Stats: 3,156,710 members, 7,831,220 topics. Date: Friday, 17 May 2024 at 03:44 PM

Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) - Travel (779) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) (1193751 Views)

Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) / Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 / Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (776) (777) (778) (779) (780) (781) (782) ... (1007) (Go Down)

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Lexusgs430: 6:50pm On Dec 26, 2022
hustla:

I don wish all applicants Goodluck.......... wink

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by seunoj: 7:30pm On Dec 26, 2022
thanks4idias:
How urgent and relevant is Nigeria international passport for some one that want to process work visa in UK, is it that before I will apply for any work in UK they will resquest for my international passport first before my job application can be processed

Oga/ madam,
If your passport is expired, apply for renewal even if the appointment date is far off. Evidence of application alongside the expired passport is sufficient for whoever needs the passport as an evidence.
Don’t leave it till it is extremely important and u start looking for a connect in London o!.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by meljoe: 9:32pm On Dec 26, 2022
Please who knows reliable courier company that can ship an item from France to Uk ? Prices for ticket flight or train are very high right now . Please if you know any courier that can ship items from France to Uk please let me know
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by semmyk(m): 9:47pm On Dec 26, 2022
Your clarity is loud and clear.
So essentially, you've moved in already. Your contract started ticking, (Lexusgs430 assumed correctly).
Your clarity also shows that you're on a 9 mths contract (Oct to Jun) and you have two more quarterly rental payments to make: 05 Jan and 05 Apr.
Your rental agreement doesn't look like the norm. However, it is what it is. It's the subsisting contract. It has to be honoured. With that said, pay attention to Onecoder valuable suggestion: cordial, frank engagement with the landlord. Be factual yet 'firm'. Lexusgs430 suggestion remains valid.
LaXxOnebody was not way off either. With the clarity you've provided, you have to engage the landlord to reason and effect changes.
Whatever you do or the out outcome is or is not, one thing that must happen by 04 Jan is that you must ensure £700 is paid for the rent. You'll take each month as it comes, dealing with all the issues that might crops up.
Regarding you ensuring you at least paid the one month for Jan and monthly subsequently, kindly guard against using the phrase, unilateral change, whether by you or the agent/landlord. Just use the term, circumstances or any similar. All the best.
@Ticha, any suggestion from rental law point of view on effecting monthly payment in good faith? This seems one of your strong areas.
Gift7428:
To answer your questions
-I moved in 5th October and paid 3 months rent upfront
The next rent is due January 5th
-please find attached picture that shows how my rent should be paid

I need help in adjusting the contract. I want to start paying monthly.
Thanks for your time

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by AlphaUno: 11:28pm On Dec 26, 2022
Foxie:
Please when I try to call this number it keeps saying it doesn't exist.

Sorry for late response. Input +44 and remove the 0 before 7
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by AlphaUno: 11:48pm On Dec 26, 2022
eniola1010:

My sister. Want to ask u something. Is it possible for one's credit score to increase without having to devise the cc or borrow want to and pay back on time method.

Cant someone just live his life normally, earn his salary, and use his card to buy something with the money in his card. Wont this also increase credit score?

It’s a CAPITALIST world you are in. You must borrow / get a CC / access credit one way or another if you want to have a good score.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Derinde2223: 11:58pm On Dec 26, 2022
mizGene:

Congratulations to you.

Was this normal or priority? And did you get a BRP or it is electronic proof now?

Thank you, this was the standard application- I have not received my brp yet but my right to work has been updated online.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Gift7428: 12:35am On Dec 27, 2022
Will let you know how it goes
semmyk:
So essentially, you've moved in already. Your contract started ticking, (Lexusgs430 assumed correctly).
Your clarity also shows that you're on a 9 mths contract (Oct to Jun) and you have two more quarterly rental payments to make: 05 Jan and 05 Apr.
Your rental agreement doesn't look like the norm. However, it is what it is. It's the subsisting contract. It has to be honoured. With that said, pay attention to Onecoder valuable suggestion: cordial, frank engagement with the landlord. Be factual yet 'firm'. Lexusgs430 suggestion remains valid.
LaXxOnebody was not way off either. With the clarity you've provided, you have to engage the landlord to reason and effect changes.
Whatever you do or the out outcome is or is not, one thing that must happen by 04 Jan is that you must ensure £700 is paid for the rent. You'll take each month as it comes, dealing with all the issues that might crops up.
Regarding you ensuring you at least paid the one month for Jan and monthly subsequently, kindly guard against using the phrase, unilateral change, whether by you or the agent/landlord. Just use the term, circumstances or any similar. All the best.
@Ticha, any suggestion from rental law point of view on effecting monthly payment in good faith? This seems one of your strong areas.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Focus99: 1:31am On Dec 27, 2022
This is an online school from my research. Am I correct?

Schoolhike:

Hi, here my is story, when I came in last year, I started applying for as many as data analyst role to to my skills set, not any work experience. I stopped applying when my wife failed one of her courses which makes me look in the way of searching for care jobs that could sponsor visa because it was stated that she might not be eligible cos of the failure, but luckily for us she was given the opportunity to resit for assessment due to child birth that made her failed the course at first attempt.

I enrolled into masterschool and I can tell i am now having lots of confidence compared to when I first came in. They are offering lots of support and most of our tutors in masterschool class session are people working in top IT companies.

I am just less than 2 months in to the program and I am always very hopeful that I will be able to secure job before or after the end of the course.

I actually conducted my research about masterschool by checking in some of their alumni and I was made known by someone that it really worth it.

After all, it is until you secure a job or 25k and above that they can start taking their payment and also, it is 10% of your monthly payment which makes it flexible enough till you complete the full payment of 11k£

NB: You ain’t paying any dime yet even if the your pay is less than 25k£ annually.

I was also made know that the master school interview simulation process is more rigorous that then actual real life interviews which will make it to scale through interview stages.

It’s has really been helpful.

Projects upon projects with guidance from lots of top guys in data analytics, data engineering, data science.

You will be supported till you land your first job even after the completion of the program.

Masterschool is a big company with worth of over a hundred million dollars.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Thegamingorca(m): 2:36am On Dec 27, 2022
Please are there any alternatives to this ohentpay? The reviews are not encouraging in the slightest

In terms of sending money home and vice versa
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Ticha: 3:10am On Dec 27, 2022
semmyk:

You are right.
OP, Pay for January - follow it up immediately with an email explaining that due to circumstances beyond your control, you can only pay monthly for the foreseeable future. Include that you love the home, look after it as it it's your own, will not default in rent and you're happy for them to come have an inspection at a mutually convenient time.

They will have to give you 2 months notice to leave, you can also choose to stay and not leave and continue paying rent even when the notice ends. They'll have to take you to court and if you're paying your rent, have evidence the house is looked after and that you also informed them of that, you have a very strong chance of the court ruling in your favour too.

No sane agent/ landlord will go through the hassle of the court process of a tenant that is not an issue.

Good luck

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Evagreenfields: 3:23am On Dec 27, 2022
I have been using lemonade app to send money home, it has been quite reliable with good rates.
You can use my referral link below to sign up

I use Lemonade Finance to send money to Africa. You get 10.00 GBP when you verify your account and send over 100.00 GBP with my referral link - https://referral.lemonade.finance/invite/y28G

Thegamingorca:
Please are there any alternatives to this ohentpay? The reviews are not encouraging in the slightest

In terms of sending money home and vice versa
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Thegamingorca(m): 3:27am On Dec 27, 2022
Evagreenfields:
I have been using lemonade app to send money home, it has been quite reliable with good rates.
You can use my referral link below to sign up

I use Lemonade Finance to send money to Africa. You get 10.00 GBP when you verify your account and send over 100.00 GBP with my referral link - https://referral.lemonade.finance/invite/y28G

Unfortunately ppl without BRP can't use this
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by leef2022: 4:06am On Dec 27, 2022
Thegamingorca:

Cause it is meant for people with long-term stays in the UK.
BTW UK driver's license, UK passport holders can.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by hustla(m): 7:26am On Dec 27, 2022
Lexusgs430:

I don wish all applicants Goodluck.......... wink

issorai
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Foxie: 9:56am On Dec 27, 2022
AlphaUno:

Sorry for late response. Input +44 and remove the 0 before 7
Alright, thank you.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by domin8(f): 12:41pm On Dec 27, 2022
Yes you can and should but remember only use a credit card to buy what you can afford and do not go about 25% of your limit as a rule of thumb.

American Express has the best approval rate for new comers at the moment. You can use my link here https://americanexpress.com/en-gb/referral/nnAnnW9hPF?XL=MNANS and we both get 4000 avios points once you are approved.

Gift7428:

Can I apply for a credit card as a student ?
I work part time and don’t make much

I will send an email to my estate agent

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by domin8(f): 12:56pm On Dec 27, 2022
Yes it's the Cash ISA and you get 25% interest from the the Government (not public funds) on whatever you 'save'.

Moneybox is good, has a good interest rate with zero charges.

twizzie:
Merry Christmas everyone.

I have a question about this LISA account please? The one for first time buyers is the Cash LISA? If yes, which of the providers is the best please? Registered with moneybox but want to be sure B4 going ahead with it @Ticha, @lexusgs430

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by ojtopsy: 2:22pm On Dec 27, 2022
Good afternoon house . please I need a clue on how to get a house temporarily in Derby in January before am able to look for a house for my family that will come around February I'm still in Naija .
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Gift7428: 4:07pm On Dec 27, 2022
God bless you guys
I have not been eating well lately as I didn’t know how to go about it.

Ticha:

You are right.
OP, Pay for January - follow it up immediately with an email explaining that due to circumstances beyond your control, you can only pay monthly for the foreseeable future. Include that you love the home, look after it as it it's your own, will not default in rent and you're happy for them to come have an inspection at a mutually convenient time.

They will have to give you 2 months notice to leave, you can also choose to stay and not leave and continue paying rent even when the notice ends. They'll have to take you to court and if you're paying your rent, have evidence the house is looked after and that you also informed them of that, you have a very strong chance of the court ruling in your favour too.

No sane agent/ landlord will go through the hassle of the court process of a tenant that is not an issue.

Good luck
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Evagreenfields: 4:36pm On Dec 27, 2022
Right! I somewhat assumed the poster was already/plans on coming to the UK.

Thegamingorca:

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Thegamingorca(m): 4:50pm On Dec 27, 2022
Evagreenfields:
Right! I somewhat assumed the poster was already/plans on coming to the UK.

Oh okay
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by chukusi: 5:41pm On Dec 27, 2022
Hello Guys.

I Just Moved to Gateshead, Newcastle.

Anyone Closeby?

I need tips on how to get my ways around the town.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by AgentXxx(m): 5:55pm On Dec 27, 2022
A Quick one, I have a neighbor from Nigeria on student visa who is blind. She claims she can apply for council housing using her disability as a reason without affecting her PGSV. Can anyone confirm this? Haven’t been able to get a reasonable answers online .

Thank you
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by LaXxOnebody(m): 6:04pm On Dec 27, 2022
You're welcome.

There's a vibrant Nigerian Community in Gateshead & South Shields.

If ome has a car everywhere is closeby.

The Meteo & Buses work very well. If there'sanything else you need, you can PM me.

chukusi:
Hello Guys.

I Just Moved to Gateshead, Newcastle.

Anyone Closeby?

I need tips on how to get my ways around the town.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by yolkman20: 6:10pm On Dec 27, 2022
Good evening everyone,
Anyone with plugs to care homes giving sponsorship anywhere outside London should please hit me up. Thanks
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Lexusgs430: 6:13pm On Dec 27, 2022
AgentXxx:
A Quick one, I have a neighbor from Nigeria on student visa who is blind. She claims she can apply for council housing using her disability as a reason without affecting her PGSV. Can anyone confirm this? Haven’t been able to get a reasonable answers online .

Thank you

What does her visa say about obtaining public funds .........

This would be my starting position..........

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by AgentXxx(m): 8:04pm On Dec 27, 2022
No recourse to public funds
Lexusgs430:

What does her visa say about obtaining public funds .........

This would be my starting position..........
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Lexusgs430: 8:18pm On Dec 27, 2022
AgentXxx:
No recourse to public funds

Next question -:

Can applying/accepting a council property, be deemed public funds .........

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Schoolhike: 8:31pm On Dec 27, 2022
Focus99:
This is an online school from my research. Am I correct?

Yes

(1) (2) (3) ... (776) (777) (778) (779) (780) (781) (782) ... (1007)

General Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa Through Skilled Migration. / Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 7 / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22

Viewing this topic: 2 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 48