Stats: 3,151,625 members, 7,813,054 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 05:49 AM

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 - Travel (326) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 (694633 Views)

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (323) (324) (325) (326) (327) (328) (329) ... (409) (Go Down)

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Nobody: 10:48pm On Jun 14, 2017
LagosismyHome:

You do have a good profile but u can never predict how admission season will go because it can vary from one session to the next ...i would add one more less competitive school if u are chasing full funding because admission plus funding for MIT is not beans ooo.....i cant recommended a less competitive because i am not in the engineering field

thank you bro.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by happyday: 10:50pm On Jun 14, 2017
Tella26:
hello house. i have been following this trend for weeks now and am happy i am able to see this earlier.

i am a recent graduates from OAU (finish April 2017). I have l questions to ask the house and i will appreciate the response. i searched for similar que from past post but i cudnt get good response.
firstly, i was initially thinking of not doing NYSC before which is scheduled to be November this year before applying to schools which is fall 2017. but i was convinced by my parents. the issue now is that, fall 2018 is by august/sept which is my next target but since am going to start NYSC Nov 2017 then i will be done by oct/nov which is after august. so please house what should i do? should i be looking to spring 2019? or i should still stick to fall 2018? if i will choose spring 2019 what is my chance of selection. thanks.

also, what is the recommended time that is appropriate for some one to have atleast send all documents to the preferred schools if looking fall 2018? is it atleast by Dec,Jan,Feb ?

Whatever you choose to do, here's a rule of thumb. If you want to enroll in Fall (August), 2018, plan to submit all your applications by December, 2017. That is, eight months before coming in. I hope that helps.

Also, I advice you don't rush it. Plan to serve.

Only make sure your transcripts will be out when you need them.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by LagosismyHome(f): 10:50pm On Jun 14, 2017
ABOLORUNKING:

thank you bro.

I am a female ooo cool
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Chapecoense(m): 10:52pm On Jun 14, 2017
neurosci:

Oops, I'm sorry. I now totally understand you. Nursing is your backup plan, in case you don't go to med school.
Hey good evening.. How you holding up bro?
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by OluDare01(m): 10:54pm On Jun 14, 2017
I hope you are applying for a PhD? Like madam Lagosismyhome has said, add 2 safe schools and you're good to go. I'd say you can take a look at University of Tennessee Knoxville (UTK)
ABOLORUNKING:
please can you take a look at my profile
B.Eng Mechanical Engineering uniben
CGPA 4.84/5 All time best graduating
I have good extra curricula and I have done some community services too
GRE (I will be writing GRE in Aug) Dont wanna sound too optimistic, however am sure I van get a score above 325+ dint of my preparation.
schools
MIT
Purdue
Texas A and M
Montana state
I need full funding, or schools that can give me GA/RA/TA to cover for my tuition and stipends.am looking at Fall semester 2018
I need advice..
thanks

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by LagosismyHome(f): 10:58pm On Jun 14, 2017
OluDare01:
I hope you are applying for a PhD? Like madam Lagosismyhome has said, add 2 safe schools and you're good to go. I'd say you can take a look at University of Tennessee Knoxville (UTK)
At my young age you are calling me madam... ..lol

I guess human beans and rice never satisfied. If u call Bros problem, If u call madam wahala grin
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Odunayo007(f): 11:03pm On Jun 14, 2017
LagosismyHome:

Hummmm actually a good point

I sent u a PM
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Nobody: 11:04pm On Jun 14, 2017
[quote author=OluDare01 post=57525557]I hope you are applying for a PhD? Like madam Lagosismyhome has said, add 2 safe schools and you're good to go. I'd say you can take a look at University of Tennessee Knoxville (UTK)[/quote
Thank You.
will schools like UTK, Texas A and M or Montana state give me PhD admission without research experience.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Nobody: 11:04pm On Jun 14, 2017
Teedawg:

just because someone did it does not mean it is wise am not saying he's not wise either.. for example as he applied the 16 schools now and left for the other what did he gain ?
if he had applied 2 - 5 schools now and then left for Yale or Harvard or wherever doesn't that makes more sense ?
you accentuate on personal preference yes I know its my choice, how many people actually do that... all the people saying apply to as many as you want how many them apply ? they know why they didn't thou the reason does not work for all but it works for most.
its not wrong to apply to a million schools but does it make sense ? to me
NO.
No matter what the reasons are even if your village people they work for all the schools it doesn't justify it...

Visit any India MS in US forum and see the number of schools they apply to. An average Indian apply to over 10 schools. They give themselves more choices, more opportunities and even take more risks. The guy with 16 admission applications did that because he has an average profile and decided to aim for some ambitious Ivy League schools. His luck shined and he got Harvard surprisingly. If he had applied to just 2 or 5 schools, he wouldn't have added Harvard there and he would have missed the opportunity.

Im not saying the Indians do it better than us, but they all have their reasons for doing that. If someone applies to 30 schools, you may not know why the person is doing that. Maybe he/she has an average profile but still trying some ambitious schools. There are a million and one more reasons.

Bottom line is "try to respect the decisions of people". Even in reality it is safer to apply to more schools because it creates more options for funding.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by happyday: 11:04pm On Jun 14, 2017
ABOLORUNKING:
please can you take a look at my profile
B.Eng Mechanical Engineering uniben
CGPA 4.84/5 All time best graduating
I have good extra curricula and I have done some community services too
GRE (I will be writing GRE in Aug) Dont wanna sound too optimistic, however am sure I van get a score above 325+ dint of my preparation.
schools
MIT
Purdue
Texas A and M
Montana state
I need full funding, or schools that can give me GA/RA/TA to cover for my tuition and stipends.am looking at Fall semester 2018
I need advice..
thanks

Congrats! Well done!! Your profile is super strong, that funding should be the least of your worries. Apply to all 4 schools. BUT Understand that MIT (and any top 10 program) is a reach school for you. In other words, you'll be lucky to get in. But apply still. For STEM grad schools, extracurriculars, community service don't count. Research experience, undergrad GPA, scores (not grades) in specific advanced Mech E courses, GRE score, strength of your LORs, and SoP (in that order) are the key metrics you really need to nail, in your case.

It's fine if your research experience is sub par, which means you'll need to double down on the others.

FYI, MIT Mech Eng doesn't allow straight PhD. You'll need to get in for MS first, do well, pass your qualifying exams, then proceed on to a PhD).

For more info, read this: http://alawode.scripts.mit.edu/me/?p=24

All the best!

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Nobody: 11:05pm On Jun 14, 2017
OluDare01:

Thank You.will schools like UTK, Texas A and M or Montana state give me PhD admission without research experience.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Nobody: 11:07pm On Jun 14, 2017
grin u done hear am for thread ooo
LagosismyHome:

I am a female ooo cool
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by nestkojex(m): 11:10pm On Jun 14, 2017
tomisinobm:

lol, last time i checked, you dont pay sevis through the bank, and charges are 10 bucks.
How do you pay WU quickpay? You Can pay over the bank counter in the USA just like you go to Nigerian banks here and you see WU section. Stop acting ignorant and cynical
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by nestkojex(m): 11:11pm On Jun 14, 2017
Joan011:
which one of them
Loyola university
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Nobody: 11:16pm On Jun 14, 2017
happyday:

Congrats! Well done!! Your profile is super strong, that funding should be the least of your worries. Apply to all 4 schools. BUT Understand that MIT (and any top 10 program) is a reach school for you. In other words, you'll be lucky to get in. But apply still. For STEM grad schools, extracurriculars, community service don't count. Research experience, undergrad GPA, scores (not grades) in specific advanced Mech E courses, GRE score, strength of your LORs, and SoP (in that order) are the key metrics you really need to nail, in your case.

It's fine if your research experience is sub par, which means you'll need to double down on the others.

FYI, MIT Mech Eng doesn't allow straight PhD. You'll need to get in for MS first, do well, pass your qualifying exams, then proceed on to a PhD).

All the best!

wow thank you very much.
I kinda know about getting an SM first before PhD I.e for MIT.
I assisted my project supervisor immediately after I graduated for 7 Months. During which time I assisted in grading exam scripts, mentoring undergraduate students vetting their projects, prepared a solar manual for training technicians on solar power installations. Also assisted by juxtaposing various journal and presenting their nuances in the most succinct way for a postgraduate project: design and fabrication of an indirect solar cooker. but the issue i can't get any of them published (you understand na, its not really my work na Oga own). will all this qualify for research experience without publications?
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by happyday: 11:20pm On Jun 14, 2017
ABOLORUNKING:

but the issue i can't get any of them published (you understand na, its not really my work na Oga own). will all this qualify for research experience without publications?

Yes, that's research experience. But, you need to amplify what you did. What exactly was your role, in each of those? For those ones you can't define your specific role, I won't advise you talk much about it. Find a good SoP sample and grad school CV online to see how you can develop your unique story.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Nobody: 11:21pm On Jun 14, 2017
happyday:

For more info, read this: http://alawode.scripts.mit.edu/me/?p=24

All the best!

Tunde Alawode (The bridge initiatives) na my mentor be that ooo... he is part of my connection on LinkedIn, I want to write my GRE before I seek advise from him.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by LagosismyHome(f): 11:21pm On Jun 14, 2017
Odunayo007:

I sent u a PM

I am very bad with pm.....fear dey catch me to check that email self . The pm is too much

When people see u comment here they forget u too get life outside NL.... demanding job , pickins, hubby, house to run... so sorry if i dont get to pm on time. Will try
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Nobody: 11:24pm On Jun 14, 2017
LagosismyHome:

I am a female ooo cool

oh! please sorry for my misdemeanor
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Nobody: 11:26pm On Jun 14, 2017
URGENT

My school wants to send my i20 and for them to my i20; they need Affidavit of support/Scholarship letter. Now they sent the Affidavit form for my sponsor to fill, in the form there a place they said "The University requires that this document be notarized (Affidavit form). Faxes of this document will be accepted."

Please, I need help how do I go about this Affidavit of support, I was hoping they will request bank statement, but they didn't, they asked for the affidavit of support.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Odunayo007(f): 11:33pm On Jun 14, 2017
LagosismyHome:

I am very bad with pm.....fear dey catch me to check that email self . The pm is too much

When people see u comment here they forget u too get life outside NL.... demanding job , pickins, hubby, house to run... so sorry if i dont get to pm on time. Will try but i am best reached here

I understand ma
My interview is scheduled for Monday by 6:30am at Walter Carrington. My brother just sent me his acc statement today (I have the scanned copy), he is in the UK. Is it possible for the document to get here by Friday and(DHL) if it doesn't, can I still go for my interview?
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by LagosismyHome(f): 11:37pm On Jun 14, 2017
Odunayo007:

I understand ma
My interview is scheduled for Monday by 6:30am at Walter Carrington. My brother just sent me his acc statement today (I have the scanned copy), he is in the UK. Is it possible for the document to get here by Friday and(DHL) if it doesn't, can I still go for my interview?

I replied your pm..... with uk bank statement. A scanned clear pdf if u print no difference with original...shebi all na A4 PAPER. ...So if it doesn't come I would print the scan copy and take with me

For dhl cant answer that....Dont know when it was sent but dhl has tracking online ...yes na why wont u go for interview. Not everyone is asked to.show bank statements.... study past transcript oo
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by unalaoted: 11:40pm On Jun 14, 2017
Woke up like 2am in anticipation... Couldn't sleep bk but then started praying and all. Fast forward to the embassy, @4:40am thinking I wd be d first person at the Con, nahhh, Na me carry fourth. Paid 500naira for parking .Chai aboki.. My phones , wrist watch, belt all left in the car but jst my car key with me(Yes u can take that in). Did the finger printing and the serenen.. Wuala fourth on the queue (two F-1 and B1).
I was called to the line of the interview.. 1st denied 2nd D 3rd I think the B1 guy got it(old rich man) jst before my turn, two stations were opened and behold "blue paper" tsunami.. Rembr I was fought on d queue.. Getting to my turn, an old woman was brought to my station(approved), stepping forward again, then from the back I heard Ohhh am sorry allow this oda woman, bt dnt worry stay Here (Two old women dat brought my approval) ( THIS IS GOD'S FAVOR).. Then the show begins

VO- So! Good Morning.
ME- Good morning and how are you
VO- Fine thanks.
VO- Pass your passport and i-20
ME- ok
VO- How did you come about CSUN
ME- I made an extensive Research online using us news.com and princeton review on schools that offers masters in Environmental and occupational health but most importantly with industrial hygiene as a minor, because not all schools that offers such unique combination
VO- Why did you choose this school?
me- I choose CSUN(please do not abrvt ooo) because it offers a research based EOH but most importantly the minor in industrial Hygiene. Also have been in constant contact with Prof **** who is the HOD And was involved in my application process
VO- How many Sch dd u apply to?
ME- Three.
VO- Name
ME- university of Austin Texas and Uni of Akensas
V0- when did you grad.
ME- 2012
V0- what course
ME- gaowgeuebstsjsksv
V0- any standardized Test
ME- yes, I wrote Toefl
VO- what about GRE or Gmat
ME: No, because I had a good CGPA (4.07) so it was waived for me.
VO: who is paying for ur education in the USA
ME: my Brother
VO: what does he do
ME: he own a bleep company, blah blah blah blah...
VO: I will be approving your vi**** Na the thin wey I hear be that oooo...

No single documents.. Rembr Wetin I no carry go that place .

All thanks to God the most gracious the most merciful.. Special thanks to Texrem and tunnyz for that mock interview .. My Frds, brother, mother and bey bey loo (and so on)

What worked for me.. I was confident, perfect eye contact, I was audible enough like talk even make everybody hear you oooo. And above all.. God

NB.. NO MIND MY TYPO OR GRAMA...

18 Likes 3 Shares

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Nobody: 11:41pm On Jun 14, 2017
cc:

LagosismyHome
texrem
electronic
anodebeanthony:
URGENT

My school wants to send my i20 and for them to my i20; they need Affidavit of support/Scholarship letter. Now they sent the Affidavit form for my sponsor to fill, in the form there a place they said "The University requires that this document be notarized (Affidavit form). Faxes of this document will be accepted."

Please, I need help how do I go about this Affidavit of support, I was hoping they will request bank statement, but they didn't, they asked for the affidavit of support.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Nobody: 11:44pm On Jun 14, 2017
Congrats
unalaoted:
Woke up like 2am in anticipation... Couldn't sleep bk but then started praying and all. Fast forward to the embassy, @4:40am thinking I wd be d first person at the Con, nahhh, Na me carry fourth. Paid 500naira for parking .Chai aboki.. My phones , wrist watch, belt all left in the car but jst my car key with me(Yes u can take that in). Did the finger printing and the serenen.. Wuala fourth on the queue (two F-1 and B1).
I was called to the line of the interview.. 1st denied 2nd D 3rd I think the B1 guy got it(old rich man) jst before my turn, two stations were opened and behold "blue paper" tsunami.. Rembr I was fought on d queue.. Getting to my turn, an old woman was brought to my station(approved), stepping forward again, then from the back I heard Ohhh am sorry allow this oda woman, bt dnt worry stay Here (Two old women dat brought my approval) ( THIS IS GOD'S FAVOR).. Then the show begins

VO- So! Good Morning.
VO- Fine thanks.
ME- ok
ME- I made an extensive Research online using us news.com and princeton review on schools that offers masters in Environmental and occupational health but most importantly with industrial hygiene as a minor, because not all schools that offers such unique combination
me- I choose CSUN(please do not abrvt ooo) because it offers a research based EOH but most importantly the minor in industrial Hygiene. Also have been in constant contact with Prof **** who is the HOD And was involved in my application process
ME- Three.
VO- Name
V0- when did you grad.
ME- 2012
V0- what cause
ME- gaowgeuebstsjsksv
ME- yes, I wrote Toefl

All thanks to God the most gracious the most merciful.. Special thanks to Texrem and tunnyz for that mock interview .. My Frds, brother, mother and bey bey loo (and so on)

What worked for me.. I was confident, perfect eye contact, I was audible enough like talk even make everybody hear you oooo. And above all.. God

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by timmb(m): 11:46pm On Jun 14, 2017
Teedawg:
shikenan @ timmb work on these...can you identify the major you were going for , did you do nysc, ? pm me

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by texrem(m): 11:47pm On Jun 14, 2017
unalaoted:

VO- So! Good Morning.
VO- Fine thanks.
ME- ok
ME- Three.
VO- Name
V0- when did you grad.
ME- 2012
V0- what course
ME- gaowgeuebstsjsksv
ME- yes, I wrote Toefl

Congrats
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by OluDare01(m): 11:51pm On Jun 14, 2017
ABOLORUNKING:

Thank You.will schools like UTK, Texas A and M or Montana state give me PhD admission without research experience.
You did undergrad project right? That's a lot of research experience. You also went on internship,all those add to your experience.
I see happyday has done justice to this.
University of Illinois Urbana Champagne is also a good school
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by OluDare01(m): 11:58pm On Jun 14, 2017
anodebeanthony:
URGENT

Most schools have the form on their website. Check with your school. If they don't have,just Google samples of affidavit of support for college admission,don't underestimate the power of the internet
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by LagosismyHome(f): 12:03am On Jun 15, 2017
unalaoted:
W
V0- when did you grad.
ME- 2012
V0- what course
ME- gaowgeuebstsjsksv

Abeg what is the bold above .. which kind course lol

Congrats God bless your new journey

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by Nobody: 12:10am On Jun 15, 2017
They have it, like I said they sent the form to me. In the affidavit, there is a place they wrote "The University requires that this document be notarized (Affidavit form). Faxes of this document will be accepted." That's where am confused. And again after my sponsor fil and sign the form will I take it court or what? I need more clarification on how to go about form.
OluDare01:

Most schools have the form on their website. Check with your school. If they don't have,just Google samples of affidavit of support for college admission,don't underestimate the power of the internet
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by LagosismyHome(f): 12:15am On Jun 15, 2017
anodebeanthony:
They have it, like I said they sent the form to me. In the affidavit, there is a place they wrote "The University requires that this document be notarized (Affidavit form). Faxes of this document will be accepted." That's where am confused. And again after my sponsor fil and sign the form will I take it court or what? I need more clarification on how to go about form.

In Nigeria a notarized document would have to be signed and taken to a court.... so yes but if i were u, i would call the school and speak to someone or email to clarify that it should be notarized by the court ? So u are absolutely sure before u spend like 500k to 1k to get it done. Should not cost more than that

(1) (2) (3) ... (323) (324) (325) (326) (327) (328) (329) ... (409)

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 / GENERAL Irish (student)visa & Work Permit-New THREAD***

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 86