Stats: 3,150,778 members, 7,810,026 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 06:52 PM

Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss - Food - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss (14599 Views)

Lagos Consumer Agency Warns Residents Against ‘poisonous’ Plantain Chips / Why Nigerian Rice Is Expensive And Scarce - Fatimah Aliyu / Family Rice: Akwa Ibom Rice Is In Town (Photos) (2) (3) (4)

Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by CeeJay9ja(m): 5:36pm On May 16, 2019
The Comptroller-General, Nigeria Custom Service, Col. Hameed Ali(rtd) at a news conference organised by the Ministry of Finance in Abuja on Thursday appealed to Nigerians to avoid eating foreign rice because it is poisonous.

He further declared that the Federal Government had not issued licence for importation of rice and that any rice seen on the streets that was not produced in Nigeria was smuggled. He explained that the reason imported rice is poisonous is because before it comes into the country, it must have spent a minimum of five years in the silos.

" A chemical must have been added to sustain its freshness and that chemical is harmful. It has been re-bagged with a new date given as the production and expiry dates, and that is what we consume here which causes diseases. So, I appeal to Nigerians to please patronise our own rice, it is available, more nutritious and if you do that you will assist Customs by making sure these people are put out of business", he said

He added that if Nigerians stop buying the imported rice, smugglers will go out of business and there will be no need to bring it in.

https://exposeitworld..com/2019/05/imported-rice-is-poisonous-custom-boss.html

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by mcjohny(m): 5:48pm On May 16, 2019
if truly the customs boss has eaten locally produced rice in his house since this year

71 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by manuelbreez(m): 7:25pm On May 16, 2019
Doesn't stop Messi from winning the Ballon d'or!!

21 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by festacman(m): 7:25pm On May 16, 2019
Coming from the Customs boss, it is obviously a strategy to make his job easier by discouraging demand for imported rice.

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by Timmypromise(m): 7:26pm On May 16, 2019
Maybe one of his family taste it grin grin
Baba seize fake rice dash family member

13 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by BruncleZuma: 7:26pm On May 16, 2019
And the job of NAFDAC and SON is?

52 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by Bonapart(m): 7:26pm On May 16, 2019
What is not imported into Nigeria? Who even know what is causing suicide in the land

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by GlorifiedTunde(m): 7:26pm On May 16, 2019
These rice is still coming in at a massive rate.

From Abeokuta to Ijebu-ode axis, the smugglers are crazy numerous.

They settle the custom officers and have thorough fare.

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by Lordknowz: 7:27pm On May 16, 2019
If you can't do without eating the said rice, its better you Parboiled & if nah Quickie cook, rinse with enough salt! Some people won't even rinse at all , its not cool

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by Nobody: 7:27pm On May 16, 2019
My ISSUE now is what does he know..??
Does he know much about what he said..?

A RETIRED ARMY COLONEL now heading CUSTOM simply shows that the ARMY are already done with you, sir and they never saw any reasons to extend your stay or whatsoever, which clearly shows you have nothing else to offer...

Now if you have nothing else to offer then, how well do you think you can improve this section when you clearly lack the operational tenets of the custom ab initio and you are already retired...?

Why HEAD such a DEMANDING UNIT of the Nigerian State...??

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by Bossontop(m): 7:27pm On May 16, 2019
Na wa for awa naija pipu ooi.....as go no gree go for d stoppage of rice smuggling dem talk say na "Imported Rice is Poisonous" ......as in can u imagine d conconbility??........i jus cant deal mhen!!

[img]https://media1./images/e993e4d3f3fe6c201754c958a1b6d114/tenor.gif?itemid=3535977[/img]

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by skyfather09(m): 7:27pm On May 16, 2019
All na lie...

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by GrammarNazi1(m): 7:28pm On May 16, 2019
GlorifiedTunde:
These rice are still coming in at amassive rate
Indeed!
Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by Nobody: 7:28pm On May 16, 2019
I ate Nigerian rice two weeks ago and I must admit it is sweeter than imported rice. But the stones in the rice made my sisters nickname it "oh God rice".

16 Likes

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by Beulah77: 7:28pm On May 16, 2019
All these custom fools have started again ooo, the rice is poisonous yet you and your useless government are giving the poisonous rice to refugees and internal displaced persons

27 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by fineboynl(m): 7:29pm On May 16, 2019
non of them are eating the local rice including buhari

14 Likes 1 Share

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by Nobody: 7:30pm On May 16, 2019
They want to give dangote sole licence to be importing rice since his other companies are shutting down.
Go and raid his home you will find a lot of this imported and poisonous rice being use as food.
Besides,has any death been reported on anyone who have eaten imported rice?

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by Ekakamba: 7:30pm On May 16, 2019
Custom boss said that not even NAFDAC. grin tongue

16 Likes

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by bigstan11787(m): 7:30pm On May 16, 2019
But the big question now is: CAN THE LOCAL RICE WE PRODUCE SUSTAIN OUR POPULATION?

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by illiteratepmb: 7:30pm On May 16, 2019
Ewu Gambia...poi-wetin ? Leave am for us like that. It's far better than the local ones.

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by KrystosCJ(m): 7:30pm On May 16, 2019
The Customs boss will not point a finger to the many wives and girlfriends of Customs officers and even fellow officers that sell rice and other contraband goods that they forcefully obtain from so-called smugglers. Idiotic raggamuffin!

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by DaddyGngeess(m): 7:30pm On May 16, 2019
Everybody for don die now

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by SirLakes: 7:31pm On May 16, 2019
Even Buhari na imported rice e dey chop grin

No dey yarn dust

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by nickxtra(m): 7:31pm On May 16, 2019
mcjohny:
if truly the customs boss has eaten locally produced rice in his house since this year
I have eaten locally produced rice. Infact, since December, I fell in love with local rice when I got a gift of Big Bull(a locally produced rice) from a relative. It's not only sweeter, it lasts long in the pot. When the bag got finished, I bought another Big Bull bag of rice. When it finished, I bought another bag that we are cooking now.

Bye bye to foreign rice, welcome to local rice.

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by kaen1317: 7:31pm On May 16, 2019
All these years that we have been eating it what has happened?
Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by stalwart123(m): 7:31pm On May 16, 2019
gjg
Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by Emmanuel226(m): 7:32pm On May 16, 2019
idiot!!!, but imported stupidity is not poisonous shebi

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by Firstorderwizard(m): 7:33pm On May 16, 2019
Sharap
Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by jayred: 7:33pm On May 16, 2019
As if it is local rice he is eating in his house.....
Nonsense and ingredient.....SMH
do we produce enuf rice to feed this hungry country?
the sand inside local rice plenty pass the rice itself

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by Emmanuel226(m): 7:33pm On May 16, 2019
but i must admit it our local rice is sweeter dan imported rice only dat, it has not bin filtered.

Re: Hameed Ali: Imported Rice Is Poisonous - Customs Boss by Seedless081: 7:34pm On May 16, 2019
[quote author=CeeJay9ja post=78446505]The Comptroller-General, Nigeria Custom Service, Col. Hameed Ali(rtd) at a news conference organised by the Ministry of Finance in Abuja on Thursday appealed to Nigerians to avoid eating foreign rice because it is poisonous.

He further declared that the Federal Government had not issued licence for importation of rice and that any rice seen on the streets that was not produced in Nigeria was smuggled. He explained that the reason imported rice is poisonous is because before it comes into the country, it must have spent a minimum of five years in the silos.

" A chemical must have been added to sustain its freshness and that chemical is harmful. It has been re-bagged with a new date given as the production and expiry dates, and that is what we consume here which causes diseases. So, I appeal to Nigerians to please patronise our own rice, it is available, more nutritious and if you do that you will assist Customs by making sure these people are put out of business", he said

He added that if Nigerians stop buying the imported rice, smugglers will go out of business and there will be no need to bring it in.

https://exposeitworld..com/2019/05/imported-rice-is-poisonous-custom-boss.html

Hypocrite go to there houses what they eat is foreign rice and you are here telling us something that you don't eat.

Why Do We Order Food Online Even When Our Parents Trained Us Not To? / Pepper Soup Spice Mix / ~ Favourite Biscuits/Cookies ?~

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 44