Stats: 3,158,200 members, 7,835,975 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 May 2024 at 06:32 PM

Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? - Religion (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? (37076 Views)

Does The Bible Really Condemn Polygamy Marriage ? / Giving Your Tithe To The Church Or To The Needy: What The Bible Really Says / Did The Bible Really Say That A Woman Must Marry Her Rapist? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (17) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by MrHighSea: 10:18am On Mar 13, 2022
one book,
several confusions
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by heykims(m): 10:19am On Mar 13, 2022
I've read through the thread and none has provided any portion of the Bible where polygamy is forbidden. No one.

Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Starzo: 10:20am On Mar 13, 2022
dialfa:
Even Jesus had 12 boyfriends.

And you are worrying about 2 wives?
your fada!.. Na ur pedophile prophet wey dey rape children upandan you suppose dey ashamed of.
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by harmargedon: 10:21am On Mar 13, 2022
PrimadonnaO:
Truth is, this topic will continue to be debatable.

In the same way that people debate the sinfulness of permissiveness of Christians drinking alcohol... grin

To each man his own spiritual revelation and discernment.
grin grin grin I love you for this. If you're still single, send me a mail cos I'm really gonna marry you.

Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Dukeolumidemans(m): 10:21am On Mar 13, 2022
daddytime:

Hmmm...

The last paragraph of your comment is agreeable because it has happened to me.

It never bodes well and brings chaos.

Guys need to be very wary of getting entangled with women who lie about being divorced. Na spiritual wahala dem dey carry come oh. It's same for both sexes I'm sure.

You'd be asking yourself why nothing is going right with you not knowing you have been conned into putting a grenade in your pockets.

Life big jare but we learn everyday..

Ur correct. Until I became alert spiritually, I never knew this. Any woman who tells u she is divorced or is no longer with her husband is still spiritually bond to him. If any man sleeps with them, u will be dragged years back in ur progress. It's like going to Lagos in a bus and ur asked to come down and trek to Lagos with ur legs. That's how slow ur progress will be after sleeping with a married woman.

Secondly those who sleep with different girls. They don't know that each person has a spirit that follows or works with them. Some girls are possessed like their male counterparts. The more girls u sleep with, the more spiritually bond u will become. Those spirits will either help or ruin u. The more u meet/sleep with girls, the more ur entangling with so many negative spirits that bond u and thereby impeding ur progress.

It's always better to stay with one girlfriend or a woman who is ur wife. When I discovered this about women, I ran away and stayed away.

I come in peace!!!

Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Thelife: 10:21am On Mar 13, 2022
Banhammy717:
There's nothing wrong in marrying more than one wife, if you have the financial strength.
There are many spinsters around. Say NO to fornication.
Second wife is better than side chick.
Read Isiah chapter 4 verse 1.

So marrying second wife do stop man from adultery?

Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Starzo: 10:22am On Mar 13, 2022
MrHighSea:
one book,
several confusions
Because people have individual reasoning capacities and projections. So they'll arrive at different conclusions when given the ability to reason individually and are allowed to look at things from different perspective. It's their 'freedom' to think at work.
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by phemmyfour: 10:22am On Mar 13, 2022
englishmart:
In the old, people like Solomon, David, Jacob, etc married more than one wife. God is still God and doesn't change. Do you think He now sees something wrong in marring more than one wife?
So many things done in in the Old were PERMISSIVE will of God. That's why when Jesus came, He IMPROVES on those laws
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Arkmanbuddy(m): 10:25am On Mar 13, 2022
AntiChristian:

You're an expert in giving excuse!

Continue! Why did God made law protecting the first wife's...? Why give people more wives when one is enough?

Remember I told you I'll let you know why God permitted the Mosaic laws for a period, which also affected the righteous people before Christ was revealed. I'll let you know when the time is right bro.

That God allowed David to have many wives and even some of his former master's wives wasn't the plan of God for him but as the tradition of the people entailed. I'll open a thread on this soon.
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by drlateef: 10:27am On Mar 13, 2022
Righteousness2:
GOD'S Standard from the beginning remains One man one wife.
GOD'S Standard is HE hates Divorce.
Jacob, Solomon , Society or whoever are not the standard. The Word of GOD is the Standard .

Read Matthew 19: 4-9 to know GOD'S Standard!

And he answered and said unto them, Have ye not read, that he which made them at the beginning made them male and female,

And said, For this cause shall a man leave father and mother, and shall cleave to his wife: and they twain shall be one flesh?

Wherefore they are no more twain, but one flesh. What therefore God hath joined together, let not man put asunder.

They say unto him, Why did Moses then command to give a writing of divorcement, and to put her away?

He saith unto them, Moses because of the hardness of your hearts suffered you to put away your wives: but from the beginning it was not so.

And I say unto you, Whosoever shall put away his wife, except it be for fornication, and shall marry another, committeth adultery: and whoso marrieth her which is put away doth commit adultery.

Is this not in your bible?

Exodus 21:10: "If he take another wife for himself; her food, her clothing, and her duty of marriage, shall he not diminish".
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by PrimadonnaO(f): 10:28am On Mar 13, 2022
harmargedon:
grin grin grin I love you for this. If you're still single, send me a mail cos I'm really gonna marry you.

I take this to mean an exaggerated way to express that my post resonates with you. cheesy

So thank you. kiss

We're not marrying, sir.
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Apexmoh: 10:29am On Mar 13, 2022
Is christianity really a religion or a mere political party. Cause of all the lies & evils in APC, it's nowhere near this satanic, old religion called christ-satanity.
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by MossLuv: 10:29am On Mar 13, 2022
Righteousness2:
Jacob, Solomon , Society or whoever are not the standard. The Word of GOD is the Standard .

And he answered and said unto them, Have ye not read, that he which made them at the beginning made them male and female,

And said, For this cause shall a man leave father and mother, and shall cleave to his wife: and they twain shall be one flesh?

Wherefore they are no more twain, but one flesh. What therefore God hath joined together, let not man put asunder.

They say unto him, Why did Moses then command to give a writing of divorcement, and to put her away?

He saith unto them, Moses because of the hardness of your hearts suffered you to put away your wives: but from the beginning it was not so.

And I say unto you, Whosoever shall put away his wife, except it be for fornication, and shall marry another, committeth adultery: and whoso marrieth her which is put away doth commit adultery.

Marry more than one is never a sin. If it is, how can God call a sinner (David) a man after His own heart?. One man one wife is just a doctrine just like Catholic forbade Rev. Father from marrying at all. Remember our father Abraham is in heaven ( according to Bible) if marrying more than one is a sin he couldn't have make heaven.
You guys should stop making new laws in addition to the 10 commandments. Even the 10 commandment you have not keep it yet.

Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Shebbs: 10:29am On Mar 13, 2022
God Has A Standard For Marriage Which Is One Man One Woman, However This Doesn't Really Mean Whoever Goes Against This Standard Have Sinned.

There Are Exceptions The Bible Really Detailed About, These Are The Church Leaders. In The Book Of (1Timothy 3:2) It Says And I Quote; "A Bishop Then Must Be Blameless, A Husband To One Wife; Vigilante, Sober, Of Good Behavior, Given To Hospitality, Approved To Teach."

So, As A Man You Have The Legal Right And Even The Biblical/Religious Right To Get Married To As Many Women As You Want And I'll Prove It To You, In The Book Of (Isaiah 4:1) It Says And I Quote; "In Those Days Seven Women Shall Lay Hold To One Man And Shall Say; We Shall Eat Our Own Food And Provide Our Own Clothes, Only Let Use Be Called By Your Name. Take Away Our "Disgrace."

Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by omokab: 10:29am On Mar 13, 2022
Righteousness2:

there is no justification on what you wrote not to marry more than one wife. Tell us where it is clearly stated not to marry more than one wife. Those that marry more than one wife tell us where it is condemn or the type of punishment stipulated for them in the bible. Like In ten commandment ,it is stated that one shall not steal and bible go further to state the punishment for one who steal.

Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Juell(m): 10:30am On Mar 13, 2022
Acehart:
Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ. - 1 Cor.11:1

The above is a command (with the tone of a plea). Christ is our example and we are told to imitate God.

Did God marry? Yes. The Book of Hosea is an epilogue of God’s marriage: He marries a woman, she is grossly unfaithful and He still loves in spite of her worthlessness. Hosea 3:1 gives a succinct view of God’s view on marriage: “Go and love your wife again, even though she commits adultery with another lover. This will illustrate that the LORD still loves Israel”- one wife for life.

We follow God’s illustration and not the illustration from any man.
No please, God did not marry. He was only talking about the relationship between him and the children of Israel.
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Happycharles(m): 10:30am On Mar 13, 2022
Banhammy717:
There's nothing wrong in marrying more than one wife, if you have the financial strength.
There are many spinsters around. Say NO to fornication.
Second wife is better than side chick.
Read Isiah chapter 4 verse 1.

As much as I agree with your argument, i disagree with the scripture u quoted in support of it. Isaiah 4:1 was describing a specific time surrounded with a particular kind of occurrence. It is not a prescription for Christians.

I am open to a superior argument that will be shed the light more on it if am wrong though.

GoodmormingBoss
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Emychina(m): 10:33am On Mar 13, 2022
Dtruthspeaker:

"He Made them male and female" is The Law! Not male and females.

This sin started because Lamech, grandson of the son of evil, Cain, did it.

Exactly as that pigeon bastard who killed and ate a pigeon has now done. Now some other idiot down the line will think it is ok to eat pigeons, yet wondering why it is wrong.

https://www.nairaland.com/7020892/caught-pigeon-flying-room-cooked#110865320

This is the case of "i have done it and see God did not punish me."

Not knowing or hearing what God hath Said "Nevertheless, IN THE DAY WHEN I VISIT, I Will Visit their Sin Upon Them"

Who are u to call people bastard and idiots,son.learn some manners before u misyarn.control that gutter u call mouth.
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by compton11(m): 10:33am On Mar 13, 2022
GreatAxeMan:
Imagine a mûdslîmé referring to the Bible as a book of fairy tales.

and since when did helinues becomes a Muslim?
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Acehart: 10:35am On Mar 13, 2022
Juell:

No please, God did not marry. He was only talking about the relationship between him and the children of Israel.

Do you know what an allegory means?
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Juell(m): 10:36am On Mar 13, 2022
Dtruthspeaker:

"He Made them male and female" is The Law! Not male and females.

This sin started because Lamech, grandson of the son of evil, Cain, did it.

Exactly as that pigeon bastard who killed and ate a pigeon has now done. Now some other idiot down the line will think it is ok to eat pigeons, yet wondering why it is wrong.

https://www.nairaland.com/7020892/caught-pigeon-flying-room-cooked#110865320

This is the case of "i have done it and see God did not punish me."

Not knowing or hearing what God hath Said "Nevertheless, IN THE DAY WHEN I VISIT, I Will Visit their Sin Upon Them"

What's wrong with eating pigeon? I'm sure u've heard about quails which are much smaller than pigeons, if people eat quails then ain't nothing wrong with eating pigeon
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by md4u2: 10:37am On Mar 13, 2022
Every one understand bible in different way
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Juell(m): 10:38am On Mar 13, 2022
Acehart:

Do you know what an allegory means?
I sure do
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Johel(m): 10:39am On Mar 13, 2022
englishmart:
In the old, people like Solomon, David, Jacob, etc married more than one wife. God is still God and doesn't change. Do you think He now sees something wrong in marring more than one wife?

Nothing wrong In marrying more than one or two wives,so long one can take full responsibility and all parties involved are in agreement and peace....And all arrangements went through the right processes.
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Mazzkenny: 10:39am On Mar 13, 2022
Deuteronomy 21:15-17
“If a man has two wives, the one loved and the other unloved, and both the loved and the unloved have borne him sons, if the firstborn son belongs to the unloved, then it shall be in the day he wills what he has to his sons, he cannot make the son of the loved the firstborn before the son of the unloved, who is the firstborn. But he shall acknowledge the firstborn, the son of the unloved, by giving him a double portion of all that he has, for he is the beginning of his strength; to him belongs the right of the firstborn.
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by ISelectMySins: 10:41am On Mar 13, 2022
Dtruthspeaker:

O Judgement Day! What a great day of shocks and shouting.

From your tone, I can categorically say that you know almost nothing about the day of judgement, so please keep quiet.

The guy who said God did not forbid polygamy is very right and rightly so for God's righteous reasons. It wasn't an oversight on God's part. No polygamist would go to Hell for reasons of his polygamy. And please you have to stop using bad logic to make a point. Just vecause God didn't create more than one man or woman doesn't mean you are not permitted to marry more than one wife.
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Bluesearoll(m): 10:41am On Mar 13, 2022
1timothy 3v 2 is the Christian standard........A bishop then must be blameless, the husband of one wife, vigilant, sober, of good behaviour, given to hospitality, apt to teach;
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Goldbw122(m): 10:42am On Mar 13, 2022
Well it depends on you like me I like to marry one... I don't like too much headache..
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Starzo: 10:42am On Mar 13, 2022
Apexmoh:
Is christianity really a religion or a mere political party. Cause of all the lies & evils in APC, it's nowhere near this satanic, old religion called christ-satanity.
Many have said worse than this. You're not the first nor will you be the last.You're just one in a legion of insignificant hateful ignoramuses.
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by linearity: 10:42am On Mar 13, 2022
Righteousness2:

Jacob, Solomon , Religion, Society or whoever are not the standard. The Word of GOD is the Standard .

Jesus was talking about divorce and marrying those that are divorced.

No where in these passages did he mention marrying one wife. He made them ‘Male & Female’ does not say anything about one man, one wife. It is referring to the two distinct genders that God created. The same reference was made during the time God was to destroy the world through flood and he asked Noah to get all animals into the ark ‘Male & Female’.

You refer to the Old Testament, but nothing in the laws then or in the Ten Commandments forbids marrying more than one wife, if it was a grievous sin, I do not think it would have been overlooked in the laws and in the commandments.

Lastly, it was widely practiced in the old days by even men ‘after God’s heart’. Each time these men sinned against God, He sends his prophet to go warn them and ask them to repent and turn back to him, not once in the entire Bible did God rebuked or send His prophets to rebuke someone because they married more than one wife.

That said, marrying more than one wife is a huge undertaking and a financial drain; I wouldn’t advise even my enemy to do it.

Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Acehart: 10:43am On Mar 13, 2022
englishmart:
Any act that transgresses against divine law, or an act of unrighteousness.

Thank you for this wonderful answer. So I’d like to ask you these (please answer in the order of the questions):

1. What laws in the Bible are called the divine laws (to all men)?
2. Which of the divine laws does adultery (polygamy, polyandry etc) run contrary to?
Is adultery against the divine law?
3. State specifically (from the Bible) where God honored adultery (in all its form)?
4. State specifically where God honored faithfulness to one wife or husband.
Re: Does The Bible Really Condemn Marrying More Than One Wife? by Mazzkenny: 10:43am On Mar 13, 2022
Righteousness2:

Jacob, Solomon , Religion, Society or whoever are not the standard. The Word of GOD is the Standard .

Anything apart from GOD'S Standard is SIN. It is Fornication, Adultery and Man/ woman Decieving themselves!
Jesus was talking about divorce in that place so you can use it for polygamy.

What do you think about this verses below?
Deuteronomy 21:15-17
“If a man has two wives, the one loved and the other unloved, and both the loved and the unloved have borne him sons, if the firstborn son belongs to the unloved, then it shall be in the day he wills what he has to his sons, he cannot make the son of the loved the firstborn before the son of the unloved, who is the firstborn. But he shall acknowledge the firstborn, the son of the unloved, by giving him a double portion of all that he has, for he is the beginning of his strength; to him belongs the right of the firstborn.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (17) (Reply)

Lovemaking After Traditional Wedding Only: Is This Fornication? / Debrah Osagiede Is Dead Spirit And Life Bible Church Founder / Dunamis: Miracle Claim Causes Controversy

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 79