Stats: 3,148,855 members, 7,802,741 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 08:30 PM

USA Visit Visa Part 3 - Travel (467) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / USA Visit Visa Part 3 (1168608 Views)

USA Visit Visa Part 4 / USA Visit Visa Part 4 / DIY Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa - Part 2 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (464) (465) (466) (467) (468) (469) (470) ... (508) (Go Down)

Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Hmebaze: 1:20pm On Feb 19, 2019
Yes it was Issued on the 14, that was my val Gift hahahaha. was cool although i had beeen to the US yeas ago but stayed for over 3 weeks guess thats why it went through admin processing. I tried to reach you privately though...
Teshoma111:
Hmebaze, has your visa finally been issued? I sent you a message.

Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Teshoma111: 1:22pm On Feb 19, 2019
Oh wow. Congrats. It took almost a month right?

So i know how long to wait. lol.

Hmebaze:
Yes it was Issued on the 14, that was my val Gift hahahaha. was cool although i had beeen to the US yeas ago but stayed for over 3 weeks guess thats why it went through admin processing. I tried to reach you privately though...
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Drlag: 3:24pm On Feb 19, 2019
Somebody should please respond to these questions abeg. Thanks

Pls nairalanders, I need your advise.
I had applied to the US for visit visa last year but was denied. In my application, I was going for vacation/ sight seeing on my own...no invitation letter.
This year, my cousin who entered the US through masters programme, later got married and stayed back is willing to invite me. So my questions are??

1. Does US questions the mode of entering the by the person inviting the applicant even though he/ she now lives there legally
2. Should I still maintain my initial plan of visiting without INVITE or get the invite from my cousin as this will reduce financial expectation from me

Thanks.
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Chibuking81(m): 3:28pm On Feb 19, 2019
Hmebaze:
Congratulations.

My cousin a Rev. fr. who is legally based in US has email to me the invitation to come over and spend my vacation in his place, he addressed the later to US embassy Nigeria. Since they don't ask of invitation at point of the interview, do I need to ask him to email the soft copy of the invitation to USA embassy here in Nigeria where my interview will take place?
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by angeland(f): 5:01pm On Feb 19, 2019
Please guys I need you help oh! I have applied for US visa 3times and i I have been denied. The most painful thing is that I have a 2year vaild U.K. Visa! The last interview I attended on may 18th 2018, the VO did not even go through my passport! My main reason for visiting US is to see my mother. The last time I saw her was 2017,when she came home to buried her younger sister. She is 76yrs old and lived with my elder sisters. I don't understand the reason why I was denied. All the VO said was that I am not qualify for the visa issued me a green sheet of paper that stated section 214 balbalbal...... if is U.K. Visa, they will start in clear terms why you are being denied visa and you will be able to rectify the issue! Which happened to me in 2015, and I applied again in 2016 and was issued 6months visa, after that I applied for 2yrs in 2017 which is going to expired in March 2019. I am in London now, will come back to Nigeria end of February. I want to apply for US visa again in June. So how do go about it this time!
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Ess: 5:59pm On Feb 19, 2019
Teshoma111:
Lool, sorry jare. had issues with my password.

I am also looking for cheap tickets grin

Hehe...mine is understandable na August, one of the busiest month to travel because of holiday and summer.
What month are you looking at?
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Kellyyoung12: 6:08pm On Feb 19, 2019
Hello room. Pls can we go along to the embassy with our mobile phone? Is it allow
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Ess: 6:12pm On Feb 19, 2019
flourishing247:
grin. Try jumiatravelng. They have cheap tickets. Book and confirm directly with the airline. That's what I do

Its same thing I'm getting with sky scanner and travel start.
I'm just tired with tickets nearly 600k!

I like to do multi-city booking whenever Im going to the US because of the distance between states, arrive in the west side and depart via east side.
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Hmebaze: 6:33pm On Feb 19, 2019
I got some really good deals on Travel start, however i think it depends on your destination and your travel time, Where are you going to and when also where are you traveling from? i am leaving from Abuja and i got ATL for 377k thats ok if you ask me. Try Travelsrt.com.ng it might help
Ess:

I like to do multi-city booking whenever Im going to the US because of the distance between states, arrive in the west side and depart via east side.

Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Hmebaze: 6:35pm On Feb 19, 2019
Bro, i do not think i am convinced with this story you are telling, Not to sound really cocky here but read this topic from the begining and you can plan your trip very well. I was ones denied and i came here, read this silently for a year and reapplied and Yes i got it after then. Perhaps you should read this and stop asking some "NOT TOO SMART' questions
Chibuking81:

Congratulations.

My cousin a Rev. fr. who is legally based in US has email to me the invitation to come over and spend my vacation in his place, he addressed the later to US embassy Nigeria. Since they don't ask of invitation at point of the interview, do I need to ask him to email the soft copy of the invitation to USA embassy here in Nigeria where my interview will take place?

Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Chibuking81(m): 6:42pm On Feb 19, 2019
Hmebaze:
Bro, i do not think i am convinced with this story you are telling, Not to sound really cocky here but read this topic from the begining and you can plan your trip very well. I was ones denied and i came here, read this silently for a year and reapplied and Yes i got it after then. Perhaps you should read this and stop asking some "NOT TOO SMART' questions
Maybe I made mistake to be asking question in this forum, because most of the answer I got wasn't encouraging. I never ask smart question, I ask really question, if others have any other thing in my while asking, my very person will not do that. I ask really question, because I believed that what is mine is mine, and what is not mine is not mine.

Sorry for asking, will not ask again. By God grace my next comment here will be sharing of my testimony, which will be very soon this year.
Thanks for your effort and understanding.
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Hmebaze: 6:55pm On Feb 19, 2019
Amen Bro, wish you all the best Sir... but Just like i suggested Bro, Please read this from Chapter one, No knowledge spent reading this is a waste. trust me there is a whole lot to learn here.. the Gurus really tried for us to benefit free of charge...
Chibuking81:

Sorry for asking, will not ask again thanks. By God grace my next comment here will be sharing of my testimony, which will be very soon this year.
Thanks for your effort and understanding.

Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Chibuking81(m): 7:06pm On Feb 19, 2019

Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Chibuking81(m): 7:10pm On Feb 19, 2019
Hmebaze:
Amen Bro, wish you all the best Sir... but Just like i suggested Bro, Please read this from Chapter one, No knowledge spent reading this is a waste. trust me there is a whole lot to learn here.. the Gurus really tried for us to benefit free of charge...
OK thanks, I love this your very reply.
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by strangest(m): 7:25pm On Feb 19, 2019
angeland:
Please guys I need you help oh! I have applied for US visa 3times and i I have been denied. The most painful thing is that I have a 2year vaild U.K. Visa! The last interview I attended on may 18th 2018, the VO did not even go through my passport! My main reason for visiting US is to see my mother. The last time I saw her was 2017,when she came home to buried her younger sister. She is 76yrs old and lived with my elder sisters. I don't understand the reason why I was denied. All the VO said was that I am not qualify for the visa issued me a green sheet of paper that stated section 214 balbalbal...... if is U.K. Visa, they will start in clear terms why you are being denied visa and you will be able to rectify the issue! Which happened to me in 2015, and I applied again in 2016 and was issued 6months visa, after that I applied for 2yrs in 2017 which is going to expired in March 2019. I am in London now, will come back to Nigeria end of February. I want to apply for US visa again in June. So how do go about it this time!

am thinking it is best you tell your mom to file a migrant visa for you.... going on a visit visa to see your mom, obviously looks like you wont be coming back because your ties is already there in the US... I may be wrong though but hopefully other gurus in the house may advise you better...
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by OmoBendel24: 7:28pm On Feb 19, 2019
angeland:

Your mum, your sister, what’s their status in the US and most importantly, with what visa or status did they get in? Was any born there?

Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by OmoBendel24: 7:31pm On Feb 19, 2019
Chibuking81:

OK thanks, I love this your very reply.

It’s in your best interest not to get offended, I’m already seeing you drift towards believing your inviter counts a lot in achieving this your US visa pursuit, wrong! Study to show yourself approved in these matters, your gain....

Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by angeland(f): 9:21pm On Feb 19, 2019
OmoBendel24:

Your mum, your sister, what’s their status in the US and most importantly, with what visa or status did they get in? Was any born there?
My Sisters are US citizens. They have been in US since 1988, my mother is has a temporary residence, but am 53yrs old, working, I have properties in Nigeria, so it not as if am that young and besides don't you think am too old to be filling for Immigration visa by my mother?
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by BarristerAlarig: 12:14am On Feb 20, 2019
angeland:

My Sisters are US citizens. They have been in US since 1988, my mother is has a temporary residence, but am 53yrs old, working, I have properties in Nigeria, so it not as if am that young and besides don't you think am too old to be filling for Immigration visa by my mother?

Which one is temporary residence?? Are you sure your mum isn't on a visit visa?? How about your sisters, how did they enter the US??

All this play a huge factor.

Finally, you aren't too old to be filed for. There isn't any age requirement.
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by onibooro(m): 12:30am On Feb 20, 2019
Hello all,

Since I came here to learn more about the experience, I think it is only fair that I also share mine for others to benefit from. Thank you to all the contributors.

So, I had my interview today for a B1/B2 visa at the Lagos Consulate. I was applying with my kids (7 and 4). My wife already had the same B1/B2 visa. The appointment was for 9.30am and we got there at 8.45am. There was quite a crowd at the embassy today. The timeslot we had selected was for 12.30, but the appointment confirmation changed the time to 9.30am, same day.

We were swiped a couple of times and then told to join the queue. And that's when the disorganisation began. There were two queues and the officials said we could join either of them. It turned out that only one of them was in use. So people that came long after we did were going in while the officials kept saying we could stay on the non-moving queue. So we changed queues. At the top of the queue, we came across a very rude official who clearly thought the applicants were a burden, giving snide comments and being generally nasty.

We got into the processing area where we were yet again swiped and then joined another slow-moving queue at around 9.22am. We eventually came to a lady that checked our names against a list and placed a sticker on the passports. We joined a third queue where a barcode sticker was printed and also pasted on the passports. When this was done, we were finally able to sit down. It was almost 10.00am by this time and the kids were getting a little cranky.

Eventually, the same rude official ushered us to join yet another queue from which we walked across the street into the Consulate. Here, we had to remove belts, wristwatches and keys and go through metal detectors. When this was done we walked into the processing area. We passed by a number of people coming out with downcast faces. First queue inside was the intake to scan the barcode on the DS160 invitation letter, next queue was for the fingerprints (kids did not have their fingerprints collected) and finally to meet the Consular.

I was ushered to a window and the man in front was being interviewed. I have to say I was disappointed in his responses and I wasn't surprised that his visa was denied. He had said he was in Napoli on vacation over three different years and when he was asked what he did while there, he responded 'we were driving around, going here and there...'

Anyway, filled with confidence but a little bit of trepidation, I stepped to the window with the kids

VO: Can I have your passports
VO: Why are you going to America?
Me: We want to go on vacation to Orlando, to take the kids to Disney World and Universal Studios, and I would love to see New York afterwards.
VO: Will your wife be joining you on your trip?
Me: Yes, but she was in the US last year on business so she already has a visa
VO: Where did your wife go to in the US?
Me: New York and Boston
VO: I see you have been to France, UAE... When did you go to France? (I had filled this in my application)
Me: 2016
VO: What did you go to do there?
Me: I work with nnn and we had sold some equipment to yyy, so I went with them to demo and get trained on the equipment
VO: How much do you make in a month working for nnn?
Me: All in, fffffff (naira) but the net is between gggggg and hhhhhh (The deductions vary on my salary)
VO: How long have you worked with nnn?
Me: In May, it will become 11 years
VO: I see you were also in (ME country). What did you go to do there? (also filled in my form)
Me: I am currently working there on transfer from nnn
VO: Have you ever travelled with your family on vacation?
Me: Yes. With her (pointing to my daughter) to the UK and UAE, and with him (pointing to my son) to the UAE alone.
VO: When did you go the UK?
Me: My wife studied in the UK so I went with her (pointing to my daughter) in 2012 and 2013.

The visa officer typed a bit, put our passports on the pile of passports on his desk, brought out the white form from a drawer, circled the DHL collection center and said: Your visa has been approved. You can collect your passports in a couple of days at your preferred location in Victoria Island.

Me: Is that all? (after I had collected the form)
VO: Yes, thank you.

And then I could finally take my son who had been holding in his weewee to the bathroom, and then to drink some water from the drinking fountain at the back. It was after 11 when we got out.

General Points
1. I printed all my documents in black and white because my coloured ink was finished. This was not a problem
2. It had been said that passport photographs were required. No one asked for this. I would advise you still take this with you.
3. I took along the GTBank payment confirmation but no one looked at it. I would advise you take this too just in case...
4. Car keys were allowed. I had thought this would be a problem. Of course, phones weren't allowed. Some people dropped their phones at the sentry post outside where there were some policemen hanging around. I don't know if they paid for this or how much was paid.
5. While waiting on the queue, a lady had her driver bring her bathroom slippers to her on the queue and she changed from her heels into the slippers. She went in with the slippers and when I came out and saw her, she had the white paper meaning she got the visa. So while your appearance matters, comfort should be more important because you will be there for a while and standing for most of the time.
6. Speak clearly and audibly. If you have an affected accent, it is more than likely the VO won't even hear what you are saying.
7. I had printed mine and my wife's bank statements and my payslips (all in greyscale), but no one asked for them. These, in addition to the ones I mentioned earlier were all the documents I took with me.
8. The appointment times were not respected. A man in from of me said his interview was for 8.05! Time was already after 9 at this point.
9. I had bounded three passports together for myself (current and previous two). At the intake queue, the lady that attended to us removed the oldest and handed it back to me, probably because it was too bulky.
10. By the time we were done, the crowd had considerably thinned out. This means they processed almost everyone within three hours. This was around a hundred applicants that I estimated.

I hope this has helped. Wishing you all luck in your applications. Remember to avoid using agents and always tell the truth. Also do a honest self-analysis about your chances. Depending on miracles for instance, means you most probably won't get the visa.

And when we've gone and experienced the order, we should come back to Nigeria and insist our leaders provide us with the same, while at the same time, be good citizens.

31 Likes 2 Shares

Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by buzitins: 12:34am On Feb 20, 2019
Experienced travelers please, what could make someone that has been travelling to US and also who has British visa turned back at second screening MMIA Not even US port of entry. A woman was refused bording Delta Airline to Atlantic last week. The Airline claimed they received a call from US immigration not to allow her fly. Am just curious
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by strangest(m): 2:33am On Feb 20, 2019
Please advise, I submitted DS160 without uploading picture, hoping that I can be allowed to come with the picture on the interview date as stated on the website... only for me to try to book appointment and got this...

Effective immediately, visa applicants who do not upload their photos when submitting their DS-160 visa application will be turned away and advised to complete their application by uploading a proper photo. This will usually require the rescheduling of their appointment. The process for uploading photos is easy and is thoroughly explained in our on-line application. Avoid disappointment and delay—upload your photo as part of your visa application!

How do I go about solving this issue... Please someone advise... thanks
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by tunddy(m): 2:53am On Feb 20, 2019
Pls I have an interview with the US embassy next week, i want to go for a conference in the US,pls I want to know the likely questions the US consular will ask before the day of my interview in other to prepare me a head...thanks
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by ardel(f): 4:52am On Feb 20, 2019
How would they know your ties when in some cases your not asked what you do for a living back home, it is really funny
OmoBendel24:

Lolz! No transcript. Just like that? But they did not tie a rope to your neck to follow THEIR process through na.... Must you?

An American citizen for a daughter doesn't in any way mean you will get their visa na. You just have to mostly qualify for it as an individual, basically.

Well, sorry about the refusal.... Go build your ties better for now sha.
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by Ess: 10:36am On Feb 20, 2019
Hmebaze:
I got some really good deals on Travel start, however i think it depends on your destination and your travel time, Where are you going to and when also where are you traveling from? i am leaving from Abuja and i got ATL for 377k thats ok if you ask me. Try Travelsrt.com.ng it might help

Leaving from Abuja:
Arrive Las Vegas/Los Angeles and depart New York back to Abuja.
All in August.

Which airline did you get?
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by KaptainAfrika: 10:41am On Feb 20, 2019
Probably concerned that you wont come back (even if it is illogical), is your mum a Nigerian citizen or an American citizen or both ?

angeland:
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by KaptainAfrika: 10:44am On Feb 20, 2019
1. What conference ?
2. What is this conference all about ?
3. Why this conference ?
4. What is the name of the conference ?
5. How is related to your field ?

tunddy:
Pls I have an interview with the US embassy next week, i want to go for a conference in the US,pls I want to know the likely questions the US consular will ask before the day of my interview in other to prepare me a head...thanks

Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by KaptainAfrika: 10:45am On Feb 20, 2019
Lies, misinformation, something they missed during the interview or review of the form - the person should report to the US Embassy asap, to clear any issue that may have arisen.

buzitins:
Experienced travelers please, what could make someone that has been travelling to US and also who has British visa turned back at second screening MMIA Not even US port of entry. A woman was refused bording Delta Airline to Atlantic last week. The Airline claimed they received a call from US immigration not to allow her fly. Am just curious
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by seyewest(m): 11:04am On Feb 20, 2019
Kellyyoung12:
Hello room. Pls can we go along to the embassy with our mobile phone? Is it allow

No you can't
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by seyewest(m): 11:05am On Feb 20, 2019
Ess:

You're not searching for ticket the right way... Multi city shouldn't be more than N400k
Re: USA Visit Visa Part 3 by seyewest(m): 11:06am On Feb 20, 2019
Hmebaze:

Exactly

(1) (2) (3) ... (464) (465) (466) (467) (468) (469) (470) ... (508)

Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 7 / General Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa Through Skilled Migration. / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 89