Stats: 3,163,097 members, 7,852,719 topics. Date: Friday, 07 June 2024 at 02:30 AM

Treasury Bills In Nigeria - Investment (530) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Investment / Treasury Bills In Nigeria (4493073 Views)

Fixed Deposits Or Treasury Bills, Which Is Better? / Fixed Deposit And Treasury Bill Investments From Abroad / I Need Information On Treasury Bills In Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (527) (528) (529) (530) (531) (532) (533) ... (2240) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by joseph1013: 10:11am On Jun 18, 2018
awesomeJ:

You can never go wrong with diversification.
Some who know their onions in real estate, could easily make double the returns on T-bills.

As per the issue with holding naira assets, when I start seeing the signs of an imminent currency crisis. I'll switch to eurobonds ASAP. 6% guaranteed with a potential for much more.
For now, there's some comfort.
Is there any thread I can get more information about Eurobond? I'm interested.
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by queengift(f): 11:21am On Jun 18, 2018
Hello family, am new here, if I invest 100k on tills how much will I get in returns, please help a sister I need clarification

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by ahiboilandgas: 12:07pm On Jun 18, 2018
zamirikpo:

Pls don't forget to update us when u start seeing signs of an imminent currency crisis cos I don't know how to check for them......

Then for eurobonds how is it done......
when u wake up ever morning look for crude oil prices once it below 50 dollar wahala don show ....2 look for opec meeting to see total production once above 40 m barrel less petrol dollars,look at fdi portfolios once they are running a devaluation is emminent 3 .look for interest rate in the usa by federal reserve once up rate will rate in Nigeria 4 best strategy have a mix portfolio ...treasury bill,bond,land in area with growth potential ,stocks (undervalued once) rents ,gold bars,fixed deposits and dorm accounts....this is how to become wealthy in a long term....but short term u can try some trading u can be having 70 percent returns

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by ahiboilandgas: 12:15pm On Jun 18, 2018
queengift:
Hello family, am new here, if I invest 100k on tills how much will I get in returns, please help a sister I need clarification
around 1k per months pls try a bussiness tb is best for person with millions

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by awesomeJ(m): 1:16pm On Jun 18, 2018
joseph1013:

Is there any thread I can get more information about Eurobond? I'm interested.
They are bonds denominated in USD. You may need up to $200k to buy. However you can buy dollar mutual funds to get around that.

check here for more:

https://www.nairaland.com/4524641/fgn-bonds-investors-hub#67883603
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by awesomeJ(m): 1:21pm On Jun 18, 2018
zamirikpo:

Pls don't forget to update us when u start seeing signs of an imminent currency crisis cos I don't know how to check for them......

Then for eurobonds how is it done......
Like ahiboilandgas stated:

1. Low oil prices;
2. Low output levels;
3. Declining forex reserves;
4. FPI inflows vs outflows.

These are the major things to watch out for.

Eurobonds are just like FGN BONDS. Just that they are denominated in a more stable currency (USD) and hence offer lower yields.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by naijaobi(m): 2:02pm On Jun 18, 2018
Desanta:

Yes.
Thank you
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Donbrig: 6:54pm On Jun 18, 2018
fyneIjay:

Thank you.
I will like to seek the house opinion on something concerning investment.
We have a house somewhere, which is given out to tenants. After the first payment, they always find it hard to follow up promptly in paying subsequent rent. My brother has been suggesting for some time to sell off the house and invest the proceed in Treasury bills or do fixed deposits with it. That it will still give us more than the income we are currently getting from renting it out and the capital will still be intact.
I need opinion and advice on this. (if sold, we could be realizing 25M or more from it and 20M will be invested, at least 10M in TB)

Real estate is the MOTHER of all investments, you can control or dictate your profits, but location is everything in real estate. If you cannot buy a land in a very good location, don't think of building a commercial house on it or for rents. And it is always good to get a good lawyer to ensure your tenants sign a memorandum of understanding in case they cannot pay their rents when due. No doubt there are lots of challenges in real estate, but it is always good to diversify.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Calebbold: 9:33pm On Jun 18, 2018
awesomeJ:

You can never go wrong with diversification.
Some who know their onions in real estate, could easily make double the returns on T-bills.

As per the issue with holding naira assets, when I start seeing the signs of an imminent currency crisis. I'll switch to eurobonds ASAP. 6% guaranteed with a potential for much more.
For now, there's some comfort.

Please, how does devaluation of the naira reduces the value of one's investment in TB or fgn bond? Is it that if you invested 10m initially for example, ur capital automatically becomes less due to devaluation?
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by awesomeJ(m): 2:11am On Jun 19, 2018
[color=#000000][/color]
Calebbold:

Please, how does devaluation of the naira reduces the value of one's investment in TB or fgn bond? Is it that if you invested 10m initially for example, ur capital automatically becomes less due to devaluation?
The major reason why it's so is cos the bulk of the items we consume come directly or indirectly from the international markets, and are priced in USD.

When the dollar exchanged for 199, 10m was $50,000.00
Now that it trades at 360, thesame 10m is less than $28,000

There wouldn't have been any problem if your Honda Accord, LED TV, fuel, wheat or raw sugar were all sourced locally, but since they rather come from the international markets, the implication is that the 10m that could buy 2 units of the Accord sedan just some few months back, can now barely buy just 1.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by AmeLonRo(m): 4:18am On Jun 19, 2018
Interesting!

Donbrig:

Real estate is the MOTHER of all investments, you can control or dictate your profits, but location is everything in real estate. If you cannot buy a land in a very good location, don't think of building a commercial house on it or for rents. And it is always good to get a good lawyer to ensure your tenants sign a memorandum of understanding in case they cannot pay their rents when due. No doubt there are lots of challenges in real estate, but it is always good to diversify.
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Calebbold: 5:32am On Jun 19, 2018
awesomeJ:
[color=#000000][/color]
The major reason why it's so is cos the bulk of the items we consume come directly or indirectly from the international markets, and are priced in USD.

When the dollar exchanged for 199, 10m was $50,000.00
Now that it trades at 360, thesame 10m is less than $28,000

There wouldn't have been any problem if your Honda Accord, LED TV, fuel, wheat or raw sugar were all sourced locally, but since they rather come from the international markets, the implication is that the 10m that could buy 2 units of the Accord sedan just some few months back, can now barely buy just 1.

Now I understand.... I thought in real sense the capital u invested reduces in value. But u are talking about the purchasing power of money.
Thanks.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by dipoolowoo: 11:19am On Jun 19, 2018
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Nobody: 1:45pm On Jun 19, 2018
86 days at 10.4% FBN
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by dipoolowoo: 9:45am On Jun 20, 2018

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by priscai(m): 11:52am On Jun 20, 2018
FBN LAGOS TB 11% @ 191 days. Ecobank fixed deposit is offering 11% please for 365 days.

Please which of them is more viable.
Kindly help.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by awesomeJ(m): 12:16pm On Jun 20, 2018
priscai:
FBN LAGOS TB 11% @ 191 days. Ecobank fixed deposit is offering 11% please for 365 days.

Please which of them is more viable.
Kindly help.
Considering the 10% withholding tax, the FD's return is effectively 9.9% p.a

Considering the upfront interest payment on the T-bills, the returns is 12.36% p.a and 11.68% for 191 days.

So, obviously, 11% may not always be 11%.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by dipoolowoo: 12:47pm On Jun 20, 2018
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by priscai(m): 2:39pm On Jun 20, 2018
awesomeJ:

Considering the 10% withholding tax, the FD's return is effectively 9.9% p.a

Considering the upfront interest payment on the T-bills, the returns is 12.36% p.a and 11.68% for 191 days.

So, obviously, 11% may not always be 11%.

Thank u so much for this info.
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Nobody: 5:13pm On Jun 20, 2018
What was today's rate?
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by yinka2011: 5:50pm On Jun 20, 2018
Here is the result from today's Nigerian Treasury Bills Primary Market Auction from Easykobo

link is here https://www.easykobo.com/News.aspx?id=20148

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by jeebz: 8:15pm On Jun 20, 2018
priscai:

Thank u so much for this info.

Treasury Bills are exempt from Withholding Tax

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Comeandcollect: 7:11am On Jun 21, 2018
The advantage of T-Bils over Real Estate v The advantage of Real Estate over T-bills for small/medium/high scale investors

T-bills v Real-Estate
1. T-bills yields upfront interest i.e you get your interest payment straight away and use it for other purposes.

2. It is guaranteed 99% you will get your capital back upon maturity.

3. The period of interest payment is fixed i.e if your interest at purchase is 15 % , it stays the same.

4. Your only asset is your capital.

Real Estate v T-Bills
1. The risk of buying a genuine plot of land to develop without being duped by dubious Nigerians is 50%.

2. The estimated purchase price of a piece of land increases drastically after paying fees, entitlements, commissions etc.

3. On average it takes two years to develop a piece of land to living standard in most parts of Nigeria, within two years T-bills investment for any investment must have yielded a lot money.

4. Problematic tenants that owe you rent after paying two years advance payments destroys the initial aim.

5. You tend to have a physical asset i.e a house whatever happens and be known as landlord.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by peacengine(m): 7:35am On Jun 21, 2018
Comeandcollect:
The advantage of T-Bils over Real Estate v The advantage of Real Estate over T-bills for small/medium/high scale investors

T-bills v Real-Estate
1. T-bills yields upfront interest i.e you get your interest payment straight away and use it for other purposes.

2. It is guaranteed 99% you will get your capital back upon maturity.

3. The period of interest payment is fixed i.e if your interest at purchase is 15 % , it stays the same.

4. You tend to have a physical asset i.e a house whatever happens and be known as landlord.

Real Estate v T-Bills
1. The risk of buying a genuine plot of land to develop without being duped by dubious Nigerians is 50%.

2. The estimated purchase price of a piece of land increases drastically after paying fees, entitlements, commissions etc.

3. On average it takes two years to develop a piece of land to living standard in most parts of Nigeria, within two years T-bills investment for any investment must have yielded a lot money.

4. Problematic tenants that owe you rent after paying two years advance payments destroys the initial aim.

5. Your only asset is your capital.

Nice one bro. How can I start investing in Tbills? I'm using Stanbic and GTB for savings, do I use Morgan capital or I can go direct to a bank?
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by peacengine(m): 7:41am On Jun 21, 2018
awesomeJ:

Depends,
Like ahiboilandgas stated, if your location still has some potential developments in the near future, there could be huge capital gains. But for places already developed, say gra, the likelihood of capital gains is slim.

What I consider to be the greater downside is the fact that it could be difficult to hold on to cash. I mean there'll be tendency to just spend, especially since it's family funds as you have stated.

It may be better to buy 10-30year bond, or stocks when prices crash to push dividend yields to c.15%. You'll get annual dividend payments, and there could be capital gains that'll even double your capital.

You guys will have steady income to even pass down to the next generation.

Good morn Chairman, for long term investors is bond better than real estate? Is the annual dividend paid in cash and how does capital gains work?
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Partnerbiz(f): 8:09am On Jun 21, 2018

Any effect of the recently passed budget on T bill rates?
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by ahiboilandgas: 8:12am On Jun 21, 2018
peacengine:

Good morn Chairman, for long term investors is bond better than real estate? Is the annual dividend paid in cash and how does capital gains work?
they both good...have a mix of the 2 ...real estate then to battle inflation and devaluation better and can return some very crazy percentage ten fold more than any security
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by peacengine(m): 8:13am On Jun 21, 2018
ahiboilandgas:
they both good...have a mix of the 2 ...real estate then to battle inflation and devaluation better and can return some very crazy percentage ten fold more than any security

Thanks bro
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by ahiboilandgas: 8:35am On Jun 21, 2018
I bought a land for 720 k in 2003 in a developing area used around 150 k to fence and put gate ....i sold it to 11 m naira in 2014 ....my coinvestor bought 10 for 7 m then and sold for 120 m million naira....our 3 friend bought for 800 k in 2004 used 7 m to build a duplex on it later in 2015 sold it for 35 m naira while the 4 guy used around 15 m to build 4 unit of he renting it for 1.5 m annually

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Agbaletu: 10:43am On Jun 21, 2018
ahiboilandgas:
I agree with you. In January 2017, I got a land somewhere in Ogun State at 2MN, its value now is just around 2.4MN. I got another one in Abuja at 1.5MN same time, its value as at last week when my cousin bought an adjoining plot is 5MN. These are proceeds of T-bills.
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by SirJohn(m): 11:00am On Jun 21, 2018
ahiboilandgas:
I bought a land for 720 k in 2003 in a developing area used around 150 k to fence and put gate ....i sold it to 11 m naira in 2014 ....my coinvestor bought 10 for 7 m then and sold for 120 m million naira....our 3 friend bought for 800 k in 2004 used 7 m to build a deplux on it later in 2015 sold it for 35 m naira while the 4 guy used around 15 m to build 4 unit of he renting it for 1.5 m annually

Bros which part of Nigeria did your friend build duplex for 7m in 2015?

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Nobody: 11:06am On Jun 21, 2018
SirJohn:

Bros which part of Nigeria did your friend build duplex for 7m in 2015?
He said deplux not duplex sir cheesy grin

(1) (2) (3) ... (527) (528) (529) (530) (531) (532) (533) ... (2240) (Reply)

Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts

Viewing this topic: stephen13(m), gurujoe(m) and 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 50