Stats: 3,149,696 members, 7,805,858 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 at 07:28 AM

The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? - Religion (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? (22922 Views)

Russia Never Banned The Seventh -day Adventist Church / Russia Considers A Ban On Adventist Church As Over 12Million Sign Petition / What Is Your View About The SEVENTH-DAY ADVENTIST CHURCH? (2) (3) (4)

Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by PoisonedOne: 11:25am On Jan 01, 2018
ppness:

but indeed end time is near mind you we are at the last stage of Nebuchadnezzar's dream is golden image concerning the rulership of this world. Jerusalem is now the capital city of Isreal. That means alot Luke 21:20 And when ye shall see Jerusalem compassed with armies, then know that the desolation thereof is nigh.
hmm. So you believe the world will end with something like fire and brimstone falling from heaven? angry. Anyway, I don't know and no one knows how these things will happen . Are you a member?
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by Julivas(m): 12:34pm On Jan 01, 2018
MsNgo40:

Brother/sister,
It appears as if you have had a bad experience with an Adventist and for that (if that was the case), my apologies to you.
But it's very unfair to paint the denomination with one long broad stroke.
I think you should look at it this way:
Ideally, God would have a couple to be on one accord in certain areas...cause that makes for a peaceful home...without any opposing or destructive forces that need not exist.
Where husband, wife and children agree on certain core issues. Basically being equally-yoked...about the foundational issues.
It is no different than a Pentacostals wanting to marry Pentacostals or Catholics wanting to marry Catholics or Baptists wanting to marry Baptists.
There are some popular churches named here on this website who ideally want their members to marry within their denomination. But I don't think it's about exclusion of other people....
We could look at Religions and look at how majority Muslims would only want to marry a Muslim...or Christian a Christian.
It isn't about "discriminating or frowning on another group of people".
It's about having common ideologies and beliefs. Those beliefs are Biblically-based as well.
However, the Seventh-day Adventist Church has about 50 percent of its members who either:
1). Eat (clean) meat or Don't eat meat at all
2). Wear jewelry and make-up or Don't wear jewelry or make-up
3). Wear pants or Don't wear pants
4). Live in the country or live in the city
5). Some celebrate the holidays and some don't

I could name more...and ideally it would be nice to have the whole denomination be on one accord about things...but human beings always have a CHOICE about things. It can work or it can not work...but people have the choice on what they would like to do.
Many members marry other denominations (and then the spouse converts...or does not convert)....(not sure about the stats on the success rate though). But these situations happen.
Ultimately, it comes down to a personal decision...which the two involved have to deal with.
Have a Happy New Year!

Brilliant submissions indeed. Keep soaring high in the word of God.

Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by gentlezypher: 2:48pm On Jan 01, 2018
vooks:
They worship a female pope Ellen White who is believed to be an infallible interpreter of NT and OT.
ellen G white was not and is not a pope,and we dont worship her, we only acknowledge her works as it is inspired by the holy spirit
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by gentlezypher: 2:52pm On Jan 01, 2018
booqee:
U want people to start bashing them for no reason Abi?

Anyway, the only different thing with them is that they observe Sabbath on Saturday..and I think they are vegetarians. Nothing else seems out of place in comparison with other churches
vegetarianism is just an option,no one is forced to be one

Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by gentlezypher: 2:54pm On Jan 01, 2018
wisenewgem:

You mean ASTEC? Did you attend ASTEC?
Astec 10' You?
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by gentlezypher: 2:57pm On Jan 01, 2018
Hector09:
I ve stay with them, they are stil my best frnds till date, they dont eat star maggi, cray fish,cat fish and some of fish that i can name, they ve a very nice voice, and they are very kind, the dont work on saturday, they onbserve the sabbath till it 5 o clock in the evening
nice
We dönt eat anyfish that have no scale and fin nor eat any animal that have no divided hoove and chews no cud
Lev 11:35

Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by gentlezypher: 3:00pm On Jan 01, 2018
correctguy101:

Ain't they the same people who make use of Mormon Bible by an Adams Smith? or am I mixing things up?

I already made contact with them to attend their meetings. If I'm not mistaken, they have strong similarities with Jehovah's witnesses.

I need to visit them and this amorc and Eck people. I want to associate with them all. If there's an Hindu temple in Nigeria, I would go there too. Already visited a friend who's an Oluwò of Yoruba traditional beliefs, but he never allowed me enter or see his stronghold.

we make use of bible and bible alone, you are free to visit any of the branches worldwide! You are welcome
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by gentlezypher: 3:04pm On Jan 01, 2018
Md4great:
They don't believe in holy spirit and speaking in Togues

They don't study scriptures most especially the Acts of Apostle and other book written by Apostle Paul..

They enjoy reading book of Revelation , and part of Daniel vision...
wrong,
We believe in the Holy Spirit and study ever verse of the bible
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by gentlezypher: 3:07pm On Jan 01, 2018
bastien:
it is not called Jesus, it's called Yahshua

There is no J or G in the Hebrew word

Yahweh is the father and Yahshua the son!
He is called Jesus Christ in Seventh-Day Adventist Church
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by gentlezypher: 3:16pm On Jan 01, 2018
turhibdwhale:
Pls why is their doctrine entirely different from other churches, they don't celebrate xams,easther and new year,they worship on Saturday.Is their bible different?
And what's the evidence that Saturday is Sabbath day and if yes,why do other churches choose to worship on Sunday?
exodus 20:8
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by gentlezypher: 3:20pm On Jan 01, 2018
cowleg:

We believe in both OT and NT.

But seven day adventist believe only in NT. That's my assumption. Are you an adventist, you can enlighten me better.
we believe in OT and NT
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by Nobody: 5:02pm On Jan 01, 2018
Julivas:

Brilliant submissions indeed. Keep soaring high in the word of God.

Thank the Lord... and u sir for the encouragement...will continue striving.

Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by Nobody: 5:06pm On Jan 01, 2018
Donmatin,
Happy New Year to u too!
Be blessed....

Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by bastien: 7:49am On Jan 02, 2018
gentlezypher:
He is called Jesus Christ in Seventh-Day Adventist Church
I don't attend Adventists, it's called Yahshua in my church
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by godisgood200: 8:38am On Jan 02, 2018
ritanduka:
I also noted dey don't cook with crayfish and dont eat cat fish........have a coz dat married one and when i visited no sight of crayfish in the house but her huby loves ofe akwu(banga stew). now tell me how wil i cook ofe akwu the anambra way with out crayfish and surprisely he ate and lick plate cheesy cheesy
In other words, you used Crayfish to cook?
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by godisgood200: 8:52am On Jan 02, 2018
correctguy101:

Ain't they the same people who make use of Mormon Bible by an Adams Smith? or am I mixing things up?

I already made contact with them to attend their meetings. If I'm not mistaken, they have strong similarities with Jehovah's witnesses.

I need to visit them and this amorc and Eck people. I want to associate with them all. If there's an Hindu temple in Nigeria, I would go there too. Already visited a friend who's an Oluwò of Yoruba traditional beliefs, but he never allowed me enter or see his stronghold.

No sir. Dat na LDS. "Church of Jesus Christ of the Later Day Saints."
LDS don't worship on sartuday (maybe wrong tho). And their leader is Joseph Smith, not Adam Smith.
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by gentlezypher: 8:56am On Jan 02, 2018
bastien:
I don't attend Adventists, it's called Yahshua in my church
okk
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by godisgood200: 9:14am On Jan 02, 2018
Md4great:

They don't study scriptures most especially the Acts of Apostle and other book written by Apostle Paul..

Are you sure about this? No, i doubt this.

DoctorAlien, biko bìà ēbá Someone is saying something strange. Is it true you guys don't believe in the Holy Ghost and shuns Apostle Paul's teachings?
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by godisgood200: 9:20am On Jan 02, 2018
MsNgo40:

Absolutely!
Are you an Adventist?
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by godisgood200: 9:26am On Jan 02, 2018
MsNgo40:

Brother/sister,
It appears as if you have had a bad experience with an Adventist and for that (if that was the case), my apologies to you.
But it's very unfair to paint the denomination with one long broad stroke.
I think you should look at it this way:
Ideally, God would have a couple to be on one accord in certain areas...cause that makes for a peaceful home...without any opposing or destructive forces that need not exist.
Where husband, wife and children agree on certain core issues. Basically being equally-yoked...about the foundational issues.
It is no different than a Pentacostals wanting to marry Pentacostals or Catholics wanting to marry Catholics or Baptists wanting to marry Baptists.
There are some popular churches named here on this website who ideally want their members to marry within their denomination. But I don't think it's about exclusion of other people....
We could look at Religions and look at how majority Muslims would only want to marry a Muslim...or Christian a Christian.
It isn't about "discriminating or frowning on another group of people".
It's about having common ideologies and beliefs. Those beliefs are Biblically-based as well.
However, the Seventh-day Adventist Church has about 50 percent of its members who either:
1). Eat (clean) meat or Don't eat meat at all
2). Wear jewelry and make-up or Don't wear jewelry or make-up
3). Wear pants or Don't wear pants
4). Live in the country or live in the city
5). Some celebrate the holidays and some don't

I could name more...and ideally it would be nice to have the whole denomination be on one accord about things...but human beings always have a CHOICE about things. It can work or it can not work...but people have the choice on what they would like to do.
Many members marry other denominations (and then the spouse converts...or does not convert)....(not sure about the stats on the success rate though). But these situations happen.
Ultimately, it comes down to a personal decision...which the two involved have to deal with.
Have a Happy New Year!
Convert? Convert to Church or to Christ? because am converted to Christ if i marry an adventist, what will i be converting to again? Or, maybe yoy mean begin worshipping with them?
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by godisgood200: 9:40am On Jan 02, 2018
PoisonedOne:
hmm. So you believe the world will end with something like fire and brimstone falling from heaven? angry. Anyway, I don't know and no one knows how these things will happen . Are you a member?
Does that mean you don't believe What YHWH said in His Word the Bible? because it's all written there?

The Bible said, Jesus will be born by a virgin, He was born by a Virgin.

The Bible said, He will be killed, by being betrayed and sold for 30 pieces of Silver, it was so. The Bible said after three days He will resurrected, He resurrected.

Now the Bible said, Jesus will return, you doubt it?

Bros, Jesus will return. Just as many of the Jews, especially the elit forgot about it, so also the elit of the world now will forget and doubt his coming, but He will Come back.

When He came back, it was Poor Shepherds that Angels announced his birth to, so also it shall be. His coming shall be unexpecred. The rich and famous, the elit who believe they are too enlightened to believe such nonsesen shall be confused and bewildered.

It will be very unfortunate to just sit and resign yourself to 'No one knows how these things will happen'. We know how these things will happen, for we have the manual where all these things are written.
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by Reader1988: 10:00am On Jan 02, 2018
gentlezypher:
exodus 20:8
.Jews worship on Saturday while Christians on Sunday. Sunday is more important to Christians because Jesus Christ resurrected on Sunday. Even in the Bible, Synagogues worship is Saturday while Church activities like Sunday collection, Holy communion, etc is one Sunday, 1cor 16:1-3, Acts 20:7, etc. Even today in Corinth, Ephesus, Jerusalem, etc, Christians worship on Sunday. Just like in Islam, some groups dont believe in Hadith, Tariq and Fiqh, All Christians believe in 66 books of the Bible, even the adventist
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by Reader1988: 10:03am On Jan 02, 2018
godisgood200:
Do you an Adventist?
See grammar.
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by gentlezypher: 10:37am On Jan 02, 2018
Reader1988:
.Jews worship on Saturday while Christians on Sunday. Sunday is more important to Christians because Jesus Christ resurrected on Sunday. Even in the Bible, Synagogues worship is Saturday while Church activities like Sunday collection, Holy communion, etc is one Sunday, 1cor 16:1-3, Acts 20:7, etc. Even today in Corinth, Ephesus, Jerusalem, etc, Christians worship on Sunday. Just like in Islam, some groups dont believe in Hadith, Tariq and Fiqh, All Christians believe in 66 books of the Bible, even the adventist
give me a bible reference where the change was effected
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by godisgood200: 11:29am On Jan 02, 2018
Reader1988:

See grammar.
lolzzzz, i wanted to type, "Do you worship there" but instead i decided to type, "Are you an Adventist?". It came out so badly.
Am sorry about this. Pls delete your post as i correct myself. Thanks for being so kind as to point it out.
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by Reader1988: 11:33am On Jan 02, 2018
gentlezypher:
give me a bible reference where the change was effected
I have stated few verses above. There is difference between Church and synagogue. Synagogue is for Jews. Jesus Christ is more than the death. Hebrew 4 says Sabbath is a shadow while Christ is real. Do u believe Jesus Christ is greater than Sabbath?
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by gentlezypher: 11:46am On Jan 02, 2018
Reader1988:

I have stated few verses above. There is difference between Church and synagogue. Synagogue is for Jews. Jesus Christ is more than the death. Hebrew 4 says Sabbath is a shadow while Christ is real. Do u believe Jesus Christ is greater than Sabbath?
sorry sir, i only asked for a passage where the sabbath was changed to sunday.
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by Reader1988: 12:35pm On Jan 02, 2018
gentlezypher:
sorry sir, i only asked for a passage where the sabbath was changed to sunday.
The word Sabbath simply means 7th day. Sabbath for Christians was changed to Sunday after Peter preached, People converted to Christianity and receive the baptism of holyghost. Even in the Bible Jews religion worship on Saturday. Christians are not Jews. Read Acts chapter1 to last chapter
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by gentlezypher: 1:11pm On Jan 02, 2018
Reader1988:

The word Sabbath simply means 7th day. Sabbath for Christians was changed to Sunday after Peter preached, People converted to Christianity and receive the baptism of holyghost. Even in the Bible Jews religion worship on Saturday. Christians are not Jews. Read Acts chapter1 to last chapter
and where in the bible were we instructed to change that practice that began in eden (gen 2:2),and where did the bible say that sabbath is for the jews or perhaps is the bible a jewish book,written for the jews?
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by DoctorAlien(m): 1:41pm On Jan 02, 2018
Md4great:

Dear sir/ma, we the Seventh-Day Adventists certainly believe in the Holy Spirit of God, "whereby we are sealed unto the day of redemption." (Eph. 4:30). This same Holy Spirit is the promised Comforter, which Jesus sent to us to comfort us, teach us all things, lead us into all truth, and bring to our remembrance all that the Word of has taught us.

We certainly believe in speaking in tongues, as it happened in Acts 2, where the early Christians, under the power of the Holy Spirit, miraculously spoke intelligible tongues that could be interpreted. We believe however that the majority of views on speaking in tongues and its purpose today is wrong.

We certainly study the Scriptures, and do not in any way neglect the Acts of the Apostles or the Pauline epistles.

Yes. We certainly love studying prophecy. That has been the duty of all the children of God, from Adam until now. "The secret things belong unto the LORD our God: but those things which are revealed belong unto us and to our children for ever, that we may do all the words of this law." (Deut. 29:29). It may interest you to know that Jesus Christ Himself, speaking about the end times, directed us to go and study the book of Daniel(Matt. 24:15). The book certainly means a lot to us, as we wait for the second coming of Christ. We study it together with the book of Revelations, because the two books are connected. In the book of Revelations, the Great Controversy between good and evil sees the dragon wroth with the true church of God, and going to make war with her remnant. This remnant of the true church of God is described as keeping the commandments of God, and having the testimony of Jesus Christ(Rev. 12:17). I guess you know that we Seventh-Day Adventists keep the commandments of God, as it is contained in Exodus 20. However, do you know what the testimony of Jesus Christ is? It is the spirit of prophecy! (Rev. 19:10).

Do you now understand why the Seventh-Day Adventist Church is characterized by prophecy?

Cc: godisgood200
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by TomHagen: 1:50pm On Jan 02, 2018
Crayfish wey dey sweet like no tomorrow na I'm dey make fear dey catch these people...

Na wa for religion.
Re: The Seventh Day Adventist Church: What Do You Know About Them? by Md4great(m): 2:04pm On Jan 02, 2018
Thank you i appreciate your enlightenment... Probably my neighbour don't understand to your extent and argue alot, that is where I got my reason about the point i stated
DoctorAlien:

Dear sir/ma, we the Seventh-Day Adventists certainly believe in the Holy Spirit of God, "whereby we are sealed unto the day of redemption." (Eph. 4:30). This same Holy Spirit is the promised Comforter, which Jesus sent to us to comfort us, teach us all things, lead us into all truth, and bring to our remembrance all that the Word of has taught us.

We certainly believe in speaking in tongues, as it happened in Acts 2, where the early Christians, under the power of the Holy Spirit, miraculously spoke intelligible tongues that could be interpreted. We believe however that the majority of views on speaking in tongues and its purpose today is wrong.

We certainly study the Scriptures, and do not in any way neglect the Acts of the Apostles or the Pauline epistles.

Yes. We certainly love studying prophecy. That has been the duty of all the children of God, from Adam until now. "The secret things belong unto the LORD our God: but those things which are revealed belong unto us and to our children for ever, that we may do all the words of this law." (Deut. 29:29). It may interest you to know that Jesus Christ Himself, speaking about the end times, directed us to go and study the book of Daniel(Matt. 24:15). The book certainly means a lot to us, as we wait for the second coming of Christ. We study it together with the book of Revelations, because the two books are connected. In the book of Revelations, the Great Controversy between good and evil sees the dragon wroth with the true church of God, and going to make war with her remnant. This remnant of the true church of God is described as keeping the commandments of God, and having the testimony of Jesus Christ(Rev. 12:17). I guess you know that we Seventh-Day Adventists keep the commandments of God, as it is contained in Exodus 20. However, do you know what the testimony of Jesus Christ is? It is the spirit of prophecy! (Rev. 19:10).

Do you now understand why the Seventh-Day Adventist Church is characterized by prophecy?

Cc: godisgood200

New Way Of Receiving Holy Communion Due To Ebola Virus / Revenge: Are You For Or Against? / Bishop Chukwuma: I Didn’t Dare Government Over Closure Of Churches In Enugu

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 68