Stats: 3,152,093 members, 7,814,818 topics. Date: Wednesday, 01 May 2024 at 08:23 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (15899) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11641138 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (15896) (15897) (15898) (15899) (15900) (15901) (15902) ... (16143) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 7:15am On Feb 24
lbrichman2:

Jude Bellingham
Bukayo Saka
Rice

Should I go on?
Yes, I forgot Bellingham and Saka, but Rice no.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 8:04am On Feb 24
TheGoodJoe:

Read the article and for sure, there is nothing in it. Just a man ranting. Chris Waddle sounds here like a man who is tactically naive.

He is talking about his feeling of running with the ball and losing it?

Modern game is about coaching nonsense out of players. Running with the ball for praises is nothing. It offers nothing to the team.

However, playing with direction and purpose is key. Now you dribble for a reason, not for fun.

The art is not dying. It is now defined because tactical defending is here to stay. Careless dribbling will lead to putting your team at a disadvantage.

Watch this clip and see the art of dribbling delivered in its pure form.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4eXCMaLHCo
Your clips are like when a man says Nigeria is a poor country and you start pointing at Dangote, Otedola and Elumelu to prove we are not poor.

Football was created for fun. Efficiency is responsible for the blandness of the sport.

Take our matches at Afcon. I can't remember a single player except maybe Aina dribbling an opponent. Or even the opponent dribbling our players. It's just running with the ball, opening spaces and positioning to receive a pass.

The playmaker who is the supreme fountainhead of dribbling has been or is being phased out. What can be more emblematic of the death of dribbling than that?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aFW1ecPEjGk?si=vk-PdhwWADZHAbrz

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Amedino99(m): 8:42am On Feb 24
Mujtahida:

Your clips are like when a man says Nigeria is a poor country and you start pointing at Dangote, Otedola and Elumelu to prove we are not poor.

Football was created for fun. Efficiency is responsible for the blandness of the sport.

Take our matches at Afcon. I can't remember a single player except maybe Aina dribbling an opponent. Or even the opponent dribbling our players. It's just running with the ball, opening spaces and positioning to receive a pass.

The playmaker who is the supreme fountainhead of dribbling has been or is being phased out. What can be more emblematic of the death of dribbling than that?

you forgot Simon's run against Angola?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 9:12am On Feb 24
Amedino99:
your statement doesn't make sense because they don't even play the same position. Anguissa played more as a dm for Fulham while iwobi plays higher in the field.

Why doesn't it make sense to you❓

Both are midfielders and football ⚽ is not played inside a "straight jacket" complete footballers are versatile and adaptable.

As a consequence a complete midfielder will play a variety of roles as the manager deems fit. One game your DM another you are AM and another you are CM.

Iwobi has quite often played as a RW but he is some would say essentially AM/CM. For instance, l ABSOLUTELY believe Aina could play a number of roles midfield, simply because he is complete footballer IMO.

Below screen shots of Anguissa and Iwobi in Fulham the context of the discourse, showing both players playing essentially the same role.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 9:29am On Feb 24
FACTS ABOUT AFRICAN FOOTBALL

1. Nigeria has produced more world class players than any other Nation in Africa

2. Cameroon has produced more African player of the Year winners than any other Nation in Africa

3. Egypt has won more Afcon Titles than any other Nation in Africa

4. Nigeria has won more trophies than any other african nation (All trophies combined starting from Men football, women football and Junior levels)

5. Liberia remains the only African country to produce A Balon d'or Winner

6. Jay Jay Okocha remains the most skillful African footballer of all time

7. Samuel Eto'o remains the most decorated African footballer

8. Kalusha Bwalya remains the best left footer of all time in Africa and best free kick taker

9. Ghana and Nigeria rivalry is the most fierce rivalry in Africa

10. Yaya Toure is African all time best Midfielder

11. Samuel Eto'o is African all time best striker

12. South Africa is not a footballing nation they only have infrastructure

13. Ghana has not won afcon for over 40 Years but still regarded one of Africa's power house nations

14. Egypt is the most dominant national team in Afcon Tournaments

15. Morocco, Ghana, Senegal, Cameroon are the top 4 national teams who have done well at Fifa World Cups.

16. Zambia Tops Southern Africa

17. Egypt tops Northern Africa

18. Cameroon Tops central Africa

19. Nigeria Tops West Africa

20. There is no Football in East Africa

21. Zambia remains the only power house nation not to have qualified to the men's Fifa World Cup

22. Ghana is the only African country to have won the Under 20 World Cup

23. Mali remains the only power house nation not to have won the Afcon

24. South African football only lasted for less than 10 years (1996 to 2002)

25. South Africa remains the only African country to have hosted the World Cup

26. Kalusha Bwalya remains the only Southern African player to have won African player of the year Award

Culled from Facebook

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 9:41am On Feb 24
Goke7:

I watched the studio analysis where he said this, that's typical Brits for you, na their way, raising the bar unecessarily when it's not warranted.

If Osimhen didn't score that night, I wonder what he would have said. phew

Believe it or not I actually know Steve, we are not friends he has played at the highest levels and probably one of England's most skilful players in his era.

You have dismissed entirely everything he has said as emotional rumblings. Would it not be better to state his rational reasoning and appraise it then counter attacks with your own objective fact based analysis.

But you just dismissed everything, that's not a wisdom.

The criticism of my enemy makes me prepared for battle.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 9:54am On Feb 24
MetalJigsaw:
FACTS ABOUT AFRICAN FOOTBALL

1. Nigeria has produced more world class players than any other Nation in Africa

2. Cameroon has produced more African player of the Year winners than any other Nation in Africa

3. Egypt has won more Afcon Titles than any other Nation in Africa

4. Nigeria has won more trophies than any other african nation (All trophies combined starting from Men football, women football and Junior levels)

5. Liberia remains the only African country to produce A Balon d'or Winner

6. Jay Jay Okocha remains the most skillful African footballer of all time

7. Samuel Eto'o remains the most decorated African footballer

8. Kalusha Bwalya remains the best left footer of all time in Africa and best free kick taker

9. Ghana and Nigeria rivalry is the most fierce rivalry in Africa

10. Yaya Toure is African all time best Midfielder

11. Samuel Eto'o is African all time best striker

12. South Africa is not a footballing nation they only have infrastructure

13. Ghana has not won afcon for over 40 Years but still regarded one of Africa's power house nations

14. Egypt is the most dominant national team in Afcon Tournaments

15. Morocco, Ghana, Senegal, Cameroon are the top 4 national teams who have done well at Fifa World Cups.

16. Zambia Tops Southern Africa

17. Egypt tops Northern Africa

18. Cameroon Tops central Africa

19. Nigeria Tops West Africa

20. There is no Football in East Africa

21. Zambia remains the only power house nation not to have qualified to the men's Fifa World Cup

22. Ghana is the only African country to have won the Under 20 World Cup

23. Mali remains the only power house nation not to have won the Afcon

24. South African football only lasted for less than 10 years (1996 to 2002)

25. South Africa remains the only African country to have hosted the World Cup

26. Kalusha Bwalya remains the only Southern African player to have won African player of the year Award

Culled from Facebook

Please name the world 🌍 class players Nigeria has produced. And what is your criteria for world class.

For instance JJ Okocha is one of the most skilful players I've ever seen. But 84 games for PSG in French league one and 12 goals as well as 124 games in the EPL and 14 goals. Is that why me never got African footballer of the year ❓

Manchester city K. De Bruyne, is not as skilful as JJ but then considering the insane amount of assists who is more effective and better. In all honesty my heart ❤️ and eyes 👀 are for JJAY but my head 🗣️ is for K. De Bruyne.

What's your view

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:58am On Feb 24
Mujtahida:

Our problem is playing negative football and selecting players to play that way. Not death of dribbling.

Now you don't have a player jollification to the crowd when a team mate is in a clear position to score.

As for the 10 role, now we have the 10s contributing more offensively. Look at City with Alvarez, Grealish, De Bruyne, Foden, and Bernardo Silva. These are all 10s but in today's game, they work offensively than seating deep for praises.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 9:59am On Feb 24
maidaboi:
Nacho not in match day squad for Leicester

I did not see Ndidi as well ,is he injured ❓

The Championship 🏆 is a gruelling physically draining and taxing marathon not a sprint.

I really thought Leicester would have automatic promotion but loosing two games in succession is shaking that assumption terribly.

They play QPR almost certain they should win but the next games will be challenging, the Championship can be very competitive.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 10:00am On Feb 24
TheGoodJoe:

Our problem is playing negative football and selecting players to play that way. Not death of dribbling.

Now you don't have a player jollification to the crowd when a team mate is in a clear position to score.

As for the 10 role, now we have the 10s contributing more offensively. Look at City with Alvarez, Grealish, De Bruyne, Foden, and Bernardo Silva. These are all 10s but in today's game, they work offensively than seating deep for praises.

Agreed without question

It's essentially skill with purpose and outcome delivery not entertainment for the crowd with no end product.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:16am On Feb 24
Mujtahida:

We have less gallery 10s but what I term creatIve forwards. They are gifted in the art of dribbling but play to create room for the other forwards and advance into dangerous positions. They are masters of the half spaces.

Enjoy David Silva.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n2HVAIWF4wU
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Amedino99(m): 11:10am On Feb 24
komekn:

Why doesn't it make sense to you❓

Both are midfielders and football ⚽ is not played inside a "straight jacket" complete footballers are versatile and adaptable.

As a consequence a complete midfielder will play a variety of roles as the manager deems fit. One game your DM another you are AM and another you are CM.

Iwobi has quite often played as a RW but he is some would say essentially AM/CM. For instance, l ABSOLUTELY believe Aina could play a number of roles midfield, simply because he is complete footballer IMO.

Below screen shots of Anguissa and Iwobi in Fulham the context of the discourse, showing both players playing essentially the same role.
footballers are supposed to be versatile does not mean that pep will play Bernardo Silva or kdb in the dm position whenever rodri is out. Anguissaa is primarily a DM. Iwobi plays more as a cm, am or winger. He does not play as a dm. They are not like for like replacement.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Goke7: 12:14pm On Feb 24
komekn:

Believe it or not I actually know Steve, we are not friends he has played at the highest levels and probably one of England's most skilful players in his era.

You have dismissed entirely everything he has said as emotional rumblings. Would it not be better to state his rational reasoning and appraise it then counter attacks with your own objective fact based analysis.

But you just dismissed everything, that's not a wisdom.

The criticism of my enemy makes me prepared for battle.

You have personal issues with Oshimen so you can easily agree with Steve, ok? So why bother myself
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Goke7: 12:25pm On Feb 24
Mujtahida:

I think it’s also a cultural thing, In South America or Africa it’s easier to allow iconic players to be idolised and given that free room to express themselves but in Europe they have cultural issues of idolising a player hence the focus on team play and even respecting the opposition to the extent they even frown at over celebration of goals or showboating skills. No team in Europe now will tolerate a maradona kind of player anymore all in the excuse of efficiency. It’s what it is.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 12:56pm On Feb 24
mostob:
I made the same observation during AFCON. Most people here probably misunderstood me. Africans are known for showboating but most AFCON matches na just pass... pass ..pass and inshallah. People forget that what bring thrills to the football game are the occasional dribbles and humiliation. Nowadays, everybody is following Pep's footsteps.

Back then, you will marvel at the way FBs ran the entire byline just to whip in one wicked cross. Today, they're inverting. Let me add that the 'contact' effect is no more too. Small shove like this, player will fall immediately and you look up to see the ref brandishing the almighty yellow card. The coaches can't even jubilate again. They will be sanctioned.

such a shame
Its really awful

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 1:00pm On Feb 24
Amedino99:
you forgot Simon's run against Angola?
Mention another one. My emphasis is on dribbling is a dying art. Doesn't mean you won't find players dribbling. Fact is that one or two instances you point out makes my argument rather than upend it.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 1:03pm On Feb 24
Goke7:

I think it’s also a cultural thing, In South America or Africa it’s easier to allow iconic players to be idolised and given that free room to express themselves but in Europe they have cultural issues of idolising a player hence the focus on team play and even respecting the opposition to the extent they even frown at over celebration of goals or showboating skills. No team in Europe now will tolerate a maradona kind of player anymore all in the excuse of efficiency. It’s what it is.
I agree with you. Efficiency has flattened the game. Dribbling or fancy football for whatever reason is dying out. That's why I previously said that if South America had continued its influence on football, I think we'd have seen a different brand of football but even they too have succumbed to the machine football of Europe.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 1:21pm On Feb 24
komekn:

Agreed without question

It's essentially skill with purpose and outcome delivery not entertainment for the crowd with no end product.

This is tripe. Tell me who played to the gallery with no end product among the old great dribblers? Figo? Zidane? Ronaldinho? Maradona? Le Tissier? Ronaldo de Lima? Alvaro Recoba? George Best? Kaka? Zico? Socrates? Baggio?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 1:24pm On Feb 24
Amedino99:
footballers are supposed to be versatile does not mean that pep will play Bernardo Silva or kdb in the dm position whenever rodri is out. Anguissaa is primarily a DM. Iwobi plays more as a cm, am or winger. He does not play as a dm. They are not like for like replacement.

Fulham played Iwobi and Anguissa in the same positions.

You said they play different positions you were VERY SPECIFIC and what I am saying doesn't make sense.

What has Pep got to with that .

So who doesn't make sense ❓ You presented a self birthed opinion based on thin air. I have proven it to be totally wrong and you are EVADING.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 1:40pm On Feb 24
Mujtahida:

Mention another one. My emphasis is on dribbling is a dying art. Doesn't mean you won't find players dribbling. Fact is that one or two instances you point out makes my argument rather than upend it.
truth

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by daveP(m): 1:46pm On Feb 24
komekn:

Please name the world 🌍 class players Nigeria has produced. And what is your criteria for world class.

For instance JJ Okocha is one of the most skilful players I've ever seen. But 84 games for PSG in French league one and 12 goals as well as 124 games in the EPL and 14 goals. Is that why me never got African footballer of the year ❓

Manchester city K. De Bruyne, is not as skilful as JJ but then considering the insane amount of assists who is more effective and better. In all honesty my heart ❤️ and eyes 👀 are for JJAY but my head 🗣️ is for K. De Bruyne.

What's your view

I thought your anthem/motto here is stats aren't conclusive. What changed now?

Now that's a rhetorical. But you're enjoying the options above, one for heart and eyes, another for head. That's what other folks also do with football. But you'll hop onto them like Lord Ozai. Why?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by lbrichman2: 1:49pm On Feb 24
MetalJigsaw:
Yes, I forgot Bellingham and Saka, but Rice no.

Rice not worth above 50m?
No need to continue the argument
Have a great day

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 3:02pm On Feb 24
daveP:

I thought your anthem/motto here is stats aren't conclusive. What changed now?

Now that's a rhetorical. But you're enjoying the options above, one for heart and eyes, another for head. That's what other folks also do with football. But you'll hop onto them like Lord Ozai. Why?
That guy na something else jare
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 3:10pm On Feb 24
MetalJigsaw:
I know, but worth above 50m? Nah
In today's market, some of them are worth more than 50 bro. Rice, Saka, Foden...
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by daveP(m): 3:37pm On Feb 24
mostob:
That guy na something else jare
He don loseguard 😀😂

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 3:50pm On Feb 24
TheGoodJoe:

See how you dared not bring these names up when he specifically talked about the art of dribbling
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 3:54pm On Feb 24
Goke7:

In my opinion Europe isn't blessed with the flair of South America.

It is also evident in music.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Napoleon55(m): 3:59pm On Feb 24
komekn:

What's your view
Number of goals and assists doesn't take anything away from Okocha's huge talent,his greatest and his world class status.

By the way make Thegoodjoe no catch u where u dey try choose between Okocha and KDB.
KDB is clearly more effective and more successful ,there is no need for head and heart to decide,but most of us would pay to watch Jay Jay play than KDB.

So Nigeria world class players that I have watched are:

KANU.
Okocha.
Finidi.
Oliseh.
Mikel.
Osimhen.
Babayaro.
Taribo.
Amuneke.
Yekini.
Enyeama.

These players were at a point one of the best players in the world which qualifies them as world class.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Meliforme: 4:00pm On Feb 24
Joebie:
To answer your question, one of Nwakali’s key stats — ball recoveries — he averages 5.2 per game this season (compare to Onyeka 3.0, Ndidi 3.0, Aribo 2.5, Dele-Bashiru 3.3, Iwobi 4.6, Onyedika 6.3, Yusuf 5.8 ).

You want to consider many factors like the strength of the opposition/league, the team’s style of play, as well as the specific role given to the midfielder amongst others. This is just stating that he brings more to the table than just being a dead ball specialist, top notch long balls delivery and passes (which is why he always has high numbers relatively in key passes)

Recoveries are crucial for several reasons:

1. **Regaining Possession**: Recovering the ball allows a team to regain possession and control of the game. This is essential for maintaining pressure on the opponent and creating scoring opportunities.

2. **Transition**: moving quickly from defense to attack and vice versa. Recoveries help teams transition from defense to attack by quickly regaining the ball and launching counterattacks.

3. **Disrupting Opponent's Rhythm**: By disrupting the opponent's possession and passing rhythm, recoveries can disrupt their game plan and force errors or turnovers.

4. **Defensive Stability**: Recoveries contribute to defensive stability by preventing the opponent from advancing into dangerous scoring positions and reducing the number of shots on goal.

5. **Energy and Momentum**: Recoveries can energize a team and swing momentum in their favor, especially if they lead to scoring chances or successful counterattacks.

Overall, recoveries play a vital role in both defensive and offensive aspects of the game. However, just like in some other key stats it is still a matter of how this translates to the team’s success

This is top notch.

This is excellent.

This is very sincere.

Thank you for bringing to the fore, one of the many things Nwakali offers.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Amedino99(m): 4:49pm On Feb 24
Iwobi should get a shooting coach asap. His shooting is atrocious. Change style of shooting once in a while nah.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 4:56pm On Feb 24
komekn:

What's your view
You obviously didn't read my post till the very end.

Go and read my last sentence.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 5:04pm On Feb 24
Amedino99:
Iwobi should get a shooting coach asap. His shooting is atrocious. Change style of shooting once in a while nah.

Three things you might never see Iwobi do till the end of his career

*Take a powerful long shot
*Engage an opponent and succefully dispossess him
*Take a set piece

(1) (2) (3) ... (15896) (15897) (15898) (15899) (15900) (15901) (15902) ... (16143) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: shawwal1(m), 12large1, Meliforme, AndSunGorilla and 6 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 78