Stats: 3,162,450 members, 7,850,572 topics. Date: Wednesday, 05 June 2024 at 04:08 AM

The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada - Travel (12) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada (82534 Views)

Why Some Nigerians Hate Living In Canada / Nigerians Living At Home Look Better Than Those Raised Abroad / The Bad Behaviour Of Some Nigerians Abroad (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Badadvisor: 10:04pm On Nov 24, 2023
ednut1:
ogbeni a Nigerian asylum seeker died last week in those tents. The shelters are over full already. You are in windsor some of us are in GTA and have seen it life. Mr ignorant Canadian 🀣
Get out negative minded bad belle fellow.
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Fearyourcreator: 10:09pm On Nov 24, 2023
DaTruths:

How can they fix it? Are they the Leaders?

Leaders that are Buying Yatch and cars worth about150k US dollars
Na government build America... eyin werey always claiming literate that can't move shit... it's the people that builds a nation .. which yeye government
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Fearyourcreator: 10:12pm On Nov 24, 2023
PewpewS32:

Hmm... Let's start with cities: Ontario: Windsor, London, Toronto, Ottawa, Thunder Bay, Niagra Falls Quebec: Quebec City, Montreal Nova Scotia: Halifax --- This is just East Coast.

Winter (is fvcking cold, 100%) is Dec, Jan, Feb. -- Yes, sun goes down earlier, but not until 4:45/5:00pm and that's only Winter months. We have Daylight Savings Time (DST) -- In spring goes ahead 1 hr and in the fall goes back 1 hr. This is to maximize daylight. Further north you go the less light you get. All the cities in Ontario the streets are not deserted... we've got 24/7 stores everywhere... not sure where you got that.
Summer months it's light from 5:45am until 10:00pm (where I am).

Despite your opinion and misinformation you've gathered... there are plenty of high paying jobs. Your comparison of Nigeria vs Canada... if your country was so superior... why are you still using fossil fuel to get power? Why are people still walking to water stations to get water and it not being delivered directly to every home? Why is your internet run through wireless towers and not fiber optics direct to every home? If it was so superior you would have all this already. Not trying to be mean, but this is the truth. This is the reality. It's your government that has failed you.

Taxes... oi... yes... we are over taxed. 100% agree. 13% on all goods purchased. Taxed on your pay both Federal tax and Provincial tax. Property taxes and Fuel Taxes. These are all the main taxes you'll see. All these taxes go into developing infrastructure and our government actually does it, not pocket it for themselves.
Vehicle registration: You pay to get your licence to drive. You Pay for your licence plate. That's it.
Food taxes: ZERO (some categories of food are taxed ie; candy)

You pay for everything abeg... that same water and Internet a free? So Wetin you dey drag
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Fearyourcreator: 10:18pm On Nov 24, 2023
PDJT:

-I don't what you want or why you're taking those asylum seekers situation personal.

-Since 2015, many Nigerians have been "advised" by political touts here on Nairaland to leave Nigeria if they don't like the government. I think some people have now taken that great advice.

-Faced with a rock and a hard place in Nigeria, people have decided to take their poison. So let them die in peace. Okay?
Why them dey show us say na tent them dey... Wetin concern us
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Fearyourcreator: 10:20pm On Nov 24, 2023
SoNature:

Oga, save your advice.

If Nigeria was working, nobody would leave this country. In short, it takes a lot of guts to leave one's own country in search of greener pastures. People didn't start relocating today, so your advice won't change a thing.

For your information, there are by far more Nigerians who became successful because they relocated to the west than those who didn't make it there. What does that tell you?

Guess what, there are by far poorer people in Nigeria than comfortable people. In fact, NBS data shows that over 60% of Nigerians live in multidimensional poverty (133 million people out of 220 million people).

So, your advice amounts to nothing when your irresponsible government prefers to loot public wealth than improve the lots of its own people.
You go dey the 133m
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Fearyourcreator: 10:22pm On Nov 24, 2023
KingOfAllIgbos:

Exactly. "Nigeria can NEVER be good"

Some idiots curse themselves.

But they don't pay their taxes, they come to office twice a month when salary is being paid..., they ruthlessly fleece the system.

They don't know as Yakassi, Adebola and Nnamdi are all doing these detrimental things to Nigeria, it all adds up to the general decay.

Black men don't want to work to build their societies but want to go to White men's societies who worked hard to build them to what they are today.

US and UK are where they are today because of responsible Leaders AND Followers.
Nigeria no get good leaders I agree... but those followers no dey wan gree say them no better their leaders
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Fearyourcreator: 10:22pm On Nov 24, 2023
voltron14:

I can assure you 90% of those in the tent are the type that would tell you to "come back home if that place no favour you".
Aswear... make them freeze abeg... Nigeria no need them again

Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Fearyourcreator: 10:23pm On Nov 24, 2023
voltron14:

The guy that died amongst those tent-dwellers must have had the same mindset.

Continue.
Lolzzzz, them no dey hear word . Make them continue

Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by phadul: 10:38pm On Nov 24, 2023
I wonder who told Nigerians there is paradise on earth! Even if there is, it is Nigeria! Just look at where we are situated on earth almost in the middle. But we don't care it in glorious bastards Mtswww
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by pansophist(m): 11:16pm On Nov 24, 2023
Instead of being an undocumented immigrant in Canada, please do that in the US.

The US has lots of warm states. The US won the geographical jackpot of the North American continent.

Also, after these migrants suddenly become legal, they will face the high cost of living, extreme cold, and isolated lifestyle, with a painful long commute, since Canada is so freaking huge. The largest country in the world after Russia.

Anytime I fly to The Netherlands and enter the Netherlands airspace, it is not more than 20 minutes before the plane will land, since the country is small.

But Canada, damn. It takes roughly two hours to fly into Canada from Europe (Iceland), but you will spend an additional four to five hours flying inside Canada, just to get to your province.

Canada is too forking huge, you just can't comprehend it. Even their so-called big cities have lots of long driving in it. You will lose your mind there if you are not a natural introvert.

And if you now compare Canada to Russia, then Canada seems like a dwarf. Russia is a continent. Then you will know Nigeria is small and overpopulated.

Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by grandstar(m): 11:37pm On Nov 24, 2023
mu2sa2:
"We know what happened can happen because it did happen." The video isn't fake. Those guys are having a real bad time in Canada. Many Africans have been misled into thinking that the streets of Canada and other Western countries are paved with gold. It's only when they get there that they're faced with the stark realities of life as depicted in the video. I understand your patriotism, but fact is the video is real and those Africans are in real mess. May God save them from the cold temperatures they have never experienced before, not even in their weirdest imaginations.

There are usually to extremes which is either very good or very bad and you seem to have chosen the latter.

I am certain it was not this way last year. Canada simply needs to increase accommodation and other amenities to welcome the massive horde of immigrants coming in. Also, I won't be surprised if some of the people here came with insufficient funds, less than what the Canadian government recommended. Many think they are clever and provide a deceptive "bank account", never considering that will be their survival money until they stand on their feet or to cushion things.

Many of the migrants here in 5 years time would have found their feet. These are teething problems.

I have always urged people to have a moderate view about travelling overseas. Unfortunately, the vast majority still travel with the best possible outcome outlook.
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by happney65: 11:46pm On Nov 24, 2023
They should move to other parts of Canada. No be only Mississauga dey canada
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Caseless: 12:11am On Nov 25, 2023
I've never doubted it once that i'm not making it here, so the obsession with Japa has never been there for me. I don't believe I should live in any country like this. If I can't get more than what I'm getting here, then forget about it.

You can't lie that you're chased by Boko haram and persecuted because you're gay just to get asylum. Some have never been to the part where Boko Haram operate.

There's no other place you can be respected on earth like in Nigeria.
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Caseless: 12:13am On Nov 25, 2023
grandstar:

There are usually to extremes which is either very good or very bad and you seem to have chosen the latter.

I am certain it was not this way last year. Canada simply needs to increase accommodation and other amenities to welcome the massive horde of immigrants coming in. Also, I won't be surprised if some of the people here came with insufficient funds, less than what the Canadian government recommended. Many think they are clever and provide a deceptive "bank account", never considering that will be their survival money until they stand on their feet or to cushion things.

Many of the migrants here in 5 years time would have found their feet. These are teething problems.

I have always urged people to have a moderate view about travelling overseas. Unfortunately, the vast majority still travel with the best possible outcome outlook.
People like you are the reasons some of these guys are on the street out there.

Maybe you're a visa agent.
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Tonididdyx: 12:19am On Nov 25, 2023
It's not normal to sell your belongings running into millions in 9ja to go live in tents in Canada!

.... I always tell people I see on the atreets, "surrender yourself and go home to naija"
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by megastu(m): 12:21am On Nov 25, 2023
The person who made that video is from my group. We discussed it prior. He didn't intend for the video to go viral but unfortunately (or perhaps fortunately) the Govt has responded with $7m to shelter them. We went to protest 3 months ago when some were living in the streets. We begged that it might get worse when it gets cold. Organizations responded and they were moved to churches. Now, a lot more people came. Mind you not all of them are asylum seekers. Some came with that audacious visit visa to work visa mindset and are now stranded. The country is struggling. Interest rates moved from 2% in 2021 to 6% today. Many people cant even afford their mortgage anymore.
If you want to join the Ontario Accommodation group, send me a message. Many people have been sorted and paired for accommodation.

Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by DaTruths: 12:33am On Nov 25, 2023
Fearyourcreator:

Na government build America... eyin werey always claiming literate that can't move shit... it's the people that builds a nation .. which yeye government

He was talking about fixing Nigeria, not building it.

Your Papa no build House?
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by atinga1: 12:56am On Nov 25, 2023
Melezenawii:

See mumunatu
E pain amπŸ˜‚
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by megastu(m): 1:10am On Nov 25, 2023
From Toronto to Thunder Bay is 20hrs drive, in the same Ontario province.
pansophist:
Instead of being an undocumented immigrant in Canada, please do that in the US.

The US has lots of warm states. The US won the geographical jackpot of the North American continent.

Also, after these migrants suddenly become legal, they will face the high cost of living, extreme cold, and isolated lifestyle, with a painful long commute, since Canada is so freaking huge. The largest country in the world after Russia.

Anytime I fly to The Netherlands and enter the Netherlands airspace, it is not more than 20 minutes before the plane will land, since the country is small.

But Canada, damn. It takes roughly two hours to fly into Canada from Europe (Iceland), but you will spend an additional four to five hours flying inside Canada, just to get to your province.

Canada is too forking huge, you just can't comprehend it. Even their so-called big cities have lots of long driving in it. You will lose your mind there if you are not a natural introvert.

And if you now compare Canada to Russia, then Canada seems like a dwarf. Russia is a continent. Then you will know Nigeria is small and overpopulated.
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by DavidEsq(m): 1:11am On Nov 25, 2023
tsdarkside:

mumu original....
no go find real job to do....

wetin i no know you....
i know your kind....money parasite....

not only under bus i go throw you....thunder strike you join too....
Noticed he opened this account just yesterday? Looks like he's throwing baits. I think he's fishing. Victims would soon start falling
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by sulakishop(m): 1:21am On Nov 25, 2023
Maybe. If you can fear your creator.

But Can you really embrace the real truth?

Fearyourcreator:

Freezing like Jack for Titanic good bah...
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Wsx2: 1:31am On Nov 25, 2023
franchasofficia:
Canada is a small country with massive land mass. Canada's economy is not booming like that of US, UK, Germany, etc. Canada doesn't have enough skill jobs that is why they demand for so much including Canada experience and all that because if they have more than enough jobs like the states, UK, etc, their employers will waive some freaking requirements they ask from skilled migrants who spent a fortune to enter Canada via express entry, etc.

So please before you decide to relocate to Canada, bear in mind that it will take you some years to gather all the useless Canada experience and other requirements to secure a befitting skilled job in Canada.

People mistake Canada as paradise but unfortunately Canada is just another UK. You complain of income tax in UK, are you aware that consumer tax in some Canada province will make you broke despite what you earn? Imagine paying as much as 30% VAT on whatever you buy after collecting your so called salary or wage?

If you are young, have big financial dreams and want to succeed big financially through migration, please find way migrate to US legally. You are better off in Poland, Finland, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Belgium than in Canada.

Canada is overrated. There is no much economic activities going on there and most part have harsh weather condition.

The only good thing about Canada is easy route to PR if you entered legally, aside that, UK = Canada. In fact, UK is far better than Canada when it comes to ease of securing a job, you will secure a job faster in UK than in Canada that have a struggling economy. Ask yourself, what and what does Canada produce and export to the world? Canadian government is hyping Canada with so much fund to attract immigrants to come into Canada with huge money to help Canada economy grow in maybe 100 years from now.

Don't mistake Canada as a nation with booming economy and so many high paying skilled jobs, you will be disappointed.

Canadian government is trying to build Canada's economy by collecting money from skilled migrants and students, they are trying to replicate US DV lottery thinking it would build their country's economy but they cant because they dont have the intellects and technology experts to do what US did.

US is a magical, wonderful nation, the best country on earth. The country where you can pick money on the floor if you are ready to put in the work.

May God continue to bless America

You just nailed it, I live here and anytime I told any of my friends in Europe to stay back in Europe, they never believe me until one came from Finland and saw for himself, he ran back after 3 weeks. Canada is overhyped and their is nothing much here , it was better several years back now worst, housing crisis, no jobs, employers shortchanging skilled workers due to scarcity of jobs, high cost of living , difficult to succeed for those who aren’t in with huge cash to start a business.
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by DavidEsq(m): 1:34am On Nov 25, 2023
ProtonX:

No. They should have made plans before leaving Nigeria. And many of them are despicable to their hosts too.
The wife and I housed a family last year and we had to forcefully remove them (with the police present) after 3 months. You know why? Destruction of thousands of CAD worth of property, not a single contribution to bills or the pantry,physical attack on my wife and children, and a diabolical plan to take over our property. Not again! Leeches
Omo!
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Wsx2: 1:35am On Nov 25, 2023
Odogwuzack:

Many things you said about Canada here is false sha except say another Canada dey lol

If you are coming to Canada, make sure you have 6 month accomodation sorted and you will be good. The earlier you are able to sort out the accommodation the better.

Before you reply with insult just know you are replying someone that have 90% of his family members in Canada. cool

Everything the op said is true except you are old or aren’t following the situation in the country, you don’t read the news, you are isolated in your own space, you don’t care about concerns of others or you are a politician or rich man pikin that immigrated for enjoyment in canada , Or you were here 10 years ago. Things has gone from better to worst in Canada. Cost of living is affecting all Canadians and newcomers. It is difficult to save money. It is difficult to survive, there are no jobs. Many are unhappy. For a Canadian To buy a home now in most part of canada is now nightmare .
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by DavidEsq(m): 1:43am On Nov 25, 2023
b0rn2fuck:
If una wan knack each other for here. Na to dey watch around like thieves first
πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by DavidEsq(m): 1:51am On Nov 25, 2023
Bigchristo:
Dem Dey use am whine me here, say if you want to enter Canada just apply for tourist visa and then we convert it to working visa I just block the guy because I am not In Nigeria I have also travel a little and understand how visa policies work, I wish me fit see that Agent face to face make I slap him ears, dem wan deceive my brother πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Slap ke? Na to deck am

Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by DavidEsq(m): 1:57am On Nov 25, 2023
OGHENAOGIE:
can u state the process you followed to move to Australia...
Careful o
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by DavidEsq(m): 2:06am On Nov 25, 2023
Obierika:

You should know it was a typographical error grin
No. It's not.
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by DavidEsq(m): 2:21am On Nov 25, 2023
musicwriter:

That person isn't even a Canadian. See below.

Okay, I am a Canadian. I can't speak for this "shelter" if you even want to call it that. I think for sure this particular situation is very isolated. I've never seen a shelter like this anywhere and in fact haven't heard about this death either. Mississauga is literally 3 hours from me. I am sure there has to be some underlying issue going on here that isn't being told.[/b]

If you read the rest of his/her post carefully, you'll see Nigerian English use here and there
πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by DavidEsq(m): 2:28am On Nov 25, 2023
ednut1:
this is not entirely true. Canada salaries are better than that of Uk. USA has the highest salaries by volume. Desperate for PR Is it better to be in limbo of immigration in usa( and be considering marriage to akata) or be in the Uk on 5 years work visa ( praying they should not sack you/ you can’t change jobs easily). I chose Canada biko and i’m collecting 6 figures, some of my mates from Nigeria have gotten senior manager/director positions.

Got my citizenship recently in Canada, guess what the USA job market is open for me, a colleague left last week for our USA office. If i went to usa directly i would not be a citizen today, i may have had to marry one Shanice or Yolanda. Biko make una dey calm down 🀣
Na that Shanice dey para me pass. Very useless people with useless character
Re: The Shelter Where Some Nigerians Are Living At Mississauga In Canada by Gerrard59(m): 2:50am On Nov 25, 2023
BigIyanga:

Per 1st hold, if you get 20-60m from 1 rental deal in bulk, you can invest in foreign treasury bills,bonds/stock, reit, mutual funds.. then why are u worried about devaluation when you investment in Naira and your return in Naira is converted to $€£ once you get paid in bulk?
Also Naija real estate is naira denominated, so your foreign inflow realized from Naija rental income, is going to have more purchasing power when you’re ready to buy more

That makes sense. But if such is prevalent, especially on the yearly payment of rents, why are foreign investors not trooping into Nigerian real estate sector like it is done in other countries?

Per 2nd bold… I dont understand, why are you using a house as a collateral to buy another house?

Isn't that the prevalent way of real estate investment in developed countries? Citizens buy a house using a deposit, then after the property has gained value, they use it as a collateral to obtain another loan to purchase another property and on it goes?

I know of someone looking for a residential property to let @15m/yr when they got the money to pay.. it had been rented by another tenant.

Someone was looking for a commercial lease @15m/yr for 5 years@75m… and another tenant paid for 7yrs @105m for the same property. This is a commercial property with zero maintenance cost. Commercial real estate is something else.

Commercial real estate makes sense, but not me and Nigeria. Other African countries and black dominated places dey available.

(1) (2) (3) ... (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (Reply)

What Victoria Island Looks Like In 2020 (pics, Video) / WWII Plane Recovered From Black Sea After Crashing 77 Years Ago(Pics) / Nigerian Woman Saw Danfo In Houston, Texas (photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 75