Stats: 3,162,983 members, 7,852,315 topics. Date: Thursday, 06 June 2024 at 03:59 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (12826) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11878840 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (12823) (12824) (12825) (12826) (12827) (12828) (12829) ... (16252) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by codemaniacs: 9:38pm On Mar 19, 2022
TheGoodJoe:

We Africans are behind tactically and we need to do more in tactical education.

I once read in Spain, before a player moves from most academies to senior football, they have over 700 games, tactically analysed under their belt.

In academies in Spain, UEFA pro licensed coaches coach them.

How many games did gavi play before making Spain's national team

Europeans are very tribal. So it may be about supporting Span:ish and Cata:lan players .

Koeman brought numerous to Barca.
Wolves former coach brought many Portuguese players to wolves.
Wenger brought many French players to arsenal.
Conte brings Italian players to his teams.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 9:39pm On Mar 19, 2022
justvictor57:
See as Ghana dey trend for Twitter bcus of Osimhen brace today...
cheesy cheesy

Omo make we win oo
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 9:39pm On Mar 19, 2022
codemaniacs:

List of Nigeria's striker must include Osimhen. Players like Ighalo, Musa ,onazi and Shehu should not be anywhere near the S.E.

Nigeria currently has a golden generation and Eguavoen is messing it up by trying to "make everyone happy".

Depending on The amount of players that the tournament allows.. this are the S.E players that should be getting a call up.

Forwards
Osimhen
Yira sor
Dennis
Dessers
Lookman
Terrem moffi
Amoo
Ejuke
Simon
Chukwueze
Sadiq
Ihenacho
Onyachu

Midfield
Ndidi
Onyeka
Bonke
Aribo
Yusuf
Tijani
Onyedika
Etebo

Defenders
Semi ajayi
Ola Aina
Bassey
Akpoguma
Ebuehi
Sanusi
Omeruo
Balogun
Ekong

Keepers
Uzoho
Okoye
Any good keeper they can find.

Where Iwobi dey?

I dey see some funny names, but no Iwobi.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by chrisooblog: 9:43pm On Mar 19, 2022
Loved the Rosseneri when I was little.

Van Basten, Guillit, Baresi, Maldini, Costacuta forget that team was legit.

Joezinho:

Milan is one of the greatest football clubs of all-time, as well as one of the most significant contributors to football history. I won't forget how kaka, Gattuso and co won that epic 2006/07 UEFA semis against my club.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by benji93: 9:44pm On Mar 19, 2022
No, don't run away with that 'We Africans are behind' argument. Don't find an easy way out. You can do better. cheesy. He had the opportunity to work with some of the very best African players and he still kicked them out. grin. You can be in awe and still acknowledge he did so and so. The South Americans are not that far off in tactical illiteracy, although they have had incredibly talented players, and the means for them to rise to the top. That is not to say he has not been successful with his choices. He has been, and perhaps that is what matters. But i do not know who we would be if we didn't hate him for not playing African players. grin
TheGoodJoe:

I once read in Spain, before a player moves from most academies to senior football, they have over 700 games, tactically analysed under their belt.

So these players will have an edge with respect to tactical acumen.

Which makes a coach like Guardiola to prefer them. Not that he has a thing against African players.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 9:48pm On Mar 19, 2022
justvictor57:
See as Ghana dey trend for Twitter bcus of Osimhen brace today...

Osimhen Dey hot like bazooka grin

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by benji93: 9:52pm On Mar 19, 2022
You this man, be very careful. grin. Perhaps Pep loved him cos he took his bench/limited role without complaining.
andrewbaba44:

Baba Keita was just so good abeg

Pep loved him so much

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 9:55pm On Mar 19, 2022
TheGoodJoe:

So these players will have an edge with respect to tactical acumen.

Which makes a coach like Guardiola to prefer them. Not that he has a thing against African players.
wonderful! Throwing your own people under the bus just to dick ride Guardiola. So Wenger,Mourinho and other top class coaches that have no problem using African players them be mumu?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:56pm On Mar 19, 2022
benji93:
No, don't run away with that 'We Africans are behind' argument. Don't find an easy way out. You can do better. cheesy. He had the opportunity to work with some of the very best African players and he still kicked them out. grin. You can be in awe and still acknowledge he did so and so. The South Americans are not that far off in tactical illiteracy, although they have had incredibly talented players, and the means for them to rise to the top. That is not to say he has not been successful with his choices. He has been, and perhaps that is what matters. But i do not know who we would be if we didn't hate him for not playing African players. grin

First of all, we can not be close in tactical training than the Brazilians. The clubs in Brazil do a good job in early scouting and training. They may not have as much tactical training as the Europeans but they are far ahead of us in that sense.

There is no easy way out but the Truth. It is easier to take a player from one of the European academies and groom into a team than Africans, due to their early training.

What Africans do is meet up in other factors with hard work and training. With time they build tactically but coaches like Guardiola will mostly opt for Highly trained European players.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 9:56pm On Mar 19, 2022
benji93:
You this man, be very careful. grin. Perhaps Pep loved him cos he took his bench/limited role without complaining.
I kinda agree with you, plus he was a utility player who was close to the end of his career

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:59pm On Mar 19, 2022
jihday:
wonderful! Throwing your own people under the bus just to dick ride Guardiola. So Wenger,Mourinho and other top class coaches that have no problem using African players them be mumu?

I am not throwing my people under a bus but stating Guardiola's psychology when it comes to player selection.

Seydou Keita was by far more talented than Busquets. Busquets was light years ahead of Keita in understanding and playing Pep's philosophy and remained the favorite choice.

So I am talking about tactical training and the edge it gives European players when it concerns coaches that hinge their philosophy highly on tactical discipline.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 10:01pm On Mar 19, 2022
Ehen, before I forget, wetin carry una ex footballers go meet Tinubu?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by daveP(m): 10:02pm On Mar 19, 2022
10goals
10assist
It's like this is who will strike for Dem next week o. Make Dem continue to hide list. Dem go still collect

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 10:05pm On Mar 19, 2022
safarigirl:
hunger o my sister, country hard everybody.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 10:09pm On Mar 19, 2022
jihday:
hunger o my sister, country hard everybody.

Taribo West come dey fire prayer with so much vigour. I just dey laugh dey go, make hunger no carry us go where we no go fit explain to our children.

Even Kanu and Okocha dey there, I just dey shame.

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 10:10pm On Mar 19, 2022
daveP:
10goals
10assist
It's like this is who will strike for Dem next week o. Make Dem continue to hide list. Dem go still collect

Which club be that?

FC St Paul?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 10:14pm On Mar 19, 2022
benji93:

Yeah by playing more game time then xavi and iniesta in a season because both of them are average players
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jasena: 10:15pm On Mar 19, 2022
codemaniacs:

List of Nigeria's striker must include Osimhen. Players like Ighalo, Musa ,onazi and Shehu should not be anywhere near the S.E.

Nigeria currently has a golden generation and Eguavoen is messing it up by trying to "make everyone happy".

Depending on The amount of players that the tournament allows.. this are the S.E players that should be getting a call up.

Forwards
Osimhen
Yira sor
Dennis
Dessers
Lookman
Terrem moffi
Amoo
Ejuke
Simon
Chukwueze
Sadiq
Ihenacho
Onyachu

Midfield
Ndidi
Onyeka
Bonke
Aribo
Yusuf
Tijani
Onyedika
Etebo

Defenders
Semi ajayi
Ola Aina
Bassey
Akpoguma
Ebuehi
Sanusi
Omeruo
Balogun
Ekong

Keepers
Uzoho
Okoye
Any good keeper they can find.

Your list is superior to eguavon's list, though I wonder where nwakueme's name is absent
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:16pm On Mar 19, 2022
safarigirl:

Hard to resist money.

I heard that Tinubu can give transport money of up to 5M for one person.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by daveP(m): 10:16pm On Mar 19, 2022
safarigirl:

Which club be that?

FC St Paul?

I no even Sabi the club sef.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by daveP(m): 10:18pm On Mar 19, 2022
Taribo should goan sit-down. But these ex footballers are that hungry mehn. Naso Dem endorse Youngest Govt for President too, while Drogba and Etoo are taking Sport Revolution to another level in respective countries, na bet company all of Dem open.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jasena: 10:18pm On Mar 19, 2022
benji93:
I am quite surprised that you consider this article useful. Apart from the fact that the author recounted his stints at various clubs in the championship and the fact that he led Brighton to promotion. I do not know where the title 'one of the most underrated managers' fits in. When we are unable to roll with those at the top, we resort to using some of these vague titles such as 'underrated' to comfort and remind ourselves that we belong. cheesy. I am not sure how the 'underrated' title can be scaled generally unless you are talking about world-class players/coaches. 'underrated' is definitely different from 'world-class', even though you could discuss underratedness amongst world-class players.
Okay I agree with you on the issue of world class, he isn't world class but you'll agree that he is far above eguavon.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joezinho: 10:18pm On Mar 19, 2022
chrisooblog:
Loved the Rosseneri when I was little.

Van Basten, Guillit, Baresi, Maldini, Costacuta forget that team was legit.

During it's heydays Milan was a powerhouse..

Some years ago when teams played with AC Milan they were scared ! They told themselves that is is over ! AC Milan of Sacchi is considered one of the best team ever ...

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by ersonleads(m): 10:21pm On Mar 19, 2022
Good evening house......my greatest joy na say osimhen nor get injury for today match. So, my guy is fit to play our bredas on Friday �

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:24pm On Mar 19, 2022
codemaniacs:

How many games did gavi play before making Spain's national team

Europeans are very tribal. So it may be about supporting Span:ish and Cata:lan players .

Koeman brought numerous to Barca.
Wolves former coach brought many Portuguese players to wolves.
Wenger brought many French players to arsenal.
Conte brings Italian players to his teams.

Let us use Gavi for instance. Before joining Betis, he was in another youth club. Then went to Betis academy at around 9-10 years. In this stage, he got high-quality tactical training. In that time, scored 95 goals. Scouted by top clubs and by eleven signed for Barcelona.

Then he still got pro tactical training for about five years in Barcelona academy.

By the time he got his call up for Spain, he is already a highly trained tactical player.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elyte89: 10:28pm On Mar 19, 2022
safarigirl:

Taribo West come dey fire prayer with so much vigour. I just dey laugh dey go, make hunger no carry us go where we no go fit explain to our children.

May we not be tested with what we condemn odas for..I am sure if one of us is given d opportunity to sit with these popular politicians and discuss..I doubt any of us can turn down d offer!

Dt was aw rinu blasted comedians for going to c osinbajo ,not knowing dt she also would flock with atiku grin grin

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by GloriousGbola: 10:30pm On Mar 19, 2022
safarigirl:

How soon before we see a poster of Tinubu with okocha giving a thumbs up? As okocha dey put his endorsement everywhere

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by do4luv14(m): 10:43pm On Mar 19, 2022
Blueelf:

Pinnick younger brother..how far??
When will your elder bro finish destroying our football?

lolzzzz pinnick destroying our football
is oo Ke oooo
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 10:48pm On Mar 19, 2022
elyte89:

May we not be tested with what we condemn odas for..I am sure if one of us is given d opportunity to sit with these popular politicians and discuss..I doubt any of us can turn down d offer!

Dt was aw rinu blasted comedians for going to c osinbajo ,not knowing dt she also would flock with atiku grin grin

There are people that can be given a pass for certain behaviours, I no dey send if I see an everyday Joe hobnobbing with these politicians, I understand times are hard

But when I see people who have actually built a reputation after many years of hardwork. Nah

If you sef go meet Tinubu, I go happy for you. But you are not Okocha or Kanu, you do not have their influence, so, I cannot have expectations of you

I have expectations of people I know have great influence, not of an ordinary citizen

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 10:49pm On Mar 19, 2022
TheGoodJoe:

Hard to resist money.

I heard that Tinubu can give transport money of up to 5M for one person.
The Lord is their strength

Anyway, let them eat their own share of the national cake. When the money finish, na all of us the suffering go still touch
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by do4luv14(m): 10:49pm On Mar 19, 2022
safarigirl:

Tinubu wan copy Obj do him own birthday match, make we see how e go be for am,

nah Mutiu Adepoju because me pass, with dodo Mayana, nah their 2 go don drag those ex internationals join
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by fabyom: 10:56pm On Mar 19, 2022
JayromWrites:

Who dafuq is Afena Gyan?

Because he scored two goals in Serie A we should now wet our pants

Na wow o
He is strong and fast and with Kudus behind him Ekong and Balogun will struggle without Ndidi. I have watched him play several times, the guy is made for African football. His quality is unquestionable.

(1) (2) (3) ... (12823) (12824) (12825) (12826) (12827) (12828) (12829) ... (16252) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: 9JAMac10, dijon, kellycute(m), lelion, Ginistev, elyte89, Philosopher1979, Bill8012(m) and 9 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 54