Stats: 3,166,805 members, 7,866,119 topics. Date: Thursday, 20 June 2024 at 11:58 AM

My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. - NYSC (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / NYSC / My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. (47446 Views)

Corpers Taking Selfie At Taraba River Before Drowning (Photos) / My NYSC Experience In Kano State / Nysc Stream 2 2016 Call Up Letter Officially Out For Printing *PICTURE* (2) (3) (4)

Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Petermarshal(m): 10:35pm On Jun 16, 2016
I was in dat camp too, btw november 25th and dec 14th of last year. Infact, i really enjoyed d camp facilities and activities which is far different from your description. My guy, dat camp make sense!
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Opiletool(m): 10:40pm On Jun 16, 2016
nas00:

The first time I saw the snake, it was a huge, majestic, golden coloured beast (cobra). It dazzled brilliantly in the hot Taraba sun. My first instinct was to dash away as fast as possible...but I noticed the snake had already fixed its eyes on me and was studying me, I guess. I just decided not to run, lest it 'flies' and attack. Instead, we both stood looking at each other for a while, then the snake moved first. It turned away from me and crawled into the next compound. You could feel its weight as it dragged away. I heaved a sigh of relief and went my way.

Somehow, I felt if I had made any movement that day, e fit turn long tin.

Subsequently, I dey jam d snake for backyard steady, but we just dey do the normal tuale for each other.. It seemed to like coming out when it is sunny. I think it lived in the soak-away behind the house.

There were lots of snakes in Karim Lamido. A soldier even had a snake bite in my compound while lying outside at night to take fresh air due to the ambient heat. Luckily, he survived and the snake was killed cool

can't live in such a place. My sleep would be plagued with horrible dreams
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Mcowubaba: 10:40pm On Jun 16, 2016
papiforreal:
don't forget to tell us about sexcapade You have as well
Ode grin angry grin
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Billyozi: 10:50pm On Jun 16, 2016
JessiliciousJes:
PART 5 continuation

As today was our swearing-in, the governor of Adamawa state was going to be present. We left to the parade ground by 10:15am. We formed a line in our various platoons and someone(cant remember who he was) came and apologized on behalf of the governor's office that the the governor would be running late. And We should wait on the parade ground a while.(Ahn ahn! Why we no fit go wait for our rooms ni? undecided Mstchww). 10:15 turned to 11:15 which also turned to 12:15. Two hours of hanging around. Some sitting while some standing. I sat on a brick stone,slept briefly twice and woke again, yet no governor. angry My ass was burning like hell. cry Which kain naija governor be this wey no dey keep to time. I was hungry and sleepy. Two dangerous combinations. Some tried leaving the parade ground with excuses like peeing, being thirsty,etc. Story for the ancestors!!! Only a few very lucky ones were allowed to pass. But at some point those selling pure water, drinks, snacks and the rest were allowed to come sell to us.By 1pm now, i already looked at my watch and tried coming up with a lie. wink Yes! Perharps if i told a soldier that i had to take my drugs by 1pm and it was in my room he would let me pass. As i was trying to perfect the lie, i looked up in the sky and there, a private jet passed over our heads heading for the airport close to the camp(first time i ever saw one so up close). Well no need lying seeing as the governor has arrived. Minutes passed and the governor never reach the parade ground. Kai menini!!! 2pm and we were asked to form our usual line. You wouldnt believe that the governor no even com sef. angry angry angry A representative was sent. So we basically spent hours waiting for a representive. If na d governor com dey show nko, na days we for wait. undecided
Well, we did the routine we had pracitced for the past two days, was addressed by the representative and then we swore in. By 3pm, the whole stuff had ended. We were allowed to leave but had to return by 5pm(Not again!!! cry ). Lunch was beans and garri so i just went to mammy market and ate jollof and fried rice,coleslaw and meat for #350. Chai! Went to my room to rest but it didnt last long. It was 5pm. I just jejely walked there myself cos i didnt have the strength to be pursued. The weather was cold. Seemed like it was about to rain(well....maybe it was a blessing). And it was. Thirty five minutes later we were dismissed cos it started to drizzle. cheesy For my mind i was like TGIR(Thank God it's raining grin ). We retired to our rooms, i took off my shoes and i just went straight into a deep sleep. The weather was so lovely. Cool and a lil bit dark.
I woke up to a very mouth watering aroma. Looked around and saw one of my roomies eating rice and stew. Abeg na camp food be that? She said 'yes, i woke you up but you didnt answer'. Hmmmm i must have been sleeping like a log of wood. It was still raining so i took my umbrella(yes! I brought an umbrella. I always come prepared smiley ) and went to the dining just to meet the longest queue ever. Shuu!!! shocked Because of rice and stew? One of my roomies and platoon member was in the middle so i just begged her instead, collected my food and it was really delicious. Really! Then i had my bath, cleaned my shoes and laid on my bed gisting you guys. Then this elderly woman just came and wants us to come outside so she came address us. Story!!! Im still typing on my phone cos i love you guys. kiss wink cheesy Goodnight.
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by OnWebTech: 10:53pm On Jun 16, 2016
ENIGMA24:

U graduated
lmao

only you noticed!
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Akynzodeighbour(m): 10:55pm On Jun 16, 2016
Taraba, Batch C 2013, it was really interesting in camp, GSS Jalingo, Taraba state was really fun, never regretted a day spent through out service year
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Padolski(m): 11:06pm On Jun 16, 2016
I live in taraba state is a nice place to live.investment qutars for those who live in jalingo

Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Famous07: 11:08pm On Jun 16, 2016
pendusky:
cheesy cheesy cheesy

I was posted to Taraba in 2014. It was fun, then we were using Govt Sch for Jalingo as our camp, I believed the New camp is now ready.. when you reach pls my regards to state coordinator Mr Freeeman.

Taraba is a very nice place, though i couldnt make it to Gembu "Where snow falls" grin

But believe me Taraba camp is one of the best in the country...

They have standard website http://nysctaraba.org/ something most states lacks.

Enjoy your stay bro.

Taraba nysc has a new state coordinator now. his name is Mr Emma danjuma attah
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Famous07: 11:14pm On Jun 16, 2016
pendusky:
cheesy cheesy cheesy

I was posted to Taraba in 2014. It was fun, then we were using Govt Sch for Jalingo as our camp, I believed the New camp is now ready.. when you reach pls my regards to state coordinator Mr Freeeman.

Taraba is a very nice place, though i couldnt make it to Gembu "Where snow falls" grin

Enjoy your stay bro.

Famous07:

Taraba nysc has a new state coordinator now. his name is Mr Emma danjuma attah
pendusky:
cheesy cheesy cheesy

Enjoy your stay bro.

taraba nysc has a new state coordinator now his name is Mr attah
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Moyinjoe(m): 11:15pm On Jun 16, 2016
Interesting thread... Love it... I was part of the band group that came to play at the swearing in ceremony... Serving in Jalingo here
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by okuneddie(m): 11:36pm On Jun 16, 2016
Iseoluwani:
Taraba!! !such a useless state served there 215 LAU lg. Useless group if Fulani's n Hausa they won't value u so don't go n kill yourself. We were d 1st set to use d new camp. Guy if u no get money 3wks go b like hell. N from lag to taraba 22hrs so if u wanna stay just pack your loads once but be warned things are expensive

haba bros sebi u are the first batch that used the new camp.....my batch was the last to use the former camp which is a sec sch and we were like 52 in a room which happens to be a class. when u guys were in camp I came with my friends and I must confessed u guys enjoyed. served in Jalingo, kona to be precise.... its a village not far to road block....
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by okuneddie(m): 11:43pm On Jun 16, 2016
JessiliciousJes:
PART 4

So sorry for not writing last night. I was so tired. Plus network dey f**k up for this side.
Well, yesterday, i woke up by 1am as usual. After having my bath, i was shaking like a lunatic. Later, soldiers came to chase us from our hostels to the parade ground for meditation and practice. By 5:30am!!! shocked Mehn... i don suffer no be small. We lined up in our different platoons and started the usual. Marching! Doing the same thing we did the previous day. Learning the routine we will use for our swearing-in the next day. We practiced under the hot sun for 4 hours again. By 9:30am, we were ordered to go have breakfast and return within one hour. sad You wont believe what these cooks decided to give us. Brown water (tea) and moulded flour(that they called bread). After that excessive practice we just did, tea and bread?! O boy, i carry myself go mammy right away and ate rice and confam palm oil stew with meat. After that, went to my room to rest. Gosh!!! My legs ached like never before. I fell into a deep sleep in a matter of seconds.
By almost 11am, my friend woke me up to wear my shoes. Bia! Na only me come dey the hostel. Everyone else had already gone and they didnt wake me. Witchcraft and wickedness. Smh. Soldiers were going from room to room. I was almost caught but God win i ran very quickly.
At the parade ground, i was just yawning and yawning. I was feeling really sleepy. We repeated the same routine till after 12pm. That was a huge relief!!! Just one hour but we were to return by 4pm. Lunch was yam porridge that i wasnt interested in.
So i decided to go open a bank account, which i did with Ecobank. By 4pm, we went to the parade ground for the final practice of the day. We practiced till after 6pm and was ordered to come to the parade ground by 8am wearing our khaki outfit the following day for our swearing-in. At night, dinner was tuwo and okro soup with a piece of meat. I have never eaten tuwo before in my life. But it was ok. Those that werent on time had the "privilege" of eating bread and okro grin cheesy cos the tuwo had finished. Those that came later took bread and meat. Lol. I no fit laugh cheesy

Well, i then retired to my bed after.

see u, u are in the new camp and u dey complain....my batch was the last to use the old camp. we were 52 in a room which happens to be a classroom.....had it being u are a Taraba Corper with freeman as state cord, u won't have time to type this cos the man worst pass politicians. he is fro michicka in Adamawa
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by ayusco85(m): 11:55pm On Jun 16, 2016
Sirsubway1:

I served in Taraba in 2012 and was posted to Sardauna LG (Gembu). It was fun there but relocated back to Lagos after a month cos my parents just wont allow me stay there. Gembu is a lovely cold place where there is no fridge, they put beer in nornal water and it get cold. Our 3weeks OT camp was at Wukari and it was mad fun.

How far. Pls tell me more about gembu. As regards the mining of minerals there.
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Nobody: 11:57pm On Jun 16, 2016
AD/15A/307 camped in taraba last year was lucky to I relocated to bayelsa,heard they have scorpions there but I never saw any all through my stay in that camp. New camp has a dwarf fence but its well secured.
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Lewandoski20(m): 12:03am On Jun 17, 2016
JessiliciousJes:
[color=#000099]Hey everyone. smiley
I have decided to use this platform to share my day to day activities in camp which is to start by Monday June 13th.
So after days of prayer and fasting(j.k about the fasting grin) to not get posted to the North, i was posted to the worst(in terms of insecurity) of all Norths,Adamawa. cry cry cry You can imagine my face when I printed that call up letter only to find out my prayers werent answered. My heart and soul sank deeply. Anyways, God win because I believe God has a reason for everything. Good news is, I wont be stepping into Adamawa at all cheesy As some of you know, camping is taking place at Jalingo, Taraba state(my nickname literally changed from jessiliciousjes to Tarabs baby) angry. To some this may come as a relief but to me, not one bit. Im based in Lagos state and finished tertiary school from Nnamdi Azikwe university, Awka, Anambra state(in da East!!). I basically have no freaking idea how to get to the North. Mehnn was I depressed.
Well as long as google dey alive, there is always a solution. So i started googling how to get to Tarabs(that is what i call Taraba) from lagos. I was directed to so many articles, mostly some in nairaland though. I read about one transportation company that conveyed corpers from lag to tarabs, but at the end of the article, the writer wasnt so pleased about the company and instead referred readers to use fair plus, young shall grow, samfan and one other one that i cant remember due to the fact that the one he entered was way expensive. So again i googled fairplus and found their website which was really helpful by the way, i made a call to the company to find out about the price which was surprisingly 9k. That is the good news. The bad news is that it is over a day journey shocked I was shocked. Not as shocked as my elder sis who cried a lil(cos she thought i was gonna die on the way plus she's a super drama queen) or my mum who just kept screaming(for the first time i heard her call me baby) embarassed
To cut long stories short i googled some more and read other people's experiences and came to a final conclusion that the journey would be safe afterall(by the grace of God). I also made more enquiries about the camp from two of my friends who also camped there in the stream 1 set and they were like it's really cool and fun and kindda new(well..... when i get there i will confirm).
Then just a day before camping, Nysc postponed the orientation date which was by the way a HUGE inconvenince seeing as i've already gotten prepared (did my hair and shii). Well, no wahala na. It actually gave me more time to prepare.
Finally a new date was set, so i decided to go to park to see what it was like. Fairplus park is located beside Iddo busstop just afer oyingbo. I was coming from mile 2 so I took a bus to oshodi underbridge and boarded another bus going to oyingbo. I got there and booked for my seat which was still 9k and will have to be there by 6am on the day i travel.
Anyho, as we all know orientation starts on monday but i will be travelling saturday(day after tomorrow to get there on sunday) just to be in camp on time. Apparently, corpers coming from a far distance can sleep over in camp(or so i was told).
For those of you located in lag and camping in tarabs, holla me.
Stay glued for more updates. wink
Till next time......caio kiss

Its a nice place. Served there too. Applied for redeployment before getting there. Tried to cancel it but I couldn't. Was in Platoon4. Cool state. Posted to Ussa LGA. Cameroon is sooo close to d place. You will enjoy d weather. Plus d fruits are yummy. D community loves Corpers (don't expect freebies'). My regards to the Platoon Head.

You will enjoy ur stay!
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by SunnyJose(m): 1:07am On Jun 17, 2016
TGIR... you are too much
that part three really amused me especially "... We were given a little orientation by Last Cobra Franklyn(or so I think his name is)".lol
no be only cobra... look forward to meet First Python Edoho. lol
"Lance Corporal"... properly called
waiting for the next episode.
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Sirsubway1: 1:44am On Jun 17, 2016
ayusco85:

How far. Pls tell me more about gembu. As regards the mining of minerals there.

Dont know about the minerals there. Spent like a month there but it was all fun. Jalingo to Gembu is like another 9 hours journey, with that scary road from the Gashaka reserve then to the hilly Gembu road. I was posted to Furmi, another 2 hours journey school on bike from Gembu, went to the school once and paid the Principal to reject me, so was in Gembu all through before going back to Jalingo for my relocation processing. Had a corper gf that works at the hospital there and was given a nice 3bed apartment, so was with her all through but Gembu is fucking cold.

Met some top soldiers at the camp then and we became close cos of our mammy market flexing, left Gembu and lodged at Gashaka reserve(there is one hotel inside the reserve) and was with those soldiers for like 2 weeks, flexing and had mad fun. Gembu is Sardauna local government and very big. You will enjoy the place but it was like an isolated place to me cos no club and all as a Lagos boy cheesy
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Sirsubway1: 1:54am On Jun 17, 2016
Sleekbaby:
I graduated from Unizik and served at Taraba state too, 2012 batch A. Taraba state is interesting, my PPA was at Gashaka local govt. Serti-Baruwa to be precised.

Gashaka is before Sardauna. A nice place, spent like 2 weeks there with those top military guys at the barracks close to that reserve.
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by DedeNkem: 3:16am On Jun 17, 2016
I always feel really sad and depressed reading anything a Nigerian "graduate" wrote!

It's a shame!
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Kakamorufu(m): 4:48am On Jun 17, 2016
unlike men nysc experience, all the fuckery are explained, buh ladies own, no way. Nd thats y it will be boring as hell
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Kakamorufu(m): 6:03am On Jun 17, 2016
gerarahia mehn, who u epp
DedeNkem:
I always feel really sad and depressed reading anything a Nigerian "graduate" wrote!

It's a shame!

Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Impulse80(m): 6:52am On Jun 17, 2016
JessiliciousJes:
PART 5 continuation

As today was our swearing-in, the governor of Adamawa state was going to be present. We left to the parade ground by 10:15am. We formed a line in our various platoons and someone(cant remember who he was) came and apologized on behalf of the governor's office that the the governor would be running late. And We should wait on the parade ground a while.(Ahn ahn! Why we no fit go wait for our rooms ni? undecided Mstchww). 10:15 turned to 11:15 which also turned to 12:15. Two hours of hanging around. Some sitting while some standing. I sat on a brick stone,slept briefly twice and woke again, yet no governor. angry My ass was burning like hell. cry Which kain naija governor be this wey no dey keep to time. I was hungry and sleepy. Two dangerous combinations. Some tried leaving the parade ground with excuses like peeing, being thirsty,etc. Story for the ancestors!!! Only a few very lucky ones were allowed to pass. But at some point those selling pure water, drinks, snacks and the rest were allowed to come sell to us.By 1pm now, i already looked at my watch and tried coming up with a lie. wink Yes! Perharps if i told a soldier that i had to take my drugs by 1pm and it was in my room he would let me pass. As i was trying to perfect the lie, i looked up in the sky and there, a private jet passed over our heads heading for the airport close to the camp(first time i ever saw one so up close). Well no need lying seeing as the governor has arrived. Minutes passed and the governor never reach the parade ground. Kai menini!!! 2pm and we were asked to form our usual line. You wouldnt believe that the governor no even com sef. angry angry angry A representative was sent. So we basically spent hours waiting for a representive. If na d governor com dey show nko, na days we for wait. undecided
Well, we did the routine we had pracitced for the past two days, was addressed by the representative and then we swore in. By 3pm, the whole stuff had ended. We were allowed to leave but had to return by 5pm(Not again!!! cry ). Lunch was beans and garri so i just went to mammy market and ate jollof and fried rice,coleslaw and meat for #350. Chai! Went to my room to rest but it didnt last long. It was 5pm. I just jejely walked there myself cos i didnt have the strength to be pursued. The weather was cold. Seemed like it was about to rain(well....maybe it was a blessing). And it was. Thirty five minutes later we were dismissed cos it started to drizzle. cheesy For my mind i was like TGIR(Thank God it's raining grin ). We retired to our rooms, i took off my shoes and i just went straight into a deep sleep. The weather was so lovely. Cool and a lil bit dark.
I woke up to a very mouth watering aroma. Looked around and saw one of my roomies eating rice and stew. Abeg na camp food be that? She said 'yes, i woke you up but you didnt answer'. Hmmmm i must have been sleeping like a log of wood. It was still raining so i took my umbrella(yes! I brought an umbrella. I always come prepared smiley ) and went to the dining just to meet the longest queue ever. Shuu!!! shocked Because of rice and stew? One of my roomies and platoon member was in the middle so i just begged her instead, collected my food and it was really delicious. Really! Then i had my bath, cleaned my shoes and laid on my bed gisting you guys. Then this elderly woman just came and wants us to come outside so she came address us. Story!!! Im still typing on my phone cos i love you guys. kiss wink cheesy Goodnight.

Demigod following

Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by nas00(m): 7:12am On Jun 17, 2016
Sirsubway1:

Gashaka is before Sardauna. A nice place, spent like 2 weeks there with those top military guys at the barracks close to that reserve.

You probably chilled at Serti, a town within Gashaka L.G.A. There is an armored military cantonment in Serti with tons of those military guys. The interesting thing I noticed about the North is that uniformed men (police, army, NSCDC etc) were usually very friendly towards civilians, unlike in the South-West, where I came from.

Coming from Bali towards Mambilla, you would pass through numerous military check points. Some of these check points actually have huts where I think the soldiers live while on duty, yet they were never aggressive. Soldiers sacrifice a lot. I wonder what they eat and if they have families.. I love them too. wink

Had a number of them as friends during camp. The funniest of them had the nickname 'no be lie'. Dude was so unusually short for a military man. But the day I fear God na d day d guy provoke. He single-handedly punished all the platoons on parade ground for a long while, beating non compliers with a huge stick. Even his colleagues could not intervene. Eventually, na we 'mammy crew' rescue the camp that day when we promised the guy any amount of beer he wanted from that day till the end of camp. I was not punished with the others that day though, as my 'rank' had already risen in camp before then. I could count the number of times I attended parade throughout. Maybe 4 times. Na either mammy or camp clinic steady cool

There was this UBANDOMA joint in mammy. That was our melting pot for 'shayo' and 'asun'... Then IYA IJESA for confirm pounded yam grin grin

If you've been there, say aye! tongue

Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by yemmie(m): 7:43am On Jun 17, 2016
Hmm

Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by iamgiggssleaky(m): 8:15am On Jun 17, 2016
Please whr is "I know my right"? only TR 14C can decode this well enough.
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by PreciousJob: 8:30am On Jun 17, 2016
This is interesting! Pls keep us updated.
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by emmymdk: 8:55am On Jun 17, 2016
Proudly TR16A....
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by funshyboi(m): 8:56am On Jun 17, 2016
to those who served at taraba, how much is the state allawee before considering the place .
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by stainlex(m): 9:25am On Jun 17, 2016
Op, it's not Last Cobra, it's Lance Corporal...I repped TR back in 2009..Camp life was the bomb! I feel nostalgic reading your post. Have fun jare! If you find yourself in Takum for your PPA, let me know.
Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Hardetayour: 9:30am On Jun 17, 2016
iamgiggssleaky:
Please whr is "I know my right"? only TR 14C can decode this well enough.

Lol. That babe that had mental issues. The day wey she wan face me for camp dey follow me yarn dust, I take off mehn. Make OBS no use me do advert

Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by Dbestmax(m): 9:36am On Jun 17, 2016
dont 4get 2 share d part Wia u had ur first camp straff cheesy

Re: My NYSC Experience At Taraba Camp, Batch A, Stream 2, 2016. by thorbar(m): 9:46am On Jun 17, 2016
JessiliciousJes:
[color=#000099]Hey everyone. smiley
I have decided to use this platform to share my day to day activities in camp which is to start by Monday June 13th.
So after days of prayer and fasting(j.k about the fasting grin) to not get posted to the North, i was posted to the worst(in terms of insecurity) of all Norths,Adamawa. cry cry cry You can imagine my face when I printed that call up letter only to find out my prayers werent answered. My heart and soul sank deeply. Anyways, God win because I believe God has a reason for everything. Good news is, I wont be stepping into Adamawa at all cheesy As some of you know, camping is taking place at Jalingo, Taraba state(my nickname literally changed from jessiliciousjes to Tarabs baby) angry. To some this may come as a relief but to me, not one bit. Im based in Lagos state and finished tertiary school from Nnamdi Azikwe university, Awka, Anambra state(in da East!!). I basically have no freaking idea how to get to the North. Mehnn was I depressed.
Well as long as google dey alive, there is always a solution. So i started googling how to get to Tarabs(that is what i call Taraba) from lagos. I was directed to so many articles, mostly some in nairaland though. I read about one transportation company that conveyed corpers from lag to tarabs, but at the end of the article, the writer wasnt so pleased about the company and instead referred readers to use fair plus, young shall grow, samfan and one other one that i cant remember due to the fact that the one he entered was way expensive. So again i googled fairplus and found their website which was really helpful by the way, i made a call to the company to find out about the price which was surprisingly 9k. That is the good news. The bad news is that it is over a day journey shocked I was shocked. Not as shocked as my elder sis who cried a lil(cos she thought i was gonna die on the way plus she's a super drama queen) or my mum who just kept screaming(for the first time i heard her call me baby) embarassed
To cut long stories short i googled some more and read other people's experiences and came to a final conclusion that the journey would be safe afterall(by the grace of God). I also made more enquiries about the camp from two of my friends who also camped there in the stream 1 set and they were like it's really cool and fun and kindda new(well..... when i get there i will confirm).
Then just a day before camping, Nysc postponed the orientation date which was by the way a HUGE inconvenince seeing as i've already gotten prepared (did my hair and shii). Well, no wahala na. It actually gave me more time to prepare.
Finally a new date was set, so i decided to go to park to see what it was like. Fairplus park is located beside Iddo busstop just afer oyingbo. I was coming from mile 2 so I took a bus to oshodi underbridge and boarded another bus going to oyingbo. I got there and booked for my seat which was still 9k and will have to be there by 6am on the day i travel.
Anyho, as we all know orientation starts on monday but i will be travelling saturday(day after tomorrow to get there on sunday) just to be in camp on time. Apparently, corpers coming from a far distance can sleep over in camp(or so i was told).
For those of you located in lag and camping in tarabs, holla me.
Stay glued for more updates. wink
Till next time......caio kiss
I thought you are suppose to choose any three state you want, if u dont want Adamawa, y choose it?

Lady In NYSC Uniform Spotted At Intl. Airport Same Day She Signed Out (Pic/Vid) / How To Verify Your NYSC 2016 Batch A Senate List / No Batch "A" Stream II Corps Will Be Posted To Borno Or Yobe States- NYSC

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 111