Stats: 3,154,182 members, 7,821,996 topics. Date: Thursday, 09 May 2024 at 12:26 AM

Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers - Jobs/Vacancies - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Jobs/Vacancies / Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers (35073 Views)

How Removing My Nigerian Name From CV Got Me Job Offers In The UK – Man Narrates / Sacked By Konga, Customer Service Rep Gets 30 Job Offers On Twitter In 24 Hours / N-power Explains How To Check Pre-selection Status (2) (3) (4)

Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by ijustdey: 6:36pm On Feb 09, 2022
Inein Victor Garrick, a Nigerian living in the United Kingdom (UK), has narrated how his decision to remove his native name from his CV marked the beginning of multiple job offers for him.

The 34-year-old, who was born in Southwest Nigeria, currently works as a Safety Inspector at Transport for Wales.

He said he began using his middle name Victor after struggling to get any job offers years after graduating from South Wales University in the UK.

“I never seemed to get past the first application stages even though on paper, I had all the necessary requirements for at least an interview,” Inien told Mirror UK.

“In addition, the few calls I had, the recruiters had an issue in saying my first name correctly.

“I started using Victor’s as first name due to the barriers I faced whilst applying to jobs after university.

“With comments like your name is difficult or hard to pronounce. I always felt I was on the backfoot and sent some unconscious bias.

“The moment I changed to my middle name Victor, on my CV, within a week, I had multiple calls for interviews.”

Inien moved to the UK aged 22 and he began to experience people mispronouncing his name.

He did not mind people mispronouncing his name at first but it started getting challenging because people were not making attempts to get his name right.

Rather than call him Inien, people choose to him Victor – his last name because it was easier to pronounce.

Inien said he “really felt the effect of it when I was trying to get a job. On paper, I had the necessary qualifications to at least get an interview.”

The few calls for job offers he had were slipping off at the point when they thought his name was quite tricky but to him it is very simple – just five letters.

“That was always the start of the conversation, oh your name is difficult and then asking where I’m from,” Inien said.

“But when I got to the interview stage, I’d answer when they call out my name and I’d be asked again, almost like ‘are you sure that’s you?”

Inein works with Transport for Wales, where he has been ever since and has praised the company for its supportive ethos.

He, however, feels he was “hiding part of himself” and has decided to stop going by Victor and return to his Nigerian name.

“I think it did really hit me. Last year, I almost felt like I hid a part of myself all those years,” Inien said. “It wasn’t shame per se but I wasn’t my true self.

“People would hear Victor and assume I was British or English and I wasn’t highlighting my true identity.

“I’m proud of where I’m from and I think I hid behind Victor. This opened that door to talk about Nigeria and my cultural heritage, it’s a fantastic conversation starter.”

https://guardian.ng/news/how-removing-native-name-from-my-cv-got-me-uk-job-offers-nigerian/

12 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by TheStakeHolder(m): 6:39pm On Feb 09, 2022
interesting...

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by Dreambeat: 6:44pm On Feb 09, 2022
True, dem don mispronounce mine tire but I no send dem. They even attempted to shorten my name to something that sounds English I still refused to accept that. Una must learn to pronounce my name by force

180 Likes 12 Shares

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by Merlissa(f): 6:45pm On Feb 09, 2022
I comment my reserve
Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by dawnomike(m): 6:47pm On Feb 09, 2022
Inien Is representing...

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by ThinkSmarter: 6:50pm On Feb 09, 2022
It is not about Nigeria, it is about your tribal name so difficult to pronounce.
I am Igbo but i find names of Edo/benin, urhobo/isoko, Tiv and some Ijaw name difficult to pronounce.

83 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by Rastaramsey(m): 6:54pm On Feb 09, 2022
After all,man gats chop.....

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by Legendguy(m): 7:15pm On Feb 09, 2022
ThinkSmarter:
It is not about Nigeria, it is about your tribal name so difficult to pronounce.
I am Igbo but i find names of Edo/benin, urhobo/isoko, Tiv and some Ijaw name difficult to pronounce.
My surname is imafidon and it's very easy to pronounce.
Most Nigerians use to think I'm not Nigerian because of my name and I'm from Edo state.

25 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by shilenji(m): 8:04pm On Feb 09, 2022
Who Native Identity epp??

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by Nobody: 8:52pm On Feb 09, 2022
Una dey see wetin sakawa and ogume juju boys don cause
Make anybody mention buhari name again una go tell me weda na buhari hold una papa for blokos

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by Luckysbab: 11:41pm On Feb 09, 2022
alsudan:
In Buharis Nigeria, the only name that gets you a job is Sani Abdulrasheed and the likes.

I'm not a Buhari fan, but this is unintelligent of you bringing up a totally unrelated matter.

You could have simply ran along

37 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by Luckysbab: 11:41pm On Feb 09, 2022
MyVILLAGEpeople:
Just look at the disaster Buhari has caused angry

See this one too. How old are you again?

22 Likes 1 Share

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by georgementday(m): 11:42pm On Feb 09, 2022
Yes, he is 34

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by ednut1(m): 11:47pm On Feb 09, 2022
After name barrier , accent own still dey.

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by Habeeb081: 1:45am On Feb 10, 2022
Who has the idea how to reach the operators of WhatsApp TV � of various universities in Nigeria ?
Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by adedayoa2(f): 4:16am On Feb 10, 2022
manchinkids:
embarassed it's now this bad? Our name has been soiled beyond repair in the abroad. Nigerians we need to do better
You for try read wetin him write before you comment o

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by Taich(m): 8:01am On Feb 10, 2022
Dreambeat:
True, dem don mispronounce mine tire but I no send dem. They even attempted to shorten my name to something that sounds English I still refused to accept that. Una must learn to pronounce my name by force

I almost hugged one lady that pronounced my names right, after getting used to being called all sorts of things.

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by earthsync(f): 8:05am On Feb 10, 2022
Rather than call him Inien, people choose to him Victor – his last name because it was easier to pronounce.

So these people can't pronounce Inien because it's difficult but expect us to say their name right when they be answering names like Saoirse Kowalski But can't pronounce Inien

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by BigDawsNet: 8:57am On Feb 10, 2022
Congratulations

Buts it's not about Nigeria...

It's your tribal name giving them hard time to pronounce...

My dad when he arrived in the states... He gave out his first tribal name only.. it was hard for dis people to pronounce it...

So one of them add few letters to his name just to help him upgrade to American stylish pronouncation...

Now the name sounds more forign and easy to call by them...

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by Blazebond(m): 11:37am On Feb 10, 2022
Hmmm,but I bet you that they can pronounce Eastern Europeans native names,Arab names,language names from oriental Asia,Africans have really not learnt anything at all,your culture is going to be erased because you never learn.racism and discrimination is real my people,very real.

19 Likes 1 Share

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by Blazebond(m): 11:50am On Feb 10, 2022
Some clowns find it funny that the same people and race who enslaved us for centuries and is still taking advantage of us today are finding it difficult to pronounce our names,we think it is cool to answer their English names,I feel so sorry for us,we reduced our traditional marriage to nothing but plan big for their white wedding,we think our names are not beautiful enough anymore that is why we now give ourselves and out kids English and other European foreign names,tsk tsk tsk tsk,I don’t know what is wrong with Africa and Africans sha.

18 Likes 1 Share

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by twosquare(m): 12:12pm On Feb 10, 2022
Lol...if they can pronounce Schwarzenegger right, they should be able to pronounce yours right and other African names. But of course, we all know they are pretending and passing across a message that "you don't matter or we don't give a f.uck"

That's obodo oyinbo for you.

International freelancers can relate to that man's story. It's the truth no matter how some try to deny it. Change your name and country flag, and boom...orders, hires, and contract jobs stampede into your coffers in their multiples... grin grin cheesy
earthsync:

So these people can't pronounce Inien because it's difficult but expect us to say their name right when they be answering names like Saoirse Kowalski But can't pronounce Inien

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by oluseyiforjesus(m): 12:15pm On Feb 10, 2022
Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by 900warriorz: 12:16pm On Feb 10, 2022
My Country is not a curse...take it or leave it

We shall be great again angry

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by GboyegaD(m): 12:16pm On Feb 10, 2022
Hmm... I have heard this many times but not sure how true it is. At the moment, I go by my middle name which was what my first bank bank in Naija used too. Having an English surname makes it seem wired sometimes because it hides my identity but, I'm okay with it.

Re: Man Explains How Removing Nigerian Name From CV Got Him UK Job Offers by Dailymice: 12:16pm On Feb 10, 2022
lipsrsealed

28 List Of Fake/scam Companies / Army Recruitment: Concerns As South East Fails To Fill Quota / Uch Ibadan Is Recruiting

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 25