Stats: 3,159,264 members, 7,839,337 topics. Date: Friday, 24 May 2024 at 05:07 PM

MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet - Politics (8) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet (21100 Views)

Governor Ikpeazu Dissolves His Cabinet, Recalls Suspended CoS / Oshiomhole: Obaseki Sacked The Only Commissioner I Nominated In His Cabinet / Peter Obi: Why Buhari Is Yet To Form His Cabinet Weeks After Swearing-in (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by samsam2019: 4:11pm On Mar 22, 2019
Cyynthia:
Yoruba Muslims should be very careful.
The silence of some of us Christian Yorubas is not an act of cowardice.

What ever Yoruba Muslims want this time around we are going to give it to them fire for fire. The animal even said that Yoruba Muslims are majority in SW.. who dash monkey Banana ?
That you are loud and good at making unnecessary noise doesn't mean that you are majority .As they say..... empty vessels make the most noise.

Yoruba Christians, it's time for us to wake up and give Yoruba Muslims their own dosage. The islamisation of SW has swung into full gear. This can't happen under my nose. Yoruba Muslims dont and never meant well for us.
Whenever you hear that useless and deceptive slogan "Yoruba is Yoruba " by Yoruba Muslims,, check the situation on ground, Muslims are dominating at that point, but Yoruba muslims won't allow non Muslims to have a say.

If Yoruba Muslims are not hell bent in islamising SW with the help of the caliphate, why is it that Yoruba Christians are not recruited in government jobs ? . If a recruitment is done , 7 out of people recruited will be Muslims
Why do Muslims have where they worship all over the Local governments in Lagos but Christians don't have any ?, yet these people will keep playing the victim card in some cases just to keep deceiving the gullible.. It's still part and parcel of taquia..

Yoruba Christian wake up and face your enemy eye ball to eye ball. If we keep quiet and allow this rubbish to continue, the insurgency in the NE will be a child's play to compare with what might befall SW in future. The radicalism is getting out of hand.

My mention is accessible for Yoruba Muslims to wail as usual . They hate when I am saying the truth especially in the public.. Very hopeless people.
I really doubt if you're Yoruba. If you are you'd know we Yorubas ave no religion and are not stupid enough to hate our brothers all in the name of religion.

In every Yoruba families you'll see Christians and Muslims relating well and even attending each other's religious festivals.

You need to slow down on the bullshit and hatred. Nobody can islamise Yorubaland. We are too enlightened, educated and liberal to happen and this is also why you'll never find a Yoruba Islamic terrorist anywhere
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by Rotimi47: 4:12pm On Mar 22, 2019
BeansAndBread:
Aren't you reading? Look

The Pew Forum in a 2010 report compared reports from several sources.[3] The 1963 Nigerian census found that 38% of the population was Muslim, 36% Christian, and 26% other; the 2008 MEASURE Demographic and Health Survey (DHS) found 53% Muslim, 45% Christian, and 2% other; the 2008 Afrobarometer poll found 50% Christian, 49% Muslim, and 1% other; Pew's own survey found 52% Muslim, 46% Christian, and 1% other.[3][4][5]

Even the above Muslim populated towns you mentioned are densely populated, so what exactly are you talking about?
What I sent to you state 2015 which is more recent than the 2010 or so that you're posting here.

Go and check resent survey and that of CIA as it shows that Christians are more in numbers.

As per the Christian places I mentioned, they are also densely populated and you have 2 or more towns & villages to every town or village with higher Muslim population.

Don't let us speak out of sentiment but based on reality.

Go checkout facts that are there for everyone to see.
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by Emnyte(m): 4:14pm On Mar 22, 2019
samsam2019:
I really doubt if you're Yoruba. If you are you'd know we Yorubas ave no religion and are not stupid enough to hate our brothers all in the name of religion.

In every Yoruba families you'll see Christians and Muslims relating well and even attending each other's religious festivals.

You need to slow down on the bullshit and hatred. Nobody can islamise Yorubaland. We are too enlightened, educated and liberal to happen and this is also why you'll never find a Yoruba Islamic terrorist anywhere
Christians eat with Muslims during ile ya and Muslim eat with Christians during Christmas
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by Emnyte(m): 4:18pm On Mar 22, 2019
as concerning the majority religion in sw, it's too close to know. the only obvious ones are ONDO and Ekiti who are majorly Christians, kwara who are majorly Muslims. other states are evenly distributed.

Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by BeansAndBread(m): 4:18pm On Mar 22, 2019
Rotimi47:
What I sent to you state 2015 which is more recent than the 2010 or so that you're posting here.

It's not 2015, what are you reading exactly?

Go and check resent survey and that of CIA as it shows that Christians are more in numbers.

So does others show Muslims to be majority.

As per the Christian places I mentioned, they are also densely populated and you have 2 or more towns & villages to every town or village with higher Muslim population.

Which places exactly?
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by Rotimi47: 4:19pm On Mar 22, 2019
[quote author=Emnyte post=76888506][/quote]Na.

Osun have more Christians population while Oyo also have more Christians than Muslims and it's growing.

Lagos ain't even as we have more Christians than Muslims.

Ogun State have more Muslims than Christians

Ondo is a majority Christian ( Muslims are visible in Ikare Akoko and few other places)

Ekiti is majorly a Christian State.

Try and recheck your facts..
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by EdiAbali: 4:24pm On Mar 22, 2019
SuperIgbo1:
[s][/s]

Igbos in the SE and SS are 100% Christians. Let that sink.

I'm an Igbo guy and I'm atheist

1 Like 3 Shares

Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by Rotimi47: 4:28pm On Mar 22, 2019
BeansAndBread:

It's not 2015, what are you reading exactly? ( What I am ready or what you're trying to say? )

What you posted state 2010 and mine is 2015. Go and recheck.

So does others show Muslims to be majority. Previous data's put Muslims as slightly higher in Nigeria before 2015 but 2015 to date put the Christian population 2% higher that Muslims in Nigeria.

The South West have always had more Christians than Muslims.

Which places exactly?
Check out my reply in the body of your reply and Kindly expanciate on what you meant by which place.
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by Emnyte(m): 4:32pm On Mar 22, 2019
Rotimi47:
Na.

Osun have more Christians population while Oyo also have more Christians than Muslims and it's growing.

Lagos ain't even as we have more Christians than Muslims.

Ogun State have more Muslims than Christians

Ondo is a majority Christian ( Muslims are visible in Ikare Akoko and few other places)

Ekiti is majorly a Christian State.

Try and recheck your facts..
let's say both religions are roughly even across south west. Although SW streets are quieter on Sundays than Fridays. Yoruba Muslims are more involved in politics why Christians are more educated. things are changing though
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by Nobody: 4:35pm On Mar 22, 2019
Rotimi47:
Lol, Why bring Oyo dialect something like this? I am Yoruba and know a lot about things that have to do with Yoruba.

Lol, I'm trying to show you how the religion geography of Yoruba came to be, nothing more.

Rotimi47:

The way Yoruba is spoken change from one village to another as well as from one town to another. Our spoken Yoruba differ from each other and as such you can say they speak Oyo. Because it similar don't make it the same.

Nope, it doesn't, the way Oro people (igbomina) in Kwara speaks, is the same as Ila orangun (igbomina) in Osun speaks is the same (you can't expect two people to sound the same way. In fact, in our family me and my siblings tends to sound differently due to influence from friends and other places we've been to.

Rotimi47:

Are you saying you have more Muslims in iseyin, Esa-oke, Modakeke, ijebu-ijesha, komu just to mention a few.

Yeah, there are more Muslims in iseyin, ibarapa, Eruwa, and the surrounding areas till nearby Benin republic. Same with Modakeke, because they came from old Oyo to settle in Ile-Ife. Esa-Oke is near Ilesha, so they have more Christians, and Ijebu-Ijesha too are Ijesha people, so they have more Christians. I don't know anything about Komu

Rotimi47:

Furthermore, several ibadan indigenous people have converted to Christianity and I have many of them as friends. Some are even above 80 while some in their 40s.

Yes, some Ibadan indigene have converted, but they're not much, majority of the people you're talking about are probably from Egba, and check well, their family houses will be in southern Ibadan, like Apata, Challenge and other nearby areas. Go to places like Egbeda, Akinyele, Lagelu, Mapo, and you'll find more indigenous Muslims than Christians.

Rotimi47:

I am a Lagosian by all respect/aspect and I ain't a Muslim but my Surname sound like a core Muslim name but I don't have a single Muslim in my family except for relatives who are very few.(Extended ones)

Lemme guess, your surname will be Lawal, or Bello, you're not originally Lagosian, or at some point in your family history, you were Muslims.

Rotimi47:

We Yorubas have always been one but Muric and other fanatics are working to put a divide amongst Yorubas.

Aregbesola also did more harm to Osun by trying to bring religion into politics and that almost overshadowed his programmes.
Yeah, this is annoying, and we should try and stop it as fast as we can

Rotimi47:

Let me say that, facts are there for all to see and it is not hidden. The major avenue that made the Muslims popular in the South West before now was politics and the Chritians are now going into politics as against when they see Nigerian politics/politicians as association of the occults or for the occults.

Lol, this is not true. Awolowo, S.L. Akintola, Bola Ige, Onabanjo, Adefarati, and many more, are you seeing what is common among them?

Rotimi47:

Let me ask you a simply question; why do you think they failed to include region distribution in census results? Go and find out and get back to me with the full truth.

Well I don't know.

Rotimi47:

Inconclusion, all the physical and every other signs and facts shows that we simply have more Christians than Muslims.

We don't even need to know which religion is much in SW, what we need is proper civilization, and good sociopolitical reforms that will help the region.

Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by PeachtreeReside(f): 4:37pm On Mar 22, 2019
Cyynthia:

What ever Yoruba Muslims want this time around we are going to give it to them fire for fire. The animal even said that Yoruba Muslims are majority in SW.. who dash monkey Banana ?
That you are loud and good at making unnecessary noise doesn't mean that you are majority .As they say..... empty vessels make the most noise.

Yoruba Christians, it's time for us to wake up and give Yoruba Muslims their own dosage. The islamisation of SW has swung into full gear. This can't happen under my nose. Yoruba Muslims dont and never meant well for us.
Whenever you hear that useless and deceptive slogan "Yoruba is Yoruba " by Yoruba Muslims,, check the situation on ground, Muslims are dominating at that point, but Yoruba muslims won't allow non Muslims to have a say.

If Yoruba Muslims are not hell bent in islamising SW with the help of the caliphate, why is it that Yoruba Christians are not recruited in government jobs ? . If a recruitment is done , 7 out of people recruited will be Muslims
Why do Muslims have where they worship all over the Local governments in Lagos but Christians don't have any ?, yet these people will keep playing the victim card in some cases just to keep deceiving the gullible.. It's still part and parcel of taquia..

Yoruba Christian wake up and face your enemy eye ball to eye ball. If we keep quiet and allow this rubbish to continue, the insurgency in the NE will be a child's play to compare with what might befall SW in future. The radicalism is getting out of hand.

My mention is accessible for Yoruba Muslims to wail as usual . They hate when I am saying the truth especially in the public.. Very hopeless people.

That is how internal war between Yorubas start. Please don't tow the line of this evil man.

He is being used by something greater than what we know to destroy the unity between Yorubas. Yorubas Muslim and Christians are one and any appointment of a Yoruba into any office is good whether from any of the tribe .

In fact, anyone this guy suggests should be rejected because they will only seek to divide us and not make us grow
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by EdiAbali: 4:41pm On Mar 22, 2019
BeansAndBread:
Whether you like it or not, there are Igbo Muslims. I've met some from Imo, Ebonyi and Enugu states, this is something you can't deny because I've met them korokoro. To even burst your bubble, my neighbor is a Muslim from Cross Rivers! So stop consolidating yourself by deny the obvious, the sad part is these Igbo Muslims are increasing everyday. One of my Igbo friends from IMO was angry at Rochas, when I asked him why, he said Rochas is islamizing Imo States and that Igbos are now embracing Islam because of some activities of Rochas. So stop denying

As an Igbo man in my early 30, I have never seen or met an Igbo Muslim before,
I only know one Igbo man whom people told me was a Muslim, he stayed long in the North, converted and married 2 Hausa women, when he came back to my village, he was practicing Islam but now he's a traditionalist, he lost his first wife, his second wife is now a Christian
Only on the internet I see some people claiming Igbo Muslims,

4 Likes 3 Shares

Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by rexwalters: 4:56pm On Mar 22, 2019
aolawale025:
Appointments from a region should not be faith based
Then appointments should not be region based,it should be based on meritocracy.
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by LZAA: 4:58pm On Mar 22, 2019
Cyynthia:

Cc ibrahimDamola immhotep husbandsnatcha sarrki velocity25 corrinthians

Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by EdiAbali: 4:59pm On Mar 22, 2019
nwanyionitsha:
You are the one insisting on igbo muslims. Now, show us the igbo muslims on nairaland. Abi they aren't online too.

Let him just show you one Igbo celebrity who is a Muslim, whether North or South

Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by EdiAbali: 5:12pm On Mar 22, 2019
nwanyionitsha:
I never knew of their facebook presence, i had to go and look at their page now and i can't see any 'bocu' or maybe there is something else you mean by bocu?
I was expecting like 1million members, but i can't even fine upto 200k subscribers or members on any of their pages or forum.

If there are 10k people in that group, 6k are Hausa, 3k are Yoruba, 950 are other ethnic groups, if there are Igbo Muslims in that group they won't be up to 50

Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by nwanyionitsha: 5:19pm On Mar 22, 2019
EdiAbali:

If there are 10k people in that group, 6k are Hausa, 3k are Yoruba, 950 are other ethnic groups, if there are Igbo Muslims in that group they won't be up to 50
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by Rotimi47: 5:24pm On Mar 22, 2019
mubbyzhe:

Lol, I'm trying to show you how the religion geography of Yoruba came to be, nothing more.

Nope, it doesn't, the way Oro people (igbomina) in Kwara speaks, is the same as Ila orangun (igbomina) in Osun speaks is the same (you can't expect two people to sound the same way. In fact, in our family me and my siblings tends to sound differently due to influence from friends and other places we've been to.

Yeah, there are more Muslims in iseyin, ibarapa, Eruwa, and the surrounding areas till nearby Benin republic. Same with Modakeke, because they came from old Oyo to settle in Ile-Ife. Esa-Oke is near Ilesha, so they have more Christians, and Ijebu-Ijesha too are Ijesha people, so they have more Christians. I don't know anything about Komu

Yes, some Ibadan indigene have converted, but they're not much, majority of the people you're talking about are probably from Egba, and check well, their family houses will be in southern Ibadan, like Apata, Challenge and other nearby areas. Go to places like Egbeda, Akinyele, Lagelu, Mapo, and you'll find more indigenous Muslims than Christians.

Lemme guess, your surname will be Lawal, or Bello, you're not originally Lagosian, or at some point in your family history, you were Muslims.

Yeah, this is annoying, and we should try and stop it as fast as we can

Lol, this is not true. Awolowo, S.L. Akintola, Bola Ige, Onabanjo, Adefarati, and many more, are you seeing what is common among them?

Well I don't know.

We don't even need to know which religion is much in SW, what we need is proper civilization, and good sociopolitical reforms that will help the region.
I totally agree with your conclusion that all the South West need is proper civilization that's more than what we are seeing now and superb reforms that would move the South West forward at an unprecedented rate.

Religion have never been a problem in the South West as I grew up with a childhood friend of mine who is a Muslim and i also had a Muslim friend who live with me during my higher institution days which was decades ago; We never fought or even argued about or over religion as we simply lived like brothers.

Life is all about your faith in GOD ALMIGHTY , the good you do and the best that you make out of it.

Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by Rotimi47: 5:33pm On Mar 22, 2019
Emnyte:
let's say both religions are roughly even across south west. Although SW streets are quieter on Sundays than Fridays. Yoruba Muslims are more involved in politics why Christians are more educated. things are changing though
True; Friday is part work day and worship day while Sunday is weekend, worship day and day of preparation for work on Moday.

The South West is an example of how Muslims and Christians can live in peace but Muric is trying to bring about a divide between us.

Can you believe that though I am a Christian, i had attended lectures on how to read the Quran and how to write Arabic in 1985 or 86! It was due to the love i had for my childhood friend whom we grew up to together.

Life is more than trying to outdo each other or destroy the other person.
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by mandarin: 5:57pm On Mar 22, 2019
Yoruba land is what many societies look forward to in attaining peace on religions. Yoruba are so interwoven and most families have members in all the major religions. However for the sake of information, Yoruba people and may be the country of Brazil have the largest number of christian converts into Pentecostalism in the world but I know China and Iran are also moving fast in rates.

If census is conducted I doubt if Christians in Yoruba land can be less than 68% and shocking it will be because for instance, a place like Ibadan has a huge Muslim to christian converts especially in the old quarters and the 40years and below population are seeing Christianity as more fashionable and being driven into Christianity to overcome challenges of life. Ijebu has lots of christian converts too. The state that can probably still lay claims to more christians than muslims is Kwara in Offa, Omu Aran and even the dominance in Ilorin is not that large at all.

Religion has never been Yoruba problem from time immemorial and groups like MURIC will die a natural death. The effect of Pentecostal christianity is huge in Yoruba land and every effort to slow it down failed and I think in the next 10 years over 70% of under 50years will be christians in that bracket.

The argument however is the philosophical life of the Yoruba that transcend religion.

Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by Temptee101(m): 6:17pm On Mar 22, 2019
mikeweezy:
how you guys so sure this man is a Yoruba man ?
the Yoruba's I do know don't care much about religion they are far away from religion sentiment

No, he is an ipobian...mumu

Don't go and protect your Yoruba Christian family from this dreaded Yoruba Muslims. Keeping shouting we are one until you are used as a scapegoat

Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by SuperIgbo1(m): 6:30pm On Mar 22, 2019
EdiAbali:

I'm an Igbo guy and I'm atheist

Anything other than being a Muslim is copasetic.

Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by manmade(m): 7:06pm On Mar 22, 2019
ā€œWe are therefore demanding Muslim ministers in all the states where the governors are Christians (Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Ondo and Ekiti). This request should be considered against the backdrop of the gross marginalisation which Yoruba Muslims have faced in the past] the coordinator of MURIC seemed to be making some senses here so let's do it in his own way in the spirit of justice and equity as he put it , only that he failed to add that Where Muslim are the governor in any state in Nigeria Christian should be made the ministers and where we have both Christian and Muslim as Governor and Deputy Governor respectively the practitioner of African traditionalist religion should be considered for the ministerial appointment after all we are all one Nigeria and everything is being done in the spirit of equity and justice grin
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by pland(m): 7:07pm On Mar 22, 2019
This head or spoke man for MURIC should be restrained NOW oo, otherwise it may be too late. He's been going too far with his divisive, stone age and crisis prone utterances.

If you've ever come across his comments, he has been peddling hate speeches and stirring up disaffection and disunity in the country. I see him as a solo Boko Haramist. My fellow Nigerians, especially my good people from the Western part; resist this man and all that he represents. What we need in this country is love, unity, progress, faith in each other and not prejudice or religion fanaticism.

God bless us all - Amen
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by ronyking247: 7:17pm On Mar 22, 2019
kanmi4gold:
Christianity is increasing everyday in Yoruba land,Muric is only deceiving the gullible.

Sadly some people Dont know this, but its the truth.
Darkness has and will never comprehend the light.
I know peeps who live in kwara ( most especially Ilorin), the growth of Christianity in that place is alarming, abeit silently. But that's the truth.
You see Muslims with spiritual issues,going to different Alfas, do all, yet just a simple prayer in church they get healed. And what you think will happen to their belief-system? Even if they are Muslim on the open, in their heart they aren't.
There are a lot like that. Several Alhaji, if or when they bow their heads, they pray in Jesus name.
Besides, spiritual healing and all that, Christians still do more charity than any religion. Even in mosque they say it. I have one around me.

It only so sad that Christians Dont know what they have, that we have fake pastors, christians Dont mean there aren't the original. There is no fake N2,000 note, because there is not original one.

For me, the ranting of people like Ishaq Akintola is just nothing, a prayer of agreement will only just shut him down, no mortal can contend with God or Gods people.

To those who understand really power of God, would understand my point better. Paul was more notorious in the Bible days, we read what happened to him, who says Isaq can't see the light of the gospel, it doesn't take God to make that happen.

I wish genuine Christian will make it a point of duty to continually pray that God should make him see His light, have an encounter.

We have seen, read and watch Muslims who'd had these encounters, we see their zeal for the kingdom.

For me, instead of wasting energy here commenting back and forth, I can devote the time to pray for God to encounter him.

Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by emmasege: 8:21pm On Mar 22, 2019
truefact:
The islamists are coming out slowly and steadily... And once the SW is taken over, Nigeria is gone
I tell you.......
This Ishaq Akintola is one mad man that needs to be deleted supernaturally or any other way, if South west wouldn't become another Book Haram territory in few years to come.

The mad man has exhibited insanity in the open for so long.

ISHAQ AKINTOLA IS A THREAT TO NATIONAL AND GLOBAL PEACE.

ATTN: US Embassy, UK high commission, German Embassy etc.
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by emmasege: 8:28pm On Mar 22, 2019
manmade:

ā€œWe are therefore demanding Muslim ministers in all the states where the governors are Christians (Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Ondo and Ekiti). This request should be considered against the backdrop of the gross marginalisation which Yoruba Muslims have faced in the past] the coordinator of MURIC seemed to be making some senses here so let's do it in his own way in the spirit of justice and equity as he put it , only that he failed to add that Where Muslim are the governor in any state in Nigeria Christian should be made the ministers and where we have both Christian and Muslim as Governor and Deputy Governor respectively the practioner of African traditionalist religion should be considered for the ministerial appointment after all we are all one Nigeria and everything is being done in the spirit of equity and justice grin
Did you bother to ask why the mad man didn't raise eyebrows when the three senatorial tickets and gubernatorial ticket were all given to Muslims in Oyo State?
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by BeansAndBread(m): 8:45pm On Mar 22, 2019
EdiAbali:

As an Igbo man in my early 30, I have never seen or met an Igbo Muslim before,
I only know one Igbo man whom people told me was a Muslim, he stayed long in the North, converted and married 2 Hausa women, when he came back to my village, he was practicing Islam but now he's a traditionalist, he lost his first wife, his second wife is now a Christian
Only on the internet I see some people claiming Igbo Muslims,
You not meeting them doesn't mean they don't exist, I met an Igbo Muslim from Imo State in 2013 during an Islamic camp in abuja. I met most in Abuja, I know one who even contested for presidency in 2003 - he was born a Muslim as his father was a Muslim. There many of them, they exist and this is a fact.
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by BeansAndBread(m): 8:48pm On Mar 22, 2019
EdiAbali:

Let him just show you one Igbo celebrity who is a Muslim, whether North or South
What of a politician and a traditional ruler? And as for your reply concerning any group, I'm not referring to any group on facebook but individuals themselves. If you want the handle of the guy, I can give you, just one person you'll find many.
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by BeansAndBread(m): 9:10pm On Mar 22, 2019
mandarin:
Yoruba land is what many societies look forward to in attaining peace on religions. Yoruba are so interwoven and most families have members in all the major religions. However for the sake of information, Yoruba people and may be the country of Brazil have the largest number of christian converts into Pentecostalism in the world but I know China and Iran are also moving fast in rates.

If census is conducted I doubt if Christians in Yoruba land can be less than 68% and shocking it will be because for instance, a place like Ibadan has a huge Muslim to christian converts especially in the old quarters and the 40years and below population are seeing Christianity as more fashionable and being driven into Christianity to overcome challenges of life. Ijebu has lots of christian converts too. The state that can probably still lay claims to more christians than muslims is Kwara in Offa, Omu Aran and even the dominance in Ilorin is not that large at all.

Religion has never been Yoruba problem from time immemorial and groups like MURIC will die a natural death. The effect of Pentecostal christianity is huge in Yoruba land and every effort to slow it down failed and I think in the next 10 years over 70% of under 50years will be christians in that bracket.

The argument however is the philosophical life of the Yoruba that transcend religion.
When I saw you claiming more Christians than Muslims in Offa and Omu Aran, then you obviously don't know what you're talking about. All parts of Yorubaland has converts to Christianity and no one denies this fact, but Ijebus and Ibadan you stated are majority Muslims despite this. Pentecostal churches are the ones responsible for creating grudges between Yoruba Christians and Muslims and their activities aren't yielding results like 20 years ago. Their influences isn't there anymore as many Yoruba Muslims now know what they're doing, Muslims have began missionary activities and it's yielding great results as many Christians are now embracing Islam. This is a fact!
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by Simbrixton(m): 1:04am On Mar 23, 2019
PeachtreeReside:

That is how internal war between Yorubas start. Please don't tow the line of this evil man.

He is being used by something greater than what we know to destroy the unity between Yorubas. Yorubas Muslim and Christians are one and any appointment of a Yoruba into any office is good whether from any of the tribe .

In fact, anyone this guy suggests should be rejected because they will only seek to divide us and not make us grow
the person is igbo
Re: MURIC Asks Buhari To Appoint More Yoruba Muslims To His Cabinet by Kfed4ril(m): 11:44am On Mar 23, 2019
globemoney:

I agree with you. I need Yoruba people on nairaland to confirm if Muslims are majority in Yorubaland or Christians even with all the Kumuyis, Adeboyes, Oyedepos etc?

Iā€™m not Yoruba, but I can boldly say that Yoruba muslims are the majority in the south west.
The only states in he south west were you have majority Christians are Ekiti and Ondo. The rest are majorly muslim.

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

President Buhari: I Am Expecting Nigerians To Say 'this Man Has Done His Best' / New Taxes, Charges Buhari Govt Has Imposed On Nigerians Since 2015 / Umahi, Deputy Appeal Sack Ruling

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 115