Stats: 3,155,051 members, 7,825,345 topics. Date: Sunday, 12 May 2024 at 12:05 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (15863) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11731176 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (15860) (15861) (15862) (15863) (15864) (15865) (15866) ... (16172) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by codemaniacs: 12:46pm On Feb 13
Kog45:
Alex Iwobi did not deserves all these insults from fans.It is football and a lot happens on the field and even behind the scene....we need to respect our players cuz they are humans.

Some months ago we all watched in the Women's World Cup how the likes of Halimatu Ayinde and Christy Ucheibe ran tirelessly on the field and made sure the SF midfield did not collapse against countries ranked higher than the Super Falcons and these are women..

Now, a certain man named iwobi could not run tirelessly on the field and ensure the SE midfield does not collapse and you're saying
" It is football and a lot happens on the field and even behind the scene....we need to respect our players cuz they are humans."

Ayinde and Ucheibe must be super humans..

iwobi deserves all the insults he is getting from fans especially when women footballers are putting more effort than him on the field..

SE needs the men versions of Ucheibe and Ayinde in the midfield.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by caprikon: 12:53pm On Feb 13
The backlash received by the SE players from some quarters is sickening. These guys are HEROES....Very few gave them a chance to do anything tangible. The comaraderie in this team was noticeable different. The fought together, suffered together but came up short in the end. We as fans need to get behind them.

Egypt was able to win our total AFCON tally between 2006 - 2010. There is nothing stopping us from achieving such a feat with proper planning.

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TradingGod: 1:06pm On Feb 13
forgiveness:

3 times but still came back stronger.
but he retired after the abuse he received, not so?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 1:15pm On Feb 13
ThunderFireAgba:
All these people saying we should leave Iwobi alone, ALL OF UNA DEY MENT FOR HEAD.
All of the 7games he played in this AFCON, single our one exact game or one moment he did something brilliant that attracted the attention of the Fans?
From the get-go against Guinea-Bissau; the first goal was his fault! How many time was he cautioned on the pitch?
Thank goodness for the Tank Onyeka.
This is partly the reason what made Peseiro(which should also share part of the blame) to switch to 3-4-3 formation. This formation is by coincidence cos he already dawn on him he has No suppressive midfielder that can lead the attack. People also said that its not only Iwobi fault but:
-Atleast our RWB(Aina) showed some brilliant plays in one or two of the matches which you all will agree.

Another scape goat who should take part of the blame is LWB(Sanusi) with iwobi has No single business with the Super Eagles.
There's no game people didn't complain about Iwobi's performance in this tournament!
Imagine players like Lookman, Bassey, Osayi with less than 15caps for Nigeria having better stats than someone who has been with the team with over 78caps??
I hope Gift Orban resolves his issues with FIFA so we can have a proper CAM who is strong on his feet, can control the ball and dictate play.
-With this being said, I've exhausted my stay on this section. I will be coming-in mostly as guest and reading you guys thoughts and 👍liking "meaningful" comments. I thank every member of this wonderful section, you guys are the best.
I will be back in March prior to the Argentina match and World Cup qualifiers.
Peace.
I thought Orban is a striker?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by chrisooblog: 1:18pm On Feb 13
Agenda must agend.

MetalJigsaw:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Barryseal: 1:19pm On Feb 13
Not that I support bullying but I think we've sensationalized this Iwobi thing enough. Footballers being yabbed comes with the perks of the job. It's one of the occupational hazards of being a player and they are well compensated for it. Same can be said of politicians. You can't in one breathe defend Iwobi and same time insult Tinubu Balablu. That's hypocritical.

Harry Maguire has been hounded over the years so much that a Ghanaian parliamentarian made jest of him on the parliament.

Onana's at 50 memes are everywhere.
Messi was bullied to a point that he quit the national team because he couldn't win the world cup or the South American copa.

Nobody even threatened Iwobi to start with. Back in 2006, Pierre Wome had his family house burnt in Cameron after he missed a last minute penalty which denied Cameron from qualifying for the world cup. Let's move on abeg

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 1:21pm On Feb 13
TheLoneCitizen:
The fact that NGA lost that final makes Next Year's AFCON even better.

Rivalry with SA, GHANA, Angola and, CIV reignited.

Nwabali, Bassey, Onyeka, Aina, Osimhen, Boniface, Orban, Moffi, Awoniyi would all be playing for top 5 clubs by then.

Middle of summer tournament, means best players will be available.

Means world will sit down to focus here.

I know Osimhen will be playing for big club next season and Orban is already playing for Lyon.

Which big clubs are chasing the rest?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 1:35pm On Feb 13
Dsimmer:
Mostob

In the the final against Cote d'Ivoire, aribo in just 4 minutes made 10 passes which is almost half of Iwobi's 23 passes in 78 minutes while Onyeka made 12 passes in 86 minutes. Imagine if Aribo was on the pitch for longer, he would have at least taken control of the midfield away from Cote d'Ivoire midfield who were having a blast. As I previously stated, Aribo was fantastic as a playmaking CM in the last afcon. With him and Onyedika who's a holding midfielder, Nigeria could control the match at least.

Where did you get that from?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 1:36pm On Feb 13
Lovewins, tell me what will happen 8 out of ten times if you forget your phone in a public place.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 1:39pm On Feb 13
MetalJigsaw:
Cote d'Ivoire's Coach Fae on beating Nigeria:

"We noticed the Nigerian players were tired in the first half. They were not at their usual best,”

“I told my players during the half-time break that we must increase the intensity of our game and it worked out well for us."

This is exactly what Peseiro failed to observe

Introduce Alhassan earlier and hold the ball to reduce the pace of the game.

They were literally playing into their hands by kicking the ball upfield and handing it back to them again and again.

Though I think if Alhassan was brought in earlier he would have done exactly what Iwobi failed woefully to do.

I said change Iwobi during the course of the match before the equalizer because it was obvious to the eyes Iwobi wasn't in that game. He was tired.

Paseiro should had brought in 4 fresh legs in the second half before that equalizer. Then I am sure the Ivorian doesn't stand a chance but unfortunately the coach no fit read match.

He had no plan B.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Amedino99(m): 1:46pm On Feb 13
Barryseal:
Not that I support bullying but I think we've sensationalized this Iwobi thing enough. Footballers being yabbed comes with the perks of the job. It's one of the occupational hazards of being a player and they are well compensated for it. Same can be said of politicians. You can't in one breathe defend Iwobi and same time insult Tinubu Balablu. That's hypocritical.

Harry Maguire has been hounded over the years so much that a Ghanaian parliamentarian made jest of him on the parliament.

Onana's at 50 memes are everywhere.
Messi was bullied to a point that he quit the national team because he couldn't win the world cup or the South American copa.

Nobody even threatened Iwobi to start with. Back in 2006, Pierre Wome had his family house burnt in Cameron after he missed a last minute penalty which denied Cameron from qualifying for the world cup. Let's move on abeg

4 Likes 3 Shares

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 1:46pm On Feb 13
Dsimmer:
Mostob

In the the final against Cote d'Ivoire, aribo in just 4 minutes made 10 passes which is almost half of Iwobi's 23 passes in 78 minutes while Onyeka made 12 passes in 86 minutes. Imagine if Aribo was on the pitch for longer, he would have at least taken control of the midfield away from Cote d'Ivoire midfield who were having a blast. As I previously stated, Aribo was fantastic as a playmaking CM in the last afcon. With him and Onyedika who's a holding midfielder, Nigeria could control the match at least.
when aribo came in the team was more attacking than defensive

Stop capping
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 1:47pm On Feb 13
forgiveness:

I know Osimhen will be playing for big club next season and Orban is already playing for Lyon.

Which big clubs are chasing the rest?
lookman likely to join any of inter Milan or juventus next summer
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 1:48pm On Feb 13
chrisooblog:
Agenda must agend.

🤣🤣🤣
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 1:49pm On Feb 13
charlesemeka85:
lookman likely to join any of inter Milan or juventus next summer

Okay. But which is better between the 2 for him?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BankyGee(m): 1:56pm On Feb 13
Asisat Oshoala cooking Tunde Ednut and VeryDarkMan on Iwobi's issue. Tunde Ednut started that rubbish, and people were literally BEGGING him in the comments section to take it down. He refused.

Now the hypocriteeee was the first to post that Nigerians are wicked o. Nonsense people everywhere, blaming a team effort on one person.

Make Okoye no allow devil minister to am to honor any national team call-up o, for his mental health.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by daveP(m): 1:56pm On Feb 13
Why this bot ban me when i no break any rule? Any keyword to take note of next time? Frustrating ☹️
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BankyGee(m): 1:57pm On Feb 13
daveP:
Why this bot ban me when i no break any rule? Any keyword to take note of next time? Frustrating ☹️
That bot na muumuuuu... No vex bro

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by ThunderFireAgba: 1:57pm On Feb 13
MetalJigsaw:
AM, SS he's good at both.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Barryseal: 1:58pm On Feb 13
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Barryseal: 1:59pm On Feb 13
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by leathalbeast: 2:03pm On Feb 13
forgiveness:

I said change Iwobi during the course of the match before the equalizer because it was obvious to the eyes Iwobi wasn't in that game. He was tired.

Paseiro should had brought in 4 fresh legs in the second half before that equalizer. Then I am sure the Ivorian doesn't stand a chance but unfortunately the coach no fit read match.

He had no plan B.
but aside from peseiro's mistakes the Nigerian players became very over confidence in the second half especially when all the ivoirien shots were not entering the net, your nigerian players begun to let all those prophecies get into their heads
Overconfidence caused them too, just cut peseiro some slack

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by daveP(m): 2:24pm On Feb 13
BankyGee:

That bot na muumuuuu... No vex bro

Annoying thing and mods no dey respond on time🥴

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by lovewins: 2:30pm On Feb 13
Mujtahida:
Lovewins, tell me what will happen 8 out of ten times if you forget your phone in a public place.

Wasn't going to respond initially cause much of comment already answers points raised in your rebuttal. You're just engaging in strawman.

First, the conversation had a context which was cyber bullying particularly of sportsmen. Your claim is that Nigerians are wicked cause of the actions of a few and your referenced the US and UK as exceptions. I factually disputed that, and gave examples of same issues happening in the UK and US. That was the context.

To your question? 8 out of ten times chances are your phone will be stolen. Chances also are the same set of people who took it the first time will be the same set it people who will take it 80 percent of the time. You see that? Also, there are very few countries where you won't get same result like you will in Nigeria. If you leave your phone in New York or London 8 out of 10 times it will get stolen. People are scared to buy luxury cars in London because of the increase in car theft. It's risky to walk on the streets of London with designer watched cause you'll likely be mugged. A small set of people carry out these henious acts and shouldn't account for the generality of the population being called wicked. I can even concede if you say Nigeria is becoming shithole descriptive of your subjective experience. But to say Nigerians, if is factually incorrect. Most Nigerians are good people. We have our issues, but we shouldn't make the sin of a few the identity of the many.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 2:47pm On Feb 13
SofaScore is based on ratings.
Ekong is the official MVP

ChrisKels:
The over all best player of the tournament not considered in the team of the tournament? Doesn’t make sense to me
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 2:49pm On Feb 13
Orban when be Okocha part 2 haha

MetalJigsaw:
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Dsimmer: 2:53pm On Feb 13
charlesemeka85:
when aribo came in the team was more attacking than defensive

Stop capping

You're the one capping.

Didn't Yusuf come in vs Cote D'Ivoire before Aribo? So what are you saying exactly?

Point is Aribo is a playmaker. That's his job. If you watched the last afcon, you would already know all that.

The problem is some of you didn't watch the last afcon hence saying gibberish! I watched the last afcon hence I know what I'm saying. Aribo was integral in Nigeria topping their group while beating Egypt (Egypt got to the final). He was so brilliant against Egypt as matter of fact if not the motm. He was even playing as a roaming CM role in that particular match, created as well as carried the ball around when needed while also dictating the play in the midfield and he was also defensively solid. Similar thing against Sudan who even suddenly got back in control and became threatening after Aribo was subbed out in a bid to rest him since Nigeria were already wining 3-0 which later ended 3-1 after Aribo was subbed out.

Nigeria could have probably got to the final If not for the goalkeeper (maduka) who made a mistake against Tunisia in the 1-0 loss, as well as Iwobi's early red card, thus Nigeria couldn't do much to turn it around since they were down. Meanwhile, the Egypt which Nigeria outclassed in the group stage got to the final and almost defeated Senegal who won through penalty shootout.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Princezibk: 3:45pm On Feb 13
ThunderFireAgba:

AM, SS he's good at both.
wow ,,, why didn’t pesero take him to the tourney ? This man is at fault
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Marjoribanks: 3:51pm On Feb 13
Our boys gave their all!

Out of 32 nations we came 2nd. That is 99.9 percentile performance.

How many here got that on a GRE/GMATH scores?

Please let the boys breathe!

It's football, if you don't win today you will tomorrow.

England with all its investment has won nothing in 4 decades.

Morocco has won nothing in 3 decades.

In the last three AFCONS, we have won Bronze and Silver.

Next AFCON, I promise you we will win the Cup.

Only few of us believe, the boys would even get to the finals.

Please, let the boys breathe.

We go again in June!

Long live Super Eagles.

God bless Nigeria!

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 3:51pm On Feb 13
lovewins:

Wasn't going to respond initially cause much of comment already answers points raised in your rebuttal. You're just engaging in strawman.

First, the conversation had a context which was cyber bullying particularly of sportsmen. Your claim is that Nigerians are wicked cause of the actions of a few and your referenced the US and UK as exceptions. I factually disputed that, and gave examples of same issues happening in the UK and US. That was the context.

To your question? 8 out of ten times chances are your phone will be stolen. Chances also are the same set of people who took it the first time will be the same set it people who will take it 80 percent of the time. You see that? Also, there are very few countries where you won't get same result like you will in Nigeria. If you leave your phone in New York or London 8 out of 10 times it will get stolen. People are scared to buy luxury cars in London because of the increase in car theft. It's risky to walk on the streets of London with designer watched cause you'll likely be mugged. A small set of people carry out these henious acts and shouldn't account for the generality of the population being called wicked. I can even concede if you say Nigeria is becoming shithole descriptive of your subjective experience. But to say Nigerians, if is factually incorrect. Most Nigerians are good people. We have our issues, but we shouldn't make the sin of a few the identity of the many.
You sabi write long oo. Make I just laugh and free you.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 3:52pm On Feb 13
❤️🔥

(1) (2) (3) ... (15860) (15861) (15862) (15863) (15864) (15865) (15866) ... (16172) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Napoleon55(m), charlesemeka85(m), Friday03, dankorode(m) and 2 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 64