On Mar 19, 2018
post=65959382:
VERY INTERESTING AND EDUCATIVE THREAD!

Travel / 7 Things I Learned Traveling Round South-west Nigeria by OBALORLA(m): 5:59am On Mar 19, 2018

In a journey which started in 2017, when i started my travel expedition of the world starting out with south-west Nigeria, I have come to learn a lot traveling round these states by the interaction and subliminal immersion into their cultures and norms.

All these are in a bid to reveal the tourism potentials of the world to both locals and strangers in the most interesting way.

Here are the things I’ve learned from my travels around South west Nigeria and would want you to go through them to see if there’s any you can relate to.

(1) Components of the South Western region

In the real sense of it, 6 states basically make up the south-western Nigeria and they include: Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ekiti and Ondo, but for the sake of this post, I’d like to add Kwara to the list for reasons best known to me.

(2) The People

The friends I made when I hiked up the mountains of Ado awaye

In case you think it’s a fluke, there are people here on earth who are ready to grill their eyes for you for dinner if that’s what you crave as a stranger. Guess what, a very tiny portion of these people reside in South west Nigeria. From the locals who took their time in showing me directions to the traders who’d voluntarily add extra to the things I buy, down to the hosts who joyously accommodate me and show me round town when I’m down on cash, I say a big thank you.

(3) Cab colours
Every state has a unique colour code for taxis.

Lagos

yellow and black

This was before the advent of ride hailing services like Uber and Taxify and the introduction of varying colours of taxis by the Lagos state government.

Oyo

Dark brown and cream

This used to be white and green until few years ago.

Ekiti

Green with 2 yellow stripes from bonnet to trunk.

Ondo

Blue on both sides with yellow from the bonnet to boot.

Kwara

Kwara state’s taxis have the highest number of colour combination: red, green, yellow and black.

Ogun

Green and two yellow stripes on each side.

(4) Traveling isn’t as Expensive as we think it is
Yeah, take that from me. It actually costs less than you think. On the average, it costs N2,000 to travel by bus from one state to another within south-western Nigeria. N7,000 to any Eastern and Northern state.
It costs on the average, N4,000 to sleep in a decent hotel and N0 if you have a host. Street food ranges from N20-N100. Accessing any tourist attraction on the average is N500 anywhere within Nigeria.

(5) Roads

The road which leads to Ikogosi warm and cold spring, Ekiti.

I Haven’t really traveled to other regions of the country but with what I’ve experienced so far, It’d be safe to say the road network is somewhat fair in the south-west region. And were I to choose the states with the best road condition, Osun will have to take my vote then Ekiti.

(6) Best tourist sites
It has to be firstly cleared that all the tourist destinations in south-west Nigeria have the potentials to be great if the government and citizens do their bits in improving the facilities and frequenting the sites respectively.

Idanre hills- 3,000 feet above sea level.

The destinations I’ve enlisted below are solely based on how well maintained and awesome they are. In no particular order, I present to you:

- Olumo rock
- Erin Ijesha
- Idanre Hills
- Badagry

(7) Travel time
It takes approximately 4 hours to travel from Lagos to any south-western state. Ogun is the closest to Lagos while Kwara is the farthest.

Have you any contributions? Drop it in the comment section.

Source: http://www.nomadicnegro.com/south-west-nigeria/

Lalasticlala help tame this snake

25 Likes 2 Shares

Career / Five Tips On Getting Paid What You Are Truly Worth by OBALORLA(m): 9:53am On Mar 08, 2018
One of the most interesting sessions at the masterclass organized by Printivo during the just-concluded Social Media Week was Ayomidotun freeborn’s, where he dwelt specifically on how creatives wouldn’t just make money but make that which is commensurate with their true worth.

Ayomidotun (@IamAyomiDotun )

Below are five nuggets from his talk on his session tagged ‘Design & Creativity to make money’.

1. Put yourself out there
Is there any skill you possess and would like to make money from? Do all you can to let people know about you. This can be achieved by meeting new people (especially during networking events) and also harnessing the powers of social media. Take time to create a decent social media profile where you can put your craft in display or talk about it. Start a blog where you can document your idea about your craft. This will further project you as an organized business person.

2. Don’t price yourself low
No matter what, do all you can to ask for the amount you are convinced is commensurate with the amount of Labour you’d be inputting. Never under-price yourself by trying not to lose a customer as is the case with many starters. To make things worse, there are instances where a potential customer will pick someone more expensive if your price is ‘relatively‘ low.

3. It’s not (too) bad to work for free at the beginning
Starting out your business, ‘strategically’ doing a few things for free wouldn’t be a bad move as this will further reinforce your move towards putting yourself out there as explained in point 1 above. These free gigs/services will help you build a portfolio which can be used in convincing future clients about your potentials.

4. Invest in yourself
Never get satisfied with your mental and material possessions. Take courses, buy better tools and equipment, pay to attend conferences, spare some time for meetups and boot-camps. All these will in the long run round up to increase your value as a person.

5. Don’t Be Scared To Drop Friends/Customers
Yes. Especially the Low paying customers and parasitic friends. Concerning the customers, surrounding yourself with low paying ones for too long will continually suffocate you, denying you the golden opportunity of advancing farther irrespective of your skill set. On the other hand, your group of friends should be able to add something tangible to your life including introducing you to your desired clients. If your relationship isn’t about how you both can help one another, there’s no reason for keeping them for too long.

6. What do You think should be added?

Source: https://printivo.com/blog/five-tips-on-getting-paid-what-you-are-truly-worth/
Travel / Re: Before You Die, Please Travel To Idanre Hills (pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 4:56pm On Feb 28, 2018
cassidy1996:
nice! but you don finish my Mb

Ah!
My sincere apologies.
Travel / Re: Before You Die, Please Travel To Idanre Hills (pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 8:53am On Feb 28, 2018
iAudio:
I was there during my service year. Beautiful scenery!

Idanre: a very cool town.

I cant really express how awed I was on getting to the top. Beautiful place.
Travel / Re: Before You Die, Please Travel To Idanre Hills (pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 8:08am On Feb 28, 2018
chukslawrence:
Nice one, my man

Thanks chukslawrence.
Travel / Re: Before You Die, Please Travel To Idanre Hills (pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 8:07am On Feb 28, 2018
nelem:
Nice one bro. missed an opportunity to visit idanre hills while in ekiti. am sure you also saw the nice hills in ikere en-route akure. someday sometime idanre will call again....

Thanks fam.
Please do so soon.
Travel / Before You Die, Please Travel To Idanre Hills (pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 7:28am On Feb 28, 2018

The tiring spell at Arinta waterfall and Ikogosi, combined with the brutal journey from Lagos the previous day conspired to create in me an illusion that waking up might be impossible. I snoozed my phone’s alarm multiple times. Everything seemed to be against me. The cold was fierce, the hotel rooms had no heater, my muscles ached like I had gone to the gym for the first time.

I woke up few minutes to 8am as against the targeted 7am. I pitied Damola on seeing him take cover under his pillow.

The cold was crazy

I woke him up, we discussed the day’s itinerary, packed our bags and checked out. I had earlier placed a call through to David so he could come pick us up, but he seemed to be having a good time with his wife because I could hear a female mumbling at the background so I let him be. “A widower will find it difficult surviving in places like this.” I grinned as I stuffed my things into my backpack.

Re-accessing my footwear to be sure it was up to the day’s task.

By 8:20am we were already on a bike which would take us to the junction where cabs going directly to Ado Ekiti were loading. I could tell my blood was freezing but we were already halfway into the journey. I asked Damola if this was how it’s been all year and he nodded in affirmative as colder breeze rushed into my hairy nostrils.

In a journey which took like forever, we arrived at the junction and just like we were being waited for, we jumped into the rickety cab, dumping our bags in the trunk. The bike man rode away after being compensated with N100.

The journey to Ado took approximately 1 hour and exactly N300 per person.

One last shot at Ado Ekiti

It was difficult but I had to say goodbye to Damola as I joined a space bus to Akure through Ikere Ekiti. The journey made me part with another N800 which I didn’t regret.

Akure unlike Ado Ekiti was warm and less lively when I got there by 10:30am. I missed Damola for most part of the journey but I compensated myself with more pages of ‘outliers’.

The journey gradually became more difficult as I had to do more talking to strangers, asking for directions. The thing with solo trips is that more often, your life depended more on God (if you believe one exists) and the locals (whether or not you like them), hence the need for your personal relationship tools such as smiling and greeting.

Following tons of advice from locals, I motioned a bike to take me straight to Idanre Garage where I was told cabs taking travelers to Idanre hills are stationed. I was the 2nd passenger aboard the 6-sitter cab which was originally designed by Toyota to carry just 4 people, but who was I to rebel against a lifelong tradition? Even if I would, it would be unwise to try that several kilometers away from home.

Two more passengers joined before I jumped off the cab, reported myself to the driver and paid my fare (N400 ). I was back 10 minutes later with two bottles of water under each armpit and a black nylon bag containing diced roasted yams.

Whatever the farmers in Ondo use in growing their yams… I regretted buying just 2 slices.

A typical street in Idanre town

Idanre Hills
Prior to this trip, Badagry and Olumo rock have won my heart in terms of organization and attitude towards visitors. On sighting me at the gate, the 5 of them parted their lips, letting out different shades of smile. It was obvious they were all happy as I immediately felt welcomed. The breeze escaping through the woods continuously attacked my face. I didn’t bother restraining them.

I greeted and they returned the gesture before introducing themselves on after the other. I felt more pleased as I was introduced to my tour guide Mr Paul Bamigbaiye who led me to a large beautifully designed space which served as the reception where I made payment after being given the breakdown. It costs #1,000 for an adult and #500 for children. this is excluding the tour guide’s fee which has to be negotiated.

This is the reception. Who else can see my bottles of water right beside Mr Paul? How about the water dispenser?

Leaving my bag behind, I held closely my bottles of water with my camera strapped round my neck while I listened to the briefing of our proposed journey by Mr paul.

FACT: IDANRE HILLS WAS ADDED TO THE UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE TENTATIVE LIST ON OCTOBER 8, 2007 IN THE CULTURAL CATEGORY.

The Briefing
Idanre is classified into 2 (the ancient one atop the hills and the modern one down the hill).

The people of Idanre spent 800 years dwelling on the hills before descending it in 1928 (4 years after deliberating on it) due to the lack of access to civilization. They left behind all their notable monuments such as:

– the first primary school,

– the prison yard,

– the court of justice,

– marketplace,

– mausoleum,

– the ancient palace et al.

My heart skipped on hearing that we have approximately 700 steps to climb before getting to the summit (but with 5 resting points). That’s crazily more than that of Olumo and Ado Awaye. But hey, “I’m up to the task” I said to myself, beaming a soft smile as Mr Paul summoned me to follow him.

FACT2:

IDANRE HILLS (914 METERS) WILL STILL BE TALLER THAN OLUMO ROCK (137 METERS) AND ZUMA ROCK (725 METERS) IF PUT TOGETHER.

After taking about 20 steps, he turned to give me a warning. He had stopped smiling. “Please Tunde, try as much as you can not to curse anyone or think ill about anybody all through our journey as this is the only forbidden act here. Instead, you should pray for those who have made you happy.”

My first step of several hundreds

I didn’t bother asking why because I’m more than eager to climb as I did a quick scan on my mind to see if anyone warranted a curse from me. No one, save for the Nigerian government who have done nothing really impressing to harness the potentials of tourism in the country. But since they on a daily basis get cursed by other citizens, I tuned down my rage, switched to my prayer mood saying stronger prayers for Mr Tayo Sonuga, the Managing Director of Haven Homes who funded my trip.

Only for the brave

Before long, we were at the first resting point. Mr Paul said we had taken 75 steps. Though I felt we had taken fewer so I decided it wasn’t time to rest. I gulped a mouthful from my bottle, offered Mr Paul some but he declined. We continued with 150 more steps to reach the 2nd resting point and another 137 to get to the 3rd. I decided to rest, gulped even some more fluid and took some more pictures.

The first resting point

The second

Third

All along I engaged Mr Paul, trying to know why the Idanre hills is in such a dilapidated state. Starting with a deep breadth, He responded by explaining how the previous government had decided to do a face-lift for the resort by inviting an engineer who started out with the beautification but couldn’t finish due to his replacement by the new government. I probed further by asking if tour guiding is what he does full-time, he answered yes but lamented about its numerous inadequacies. He currently doesn’t get any salary except commissions based on how many trips up the hills he’s able to complete periodically. I imagined how crazy survival will be for him considering the poor attitude of Nigerians to tourism. No thanks to the bad roads and very high cost of living. I was tempted again to say few curse words but refrained on remembering the warning I got downstairs.

A poll I ran on what influences why Nigerians don’t want to travel within Nigeria

Fourth

Fifth

We soon got to the topmost part of the hills after taking 320 more steps. My legs had started to ache but the views into the new Idanre town was mind-blowing as we were greeted on the left by dilapidated chalets which must have been deserted for a long period of time.

They’ve been built specifically for tourists who’d like to pass the night atop the hills.

I wept.

In saner climes, revenues from these chalets would have been put to more efficient use. But again I was at the tip of the peak. I don’t want to risk anything so I suppressed my rage. No curses.

3,000 feet above sea level. can you beat that?

Ever done this before?

After more than 50 pictures and several video recordings, we left to explore other parts of the ancient town.

The sun seemed to be mating with the trees as they combined to bless us with an amazing kind of breeze as I gulped more liquid from my bottle.

This way to the Jungle

Thunder river

We passed by the thunder river where Mr Paul stopped to tell me the story behind its name.

According to him, there was an unusual drought in Idanre town during the war against the people of Oyo who were with just one goal at the time- take over as many territories as possible. As the condition grew worse without rain, the priests in conjunction with all medicine men in the land converged at that spot to say some prayers. During the course of their prayers, thunder struck and it rained heavily that night so much that it flowed continuously to form the river.

“This Thunder river also contains some magical powers such that whenever the warriors were going to war, they have to drink from it and also confess their satisfaction, else, they will only go and not return from the battle.

The first school in Idanre

Built by the colonialists in 1896.

We soon got to Odeoja, (the market square) passing through a path called Ese Ogbeji, meaning walking side-by-side, two people cannot pass through at the same time due to its narrowness. The deep valleys on both sides made it more frightening.

During wars, this spot served as the checkpoint where all unauthorized beings were fed to the valleys.

Horrible thoughts paced round my heart as I requested that we continued into the forest.

We soon stumbled into an ‘agbalumo‘ farm where a number of them were lying helplessly on the withered leafs on the floor. We helped them by stuffing them into Mr Paul’s pocket till there was no more space.

It is known by various names but the famous is Agbalumo among the Yoruba people and Udara among the Igbos. It is known among the English man as African Star Apple and its scientific name is Chrysophyllum africanum or Chrysophyllum albidum

Venturing further into the forest, we saw about 6 bees having a field day pursuing one another. I guessed their queen must have gone for a meeting or something more important which must have given them such opportunity. I reached for a ripe cashew hanging on the tree and devoured it on the spot. You know that garden of Eden feeling?

Next was the Court of justice which was directly facing the prison.

High Court

This is the spot where execution by hanging takes place.

The marketplace and the mausoleum where kings are buried. 25 kings have already been buried in this building. The 26th king who is currently 91 years old will after his death be buried alongside his predecessors here.

Intrigued by the smallness of the mausoleum, I asked how 25 kings fitted well inside it. Mr Paul smiled before explaining that there are numerous ways of going about the burial in Yoruba Land. One of such is by beheading and splitting other body parts of the king to all important parts of the land. The heads most of the times are kept in this mausoleum. I made sense out of this narrative.

The Marriage Decider

This stone (located right in front of Chief Ojomu’s house) served as the true test of marriage capability in the ancient Idanre. A man will not be allowed to get married to his fiancée if he fails to lift this stone. Chief Ojomu is one of the highly placed chiefs in ancient Idanre.

Then The Wonderful Rock

I asked what makes it wonderful and he pointed to the small piece of rock preventing it from rolling over. it’s been like this for donkey years.

What if it decides not to be wonderful again and rolls over?

The Ancient Palace

The Ancient palace which also doubled as the conference center was fully guarded by warriors and slaves from several parts of Nigeria.

Me examining the tribal marks on the statue of a Nupe slave

It Was Time To Go
When Mr Paul announced that we had come to the end of our adventure, I was more than fulfilled as I happily descended the steps faster than I had ascended. I met other tourists who were just starting and like we normally do to ourselves, I encouraged them, assuring them of an adventurous climb, sharing some of my ‘agbalumo‘ with those who cared for some.

I LEFT IDANRE HILLS VERY HAPPY AND ACCOMPLISHED AT THE SAME TIME FOR I HAD SUCCESSFULLY VISITED EVERY IMPORTANT DESTINATIONS IN SOUTHWEST NIGERIA.

The sun soon unleashed its cruel side on me on venturing outside the gates of the resort. I was down on cash so I stopped at a bank adjacent the monument to stuff my pockets with more cash. My mind continued to say more prayers for Mr Tayo Sonuga as the machine screeched incoherently to vomit a stack of newly minted notes.

I joined a cab on transit to Akure on the same street. This was few minutes past 2pm and arrived Akure 30 minutes later, parting with N300.

A Night well spent In Igbokoda
A bike was all I needed to get to Ondo Garage where vehicles taking passengers to Okitipupa, from whence I’d join another cab to Igbokoda where I planned spending the night. I paid another N1,700 for the trip.

We all found ourselves on the busy streets of Okitipupa by 5:30pm. An old blue cab in its obsolescence was on standby to convey passengers to Igbokoda and since 5 of us from the previous bus were heading to Igbokoda, the ignition (consisting of two wires) was tweaked to declare the commencement of our journey.

On alighting, I flagged down a bike which took me straight to Deep sea Hotel, where according to Wole is one of the best in town.

Wole is a great supporter of my blog who is also an indigene of Igbokoda, so I believed him.

Got to deep sea hotel around 6:40pm, demanded for a room and was told it costs N7,000 to pass the night, but on looking at the surrounding, I could tell that the patronage was somewhat low so I haggled the price till we settled for #5,000.

Deep sea Hotel

There was no power supply so I seized the moment to see more of the town by paying a biker #200 to take me on a round trip to which he agreed. I stopped by at a roadside in the heart of Igbokoda to buy bread with fried eggs. Stopped by another store to pick up 2 bottles of water and orange juice. I sighted a fish seller opposite the store and bought a full roasted fish for myself and my biker who rode like a cursed horse back to the hotel.

The generator set had been switched on on my return, and Just like a lady on makeup, the bulbs unveiled the true beauty of the edifice. I slept Like a baby. I needed to be refreshed for my trip back to Lagos. I took dinner while watching a movie on Startimes featuring Odunlade but sleep became jealous that the TV was getting my attention so it took me away.

Here are few tips on traveling to Idanre Hills
- Hold cash as there’s no POS there.
- Ensure you buy a proper hiking footwear.
- You need to negotiate your way all through.
- Take as much water as possible along.
- Go with someone who knows how to take good pictures.

I document all my travel adventures on nomadicnegro.com

Thank you!

Source: http://www.nomadicnegro.com/before-you-die-please-travel-to-idanre-hills/

Travel / Re: This Is Why I Think Ikogosi Warm & Cold Spring Is Over-hyped? (Pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 2:16am On Feb 26, 2018
Konquest:

^^^^^^
^^^^^^
Nice post with lucid pictures!
I love to travel for leisure and
business so I'll love to visit
Ikogosi before 2018 ends.

That thick pounded yam
and Orijin! grin

I heard that Ekiti people can
eat pounded yam 3 times
a day without side-effects
...Is it true?

I've been to Ikogosi twice
in the late 1990s/early 2000s... and
I must say that the pictures in this
post show a far better upgrade
of the chalets and the swimming
pool area. More can still be done
and former governor Kayode
Fayemi did a GREAT thing by
bringing the South African
tourism specialists to upgrade
Ikogosi to what it is and if he
had stayed on as a governor,
Ikogosi would have been better
managed since it was one of his
legacy projects!

All the best!

Insightful!
I actually think the current administration isn't doing enough.

Travel / Re: This Is Why I Think Ikogosi Warm & Cold Spring Is Over-hyped? (Pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 1:15pm On Feb 25, 2018
xlextj:
when next u plan to travel down to Ondo state , include Idanre hills in ur itenery , guy u gonna love it,
I went straight to Ondo Immediately I left Ekiti.
It's here: http://www.nomadicnegro.com/before-you-die-please-travel-to-idanre-hills/

Travel / Re: This Is Why I Think Ikogosi Warm & Cold Spring Is Over-hyped? (Pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 12:54pm On Feb 25, 2018
Steemitlicensed:
Good, write up OP. You should have earned a lot of SBDs on steemit with this.
Please enlighten me.
Travel / Re: This Is Why I Think Ikogosi Warm & Cold Spring Is Over-hyped? (Pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 12:50pm On Feb 25, 2018
bigtt76:
Nice one. Please your t-shirt.... Who made it for you? Would love to get some personalized printed tees.

All my branded shirts are made by

you can customize yours yourself here: https://printivo.com/category/custom-t-shirts
Travel / Re: This Is Why I Think Ikogosi Warm & Cold Spring Is Over-hyped? (Pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 12:46pm On Feb 25, 2018
suyamasta:
Good stuff here!
Nigerians not engaging in local tourism as expected has a whole lot to do with the Security situation as well as the economic situation, i hope things get better in the coming months, because it pains me deeply to see so much enjoyables wasting....
You've made some valid points here. We hope things get better.

Travel / Re: This Is Why I Think Ikogosi Warm & Cold Spring Is Over-hyped? (Pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 12:41pm On Feb 25, 2018
NEIGHBOUR:

You are indeed a good writer. I luv ur step by step analysis of your. tour

Thanks for the kind words.
Travel / Re: This Is Why I Think Ikogosi Warm & Cold Spring Is Over-hyped? (Pictures) by OBALORLA(m): 12:35pm On Feb 25, 2018
onyeogalu1:
NICE PICTURES U GOT THERE.
I was at Gurara waterfall two years ago and i was so disappointed with the way the place was being manage.
We need help as a nation

Gurara is on my list for the year.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 18 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 134