Stats: 3,154,204 members, 7,822,055 topics. Date: Thursday, 09 May 2024 at 04:49 AM

Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 - Travel (340) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 (1001760 Views)

Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 10 / Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 / Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program-Connect Here Part 3 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (337) (338) (339) (340) (341) (342) (343) ... (619) (Go Down)

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by tholuwalorpe: 2:11pm On Jun 21, 2018
Good day my people, Please does BC dispatch ielts results without request? I got a call just now requesting for my address so as to bring the result i requested for.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by ysteph: 2:13pm On Jun 21, 2018
I can assure you that, those who used WES but claimed professional degree were lucky because it didn't affect their CRS score.
Read Koonlay's post on this thread. He posted sometime last week.
Already you've said if you didn't use professional degree you won't have received ITA. That, to me, sounds like misrepresentation.
If your ECA says bachelors degree equivalence then its bachelors degree equivalence.
The ECA is not for fun.
The ultimate decision is yours to make in the end. You may be lucky.
gsade:

Hello CanadianWasp, I just sent you a private e-mail. I will like to reach out to you by direct e-mail. I am kinda in a dilemma with WES and IQAS. I have ITA already but with a WES evaluation. I selected professional degree in my EE profile and got ITA on that basis. Without that, I would not have made the ITA cut-off point. Now, my deadline is July 25, 2018. Trying to decide if I should reject this ITA pending IQAS which can be a very long process depending on a lot of variables. I was wondering if I can learn more about your colleague/friend who used WES evaluation of LLB as bachelors and still got PR. It will really help me in reaching a firm and final decision.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by chuckdee13(m): 2:19pm On Jun 21, 2018
I haven't heard if that before though. Did you write on the 2nd of June? They said those results aren't ready and that's annoying since its all thatsvholding me from diving in.
tholuwalorpe:
Good day my people, Please does BC dispatch ielts results without request? I got a call just now requesting for my address so as to bring the result i requested for.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by mcstan18(m): 2:23pm On Jun 21, 2018
gsade:
Hello CanadianWasp, I just sent you a private e-mail. I will like to reach out to you by direct e-mail. I am kinda in a dilemma with WES and IQAS. I have ITA already but with a WES evaluation. I selected professional degree in my EE profile and got ITA on that basis. Without that, I would not have made the ITA cut-off point. Now, my deadline is July 25, 2018. Trying to decide if I should reject this ITA pending IQAS which can be a very long process depending on a lot of variables. I was wondering if I can learn more about your colleague/friend who used WES evaluation of LLB as bachelors and still got PR. It will really help me in reaching a firm and final decision.

Kindly decline the ITA and wait for another if your CRS score would fall below the round of draws that got you the ITA when you recalculate using WES ECA report. If your score would be too low to get you another ITA, go for IQAS' professional degree evaluation. Trust me, your score would be recalculated at the CIO in this manner. Those who got PPR after doing what you're attempting were lucky enough not to have fallen below their ITA round cut-off.

Sometimes, you need to slow down to get to your destination faster - Igbo proverb

15 Likes

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by ysteph: 2:26pm On Jun 21, 2018
See as people are wasting ITA.
mcstan18:

Sometimes, we need to slow down to get to our destination faster - Igbo proverb [/color]

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by futureenergy: 2:28pm On Jun 21, 2018
CanadianWasp:
Hi all,

Wanted to post this for a long while but when Vfs/Accra say wait, you wait, lol.

So I got copr. My timeline:

ITA: March 26, 2018
AOR: April 8 ( dated April 9)
Med Passed: April 18
PPR: May 18 (dated May 17)
PUM: June 20

Congratulations to you and your family! You write so beautifully. No wonder you smashed IELTS one hand.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by Newmum0615: 2:29pm On Jun 21, 2018
He/she said he/she has WES evaluation naa. The bone of contention is different from the one you are imagining.
tonyik:
Did you enter the pool without ECA? I hope not as this is a waste of slot for others.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by ysteph: 2:31pm On Jun 21, 2018
grin grin grin grin grin grin
The post weak me. I had to read the earlier post whether na me no understand.
Newmum0615:
He said he has WES evaluation naa. The bone of contention is different from the one you are imagining.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by Newmum0615: 2:32pm On Jun 21, 2018
I just siddon dey look you people grin
ysteph:
grin grin grin grin grin grin
The post weak me. I had to read the earlier post whether na me no understand.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by ysteph: 2:32pm On Jun 21, 2018
grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin.
Newmum0615:
I just siddon dey look you people grin
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by CanadianWasp: 2:33pm On Jun 21, 2018
Hi, sorry I hadn't responded to your message.

How much time do you have left to submit your application?

Questions people should ask really, before Iphy's posts, did any lawyer complain about using wes and not receiving the professional points? Plus CIC website states what a law ECA should contain and one of it is a "bachelor of laws". Anyway, I honestly don't want to get into this debate. I'm hoping to get gcms notes of my friend. So if you have some time, you could wait before declining.

gsade:

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by tholuwalorpe: 2:34pm On Jun 21, 2018
chuckdee13:
I haven't heard if that before though. Did you write on the 2nd of June? They said those results aren't ready and that's annoying since its all thatsvholding me from diving in.
No....mine was May 12..
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by Nobody: 2:35pm On Jun 21, 2018
CanadianWasp:

Questions people should ask really, before Iphy's posts, did any lawyer complain about using wes and not receiving the professional points? Plus CIC website states what a law ECA should contain and one of it is a "bachelor of laws". Anyway, I honestly don't want to get into this debate. I'm hoping to get gcms notes of my friend. So if you have some time, you could wait before declining.

Na July 25 dey there so.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by CanadianWasp: 2:37pm On Jun 21, 2018

gsade:

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by ysteph: 2:38pm On Jun 21, 2018
I pardon CanadianWasp. Excitement did not allow her read well. LOL
Elfmannisback:

Na July 25 dey there so.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by CanadianWasp: 2:39pm On Jun 21, 2018
Lol, my bad, honestly didn't see that cheesy gsade can you please wait before declining?
Elfmannisback:

Na July 25 dey there so.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by gsade: 2:40pm On Jun 21, 2018
ysteph:
I can assure you that, those who used WES but claimed professional degree were lucky because it didn't affect their CRS score.
Already you've said if you didn't use professional degree you won't have received ITA. That, to me, sounds like misrepresentation.
If your ECA says bachelors degree equivalence then its bachelors degree equivalence.
The ECA is not for fun.

Thanks Ysteph. I understand you perfectly. In any event, I did not know there was a difference between WES and IQAS evaluations until I stumbled on Iphie 25 chats some few weeks ago on LLB evaluation on WES. In fact, just joined Nairaland today finally as a result of that post. I had been under the impression that evaluation of LLB na just evaluation in so far as the degree certificate says bachelors of law, you know. Thanks. I doubt if I can bet on luck when It may be seen as misrep and I lose my application fee. Just that IQAS is slow sha. I have already applied to IQAS. All documents from me and my Uni have been delivered to IQAS. Guess, I just hope for the best in the next two months.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by weckl: 2:43pm On Jun 21, 2018
From koonlay post, he evaluated both his LLB & law school certificate and the outcome from WES was bachelor degree and one year postgraduate diploma which is equivalent to 2 or more certificate on the EE. Those that i heard got PPR evaluated only their LLB from WES and chose professional degree. It may sound absurd but that is what it is.

ysteph:
The ECA is not for fun.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by gsade: 2:44pm On Jun 21, 2018
mcstan18:

Kindly decline the ITA and wait for another if your CRS score would fall below the round of draws that got you the ITA when you recalculate using WES ECA report. If your score would be too low to get you another ITA, go for IQAS' professional degree evaluation. Trust me, your score would be recalculated at the CIO in this manner. Those who got PPR after doing what you're attempting were lucky enough not to have fallen below their ITA round cut-off.

Sometimes, you need to slow down to get to your destination faster - Igbo proverb

Thanks. McStan 18. Great advise.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by gsade: 2:47pm On Jun 21, 2018
CanadianWasp:

CanadianWasp. I have sometime. At least, about 33days, to reject or not while I also await IQAS. I am in that position that Iphie 23 was in. I will really like to know what that GCMS note will say. May be just to put to rest the issue finally. Thanks, CanadianWasp.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by ysteph: 2:49pm On Jun 21, 2018
Okay. Glad you found this thread.
It will surely end in praise.
gsade:

Thanks Ysteph. I understand you perfectly. In any event, I did not know there was a difference between WES and IQAS evaluations until I stumbled on Iphie 25 chats some few weeks ago on LLB evaluation on WES. In fact, just joined Nairaland today finally as a result of that post. I had been under the impression that evaluation of LLB na just evaluation in so far as the degree certificate says bachelors of law, you know. Thanks. I doubt if I can bet on luck when It may be seen as misrep and I lose my application fee. Just that IQAS is slow sha. I have already applied to IQAS. All documents from me and my Uni have been delivered to IQAS. Guess, I just hope for the best in the next two months.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by Ethelia(f): 2:50pm On Jun 21, 2018
gsade:

CanadianWasp. I have sometime. At least, about 33days, to reject or not while I also await IQAS. I am in that position that Iphie 23 was in. I will really like to know what that GCMS note will say. May be just to put to rest the issue finally. Thanks, CanadianWasp.

True. Either way the notes will settle the matter.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by EzekielMab(m): 2:51pm On Jun 21, 2018
Hi guys, my CR's score didn't get to 400

Is there any hope ?

Like 380

Which province can I get access to ??

Someone pls help
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by ysteph: 2:51pm On Jun 21, 2018
weckl this is a new angle to this matter. If it is evaluated as two or more certificates it is two or more certificates. It cannot be professional degree. Koonlay's post was clear.
weckl:
From koonlay post, he evaluated both his LLB & law school certificate and the outcome from WES was bachelor degree and one year postgraduate diploma which is equivalent to 2 or more certificate on the EE. Those that i heard got PPR evaluated only their LLB from WES and chose professional degree. It may sound absurd but that is what it is.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by weckl: 2:56pm On Jun 21, 2018
I followed Koonlay post and engaged him at some point and he confirmed that he included his law school certificate. You can verify this from the thread.

ysteph:
weckl this is a new angle to this matter. If it is evaluated as two or more certificates it is two or more certificates. It cannot be professional degree. Koonlay's post was clear.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by gsade: 2:59pm On Jun 21, 2018
ysteph:
Okay. Glad you found this thread.
It will surely end in praise.

Truly, glad. I did not see Iphie 25's post until around 2am. I cannot even remember why I was awake that long on a weekday. I just paid for IQAS immediately and I have been scouring the internet for information on the WES evaluation and any useful actual experience on it. You I found out that Iphie 25's GCMS notes shows that it was her WES and not her IQAS that was recognised by the VO as professional degree. But the difference for Iphie 25 is that her WES report had a comment saying that her the bachelors (four years) is a "first professional degree requires to practise law in Nigeria". So her experience did not seem conclusive because she had that little bit of comment on her report which was not in the canadian equivalency portion. The GCMS notes from CanadianWasp's friend(s) may truly resolve it.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by ysteph: 3:01pm On Jun 21, 2018
Is he the lawyer abi his wife? Maybe i am mixing up the posts.
Anyway, from what i understand, two or more certificate cannot amount to professional degree.If you add your BL if your ECA does not say Professional Degree then it is not professional degree.
weckl:
I followed Koonlay post and engaged him at some point and he confirmed that he included his law school certificate. You can verify this from the thread.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by gsade: 3:02pm On Jun 21, 2018
CanadianWasp:
Lol, my bad, honestly didn't see that cheesy gsade can you please wait before declining?

Yeah. Nothing nothing to lose unless cut-off crash to like 410 or something.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by ysteph: 3:02pm On Jun 21, 2018
With IQAS you have to take an overdose of patience.
12 weeks or thereabout.
gsade:

Truly, glad. I did not see Iphie 25's post until around 2am. I cannot even remember why I was awake that long on a weekday. I just paid for IQAS immediately and I have been scouring the internet for information on the WES evaluation and any useful actual experience on it. You I found out that Iphie 25's GCMS notes shows that it was her WES and not her IQAS that was recognised by the VO as professional degree. But the difference for Iphie 25 is that her WES report had a comment saying that her the bachelors (four years) is a "first professional degree requires to practise law in Nigeria". So her experience did not seem conclusive because she had that little bit of comment on her report which was not in the canadian equivalency portion. The GCMS notes from CanadianWasp's friend(s) may truly resolve it.
Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by IFEAGO: 3:09pm On Jun 21, 2018
gsade:

Hey, good to know you're being very careful in taking a final decision on this. Please take a close look at excerpts from GCMS notes a friend ordered. This might just be the case if you proceed with your WES evaluation.

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by Ifeoma77(f): 3:16pm On Jun 21, 2018
In the spirit of giving back, I'll attempt to narrate what goes on during medicals at IOM Abuja

Long post alert*

The first thing to note is that Medical at IOM Abuja is strictly by appointment and you must have paid the fee before showing up at the hospital.

Before even being allowed through the gates, the security men will ask for the proof of payment and international passport. Just inside the gate, another security 'receptionist' will welcome you warmly and gave you a neatly typed list of appointments for the day, you'll locate your name on the list and she'll tick it. She'll then give you a tag and direct you to the general reception.

Let me state here that the entire hospital is so thoroughly signposted that you wont need to ask for directions and the staff are professional and friendly, unlike lipsrsealed grin grin

Anyway, at the reception, you'll be welcomed again by a nice gentleman and you'll be given a form to fill - so its a good idea to ensure that you have a pen in your bag. While submitting the filled form, you will also submit the proof of payment (bank teller or printed receipt of transfer), the gentleman will also collect your International passport and make a photocopy of the data page. Two passport photographs will also be required at this point. All these would be put in a clear bag and you tag number written on it. You will then be ushered into the inner reception room and asked to seat.

When your tag number is called out, you will approach the receptionists there and sit in front of a screen to verify your bio-data. Your picture would be taken and while you watch, all the information on your form will be transferred to the e-medical site. Please pay close attention to the screen and ensure that what is being typed is correct - especially your Int. Passport number and expiry dates. Once the bio-data capture is completed, you'll again be ushered upstairs to yet another reception room - this one plusher than the other two. There is a water dispenser in this room and I advice you to drink up and fill that bladder.

Different nurses will come and take groups to different nursing stations and at this point, you'll bid goodbye to your friends who are there for UK, US, Australian or New Zealand visas. For Canada medicals, you'll follow the nurse back downstairs. Two lovely nurses will attend to you here. You'll be welcomed again, they'll introduce themselves and explain in detail everything that they are about to do. Then they'll ask some questions about your medical history and for diseases that run in your family.

Next, they'll take your height and weight and blood pressure. They will also perform an eye test. If you use prescription glasses, the eye test will be performed while you're wearing those glasses. So if your glasses are faded or expired, better get fresh ones before going there. Failing the eye test means you'll be referred to the resident optometrist and you will part with flenty money.

Next, you'll be given a container and directed to the bathroom for urine sample. I was told that they will be testing the urine for pregnancy, blood sugar and one other thing I can't remember.
Word of Advice, that bathroom does not have running water - in order to preserve the integrity of the urine sample - so try not to get urine on your hands because you'll only have hand-sanitizer until you can get to the other convenience to wash hands.

Next, you'll be given a short lecture about HIV and then sent off to the Lab and X-Ray for further tests.

In the Lab, you'll give blood and it'll be tested for HIV and Syphilis. The X-Ray room is next to the lab and there, you'll get a chest X-ray.

I remember Canadianfly warning females to wear bottoms and a top (as well as a clean bra) because you'll have to bare the chest area in front of the technicians. Well you don't have to worry about that in IOM. There is a changing room where you'll take off your top and bra and then put on a disposable hospital gown. There is a thicker special gown for pregnant women.

Then its back to Nurse station, your clear bag will be updated and you'll be sent back upstairs to the plush waiting room. A doctor will come and call you from there for the final phase of the process.

In the doctor's office, you will again receive a welcome and an explanation of the whole process, he will ask questions again to establish your medical history and he will preview all the other notations from the nurses, lab and radiologist. Then you'll go to the changing area and take off all your clothes, put on another disposable hospital gown and lie on the stretcher. The doctor will check your skin, heartbeat, ears and mouth.

Then you'll get dressed and you'll be given the opportunity to ask questions. The doctor will tell you when exactly he will upload your results (max 3 days) and you're done.

The final and most important step of the process; there is a restaurant across the street from the hospital called Calabar Aroma Restaurant, walk over there and have yourself a hot delicious meal. cheesy

I walked into the hospital at 8.10 am and I was out by 10.30am.

The end.

60 Likes 10 Shares

Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 4 by agates: 3:17pm On Jun 21, 2018
These London people @Newmum0615 me I am tired of them o. So I sent a mail and got this response:

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Please be advised that your application is awaiting review by a migration officer in our London office. Note that no change will take place on your online profile until the initial assessment is made.

We thank you for your patience at this time. Rest assured we will contact if you when we require further information or additional documents.

Sincerely,

VCM

Program Assistant | Assistante de programme Immigration Section – London | Section de l’immigration – Londres

(1) (2) (3) ... (337) (338) (339) (340) (341) (342) (343) ... (619)

Travelling To Canada Part 10 / Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 8 / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16

Viewing this topic: 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 81