Stats: 3,162,237 members, 7,849,863 topics. Date: Tuesday, 04 June 2024 at 10:51 AM

I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) - Travel (10) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) (50296 Views)

Top 30 Countries With Highest Number Of Skyscrapers / Gully Erosion Destroys Over 30 Buildings,Displaces Over 50,000 People In Anambra / Top 30 Countries With The Best Roads In Africa – 2018 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by iamL(f): 5:53pm On Dec 25, 2022
Corea4king:
Since I started reading this trend,I have been salivating, asking God to allow me to visit even if it is 5 state in this country . Someone is talking of countries he visited and am stuck in village. This life no balance at all.
Op,is better u randomly bless this group with Christmas give away gift to nourish this
ur fabulous story.

What africa countries, been to any?

I have friends who are inviting me to Kenya and a tech company is offering me a job in zambia but I am still skeptical due to my business in Nigeria.

Truth is am tired of staying in Nigeria honesty.
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by warlordd(m): 5:54pm On Dec 25, 2022
What part of Nigeria are you from?
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by Nigerfine3: 6:03pm On Dec 25, 2022
NumeroUno7:
Hello sir... I have always nursed the intention of migrating to the USA but the visa lottery ban on Nigeria since 2014 has been tough to take.
I spoke with a friend in Liberia about the possibility of coming there to get a Liberian passport so as to help me migrate from Liberia to USA and this friend told me a lot which showed its accessible as long as I have money to spend (5kusd) at least for birth certificate, passport, immigration processing and my accommodation/feeding in Liberia till everything is sorted out.
My question: is this true or am I on the verge of been scammed?
50/50
I have someone that did a passport of Seychelles for such purpose when we tested the passport in Nigeria and Benin it wasn’t cleared. Holding Liberia passport doesn’t guarantee USA visa, and there wasn’t USA lotto ban on Nigeria rather we exhausted our capacity while other countries are ignorant of the lotto and not interested too

Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by tellsblinks(m): 6:04pm On Dec 25, 2022
ramalot:
[b]NOTE:

Are you on LinkedIn? Please connect with me
https://www.linkedin.com/in/paul-light-

I understand that you might not want random people to contact you. So i please I beg you just click the link and connect with me

https://ww w.linkedin.com/in/paul-light-
Incase nairaland algorithm resets the link kindly remove the space in between www.

I promise not to disturb you, I just need to draw inspiration from you

I really appreciate sir. I really appreciate
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by ferhyntorlah(f): 6:21pm On Dec 25, 2022
Gerrard59:

The thread is invaluable, so it should be on the Front Page. It is Nairaland, a discussion forum. Yes, once a thread hits the FP, readers should expect all sorts of comments, however, that should not be a reason it should not hit FP. The best option which was done is to allow the thread to run up to 3-5 pages before taking it to the FP. That way, the earliest comments are related to the thread. Another option is to overlook unsavoury comments. Everyone cannot react in the same way and you cannot please everyone

Okay but still, if I had a thread that details my personal experiences, I wouldn't want it to hit front-page.
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by clericuzzio(m): 6:35pm On Dec 25, 2022
AdaojoTheUrchin:

Why should he do that? To prove what? Does he need validations from buffoons. I don't think so.

Oga Ade, read and pass.

You are simply a criminal gang working together to defraud people here.

I know say you be criminal so I don't need to indulge you
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by ramalot(m): 6:35pm On Dec 25, 2022
Demmylove:

Good evening sir, why did you say stuff like graphic design might not cut it.
I'm not a graphic designer, but design in any form is always interesting to me.

I'm studying a design related course and doing an online Ux course also.

What would you say about ui/ux in the tech world, is it enough to "cut it" like you said.

By graphic design, I mean things like one-off logo design or flyer designs. This is because the barrier to entry is low, so the overall value assigned to it by the free market is also low. This means you're unlikely to get enough good paying one-time graphic design gigs to sustain yourself, as a beginner.

Your best bet with it would be to get a paid job, where you do in-house graphic design for a company, but remotely. People who do well with graphic design have stuck with it for a very long time and built a reputation and a higher price-floor.

UI/UX design on the other hand puts you in tech, and your starting pay in that field will be significantly higher than a graphic designer.
Both require effort, but pitch your tent in the right place, to make the kind of money you want to make.

Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by clericuzzio(m): 6:35pm On Dec 25, 2022
clericuzzio:

You are part of a criminal gang working together to defraud people here.

I know say you be criminal so I don't need to indulge you
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by ramalot(m): 6:52pm On Dec 25, 2022
bepositive11:
@ramalot I have read all your comments. Thanks for sharing your experiences with us.

How has traveling to all these countries impacted you? Has it been worth it? And what are some of the drawbacks or disadvantages of being a digital nomad?

Has it been worth it? I'd say it has been the best decision I have ever made in my life. In all aspects of life. My only regret is that I didn't leave the US sooner, to start traveling this way.

Drawbacks? There haven't been any notable drawbacks for me, personally.

Though I haven't had to deal with these things, here are some drawbacks some people I know who live a similar life face:

1. Loneliness: Some people who travel alone deal with loneliness, especially if they're not socially outgoing people.
When I was traveling alone initially, before my fiancee came into the picture, I never dealt with loneliness though. That's because I've always been social, and can get along with nearly any category of people, anywhere.

So I quickly made friends in each place I landed, and had a great time with them, for the duration of my stay. All while meeting other new people. Whenever time I spent alone, it was because I wanted to be alone and enjoy that alone-time, or to focus on work.

2. Professional setbacks: Some people don't plan this kind of life properly, and end up feeling behind their peers back home, if they're not advancing professionally. Mostly people without significant tech or digital skills. Personally, I've always been focused on building my own thing. Since I can do that from anywhere, my location has never affected my professional progress.

3. Personal/romantic life: Some people end up feeling dissatisfied with their love lives, because their friends are all getting married or having kids. Meanwhile, they're only having short-term relationships they can't take along with them when they're leaving a country. Rinse and repeat in a new country. This makes some guys feel frustrated.

Personally, before my fiancee, I was perfectly happy and loved traveling around as a single guy. I've never been one to compare myself or timeline in life to anyone else's. That's a recipe for depression. Since she started traveling with me (several years ago), it's also been awesome. So I'm happy I've had the opportunity to experience the best of both worlds. Single travel and coupled travel.

Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by Demmylove(m): 6:53pm On Dec 25, 2022
ramalot:

By graphic design, I mean things like one-off logo design or flyer designs. This is because the barrier to entry is low, so the overall value assigned to it by the free market is also low. This means you're unlikely to get enough good paying one-time graphic design gigs to sustain yourself, as a beginner.

Your best bet with it would be to get a paid job, where you do in-house graphic design for a company, but remotely. People who do well with graphic design have stuck with it for a very long time and built a reputation and a higher price-floor.

UI/UX design on the other hand puts you in tech, and your starting pay in that field will be significantly higher than a graphic designer.
Both require effort, but pitch your tent in the right place, to make the kind of money you want to make.

Thank you sir, your answer was what I was hoping to hear.

Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by ramalot(m): 6:58pm On Dec 25, 2022
Nwanna2588:

As a globetrotter, what is the easiest legit way to travel for somebody that is a low-income earner?

If you're a low-income earner, start by traveling within Nigeria, or take a road trip to Benin Republic.
It takes money to travel properly, so you'll have to work on your marketable skills. Learn tech skills that offer decent pay and remote options.

You can't learn them overnight, and there are no shortcuts. However, if you start today and focus really hard, in 12 months, your life could be different. All the best.

Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by ramalot(m): 7:00pm On Dec 25, 2022
tellsblinks:

Are you on LinkedIn? Please connect with me
https://www.linkedin.com/in/paul-light-

I understand that you might not want random people to contact you. So i please I beg you just click the link and connect with me

https://ww w.linkedin.com/in/paul-light-
Incase nairaland algorithm resets the link kindly remove the space in between www.

I promise not to disturb you, I just need to draw inspiration from you

I really appreciate sir. I really appreciate

Sorry, but I don't use Linkedin. All the best.
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by popizaino(m): 7:34pm On Dec 25, 2022
Cc. ramalot

In terms of urban infrastructure which of the city you visited will you call most developed and least developed?
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by 77up(m): 7:38pm On Dec 25, 2022
O por kiss
hodari:
My own list..

ASIA
1. Hanoi, Vietnam.
2. Surabaya, Indonesia.
3. New Delhi, India.
4. Mumbai, India.
5. Islamabad, Pakistan.
6. Lahore, Pakistan.
7.Dhaka, Bangladesh.
8. Bangkok, Thailand.
9.Singapore.
10.Baku, Azerbaijan.

AFRICA
11.Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
12.Nairobi, Kenya.
13. Kampala, Uganda.
14.Kigali, Rwanda.
15. Johannesburg, South Africa.
16.Arusha, Tanzania.
17.Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania.
18.Dakar, Senegal.
19.Abuja, Nigeria.
20.Lagos, Nigeria.
21.Port Harcourt, Nigeria.
22.Kaduna, Nigeria.
23.Accra, Ghana.
24.Cotonou, Benin.
25.Freetown, Sierra Leone.

EUROPE
26.Geneva, Switzerland.
27.London, UK.
28.Katowice, Poland.
29.Lisbon, Portugal.
30Luxembourg.
31.Brussels, Belgium.
32.Amsterdam, Netherlands.
33.Hague, Netherlands.

AMERICAS
34.New York, USA.
35.Washington, DC.
36.Baltimore, MD, USA.
37.Quito, Ecuador

MIDDLE EAST
38.Dubai, UAE
39.Abu Dhabi, UAE
40.Tehran, Iran.

I'm sure I forgot one or two will update later. cool cool

Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by sorepco(m): 8:02pm On Dec 25, 2022
Go on the net and check out companies that deal in the agric products you want to market....i.e if you sell shea butter look for companies that produce beauty products...especially black beauty products..

aromaticmassage:
Good afternoon Baba, Ihow can you help me with authentic contact of person or cooperate organization in the USA or Canadathat I can be supplying my farm produce to ( palm oil and vegetables especially ukazi) I've gone for a basic training on this my only challenge at the moment is getting a customer even if it's one. I believe from one I'll get more. All my efforts towards this have not yielded any desired result. Thank you sir
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by ferhyntorlah(f): 8:04pm On Dec 25, 2022
iamL:

What africa countries, been to any?

I have friends who are inviting me to Kenya and a tech company is offering me a job in zambia but I am still skeptical due to my business in Nigeria.

Truth is am tired of staying in Nigeria honesty.

A new year is coming.
Please take a leap of faith.

Start by accepting your friends' invitation, then you take it from there.

What you have presented to you is what some can only dream of. I wish you the very best!
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by Simpubozz(m): 8:05pm On Dec 25, 2022
What is the legit best way to migrate to US?
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by 77up(m): 8:05pm On Dec 25, 2022
ramalot:

Not sure what you mean by experience, but there are transgender people everywhere in Thailand. They're called "ladyboys" in most of South East Asia. Majority (not all) of Thailand's ladyboys are prostitutes, so not sure how your friend got into a situation with one.

In any nightlife area in Thailand, you'll find many ladyboys hustling for customers. They target guys who are either gay, too drunk to tell the difference, or too drunk to care. To the untrained eye, Thai ladyboys are hard to distinguish from actual females. That's because Thai men are typically very skinny and a bit feminine to begin with. So when they get on female hormone therapy, they can look convincing.

You can generally tell if they're close to you, or speak. In nightlife areas, they're also very aggressive in trying to get the attention of guys walking by. They might try to hold your hand or something. In which case, you have to very politely tell them to get lost.

Thailand as a country is generally accepting of them, and legally recognizes them. So they're not really seen as a bad thing by most of the locals. Although they still deal with some discrimination.
My question.

What national is your beautiful fiancee?
Say something about jamaican girls.
Is everything we learnt about Pablo escobar still exist in colombia?

Thank you.
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by Hotty321(m): 8:18pm On Dec 25, 2022
ramalot:

This thread is purely travel-related, not professional endeavors. However, the bold part is a problematic approach that causes many people to self-sabotage. Don't look for shortcuts and don't focus on quick gains. Focus on long-term skills and long-term outcomes.

I would recommend you take advantage of the numerous free resources online. If you want to go into the often lucrative field of programming, you can start with freecodecamp.org. It's free, and you'll be issued certificates. You can learn enough to land a Junior Developer job at a small startup.

If you want to go into Data Analysis, you can start with Google's official Data Analytics Certification on Coursera.org
It can take you several months to complete, if you're not very focused. If you go all in, you can do it in 2 months. Coursera is $39.99/month. So $80 for 2 months. You'll be issued a Data Analyst certificate. If you actually learn the skill, and not just breeze through to pass (like many students do), you can apply to Junior Data Analyst job positions.

These things pay a decent enough wage to start out in Tech. There is also cybersecurity and other areas to look into. All the best.
Thanks for the response..I terms of learning it..we youth find it hard to learn IT much on ourselves because of failure of electricity and to get steady data to be using is another problem that's why many of our mates in Europe and Americans stand out . However I still have it in mind to start from a programmer and as time goes I can move further plus I heard it's easier to get IT jobs than those in Africa...it is well with u baba ..more blessings coming ur ways this coming year

Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by zoedew: 8:20pm On Dec 25, 2022
ramalot:

Yeah, it's easier to minimize those.

For your question, I would say Colombia and Brazil. While both countries have their issues, I love the people and vibe.

The music, the general atmosphere and interactions are warm and enjoyable.

I've spent a total of 10 months in Brazil, in one trip, and 12 months in Colombia, on 4 different trips between 2017 and 2022.

Attached Pics:
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Bogota, Colombia
These photographs look too much like straight out of Google street photographic impressions though!
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by zoedew: 8:25pm On Dec 25, 2022
ramalot:
I don't use social media (FB, IG etc) in general, for personal use. Though I have business social media accounts.
So I don't post travel pictures anywhere. I prefer to quietly live my life and enjoy it, for me.

That said, I'll try to post a few pictures of some locations I talk about. Just for some visuals on the thread, as an image speaks a thousand words. I'll only post pictures I've taken myself, with my phone.

I'll modify and add some pics to questions I already answered above, and will try to add 1 or 2 to new questions that follow. Only if a pic is relevant to the question.
How have you kept safe?
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by ramalot(m): 8:31pm On Dec 25, 2022
77up:
My question.
What national is your beautiful fiancee?
Say something about jamaican girls.
Is everything we learnt about Pablo escobar still exist in colombia?
Thank you.

She's Russian, and yes, she's lovely.

I haven't been to Jamaica, so I only know Jamaican girls in the US, and a few I've met in other places. Honestly, I don't have too many positives to say about them, other than they're usually good dancers. I love to dance, so I like girls who know how to dance too.
Other than that, their looks generally aren't impressive. They can also be a bit confrontational.

The days of Pablo Escobar are long gone. It's kinda like someone asking you if all the things they heard about Abacha still exists.
Sure, there are some faint remnants, but in general, no. If you're wondering if people still sell drugs in Colombia, yes, they do. Cocaine and marijuana are legal in Colombia, for a small amount of personal consumption. I don't smoke or do drugs, so I don't engage any of that.

Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by zoedew: 8:31pm On Dec 25, 2022
Sweetvie:
Yeah, southeast Asia is a bit chaotic
Have been to India n Philippines.
India is very chaotic
Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai and New Delhi
That's where I got to visit but their food is not for me but I love biryani grin
Palak paneer is cool but I don't how to describe how I felt when I tasted it grin
Panipuri is also cool and I tasted jalebi in India also it very sweet.
Philippines is okay, only got to visit Manila grin
The city is lovely. Heard there's some place you can't visit in Philippines?

@bolded
I love Colombia
Like the music, dance, the culture and everything is on another level... I really want to visit grin I love the way Columbia speak their Spanish, it gives me a whole new vibes different from the spain own. I'll love to taste their food, dance and visit the beach there grin
Terrorism is perhaps the biggest threat to tourist safety in the Philippines and continues to be an ongoing problem. The whole of the far south is a no-go zone: the areas of Mindanao, the Sulu Archipelago, and the Zamboanga Peninsula are all considered extremely dangerous and travelers are advised to stay away.

Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by Sweetvie: 8:48pm On Dec 25, 2022
zoedew:

Terrorism is perhaps the biggest threat to tourist safety in the Philippines and continues to be an ongoing problem. The whole of the far south is a no-go zone: the areas of Mindanao, the Sulu Archipelago, and the Zamboanga Peninsula are all considered extremely dangerous and travelers are advised to stay away.
Thanks for thisgrin I really hope they do something abt it.
Ramalot... I think this is the answer to where not to go in Philippines
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by ramalot(m): 8:53pm On Dec 25, 2022
Hotty321:

Thanks for the response..I terms of learning it..we youth find it hard to learn IT much on ourselves because of failure of electricity and to get steady data to be using is another problem that's why many of our mates in Europe and Americans stand out . However I still have it in mind to start from a programmer and as time goes I can move further plus I heard it's easier to get IT jobs than those in Africa...it is well with u baba ..more blessings coming ur ways this coming year

Same to you.
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by McStoic(m): 9:05pm On Dec 25, 2022
ramalot:
I have gained some insights into different societies and cultures, by traveling far and wide. Not as a weekend tourist, but spending extended time in those places, and living an everyday life. Some of that information/experience might be useful to someone here.

You are living my dream.. Kudos bro

Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by Fearyourcreator: 9:14pm On Dec 25, 2022
ramalot:

Mid-30s.

And if anyone is wondering, my fiancee travels with me.
Are the pictures taken with on phone cameras or professional cameras.. And again are the photos edited or not
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by spanzed(m): 9:15pm On Dec 25, 2022
ramalot:

It's a great little city. Clean and functional, but incredibly expensive. It's very tiny though, like if Abuja was a country.

Lots of good nightlife. Although I've never seen as many drunk people puking in the streets of nightlife areas, like Clark Quay, before. I guess they can't handle their liquor.
Thank you

Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by Fearyourcreator: 9:17pm On Dec 25, 2022
ramalot:

There is random gun violence, but not nearly as bad as the US. So it's nothing to really worry about.
You're much more likely to get shot in the US than in most of LatAm. Except a few of the really violent LatAm countries, like Honduras, but people rarely visit there.
Omo! Naso dem dey shoot for US ni
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by zoedew: 9:31pm On Dec 25, 2022
ramalot:

Singapore was great. I visited there with a friend (also American), while I was spending a few months in Malaysia. Clean and organized little country. It's a tiny place. Like if Abuja was a country. It's really expensive though. I was paying $20-25 per glass of whiskey+red bull mix.

Singapore also has a special place in my story, because about 4 years ago, that's where I met the beautiful person who is now my fiancee. She was also visiting Singapore.
Singapore sooooo clean you spit or throw tissue papers around and you pay fines! Thanks for your stories!
Re: I Have Lived in (or Visited) over 30 Countries. Ask Me Almost Anything (+ Pics) by zoedew: 9:35pm On Dec 25, 2022
ramalot:

I come from a good and well-educated family. I also attended great schools in Nigeria, but more importantly, while I understood our native language, from hearing relatives speak it, I have never spoken it. My parents never spoke it to us at any point. So I have only spoken English, since I was born. When I became a teenager, I also spoke pidgin English with my friends most times, but that had much less of an impact on speech.

I'm happy I understand my native language, and can probably have a conversation in it, if I had to. However, since I never spoke it, it never influenced my speech patterns. When you have a somewhat neutral speaking voice, or the kind of voice some kids in Nigeria used to tell me "why you de speak phonneh," the transition to an American accent is seamless.

Especially when you already grew up fully understanding the nuances of American English, through cartoons, movies and music. No speech pathology needed. It's a natural process, over a long period of time in America. However, the necessary foundation has to be there, to begin with.
Not interesting that your Pa and Ma never spoke or taught you to speak your native language. Usually folks like you have identity issues. The typical American only tolerates people with the kind of background you have narrated.

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (Reply)

5 Most Popular Bus Stops In Lagos / Fehintoluwa Okegbenle Rides Bike From Lagos To Onitsha And Back Within A Day / Planes Wedged Together After Collision At Aberdeen Airport

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 147