Stats: 3,143,231 members, 7,780,444 topics. Date: Thursday, 28 March 2024 at 02:25 PM

Treasury Bills In Nigeria - Investment (699) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Investment / Treasury Bills In Nigeria (4381817 Views)

Fixed Deposits Or Treasury Bills, Which Is Better? / Fixed Deposit And Treasury Bill Investments From Abroad / I Need Information On Treasury Bills In Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (696) (697) (698) (699) (700) (701) (702) ... (2216) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by ahiboilandgas: 10:04am On Feb 16, 2019
Grupo:

Hmmm, your post is very inspirational. I hope to reach your level soon.

I'd love to ask a few "personal" questions. Hope you would not mind answering.

Do you have a conventional 9 to 5 job or you run your own business? I think it's easier to grow your funds in TB with a salaried job.

Well, I will be 28 by June this year and I only have around 4m in treasury bills. You have just inspired me to work harder.

I deprive myself of so many things to save more than 70% of my income each month. No girlfriend, no car and no expensive phones.

Instead of a flat, I manage a small self con in a very quiet town with virtually no social life.
yes I have a job and do lot of bussiness in logistic...wet haulage....with your 4 m in are in good path already....it will around 8 m by 32 years and might be 10 m by then if u keep topping up...the interest might be enough for you to maintenance your self that 120 k permonth and your salary with be on perpetually save and invest mode...girl friends are drain on resources and quest for financial freedom and to conquere poverty but some girls are very beautiful and tempting....alway go for a woman that is an asset with some income and not this broke was slay queens

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Grupo(m): 10:12am On Feb 16, 2019
ahiboilandgas:
yes I have a job and do lot of bussiness in logistic...wet haulage....with your 4 m in are in good path already....it will around 8 m by 32 years and might be 10 m by then if u keep topping up...the interest might be enough for you to maintenance your self that 120 k permonth and your salary with be on perpetually save and invest mode...girl friends are drain on resources and quest for financial freedom and to conquere poverty but some girls are very beautiful and tempting....alway go for a woman that is an asset with some income and not this broke was slay queens

Hahaha.
Agbaletu:

You guys have proven some of us here wrong that most of the younger ones are not serious. If you guys can continue like this, I can tell you that you will be better than most of your mates in the next few years.
Do you know that my driver's phone is even more expensive than mine? He once asked me, why am I living like a poor man? I just hand waved him and told him not to worry. I work 9 - 5, and I still manage to finish my PhD two years ago and my employer is not aware till now.
Aside shoes, I don't use expensive things.

I am always delighted reading inspirational messages form the younger ones.
Guys, keep it up. Hope to meet any of you someday.

Thanks for the kind words.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by ahiboilandgas: 10:14am On Feb 16, 2019
Agbaletu:

You guys have proven some of us here wrong that most of the younger ones are not serious. If you guys can continue like this, I can tell you that you will be better than most of your mates in the next few years.
Do you know that my driver's phone is even more expensive than mine? He once asked me, why am I living like a poor man? I just hand waved him and told him not to worry. I work 9 - 5, and I still manage to finish my PhD two years ago and my employer is not aware till now.
Aside shoes, I don't use expensive things.

I am always delighted reading inspirational messages form the younger ones.
Guys, keep it up. Hope to meet any of you someday.
you are my type of man ...my friend that is yet to complete his house is using I phone x wetin i ask him how much he say it 550 k ...am sure he doesn't have capital of 3 m i ask him what special thing the phone does he can't answer that is part of packaging ...and when he is broke will downgrade to a lower phone and use the difference ...i told him why not buy a 80 k phone instead and buy gold of 480 and keep and sell do time of need...the iPhone screen is 70 k ....

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by skyangel(f): 10:24am On Feb 16, 2019
mahvie:

dont be soo fast to jump into a conclusion. you could have gonr ahead to ask for clarification from the branch before "concluding"

@ mahvie, you wan pull my leg abi?
On a serious note, i haven't gone back to ask why it happened that way, i only based my conclusion on that single experience and again, if you've been able to reinvest through their primary mkt, pls share it

Me wey still dey operate small money level prefer to get both capital n interest at the end of the tenure
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by deepwater(f): 11:04am On Feb 16, 2019
Gurus in the house, please explain how the NTB works during the military regime.

Please treat as urgent .

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by kristien4(m): 11:50am On Feb 16, 2019
deepwater:
Gurus in the house, please explain how the NTB works during the military regime.

Please treat as urgent .
Lol... this one is afraid of election crisis and military takeover.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Akin3891: 12:33pm On Feb 16, 2019
ahiboilandgas:
you are my type of man ...my friend that is yet to complete his house is using I phone x wetin i ask him how much he say it 550 k ...am sure he doesn't have capital of 3 m i ask him what special thing the phone does he can't answer that is part of packaging ...and when he is broke will downgrade to a lower phone and use the difference ...i told him why not buy a 80 k phone instead and buy gold of 480 and keep and sell do time of need...the iPhone screen is 70 k ....

Funniest thing is that most of them using the expensive iPhones don't even know much of its functions. Last year my co-brother in-law came from US, gift my wife iPhone worth 300k,i told her she doesn't need it cos the children will useless it, she agreed n we sold it then added the money to her business. Sometimes ago, i was with her same sister whose husband gave out the gift, she is using 550k worth of iPhone , there was a need to use a browser on her phone, pretty bad she doesn't even know where it's located,.Then i asked.. why r u with d phone, she said facebook, whtsapp n to call out. Common,the cheapest android can do that. As an investor, you have to deprive ur self some unnecessary luxury life in order to achieve ur goals,good lifestyle don't come easy. I remember 13 yrs ago, was living in a boy-squater of a ten flat at the front, most of the tenants called me n my family boysquater boys, i will just put on a smile. Withing four years i was able to build my own house n they were amazed when i was set to pack out. NTB is not overnight riches thing, you need to plan 5/7 years ahead now, that i told my wife. I like this ntb investments because it encourages me to safe for the future and also to enjoy "responsibly" . I hate mentioning figures but in 5 yrs time with this ntb, i shall be a KING in my own world,God willing. God bless our hustle

26 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by GonFreecss1: 1:12pm On Feb 16, 2019
Agbaletu:

You guys really get heart o. I can't invest 8 digits via any App. Even I can't try 7 digits with the App. Are you guys really investing millions via this App?

Lol. Why this paranoia na?

People who trade on the Nigerian stock market nkan? So they shouldn't use app? Lol! Una funny!
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by chigo4u: 2:26pm On Feb 16, 2019
deepwater:

Please treat as urgent .
Are you suggesting a military regime is coming?
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by deepwater(f): 3:12pm On Feb 16, 2019
chigo4u:

Are you suggesting a military regime is coming?

My brother someone predicted this election shift one year ago, same person is predicting something that sounds some how today again. This was one front page today.

NTB is an investment and not a charity offering
You need to know how much your investment is secured
More importantly when u have deprived yourself of some "enjoyment" your mates are "enjoying" just because you want a better future. Then one khaki gang will come and start turningoninown

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by GonFreecss1: 3:24pm On Feb 16, 2019
deepwater:

My brother someone predicted this election shift one year ago, same person is predicting something that sounds some how today again. This was one front page today.

NTB is an investment and not a charity offering
You need to know how much your investment is secured
More importantly when u have deprived yourself of some "enjoyment" your mates are "enjoying" just because you want a better future. Then one khaki gang will come and start turningoninown

If what you think will happen, happens... even money in your bank account will be gone.

Your physical naira note will be useless. Anything that will make Nigerian Treasury bills to fail, anything naira both in bank account and physical note will too. It's that simple.
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Agbaletu: 3:29pm On Feb 16, 2019
GonFreecss1:

If what you think will happen, happens... even money in your bank account will be gone.

Your physical naira note will be useless. Anything that will make Nigerian Treasury bills to fail, anything naira both in bank account and physical note will too. It's that simple.
Same answer I gave a friend a month ago.
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by deepwater(f): 3:48pm On Feb 16, 2019
GonFreecss1:

It's more than two options of NTB and Local banks.

We can take our money outa this country

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by manlikegb: 3:50pm On Feb 16, 2019
Agbaletu:

Same answer I gave a friend a month ago.

@ahiboilandgas, @Agbaletu, @Akin3891..

So much encouraging posts today. Kudos to you guy and the upcoming too. These goes a long way in motivating others and may we all achieve great things.
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by IyawoToBe(f): 4:09pm On Feb 16, 2019
ahiboilandgas:
I started with around 800 k ,in 2007 now exceeds 50 m..am around mid 30 infact by 2023 my holding with pass 100 m ....and my life long ambition to earn 1 million per month from treasury bill is near..i don't know of am rich or poor but the feeling is nice..
..i don't have an iPhone x this my phone is 40 k ,I used a Honda 2007 (1.4m) and still buy tokunbo shirts (1500 ) jeans 3 k and shoe 5k to 7k ...,I book flight online to get discount and also luv discount shops ...i luv good food so I have a chef that make my meals at time and visit club like quilox or sip atime to spend 5 k...i also give put to charity like 100 k annually ...it a long route to legitimate wealth ....but not easy but very possible ....i don't think am hard working....it a combination of luck ,perseverance, and spirit of keep pushing it will click by God grace ...in 2007 was earning 70 k as a graduate and had a car from my university so I sold the car add my salary saving keep in fix deposit planing to save for my Msc in the UK,I didn't get the visa then I used 200 k to so a MBA in nigeria then the prof taught me treasury bills bond and stock then I became addicted my babe even ran cos I keep prosp the wedding.....so starter don't feel discourage in 5 years time your capital will double and might triple if u keep adding ...am sit.planing to go to Canada via express entry to continue hustling and study for phd...nb typo errors
Welldone!!!

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Akerewe(m): 6:51pm On Feb 16, 2019
skyangel:
Since i've gained a whole lot of knowledge from this very thread, i equally want to give a little contribution based on recent experience with stanbic.
I submitted 2 forms to purchase tbills from both secondary mkt & primary (last auction), i gave instruction that both interest be reinvested, though no space in their form to fill in that.. Just told the banker who used biro to note it on the two forms.
Result i got.: The interest was reinvested for the secondary while that of primary was left smiling in my account.
Was i disappointed? YES
My conclusion based on the above, Stanbic can reinvest interest only if it's secondary & not primary auction

Any one with contrary experience fron stanbic may share
kudos madam, kindly buttress ur clue with figures. for instance, u invest 1million naira @15% pa. nd u invest both upfront interest along in d deal, how much will ur cumulative investment yield be @ maturity?
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Speedyconnect15: 8:38pm On Feb 16, 2019
CompareDBest:
This reply is for reinvesting your interest to compound it, or get the True Yield of T-Bills. Please skip or ignore if capitalize means something entirely different:

Ogas on this thread with experience on the matter discussed this most recently on pages 689 and 690. However, if you are time poor like all of us really, try these main replies:
https://www.nairaland.com/878880/treasury-bills-nigeria/688#75396323
https://www.nairaland.com/878880/treasury-bills-nigeria/689#75409612

If we were to summarise
> FirstBank (maybe few others) explicitly offer reinvesting interest on their application forms
> GTBank does not explicitly offer, however, because it only deducts the discounted amount (Capital - upfront Interest), you can state the amount you want to invest is (Capital + upfront interest). GTB then deducts your full capital, including what would have been your upfront interest. Example, say you know the t-bills rate of your bank to be 10%, and you have N900k to invest. If you say you had N900k to invest, GTB will deduct only N810k and credit you with N900k at maturity. However, with this trick, you say you have N1m to invest, then your full N900k will be deducted and you get N1m at maturity.
> It may logically follow that other banks which deduct only discounted amount, not those that deduct full amount then credit back upfront interest even if minutes apart, might also allow the GTBank trick above
> caution should be taken to test above first, even with GTBank as Oga freeman67 only did it ages ago, and every bank does it's own checks differently.
> Also important, in addition to the capital to be deducted, account should have spare cash for all charges (commission, custodian/safekeeping, transaction, processing, 5% VAT on some or all of the preceding fees)

Good contribution so far sir!

Do you know what happens upon liquidation before maturity.

If I invest 1m at 10% for 365 days, what happens if i need money for emergeny and I liquidate on the 100th day?

Some people said here that I could lose all interests and even my capital. This stems from the premise that rates at the time I am liquidating, could be at 18% whereas I did it at 10%. Their belief is that same T bills will be resold to someone that will now hold till maturity, however at higher interest rate now-- 18%.

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

ahiboilandgas
Agbaletu
Gonfreecss1
Akin2891
Feelamong
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Speedyconnect15: 8:42pm On Feb 16, 2019
ahiboilandgas:
I started with around 800 k ,in 2007 now exceeds 50 m..am around mid 30 infact by 2023 my holding with pass 100 m ....and my life long ambition to earn 1 million per month from treasury bill is near..i don't know of am rich or poor but the feeling is nice..
..i don't have an iPhone x this my phone is 40 k ,I used a Honda 2007 (1.4m) and still buy tokunbo shirts (1500 ) jeans 3 k and shoe 5k to 7k ...,I book flight online to get discount and also luv discount shops ...i luv good food so I have a chef that make my meals at time and visit club like quilox or sip atime to spend 5 k...i also give put to charity like 100 k annually ...it a long route to legitimate wealth ....but not easy but very possible ....i don't think am hard working....it a combination of luck ,perseverance, and spirit of keep pushing it will click by God grace ...in 2007 was earning 70 k as a graduate and had a car from my university so I sold the car add my salary saving keep in fix deposit planing to save for my Msc in the UK,I didn't get the visa then I used 200 k to so a MBA in nigeria then the prof taught me treasury bills bond and stock then I became addicted my babe even ran cos I keep prosp the wedding.....so starter don't feel discourage in 5 years time your capital will double and might triple if u keep adding ...am sit.planing to go to Canada via express entry to continue hustling and study for phd...nb typo errors

You have always been a big man naa.
70k salary at 2007 is like 150k now in bubu economy. cool

Are you sure you will enjoy canny given what you make monthly here in naija?

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by mymadam(m): 9:07pm On Feb 16, 2019
Akerewe:
good day great investors,
pls how long does it take to liquidate a treasure Bill with stanbic bank...
Same day/24 hrs... from experience
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Buffalowings3(m): 12:56am On Feb 17, 2019
Hmm..
I was in the wilderness last year, barely surviving and only able to save 10k a month..liquidated some of my ecobank mutual funds that grew almost 50% in two years to fund my rent.
I have hope this year.. 200k sitting pretty in my account and it is only February.
I've never been happier.. cry cry
Just have to wait it out some more before I go back investing..

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by SifonAbasi(f): 2:01am On Feb 17, 2019
Hello house, pls can one buys Tbills from a bank h/she does not have an acct with? Also is National ID, PVC or Intl passport a requirement? Thanks
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by zamirikpo(m): 2:15am On Feb 17, 2019
GonFreecss1:

Military takeover doesn't close down the CBN.....thinhs will continue in khaki. The fear is conflicts and war and by that time even banks won't open .

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by zamirikpo(m): 2:17am On Feb 17, 2019
ahiboilandgas:
[b][/b]

I admire ur humility......wet haulage alias oil and gas.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by skyangel(f): 8:44am On Feb 17, 2019
Akerewe:
kudos madam, kindly buttress ur clue with figures. for instance, u invest 1million naira @15% pa. nd u invest both upfront interest along in d deal, how much will ur cumulative investment yield be @ maturity?

For the secondary, i invested just 600k, @14.2% for 356days. From the e'certificate mailed me, i'll be getting 696k at maturity. Note that some change of less than 500 naira was returned to my acct.

For primary, the interest was paid upfront, the rate was about 14.854% (from my calculations) for 364 days

Hope my explanation is clear
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Ojix85: 9:51am On Feb 17, 2019
I recommend the book “Your money or your life” to members of this thread.

There’s a global movement of millennials called “FIRE - Financial Independence Retire Early”.

The goal is to work your behind off, while saving/investing the bulk of your income such that the proceeds of your investment can cater for your current standard of living.

Financial independence has a number to everyone. Eg : 100mill, 200mill etc. Find yours.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Desanta(m): 10:13am On Feb 17, 2019
Ojix85:
I recommend the book “Your money or your life” to members of this thread.

There’s a global movement of millennials called “FIRE - Financial Independence Retire Early”.

The goal is to work your behind off, while saving/investing the bulk of your income such that the proceeds of your investment can cater for your current standard of living.

Financial independence has a number to everyone. Eg : 100mill, 200mill etc. Find yours.

True talk .
My financial independence is to earn 500k minimum monthly from my investment. That I hope to achieve by the end of next year, God willing. Then I'm ready for retirement.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by deepwater(f): 10:21am On Feb 17, 2019
GonFreecss1:

so can we take the money out of Nigeria now?
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by igbizen(m): 12:01pm On Feb 17, 2019
Hello all, I just started Tbills on the 13th of feb. I gave an instruction for the interest to be reinvested. I did 3mill for 364days, but was debited #2,999,680. later I was debited #1,840 for safe keep. How do I know what am entitled to at the end of 364days. please I need advice becos my target is to get to 100mill in 10years, with continuous top up. I also learnt the next bidding is on the 26th of Feb. I hope to do two million but I need to know what is happening to my first 3million. Thanks for your help.
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Ibrahim505(m): 12:12pm On Feb 17, 2019
igbizen:
Hello all, I just started Tbills on the 13th of feb. I gave an instruction for the interest to be reinvested. I did 3mill for 364days, but was debited #2,999,680. later I was debited #1,840 for safe keep. How do I know what am entitled to at the end of 364days. please I need advice becos my target is to get to 100mill in 10years, with continuous top up. I also learnt the next bidding is on the 26th of Feb. I hope to do two million but I need to know what is happening to my first 3million. Thanks for your help.
Ask the bank about your investment advice.
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Pharmtj: 3:25pm On Feb 17, 2019
Akin3891:

Funniest thing is that most of them using the expensive iPhones don't even know much of its functions. Last year my co-brother in-law came from US, gift my wife iPhone worth 300k,i told her she doesn't need it cos the children will useless it, she agreed n we sold it then added the money to her business. Sometimes ago, i was with her same sister whose husband gave out the gift, she is using 550k worth of iPhone , there was a need to use a browser on her phone, pretty bad she doesn't even know where it's located,.Then i asked.. why r u with d phone, she said facebook, whtsapp n to call out. Common,the cheapest android can do that. As an investor, you have to deprive ur self some unnecessary luxury life in order to achieve ur goals,good lifestyle don't come easy. I remember 13 yrs ago, was living in a boy-squater of a ten flat at the front, most of the tenants called me n my family boysquater boys, i will just put on a smile. Withing four years i was able to build my own house n they were amazed when i was set to pack out. NTB is not overnight riches thing, you need to plan 5/7 years ahead now, that i told my wife. I like this ntb investments because it encourages me to safe for the future and also to enjoy "responsibly" . I hate mentioning figures but in 5 yrs time with this ntb, i shall be a KING in my own world,God willing. God bless our hustle
thanks for sharing, I just love your sincerity.

Kudos Man.
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Akin3891: 5:36pm On Feb 17, 2019
Pharmtj:
thanks for sharing, I just love your sincerity.

Kudos Man.

U r welcome. My same sister in-laws is about to join our NTB league now after my advice, i believe she will say a big thank you in 5 yrs to come . We all just need someone to show us the right way up, because wht we have now is not wht make us a rich one, but what we continue to acquire , added with wht we already had makes the difference.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Logictinz: 8:09pm On Feb 17, 2019
GonFreecss1:

Good day all, please is this some facts, I want to know please. Save money finish, e con enter voice mail? God forbid oooo.

(1) (2) (3) ... (696) (697) (698) (699) (700) (701) (702) ... (2216) (Reply)

Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts

Viewing this topic: Nichee and 4 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 80