Stats: 3,326,062 members, 8,424,770 topics. Date: Thursday, 11 June 2026 at 03:26 PM

OEPHIUS's Posts

Nairaland ForumOEPHIUS's ProfileOEPHIUS's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 (of 72 pages)

PoliticsRe: Ekiti Workers Recieved Salary After10 Months by OEPHIUS(m): 11:22am On Nov 01, 2018
I heard

PoliticsRe: Nigerians React To News Of Atiku Having Meetings In Dubai by OEPHIUS(op): 10:57pm On Oct 31, 2018
More

PoliticsRe: Nigerians React To News Of Atiku Having Meetings In Dubai by OEPHIUS(op): 10:52pm On Oct 31, 2018
More reactioms

PoliticsNigerians React To News Of Atiku Having Meetings In Dubai by OEPHIUS(op): 10:51pm On Oct 31, 2018
Nigerians have reacted after a former minister of aviation, Osita Chidoka announced that former Vice President and PDP's presidential candidate in the 2019 election was holding meetings with speakers of state houses of assemblies

He said

Atiku Abubakar meeting with a delegation of Speakers of State Houses of Assembly in Dubai. He looks forward to a grassroots campaign
https://twitter.com/osita_chidoka/status/1057661808696328192?s=19

This raised a lot of eyebrows as people wonder who is playing for the cost of these trips and also how this will create jobs and improve the wealth of the country. And also how meeting with them in Dubai translates to grassroot development

One user even said
I see these people who just got to know Atiku last night are complaining of why he operates from Dubai.... Hahahaha. Una think say e get time for una? Na biz as usual. He lives in Dubai, not Nigeria. Only spends Naija money in Dubai
https://twitter.com/Gasbytweet/status/1057705661369331712?s=19

See more reactions

PoliticsGov. Ugwuanyi’s Show Of Strength In Selfless Service by OEPHIUS(op): 9:07am On Oct 31, 2018
https://dailypost.ng/wp-content/uploads/2018/05/Ifeanyi-Ugwuanyi.jpg

By Louis Amoke

The Enugu State Governor, Rt. Hon. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, as usual featured prominently in the news in the last three weeks. During the period under review, Gov. Ugwuanyi was named the “2018 Sun Governor of the Year” for good governance; rapid rural development; regular payment of workers’ salaries and retirees’ pensions even without the receipt of federal allocation; nurturing peace and harmony among the political class and critical support for security agencies, among others.

Prior to this well-deserved feat, the National President of Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC), Comrade (Dr.) Bobboi Bala Kaigama, while in Enugu for the ground breaking of 100 Housing Units for Nigerian workers, commended Gov. Ugwuanyi for his sterling performance in office and outstanding commitment to the welfare of the state’s civil servants.

Comrade Kaigama added that his leadership was proud of Gov. Ugwuanyi for paying workers’ salaries regularly and ensuring that they “have decent working environment”, saying, “If there is any governor that Nigerian workers can come up and work for his success particularly for his second term, we are proud to say that our members will work for you”.

The housing project under reference is being developed by the Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria (FMBN) in collaboration with Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC), Nigeria Employer’s Consultative Association (NECA) and the Enugu State Government. The Gov. Ugwuanyi administration in fulfillment of one of its contributions to the speedy actualization of the project, which is so dear to the workers, recently awarded contract for the construction of access roads to the site.

Also within the weeks under review, the Rangers International Football Club of Enugu staged one of the greatest soccer comebacks to win the 2018 NFF/ AITEO cup after 35 years of the club’s last victory in the competition. It would be recalled that Enugu Rangers FC, under Gov. Ugwuanyi’s administration, exhibited similar historic feat when it won the 2015/2016 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) cup - breaking the jinx of being unable to win a trophy after 32 years.

Also, the World Bank Group rated Enugu State as the second most advanced state in Nigeria towards the frontier of global good practices with regards to Ease of Doing Business.

The objective rating, which was contained in the recently released World Bank Doing Business in Nigeria 2018 report, by implication, proves that Enugu State, under the visionary leadership of Gov. Ugwuanyi has institutionalized far-reaching socio-economic reforms and provided critical infrastructure and security that have engendered a robust climate of Ease of Doing Business, creating an increased inflow of local and foreign direct investments in the state. It has also gone a long way to showcase the ingenuity of the present administration in advancing the cause of business engagements in the state through innovations, accountability, fiscal discipline and efficient public expenditure management for the overall wellbeing of the masses.

Prior to the recent World Bank rating, Gov. Ugwuanyi’s administration had received an avalanche of similar verdicts and commendations from well-respected bodies. These include the Senate on the judicious utilization of the bailout funds; the BudgIT report, which listed Enugu, Lagos and Rivers as the only three states out of the 36 states of the federation that have fulfilled obligations to their workers; the recent Economic Confidential magazine verdict that listed Enugu among the seven states that are solvent with impressive over-30 per cent Internally Generated Revenue (IGR) to fund additional economic activities.

Others include, the fifth most competitive state in Nigeria, according to the National Competitiveness Council of Nigeria; the third most debt sustainable State in Nigeria; the first state in Nigeria to publish its Audited State/Final Account for three consecutive years; first in the South East geo-political zone and ninth in the country based on IGR as against Federal Allocation; one of the twelve states in Nigeria that can survive without federal allocations, among others.

The climax of the weeks’ event in favour of Gov. Ugwuanyi was the Ohanaeze Ndigbo’s validation of the gale of endorsements for the governor’s re-election by various groups across the state and beyond. The Enugu State chapter of the apex Igbo socio-cultural organization, which made the stance during its rich and colouful Iri-Ji (New Yam) Festival held at the popular Michael Okpara Square, Enugu, stated that the validation was “an ultimate Seal of Authority in Igbo Land”.

The highly revered body added that it was also “the most bankable promissory note that beckons on the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for a Certificate of Return to His Excellency, Rt. Hon. Ifeanyichukwu Lawrence Ugwuanyi as the governor-elect in Enugu State come 2019”.

Speaking on behalf of the excited members of the organization’s state chapter, its President, Chief Chiedozie Alex Ogbonnia, further explained that they were amazed at the list of numerous groups in the state that have endorsed the governor for a second term in office, which included - “The traditional rulers council and the members of their cabinets; Association of former elected Local Government Chairmen; Enugu State Amalgamated Traders Association; Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN); National Association of Proprietors of Private Schools (NAPPS).

Others, according to Ohanaeze Ndigbo, include, “NULGE/ LG Pensioners; NURTW; National Assembly members; Enugu State Resident Doctors Association; Nigerian Union of Teachers (NUT); Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) and Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC); Association of Former Members of Enugu State House of Assembly; Judiciary Staff Union of Nigeria (JUSUN), etc”.

It is also remarkable to note that the ex-councilors in the state, between 1999-2015, have thrown their weight behind the governor’s second term bid in 2019 and more groups have continued to endorse him, accordingly, based on his outstanding performance and uncommon leadership style.

Speaking further, the chapter’s President applauded Gov. Ugwuanyi’s “steady trajectory of massive infrastructural developments” stressing that it has “turned Enugu State into a huge and seamless construction site with all the tiers of government, namely the federal, state and the local at work in project implementation synergy”.

According to him, “the above observations by the Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Enugu State Chapter, are reinforced by the clamour for endorsements of Governor Ugwuanyi for his re-election as the governor of Enugu State in the 2019 general election”, revealing that “well over 100 groups have endorsed Governor Ugwuanyi to run for a second term” and “the list of such groups above is a tip of the iceberg”.

In his remark, the President General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Chief Nnia Nwodo, who witnessed the historic cultural festival with Gov. Ugwuanyi and other dignitaries, noted that the validation by the Enugu State chapter of the organization was an outward demonstration of solidarity for the governor, saying that “you (Ugwuanyi) are such a humble man that I don’t know how low you can get again in order to show more humility”.

His words: “Well I cannot say anything rather than that I have noted with great satisfaction what the people of Enugu State have said today. And when I summon the next meeting of Ime-Obi Ohanaeze, which is the highest decision making organ in Igboland, we will take into consideration what was said today because Ohanaeze must look at all our governors and their respective states and say our opinions as to who has been doing well. On this note, I say congratulations to you, Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi as we invite you to come and appreciate what we are doing today”.

During the recent workers’ 100 housing units’ ground breaking ceremony, the TUC National President recalled that Gov. Ugwuanyi’s administration had provided similar 100 units of one-bedroom apartments for the state’s civil servants between grade levels 01-10, who became proud landlords, after the state government paid 54 percent Equity Contribution.

Appreciating him further, Comrade Kaigama declared that “Gov. Ugwuanyi is second to none in the provision of workers’ welfare in the South East geo-political zone”, and “a performer and humble leader” who listens when it comes to challenges confronting the workers and the entire people of the state. He stated that the governor has set the pace for other states to emulate, stressing that “Enugu State is working under your leadership and that is not only because you are a performer, but you exhibit the sense of performance with humility”.

According to him, “we would say it anywhere because you have done it and you are still doing it. We assure that the working class not only in Enugu State but also in the entire nation is supporting you on your efforts to deliver the dividends of democracy”.

From the foregoing, it is being reaffirmed that Gov. Ugwuanyi has continued to make a positive mark in the governance of Enugu State, through his selfless service, vision, strength of leadership, sheer dexterity, and passion for the wellbeing of the people of the state – the true heroes of democracy. It is therefore, expected of the people to continue to reciprocate this gesture through their solidarity, goodwill and support, for 2019 will surely end in praise. Enugu State is truly in the hands of God! #amokelouis
http://dailypost.ng/2018/10/31/louis-amoke-gov-ugwuanyis-show-strength-selfless-service/
PoliticsRe: Fayemi Should Finish The Unfinished Business This Time Ayodele David-adesua by OEPHIUS(op):
"THE MAN DAVID":
AYODELE DAVID-ADESUA was born on the 13th of December 1973 at Ijesa Isu Ekiti in Ekiti state,Nigeria to the family of Mr and Mrs James Adesua. His father Mr James Adesua of blessed memory was a retired soldier while his mother Mrs Comfort Adesua is a trader.

He attended Hosanna African Church primary school 2 Ijesa Isu Ekiti,Ekiti state where he was selected as the school head boy between 1986/87 session ,comprehensive High School,Ijesa Isu Ekiti, where he was selected as the senior prefect JSS campus (oloja-ase)between 1988/89 session.

He was at various times class captain both at the primary and secondary schools. He moved to lagos Nigeria for his post secondary and tertiary education. He attended Lagos State university(LASU) where he obtained a degree in Industrial Relations and personnel management. He obtained a certificate in Conflict Resolution and Management from A.A.Management Training and consultancy London, United kingdom.

Ayodele David-Adesua is a philanthropist who believes in the creation and equitable distribution of wealth. He has tenaciously held on to the words of Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919) the Scottish born American industrialist that "surplus wealth is a sacred trust which its possessor is bound to administer in his life time for the good of the community". As a result,David has been at the vanguard of creating opportunities for people to be self reliant through various empowerment and entrepreneur programs.

His passion for humanity is ardent, his love for Ekiti state and his kinsmen unrivalled. His determination to see everyone,particularly the youth around him succed,recently earned him the chieftaincy title of Baba ewe of Ijesa Isu Ekiti and also Baba ewe ijo African Church cathedral Ijesa Isu Ekiti. Just like a manufacturer of products,David believes in making people. He gives people the proverbial fish as well as teaching them how to fish.

He has a special ministry for helping. He helps willingly and gives generously such that everyone that comes around him is always blessed. He is a proponent of religious tolerance and does not miss any opportunity to bless faithfuls of other religion. David enjoys taking responsibility by shaping people's condition and making their concerns his own. Everything about David is about people,people and people.

David is an Entrepreneur with expertise in property brokerage and security consultancy with over 50 employees. He is the president of Distinct Empowerment Foundation. David has a transformation agenda for EKITI STATE and he is presently the candidate of Democratic Alternative(DA) in the forthcoming Ekiti State House of Assembly election slated for February 2019. David is above all God fearing. He is married with lovely children.
https://revue.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/IMG-20181030-WA0041-730x1024.jpg

https://revue.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/IMG-20181030-WA0046.jpg

https://revue.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/IMG-20181030-WA0038-731x1024.jpg

https://revue.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/IMG-20181030-WA0042.jpg

https://revue.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/IMG-20181030-WA0028-1.jpg

https://revue.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/IMG-20181030-WA0045.jpg

https://revue.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/IMG-20181030-WA0027-768x768.jpg
PoliticsFayemi Should Finish The Unfinished Business This Time Ayodele David-adesua by OEPHIUS(op): 10:37pm On Oct 30, 2018
https://revue.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/IMG-20181030-WA0041-730x1024.jpg

*Letter to Fayemi: Never forget to finish the unfinished business, this time!*

Hearty congratulations on your resumption as the 6th executive governor of Ekiti state.

Though Your Excellency may receive this letter as a surprise, considering the fact that I worked not for your political party as at the time you were striving to be.

Certainly, such reaction to either a congratulatory message or an advisory letter from an active political opponent could possibly exist in an uncivilized clime like Nigerian society.

Looking at your level of enlightements as somebody who had been adequately educated within the four walls of universities bagging more than a degree, I would not want to find interest and refuse to be discouraged, in your own case.

Because I strongly hope that your level of education would have equipped you to see clearly through the prism of the prevailing partisan fog in the country.

Besides, if Your Excellency is genuinely determined to offer Ekiti people the best using the opportunity at hand, there is no way to it than to consider my honest view.

If I were Your Excellency, I would realise that my critics are my special advisers who are not on my payroll.

So I would pay the due attention to everything raised in an open advisory letter like the one you are reading which comes from a former rival.

I would be quick to understand the implications of not having another opportunity to become governor after this time out as there is no third term in the constitution of the land.

So, within the four years limited time frame, I would try my best to lay the best record in governance and break the existing records of my predecessors, mostly of whom are my obvious rivals till date.

I would not forget my initial claim of returning to power to finish an unfinished business.

As a follow up to this claim, I would have made a compilation of all the unfinished businesses of my first tenure, ordered them in the degree of how impactful they are to the people's wellbeing.

I would consider the political need to stand out as a leader, the way Obafemi Awolowo did by establishing the first television station in Africa.

I would ban pupils from paying tax the way you did, and I would run free meal programme for primary school pupils as well. But I would still know that no record is laid and no record is broken.

I would not forget that I did not also collect tax from pupils in my first tenure likewise (2010-2014).

I would not want to deceive myself. So I would remember that former Governor Segun Oni started the free meal programme in Ekiti State and that the credit for that can never be given to me by the posterity.

No doubt, those programmes are rewarding and should be encouraged to continue.

If I were Your Excellency, I would think of being the first to establish computer market in Ekiti, the one to build the first ultra modern market, and the one to construct the first dual carriage road in the state.

But I would realise that Former Governor Fayose had already taken credit for all that. Nothing can take the credits for those projects away from Fayose either he goes to jail or not.

A good fountain of wisdom around your political family is that of your deputy, Otunba Bisi Egbeyemi. while he was the chairman of his home local government, Ado-Ekiti, he addressed the hot demand of his people at that time by building for them a market.

And till now that market has continued to bear Oja iBisi(Bisi Market) despite attempts by his political adversaries to de-immortize him by changing the name.

Who can tell? if Egbeyemi had not used that market to sustain his political relevance through his own 10 years of political lacuna, you might not have appreciated his political value and make him your deputy.

So if I were you, I wouldn't want Chief David Adesua to take credit for what I have all opportunities to achieve during this tenure when he takes over as governor in 2022.

I would therefore accept the truth that the number one thing to call unfinished business as far as the legitimate streets assemblies are concerned is the establishment of the first airport in Ado-Ekiti.

The project was expected to have started during your first tenure in office but it was widely speculated by many people to have failed due to your negligence and lack of political willl.

Aside its glaring economic values to the people, the establishment of the airport in Ekiti State will stop undue stopover at the neighbouring Ondo state for travellers whose destination is Ekiti State.

A rigmarole which entails receiving Ekiti guests at the Akure Airport before boarding another vehicle through a labyrinthine of Akure/Ado-Ekiti road for about another one hour is too ridiculous.

Thank God, you have the second chance now. The ball is in your court again, this time in good measure.

Your Excellency, You have the time, the access to the required facility, you have the connection.

Based on your influence in the current federal government, a sum of at least N3b should not be too difficult for you to mobilise and start with an airstrip for small cabin aircrafts.

With the magnitude of your connection at the local government level, the state level, the federal level and the international level, if you fail in this regard this time around Ekiti history will not be friendly with your name.

The worst part of it is that you may realise your mistake after leaving office. And the moment that happens, Your Excellency may find it extremely difficult even to forgive yourself.

As I continue to wish you the best in your tenure, I would be too happy if you can heed my advice by favouring my suggestion.
It should be remembered that stumbling twice over the same stone is a proverbial disgrace.

My regards to your courageous, supportive, amiable and forward looking wife, Erelu BamBam!

Thanks.

Ayodele David-Adesua

(the DA Ekiti governorship candidate, 2018 & the House of Assembly candidate, Ikole constituency 1, 2019)

http://revue.com.ng/letter-to-fayemi-never-forget-to-finish-the-unfinished-business-this-time-ayodele-david-adesua/
SportsAiteo Cup: Enugu Governor Sends Message To Rangers by OEPHIUS(op): 6:46pm On Oct 23, 2018
AITEO FEDERATION CUP FINALS:

Gov. Ugwuanyi's Inspiring Message To Enugu Rangers International FC...

"GIVE US THIS CUP! You have played well to reach this final. May your efforts and hard work be rewarded with this Cup to the glory of God Almighty"

- Rt. Hon. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, Governor Enugu State. Rangers No. 1 Fan

Enugu State is truly in the hands of God!#amokelouis

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zi0opkn-Gx0

http://revue.com.ng/aiteo-cup-enugu-governor-sends-message-to-rangers/

HealthTransformation Of Enugu State University (ESUT) Teaching Hospital (video) by OEPHIUS(op): 9:46pm On Oct 22, 2018
In Enugu State, Action Is Louder Than Words!

The tip of the iceberg of Gov. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi's transformation agenda in the health sector - the Enugu State University of Science and Technology (ESUT) Teaching Hospital experience...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WrtF0MnwOWo
PoliticsSanwo-olu Assures Religious, Ethnic Groups, Others Of Participatory Governance by OEPHIUS(op): 9:34pm On Oct 21, 2018
The All Progressive Congress (APC) Lagos State chapter governorship candidate, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has assured leaders of various Islamic and christian bodies that he would not leave any stone untouched, should he get elected as governor of the state during forthcoming governorship election.

Besides, Sanwo-Olu also promised non-indigenous groups, including Hausa community, Ijaw group, Igbo, Nupe, Ibera among others who reside in Lagos, that his government would ensure that a participatory administration is put in place, such that would carry all groups along, in policy and program wise,

The Director General, Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu Campaign Organisation (BOSCO), Tayo Ayinde, said that the need to recognize contributions of religious bodies, as well as that of other groups, must not be denied and that the governorship candidate has demonstrated strength for participatory government that would have all communities as entity of his administration.

Speaking during a meeting with Islamic and christian leaders of various groups in Lagos, yesterday, Ayinde explained that Sanwo-Olu’s administration, should he get elected, would recognize and give all bodies sense of belonging, and as well pay adequate attentions to needs of every members of non-indigenous groups who reside in Lagos.

He disclosed that the governorship candidate and BOSCO, under his leadership, had met with various groups including those considered as grassroot managers and that the motive behind the move was to ensure that all stakeholders were carried along on policy and program of Sanwo-Olu.

According to him, the governorship candidate’s priority has remain on how Lagos residents, religious bodies, other various groups will be well informed and carried along on policy of incoming administration and BOSCO has continued spreading the gospel.

“Sanwo-Olu’s aim is to inculcate needs of every communities into his policy and programs and that is why he has been meeting with groups since after he was announced winner of Lagos chapter of APC recently conducted governorship primary election”.

“The incoming governor has been communicating his readiness to run a participatory government because he has understanding on needs of people particularly that of religious bodies and indigene of other states who are residing in Lagos”.

The campaign group’s head stated that BOSCO would continue its recognition of groups and individuals who have been exhibiting interests and pledging supports for Sanwo-Olu’ candidacy, and that the office was opened to others communities who were yet to show up.

However, in a separate development, Ayinde informed leaders of students’ unions of various tertiary institutions in Lagos, who had also pledged support for Sanwo-Olu, that the campaign office would not hesitate to work with unions, should they extend supportive hands to the organization.

At an interactive session, the DG assured the leaders that the governorship candidate would recognize all Lagos tertiary institutions’ student unions and ensure they participate in his administration’s police and programs after 2019 governorship election.
http://www.theguildng.com/sanwo-olu-assures-religious-ethnic-groups-others-good-government-participatory-administration/

PoliticsNnamdi Kanu On Igbos With Yoruba Pastors. (throwback Video) by OEPHIUS(op): 4:02pm On Oct 21, 2018
With the reported return of the leader of IPOB, Nnamdi Kanu, some questions arise like if he will still preach hatred and still continue his disdain for Yorubas and Hausa/Fulanis.

The video below is just one example where he said Igbos should not attend Yoruba churches or churches headed by Yorubas.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1y3yR-NMSvg
PoliticsRe: PDP Convention: Pictures Of Enugu Delegates by OEPHIUS(op): 3:48pm On Oct 06, 2018
More

PoliticsPDP Convention: Pictures Of Enugu Delegates by OEPHIUS(op): 3:47pm On Oct 06, 2018
Enugu State delegates first to arrive the Adokiye Amasiemaka Stadium, Port Harcourt, Rivers State, venue of the National Convention of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), where the Presidential Candidate of the Party will emerge...

Enugu State is truly in the hands of God. #amokelouis

PoliticsRe: PDP Convention: Lawmakers Back Saraki As Presidential Candidate by OEPHIUS(op): 3:03pm On Oct 06, 2018
UPDATE. 3:00pm:

President of the Senate, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, has just met with the Niger State delegates on the sidelines of #PDPConventionPHC.

PoliticsPDP Convention: Lawmakers Back Saraki As Presidential Candidate by OEPHIUS(op): 2:19pm On Oct 06, 2018
PDP Convention: Lawmakers Back Saraki as Presidential Candidate

There is a strong possibility to the effect that Nigeri's Federal Lawmakers have cast their weight behind the President of the Nigerian Senate and Presidential Candidate of the People's Democratic Party, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, at the ongoing Presidential primaries of the People's Democratic Party,PDP, at Port Harcourt, Rivers State, Nigeria.

A source within the highest ranks of the party who spoke with our correspondent on the condition of anonymity said the lawmakers decided to identify with Saraki as a way of showing solidarity and support for one of their own.

Dr. Saraki who is the President of the 8th Senate is said to have achieved great feats as Leader of the country's highest lawmaking body and that the support he's garnering may not be unconnected to these achievements.

The convention which has no less than 12 candidates jostling for the party's presidential ticket is peacefully progressing at the time of report.

UPDATE:

As at 2:00pm, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki has met with 19 State delegations in the last 12hours. More previously undecided delegates have started pledging their support. #PDPConventionPHC

UPDATE. 3:00pm:

President of the Senate, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, has just met with the Niger State delegates on the sidelines of #PDPConventionPHC.

http://revue.com.ng/pdp-convention-l…ential-candidate/

PoliticsIndications Point To Saraki To Clinch PDP Presidential Ticket by OEPHIUS(op): 3:45pm On Oct 05, 2018
Indications point to Saraki to clinch PDP Presidential ticket

It’s no news that the PDP Convention in which the party will pick their presidential candidate will be held tomorrow in Port Harcourt. What is on everyone’s mid is who the main opposition party will give the ticket to.

Indications are emerging that Dr. Bukola Saraki will emerge as the Presidential Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party

There have been several pointers to this possibility ever since Dr Saraki made his declaration to run for office in August. These speculations have largely due to his track record as a competent and unifying leader during his time as governor and Senate President. Bukola Saraki has also gained a reputation both online and offline as an ingenious politician.

If the Peoples Democratic Party goes ahead to make Dr Saraki their flag bearer, this will spell doom for the APC, as Nigerians are yearning for a politician of his calibre to Grow Nigeria and turn the country around.

http://revue.com.ng/indications-point-to-saraki-to-clinch-pdp-presidential-ticket/

PoliticsPDP Primaries, NW Leaders Endorse Markarfi As Consensus Candidate by OEPHIUS(op):
AHEAD OF PORT HARCOURT PRIMARIES, NORTH-WEST LEADERS SETTLE ON MAKARFI AS CONSENSUS CANDIDATE.

Political leaders and elder statesmen of the North West under the aegis of the North West Progressives Forum (NWPF) have adopted Sen. Ahmed Makarfi as the region’s consensus candidate going into the PDP Presidential Primaries scheduled to hold on Saturday the 6th of October, 2018.

Giving reasons for the adoption of Sen. Makarfi, spokesman for the group Mal. Isa Saleh Funtua, argued that the North West has the highest number of registered voters in Nigeria, and exerts the most influence on the outcome of presidential elections, so must play an active role in deciding which way the 2019 contest goes. Mal. Saleh Funtua said the NWPF dispassionately considered all the talented NW aspirants hoping to run against Buhari in 2019, and initially managed to narrow it down to four candidates who could not only win the Primaries but more importantly defeat Buhari in the Presidential Election next year.

“We considered Lamido, a fine gentleman with the political sagacity to defeat any challenger. Unfortunately the man has an ongoing EFCC case against him, and you know how brutal these APC people are, so he was a few people’s first choice but we could not risk it”, Alhaji Saleh Funtua said.

“We then looked at Kwankwaso. No doubt he is the most popular NW candidate, and perhaps the only one who can actually defeat APC in the NW, but let us tell ourselves the truth – we did a poll among our brothers and sisters in the South and his candidacy was surprisingly the most resisted. We believe people misunderstood his style of governance when he was governor, and now incorrectly think he is a fundamentalist. Some Yorubas are also unhappy with the vocal positions he took in Ile-Ife during an ethnic clash there. He is a gentleman, but the South has formed a biased opinion against him and will not support him, that is the truth.

“The third aspirant we considered was Governor Tambuwal. It is unfortunate that this gentleman has allowed his candidacy be hijacked by Governor Wike. Yes, he enjoys immunity, but Tambuwal hasn't managed to galvanise widespread political support. Even worse, it appears Wike wants to impose him and the North West cannot allow Wike from his parlour in Port Harcourt decide what is best for us, and for Nigeria. That is not democracy! We think it was very politically naïve of Tambuwal to have allowed this happen. We are not the APC that has godfathers like Tinubu who single-handedly decide what happens within the Party.

“So we have settled for Sen. Makarfi as the man whose candidacy best protects and promotes the interests of the North West and of Nigeria. He was a governor of Kaduna state; he has been a Federal Senator, and he showed his political dexterity when he held the PDP together as its National Caretaker Chairman. Sen. Makarfi is seen by Northerners and Nigerians as a man of integrity and perhaps more importantly he is a unifier. Nigeria has never been this divided before, and just as Sen. Makarfi united Kaduna during his tenure as Governor, we expect him to unify Nigeria once he becomes President.”

The NWPF say they are currently communicating their decision to prominent leaders of the country like Olusegun Obasanjo, Ibrahim Babangida, Abdulsalami Abubakar, Edwin Clark, Tony Anenih, Ango Abdullahi, Goodluck Jonathan, Ayo Adebanjo, TY Danjuma, Bishop Kukah, the Emir of Kano and the Sultan of Sokoto, including groups such as Afenefere, Ohaneze, PANDEF, and ACF.

“This is not a selfish decision we have reached. We believe the 2019 elections will be a contest for the very soul of Nigeria, and that we cannot afford personal ambition to get in the way of rescuing Nigeria. Buhari must go, and even though he is a dark horse, we 100% believe that Sen. Makarfi is the only candidate able to galvanise the national support from North to South needed to remove Buhari in 2019.” Isa Funtua

http://revue.com.ng/ahead-of-port-harcourt-primaries-nw-leaders-endorse-markarfi-as-consensus-candidate/

PoliticsFor The People’s Democratic Party Dr Bukola Saraki Is The Best Route To Aso Rock by OEPHIUS(op): 8:36am On Oct 03, 2018
For The People’s Democratic Party Dr Bukola Saraki is the Best Route to Aso Rock
The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is the bastion of hope for Nigerians to achieve economic growth; the only party with national clout and capacity to defeat All Progressive Congress (APC) and President Muhammadu Buhari in the 2019 presidential election. The odds are in favour of the PDP which has been tipped to win the 2019 presidential election, however its choice of presidential flag bearer is crucial.
The Economic Intelligence Unit (EIU) the consulting arm of The Economist magazine (which endorsed President Buhari in 2015) and a global bank HSBC released reports which categorically stated that that Mr Buhari would lose to PDP in 2019 election and a re-election of Mr Buhari means decline for Nigeria’s economy in the next dispensation respectively. Before these reports, major mainstream media, specifically New York Times, The Guardian UK, DW Germany and The Economist have all lamented the failure of the Buhari administration to deliver on it's campaign promises and transform bring economic growth to Nigeria.
Consequently, the PDP finds itself once again on the threshold of history just like in 1999 when it was instrumental to restoring Nigeria’s democracy. Despite the antics of the current administration to rock the boat of democracy, it is evident to Nigerians more than ever that for Nigeria’s democracy to thrive the PDP - its major progenitor in the fourth republic - remains the best and most viable option for a democratic multi-ethnic and multi-religious Nigeria.
When Prince Uche Secondus was elected as the PDP chairman, there was skepticism and dissenting voices especially from some regions which felt schemed out in the party’s affairs. His election coincided with a period when the PDP was literally speaking, comatose, but to the amazement of all members of the party and millions of Nigerians who still have regard for the PDP. Prince Secondus has through an all inclusive and democratic leadership begun to make the PDP appealing to Nigerians once again, restoring it as a beacon of democracy. An excellent performance so far so good.
However, wisdom is necessary in electing the flagbearer of PDP to square up to President Buhari in the 2019 presidential election. While it is important for the party leadership to remain neutral among the various aspirants, the focus should be on the most viable candidate who will ensure the party reclaims Aso Rock in 2019 to offer Nigerians a better deal. Therefore, no other goal for the party supersedes the choice of its presidential flag bearer as it is critical to the sustained resurgence of the party going forward. The task is more daunting given the numerous qualified candidates PDP delegates have to consider in its primary election coming up on October 6th 2018. Party delegates must avoid any blunder which would prove fatal and hand APC victory on a platter of gold and send PDP into oblivion despite being the best party to rescue Nigeria.
The sizeable number of aspirants indicates that PDP has leaders who are confident and competent enough to challenge the status quo, men who are courageous enough to take the bull by the horn and defend the Nigerian people. The bigwigs with cult of personality following in their constituencies are political heavyweights known across the length and breadth of Nigeria, though some are more prominent and consequential than others. What PDP needs is to galvanise this tremendous force behind one candidate.
Recall that the defection of most of the aspirants from PDP boosted APC’s electoral capital prior to the 2015 election. Amongst these aspirants are eloquent and articulate speakers, politically savvy Machiavellian tacticians, unfazed, presidential bureaucrats, technocrats, dogged, youthful, erudite, tenacious, experienced, well lettered Nigerians with many years of public service. What the PDP needs however is one man who can fit this profile comprehensively with ease. A candidate who has a well articulated position on the economy, security, power, education, agriculture, healthcare, restructuring, infrastructure, legislations, continental/international trade and other areas of the polity.
Categorically, there is no other candidate that fits this profile other than Dr Abubakar Bukola Saraki (CON), the Waziri Ilorin. Dr Saraki has proved to be a thoroughbred leader, with an imposing persona who possesses the astuteness required to pull PDP out of the doldrums. He has proven his mettle as a looming gladiator in Nigerian politics, on the side of the people and has validated his manliness and tremendous value to nation building. He aligned with the PDP in a win-win cross-party coalition in 2015 during the Senate leadership election, gave PDP the lifeline which was one of the major pivots that ensured it was not emasculated by the Buhari administration and APC which were out to ensure the demise of the party. That hand of fellowship which he offered by conceding deputy senate president to PDP is a gesture which should be reciprocated by delegates.
To engineer the resurgence of PDP, the party needs a presidential candidate which will give it victory in two-thirds of Nigeria’s 36 states and expand its horizon to win more states. The election is more crucial for PDP than APC and approaching the election pragmatically requires choosing a candidate with a victorious profile. The PDP cannot afford to take chances.

Dr Saraki has presided over the most successful senate of the fourth republic, and has outwitted opponents who have thrown every dart and arrows at him to stall the progress of the Nigerian Senate as it carries out its legislative duties. His admirable leadership has enabled him to enjoy the support of senators across party lines. Even in the face of threats of impeachment and calls by the APC for Dr Saraki to step down, a greater number of senators have stood with him through thick and thin. Such resilience is what the PDP needs in its presidential flag bearer.
There is no doubt his political career in the Senate, previously as chairman of Nigerian Governors Forum, governor of Kwara State for eight years, positions him as the most appealing to delegates. Dr Saraki’s fame has spread like wildfire since he hinted to Bloomberg news and formally declared his intention. He is the most popular politician in the country currently and age is gracefully on his side. He will be 56 in 2019 and given the desire by Nigerians for younger presidential candidates and a paradigm generational shift in leadership, he is the best choice.
Public sentiments are in favour of rejuvenated political leadership and governance in Nigeria. Many have opined in different forums that we require youthfulness in running the affairs of Nigeria. A president who will be youthful enough to approach the tasking job of running Nigeria with vigor which is one of the challenges facing President Buhari who has been bogged down by old age and illness spending months on medical tourism abroad.
Undoubtedly, Dr Bukola Saraki represents that democratic, charismatic, situational and transformational leader PDP and Nigeria needs. He represents the cosmopolitan, urbane, innovative and fresh leadership which Nigeria is in dire need of. He has been on a tour of states in Nigeria sharing his message of #GrowNigeria, which encapsulates his grand vision for Nigeria. Traversing the length and breath of Nigeria speaking to PDP delegates and soliciting their votes to elect him as the party’s flag bearer. From the news and images coming out of his campaign, his acceptability has soared. Thousands of party members throng venues to hear him speak. He has been the most vocal in outlining his vision for the country which is premised on GROWTH and prosperity for all Nigerians.
In the South East, he reiterated his resolve to fight for all Nigerians, a promise he has kept even as incumbent Senate President. Nigerians are all witnesses to his determination to reform our oil sector through the Petroleum Industry Governance Bill and electoral amendment bill which makes card readers compulsory in elections. He started that he is 100% in support of restructuring of the federation, a position which is unanimously supported by the entire Southern Nigeria despite being from North Central.
In the North Central, he assured delegates that a vote for him is a vote for transformation of agriculture in the region which is the mainstay of the region’s economy. He also vowed to end the conflicts which has ravaged the Middle Belt unabated. With his experience in large-scale commercial farming as governor of Kwara State and having learned from the Shonga Farms models which revolutionised agriculture in his home state, he would bring such knowledge and experience to better the fortunes of the region which is the food basket of the nation. He visited IDP centers in the Middle Belt and brough message of hope to displaced citizens. In Plateau state, he decried the state of the nation where many feel alienated and assured the people of state that he will “give a sense of belonging” to every Nigerian and also reminded the people of North Central that producing the president is their turn, a sentiment which is widely popular in the region.
In the South South and South West, he pointed out to the delegates that the National Assembly under his leadership has been at the forefront of protecting Nigeria’s democracy and spoke out outrightly against the insensitivity of President Buhari who in recent times appointed a new DSS director which has generated aghast from Nigerians who expected diversity and frowned at flagrant respect for federal character in appointments. He reiterated his support for restructuring as imperative for economic prosperity, a position which has been on the front burners in the South. He is still in the South West and his campaign has berthed in Lagos state where he was given a rousing welcome.
He was well received in Kaduna, Kastina and in the North West and North East. It is important that the PDP leadership and delegates consider the Saraki brand as the best route to Aso Rock and present him as the party’s presidential flag bearer who will eventually bring glory to the party with victory over President Buhari and APC in the 2019 presidential election.

http://revue.com.ng/for-the-peoples-democratic-party-dr-bukola-saraki-is-the-best-route-to-aso-rock/
PoliticsPress Statement By Jide Sanwo-olu's Campaign Team On Winning The Guber Primar by OEPHIUS(op): 7:00am On Oct 03, 2018
THANK YOU ALL - WE SINCERELY APPRECIATE ALL OUR PARTY FAITHFULS FOR PARTICIPATING IN THE GUBERNATORIAL PRIMARY ELECTION IN LAGOS STATE

The Director General, Babajide Olusola Sanwo-olu Campaign Organisation (BOSCO), Mr. Tayo Ayinde, wishes and hereby unreservedly expresses our gratitude to all our faithful members for the loyalty, commitments and determination to our great party by participating in the direct gubernatorial primary election in Lagos State on the 2nd of October 2018. In the same vein, we also like to appreciate the overwhelming moral supports received from non members of our great party during the exercise.

Our sincere appreciation also goes to President Muhammadu Buhari, Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo and all the leaders of
our great party for holding true tenet of democracy.

At this juncture, it is pertinent to acknowledge the gallantry displayed by the security agencies, the cooperation of the press and exhibition of close observation by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) during the just concluded direct primary of our great party.

Most importantly, we are grateful to members of the state chapter of our great party who voted for Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu en-masse during the gubernatorial primary election and making him
emerge as flag-bearer of our great party for the general election in 2019.

We urge our entire members to remain focused and work assiduously towards the general election in 2019.

Comrade Olusesan Daini, Director Media and Publicity, Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu Campaign Organization (BOSCO)
2nd October 2018
PoliticsHow Bukola Saraki Made Kwara A Model For National Unity In Nigeria by OEPHIUS(op): 7:43pm On Oct 02, 2018
Since the emergence of Nigeria fledgling democracy in 1999, Northern Nigeria has become a permanent flashpoint of violent conflict. As political and ethnic conflict has been a major threat to national unity in Nigeria. Niger, Kaduna, Kano, Bauchi, Borno, Plateau State are notorious as flashpoint states in Nigeria and hotspot for numerous conflicts, since the return of civilian rule in 1999.These intractable conflicts include ethnic, religious, political, sectarian, communal, Settlers-Natives and Pastoralist-Farmers dimensions. Political and ethnic tensions have been a major feature of Nigeria political history. 

Why the unending conflict across Northern Nigeria?

Many observes of Nigeria political history have asked why conflicts keep reoccurring between different communities across the Northern region? it is significant to note the influence of politicization of ethnicity, selective injustice and elite manipulation has made crisis possible across Northern Nigeria. Ethno-political conflicts in Nigeria are fundamentally influenced by bad politics, bad governance and poor conflict management. Therefore its management has become a mirage in spite of series of interventions to put the conflicts to an end. Today, the herdsmen are on rampage across Nigeria and Boko Haram is still holding sway across the North Eastern States. But in all of this crisis and conflict that has engulfed different states across Nigeria, Kwara state has stood out in the way it has maintained peace and harmony with the different ethnic groups living in Kwara. As Nigeria is engulfed in crisis and seeks for leadership that can bridge the ethnic divide and unite Nigeria as one, the time is ripe to adopt the Kwara model of peace and harmony in uniting Nigeria as one.

Kwara State as a model for harmony and national unity.

Since 1999, many Northern States in Nigeria have witnessed endless political and religious killings, today states across the middle belt region is under the constant threat of crisis. This crisis is a result of failure in leadership, where the political class have failed to managed the different ethnic groups and provide the needed leadership. Many of the leaders across the conflict prone state in Northern Nigeria benefit from the crisis and are not willing to embark on actions that will yield peace and harmony across their various states.

Kwara State is known as ‘The State of Harmony’ on account of the peaceful relations that exist among its multicultural and diverse population of about 2.5 million people. Where the major religious communities have good relations with one another. The principal groups residing in Kwara State are the Yoruba, Nupe, Bariba and Fulani. Despite having diverse groups living together, Kwara State has witnessed a purposeful leadership that has done well in solidifying their differences and made sure that Kwara remain in a state of harmony.

The African report in 2010 reported on how a lot of displaced people in the Nigerian North had to move to Kwara State “The Harmony State”, known for its political peace as tens of thousands of Nigerians from troubled regions and other central and northern states have sought shelter in Ilorin and its environs.
http://www.theafricareport.com/News-Analysis/nigeria-fixing-the-middle-belt.html

Bukola Saraki was the governor of Kwara State from 2003 – 2011. Between this period that he as the governor of Kwara State, many northern states were engulfed in different political and religious conflicts. The last recorded crisis in Kwara happened on the 20th of Dec. 1999 Muslim fundamentalists attacked and destroyed over 14 churches in Ilorin. Properties worth several millions of naira were destroyed and an unspecified casualty reported. It happened under the leadership of Governor Ahmed Lawal and these problems led to his outster.

After the exit of Lawal, came Bukola Saraki the unifier, a leader who understands that you cannot make any meaningful progress or build any key infrastructure without peace and harmony in your state. Under his 8 years as governor of Kwara State, he calmed the nerves and worked with all the tribes to bring equitable justice and peace into the state. There was no recorded political or religious conflict and he managed the state as one. He is a unifier.

After Dr Saraki’s tenure, Kwara recorded the lowest poverty rate for any state in the Nigerian north, and up until today, this record stands 8 years after he left the helm of affairs of the state. Dr Abubakar Bukola Saraki’s handling of the intertribal crisis in the North Central despite the volatility of the region is a good benchmark for future Governors and Presidents in Nigeria, his method of bringing everyone to the table to be able to ensure equity has turned Kwara into a peaceful state in between a volatile region.
PoliticsRe: Osinbajo Lauds Ugwuanyi On Entrepreneurship Programmes by OEPHIUS(op): 6:44pm On Oct 02, 2018
More

PoliticsOsinbajo Lauds Ugwuanyi On Entrepreneurship Programmes by OEPHIUS(op): 6:34pm On Oct 02, 2018
... Says gov deserves warm applause for his great works

Nigeria’s Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo has commended Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State for his administration’s unceasing cooperation with the federal government in the advancement of the set objectives of the Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSME) in the state and beyond.

Prof Osinbajo, who said he was “extremely delighted” with the “kindness and warm reception” the state government always accords him whenever he visits Enugu State, also applauded Gov. Ugwuanyi for “the very great steps” his administration has taken in the growth and development of the MSME programme.

Prof. Osinbajo gave the commendations, during the Enugu edition of the National MSME Clinic held at the popular Michael Okpara Square, to underscore the progress recorded so far in entrepreneurship and MSME development programmes of the state and federal governments, with the aim of improving the living standard of the people, more especially the youth, women and the less privileged.

The Vice President added that Gov. Ugwuanyi’s administration “is doing very well for the MSME” and in advancing the interest of small entrepreneurs, stressing that “the governor deserves a warm applause for the great works he has been doing”.

Prof Osinbajo, who noted that the MSME Clinic initiative was “particularly important” to the federal government, extended its hand of cooperation and fellowship to Gov. Ugwuanyi’s administration, disclosing that President Buhari’s administration “is fully committed in supporting states regardless of political or ethnic affiliations”.

He further disclosed that the federal government has “provided close to N2 trillion” for its social investment programmes, stressing that “small businesses are the future of our country”.

While reiterating the federal government’s commitment to the growth and development of entrepreneurship and small businesses, Prof. Osinbajo, expressed confidence that “together we will bring the deserved prosperity, not just to the people of Enugu State, but also to the people of Nigeria”.

In his welcome address, Gov. Ugwuanyi, who welcomed the Vice President, his entourage and other stakeholders, to Enugu for the event, commended President Buhari for “the vision behind the conception of this National MSME Clinic”.

Gov. Ugwuanyi said that the programme was another laudable addition to the numerous people-oriented initiatives the federal Government has introduced to fast track socio-economic development and improve the welfare of the people “more especially the youths, women and the less privileged”.

The governor disclosed that “Enugu State has indeed continued to enjoy a mutually rewarding and strategic partnership with the Federal Government on several fronts”, stating that his administration, in keeping with the Vice President’s directive, had inaugurated Enugu State Council on Ease of Doing Business aimed at promoting business engagements.

The governor said that Enugu is one of few states that have fully implemented the programme of the CBN 220 Billion MSME Development Fund, by funding over 2000 MSMEs, adding that the state has also “returned about N400 million out of the first tranche of N500 million received from CBN”.

According to him, “we wish also to commend, the CBN on the “Ose Nsukka” (Nsukka Yellow Pepper) Anchor Borrowers Program as well as other initiatives of the Bank in Enugu State.

“Our counterpart funding with the Bank of Industry (BOI) has produced over 36 SMEs worth more than N399 million in project value. From 2015, Enugu SME Center, our foremost enterprise development institute, has trained over 35,000 MSME owners and aspiring entrepreneurs including women and youths; and we have empowered more than 2400 traders with N50, 000 each through our raffle program open to all MSMEs in 54 local markets in the State.

“On the social investment scheme, our school feeding program is doing well, and over seven thousand applicants have benefited from Government Enterprise Empowerment Program (GEEP), otherwise called ‘Market Moni’. Under the N-power programme, Enugu State has received and successfully deployed over 16,000 beneficiaries to schools, farms and other places of assignment. We are currently concluding arrangements to officially launch the implementation of the Conditional Cash Transfer (CCT) in six selected local government councils.

“We are thus, leveraging social investment programs, both ours and that of the Federal Government to lift our people out of abject poverty while devoting MSME development funds to the formation of MSMEs that create wealth, jobs, empower people and also transform communities. All these are anchored on our firm belief that entrepreneurship and enterprise development are the pathways to sustainable development, employment creation and poverty eradication.

“We are happy therefore to join hands with our dear Vice President to use the National MSME Clinic to unleash the potentials of our private sector using MSMEs and also ensuring that the clinic remains sustainable”. #amokelouis

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=736391886704379&id=100010007227700

PoliticsRe: Videos From APC Lagos Governorship Primary by OEPHIUS(op): 11:38am On Oct 02, 2018
Moderators, Mynd44 Lalasticlala

I will post more videos. You can help add it to the initial post
PoliticsVideos From APC Lagos Governorship Primary by OEPHIUS(op): 11:27am On Oct 02, 2018
PoliticsBamigbetan Secretly Begin Working For Sanwo-olu, In Meeting With Party Leaders by OEPHIUS(op): 12:46pm On Oct 01, 2018
For embattled Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode, thing may no longer go well in his office, with some members of the governor’s cabinet already considering distancing themselves from the state house, including Commissioner for Information, Kehinde Bamigbetan, who was confirmed to had sent signal, during night, to All Progressive Congress (APC) state chapter leaders of his community, to start working for another governorship aspirant, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, against his boss.

As gathered, Bamigbetan, who is from a local government under Oshodi-Isolo area, was said to had also summoned all the leaders to a meeting in his house on Monday morning, immediately after it was announced that a scheduled direct primary for the governorship contenders was postponed to 2nd of October.

Although, information reaching The Guild through one of the commissioner’s aides was that there was a meeting on going between Bamigbetan and the leaders of his community, signalling that the governor’s cabinet member could come all out to make his position known.

The commissioner action was said to had come after Ambode reaffirmed his readiness to go through pronounced governorship direct primary of the APC, alongside his only contender, Sanwo-Olu, and from indication, more of the governor’s cabinet member could also showed their true position before the primary.

Our source inside the commissioner’s residents disclosed to us that Bamigbetan messaged entire party leaders under him at about one o’clock, in the night, with instruction that they should all go out, alongside entire members of APC in the area, to cast vote for Sanwo-olu, an indication that the governor’s cabinet member may tender his resignation when work resumes on Tuesday.

He said the commissioner’s loyalty was for the party National Leader, Bola Tinubu, and that he may not be able to continue working for his boss, should he come out open today after the ongoing meeting with the leaders.

He hinted that the Bagbetan and leaders were working on how to mobilize for Sanwo-olu and that he was only acting on instruction all the while.

Another one from the commissioner’s office had speculated the development last week that Bamigbetan would not go against Tinubu but rather go against Ambode.

He explained that the action of the commissioner was expected and that in fact, it was long due before the decision was made.

“I learnt of the development this morning too and i know the commissioner made the right decision because despite the office he upholds, he is not been given chance to operate.

His office is been controlled from governor’s office by one of Ambode’s man and there is nothing Bangbetan can do about it even as a commissioner”.

Meanwhile, effort to speak with the commissioner directly on the development proved abortive as he was not available to comment on his action.

Earlier, an exclusive report from The Guild had that Bamgbetan, Special Adviser to the governor on Community and Communication Affairs, Hakeem Sulaiman, and Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Imohimi Edgal, had a close door meeting on how they could work for the re-election of Ambode after his rejection from leaders of the party.

http://www.theguildng.com/exclusive-bamigbetan-secretly-begin-working-for-sanwo-olu-in-meeting-with-party-leaders/

PoliticsRe: Governor Ugwuanyi Emerge PDP Candidate In Enugu State by OEPHIUS(op): 9:37pm On Sep 30, 2018
Mynd44
Lalasticlala

More pics

PoliticsGovernor Ugwuanyi Emerge PDP Candidate In Enugu State by OEPHIUS(op): 8:58pm On Sep 30, 2018
Jubilation as Ugwuanyi emerges PDP Guber Candidate in Enugu

Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State has been overwhelmingly elected as the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the February 2019 governorship election in the state.

Governor Ugwuanyi, who was the sole aspirant in the colourful and hitch-free governorship primary election held at the popular Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Enugu, emerged the party's candidate after polling 2,782 valid votes out of total votes cast of 2,859, by the delegates.

This is the first time in the history of the state an aspirant to the office of the Governor is contesting in the party primaries unopposed or as a sole aspirant.

The exercise, which started with accreditation of delegates at the Michael Okpara Square, Enugu, commenced at about 3pm, after 2, 864 accredited delegates were conveyed to the venue of the primary election in luxury buses.

Declaring the primary election, which was monitored by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) open, the Chairman of the 5-man State Electoral Committee from National Secretariat of the Party, Senator Ambuno Zik, stated that the exercise will be conducted in accordance with the electoral act and party's guidelines and constitution.

Senator Zik, who noted that Gov. Ugwuanyi was the sole aspirant for the governorship primary election, added that delegates will have to vote accordingly, stressing: "Due process must be followed".

He commended Gov. Ugwuanyi for entrenching peace and good governance in Enugu State, and also appreciated the state leadership of the the party, INEC, security agencies and party's stakeholders for their contributions to the success of the exercise.

Introducing the sole governorship aspirant of the party to the delegates, the Deputy President of the Senate, Prof. Ike Ekweremadu, applauded Gov. Ugwuanyi for holding the forte for the party and state, disclosing that this was the first time in the past 21 years of his active participation in politics, that the PDP would be having a sole aspirant as well as a non-contentious governorship primary election.

According to him, "today we have not only a Governor who has performed very well, he has also entrenched peace in Enugu State".

Gov. Ugwuanyi while thanking the delegates for the overwhelming support and the unanimous mandate they gave him, expressed gratitude to God for the peace in Enugu State which has brought development and good governance.

The governor also appreciated the leadership of the Party at the National, State, Local Government and Ward levels for their support and solidarity.

He equally commended INEC, security agencies, the media and the good people of the state for the successful primaries, assuring them "it will end in praises in Jesus name."

Enugu State is truly in the hands of God! #amokelouis

PoliticsSanwo-olu Expresses Readiness For Lagos APC Direct Primary by OEPHIUS(op): 8:26am On Sep 30, 2018
Despite sea of endorsements and adoption of Babajide Sanwo-olu as preferred candidate for Lagos State chapter of All Progressive Congress gubernatorial ticket, the former Commissioner of Establishment has clarified that he was in for direct primary of the party, saying he had not been anointed as an automatic candidate or been imposed on any contender.

Through Director General, Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu Campaign Organisation (BOSCO), Tayo Ayinde, he restated his readiness himself and that his of organisation for the direct primaries that was been rescheduled for 1st of October by the state’s chapter of APC.

Through a statement issued on Sunday by Director Media, Olusesan Diani, Ayinde said that the group’s governorship aspirant was set for the election and that all card carrying members of the APC should file out on Monday to exercise their franchise in a peaceful and orderly manner.

It said: “Sanwo-olu’s campaign organisation notes with concerns of attempt by some unscrupulous elements to disrupt the election process.

“What we witnessed during the APC’s stakeholders meeting at the party’s secretariat, where hundred of thugs were hired to cause mayhem, is a pointer to sinister motives of some people to make it difficult for the election to hold”, he said.

“We called on all security agents to be alive to their duties by providing adequate security to citizens who will be casting votes, just as he advised them to stay away from partisan.

Ayinde noted that the group’s aspirant had enjoyed tremendous support, goodwill and endorsements from various sections of the party, including from Governor Advisory Committee (GAC), 36 members of Lagos State House Assembly, senators from three senatorial districts of the state and members of House of Representatives as well as Market and religious leaders.

“We believe that our aspirant must go to the primary to test his popularity before members of the party”.

“It should be recalled that one of the contenders in the governorship race, former commissioner of Works, Dr. Femi Hamzat, just boosted our chances of winning by stepping down for our aspirant in an unprecedented manner. We are democratic and we believe strongly in the tenets of democracy”.

“Without any doubt, Babajide Sanwo-olu, a thorough bred professional administrator and politician remains a candidate to beat in this coming election,” he stated.

http://www.theguildng.com/sanwo-olu-expresses-readiness-for-lagos-apc-direct-primary/
PoliticsHamzat, Lagos Lawmakers Adopt Sanwo-olu As APC Guber Flag Bearer by OEPHIUS(op): 12:09pm On Sep 29, 2018
Emerging from ongoing secret meeting of members of Lagos State House of Assembly, was report of the state’s lawmakers who have just adopted Babajide Sanwo-olu as preferred candidate to have All Progressive Congress (APC) chapter of Lagos’s governorship ticket against embattled incumbent Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode.

Also, one of the governorship contenders, former Commissioner of Works, Femi Hamzat, had also back down on his ambition and adopted Sawo-olu as his preferred candidate to have the party’s ticket.

From the ongoing meeting, the 36 members of the house preferred Sanwo-olu as their candidate and they were ready to all come out open on their decision before meeting of stakeholders at the party’s secretariat later today.

A members of the the house who spoke to The Guild on the development, disclosed that the lawmakers were at plenary session and that the meeting was still on going.

He said that the members had reached consensus on the matter and that the decision would soon be made available in public domain once the 36 lawmakers of the house complete signing of the agreement.

From the development, there is a strong indication that Ambode may be able to thread the path anymore.

Detail later…

http://www.theguildng.com/exclusive-lagos-house-of-assembly-adopts-sanwo-olu-as-apc-guber-flag-bearer/
Politics"For 6 Months, We Couldn't Reach The Governor" - Mainland LGA Chairman by OEPHIUS(op): 9:21am On Sep 29, 2018
"Almost 6 months ago, we have been looking for ways to talk to our Governor & we call ourselves LGA Chairmen, how would u know If what u are doing is okay or not.. " - Chairman Mainland LGA, Mrs Rashidat Omolola Essien (Chair of Chair)....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsgrsbZVXoY

PoliticsPolice Officers Caught Tearing Down Jide Sanwo-olu Campaign Posters by OEPHIUS(op): 2:23pm On Sep 28, 2018
Police caught pulling down Sanwo-olu's campaign posters, shoots sporadically in Ikorodu

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nx-1Jwu3Z8Q
PoliticsAPC Governorship Primary May Get Raw After Ambode’s Secret N5.5bn Disbursement by OEPHIUS(op): 8:37am On Sep 27, 2018
Concerned members from All Progressive Congress (APC), particularly those from former Commissioner for Establishment, Babajide Sanwo-olu, camp, Babajide Olusola Sanwon-olu Campaign Organisation (BOSCO), have began expressing worries over how alleged power house were planning to cause violence in the state through governorship primary election of the party, expected to hold in the state on Saturday.

They claimed that there was need for authority to start bracing up security and that the state Governor, Akinwumi Ambode, and Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Edga Imohimi, must be caution against encouraging violence ahead of the primary election in which the governor was a contender, alongside others.

However, the worries, which was not made public, came after Ambode was said to had allegedly began disbursement of N5.5 billion for securing of the APC’s governorship ticket.

Although, hours before the N5.5 billion secret disbursement, Ambode expressed his readiness to participate in the primary election of the party despite pressure from some quarters that the governors should back-down on his second term ambition.

Sources from the BOSCO who spoke to The Guild on the development said that their concerns were on safety of people in the state as attention of the party had been brought to desperation on side of contenders.

One of the sources explained that the readiness of Ambode to go though the primary was commendable but that such acceptance should not happen with intimidation.

He claimed that Ambode and Lagos CP were associate and that the governor may want to capitalize on the opportunity to get the governorship ticket through the back doors.

Another one accused that the governor had plan to make use of Imohimi to create violence on Saturday, and that Ambode’s body language signified that he was aiming to get raw during the primary.

He raised that there was need for the commissioner of police immediate transfer since his ally of Ambode and that he cannot be trusted.

Meanwhile, a source from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), who confided in The Guild on Wednesday afternoon, disclosed that Ambode was on sinister move, with plan to get the ticket through the back

“Remember I told you thar Ambode and his people want to get the ticket by back doors and they plan to scatter the primary election.

“His hope is that Abuja will now give him ticket. That is what the governor is working on. Enough is said, kindly pass the message to people and let them be vigilant”.

Besides, from Sanwo-olu’s camp, another close associate accused the governor of not been with party from the onset and that a passage from his statement issued earlier, which only recognized 20 local government areas and 245 wards, was an indication that Ambode has ulterior motives.

He raised alarm that trouble was brewing ahead the primary election since the governor has both CP and power on his side and that calling Ambode to order would safe the state from unforeseen chaos.

However, in preparation for the primary election, the State Chairman, APC, Tunde Balogun, invited chairmen of local government areas and that of councils’ chairmen to a crucial working meeting which would be holding at the party’s secretariat in Lagos.

In a statement released on Wednesday by the state secretary, Dr Wale Ahmed, the chairman said that it was important the party get the primaries venues for each L.G.A on the basis of 20 Local Government and for each ward on the basis of 245 wards.

According to him, all concerned should please meet later today to harmonize and agree on the said venues and submit them tomorrow morning.

“I implore you to consider as urgent and please comply”.

In the face of tough period for the governorship primary contenders, another revelation reaching The Guild from various sources was that one of believed political daughter, Kemi Nelson, and another political son, James Falake, of National Leader of APC, Bola Tinubu, were working for Ambode and that they were also against their god father.

They alleged that the duo were working together to have Ambode return to office and that both Nelson and Falake move were general knowledge.

Meanwhile, it was gathered that Ambode, during a meeting of his inner clique yesterday night in Lagos, approved a budget of N5.5 billion to be spent in ensuring that he secures the APC ticket come Saturday when the primaries would be held.

As learnt, the money, which was claimed to had been released in trenches of N250 million, would be shared to voters in the local governments and other target voters.

Speaking on the disbursement of the fund, a source close to the government disclosed that the sharing of the money had commenced discreetly and that one Segun Solanke was among critical links in the execution of the sharing plan of money for votes.

She revealed that those at the meeting asked Ambode to call Tinubu’s bluff and go for broke and that the argument was canvassed that having shut down the money pipes to the party’s national leader, he was in a stronger position to buy his way through the primaries.

“Ambode was also told that if money could buy votes and near victory for the uneducated Senator Adeleke in Osun state then definitely money will work for Ambode in Lagos as a sitting governor”.

“Ambode bought into this arguments and worked out a budget buoyed on by the 2 hawks in his kitchen cabinet who reminded him that “We have the money. Lets spend it.”

“Only one person at the meeting cautioned against the use of such a huge amount of money because Lagosians will perceive it as wasting tax payers money. The same voice also said the comparison of Osun and the situation in Lagos was different.

http://www.theguildng.com/lagos-apc-governorship-primary-may-get-raw-after-ambodes-secret-n5-5bn-disbursement/

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 (of 72 pages)