Stats: 3,161,560 members, 7,847,319 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 03:20 PM

Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" (31130 Views)

Technology Creating New Generations Of Illiterates In Nigeria – Wole Soyinka / Soyinka Blasts Emir Of Ilorin, Ibrahim Sulu-Gambari, For Banning Isese Festival / #TwitterBan: Wole Soyinka Blasts IPOB, ESN, Calls Them Soulmates Of Boko Haram (2) (3) (4)

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by iammo(m): 5:44pm On Jul 18, 2019
Street ti take over litracy or jawo mo!!!
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by stcool(m): 5:44pm On Jul 18, 2019
Mumu Man.

Talking rubbish, yet cant confront the government with the truth...kudos to that young man on the airplane.

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Wanity(m): 5:45pm On Jul 18, 2019
Xisnin:

It isn't about schools or certificates.
All the illiterate internet trolls went to school one way or the other.

Don't mind him if you quote him he will think he made a good point
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Forreellinc: 5:45pm On Jul 18, 2019
grin baba die na, your mates are waiting for you?
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by martineverest(m): 5:45pm On Jul 18, 2019
they are many on nairaland...they are riddled with near zero IQ

they are called 'EDUCATED ILLITERATES'

11 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by thuga5: 5:46pm On Jul 18, 2019
keyboard warriors in naija
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by stcool(m): 5:46pm On Jul 18, 2019
martineverest:
they mare many on nairaland

You can't even write a good sentence. See your life!
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by martineverest(m): 5:48pm On Jul 18, 2019
stcool:

You can't even write a good sentence. See your life!
u couldn't discern that it was a typo....Ur IQ is so low

u are one of the ppl prof wole Is talking about

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by damilare442: 5:48pm On Jul 18, 2019
Tamasaba:
Who school help? Naso una go push youths go school. After school you go tell them say work no dey say make them go learn handwork. Nonsense. Illiteracy don take over. School dey favour people like u wey dem dey pay as visiting lecturer for different universities. U just dey talk to protect ur interest and customers(students). Without students them fire u. Nonsense

You are one of the youths Soyinka just talked about. Full of ego, unproductive and all knowing even when what they think they know is irrelevant.

15 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Osoayobami(m): 5:48pm On Jul 18, 2019
They only shout on social media and In their place of works or any gathering they find themselves, they will keep quiet like shit.......

Most of Nigeria youths are social media king.

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Emmasnoop(m): 5:49pm On Jul 18, 2019
They dont know their right from left, lazy youth.
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Bridget95(f): 5:50pm On Jul 18, 2019
Tamasaba:
Who school help? Naso una go push youths go school. After school you go tell them say work no dey say make them go learn handwork. Nonsense. Illiteracy don take over. School dey favour people like u wey dem dey pay as visiting lecturer for different universities. U just dey talk to protect ur interest and customers(students). Without students them fire u. Nonsense

why can't you express your opinion in simple and correct English language?

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by koboko69: 5:51pm On Jul 18, 2019
Nairaland na headquarters. Most of them na PDP recruits

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Nobody: 5:52pm On Jul 18, 2019
Tamasaba:

Literacy is not only by acedemic knowledge, most scientist, inventors etc didn't learn what they know from a University...Sir Wole Soyinka did not get to the height he is today because he went to the University, its beyond acedemic/education knowledge.
I understand what he is saying, most youths that type on the internet, display stark illiteracy and dumbness.

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Adakintroy2: 5:53pm On Jul 18, 2019
Tamasaba:

This why you need to go to schl. So you understand you don't go to school so government can provide for you. Sometimes you can provide for the goverment. Just ask Zuckerberg.

But this Sonyinka is still an asss..I applaude what he saI'd for the merit it holds.

But how the narrative has changed all round. When it was Jonathan. It was incompetence on the part if goverment. Now the tone is more like change begins with you

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by stephen12118(m): 5:53pm On Jul 18, 2019
[quote author=Tamasaba post=80394389]Who school help? Naso una go push youths go school. After school you go tell them say work no dey say make them go learn handwork. Nonsense. Illiteracy don take over. School dey favour people like u wey dem dey pay as visiting lecturer for different universities. U just dey talk to protect ur interest and customers(students). Without students them fire u. Nonsense
you are among those illiterates his talking about,every Youth is a leader,as far as u excel in what ever u are doing.

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by labani06(m): 5:54pm On Jul 18, 2019
bjbjbj:
North Nigeria
So you have the guts to associate and relate what prof. Soyinka is saying with Northern Nigerians hmm you have to think and reason very well before uttering any about Northern Nigerian because we Northerners mind our business we don't engage in things that is not related to us.
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Angelfrost(m): 5:55pm On Jul 18, 2019
Wanity:

This is the type of people he is talking about

Exactly sir. It's so tiring holding conversations these days. So much emptiness from our youths, it's embarrassing the comments they put up on international forums like BBC, CNN, Al-Jazeera, etc.

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Jaqenhghar: 5:55pm On Jul 18, 2019
Well said.

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Skepticus: 5:56pm On Jul 18, 2019
AnyoneButAtiku:
They are legion on Nairaland, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and any other portion of the blogosphere that takes their fancy cheesy cheesy cheesy
I hear you Prof!

Nairaland and Twitter are their headquarters.

Too many idiiots holed up in these platforms.

The worse thing is not that they are stupid illiterates, but they have every possible logic-defying ad hominem excuses to defend their stupidity. Some are already doing it now.

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Nobody: 5:56pm On Jul 18, 2019
No sir. It's a generation of zombies. They can read and write unfortunately
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Nobody: 5:56pm On Jul 18, 2019
martineverest:
I swear grin 0.0...
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Junkie1: 5:56pm On Jul 18, 2019
IT'S ACTUALLY TRUE HOW MANY YOUTHS EVEN COME OUT TO VOTE?
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Angelfrost(m): 5:56pm On Jul 18, 2019
martineverest:

It's a very worrisome, and disturbing trend...
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by olowo1930: 5:57pm On Jul 18, 2019
NIGERIA EDUCATION IS RUBBISH, WE NEED A WAY FORWARD TO BE MORE PRODUCTIVE.GRADUATING STUDENTS WITHOUT ANY PROFITING ENGAGEMENT IS RENDERING HUMAN RESOURCES USELESS.
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by nototribalist: 5:58pm On Jul 18, 2019
I believe he's referring to South West and North

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by fatomayo(m): 5:59pm On Jul 18, 2019
I will only go to school if I will be paid for going.
Nah hustle sure pass, not fraud o
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by ajagidiagbo1(m): 5:59pm On Jul 18, 2019
Says a distinguished dingbat and beclouded fool.
SoftP:
Coming from a literate selfish old guru...

& U were so wise enough to support the dethronement of an educated man over an illiterate Mallam to rule over ur country, all because of ur selfish desire.

& That lil kid was wise enough to kick u out of his own seat,
most of y'all old men don't deserve sympathy in 9ja

Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by Tamasaba: 6:00pm On Jul 18, 2019
[quote author=stephen12118 post=80399393][/quote]see ur English. U are one of us
Re: Wole Soyinka Blasts Youths "Nigeria Is Building A Generation Of Illiterates" by khalids: 6:01pm On Jul 18, 2019
Tamasaba:

Stop talking rubbish

You like using the internet right, you like having doctors attend to you in the hospital, you even like visiting nairaland, driving cars etc...these where built and are maintained by people who went to school......

Methamphetamine Drug Belongs To Almajiris In North – IPOB / Daniel Bwala Finally Joins PDP, Backs Atiku Abubakar / 5 Senators Sue Saraki, Ekweremadu