Stats: 3,148,891 members, 7,802,870 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 April 2024 at 12:10 AM

Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland - Properties - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland (38015 Views)

Hot And Affordable Properties In Lagos State For Sale / Young Man Laments As Flood Carries Away His Properties In Akwa Ibom. Photos / Do You Know The Land Debts You Are About To Inherit? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (16) (Reply) (Go Down)

Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by Abbeyme: 4:48pm On Oct 08, 2016
The Supreme Court has voided the Igbo law and custom, which forbid a female from inheriting her late father’s estate, on the grounds that it is discriminatory and conflicts with the provision of the constitution.

The court held that the practice conflicted with section 42(1)(a) and (2) of the 1999 Constitution. The judgment was on the appeal marked: SC.224/2004 filed by Mrs. Lois Chituru Ukeje (wife of the late Lazarus Ogbonna Ukeje) and their son, Enyinnaya Lazarus Ukeje against Mrs. Cladys Ada Ukeje (the deceased’s daughter).

Cladys had sued the deceased’s wife and son before the Lagos High Court, claiming to be one of the deceased’s children and sought to be included among those to administer their deceased’s father’s estate.

The trial court found that he was a daughter to the deceased and that she was qualified to benefit from the estate of their father who died intestate in Lagos in1981.

The Court of Appeal, Lagos to which Mrs. Lois Ukeje and Enyinnaya Ukeje appealed, upheld the decision of the trail court, prompting them to appeal to the Supreme Court.
In its judgment last Friday, the Supreme Court held that the Court of Appeal, Lagos was right to have voided the Igbo’s native law and custom that disinherit female children.

Justice Bode Rhodes-Vivour, who read the lead judgment, held that “no matter the circumstances of the birth of a female child, such a child is entitled to an inheritance from her later father’s estate.

“Consequently, the Igbo customary law, which disentitles a female child from partaking in the sharing of her deceased father’s estate is breach of Section 42(1) and (2) of the Constitution, a fundamental rights provision guaranteed to every Nigerian.

“The said discriminatory customary law is void as it conflicts with Section 42(1) and (2) of the Constitution. In the light of all that I have been saying, the appeal is dismissed. In the spirit of reconciliation, parties to bear their own costs,” Justice Rhodes-Vivour said.

Justices Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen, Claral Bata Ogunbiyi, Kumai Bayang Aka’ahs and John Inyang Okoro, who were part of the panel that heard the appeal, agreed with the lead judgment.

Source: http://www.cracong.org/supreme-court-upholds-right-of-female-child-to-inherit-properties-in-igboland/

47 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by afanide: 4:51pm On Oct 08, 2016
Thank God i am getting married to an Igbo girl cheesy cheesy cheesy.....

17 Likes 1 Share

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by Young03(m): 4:58pm On Oct 08, 2016
whether they like it or not. traditionally a female can't inherit a land in Igbo land

aru!

Igbo land z not Bini where famales have rights to lands n houses

Igbo aju kwa

45 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by Abbeyme: 4:58pm On Oct 08, 2016
afanide:
Thank God i am getting married to an Igbo girl cheesy cheesy cheesy.....

So what title would that confer on you?

Lalasticlala, Mynd44, Seun. Tell the Igbo babes that thy are now recognised by law....

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by Abbeyme: 4:59pm On Oct 08, 2016
Young03:
whether they like it or not. traditionally a female can't inherit a land in Igbo land

aru!

Igbo land z not Bini where famales have rights to lands n houses

Igbo aju kwa

Haba,

But what is the offence...

What does it take from you.

80 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by Young03(m): 5:02pm On Oct 08, 2016
Abbeyme:

Haba,

But what is the offence...

What does it take from you.

they can't be living in another .mans house and be dragging properties with the man

they r temporal beings in Igbo land

16 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by kishimi8(m): 6:22pm On Oct 08, 2016
Young03:

they can't be living in another .mans house and be dragging properties with the man

Hmmm soo much for advanced people yet you people say we oppress women up north, here women can inherit properties, land etc and if lady dies her properties are inherited by her children or relatives.

144 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by martineinstein(m): 9:02pm On Oct 08, 2016
and they will say hausa people are chauvinistic,oppressionists and uncivilised....this one is far worse than the banned kannywood actress..we can see that the northerners' backwardness is better than afro-israelites 'forwardness'.smh for eastern tribe of african israelites with cave mentality

kudos to my Niger deltan sisters,who get a good share of their father's property......i trust my sisters dem,no man fit oppress dem.

thunder will faya anybody that say s my daughters wont inherit my property...in short,all my property will only go to my daughters....no food for any lazy man

120 Likes 9 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by orimsamsam(m): 9:02pm On Oct 08, 2016
Yet if dis should happen in the West. U see them infesting dis thread shouting afonja. What kind of traditions forbids a woman from inheriting her late father property.

94 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by Allwility: 9:02pm On Oct 08, 2016
Landmark judgment. I believe it's a way of giving voice to the girl child. However, this judgment brings to the fore other pertinent issues such as the girl child becoming heiress to a traditional throne.

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by chiamaka21(f): 9:02pm On Oct 08, 2016
k
Young03:

keep quite. wht is good for the goose is good for the gander. if this story is from the north. my Igbo brother will have come out with dere dick measurement telling us how the North is backward. yet we are the most hypocritical tribe in Nigeria.

96 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by TonyeBarcanista(m): 9:03pm On Oct 08, 2016
This is a welcome development

The trial court found that he was a daughter to the deceased and that she was qualified to benefit from the estate of their father who died intestate in Lagos in1981.
Nigeria Judicial system is miserable. Case of 1981 is decided in 2016, a whopping 35years after.

Gadamit

51 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by Nobody: 9:04pm On Oct 08, 2016
The incorruptible Judges..Inyang Okoro also agreed grin

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by NwaNimo1(m): 9:04pm On Oct 08, 2016
So the supreme court get power like this to overturn custom - ok, let them go and overturn some sharia law.

38 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by AfroKnight: 9:04pm On Oct 08, 2016
Thankfully women are free from such a backward custom. To think some people would still try to cheat their sisters in this present age!

14 Likes 1 Share

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by anonym0us: 9:04pm On Oct 08, 2016
Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by Nobody: 9:05pm On Oct 08, 2016
ha

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by VocalWalls: 9:05pm On Oct 08, 2016
Wonderful!!!

Good news

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by oglalasioux(m): 9:05pm On Oct 08, 2016
Lols! Soon all outdated barbaric laws and customs will be put into the trash can of history including the bible and it's teachings.

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by babs01(m): 9:06pm On Oct 08, 2016
I wonder who dragged them to court in the first place
Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by OILSOUP: 9:06pm On Oct 08, 2016
Justice Bode Rhodes-Vivour

OK AS I SAY I NO GO GIVE MY DAUGHTER ANYTHING, COME AND CARRY ME.

IN NIGERIA LAWS ARE MADE BUT UNENFORCEABLE.

MR BODE, IGBOS CANNOT DISOBEY THEIR ANCESTOR AND FOLLOW A YORUBA DECEIVER.

U HAVE JUST WASTED UR TIME, WE THEIR FATHER WILL EXCLUDE THEM OURSELVES.

U CANNOT LOVE MY DAUGHTER MORE THAN ME.

16 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by martineinstein(m): 9:06pm On Oct 08, 2016
TonyeBarcanista:
This is a welcome development but how enforceable is this?
d woman in question can sue her oppressionists and her backward israelite brodas with cave mentality

28 Likes

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by Nobody: 9:06pm On Oct 08, 2016
It won't stand. I am heading to ECOWAS Court straightway. You can't inherit in your husband house and inherit in your father's house.

6 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by daddyabdul: 9:07pm On Oct 08, 2016
Congrats..justice has spoken...

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by admax(m): 9:07pm On Oct 08, 2016
One would have expected Chimamanda or whatever her name is to start fighting this kind discrimination of woman in Iboland but she will be busy forming foreign feminist.

I never knew such things exists in the east! I hope this judgement is obeyed so more woman from that region will start to fight for their right.

Still surprising.

55 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by tyokunbo(m): 9:08pm On Oct 08, 2016
Very good move. The female gender shouldn't continue to suffer a raw deal in this country.

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by martineinstein(m): 9:08pm On Oct 08, 2016
razortruth:
It won't stand
see ur backwardness is worse than northerners'

25 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by MrPresident1: 9:08pm On Oct 08, 2016
oglalasioux:
Lols! Soon all outdated barbaric laws and customs will be put into the trash can of history including the bible and it's teachings.

The Bible is the future. You will be ruled by its contents grin

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by mekonglobal(m): 9:08pm On Oct 08, 2016
Well thats a good one, i'm in support.

Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by Phi001(m): 9:08pm On Oct 08, 2016
No comment.....
Waitaminute....I've been thinking I'll inherit these houses when pops dies in the future....this girl berra behave oooo
Infact, my father should write will.....
Re: Supreme Court Upholds Right Of Female Child To Inherit Properties In Igboland by rileyy(m): 9:09pm On Oct 08, 2016
I rejoice with my northern brothers,my brothers from the east over to you

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (16) (Reply)

12 Mtr DEEP& 6Mtrs DEEP PILLING BY MOORE / My Portharcourt Eneka 6 Flats Project. / Kindly Help Me Critique This four Bedroom Bungalow Plan

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 40