"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup - Sports (4375) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Entertainment › Sports › "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup (17097330 Views)
1 2 3 ... 4372 4373 4374 4375 4376 4377 4378 ... 19291 Reply (Go Down)
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 5:59pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
Egyptian football revolution to take Africa by storm There is a revolution taking place in Egyptian football that has ramifications for the whole African continent, with the birth of a new super club that threatens to shake up the established order. The sale of modest Alassiouty Sport -- a team in the ancient town of Asyut on the banks of the Nile some 400 kilometres south of Cairo -- to Saudi billionaire Turki al-Sheikh has seen the new owner invest over US$33-million on players alone in a little over a week. Al Sheikh, who is also the chairman of Saudi Arabia's General Sports Authority, essentially making him the country's sports minister, was previously honorary president of Al Ahly, and reportedly a financial backer of the team. But he resigned in May and after a fallout with the board -- just five months into his tenure -- decided to buy his own club over which he would have full control, and start a new super team to dominate the African continent. He installed former Ahly coach Hossam El-Badry as the chairman of the club on a reported salary of €2.5-million per year, just as the tactician was about to sign on the dotted line for South African Premier Soccer League giants Kaizer Chiefs. Al Sheikh has also brought in Brazilian coach Alberto Valentim from Botafogo, a former right-back who played for Udinese and Siena in Italy. Boosting the technical team further is Argentine former Mexico national team coach Ricardo La Volpe, who took the country to the Last 16 of the 2006 FIFA World Cup. Added to that, there are four players signed from Brazilian clubs for a total of US$20-million, most notably winger Keno from Palmeiras, as well as two other wide midfielders, Carlos Eduardo (Goiás) and Arthur (Chapecoense), and striker Ribamar (Atlético Paranaense). Al Sheikh has not confined himself to just raiding the South American country though; he has also taken Egypt internationals Tarek Hamed and Ali Gabr from Zamalek, weakening their challenge, as well as highly-rated Mohamed Magdy from ENPPI and Mohamed Hamdi from Al-Masary. There have already been 18 new arrivals confirmed in what is a complete overhaul of the squad that has seen many of the players from last season either released or put on the transfer-list. It is essentially the reshaping of a team from top to bottom, in terms of playing staff, coaching and management, and while there might be a period of adjustment, it could take Pyramids FC not only to the top of Egyptian football immediately, but also African football. Their benefactor appears to have deeper pockets than most club owners on the continent, and is certainly not afraid to splash the cash. Turki al-Sheikh chats to the Saudi Arabia team ahead of the 2018 World Cup Ryan Pierse/Getty Images To put it into perspective, Mamelodi Sundowns owner Patrice Motsepe has a net worth of almost US2-billion and has been generous in funding his club. The team's acquisition of Venezuelan striker Jose Ali Meza for a reported R13-million is a South African record transfer fee paid. But Brazilian Keno alone cost Pyramids FC almost R140-million, spending that no other team on the continent will be able to match. Al Sheikh is a key sports figure in the Arab world, holding positions not on in Saudi Arabia's General Sports Authority, but also the Union of Arab Football Associations, Saudi Arabian Olympic Committee and the Islamic Solidarity Sports Federation, and is also a member of the Saudi Royal Court. He was appointed to head the General Sports Authority in September last year, soon after the start of the reign of Saudi Arabia's Prince Mohammed bin Salman. He has made some quick strides, allowing women to enter football stadiums for the first time ever, agreeing partnership deals with Spain's La Liga and the Italian Serie A, and roping in legendary former German international Oliver Kahn to set up a goalkeeping academy in the country for the national teams. Quite how or why he is so interested in Egyptian football has never been made clear, though he could see it as a gateway into the African market. What is clear is that he has changed the game on the continent and Pyramids FC is a name we will likely be hearing much more of in the coming years. http://kwese.espn.com/football/egypt/story/3556606/egypt-football-pyramids-fc-saudi-billionaire-turki-al-al-sheikh |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by komekn(m): 6:48pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
safarigirl:You know in England and across Europe even in America i come across racist bigots who i could describe as being highly despicable. But such behaviour is sometimes not entirely their fault, its reflection of ignorance, lack of knowledge and exposure. i then present to them the complete opposite of what stereotypical prejudiced they have had. That for me is refreshingly positive making a change for good. After all the well established views i presented , all you could pick up was negative, you could find nothing positive just doom and gloom. You summed it up with conclusion of hypocritical. So as to give you the opportunity to have clarity. I do not have a double standard, or change the goal posts or set a different set of measurement for players because they are coming from Nigeria, no preference is given, it is a level playing field whether you were born in Agbaroh or Peckham, it doesn't matter. You are still Nigerian. Having your deduction in mind, quote me if you can, tell me where i have maliciously and cast aspersions on the ability of Nigerian players. What i will not do is exaggerate and over state their attributes. Tell me just one not two,that's all. And if you can not , then you should apologise. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 7:03pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
nigerian international moses simon is few details from signing for bundesliga team wolfsburg while taiwo awoniyi's move to club brugge will be completed very soon. good and decent moves in my opinion than players players running to the czech league hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Joebie: 7:07pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
Simon, Osimhen, and Uduokhai.. nice! charlesemeka85: |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by komekn(m): 7:17pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
charlesemeka85:Please not Wolfsburg, this a relegation team and a shadow of its former self yester years ago, a player it was reported here multiple EPL teams were chasing or was it all hype and hearsay. I personally thin he can do better than Wolfsburg. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 7:25pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
well the likes of real madrid, barca,juve,man untd and co who you hoped for them to fight for moses are not interested. liverpool were unable to come up with the fee gent demanded while wolfsburg paid the exact amount. a move from gent to a team of the caliber of wolfsburg is a good move. wolfsburg is one of the teams in the germany with rich tradition and history and huge fan base. they under-performed for some seasons ago doesnt rub off their achievements, rich history and status. its far better than remaining in belgium or moving to slavia prague hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha. if simon performs well consistently he will attract bigger teams in germany and europe as a whole komekn: |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 7:31pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
hope akpan joins bradford as a free agent |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 7:35pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
komekn:are they already in the relegation zone? |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by ChrisKels: 7:38pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
andrew444:Ah ah nah bro, the post u quoted previously clearly stated that Thauvin and Pavard are the two pure French breeds nah. Abi u no understand the post? |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by komekn(m): 7:40pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
This is why people should not get carried away with all the media hype, a lot of the time its just contrived by agents and other intrested parties to market thier player. There is an article by Josh Sippie i have just read again similar hype, a player has scored 1 goals in the easiest league to score among the the top twenty league in Europe and scored 4 in the 2nd tier of Dutch football, definitely way below championship. This being hailed as remarkable progress. It simply is not , that's hype. He is going too Porto you are struggling to play in Eredivise and you go to Porto. he needed to find a club that will give him clear first team football because it may not go as he is projecting. I hope he does wonderful and sets Europe on fire with Porto, that is my wishful thinking for him. Objectively speaking it certainly looks highly unlikely but not impossible. How long will Arsenal give him, should he even be staying at Arsenal ? or moving on before he becomes fa forgotten transaction, will he qualify for a work permit , can he perform only time will tell. ![]() Quite a few chose to Arsenal leave and quite a few were asked to leave. Arsenal have been quite poor at retaining and encouraging top youth talent in recent times and should i say even impatient, this is primarily due to lack of opportunity. Serge Gnabry was frozen out at Arsenal and let go for literally nothing now he is the toast of the Bundesliga and now signed long term at Bayern Munich after an outstanding two seasons with first Werder Bremen and then on loan from Hoffienham from Bayern. Hemade the right choice to leave. Ovie Ejaria was released from Arsenal at 16 now at Liverpool having played quite a few first team games the rest is now History, England U21 international. If he had remained at Arsenal, would he be in the first team, very much doubt it. Raheem Sterlng was invited to Arsenal but chose QPR instead because he felt he would have more opportunity, well he was dam right. Chuks Aneke was described by Arsene Wenger as the like Yaya Toure, was even invited to Nigeria U17 and then forgotten he was not given opportunity so left. A bad injury kept him out football for almost two seasons last season he came back to league 1 MK Dons and was simply outstanding. Thats him below if you cant remember him. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q1lmSbKqdZA |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by ChrisKels: 7:42pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
ykalhaji:Na u go still be the first to say we invite players from the back water leagues forgetting that our players should go where there is money since thats how they earn a living. Abeg no cry tomorrow if u c the team filled with chinese players and Ivorien team filled with French ligue 1 players. U know the Ivoriens dont love money neither do they have families to feed. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by komekn(m): 7:45pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
charlesemeka85:I agree with you in bold. But it such an anti climax after all the talk of all these big clubs you settle for a relegation bound team. If Liverpool think he is quality they will pay but i assure you they did not, that is if they were ever interested in the first place. Disappointed i too got carried away with the hype. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by ChrisKels: 7:46pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
Joebie:Nawa oo. Thanks jor |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by ChrisKels: 7:57pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
charlesemeka85:Even though I dont rate SiMoses highly. Even though I believe Onyekuru is a better player than him, I still wish he joined Liverpool bro. Dont masturbate over this news yet, it's owngoalnigeria.com report after all. Don't turn to a troll because of Forgiveness. These guys are all our players |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 7:59pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
this kid showed too much promise when he was an arsenal youth team player. komekn: |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 8:02pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
lmao okay bro well noted. but if the move materializes its a step up for him. good performances in a season or two will make the likes of dortmund, levekusen and bayern to take notice of him. a good number of nigerian players will make decent moves this summer ChrisKels: |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 8:05pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
lmao no mind some here wey they hype our players like the english hype theirs. the gospel truth is we have decent and average players not world beaters as some makes us to believe here ![]() komekn: |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by ChrisKels: 8:06pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
charlesemeka85:I couldn't find this news elsewhere, so I dont believe it. Owngoalnigeria.com is never a credible site. KPOM |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 8:08pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
it feels good to be back here.. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 8:08pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
welcome Danielnino00: |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by ChrisKels: 8:09pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
charlesemeka85:You are new here, else u would have understood that the man u quoted is the chief hyper, the only different is that he hypes the Anglo Nigerians instead of the Nigerian born players. U making mockery of urself bro. Stop already. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by Amedino99(m): 8:24pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
komekn:it has been posted here before ooo |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by andrew444(m): 8:24pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
ChrisKels:Understood |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by komekn(m): 8:54pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
BascoVanVeli:Past two seasons they have been escaping relegation on the last game of the season. Literally the great escape, that's creates instability and it's difficult to play good football when you are struggling to survive. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by goldfish80(m): 9:05pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
komekn:Let me start with the John Fashanu story. When a man like Fashanu arranges a program which he took the participants to UK labeling these guys Nigeria all star, I think you should ask yourself how he came about this program in the first place. Do we have a functional academy league where he took out the best and labeled them "All star"? I hope you know " football with Fash" was an elaborate scam cooked up by the colorful character that is Fashanu which each participant numbering thousands paid fees and bought forms to participate. As a matter of fact, Efcc was involved at a point to investigate that program. If indeed, we have a Nigerian U17 all star, can you bet your money that England u17s can get a draw against them in a FIFA organized competition? Do you know how many competitions Fc Abuja academy have won outside the shores of Nigeria? Even Fc Inter academy of Enugu and one other academy from Onitsha, Bolowoton, Buruj academy have participated in organized tournaments in Europe and came out tops. Some of these tournaments these guys have won included participants from England, Spain and the Nordic countries. As a matter of fact, Fc Abuja won a particular finals beating Real Madrid youth team. I'm going out of my way to say some of these things so as to clear you that the story about a Nigerian all star getting drubbed 8:1 by an English academy means very little because there is indeed nothing like a Nigerian All star. It is not beyond Fashanu to carry people who are not footballers to the UK. I won't say more than this. Good you mentioned K. Nwakali if born in England would have to play, get noticed and navigate through the murky waters of nepotism and every other bottle neck to get a contract. I agree, but have can you image what guys like K. Nwakali has to go through in Nigeria before they even get attention of national selectors, battle through over 5 thousand players most of who have letter of recommendation from politicians, ex players and the likes. Take for instance the story of Victor Moses in England. He basically was seen playing in the park by a crystal palace agent who invited him over to their academy, he stood out in his first training session with the U13s and the rest is history. This story is not different from that of Moses Odubanjo and so many others. A typical Ajegunle born player will have a much more though part, almost e100, to Crystal palace than Victor Moses did.The odds are fully stacked against him. You have a young Nigerian boy who had to deal with his father's demise early in his life, helped his mother in her petty business to survive and get a soccer boot, navigated his way through politics, man know man, quoter system, nepotism, bribery, hunger to get himself into the Nigerian U17, captained the team and won a world championship, won the Mvp and got signed by Arsenal. In search of development, this same boy was farmed out to Holland at 18, living alone, different language and culture. Proved himself in that league by winning a few man of the match award, adjudged the best Arsenal loanee by a reputable Arsenal youth team expert Jorge Bird, sent on loan again to the Dutch first division were he got less playing time but still have a goal to show for his effort in 300 mins he played (mind you, he is a deep lying playmaker). Back on loan to the 2nd div, he scored 4 goals in the 2nf half of the season. Now, this same guy have a shot at Fc Porto. Yet, you think he has done nothing and he has things handed to him because Nigerians see him as a golden boy. I took out my time to say all these so you get the proper perspective, because I see a total disconnection in your narrative and bias. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by SlayerForever: 9:05pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
BascoVanVeli:Thank you for posting this. Underestimating teams is a punter's nightmare. If you know,you know |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by forgiveness: 9:21pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
komekn:Honestly, I can't get any official information on the MOTM he won in the second division of Dutch league. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by daveP(m): 9:27pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
ChrisKels:Yeah lots of immigrants stories and France is always the location. so I'm not surprised. Many Ibadan peeps even say that it's not Adesanmi that makes him Nigerian, but that name Mbappe. They say it's actually "Oluwambape" I.e "It's God I'd have called" (shrugs) With the immigrant influx I can't doubt that, especially knowing the story of Zidane being Algerian too. Some demeaning Nigerians would actually arise and start the bad belle stance by saying its not true, or that we claim them when they succeed. I care less about that na. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 9:33pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
komekn:They faced relegation twice but they have also showed character to get out of it 2 times. In Germany, Bayern is the only club that u can beat ur chest and be sure about. All other spots are up for grabs. U follow English football so I am sure u know that Burnley were candidates for relegation prior to last season but they ended up bagging a European spot. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by daveP(m): 9:36pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
safarigirl:hope you enjoyed your vacation from. on here, cos I noticed. Oh lemme not start on why.... |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by komekn(m): 9:40pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
charlesemeka85:This is the bit I do not get. We can invite players from Norway, Cyprus, Dutch, Isreal league who are not the stand out players in those leagues. Even academy players who have not really smelled first team football yet. But not outstanding players in the lower league of English football. It's quite common for outstanding players in league one even league two to leap frog straight into the EPL into top teams. For example, Ademola Lookman, Gomez. Dele Alli, Ethan Ampadu from Exeter( league 2) to Chelsea, Mason Holdgate Everton RB from Barnsley. etc etc. |
| Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2027, 2028 And 2030 World Cup by daveP(m): 9:45pm On Jul 04, 2018 |
Putting any kind of typical kwaruption stories or happenings aside, if €2.5million is invested in a NPFL team like Heartland FC, Rangers, Sunshine Stars or Loving stars,.... we would have a rejuvenation that would be a money spinner and eye opener for those handling our sports. IUFC is looking like Asif they don't know how to do stuff. Do they even have a plan, take less, a master plan? Sometimes I wonder everyday if officiating improves, if the rest of the clubs won't improve and earn FIFA recognition for this refs. |
Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen • Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) • AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) • 2 • 3 • 4
Viewing this topic: WarHammer2000, EElopa, FiveFootNinja(m), Mujtahida, SymphonyRad, geonyte(m), Justice505, comodo, zuchyblink(m), opes, charlesemeka85(m), minfelix(m), 10cedes and 14 guest(s)