Stats: 3,161,531 members, 7,847,211 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 12:50 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (3470) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11843690 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (3467) (3468) (3469) (3470) (3471) (3472) (3473) ... (16240) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 8:40pm On May 07, 2018
jihday:
I think this was keshi's strategy at the last World Cup and we were piss poor against France and Argentina, if not for enyeama Benzema abs Di Maria would have destroyed us in both games

We were not particularly poor against France. Infact we held the midfield until Onazi was injured.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 8:45pm On May 07, 2018
charlesemeka85:
mikel will sparkle if deployed as a central midfielder or a deep laying play maker (the andrea pirlo/michael carrick role).mikel lacks the speed and shooting ability to operate as a number 10. i believe alex iwobi is blessed with the skill set to metamorphose into a mercurial attacking midfielder. another player who should be nurtured for that role is qpr's eberechi obi after the mundial

Menn.... this your comment on Mikel na wa o.

You better run before TeamMikel arrive o.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 8:47pm On May 07, 2018
Icon4s:

Thanks man. We need to contain the Croats in the midfield and don't be surprised we may even dominate them to it that day.
Dominating them is very possible if we field the right combo.l and hold possession. The one you suggested really looks good.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 8:49pm On May 07, 2018
Hahahahahah hmmmm waiting
Icon4s:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 8:49pm On May 07, 2018
Humility017:

bro...please calm down with your words...
we are all.learning no need for harsh words..simply because we don't agree on same stance...

his tactics will better work when we play a team like Iceland but I still fear...for us..regarding our difficulties in making good passes upfront...
but should mikel and iwobi, etebo or ogu get to play from the middle.....the passes will all come in...and the midfield can be choked...

Nopes, that is contrary to my proposition. Against Croatia We choke up the midfield and hit them on the counter. While we adopt a more attacking approach against Iceland.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 8:52pm On May 07, 2018
charlesemeka85:
mikel will sparkle if deployed as a central midfielder or a deep laying play maker (the andrea pirlo/michael carrick role).mikel lacks the speed and shooting ability to operate as a number 10. i believe alex iwobi is blessed with the skill set to metamorphose into a mercurial attacking midfielder. another player who should be nurtured for that role is qpr's eberechi obi after the mundial
bless you bro...

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 8:52pm On May 07, 2018
Any slip in the WC we pay dearly for it. You can’t gift the midfield out completely.
If u gift them you make your CBs vulnerable
Icon4s:

The ball will just vanish and find itself at the wings without going through the midfield.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 8:53pm On May 07, 2018
MetalJigsaw:
Dominating them is very possible if we field the right combo. The one you suggested really looks good.

That is it. Make one of the DMs just sit and shield the CB and put a workaholic DM/CM that can easily switch positions depending on who is in possession of the ball.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 8:54pm On May 07, 2018
Arsenal fan Kelechi talking on Iwobi as number 10. Also believes what I have been saying that Iwobi has been maltreated by some fans.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IrlVMZ_7_4o

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 8:54pm On May 07, 2018
Joebie:
Any slip in the WC we pay dearly for it. You can’t gift the midfield out completely.
If u gift them you make your CBs vulnerable

I just tire. Very simple analysis.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 8:54pm On May 07, 2018
Icon4s:

Nopes, that is contrary to my proposition. Against Croatia We choke up the midfield and hit them on the counter. While we adopt a more attacking approach against Iceland.
still don't understand the full meaning of the term..."choke up the midfield " because we will be playing a crop of world best midfielders....how can we choke up the midfield against these guys...?
that's question begging for answers....

save for mikel...our midfielders could barely give 10 yard accurate passes...and passes are often misplaced....

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 8:55pm On May 07, 2018
Saying Mikel will sparkle as a CM and DM is one thing. But bros did u watch the qualifiers? Have u been following the current Super �
charlesemeka85:
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 8:55pm On May 07, 2018
realpoacher:

How exactly does he grow and become matured for it if he doesn't get to play from there often now? undecided
He should wait till after WC. Then he can continue learning from then.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 8:57pm On May 07, 2018
Icon4s:

We all have agreed that the counter attacking approach would be best for the team. That is why we need Mikel as the AM. Those killer passes that will set our strikers apart for a kill.

Iwobi does not have that kind of eye for killer passes as Mikel does.
I think your reservation regarding iwobi Playing the AM role against Croatia is abit reasonable.... reason because the lad hasn't master that role perfectly like mikel...

but still he can often come in as sub for mikel....during the world cup..

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 8:57pm On May 07, 2018
BascoVanVeli:
Arsenal fan Kelechi talking on Iwobi as number 10. Also believes what I have been saying that Iwobi has been maltreated by some fans.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IrlVMZ_7_4o

Iwobi no doubt is a highly talented AM. But he is second choice to Mikel in that position. His lack of consistency is still my major source of worry. But Mikel delivers any day any time.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by gamaliel9: 8:59pm On May 07, 2018
Icon4s:

Thanks man. We need to contain the Croats in the midfield and don't be surprised we may even dominate them to it that day.

I know world cup setting is different from friendly matches,Argentina had Perez,Dybala,Celso and Banega in the midfield against us...they also play for big teams and are even younger than Croats midfield of Modric,Kovacic,Rakitic et al...one is thing that is going for us is speed...Modric is surrounded by young legs in Madrid unlike in Croatia..

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 9:00pm On May 07, 2018
Humility017:

I think your reservation regarding iwobi Playing the AM role against Croatia is abit reasonable.... reason because the lad hasn't master that role perfectly like mikel...

but still he can often come in as sub for mikel....during the world cup..

Nope we can have both on the pitch.

Iwobi's good understanding of football makes him combine well with Mikel.

Mikel plays the number 10 role, while Iwobi combines from the flanks.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 9:00pm On May 07, 2018
Icon4s:

Iwobi no doubt is a highly talented AM. But he is second choice to Mikel in that position. His lack of consistency is still my major source of worry. But Mikel delivers any day any time.

That's not wat the video is about o. Plus the problem is not him being behind Mikel but also being behind Iheanacho and Etebo.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 9:02pm On May 07, 2018
gamaliel9:

I know world cup setting is different from friendly matches,Argentina had Perez,Dybala,Celso and Banega in the midfield against us...they also play for big teams and are even younger than Croats midfield of Modric,Kovacic,Rakitic et al...one is thing that is going for us is speed...Modric is surrounded by young legs in Madrid unlike in Croatia..

Yeah, you hit the nail on the head. Our relatively younger midfield players can use pace to out perform the Croats. I need an Ndidi-Etebo combo in that midfield.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 9:04pm On May 07, 2018
BascoVanVeli:

That's not wat the video is about o. Plus the problem is not him being behind Mikel but also being behind Iheanacho and Etebo.

I know. I just made a general comment which is in line with people's preference for Iwobi over Mikel in that number 10 role. And heck no. Iwobi is definitely ahead of Iheanacho and Etebo in that role.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 9:14pm On May 07, 2018
Joebie:
Saying Mikel will sparkle as a CM and DM is one thing. But bros did u watch the qualifiers? Have u been following the current Super �
i'm an ardent super eagles follower and watched all the matches during the qualifiers. mikel did perfectly well playing the number 10 role against African opposition but can he do better against world class teams with better midfielders? we all will see the best of john obi mikel if deployed as a central midfielder. having obi playing centrally in the middle with alex given the license to roam around will be of huge benefit to the team whereas the duo will create lots of chances for the forwards to score.when the team is on pressure mikel's experience and style of play in the central midfield position will calm things down
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 9:14pm On May 07, 2018
Joebie:
MetalJigsaw ironically this explains it all.. from Wiki:

Winger

In modern football, the terms winger or wide player refer to a non-defender who plays on the left or right sides of the pitch. These terms can apply to left or right midfielders, left or right attacking midfielders, or left or right forwards. Left or right-sided defenders such as wing-backs or full-backs are generally not called wingers.
See all the possible football positions here and let's settle this once and for all.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winger_(association_football)
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by lexyman(m): 9:14pm On May 07, 2018
Icon4s:

Yes. Midfielders that can quickly turn defense into attack.

Etebo is a typical mobile midfielder ,

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 9:16pm On May 07, 2018
Joebie:
wetin dey pain me be say Ebuehi is still yet to get to full fitness.. [b]Shehu got nothing on a fully fit Ebuehi.[\b] That's how important he is to our team. I'm looking at the the overall good. person dey cry about goal when we concede against Serbia. That one na just friendly.

@ bolded are u now trying to downgrade Shehu?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 9:19pm On May 07, 2018
Ifeanyi Mathew is finally hitting the right notes... I hope he can secure a move to a bigger club soon.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 9:20pm On May 07, 2018
one of mikel's best performances in super eagles jersey was against CIV in 2013 afcon where he was deployed as a central midfielder by the late keshi. he orchestrated the team's play from the middle and was a handful for yaya toure and the late tiote that faithful day. he helped out defending and even cleared a late minute equalizer. he was classy and too hot for the ivorians to handle
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 9:23pm On May 07, 2018
tbaba1234:
Ifeanyi Mathew is finally hitting the right notes... I hope he can secure a move to a bigger club soon.
i just pray he joins a decent league next summer where his talent will be noticed. learnt he almost joined belgian giants club brugge last season.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 9:29pm On May 07, 2018

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 9:30pm On May 07, 2018
Icon4s:

lol i'm just saying the way i see it. mikel playing as a central midfielder doesnt mean he is a lesser player but the best position where his enormous experience will be evident and utilized by the team
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 9:32pm On May 07, 2018
charlesemeka85:
one of mikel's best performances in super eagles jersey was against CIV in 2013 afcon where he was deployed as a central midfielder by the late keshi. he orchestrated the team's play from the middle and was a handful for yaya toure and the late tiote that faithful day. he helped out defending and even cleared a late minute equalizer. he was classy and too hot for the ivorians to handle

1) 2013 was five years ago. In that time, Enyeama and Emenike have retired, Mikel is now Captain, Musa is not a starter, Echiejile is washed up. Should we really judge how good Mikel is in a position based on a five-year old game? We didn't even have better wingers then

2) CIV is not Croatia or Argentina or even Iceland. So, what makes you think Mikel will work as good in that position with our World Cup opponents? Bear in mind, once again, that game was 5 years ago.

We might as well bring up Mikel's game against Spain in the Confeds of that same year to defend the stance that he is better as an AM. That is arguably his best game in a Super Eagles jersey

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by lexyman(m): 9:32pm On May 07, 2018
Icon4s:

Nope we can have both on the pitch.

Iwobi's good understanding of football makes him combine well with Mikel.

Mikel plays the number 10 role, while Iwobi combines from the flanks.

if these players re at their best , they can unlock the world best defence

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:34pm On May 07, 2018
Icon4s:

He is the same person that rolled out a list of top talents that didn't live up to the expectations. I told him he is practically reserving spots for players in the SE which he denies. Why will you pick some certain players and assignment special coaches to them when he himself has agreed that a lot of young talents do not live up to their potentials. It is just too theoretical and not workable.

I gave you an example of a coach taking an extra step to nurture and prepare his young players. The thing is that, if not for Rohr, some will think folding arms and waiting for European clubs to do it all for us is the way to go.

There is no reservation except wanting the best. No need complicating a very simple point. We need to do more than fold our arms.

(1) (2) (3) ... (3467) (3468) (3469) (3470) (3471) (3472) (3473) ... (16240) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Prectega(m) and 4 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 46