Stats: 3,165,474 members, 7,861,369 topics. Date: Saturday, 15 June 2024 at 10:52 AM

Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ - Business (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ (30295 Views)

Naira Falls As Dollar Scarcity Worsens / Unbelievable!!! Naira Falls To N485/$1, N600/£1 / Naira "Strenghtens" To N270/Dollar At Parallel Market (2) (3) (4)

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by ShowYourCertificate: 7:20pm On Dec 17, 2015
ernieboy:

How will Jonathan increase the price of crude oil in the international market or don't you know that the fall of the naira is mainly due to the fall of oil price?
There are ways to improve our naira value despite the dwindling price in crude oil. APC should beg the PDP for tutorials.

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by Lucasbalo(m): 7:20pm On Dec 17, 2015
This dollar to naira stuff is getting uglier by the day. May the Lord help Nigeria.

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by lanrei(m): 7:21pm On Dec 17, 2015
kajoula:

leave am .....he should use his master card to buy anything that is worth 300usd ... he go smell am.

Even when it was still newly and undisputedly $1=N199 paying with your Mastercard or Visa with naija bank is always outrageous, that's not a new thing..

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by biafranqueen: 7:22pm On Dec 17, 2015
msogunro:
It is #284 on the BLACK MARKET.

I still get #199 at banks.
Which bank be that in Nigeria with dollars please tell us!!!

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by ZUBY77(m): 7:22pm On Dec 17, 2015
AlanTuring:

You're a just a certified f00l..did the naira ever appreciate over the dollar during your hero Fortunato's doomed 5 year rule in this country despite crude oil selling for over 120 dollars per barrel as against the $40/barrel we have now.. We keep hearing of how they were sharing the Commonwealth through Dasuki..if you didn't get up to 100 million for all your troubles of defending the bastards online,then you're just another use and dump lapdog..Report to the mods so I can get banned as that's the worse you can do I.diot..

You hypocrites should stop shouting crude oil up and down as if the past administration caused the fall in the price.

Did oil price fall only in Nigeria?
Oil price fell everywhere.
Go and check Angola, Saudi, Libya and other oil producing countries. Check how stable their currencies are against dollar.
Not running your mouth here as if you are the only country where oil price fell.

Dollar started falling against naira since 1984. And guess who was in charge of your country then?

What we are complaining about is to halt the free fall.
Jonathan ruled for years with 1$ hovering around 170.
It was at the tail end of his administration that the official rate changed to 199 to sustain the fallen oil price.

Oil did not fall on Buhari's new administration, it fell during Jonathan. However, jumping from 200 to 270 is the record fall in the history of naira. Egocentric characteristics won't let your President seek for advice from experts. Everybody is a thief and corrupt to him.
Jonathan recalled Okonjo Iweala to his government because she knew what she was doing. No amount of propaganda from the Edo State Ape will ever change that.

Your minister of Finance knows nothing. Okonjo Iweala should return to the finance ministry. Despite her shortcomings, I personally still prefer her to the clueless woman there now.

This whole thing is about you and I, Mr. Buhari, no matter what he led you to believe, is rich beyond your imagination.

Continue blaming Jonathan as if he was the Nigerian president since 1983 when the Country started sliding down.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by nytooo(m): 7:28pm On Dec 17, 2015
Bad new
Bad market
Well its hi tym we start looking inward start producing most of d tin we need

May God help my country Nigeria n direct or leaders.
Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by Nobody: 7:31pm On Dec 17, 2015
ZUBY77:

You hypocrites should stop shouting crude oil up and down as if the past administration caused the fall in the price.

Go and check Angola, Saudi, Libya and other oil producing countries. Check how stable their currencies are against dollar.
Not running your mouth here as if you are the only country where oil price fell.

Dollar started falling against naira since 1984. And guess who was in charge of your country then?

It was at the tail end of his administration that the official rate changed to 199 to sustain the fallen oil price.

Oil did not fall on Buhari's new administration, it fell during Jonathan. However, jumping from 200 to 270 is the record fall in the history of naira. Egocentric characteristics won't let your President seek for advice from experts. Everybody is a thief and corrupt to him.
Jonathan recalled Okonjo Iweala to his government because she knew what she was doing. No amount of propaganda from the Edo State Ape will ever change that.

Your minister of Finance knows nothing. Okonjo Iweala should return to the finance ministry. Despite her shortcomings, I personally still prefer her to the clueless woman there now.

This whole thing is about you and I, Mr. Buhari, no matter what he led you to believe, is rich beyond your imagination.

Continue blaming Jonathan as if he was the Nigerian president since 1983 when the Country started sliding down.

Do not mind them.

When the price of crude oil started falling ($68 per barrel) with naira falling, gej reduced the pump price and the apc castigated him, saying yhat pms ought to be sold at less than N60 per lit.

But now, they want to rise it to N97 with crude oil selling at less than $35 per barrel

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by uncjay(m): 7:32pm On Dec 17, 2015
wat a country........seriously wat is happenng? Who are those reaponsible for this?
Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by danidee10(m): 7:33pm On Dec 17, 2015
ShowYourCertificate:
When I ask for Buhari's Certificate you APC guys will be crying. I really want to know what he got in Economics. Buhari is a certified dullard.

Pls explain Hw buhari made the naira drop.....if i slap your left destiny ehn undecided
Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by experimentist: 7:34pm On Dec 17, 2015
ShowYourCertificate:
Okay o, we are still waiting. Remember 7 months has passed o grin
Just 7months you complaining? remember we waited 16years for pdp and nothing good to write about
Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by Obynolee(f): 7:35pm On Dec 17, 2015
NaLaugh:

False. I don't know how Adsense users in Nigeria receive their funds, but it WILL be remitted to them at the official rate of N199.05.

And they will sell it how much,200 right??,
Give yourself brain.
Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by godzson(m): 7:39pm On Dec 17, 2015
watch dem apc lunatics blame Jonathan, bitchhhh ass buhari won't do shiit on Nigeria

proudly yoruba boy

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by AlanTuring: 7:39pm On Dec 17, 2015
ZUBY77:

Mr Zubby I respect u so much on this forum for who you are as I see you as a concerned Nigerian who wants things to move forward in the country. I'm not holding fort for Buhari as I believe he's not solely the solution to Nigeria's numerous problems but these guys making a god out of Jonathan as if Nigeria was Paradise when he was President and had suddenly become hades is what I have problem with. I have nothing against Okonjo iweala as she can hold her heads up high anywhere in the world but these Jonathan's ass-lickers annoy the hell outta me..I simply don't know what gives them the impression that Nigeria would have suddenly become America or Germany had Jonathan been reelected.I'm not a paid lapdog as I've got a wonderful career for myself so I really don't care much about APC or PDP.

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by GeneralShepherd(m): 7:39pm On Dec 17, 2015
RedCapChief:
APC will also blame GEJ for this angry

I remember the words of Rabiu Kwankwaso who described the post-election upturn in stock market and forex market as the benefits of the 'Buhari Effect'. Even Lai Mohammed praised the increased power generation as a blessing from 'Buhari's Body Language'

Unfortunately, even local investors have seen that body language is not a substitute for simple economic policy. The foreign investors have run away since. Six months after inauguration, the only economic news coming from Nigeria is . .'MTN gets fined' . .'Guinness gets fined' . . .'EFCC arrests Dasuki' e.t.c
Baba is the everything and we must go at his pace

PDP were a bunch of rogues but this ineptitude and foolery from APC is too much. After desiring a post for 12years, he seems determined to collect the title of 'Captain Clueless' from a former somebody smiley

Keep blaming Jona oo! Mr. Lai will soon release statement blaming Jona and Patience for this

So MTN and Guinness should have been congratulated for flaunting regulations in their respective sectors.

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by lordkay10(m): 7:41pm On Dec 17, 2015
ZUBY77:

Bros, you obviously know little or nothing about this topic, I can't but wonder when people keep believing Buhari will turn things around overnight, what we are experiencing with the fall of the naira right now is an aftermath of the misdeeds of Jonathan's government, coupled with the dwindling oil prices which definitely affects our foreign reserves. It was public knowledge how the previous government distributed dollars during the last electioneering campaigns, now the chicken has come home to roost and we are seeing the effects. I personally don't believe NOI could have performed any magic in this present situation, wasn't it under her watch several billions of dollars was stolen?
If I may ask, just mention one single thing you think the last administration did right that made the exchange rate better than it is presently, there lies the answer to all these blame games
God bless Nigeria
Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by anonimi: 7:41pm On Dec 17, 2015

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by favistar(m): 7:45pm On Dec 17, 2015
Omó,,, I no go purchase any thing online ooo.....if not, my account go red! MasterCard gats rest! ...hehehe ...
Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by anonimi: 7:46pm On Dec 17, 2015
lordkay10:

Bros, you obviously know little or nothing about this topic, I can't but wonder when people keep believing Buhari will turn things around overnight, what we are experiencing with the fall of the naira right now is an aftermath of the misdeeds of Jonathan's government, coupled with the dwindling oil prices which definitely affects our foreign reserves. It was public knowledge how the previous government distributed dollars during the last electioneering campaigns, now the chicken has come home to roost and we are seeing the effects. I personally don't believe NOI could have performed any magic in this present situation, wasn't it under her watch several billions of dollars was stolen?
If I may ask, just mention one single thing you think the last administration did right that made the exchange rate better than it is presently, there lies the answer to all these blame games
God bless Nigeria

Check the 15 pages of the thread below for just a SAMPLE of the transformation Jonathan did in five years to diversify our economy away from oil and reduce import dependency thus automatically reduce the need for forex to import.

https://www.nairaland.com/2117791/achievements-jonathan-sambo-administration-pictures

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by Geraraheremehn: 7:49pm On Dec 17, 2015
Sijo01:
cheesy I will make N1=$1 cheesy this is shange!

But u use style ugly sha ooo cheesy grin
Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by ichommy(m): 7:52pm On Dec 17, 2015
No Sir grin
experimentist:
you better be joking. or are you one of the Ekpa dudes

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by ZUBY77(m): 7:57pm On Dec 17, 2015
AlanTuring:

Mr Zubby I respect u so much on this forum for who you are as I see you as a concerned Nigerian who wants things to move forward in the country. I'm not holding fort for Buhari as I believe he's not solely the solution to Nigeria's numerous problems but these guys making a god out of Jonathan as if Nigeria was Paradise when he was President and had suddenly become hades is what I have problem with. I have nothing against Okonjo iweala as she can hold her heads up high anywhere in the world but these Jonathan's ass-lickers annoy the hell outta me..I simply don't know what gives them the impression that Nigeria would have suddenly become America or Germany had Jonathan been reelected.I'm not a paid lapdog as I've got a wonderful career for myself so I really don't care much about APC or PDP.

Thanks for your maturity.
Like I said, this not about Buhari or even Jonathan, these guys are super rich. Even if they stop earning money today, they can't finish what they have stolen, and I mean two of them.
This is about us and what we should do to stop this naira fall. It's affecting the common man.
The youths are neck deep into blame game while people and businesses are closing up.
As a matter of fact, this is time for national protest. This government are seriously introducing austerity measures without preparing the civil servants and SMEs. Minimum wages has been cut into half with the current exchange rate.

Jonathan is gone, blaming him won't change a thing. Killing him won't change the way our economy is sliding down. While we focus on corruption, we must also do other things. Many Nations survived without oil.

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by Nobody: 7:57pm On Dec 17, 2015
endtimesblog:

who told u that.... Put ur domicillary acct details on ur dashboard.. Collect ur dollar out..
Call ur aboki to change it for u...
Shikena..

199naira ke... For were...
You can't withdraw the $$ sent by Google from your Dorm account, CBN imposed embargo on it. You can only use the bank Token to change it online which will result to 199/$. Another way is transferring it to another dorm account but there is something like 5% charges for it.
Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by chinchum(m): 8:04pm On Dec 17, 2015
ShowYourCertificate:
Yimu. If Jonathan were in power the naira will improve against the dollar. It's always like that under the PDP government. The dollar might rise during election period but after elections, the naira bounces back. Unfortunately that's no longer the case as our dullard president seems clueless.
So to you, this is because jonathan is not on seat ?? embarassed Oil price is almost at record low of 11 years, and you think this is about jonathan? Us crude now on 34.5usd Get your head out of your ass, i praise God daily. that gej never came back. Several indices can affect Naira to usd. 1. global price of oil 2. stonger us dollar or stronger us economy 3. Weaker Nigerian economy . The report talks about a stronger dollar and continuous downfall of crude price.

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by Prestdude: 8:10pm On Dec 17, 2015
endtimesblog:
shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked

Nigerian blogger wey get adsense go be like.. make december 22 reach ooooooooooo

Omo see money shocked shocked shocked

Na them e sweet pass... Imagine. Person wey get $500, na like 135,000 him go get when him change am!!! Abeg sai Change!!!

My blogger friend who was scared that Buhari will make $1 equal 1 naira will be so happy

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by Donkunxex(m): 8:17pm On Dec 17, 2015
270?? Jesus.. What is wrong pls...
Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by Prestdude: 8:24pm On Dec 17, 2015
NaLaugh:

False. I don't know how Adsense users in Nigeria receive their funds, but it WILL be remitted to them at the official rate of N199.05.

False, it will only be chaged at N199.05 if they do it in the bank, but if they do it at a Bureau De change it will be at least 265...
Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by Forwetinnah: 8:36pm On Dec 17, 2015
Alright undecided
God bless APC for spoiling my vacation plans this month. May their supporters face worse disappointments. Iseee!!

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by moshino(m): 8:36pm On Dec 17, 2015
This is what you get when you're willing to accept 'NEPA BILL' as academic qualification. And when you bring someone from being a commissioner in a small state to run the Finance Ministry of Africa's largest economy, and one of the most populated country's on earth.

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by Tripletg: 8:39pm On Dec 17, 2015
*sigh* relax Nigerians. The fed just raised interest rate in America and the effect of this has strengthened the dollar against every major and minor currency. Stop blaming Bihari for everything..gosh.

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by Forwetinnah: 8:40pm On Dec 17, 2015
chinchum:
So to you, this is because jonathan is not on seat ?? embarassed Oil price is almost at record low of 11 years, and you think this is about jonathan? Us crude now on 34.5usd Get your head out of your ass, i praise God daily. that gej never came back. Several indices can affect Naira to usd. 1. global price of oil 2. stonger us dollar or stronger us economy 3. Weaker Nigerian economy . The report talks about a stronger dollar and continuous downfall of crude price.

Forget matter!! No one is ready to do business with the Dullard while he uses the little money left in the country to fund his silly ISIS rubbish. Other countries are selling their crude without hassles
Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by praxisnetworks: 8:45pm On Dec 17, 2015
Tripletg:
*sigh* relax Nigerians. The fed just raised interest rate in America and the effect of this has strengthened the dollar against every major and minor currency. Stop blaming Bihari for everything..gosh.
Who we go blame?.... Gej was blamed for everything under the sun

Re: Naira Situation Worsens, Falls To N270/$ by endtimesblog: 8:47pm On Dec 17, 2015
JN1:

You can't withdraw the $$ sent by Google from your Dorm account, CBN imposed embargo on it. You can only use the bank Token to change it online which will result to 199/$. Another way is transferring it to another dorm account but there is something like 5% charges for it.

No need to argue on this matter...

Forbes: Dangote’s Wealth Dips By $2b, Adenuga‘s Up By $3.9b / FBI List: EFCC Goes After Bankers, BDC Operators Aiding Cybercriminals / In Dramatic Reversal , Naira Falls To N235/$1 Again

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 90