Stats: 3,152,269 members, 7,815,450 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 12:39 PM

General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 - Travel (441) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 (1111870 Views)

General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 7 / General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 6 / General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 5 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (438) (439) (440) (441) (442) (443) (444) ... (709) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by CooKeed(m): 8:51am On Aug 17, 2021
Adeniranjadesol:
Congratulations your testimony gave me lot of hope, although I don’t know I can book ahead,what is my fate since I didn’t apply for that on time , I applied just this month, my course starts 6th of next month, I am given a chance to enroll online at first till arrival will I still get AD this year? And should I transfer the block account month after getting an appointment date or I must deposit it from now. My number starts with 13 and ends with 60* Thanks in anticipation.

I initially wrote a long response and then I erased it. Cos at this point, unless you're cat A, nothing is certian. We are all doing permutations and hoping.

Pls don't fund your block account till you get a date. It is not always easy to get the money back if you end up changing your plan.

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by Analyst01(m): 9:05am On Aug 17, 2021
Hi guys,

I was recently awarded the PTDF scholarship which I applied and was interviewed for in 2020. Destination of choice is Germany. However, I've recently travelled to Norway to start an M.Sc. program in Structural Engineering at the University of Stavanger.

Please, I'd like to know how long it would take the German consulate to send me an interview invite if/when I applied for the German visa.

I wish you all the best.
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by UncleJudax(m): 11:42am On Aug 17, 2021
Ndyoo:

You moved from AOK to Mawista and now to another public insurance that don't have a name. You have to mention the exception that made you to switch such as low income, age etc.
i hope you are arguing in good faith. i am now with Knappschaft. There was no exception.
Heck, my salary is more than enough to be privately or publicly insured but i chose the latter.

of course there may be situations where one may not be allowed to switch, and i also don't claim to be an expert in this area but to say that one cannot switch back to public after leaving is not true ( and you have also mentioned some factors that may counter that argument)
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by UncleJudax(m): 11:50am On Aug 17, 2021
OdogwuEkeke:
And we have a Nigerian ambassador to Germany and Abike Dabiri. They are also acting like they do not know what is going on. Nobody should try to 'dabirize' me when I eventually blow abroad.

Nigeria embassy in Germany. Lol. those guys been wan frustrate me some two months ago for passport extension, i jejely enter Austria go do am. Berlin de mad!

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by Ijeshalomo(m): 3:21pm On Aug 17, 2021
UncleJudax:

i hope you are arguing in good faith. i am now with Knappschaft. There was no exception.
Heck, my salary is more than enough to be privately or publicly insured but i chose the latter.

of course there may be situations where one may not be allowed to switch, and i also don't claim to be an expert in this area but to say that one cannot switch back to public after leaving is not true ( and you have also mentioned some factors that may counter that argument)

One thing you should know about Germany with my experience is that different contact with diverse information. I was at a bank in another city to open a student account. I was told to go to my city where I registered to get a bank account opened. Behold I went to the next branch and nothing of residence registration stopped my bank account opening. Therefore, meeting a showstopper during your insurance doesn’t mean it’s a standard that you can’t maneuver insurances. Another way you may be getting it wrong is that some schls specifically tell you to go to public insurance to sign a document that you won’t be using public insurance since you are already on private again till you graduate. But so far you get a job that gives long contract, bro the company herself will change that your private to public health insurance

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by UncleJudax(m): 4:48pm On Aug 17, 2021
Ijeshalomo:

One thing you should know about Germany with my experience is that different contact with diverse information. I was at a bank in another city to open a student account. I was told to go to my city where I registered to get a bank account opened. Behold I went to the next branch and nothing of residence registration stopped my bank account opening. Therefore, meeting a showstopper during your insurance doesn’t mean it’s a standard that you can’t maneuver insurances. Another way you may be getting it wrong is that some schls specifically tell you to go to public insurance to sign a document that you won’t be using public insurance since you are already on private again till you graduate. But so far you get a job that gives long contract, bro the company herself will change that your private to public health insurance
i think you are way off the mark. the original dispute is whether one could switch from public to private insurance and switch back to public later. And my contribution is YES. Of course, some other factors may or maynot allow this.

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by Ijeshalomo(m): 6:54pm On Aug 17, 2021
UncleJudax:

i think you are way off the mark. the original dispute is whether one could switch from public to private insurance and switch back to public later. And my contribution is YES. Of course, some other factors may or maynot allow this.

Yes I am supporting the same. I am only consolidating with scenarios

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by TJ10: 8:18pm On Aug 17, 2021
But students with admission letter and FULLY funded blocked account have to wait for "OVER" one year

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by GreatMage: 9:01pm On Aug 17, 2021
OdogwuEkeke:
Hard facts.

The new variant is not helping matters plus they are still trying to have more people get the vaccine. At my Uni, they are still encouraging students to get vaccinated.

At times I wonder what the use of these ambassadors?

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by GreatMage: 9:05pm On Aug 17, 2021
SpongeBobSP:
Bro, I'm already in the phase where I have all but given up, my school will resume on 15th of October, and it has to be in-person enrollment or forfeit. The future looks pretty bleak regarding meeting that date. We need a miracle at this point. I'm already getting my shit together for Finland a the end of the year, cos this German business is slowly looking like a burst! cry cry sad

Send them letter explaining the situation and ask if you can do proxy enrolment...

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by ipassu: 9:43pm On Aug 17, 2021
Hello House,
Can someone help with the procedure for getting an airport transit visa for Germany? Im travelling to the UK via Frankfurt.

Thanks in advance
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by OdogwuEkeke(m): 2:09am On Aug 18, 2021
Lol, my Lil sister also entered Austria I guess that was 2019 for passport renewal as they said no passport at the Nigerian embassy in Germany.

Omo it is sickening for this to still be going on, over a year!!

She said the person that attended to her at the Nigerian embassy in Austria then requested for 100EUR else he would not process her passport.

Nigerian to Nigerian oh!! and we keep singing the national anthem.

Those ambassadors know what is going on na, they get 20k or so pounds to go Uk na.

UncleJudax:

Nigeria embassy in Germany. Lol. those guys been wan frustrate me some two months ago for passport extension, i jejely enter Austria go do am. Berlin de mad!
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by OdogwuEkeke(m): 2:11am On Aug 18, 2021
This is on the embassy website.

I cannot recall where but I have read this before on the German website. You should check it.

ipassu:
Hello House,
Can someone help with the procedure for getting an airport transit visa for Germany? Im travelling to the UK via Frankfurt.

Thanks in advance
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by OdogwuEkeke(m): 2:12am On Aug 18, 2021
Omo shae boys no go grow beards like this lol.

I will sha send a tweet or DM to that handler ooh

Abi dem dey whine me ni.

TJ10:
But students with admission letter and FULLY funded blocked account have to wait for "OVER" one year

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by OdogwuEkeke(m): 2:15am On Aug 18, 2021
So far you are already in Europe, you are not on the same level as most people here.

Send a mail to the German embassy in the country where you are in, I don't think you will have a problem with getting an interview

Analyst01:
Hi guys,

I was recently awarded the PTDF scholarship which I applied and was interviewed for in 2020. Destination of choice is Germany. However, I've recently travelled to Norway to start an M.Sc. program in Structural Engineering at the University of Stavanger.

Please, I'd like to know how long it would take the German consulate to send me an interview invite if/when I applied for the German visa.

I wish you all the best.
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by OdogwuEkeke(m): 2:16am On Aug 18, 2021
Spend tax payers money and send their kids to the UK or the US

GreatMage:

At times I wonder what the use of these ambassadors?

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by UncleJudax(m): 6:50am On Aug 18, 2021
OdogwuEkeke:
Lol, my Lil sister also entered Austria I guess that was 2019 for passport renewal as they said no passport at the Nigerian embassy in Germany.

Omo it is sickening for this to still be going on, over a year!!

She said the person that attended to her at the Nigerian embassy in Austria then requested for 100EUR else he would not process her passport.

Nigerian to Nigerian oh!! and we keep singing the national anthem.

Those ambassadors know what is going on na, they get 20k or so pounds to go Uk na.

Yea. i paid in total €160 extra but got it same day.
Naija na wahala, home and abroad

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by Ingenieur1: 9:28am On Aug 18, 2021
Coldie:

When I first went to Lagos, I booked block account opening as my consular services. Because I couldn't find anywhere they said block account closure, so I assumed that since it's opening they also have the power to close. Mr Paulinus turned me back for wrong booking.

I had to book again, I almost caused a scene there cause theres no where it says anything again there about block account apart from block account opening. He pointed to a paper I printed at DAT cyber cafe section just to come and show them to use there own hands to show me where to book cause I can't be doing trial and error. He pointed I was to choose miscellaneous as consular services.

Then I did and got a date. Like some weeks later.

I ignorantly went and printed heaven and earth my admission letter, fintiba account form etc.

All u need is just your passport, proof of appointment date- just copy the page u got the appointment into Microsoft word and print it out.
There's a particular form u would get from them.

When u reach there wait for your turn tell them that you are not going to Germany again that u want to withdraw your money from your block account they will give u a form. Printed and stamped. The guy would ask you why tell him you can't get a date.

He would tell u the amount which is I'm euros then u change to naura which is around 10k as at Jan.

Once u get that form scan it to fintiba under account closure that's all.

Note the money would be sent back to the sender. So if u borrowed it from somebody u have to contact the person
hi! Please pm me I need this account closure form smiley
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by olutosyne: 11:38am On Aug 18, 2021
good morning great people,

I applied and hope for winter admission which in oct 2021.

My school interview(TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY OF MUNICH) is scheduled for 27th Aug,2021.

I'm so eager what and what should I be expecting in the interview?

Also ,can I still make it for oct Admission because I have not applied for student visa ?

Pls what is d next stage after interview
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by Montenate: 11:57am On Aug 18, 2021
CooKeed:

No.

Please does this mean its not acceptable anymore??

I applied for AD around may/june, even before applying to schools but still no feedback. My admission is out and sponsorship letter is the option I am taking. Kindly advise next steps, anybody. Many thanks
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by OdogwuEkeke(m): 12:11pm On Aug 18, 2021
Omo those insane people added €60 kwa!!!!

Mad ooh

UncleJudax:

Yea. i paid in total €160 extra but got it same day.
Naija na wahala, home and abroad
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by UncleJudax(m): 12:51pm On Aug 18, 2021
OdogwuEkeke:
Omo those insane people added €60 kwa!!!!

Mad ooh

extra 10€ for posting 100€ . additional 50€ for express service. i needed the passport asap and didnt want to wait for them to post it (i no wan hear gossip).

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by CooKeed(m): 1:19pm On Aug 18, 2021
Montenate:

Please does this mean its not acceptable anymore??

I applied for AD around may/june, even before applying to schools but still no feedback. My admission is out and sponsorship letter is the option I am taking. Kindly advise next steps, anybody. Many thanks

It is acceptable.

As for AD, many people are waiting. So am I. Unless you belong to cat A, there's no guarantee of AD for anyone, based on recent trends. Some people get it, some don't. There seems to be no logic to it.

Perhaps appying earlier could have increased your chances, who knows. At this point, the only thing you can do is wait, hope and pray. If you have other options, please consider them.
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by Montenate: 1:54pm On Aug 18, 2021
CooKeed:

It is acceptable.

As for AD, many people are waiting. So am I. Unless you belong to cat A, there's no guarantee of AD for anyone, based on recent trends. Some people get it, some don't. There seems to be no logic to it.

Perhaps appying earlier could have increased your chances, who knows. At this point, the only thing you can do is wait, hope and pray. If you have other options, please consider them.

Thanks for responding.

"Approximately 4 to 6 weeks prior to your appointment to apply for a visa you will receive a e-mail with the exact date of your appointment.

If you don't receive an appointment confirmation email prior to your mentioned date of the beginning of your studies your registration can no longer be considered. In this case please cancel your registration. Thank you!"

The quote above came with the AD registration confirmation email back in June. Is it advisable to cancel and re-register for the AD? Thanks again
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by MrAAA2: 4:59pm On Aug 18, 2021
Ndyoo:

The TK at your backyard you meant. What he pays is normal. I was paying 180 - 200 after graduation. Employers like people with public health insurance.

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by baxton25(m): 5:52pm On Aug 18, 2021
baxton25:
Hi good evening house, been reading this trend for a while now, I want apply for admission in a German university, for BSc and i don't have any degree yet apart from waec, I'm 24 can i get a student visa? I'd really love to study in Germany.

No response yet, please I you guys should respond
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by Elninoarmando(m): 5:54pm On Aug 18, 2021
Montenate:

Thanks for responding.

"Approximately 4 to 6 weeks prior to your appointment to apply for a visa you will receive a e-mail with the exact date of your appointment.

If you don't receive an appointment confirmation email prior to your mentioned date of the beginning of your studies your registration can no longer be considered. In this case please cancel your registration. Thank you!"

The quote above came with the AD registration confirmation email back in June. Is it advisable to cancel and re-register for the AD? Thanks again

If you're in category B,no need of cancelling and re-booking.
It's the same story.
According to their page,the waiting period for category B applicants,who booked from mid-june(that was when they elongated the waiting period) till now is over a year.
Just hope and pray as you were told earlier.
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by Elninoarmando(m): 6:02pm On Aug 18, 2021
baxton25:

No response yet, please I you guys should respond

You can.
As a Nigerian,having only WAEC won't get you into a German University.
You have to go for "Studienkolleg" ie preparatory course and pass the "Feststellungsprüfung" ie University qualification exam,before you can get admission into the university.
Note that this preparatory course is taught in German,even if you're going for English-taught programmes.This means that higher German language proficiency is required.
But,be ready to defend why you didn't get your first degree in Nigeria or why you're not yet in a Nigerian University at 24 during the interview.
Go to uni-assist's and German embassy's pages and inform yourself very well.

Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by CooKeed(m): 7:09pm On Aug 18, 2021
Montenate:

Thanks for responding.

I won't advise you to cancel.

Again, nothing is certain cos the communication from the consulate is not clear.

On one hand they say the waiting period is now 12 months. On the other hand they say you should cancel if you dont get an AD before your start date. And it makes no sense to book 12 months ahead.

Anyway, we've recently seen a few people who got ADs within 2 months of booking under Cat B. So anything is possible.
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by ohswagz: 8:00pm On Aug 18, 2021
olutosyne:
good morning great people,

I applied and hope for winter admission which in oct 2021.

My school interview(TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY OF MUNICH) is scheduled for 27th Aug,2021.

I'm so eager what and what should I be expecting in the interview?

Also ,can I still make it for oct Admission because I have not applied for student visa ?

Pls what is d next stage after interview
This TUM harsh oh...Interview on the 27th of August.....So, Wen will dey now send admission letter....Wow
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by Montenate: 10:09am On Aug 19, 2021
CooKeed:

I won't advise you to cancel.

Again, nothing is certain cos the communication from the consulate is not clear.

On one hand they say the waiting period is now 12 months. On the other hand they say you should cancel if you dont get an AD before your start date. And it makes no sense to book 12 months ahead.

Anyway, we've recently seen a few people who got ADs within 2 months of booking under Cat B. So anything is possible.

Oh mhen!, it's really a confusing situation!. Thanks
Re: General-german-student-visa-enquiries Part 8 by Montenate: 11:13am On Aug 19, 2021
Elninoarmando:

If you're in category B,no need of cancelling and re-booking.
It's the same story.
According to their page,the waiting period for category B applicants,who booked from mid-june(that was when they elongated the waiting period) till now is over a year.
Just hope and pray as you were told earlier.

Please can you send the link of that page

(1) (2) (3) ... (438) (439) (440) (441) (442) (443) (444) ... (709) (Reply)

Travelling To Canada Part 7 / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 17 / Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 63