Stats: 3,151,884 members, 7,813,998 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 11:55 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (15898) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11634632 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (15895) (15896) (15897) (15898) (15899) (15900) (15901) ... (16139) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by maidaboi(m): 8:37pm On Feb 23
Nacho not in match day squad for Leicester
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 8:38pm On Feb 23
TheGoodJoe:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OWOjRdmpM6I

Have you guys forgotten Neymar?
Dribbling is a dying skill in football. Won't change your mind but read this article https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-5098477/amp/Dribbling-football-dying-art.html

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Goke7: 8:38pm On Feb 23
MetalJigsaw:
Not a 100 million player - Liverpool legend warns clubs against signing Osimhen

pulsesports.ngFeb 23, 2024 11:16 AM

Former Liverpool and Real Madrid star has made a damning statement about Napoli and Super Eagles striker Victor Osimhen.

Former Real Madrid and Liverpool star, Steve McManaman, has asserted that Napoli attacker Victor Osimhen is not worth £100 million at the moment.

Osimhen, who is increasingly likely to leave Napoli at the end of the season, has been linked with a move to the Premier League next season, and McManaman has shared his thoughts on the potential move.

Chelsea are looking to solve their goalscoring issues in the summer and are reportedly leading the race to sign Napoli's Victor Osimhen

McManaman believes Osimhen not worth 100 Million
Speaking on TNT Sports, McManaman said:

Victor Osimhen celebrates his goal against Barcelona in the UCL. (Photo Credit: UCL/X)
“His sellable value means it has to be the Premier League because German clubs do not have not got the finances.

"The big teams in Spain have not got the finances, particularly if Real Madrid take Mbappe.

“The only place he can go is the Premier League and he is certainly not playing like a £100 million player and that is what they want for him.”

I watched the studio analysis where he said this, that's typical Brits for you, na their way, raising the bar unecessarily when it's not warranted.

If Osimhen didn't score that night, I wonder what he would have said. phew

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 8:44pm On Feb 23
Joebie:
He uses words that are unnecessary making one lose the substance of the write up in the first place. That’s an unintelligent way of communicating.

He writes to prove that he sabi English not to communicate which is not necessarily a problem. It's just that his own leaves one with sudden headiness.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 8:52pm On Feb 23
comodo:

I just read where he said that Fulham threw away Anguissa and bought Iwobi. The same Anguissa in Napoli. Please help me ask him if Fulham is bigger than Napoli also? Because that's what his write up signifies.
If you don't want headache, avoid him oo

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by maidaboi(m): 8:55pm On Feb 23
maidaboi:
Tolu start for Genk
Yira Sor on the bench

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 9:01pm On Feb 23
Joebie:
Should I have said his winning system in the AFCON? And he was condemned because he was not successful. Just because he failed at it does not mean it cannot be done. It’s not just about the formation you adopt, it’s how you play.

That little detail is important because Jpes kinda stumbled on that ultra defensive strategy more as a coping mechanism not like that is his method (except if he continues with it) but the way you put it is as if that's how we've been playing under him.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elunico: 9:04pm On Feb 23
chrisooblog:
JP really sucked him dry like a discarded orange. At a time I fretful about his health especially after the Angola game.

Man even lost 4kg on his return to Naples. 😁

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elunico: 9:05pm On Feb 23
Mujtahida:

Truth is that after that Cameroun game, our players never recovered. That match was played at a frightfully frenetic pace with our players giving their all. They climbed that hill and every other one was too much for them.

Osimhen had to go down late in the game for JP to take the cue.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 9:06pm On Feb 23
Joebie:
Possibly Iwobi as well, but he didn’t excel in his assigned responsibility. Watching Iwobi at club he was never a GOOD tackler. He only closes his man down, but that’s it. He excels while advancing. Iwobi cannot excel in an ultra defensive set up.

Reason why he is getting more criticisms.

Assigned responsibility that he was not quite suited for. If Aribo was in form he would have been a better option to pair Onyeka in that midfield

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by villagereporter(m): 9:07pm On Feb 23
Mujtahida:
No dribbling again in football. Was just thinking about this this morning.

What happened? Pass, pass, morning till night. Isn't that tiring? That's why I hate tiki taka with everything in me.

Football is a game created by the romantic mind of men (before any one argues consider what a goal is - isn't that an orgasmic experience) and dribbling is the supreme romantic art.

If I were a coach there are three things I will emphasize in my players: good first touch, dribbling skills and eyes for space.

I wish South America continued to be the dominant force in football. Europeans have made football bland.

Baba, your head, too GBASKEE!!!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kingphilip(m): 9:10pm On Feb 23
comodo:

Between Napoli & Fulham, which one is a bigger club?
He will tell you that one player's salary for Fulham will pay all Napoli's players salary.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by AndSunGorilla: 9:10pm On Feb 23
maidaboi:
Nacho not in match day squad for Leicester
Hope he's not being punished for joining us for the AFCON against his team's preference?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 9:13pm On Feb 23
elunico:

Osimhen had to go down late in the game for JP to take the cue.
The poured everything out in that match. Beyond that match we only got dregs. They outdid themselves.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 9:15pm On Feb 23
villagereporter:

Baba, your head, too GBASKEE!!!
That's my perception oo. From time to time I rail like this against modern football. But I cannot stop a moving train. It's inexorable for football to continue along this part.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 9:19pm On Feb 23
MetalJigsaw:
I'm sure if Osimhen was English he wouldnt make such an envious speech.

Aside Kane who is at the tail end of his career no English player is even worth above 50m and that is hurting them.
No mind am. There are good English players though.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 9:19pm On Feb 23
akwesenana:
I was referring to komek.n
Wait, you're not Ghanaian? The name sounds Ghanaian. I'm sorry bro. Thought you're one of those Ghana trolls. I'm sorry

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 9:25pm On Feb 23
maidaboi:
Yira Sor on the bench
This guy and Moses Usor just disappeared laidat...

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 9:33pm On Feb 23
Mujtahida:

The poured everything out in that match. Beyond that match we only got dregs. They outdid themselves.
I made the same observation during AFCON. Most people here probably misunderstood me. Africans are known for showboating but most AFCON matches na just pass... pass ..pass and inshallah. People forget that what bring thrills to the football game are the occasional dribbles and humiliation. Nowadays, everybody is following Pep's footsteps.

Back then, you will marvel at the way FBs ran the entire byline just to whip in one wicked cross. Today, they're inverting. Let me add that the 'contact' effect is no more too. Small shove like this, player will fall immediately and you look up to see the ref brandishing the almighty yellow card. The coaches can't even jubilate again. They will be sanctioned.

such a shame
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Amedino99(m): 10:11pm On Feb 23
Jpes no try at all.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 10:44pm On Feb 23
Super Falcons draw vs Cameroon
Olympic Qualifiers

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0O2eJIdUsgI

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 11:02pm On Feb 23
Yira Sor scored Genk’s only goal in their 0-1 away win against Charleroi

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Princezibk: 11:11pm On Feb 23
Read somewhere that Arthur okonkwo switch to us is fake news 📰 oo 😩😩
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Goke7: 11:12pm On Feb 23
Amedino99:
Jpes no try at all.

they were all on National duty, Let Notthingham rest jor

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Philosopher1979: 11:24pm On Feb 23
Amedino99:
Jpes no try at all.

Couldn't join use bruno onyemaechi in olas position.
Jp needs to stop been a one trick pony. He could have changed players and formation for the final. He lost anyway.
I hope he learns from his mistake

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Amedino99(m): 11:24pm On Feb 23
AndSunGorilla:

Hope he's not being punished for joining us for the AFCON against his team's preference?
it's still unclear. Ndidi is the only player Injured according to the coach but even vardy did not make the match day squad. Either nacho (and vardy) failed last minute fitness test or he was not picked in the first place.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by maidaboi(m): 11:27pm On Feb 23
mostob:
This guy and Moses Usor just disappeared laidat...
Them no disappear Uzor is balling in Austria even scored against Liverpool in the Europa league and Sor just scored Genk winning goal today

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 11:55pm On Feb 23
Exactly.

As regards Aribo, what was he effective doing when he was in form?

Mujtahida:

Assigned responsibility that he was not quite suited for. If Aribo was in form he would have been a better option to pair Onyeka in that midfield
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 11:56pm On Feb 23
We are saying essentially the same thing.

Mujtahida:

He writes to prove that he sabi English not to communicate which is not necessarily a problem. It's just that his own leaves one with sudden headiness.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 11:59pm On Feb 23
We all know he adopted that after EG. Nobody is debating that. I was only implying that was his system because we played that way in most of our matches in AFCON.

Mujtahida:

That little detail is important because Jpes kinda stumbled on that ultra defensive strategy more as a coping mechanism not like that is his method (except if he continues with it) but the way you put it is as if that's how we've been playing under him.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 4:50am On Feb 24
Mujtahida:

Dribbling is a dying skill in football. Won't change your mind but read this article https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-5098477/amp/Dribbling-football-dying-art.html

Read the article and for sure, there is nothing in it. Just a man ranting. Chris Waddle sounds here like a man who is tactically naive.

He is talking about his feeling of running with the ball and losing it?

Modern game is about coaching nonsense out of players. Running with the ball for praises is nothing. It offers nothing to the team.

However, playing with direction and purpose is key. Now you dribble for a reason, not for fun.

The art is not dying. It is now defined because tactical defending is here to stay. Careless dribbling will lead to putting your team at a disadvantage.

Watch this clip and see the art of dribbling delivered in its pure form.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4eXCMaLHCo
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 7:12am On Feb 24
mostob:
No mind am. There are good English players though.
I know, but worth above 50m? Nah

(1) (2) (3) ... (15895) (15896) (15897) (15898) (15899) (15900) (15901) ... (16139) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: 9 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 36