Stats: 3,151,701 members, 7,813,303 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 10:35 AM

Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. - Programming (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Programming / Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. (30982 Views)

Dr Akorede Kamil Teaches Coding On The Streets Of Ilorin / Coding On My Android Phone � Don't Give Ur Lack Of A PC As An Excuse / What No One Tells You About Coding In Python: Eye-opening! (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Mrquote: 2:49pm On Dec 16, 2022
tensazangetsu20:
In terms of videos yes because it's expensive to push out video content but if you are talking about written programming content then Nigerians write a lot. I can't count how many times I have gotten stuck and I went online to read and it's an article written by a fellow Nigerian that helped me. Yours truly has even written down some programming articles. If the resources were there, I am sure making video content won't be a problem for Nigerians.

Is not expensive just that we and those 8ver are not the same, here you have to be twice as good.

Here ia my YouTube channel

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1e71PBh5IN-7ob1zVfjTEg

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by FireUpNow(m): 2:51pm On Dec 16, 2022
Moh247:

It's an IT school, and based in Ibadan back then, don't know if they are in Lagos but many IT schools like such exist in Lagos and the training is not that expensive

Alternative is Udemy and other Online coarses, but you still need a mentor
ok brodaly. I will do my research more on it. I really appreciate

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by headboyprince(m): 2:56pm On Dec 16, 2022
Lannister360:

What are you even saying? You think you're the only one who is discipline enough to learn programming? Nigerians are not lazy people,
Things are difficult for a lot of people and most people do not have 12H to spend looking at the laptop learning to code.

People need to make money in other to feed and pay for rent, not everyone is living with their parents and have the time to stare at a screen for 12H.

There is also the problem of electricity and money to buy laptop. For others, while trying to learn how to code, they keep working about money and where their next meal will come from. How do you expect them to focus and be able to learn properly?

Stop comparing Nigerians with people in Canada and US who have the basic things in life, most Nigerians do not.

stop that.. indians are not better off than nigerians in terms of electricity and standard of living. but because the people are serious, they achieved a lot and way ahead of nigeria in coding.

like you said most nigerians are only concerned about what they'll eat hence feel learning anything complicated is a waste of time, they'll rather get into scams to make quick money.. grin
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by FireUpNow(m): 2:56pm On Dec 16, 2022
Elemosho478:

JavaScript is the most popular and versatile, tell him to start from there to become a front end developer

He can learn everything from Freecodecamp.Org

https://www.freecodecamp.org/news

Beautiful information and I am impressed. God bless you

After JavaScript he can learn Html and CSS and after that he also need to learn one of JavaScript framework, Node.Js, React,Vue. Js, or Angular to become a front end developer.

After becoming a front end developer he can start his journey to become a backend developer to and then become a full stack web developer
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Elemosho478: 2:56pm On Dec 16, 2022
Truss20:
Bro pls am interested in learning coding also but how do I go about it , I stay in Lagos. Just finished my apprenticeship of electrical work but I need a digital skill to back it up

JavaScript is the most popular and versatile, start from there to become a front end developer

You can learn everything from

https://www.freecodecamp.org/learn/javascript-algorithms-and-data-structures/

After JavaScript you can learn Html and CSS and after that you also need to learn one of JavaScript framework, Node.Js, React,Vue. Js, or Angular to become a front end developer.

After becoming a front end developer you can start your journey to become a backend developer to and then become a full stack web developer

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Xcelinteriors(f): 2:56pm On Dec 16, 2022
I want someone that can teach my son coding. He's 11years old and very brilliant. If you are close to alimosho and can teach him, name your price
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Fearyourcreator: 2:59pm On Dec 16, 2022
Devdevdev:
You hardly see Nigerians teaching coding or talking about programming related stuff on on social media, especially on Youtube. This is because this is actually a legit way to be a successful person and it involves a lot of hard work, determination and consistence.

Nigerians only like to propagate get rich schemes and fraudulent stuff like plagiarizing books to post on Amazon or some rubbish Ponzi scheme. The common thread that links all these is that they don't involve much work and all you have to do is just do the little, then sit and wait for money to start pouring into your account. I admit there are a tiny minority of people who make money from these, but it's usually for a short period of time until it crashes or they get banned from Amazon, or get arrested, but the majority of people don't get shit, rather they jump from one get rich scheme to the other until they realize they've wasted their time.

Programming will never be saturated with competent programmers especially in this country because majority of people don't have the discipline and delligence to actually become competent programmers.

For the past month I've not been on social media. I deleted my Twitter, Facebook Tiktok, Instagram and vowed to never check status on WhatsApp because that's a very huge distraction. I only use Nairaland and Reddit, particularly for programming related information. I deleted every movie from my laptop and haven't watched TV for weeks.

How many people can do this? How many people can sit at a desk staring at a computer screen for 12+ hours everyday?

Nigerians are very lazy and are addicted to quick gratification and this works in the favor of programmers who are serious, because it reduces the competitiveness of the job market.
Nigerians no dey like something like this na... Na fast fast ... Everything fast ... Make you pepper your enemies say you don arrive

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by gimakon2(m): 2:59pm On Dec 16, 2022
i teach bro..
I am planning out on starting my own coding channel. A lot of peeps has advised i start it as a channel. hence... I would soon start.

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by gimakon2(m): 3:00pm On Dec 16, 2022
Fearyourcreator:

Nigerians no dey like something like this na... Na fast fast ... Everything fast ... Make you pepper your enemies say you don arrive

Na people way no sabi something wan make am fast.
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Elemosho478: 3:01pm On Dec 16, 2022
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by sukkot: 3:08pm On Dec 16, 2022
Devdevdev:

It seems comprehension is your problem. Maybe that's why you've been coding since 1994 and yet still struggle to get a freelance job.

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Nkaluu800(m): 3:20pm On Dec 16, 2022
8 cool
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Nkaluu800(m): 3:21pm On Dec 16, 2022
Xcelinteriors:
I want someone that can teach my son coding. He's 11years old and very brilliant. If you are close to alimosho and can teach him, name your price

I don't reside in Lagos.
But I can assist him via zoom or Google meet for tutorials.
Keep your money for now. rather use it to get him Laptop,Data & Electricity.

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by greypencils: 3:23pm On Dec 16, 2022
nograv:

You are talking through your backside, Nigerian developers are there. Come to London or Silicon Valley, we are earning good money. All you probably know is Yaba. Dont assume, because you dont know many developers, that they aren't there. Mumu angry
She doesn't need to go to London or Silicon valley. She just needs a LinkedIn profile with a few connections from Andela. The boys running things at Meta and Amazon will pop up as recommendations for her to follow. Omode o mo Ogun, O n pe lefo.

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Kipaji: 3:23pm On Dec 16, 2022
Devdevdev:
You hardly see Nigerians teaching coding or talking about programming related stuff on on social media, especially on Youtube. This is because this is actually a legit way to be a successful person and it involves a lot of hard work, determination and consistence.

Nigerians only like to propagate get rich schemes and fraudulent stuff like plagiarizing books to post on Amazon or some rubbish Ponzi scheme. The common thread that links all these is that they don't involve much work and all you have to do is just do the little, then sit and wait for money to start pouring into your account. I admit there are a tiny minority of people who make money from these, but it's usually for a short period of time until it crashes or they get banned from Amazon, or get arrested, but the majority of people don't get shit, rather they jump from one get rich scheme to the other until they realize they've wasted their time.

Programming will never be saturated with competent programmers especially in this country because majority of people don't have the discipline and delligence to actually become competent programmers.

For the past month I've not been on social media. I deleted my Twitter, Facebook Tiktok, Instagram and vowed to never check status on WhatsApp because that's a very huge distraction. I only use Nairaland and Reddit, particularly for programming related information. I deleted every movie from my laptop and haven't watched TV for weeks.

How many people can do this? How many people can sit at a desk staring at a computer screen for 12+ hours everyday?

Nigerians are very lazy and are addicted to quick gratification and this works in the favor of programmers who are serious, because it reduces the competitiveness of the job market.

Insightful, relevant and wise.

We have the same problem in Cameroon. We are not as advanced in scamming as Nigerians yet but it's increasingly growing here. Plus, people (the youth in particular) is worryingly lazy. And many people do not believe in hard work anymore.

Thank you for this piece.
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by T4kbaba(m): 3:24pm On Dec 16, 2022
This video shows how to assign row number to items, based on item segment. Two methods used in Microsoft Excel and MySQL is also used to solve the same problem. Watch MySQL solution on the link below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2CZ9jJLCtS0
Kindly subscribe to this channel for more interesting contents.
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Rinoxy: 3:24pm On Dec 16, 2022
Op, your post is for coding and programming enthusiasts. I hope they learn.
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Xperienx(m): 3:30pm On Dec 16, 2022
OP did you come here to praise yourself?
If you do sit for 12hours coding, do you know how much hours others give to their various legit hustles?
Newbies be like........, Keep it up anyway

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Kipaji: 3:30pm On Dec 16, 2022
Devdevdev:

I will, when I've mastered it enough to impart the knowledge into someone else.

All the best.
I want to add that you do not need to be very "big" to impart knowledge. Even at a small scale you can do it. With your little brother at home, your juniors in school, even here in Nairaland. That can provide some training for when you will have finally "mastered it enough".
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by eventainment(m): 3:30pm On Dec 16, 2022
Devdevdev:

Let's link up... 0.8.1 88 2.6.6 175.. I have just one friend with this mindset.. developers I meet are not the passionate ones just the ones that are into it cause it has money.. no discipline whatsoever.. well what's your tech stack? And your language (s)
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by batistutajulio: 3:32pm On Dec 16, 2022
Devdevdev:

You are mad for being ok to sit in front of the computer for 12+ hours.
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Fearyourcreator: 3:32pm On Dec 16, 2022
LikeAking:

Nigerian old sch parents are selfish and closed minded.. But they think they are wise.

U are correct on this one.

Life shid Neva be about studying are particular course no mata how lucrative it may be..

Nigerians are suffering, because majority of us have failed to find our life path.. The polictians are even a minor problem..

Old parents failed to teach dia kids how to find their life path...

This is a major mistake many will disagree on

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by batistutajulio: 3:34pm On Dec 16, 2022
qtguru:
You can always champion the move. Set the pace nau for others.

He or she is mad for not doing what he or she is asking other Nigerians to do.
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by shegzhkn: 3:35pm On Dec 16, 2022
Xcelinteriors:

Let him learn scratch first, you can Google MIT scratch and you can take it from there.
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Ameoba300: 3:35pm On Dec 16, 2022
Devdevdev:

If I call a rich man a poor man, he won't take me seriously because he knows he isn't poor. He will simply smile and ignore. Same applies to calling you a thirsty guy.

Besides, 4 out of every 5 guys I meet are thirsty, so it's not wrong to assume you to be one.

In which community did you grow up? 4 outta 5?

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Ameoba300: 3:39pm On Dec 16, 2022
Studymore123:

Sir, I believe you are a well respected member of the community and also a professional. You should better understand social media issues (cyberbullying, trolls, etc) and how to deal with such. I don't expect you to go to such lows in your use of words. When your feet slips you can always recover your balance but when your tongues slips you can never recover your words. I may be wrong but I believe you don't do such physically.

It may be better for you to have deleted your Nairaland account and leave your FB and twitter accounts. When I was unserious that was what I did. I deleted my Nairaland account and focused on other things.
If you feel there are no Nigerians on YT, that should be an opportunity for you to breakthrough. See it as an good opportunity. Please remember it's not just your technical skills that gives you jobs, your soft skills are also very important. My soft skills have given me more opportunities than my technical abilities. So get books on developing soft skills as you are also developing your programming skills.

Op, please consider the bolded part. You'll need it in the future when you become a master programmer.
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by mayorlee007: 3:40pm On Dec 16, 2022
Well said

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Kipaji: 3:41pm On Dec 16, 2022
tensazangetsu20:
In terms of videos yes because it's expensive to push out video content but if you are talking about written programming content then Nigerians write a lot. I can't count how many times I have gotten stuck and I went online to read and it's an article written by a fellow Nigerian that helped me. Yours truly has even written down some programming articles. If the resources were there, I am sure making video content won't be a problem for Nigerians.

As we wait for resources, we can start small. How about doing little explanations with screen recording to start? Or, if you want to be more target the Nigerian niche, here are some video ideas that would probably appeal to Nigerians in particular:

- Practical reasons to learn programming as a Nigerian
(some may not understand the relevance in the Nigerian context and how useful it can be. You may shed some light in that area)
- My journey as a Nigerian programmer
(to give novice and the youth some inspiration)
- How to land programming jobs in Nigeria
($$$)
- The best programming language to learn for a Nigerian
(Maybe there's a language that is in particularly high demand in Nigeria)
- Beginner programming projects that are actually useful in real life
(Explain to nigerians some program they can implement and could help them in some way in their life. Little gadgets, accessories, fun stuff.)
- What I would say to a young Nigerian interested in programming
(self explanatory)
- etc...

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by frankosivue(m): 3:42pm On Dec 16, 2022
Anonime1105:

I Know a few of them, Ebenezer don is one
https://m.youtube.com/c/EbenezerDon

Nigerians write more blog posts and books than they make videos on coding.

I have a book that is really comprehensive but easy to understand written by a Nigerian.
it is a book on Git and GitHub.
How can I get the book on Github, please?
Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by hotwax: 3:42pm On Dec 16, 2022
yet Nigerian developers are dominating world technology competition.

I am a software developer. let me educate you a bit.

The few software developers in Nigeria are employed by top brands (banks, oil companies, insurance e.t.c)

Talking from my daily experience. Top paying companies are in lagos. Lagosians spend 8hours or more in traffic. Companies use them from 8:00am to 6;00pm. They spend between 6:00pm to 10:00pm in traffic. Its when you have energy you can shoot a youtube video. Even to get erection for my woman is hard when i get home. You are talking about tech tutorials.

If you start your own tech platform without initial funding you will run commot when you start facing government regulations.

Nigeria is not a tech startup friendly country.

There is a difference between a developer who wants to make real cash and that who want to do it for fun. Americans do stuff for fun and glory because they are not hungry. I came from a poor background, before school, they have been expecting me to start taking care of my siblings. I had to join a bank IT department for the pay.

who youtube video help?

Go to amazon, google, Nigerian developers full there.

Re: Why You Hardly See Nigerians Teaching About Coding On Social Media. by Fearyourcreator: 3:42pm On Dec 16, 2022
gimakon2:

Na people way no sabi something wan make am fast.
Naso people be now for 9ja... Young chaps today na fast level buy Benz ... No time... They care not about legacy ... After money na money ooo... Chop life

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply)

Official Thread For Experts And Begineers In Python / Nigerian Teen Girls Win International Award With Their Waste Disposal App / Difference Between A Programmer And A Web Developer?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 80