Stats: 3,326,162 members, 8,425,244 topics. Date: Friday, 12 June 2026 at 09:43 AM

Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) - Politics (10) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsBuhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) (70138 Views)

1 2 3 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by mercyviv(f): 11:32pm On Sep 25, 2019
After all this, he's the president. If we can't change today, let's work towards changing tomorrow!
Meanwhile...
Are you a teacher?
Get FREE access to the best compilation of school lesson notes/plans, curriculum and exams. Visit my signature for details...
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by Arewa1408: 11:34pm On Sep 25, 2019
midnighter:
You are not making any sense.
Yes i am. Maybe cos i am not agreeing with you. Are you on tweeter? Youre distracting me. I am leaving out what i am doing to get you the answer. Cos i know its 11.34 p.m
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by Arewa1408: 11:55pm On Sep 25, 2019
[quote author=midnighter post=82568617][/quote]OK. Youre correct the video was not doctored. I apologise for abusing your intelligence earlier on.
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by midnighter(f): 12:01am On Sep 26, 2019
Arewa1408:
OK. Youre correct the video was not doctored. I apologise for abusing your intelligence earlier on.
No problem
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by Hameex(m): 12:01am On Sep 26, 2019
Oga u mumu I swear . I like him and voted for him that's my choice not yours asshole..and mind you all does your yeye cause go befall on you and your family
ZombieTAMER:
sad sad

Any country that voted something like this as a president deserves to be the poverty capital of the world...

Oh... Nigeria is already that

God punish all those who queued Up under hot sun to vote this calamity

May bad things never depart their house hold

Evil people everywhere
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by Nobody: 12:06am On Sep 26, 2019
One day monkey go go market but e no go return back again. Nonsense
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by mojounited(m): 12:09am On Sep 26, 2019
Arewa1408:
OK. Youre correct the video was not doctored. I apologise for abusing your intelligence earlier on.
Midnighter is correct, the video was not doctored but incomplete. The President gave a good narrative response albeit I think he could have been more elaborate with points on afforestation and deforestation, master plan to curb gas flaring (this point would have been used to role out incentives to entice investors to build more gas-fired power plants), etc.

What I find amusing is the shuffling of pages of paper and his incoherent speech / inability to read clearly without any form of blunder. Oga is not flexible; he isn't smart to answer these kind of questions off hand and lacks finesse. This, I find disturbing. Other than that, his response was apt with respect to the theme of the summit which borders on Climate Change.

Some people have the question a bit mixed up which has brought about the whole confusion.
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by Nobody: 12:09am On Sep 26, 2019
happney65:
An average Buharist is a stupid and foolish person..They themselves cant use Buhari as head of their Business but they want him to head the lives of about 200million people

Isssh
SO na Atiku you wan put for you own business
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by Nobody: 12:13am On Sep 26, 2019
remiopash:
The video was superimposed. It's fake ..
Like Gandollar too
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by Nobody: 12:16am On Sep 26, 2019
Officialgarri:
To an extent, the answer given was right. Whenever you are talking about a sustainable future, there's no way you can do without climate.

It's only unfortunate that his answers were incomplete.
At least he talked of water, talked of energy, talked of many things....which also included employment for millions of Youths
Dr. Damage control... You oblong head should be use for bet9ja odds. not defending tyrant dullard from daura
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by midnighter(f): 12:19am On Sep 26, 2019
mojounited:
Midnighter is correct, the video was not doctored but incomplete. The President gave a good narrative response albeit I think he could have been more elaborate with points on afforestation and deforestation, master plan to curb gas flaring (this point would have been used to role out incentives to entice investors to build more gas-fired power plants), etc.

What I find amusing is the shuffling of pages of paper and his incoherent speech / inability to read clearly without any form of blunder. Oga is not flexible; he isn't smart to answer these kind of questions off hand and lacks finesse. This, I find disturbing. Other than that, his response was apt with respect to the theme of the summit which borders on Climate Change.

Some people have the question a bit mixed up which has brought about the whole confusion.
Yes, he shouldnt just be reading directly from his notes, at least he could expand on his points and be more animated to show that he has engaged with the topic and takes it seriously to an international diplomatic audience. Climate change is a hot topic right now in global politics.

People are just fixated on superficial elements because he is a poor president without listening to what he said. Even a broken clock is right twice a day.

he didnt finish school, no certificate, bla bla but in terms of answering the question , what he said was correct. Thats all Im saying.
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by NGpatriot: 12:38am On Sep 26, 2019
midnighter:
Yes, he shouldnt just be reading directly from his notes, at least he could expand on his points and be more animated to show that he has engaged with the topic and takes it seriously to an international diplomatic audience. Climate change is a hot topic right now in global politics.

People are just fixated on superficial elements because he is a poor president without listening to what he said. Even a broken clock is right twice a day.

he didnt finish school, no certificate, bla bla but in terms of answering the question , what he said was correct. Thats all Im saying.
Correct.

He answered the question brilliantly as expected, even with better detail than some of the participants, but do I have any issue with his delivery, his accent, no way, even most of the participants can not even speak English and the ones that did struggle with heavy accents and pronunciations.

Sadly, the president's speech at the climate event is not the main issue with the unintelligent people criticizing him here, their main issue is the usual hatred, tribalism, bigots and odious politics.

It's pretty obvious that they did not watch the video and they don't even care about the video, it's all hatred and bitterness.
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by Sirjamo: 12:49am On Sep 26, 2019
ZombieTAMER:
sad sad

Any country that voted something like this as a president deserves to be the poverty capital of the world...

Evil people everywhere
God destroy the lives of those who always support and vote for the useless, miserable thieves that stole the future of this country blind for 16 years, amen!
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by toplinetrtrend: 12:49am On Sep 26, 2019
buhariguy:
but i thought idiotic pigs said buhari cannot even read or understand what is written for him in black and white
Someone said cows have better and more functional brain than you. Will you say the person is right? Just an innocent question
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by midnighter(f): 12:53am On Sep 26, 2019
NGpatriot:
Correct.

He answered the question brilliantly as expected, even with better detail than some of the participants, but do I have any issue with his delivery, his accent, no way, even most of the participants can not even speak English and the ones that did struggle with heavy accents and pronunciations.

Sadly, the president's speech at the climate event is not the main issue with the unintelligent people criticizing him here, their main issue is the usual hatred, tribalism, bigots and odious politics.

It's pretty obvious that they did not watch the video and they don't even care about the video, it's all hatred and bitterness.
If the national language of your country is English, then you should be able to speak English. Those other people purposely mess up their English to score political points..to say to the US and UK, "who the hell are you to force me to speak your language?" The president of France is not going to speak to us in flawless, unaccented English.

PMBs accent is very thick and it is a problem. Our president should be able to communicate clearly in our national language in a neutral Nigerian accent, maybe with northern inflections like Sanusi Lamido. PMBs diction makes us look timid and uncivilised.

I agree with you that people are projecting their issues with the president onto this particular event, which is unnecessary. If you want to be annoyed with him you have a large selection of wrongs that he has been committing since the 1980s to choose from . No need to pick on him unnecessarily over superficial stuff
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by Sirjamo: 12:53am On Sep 26, 2019
NGpatriot:
The woman mentioned population, but then asked the president to highlight the pathway for our resilient future and he rightfully addressed exactly our pathway to a resilient future.

Why is reading, listening and comprehension so hard for our lazy youths?

smh..
I am telling you, those illiterate youths parents should go ask for refund of all the monies they spent on their miserable education, it was a complete waste of resources!
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by toplinetrtrend: 12:55am On Sep 26, 2019
post=82562634:
They are so pathetic.
They are better left ignore. cheesy

Looking at the doctored video for the 2nd time.
What you wrote above is EXACTLY what happened.
It is appaling that few of our youths in the country have gone mad subconsciously cos of hatred for their nation.

It is always good and refreshing to know that we still have reasonable youths like you on this forum.
God bless you Mr John.
Buhari's presidency has turned you to a jobless entity; that's why you are always commenting here. What a shame.

What happened to your BBQ business? It has failed, Right? It means you are a failure in business, not so? I wonder if you aren't also a failure in other aspects of your life too. You need a serious deliverance.
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by Dewisedick: 12:57am On Sep 26, 2019
Islamic Hausa Fulani ruuuulllllaaar. This 1 no be my president ooo
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by NGpatriot: 1:07am On Sep 26, 2019
midnighter:
If the national language of your country is English, then you should be able to speak English. Those other people purposely mess up their English to score political points..to say to the US and UK, "who the hell are you to force me to speak your language?" The president of France is not going to speak to us in flawless, unaccented English.

PMBs accent is very thick and it is a problem. Our president should be able to communicate clearly in our national language in a neutral Nigerian accent, maybe with northern inflections like Sanusi Lamido. PMBs diction makes us look timid and uncivilised.

I agree with you that people are projecting their issues with the president onto this particular event, which is unnecessary. If you want to be annoyed with him you have a large selection of wrongs that he has been committing since the 1980s to choose from . No need to pick on him unnecessarily over superficial stuff
1. It doesn't matter what your National language is English or no English, English is still not your mother's tongue and it's not the president's mother's tongue.

2. The French president can not speak English and he must speak in his native language because they all speak french in his country, unlike Nigeria where we speak many different languages.

3. Some of his co-participants gave their speech in Engish and they sound even more terrible than the president.

3. The folks at the event are not colomental like many in Nigeria with language low self-esteem and insecurities, they congregate and discuss issues with folks from all over the world with different languages and accents.

Many in Nigeria are just too unpatriotic, too basic, too trivial, too vain and too shallow I must say, they look for pointless reasons to demean their own country which I find very very shameful.
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by Primebuilders(m): 1:13am On Sep 26, 2019
buhariguy:
but i thought idiotic pigs said buhari cannot even read or understand what is written for him in black and white
And you think reading is an achievement in out 21st century. Come and see how my 5 years old boy is reading very well.

I pity your generation yet on born that will have the type of your mentality
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by NGpatriot: 1:15am On Sep 26, 2019
Primebuilders:
And you think reading is an achievement in out 21st century. Come and see how my 5 years old boy is reading very well.

I pity your generation yet on born that will have the type of your mentality
I don't remember any assertion about reading is an achievement in this thread, you obviously made that up.

Looks like you yourself have some serious reading and comprehension problem, even worse than your 5-year-old.
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by Primebuilders(m): 1:17am On Sep 26, 2019
post=82562634:
They are so pathetic.
They are better left ignore. cheesy

Looking at the doctored video for the 2nd time.
What you wrote above is EXACTLY what happened.
It is appaling that few of our youths in the country have gone mad subconsciously cos of hatred for their nation.

It is always good and refreshing to know that we still have reasonable youths like you on this forum.
God bless you Mr John.
What are you saying. Is this not what played out during the presidential debates at the run up to the elections where the VP was answering questions for him when he could not inderstand what was being said
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by midnighter(f): 1:18am On Sep 26, 2019
NGpatriot:
1. It doesn't matter what your National language is English or no English, English is still not your mother's tongue and it's not the president's mother's tongue.

2. The French president can not speak English and he must speak in his native language because they all speak french in his country, unlike Nigeria where we speak many different languages.

3. Some of his co-participants gave their speech in Engish and they sound even more terrible than the president.

3. The folks at the event are not colomental like many in Nigeria with language low self-esteem and insecurities, they congregate and discuss issues with folks from all over the world with different languages and accents.

Many in Nigeria are just too unpatriotic, too basic, too trivial, too vain and too shallow I must say, they loom for pointless reasons to demean their own country which I find very very shameful.
1. You are not saying the right thing...this is a federation comprising hundreds of ethnic groups, of which the official state language is English. Whatever his mother tongue is is irrelevant, the fact is that he has poor diction and we tend to find it difficult to understand what he is saying. This is peacetime and not a military leadership...we shouldnt be feeling somehow listening to someone speak when he was duly elected. You shouldnt make excuses for poor practice just because you like the president.

2. Yes, thats why I used France as an example. He doesnt have to speak English, but Buhari does.

3. Yeah they are not but thats not the point. He is representing a country of which the state language is English. If he were not our president then it wouldnt matter which accent he uses.

Yeah they shouldnt do that but at the same time you should love and have enough faith in your country to be able to offer up constructive criticism.
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by Staro: 1:25am On Sep 26, 2019
ZombieTAMER:
sad sad

Evil people everywhere
Aswear
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by mindtricks: 1:30am On Sep 26, 2019
NGpatriot:
Correct.

Whatever hate, or whatever you call it can easily be blown away by a stellar performance.
Lack of performance is the main issue.
I wonder why people who have been down for too long should not to be eager to experience real progress.
About time Nigerians got fed up with abysmally lacklustre performance of their leaders. There is nothing wrong with that.

Even it is a "goat" that rules Nigeria and brings about the true change the people yearn for, the same will be loved and acknowledged by all.
Performance, good performance, again stellar performance where many past leaders have failed is all the people yearn for.
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by NGpatriot: 1:50am On Sep 26, 2019
midnighter:
1. You are not saying the right thing...this is a federation comprising hundreds of ethnic groups, of which the official state language is English. Whatever his mother tongue is is irrelevant, the fact is that he has poor diction and we tend to find it difficult to understand what he is saying. This is peacetime and not a military leadership...we shouldnt be feeling somehow listening to someone speak when he was duly elected. You shouldnt make excuses for poor practice just because you like the president.
It's funny how people are obsessed with the President's accents while at the same time admitting that we have many ethnic groups in Nigeria instead of Queen's English group.

You as a Nigeria do have an accent and many in this thread have worse accents than the president.

Poor diction is the choice and use of words and phrases in speech or writing, but the speech he gave at the summit was written perfectly by his speak writers so I see zero poor diction issues here. Heaby accent, yes, but no poor diction.

2. Yes, thats why I used France as an example. He doesn't have to speak English, but Buhari does.
Yes, the President must speak English because it is our National Language, but that doesn't mean we all don't have heavy accents, we all do because English is not our mother's tongue so expecting you or the next Nigeria to speak lean and unaccented English language is ridiculous and unrealistic.

3. Yeah they are not but thats not the point. He is representing a country of which the state language is English. If he were not our president then it wouldnt matter which accent he uses
It is not against the law or the Nigerian constitution to have stong accent and it is not an electoral requirement, the majority in Nigeria did not put him in office to represent Nigeria because of the Queens English.

It's ok if the president's accent is an issue for you, but the President gave his speech in English and his audience at the event and at home in Nigeria including me understood every word.

Yeah they shouldnt do that but at the same time you should love and have enough faith in your country to be able to offer up constructive criticism.
There is nothing constructive about criticizing the president's accent because we all have accents and English is not our mother's tongue, it was imposed for obvious tribal and ethnic reasons.

There's nothing constructive about asking a black man why he's black or criticizing a stammering person because hey are stammering, these are natural conditions that people are born with, not self-made

This is just too trivial.,
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by NGpatriot: 1:55am On Sep 26, 2019
mindtricks:
Whatever hate, or whatever you call it can easily be blown away by a stellar performance.
Lack of performance is the main issue.
I wonder why people who have been down for too long should not to be eager to experience real progress.
About time Nigerians got fed up with abysmally lacklustre performance of their leaders. There is nothing wrong with that.

Even it is a "goat" that rules Nigeria and brings about the true change the people yearn for, the same will be loved and acknowledged by all.
Performance, good performance, again stellar performance where many past leaders have failed is all the people yearn for.
Lack of performance is your own opinion and definitely not the next man's opinion. PERIOD.

The president before PMB was a little better accent wise, but of what relevance was his accent and performance in office, even the ones before him down to OBJ??

Their accents gave you uninterrupted electricity, good roads, good bridges, quality healthcare, security, good schools, good housing and so on?

Please, get off this shallow and trivial accent argument, it's really silly.
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by midnighter(f): 2:02am On Sep 26, 2019
NGpatriot:
It's funny how people are obsessed with the President's accents while at the same time admitting that we have many ethnic groups in Nigeria instead of Queen's English group.

You as a Nigeria do have an accent and many in this thread have worse accents than the president.

Poor diction is the choice and use of words and phrases in speech or writing, but the speech he gave at the summit was written perfectly by his speak writers so I see zero poor diction issues here. Heaby accent, yes, but no poor diction.

Yes, the President must speak English because it is our National Language, but that doesn't mean we all don't have heavy accents, we all do because English is not our mother's tongue so expecting you or the next Nigeria to speak lean and unaccented English language is ridiculous and unrealistic.

It is not against the law or the Nigerian constitution to have stong accent and it is not an electoral requirement, the majority in Nigeria did not put him in office to represent Nigeria because of the Queens English.

It's ok if the president's accent is an issue for you, but the President gave his speech in English and his audience at the event and at home in Nigeria including me understood every word.

There is nothing constructive about criticizing the president's accent because we all have accents and English is not our mother's tongue, it was imposed for obvious tribal and ethnic reasons.

There's nothing constructive about asking a black man why he's black or criticizing a stammering person because hey are stammering, these are natural conditions that people are born with, not self-made

This is just too trivial.,
You are being obtuse...

I am not admitting anything. We have plenty of ethnic groups and we are bound together by our state language which is English. Those two facts are not contradictory. If you understood them correctly, you wouldnt be defending what youre defending.

Diction is another word for enunciation. The minute people find it difficult to understand you because you pronounce words poorly, you have poor diction. Letters corresponding to particular sounds are written down for a reason. You do not just pronounce them however you feel like without bothering whether others will understand you, especially if you have put yourself forward to represent millions of English-speaking people.

I didnt tell him to speak in unaccented English. I said neutral English. They are completely different. If I wanted unaccented English, I would have said so.

The speech-writers wrote it down and he was pronouncing another thing. It's wrong. He is our president, he was elected by popular vote, all of us should be able to hear what the heck he's saying without straining our ears since he's representing us.

Its not tribal at all. Youre the one making it tribal. You should be able to understand a simple point about the president without coddling him, becoming defensive and referring to tribe. Atiku is from the same place and we can hear everything he says. Lamido gives Ted talks, thats how clear his speech is. This is nothing to do with tribe.

Being black or stammering are not comparable to this, someone who swore a solumn oath to serve his nation should be able to make simple adjustments so that people will get what he is saying.

Yeah it is trivial and you're making it worse by not saying the truth.
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by NGpatriot: 2:06am On Sep 26, 2019
midnighter:
You are being obtuse...

I am not admitting anything. We have plenty of ethnic groups and we are bound together by our state language which is English. Those two facts are not contradictory. If you understood them correctly, you wouldnt be defending what youre defending.

Diction is another word for enunciation. The minute people find it difficult to understand you because you pronounce words poorly, you have poor diction. Letters corresponding to particular sounds are written down for a reason. You do not just pronounce them however you feel like without bothering whether others will understand you, especially if you have put yourself forward to represent millions of English-speaking people.[/s]

I didnt tell him to speak in unaccented English. I said neutral English. They are completely different. If I wanted unaccented English, I would have said so.

The speech-writers wrote it down and he was pronouncing another thing. It's wrong. He is our president, he was elected by popular vote, all of us should be able to hear what the heck he's saying without straining our ears since he's representing us.

Its not tribal at all. Youre the one making it tribal. You should be able to understand a simple point without coddling him, becoming defensive and referring to tribe. Atiku is from the same place and we can hear everything he says. Lamido gives Ted talks, thats how clear his speech is. This is nothing to do with tribe.

Being black or stammering are not comparable to this, someone who swore a solumn oath to serve his nation should be able to make simple adjustments so that people will get what he is saying.

Yeah it is trivial and you're making it worse by not saying the truth.

So, what exactly are you rambling about? That he can not speak English or that you can not understand his English of you are just ashamed that the president of Nigeria speaks with an accent or heavy accent.

You sound very very confused.

What exactly?
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by midnighter(f): 2:07am On Sep 26, 2019
NGpatriot:
So, what exactly are you rambling about? That he can not speak English or that you can not understand his English of you are just ashamed that the president of Nigeria speaks with an accent or heavy accent.

You sound very very confused.

What exactly?[/s]
Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by NGpatriot: 2:09am On Sep 26, 2019
So, we should just go ahead and adjust our electoral requirement that the next Nigerian president must have a neutral accent.

The silly and ridiculous things some Nigerians obsess over sometimes sha.

Re: Buhari Answering A Question About Youths At UN, Nigerians React (Video) by NGpatriot: 2:10am On Sep 26, 2019
midnighter:
See how confused you are?
1 2 3 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 Reply

Tinubu: ‘T-Pain’ Popularized By Dan Bello - Nigerians React (Video)Buhari Is Right About Youths BehaviourSenator Dino Melaye Speaks From His Hideout. Nigerians React (Video, Photos)234

Buhari’s Modest Farm Vs. Obasanjo FarmRachael Dickson Gives Birth To Quadruplet In The USDeji Adeyanju Reacts To Supreme Court Judgement That Sacked Ihedioha As Governor