Stats: 3,151,096 members, 7,811,073 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 10:38 PM

Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison (22077 Views)

Gabriel Suswam Laughing As DSS Releases Him From Prison (Photos) / Olusegun Obasanjo Shortly After His Release From Prison (throwback) / Military Did Not Release Awolowo/ dasuki/ooni-ife,why sonekan was removed (2) (3) (4)

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by Nobody: 8:07am On Dec 29, 2016
MayorofLagos:

So where did Ojukwu get his authority to release him on August 3rd?

Federal Prisons, at whatever time, is a Federal Institution under Interior Ministry and no regional governor, military or civilian had authority to release an inmate, particularly one in the calibre of Awo.

Now, Ojukwu loved the camera and the power of photo imagery and cinemas. Everywhere he went cameras followed him. An important event such as releasing Awo from prison is a political marker and Ojukwu could not have missed that. No one has presented any record evidence of Ojukwu releasing Awo. All we hear is hearsay through the village rumor mill.

Totally off point. I never set out to argue over who was responsible for Awo's release. That does not concern me. Go back and read my response again from the beginning all over

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by omonnakoda: 8:07am On Dec 29, 2016
GoroTango:
I will not be drawn into the larger part of your argument as to whether or not Ojukwu was responsible for Awo's release or not. That doesn't concern me in the very least. I clearly made mention of that when i first brought it to your attention. I've only pointed out to you that he had no power to do so but for a few days before August 3 1966
According to your argument's logic he never had the power AT ANY TIME

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by Nobody: 8:10am On Dec 29, 2016
omonnakoda:
According to your argument's logic he never had the power AT ANY TIME
Read the last sentence of what you just quoted and edit your response with an apology
Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by BabaRamota1980: 8:14am On Dec 29, 2016
omonnakoda:
The other claim I have to deal with here is this business of Ojukwu as governor being in control of the Eastern region and everything in it.That is rubbish. We know that several months after the coup there was negotiation for troops to return to their places of origin.Immediately after the coup Ojukwu did not feel safe until this happened

in fact he did not feel safe ever after Gowon took over. The reason for going to Aburi was because Ojukwu refused to go to Lagos or even Bini for SMC meeting, afraid he would be killed if he stepped outside East to meet the opposition anywhere. They proposed to come to East and meet with him he turned that down as well.

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by onyidon22(m): 8:14am On Dec 29, 2016

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by onyidon22(m): 8:17am On Dec 29, 2016

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by Develpeast: 8:24am On Dec 29, 2016
BabaRamota1980:

We had a minister of interior who was the overall custodian of prisons. He took orders from Gowon not Ojukwu.

Took orders from Gowon without the acknowledging the governor general of a particular region?

Have you held a post before which entails a little bit of politics?

Why will such a big thing happen in my region and I won't be a signatory to?

Go into governance and see what it takes.
Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by BabaRamota1980: 8:29am On Dec 29, 2016
Develpeast:

Took orders from Gowon without the acknowledging the governor general of a particular region?

Ogbeni yi, go and sit in one corner.

Wetin concern Governor-General for matter between Head of State and Governor?

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by omonnakoda: 8:32am On Dec 29, 2016
GoroTango:
Read the last sentence of what you just quoted and edit your response with an apology
Naff off!!
Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by omonnakoda: 8:38am On Dec 29, 2016
Develpeast:

Stop talking Nonsense! Ojukwu took over from Michael Okpara. What did Michael Okpara have to to with the running of federal prisons.
Those of us who are old enough to have lived through several coups in Nigeria know that in the immediate days after a coup every one is looking to Lagos.

Goowon took over August 1 and announced the release of Awolowo and he was released on 3 August. Absolutely nothing to do with Ojukwu.He was not in the loop. How could he be .? Why would he think of Awolowo at that time if he did why would he send him to Lagos ? He was a convict and so he would be going back straight to prison.
What did Ojukwu gain by releasing him if he had such power?

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by Nobody: 8:48am On Dec 29, 2016
omonnakoda:
Naff off!!
You lack the ability to argue without veering off point. Try and acquire it sometime.
Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by Develpeast: 8:48am On Dec 29, 2016
BabaRamota1980:

Ogbeni yi, go and sit in one corner.

Wetin concern Governor-General for matter between Head of State and Governor?

Man, you did not know what happened then, so I will permit you to focus on people who know less like you to give them points.

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by dudebuck: 10:04am On Dec 29, 2016
omonnakoda:
Stop talking Nonsense! Ojukwu took over from Michael Okpara. What did Michael Okpara have to to with the running of federal prisons.
Those of us who are old enough to have lived through several coups in Nigeria know that in the immediate days after a coup every one is looking to Lagos.

Goowon took over August 1 and announced the release of Awolowo and he was released on 3 August. Absolutely nothing to do with Ojukwu.He was not in the loop. How could he be .? Why would he think of Awolowo at that time if he did why would he send him to Lagos ? He was a convict and so he would be going back straight to prison.
What did Ojukwu gain by releasing him if he had such power?
Gown NEVER EVER ANNOUNCED THE RELEASE OF ANYBODY, history revisionists are worse than the devil himself, no wonder history is no longer taught in schools across the Zoo, where humans are locked up and animals roam freely

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by omonnakoda: 10:16am On Dec 29, 2016
dudebuck:
Gown NEVER EVER ANNOUNCED THE RELEASE OF ANYBODY, history revisionists are worse than the devil himself, no wonder history is no longer taught in schools across the Zoo, where humans are locked up and animals roam freely
Loud, unruly,ignorant and proud of it!

Awolowo's release was officially ordered and announced by

Government Notice No. 1207/1966 ordering the release of Awo on August 2, 1966.

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by BermudaTriangle(m): 10:50am On Dec 29, 2016
CandyDiamond:
You are on your own,[/b]even Gowon himself said that it was Ojukwu that release Owolowo from prison[b].It was on record, don't twist fact.

Fact - Lieing is an ingrained desease of Ibos.

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by omonnakoda: 10:55am On Dec 29, 2016
CandyDiamond:
You are on your own,[/b]even Gowon himself said that it was Ojukwu that release Owolowo from prison[b].It was on record, don't twist fact.
Gowon said that

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by BermudaTriangle(m): 11:09am On Dec 29, 2016
zendy:
If Awolowo was released on the 3rd of August 1966, it actually supports the belief that Awolowo was released by Ojukwu.

Even though Ironsi was overthrown on the 29th of July, no one was really incharge of Nigeria for the next few days.

The first time Nigerians knew that Gowon had taken over was when he made his first announcement on the 4th of August 1966. So there is no way Gowon could have released Awolowo. For Gowon to have released Awolowo, he would have been in a position of authority for much longer.

The only person in a position of authority to have released Awolowo on the 3rd of August was Ojukwu

your lie stinks to high heavens, the type peddled amongs liePods.
Ojukwu released Awolowo and yet he was taken straight from prison to Gowon in Dodan barracks but not to Ojukwu who was few miles away from the prison location
Again, if Gowon was not already in charge, why was Awolowo taken straight to him ?
The documents that released Awolowo, which he saw and signed before release carried federal government details and Awo extended his gratitude to Gowon on getting to the latter.
No amount of lie-peddling and twisted logic can change facts recorded.
You are free to peddle your lies at village meetings and yam festivals which are usually gatherings of the gullibles, but never with those who do not reason with their anus.
Inugo ?

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by pazienza(m): 11:26am On Dec 29, 2016
Another day, another Afonja trash.

How could Gowon order the release of a prisoner in the East when Gowon power was never recognized in the East until January 1970?
Why is common sense not common to Afonjas?

Gowon offered federal pardon to Awolowo, but that pardon will be useless, if Ojukwu decided to keep Awolowo prisoner, as Gowon won't have access to Awolowo until 1970, that is if Ojukwu wished to keep him alive until then, if not, Gowon and Afonjas will be getting Awolowo corpse in Jan 1970 when the war ended.

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by pazienza(m): 11:28am On Dec 29, 2016
SirJeffry:
Awolowo was released by Ojukwu but not freed. Eastern Region as at then wasn't taking orders from Lagos no more. Even after released, Awolowo was still a prisoner to the then Nigerian government.

Calabar Prisons being part of the then Biafra could not have held a prisoner sentenced by a Nigerian government. It wasn't only Awolowo that was released. Many were released and given the options of going back home and staying back of which many stayed.

I know a yoruba family in my town today that came to be thanks that arrangement.

This is a very rational post.

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by T9ksy(m): 11:40am On Dec 29, 2016
onyidon22:
Stop twisting facts guy.Ojukwu and other heads of regional governments were not paid by federal government because at that time Nigeria was practicing true federalism

Words fails me! True federalism as at August 1966? Geez! you guys are truly s/thing else.

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by BudeYahooCom: 11:54am On Dec 29, 2016
omonnakoda:

I wonder o

The Man was in office from January 17 and did not release him

Gowon came in on August 1 he was released on August 3 and we are to believe it was Ojukwu

These folk are truly shameless

Ask a yoruba man if Ojukwu ever recognized Gowon as leader, he'll say 'no.'

Ask him if Ojukwu took orders from 'Gowon', he'll still say 'no'.

Now ask him how then did Gowon release Awo in Ojukwu's territory according to yoruba folklore. He will scratch his head and call you an 'Ipob' in frustration. Mass delusion of the yoruba race is incurable. grin

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by omonnakoda: 12:08pm On Dec 29, 2016
BudeYahooCom:

Ask a yoruba man if Ojukwu ever recognized Gowon as leader, he'll say 'no.'

Ask him if Ojukwu took orders from 'Gowon', he'll still say 'no'.

Now ask him how then did Gowon release Awo in Ojukwu's territory according to yoruba folklore. He will scratch his head and call you an 'Ipob' in frustration. Mass delusion of the yoruba race is incurable. grin
How was it Ojukwu's territory? Awo was released within 2 days of Gowon coming to office.
Before you can talk of Ojukwu accepting or rejecting Gowon's authority first we must be clear when did Ojukwu first speak with Gowon after August 1. What we know to be facts are these
1. Gowon Took over 1 August
2. He signed Awo's release 2 August
3. Awo was released 3 August

So we are being told that somewhere between 2 and 3 August Ojukwu being set in his head that he did not accept Gowon's authority stlll released Awo and sent him off to Lagos to Gowon

That is FANTASY

Military Governors were not Brigade commanders or anything like that they were not even in the Barracks.

Ojukwu was in Government House Enugu. At the time of the Coup ,July 27 he was not in operational command of the soldiers in Enugu not to talk of Calabar before we start talking of the prison.
Nigeria was relatively backward then. No express roads ,the Airforce base in PH was the main airport.

This idea that Ojukwu as Governor of the East or the other Military governors were Military commanders of the regions is PURE FANTASY. The military chain of command did not work that way. That is like suggesting Brigade Commanders or GOCs took orders from governors.

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by obaloppelujo(m): 12:43pm On Dec 29, 2016
who's ojukwu ? ok , that man.
Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by BudeYahooCom: 1:22pm On Dec 29, 2016
omonnakoda:
How was it Ojukwu's territory? Awo was released within 2 days of Gowon coming to office.
Before you can talk of Ojukwu accepting or rejecting Gowon's authority first we must be clear when did Ojukwu first speak with Gowon after August 1. What we know to be facts are these

So we are being told that somewhere between 2 and 3 August Ojukwu being set in his head that he did not accept Gowon's authority stlll released Awo and sent him off to Lagos to Gowon

That is FANTASY

Military Governors were not Brigade commanders or anything like that they were not even in the Barracks.

Ojukwu was in Government House Enugu. At the time of the Coup ,July 27 he was not in operational command of the soldiers in Enugu not to talk of Calabar before we start talking of the prison.
Nigeria was relatively backward then. No express roads ,the Airforce base in PH was the main airport.

This idea that Ojukwu as Governor of the East or the other Military governors were Military commanders of the regions is PURE FANTASY. The military chain of command did not work that way. That is like suggesting Brigade Commanders or GOCs took orders from governors.

International Biafran war journalists and historians like Forsyth, Otannelli, Auberon Waugh had it on record that Emeka Ojukwu never recognised Gowon hausa government let alone taking orders from him but yoruba revisionists like you wants us ignore these facts from historian on ground and believe the make-me-happy folktales you tell yourselves while swallowing your amala. You are jokers in that part of country.

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by Develpeast: 1:25pm On Dec 29, 2016
omonnakoda:

That is FANTASY

Since you are throwing out conjectures here and there, let us follow logical lines and see where we will head to with this argument.

Do you accept the fact that Ojukwu did not recognise gowon as head of state?

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by dudebuck: 1:58pm On Dec 29, 2016
omonnakoda:

Loud, unruly,ignorant and proud of it!

Awolowo's release was officially ordered and announced by

Government Notice No. 1207/1966 ordering the release of Awo on August 2, 1966.
this is what is called revision of history to fit a particular propaganda. No such thing ever happened, ojukwu himself released that double faced man, not gown, nonsense, go and insult your father and mother not me.

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by dudebuck: 2:00pm On Dec 29, 2016
Develpeast:

Since you are throwing out conjectures here and there, let us follow logical lines and see where we will head to with this argument.

don't mind them, why is history removed from their school programs?

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by CltrAltDel: 2:02pm On Dec 29, 2016
dudebuck:
this is what is called revision of history to fit a particular propaganda. No such thing ever happened, ojukwu himself released that double faced man, not gown, nonsense, go and insult your father and mother not me.

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by CltrAltDel: 2:03pm On Dec 29, 2016
BudeYahooCom:

International Biafran war journalists and historians like Forsyth, Otannelli, Auberon Waugh had it on record that Emeka Ojukwu never recognised Gowon hausa government let alone taking orders from him but yoruba revisionists like you wants us ignore these facts from historian on ground and believe the make-me-happy folktales you tell yourselves while swallowing your amala. You are jokers in that part of country.

“’It was my fortune and I thank God that it was me that had the opportunity to release Papa from prison from Calabar to Lagos and certainly to be able to help us have peace in the West at that time and then we came,” Mr. Gowon recalled.
http://www.premiumtimesng.com/news/top-news/191679-why-i-released-awolowo-from-prison-gowon.html

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by Nobody: 2:04pm On Dec 29, 2016
T9ksy:

The mere fact that Awo was jailed for federal felon in calabar prison, part of nigeria as at the time, the case was adjudicated. Ojukwu as a regional administrator was still under the payment of the national govt (including the prison governor in calabar).

Logic demands that Awo would have been re-arrested the moment he stepped foot in yorubaland and sent back to prison unless of course, he Awo, had already been pardoned by the national govt which gowon then represents.

You are teaching logic to people who tried to fight armored tanks with cudgels.

Re: Did Ojukwu Release Awolowo From Prison by omonnakoda: 2:07pm On Dec 29, 2016
Develpeast:

That is not relevant. Was Ojukwu the comptroller of prisons?
Was he the Head of the Army in Enugu ?

No he was not.
Between July 29 And August 1 when Gowon made his announcements and there were killings in Ibadan ,,Abeokuta and so on.Who was in charge of the Military in Enugu and what did they do
The commander of the Enugu based 1st battalion, Lt-Col David Ogunewe. On learning of the mass murder taking place in other military formations in the country, Lt-Col Ogunewe locked his battalion’s armoury and placed it under the joint guard of northern and southern officers. He also encouraged northern and southern soldiers to live together in the mess and grounds of the battalion

Ojukwu was not at that time in control of Enugu .To pretend he had any say over prisons in Calabar is a perverse joke.
Shehu Musa Yar'adua was adjutant in Enugu and his role allegedly was to kill Ojukwu. Eventually Ojukwu negotiated repatriation of Northern Soldiers but he was most likely in hiding by the time Awolowo was released

Hisbah Police Destroy 3600 Bottles Of Beer (Photo, Video) / Adesina: If Buhari’s Military Regime Had Lasted, Nigeria Would've Been Better / Coronavirus: Senate Suspends Public Hearing, Closes Gallery

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 84