Stats: 3,155,540 members, 7,827,015 topics. Date: Tuesday, 14 May 2024 at 04:24 AM

Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 - Travel (223) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 (901881 Views)

Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 / Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 / Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 5 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (220) (221) (222) (223) (224) (225) (226) ... (405) (Go Down)

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by larrytoks: 8:34pm On Jul 11, 2016
passionantchica:
I used Northside. I didn't know I'd be staying in Snellville until I arrived here so it was too late to use EastSide. Even though now I'm wondering why I had thought Gwinett would cost way more than Northside.

Congrats dear. Didn't know you had popped. So how did your Northside experience go?
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by MamaOO: 8:39pm On Jul 11, 2016
ifax:

Ethiopian is quite comfortble. But if u r using it to the us, the journey no be here. If its to LA, ur itinerary will be lag-add-dub(dublin)-lax. If its to newyork, lag-add-lfw(lome)- ewr. It would have been better if she booked lome to new york straight sha
Ethiopian now offers Lagos-Lome-Newark Straight. They have just one hour layover in Lome and its straight to Newark, NJ.

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by ifax(f): 8:42pm On Jul 11, 2016
MamaOO:

Ethiopian now offers Lagos-Lome-Newark Straight. They have just one hour layover in Lome and its straight to Newark, NJ.

Oh wow. Thats cool
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by Nochid: 9:36pm On Jul 11, 2016
Momo13:

Yeah,the fees are discounted. As for pediatrician fee,I don't have an exact figure. I think it's btw 300 - 350 $. I did as many tests as I could at clina lancet before I traveled. Ultrasound I hear is in 2 parts. I may have better info after my appointment on Monday
The hospital is in Virginia not Maryland though.
Epidural is billed separately,I don't know the cost but I could find out.
Thanks, will likely buzz you.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by Nobody: 9:47pm On Jul 11, 2016
jinglesbaby:
Yes, I agree with you on that. I generally pick the very ripe ones off the shelf cos the fruit bowls are transparent anyway and you can see how ripe the fruits are. If they are not ripe, you can store them for longer. I'm not sure yoghurt have acids that are same as those that cause heart burns. At least, the yoghurt I'm taking no be farmfresh or "made in naija" so it's very sweet dear and you cannot taste the lactic acid or whatever that sharp taste in naija yoghurt is.

@@jinglesbaby,
i can assure you dt Being sweet does not signify the absence of d lactic acid produced during the fermentation process, it only means dt enof sweeter and flavor has been added to take care of d sour taste . However plain yourghurt (naija or Yankee own) gives u same benefits as regards d heartburn. You can always top with honey too.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by Nogen: 10:20pm On Jul 11, 2016
isysleek:
@Nerf, does 30th Sept to 7th Oct apply for this cheap ticket ish? I'll PM you now.

@Nogen, happy birthday to your triplets!

...and congrats to all new mums and dad!

Thanks my darling .
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by jinglesbaby: 10:36pm On Jul 11, 2016
Sure. I did not say there is no lactic acid in the yoghurt I take, I did Biology and Chemistry till A Levels and it is present in almost every diary/milk product. [b][b]The key thing I said was that you do not taste the acid [/b]compared to most yoghurts made in Nigeria which is exactly what you said.

chimafranks:

@@jinglesbaby,
i can assure you dt Being sweet does not signify the absence of d lactic acid produced during the fermentation process, it only means dt enof sweeter and flavor has been added to take care of d sour taste . However plain yourghurt (naija or Yankee own) gives u same benefits as regards d heartburn. You can always top with honey too.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by jinglesbaby: 10:37pm On Jul 11, 2016
Sure! I did not say there is no lactic acid in the yoghurt I take, I did Biology and Chemistry till A Levels and I was taught that lactic acid is present in almost every diary/milk product. [b][b]The key thing I said was that you do not taste the acid [/b]compared to most yoghurts made in Nigeria which is exactly what you said. Plain yoghurt is for Indians and Pakistanis to put in their Tikka Masala and Jalfrezi sauce! I hate plain yoghurt.

chimafranks:

@@jinglesbaby,
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by happytbaby: 11:00pm On Jul 11, 2016
Good

jinglesbaby:
Yes, I agree with you on that. I generally pick the very ripe ones off the shelf cos the fruit bowls are transparent anyway and you can see how ripe the fruits are. If they are not ripe, you can store them for longer. I'm not sure yoghurt have acids that are same as those that cause heart burns. At least, the yoghurt I'm taking no be farmfresh or "made in naija" so it's very sweet dear and you cannot taste the lactic acid or whatever that sharp taste in naija yoghurt is.

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by feddy27: 11:29pm On Jul 11, 2016
Nogen:

Thanks my darling .

Wao! Triplets are 1 already! Happy birthday to them! They shall grow in wisdom and might

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by mom2015: 12:09am On Jul 12, 2016
bissysummy:
I went for my visa interview today and this is the outcome conversation btw me and visa officer. Pls kindly help me to review why i was denied visa
@firstmun, justwice and all.
Vo: good morning
Me: good morning
Vo: why are you going to usa?
Me: to have my baby there
Vo: which state?
Me: Chicago illinois
Vo: why chicago?
Me: my brother inlaw is a doctor at cook county hospital and he advice us to have our baby there.
Vo: what is your boujet for this trip?
Me: $12000
Vo: is this your first child?
Me: my third child
Vo: what do you do?
Me: am a business woman. interior design and decoration. I have staff that works for me
Vo: sorry the visa cannot be issue because of section 12(a)·usa law. And when i review the paper given to me ot says , u must have a strong tiles like schools, company and etc.
Where did you think i got it wrong? And can i reapply.? Advice is needed pls.

I think it went well, but like ladyG rightly said, u shud work on ur ways of answering questions and most especially pray for Devine favor. Some of the VOs may not be in a good mood as at the time of interview. My take is to reapply and fine tune ur answers. Wish u all d best.

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by larrytoks: 2:15am On Jul 12, 2016
feddy27:
Good morning dearies

Biko, people that travelled with toddlers alone b4 hubby/mother-in-law came, how did u cope with them? Again, I'm thinking of travellin to anoda city and get back to LA at 36wks. Will airlines agree to fly me? Also is it safe?

I traveled with a veeeeery energetic 2-year old at almost 35 weeks and I don't think I'll do it again cry The boy showed me pepper and he's still showing me now cos it's just me and him in the house, his dad is joining us next week.

We left home with a stroller but decided on not using it b4 we got to the airport. Also decided not to use the wheelchair I had booked.
My hubby and sister accompanied us to the airport, so my sister held him while my husband and I went to check in my luggage.

We had 2 carry-on baggage , one with a wheel, the other a shoulder diaper bag that can be placed under the seat in front of us containing in-flight essentials such as; diapers, extra clothes, socks, tissue, face towels, hand sanitizer, water bottle, cereal, small yogurt packs, biscuits etc. His cutleries were seized at MMA because they had stainless tips, plastics ones would pass. The other smaller suitcase had mainly my laptop, ipad, more cereal, juice packs etc, basically stuff we won't need in-flight.

So we attached the diaper bag to the suitcase and just wheeled them along with one hand and held him on the other. Though this didn't work all the time as he ran off sometimes and made me chase him.

He didn't like the food they served him on board on all the legs but he ate mine. I didn't really have to carry him so much but I let him have his way when it was possible.

I regretted not packing his coloring books and a few toys in our carry-on because I thought we would get some in-flight but we didn't get jack! That would have distracted him when he got bored.

He slept for most of the flight from Lagos to Paris that I had to wake him up to walk when we landed cos there was no way I was gonna carry him. However on the Paris- Atlanta leg, he didn't sleep so much and as a result he was very active and wanted to leave his seat every now and then, so we had to be taking frequent walks to the loo which helped my legs anyway.

When we got to Atlanta and picked up our bags, my two hands weren't always free because I had to push the trolley, this was when he enjoyed all the freedom he craved, he kept playing catch with me. The part that terrified me was when we got out to pick a taxi, he ran to the middle of the road, beaming at me to come catch him. I couldn't chase him to prevent him from going further, I just stood there calling his name and waving my phone at him to come speak with daddy till someone grabbed him from behind and I was able to catch up with him!
I was very tired and I just kept wondering why he wasn't too and where he found his energy.

Anyway, the lessons I learnt from the trip if I'll ever do it again are;

1. Maybe the stroller could have been helpful if he agrees to seat in it, that would prevent him from running off. However the downside to this would be how to push the stroller with the luggage after claiming them.
2. I'll carry a lot of activity-based toys in our carry-on bags, to keep him busy in-flight and while waiting for our connecting flight.
3. Try to limit my carry-on bag to just one back-pack.

All in all, it wasn't too bad but not sure if I would do it again. The good side is that I'm "enjoying" his company now and he's keeping me busy.

Hope you'll pick a thing or two from my experience cheesy

18 Likes

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by Momo13: 4:13am On Jul 12, 2016
Ok for those interested in Inova hospitals,got to my appointment and realized doctors fee is no longer with 50% discount but 25%. (They said it came into effect last month undecided) so vaginal delivery is now 3900$! Anyway I slugged it out with the billing office as I registered since April and they conceded to 50% which I quickly paid sharp sharp!
I wasn't told that the hospital fees have changed but that could be because I prepaid the fee.
Asides that, it's a really beautiful hospital. Worth every cent if you can afford it grin
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by Momo13: 4:19am On Jul 12, 2016
[code][/code]
larrytoks:

I traveled with a veeeeery energetic 2-year old at almost 35 weeks and I don't think I'll do it again cry The boy showed me pepper and he's still showing me now cos it's just me and him in the house, his dad is joining us next week.

We left home with a stroller but decided on not using it b4 we got to the airport. Also decided not to use the wheelchair I had booked.
My hubby and sister accompanied us to the airport, so my sister held him while my husband and I went to check in my luggage.

We had 2 carry-on baggage , one with a wheel, the other a shoulder diaper bag that can be placed under the seat in front of us containing in-flight essentials such as; diapers, extra clothes, socks, tissue, face towels, hand sanitizer, water bottle, cereal, small yogurt packs, biscuits etc. His cutleries were seized at MMA because they had stainless tips, plastics ones would pass. The other smaller suitcase had mainly my laptop, ipad, more cereal, juice packs etc, basically stuff we won't need in-flight.

So we attached the diaper bag to the suitcase and just wheeled them along with one hand and held him on the other. Though this didn't work all the time as he ran off sometimes and made me chase him.

He didn't like the food they served him on board on all the legs but he ate mine. I didn't really have to carry him so much but I let him have his way when it was possible.

I regretted not packing his coloring books and a few toys in our carry-on because I thought we would get some in-flight but we didn't get jack! That would have distracted him when he got bored.

He slept for most of the flight from Lagos to Paris that I had to wake him up to walk when we landed cos there was no way I was gonna carry him. However on the Paris- Atlanta leg, he didn't sleep so much and as a result he was very active and wanted to leave his seat every now and then, so we had to be taking frequent walks to the loo which helped my legs anyway.

When we got to Atlanta and picked up our bags, my two hands weren't always free because I had to push the trolley, this was when he enjoyed all the freedom he craved, he kept playing catch with me. The part that terrified me was when we got out to pick a taxi, he ran to the middle of the road, beaming at me to come catch him. I couldn't chase him to prevent him from going further, I just stood there calling his name and waving my phone at him to come speak with daddy till someone grabbed him from behind and I was able to catch up with him!
I was very tired and I just kept wondering why he wasn't too and where he found his energy.

1. Maybe the stroller could have been helpful if he agrees to seat in it, that would prevent him from running off. However the downside to this would be how to push the stroller with the luggage after claiming them.
2. I'll carry a lot of activity-based toys in our carry-on bags, to keep him busy in-flight and while waiting for our connecting flight.

All in all, it wasn't too bad but not sure if I would do it again. The good side is that I'm "enjoying" his company now and he's keeping me busy.

I feel you! I have a hyperactive madam as well..imagine a 2 year old not sleeping on a 9 hours flight?! Hian
The only difference in our experiences is I traveled with DH..
Pele try to rest well oh

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by Chrisdew: 4:45am On Jul 12, 2016
Sup am back again , find it cheaper elsewhere I give u a refund
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by feddy27: 4:49am On Jul 12, 2016
Larrytoks, you are a darling kiss cry kiss

Thank you for sharing your experience! I've learnt a lot. God bless you and wish you safe delivery.

Firsttymum, check her post. She has taught us the way out smiley
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by simababe(f): 4:56am On Jul 12, 2016
MamaOO:

Pls do they ask for fit to fly at Lome stop over cos wot if they don't accept naija own. Bsyds their pregy policy is 32weeks
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by simababe(f): 5:01am On Jul 12, 2016
Mine was busy putting his hands in pple's food, he was awake all tru the 16hrz flight xcept during the 2hrz stop over at France that he slept off. He's not goin wit me this time around cos I can't fit shout but I'm sure i'll miss him. I'm not even going to be home to celebrate his 2yrz birthday angry angry angry angry. I pray he doesn't forget my face.

larrytoks:

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by MamaOO: 5:04am On Jul 12, 2016
simababe:

Pls do they ask for fit to fly at Lome stop over cos wot if they don't accept naija own. Bsyds their pregy policy is 32weeks
I honestly don't know. I was only buttressing her point. I've not flown out of the US while pregnant so I don't know anything about the fit to fly thing. But you can give them a quick call tho. It shouldn't hurt.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by simababe(f): 5:25am On Jul 12, 2016
MamaOO:

I honestly don't know. I was only buttressing her point. I've not flown out of the US while pregnant so I don't know anything about the fit to fly thing. But you can give them a quick call tho. It shouldn't hurt.

I don't kn why dh isnt comfortable with them. I hav until 9am to make a final decision if not he'd book qatar.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by nefertitiram: 5:48am On Jul 12, 2016
BeckyU:
Hi Nef, I intend to travel between 23rd Sept and 2nd Dec 2016. POE is NY, but final destination is Houston. Please could you send me the link. I have sent you a PM. Thanks a lot for being here.

263,411 to New York. I have emailed you link
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by nefertitiram: 5:53am On Jul 12, 2016
Momo13:
[code][/code]

I feel you! I have a hyperactive madam as well..imagine a 2 year old not sleeping on a 9 hours flight?! Hian
Pele try to rest well oh

My 10month old did not sleep on a 7 hour flight! Imagine!
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by XX01(f): 6:13am On Jul 12, 2016
ifax:

Ethiopian is quite comfortble. But if u r using it to the us, the journey no be here. If its to LA, ur itinerary will be lag-add-dub(dublin)-lax. If its to newyork, lag-add-lfw(lome)- ewr. It would have been better if she booked lome to new york straight sha

She said she booked to New Jersey and it showed one stop in Lome. She said she wanted to cancel but her ticket is non-refundable. Will they add extra stops in between?
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by larrytoks: 6:27am On Jul 12, 2016
feddy27:
Larrytoks, you are a darling kiss cry kiss

Thank you for sharing your experience! I've learnt a lot. God bless you and wish you safe delivery.

Firsttymum, check her post. She has taught us the way out smiley

Thanks dearie,i'm glad it was helpful and amen to your prayers. Have a safe and stress-free trip smiley

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by larrytoks: 6:31am On Jul 12, 2016
Imagine! I just wonder where they get all that adrenaline from shocked
Thanks jare.

Momo13:
[code][/code]

Pele try to rest well oh
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by MamaOO: 6:39am On Jul 12, 2016
simababe:

I don't kn why dh isnt comfortable with them. I hav until 9am to make a final decision if not he'd book qatar.
Ehya. I've not flown them before too, so I don't know much about their services. I've flown Qatar, they're very good, but the layover times is what kills me.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by larrytoks: 6:46am On Jul 12, 2016
simababe:
Mine was busy putting his hands in pple's food, he was awake all tru the 16hrz flight xcept during the 2hrz stop over at France that he slept off. He's not goin wit me this time around cos I can't fit shout but I'm sure i'll miss him. I'm not even going to be home to celebrate his 2yrz birthday angry angry angry angry. I pray he doesn't forget my face.

At a point I was telling him.."travelling with you was a bad idea, I should have left you behind..." lol... He didn't even send me, he continued doing his thing.
Pele...I'm sure he won't forget your face, try to Skype with him everyday cheesy

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by XX01(f): 6:59am On Jul 12, 2016
simababe:

Where did you get the policy from? She said she looked through their website and didn't see anything like that.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by bissysummy: 7:30am On Jul 12, 2016
LadyGuinivere:

In my opinion, the bolded could have gone better.
The purpose of trip .... You have had 2 kids previously without any issue and now you wanna birth in the US just because your brother in law suggested it. Thts not compelling enough.
Then the ties issue...probably the vo does not believe your job can carry the trip.
Have you travelled before?
Are you married ? (sorry I dont assume)
Pls @ ladyguinive,thank you so much for the honest words. Actually its my husband that is sponsoring the trip, not me and i had 2 previous cs with complications in the last one. That is why i applied. pls can i still reapply. My health is involve. This will be my third cs. Kindly advice on that.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by bissysummy: 7:34am On Jul 12, 2016
Thank you so much @mom2015, i will reapply and take to your advice. Really appreciate it.
mom2015:

I think it went well, but like ladyG rightly said, u shud work on ur ways of answering questions and most especially pray for Devine favor. Some of the VOs may not be in a good mood as at the time of interview. My take is to reapply and fine tune ur answers. Wish u all d best.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by simababe(f): 8:43am On Jul 12, 2016
XX01:

Where did you get the policy from? She said she looked through their website and didn't see anything like that.

Google ethopian airline pregy policy. Then click on the form to be submitted on the website.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 by simababe(f): 8:45am On Jul 12, 2016
larrytoks:

At a point I was telling him.."travelling with you was a bad idea, I should have left you behind..." lol... He didn't even send me, he continued doing his thing.
Pele...I'm sure he won't forget your face, try to Skype with him everyday cheesy

Nice one. Imo or facebook call should do. Thanks

(1) (2) (3) ... (220) (221) (222) (223) (224) (225) (226) ... (405)

Travelling To Canada Part 11 / Polish Student Visa / General German Visa Enquiries Part 3

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 93