Stats: 3,165,567 members, 7,861,680 topics. Date: Saturday, 15 June 2024 at 05:01 PM

Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus - Foreign Affairs (10) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus (66904 Views)

Trump Claims Disinfectant ‘Injection’ Idea Was Sarcasm, After Receiving Backlash / Coronavirus: Outcry After Trump Suggests Injecting Disinfectant As Treatment / Boris Johnson Tests Positive For Coronavirus (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) ... (19) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by GamalNasser: 6:46pm On Apr 24, 2020
Osidazz19:

https://news.yahoo.com/trumps-coronavirus-disinfectant-comments-dangerous-111840790.html

Confused Aba fake Jew. Wake up from your slumber, the whole world knows that TRAMP is a narcissist delusional dotard. Only you and faux entertainment channel are in denial.

Gerrout failed afonja Muslim

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by WaleGab: 6:46pm On Apr 24, 2020
PassingShot:

Move to America then.
Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by cococandy(f): 6:46pm On Apr 24, 2020
Devops:
Well the Joke writes itself if you did. Like your fellow ilks on the first page are all supporters of Buhari but hating on Trump. The joke writes it's self.

So one can’t dislike both Buhari and Trump?

Joke’s on you apparently.

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by valentinegibbs(m): 6:47pm On Apr 24, 2020
GamalNasser:
Stupid fake news ...I watched the briefing and there was no where they said they would inject anyone with disinfectant , please disregard this Democrat fake propaganda !!!!! The briefing was about how sunlight and disinfectants killed the virus left on surfaces and had nothing to do with human body
I doubt if you have ever watched any of his press briefings
Sometimes ,I just wonder why Nigerians always try to show stupidity
Something you didn't even watch and instead of keeping quiet,you are here talking trash
Maybe get some cable TV and stop exhibiting ignorance online

11 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by nextstep(m): 6:47pm On Apr 24, 2020
shachris02:

Im referring to UV injection which could also be seen as UV bombardment. Below are definitions of injection. Check no 3.

Fair enough, though I protest that quote 3 is a figure of speech, and that when people hear inject in medical context... that's not what they have in mind.
Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by GamalNasser: 6:47pm On Apr 24, 2020
muykem:
Must you sacrifice your brain to defend Trump that doesn't know you are exist. Something he said loud and clear and American are responding to him on Twitter.

Gerrout !!!!!!
Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by Nobody: 6:48pm On Apr 24, 2020
CrazyOptimist:
For all his supporters. Please be sincere and watch the video again.

Notice that as he was talking, he was looking at Dr Birx and kept saying , " you said we were going to try this and that.... bla bla bla". From his tone and authoritative demeanor , you will think himself and Birx have discussed it before they came in to the room. But look at the video below and see the woman's reactions to all his ramblings.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d57zJr82dhQ

She is like, wtf is he saying?
No put sansan for my garri.
The woman was learning something new from Trump grin
Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by GamalNasser: 6:49pm On Apr 24, 2020
valentinegibbs:

I doubt if you have ever watched any of his press briefings
Sometimes ,I just wonder why Nigerians always try to show stupidity
Something you didn't even watch and instead of keeping quiet,you are here talking trash
Maybe get some cable TV and stop exhibiting ignorance online

I am on Fox news 24 hours a day , there is no Trump briefing I miss ..gerrout shameless spreader if fake news ..You Muslims leave Trump alone

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by Misterdhee1(m): 6:50pm On Apr 24, 2020
supercase1:

He is trying to be creative and his is doing his best unlike a certain president in a certain country that didn't go to university or can't give an eloquent press briefing without reading from A to Z but yet they claim he is the best man to rule them grin
Be ashamed of your self Oga. For a sane mind to even consider injecting disinfectant into a life body is stupidity beyond measures. No one could have ever predicted someone as dumb as Trump would one day be world's most powerful person.

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by olumide4christ: 6:50pm On Apr 24, 2020
crackhouse:
I tell you. And when he talked about chloroquine na so people begin rush am like mad. This man should stop spitting thrash. He's killing more people with his prescriptions. He should know he's a president and people take him seriously.

Even our people here in Nigeria began to rush Chloroquine in pharmacies not knowing that the Chloroquine available in pharmacies is Chloroquine Phosphate AND NOT HydroxylChloroquine which Trump talked about.
You can see the confusion that unguarded statements by political leaders can cause even thousands of miles away..

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by Xisnin(m): 6:50pm On Apr 24, 2020
blowjohn:

Fake news. He never said that. Go watch it.

Let's digress a bit. Important.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RexUJeWmzSE

They dont want people to use hydroxychloroquine because they are pushing a sinister agenda.
The video is from yesterday
You are sick.

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by oghenetega100(f): 6:51pm On Apr 24, 2020
I watched it too and he said it. He said this morning that he was being sarcastic. What is the point of this your loyalty to someone that hates you. How does Trump affect you. Wetin really concerning Nigeria with trump.
GamalNasser:
Stupid fake news ...I watched the briefing and there was no where they said they would inject anyone with disinfectant , please disregard this Democrat fake propaganda !!!!! The briefing was about how sunlight and disinfectants killed the virus left on surfaces and had nothing to do with human body

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by Osidazz19: 6:51pm On Apr 24, 2020
[s]Hi
GamalNasser:

Gerrout failed afonja Muslim

Fake Aba Jew, how Market? You are always supporting losers. LMAO

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by Perocom(m): 6:52pm On Apr 24, 2020
Chiboynj:

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.nbcnews.com/news/amp/ncna1191216

This man didn't mean they should inject humans with disinfectant, speaking like a layman, if experts said the virus dies quickly under sunlight or when in contact with disinfectant, why not follow the same trend and do something that would act like the disinfectant does and inject same into human bodies to get same results, of course any suggestions must be clinically tested before administration. His statement is literally, he is helpless as it stands now, anything that would bring solutions he will accept wholeheartedly, Americans are dieing in thousands and science is unable to find solutions.
Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by taiwopapaya(m): 6:52pm On Apr 24, 2020
President Trump suggestion is give scientific guildline. no matter how much sun radiator on body, its drop to 37`0c in human body. if body temperature rise to 40`0c. its can affect kidney, and the covid-19, can survive in 65`0c temperature.a temperature above 70`0c will kill virus inside the human body. and no vaccine can increase body temperature to that extend. once the half life of the virus can be kill by sun heat from 18hour on surface to 2min death, so science need to work on that either by drugs or any means that we not affect human being to treat covid-19, oxford adenovirus from chimpazee vaccine is still on testing to approve. so life of victim need immediately respond.
Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by NaijaNaWaa: 6:53pm On Apr 24, 2020
GamalNasser:

Is there anything that this IDIOT of Trump would ever say or do that one zombie somewhere would not defend by attributing it to fake news? Does anyone really need any further proof that Trump is insane and unstable? Who did this thing to you people?

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by nextstep(m): 6:53pm On Apr 24, 2020
bakescos01:

He was just suggesting and not implementing. Your president don’t even have any idea in his head to suggest and you people don’t call him names.

Oh, we call our president names all the time; particularly as he says too little, giving the impression he does not care. When he does deign to give a speech, there's very little real content of value.

Potentially dangerous suggestions are better left unsaid. The medial community and manufactures understand this and have issues warnings - because they know there are people who will take these suggestions at face value and implement them.

A president who understands his people would not make medically-unsound suggestions.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by GamalNasser: 6:54pm On Apr 24, 2020
NaijaNaWaa:

Is there anything that this IDIOT of Trump would ever say or do that one zombie somewhere would not defend by attributing it to fake news? Does anyone really need any further proof that Trump is insane and unstable? Who did this thing to you people?

GTFOH
Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by rabzy: 6:55pm On Apr 24, 2020
abbey621:

Except the man never said disinfectant like spray or bleach, he was talking about using light to disinfect the body, this treatment while unproven or untested is certainly a possibility that should be looked at for crucial cases especially since warmer regions are showing more resistance to the virus than colder ones. The way the opening post was written suggested he was talking about your household disinfectants like Dettol or something.

I don't need no post, I watched the actual presentation and someone has posted it. He rambles like a kid...never finishing one sentence before jumping to the other..and I know what I heard and every other intelligent and no biased persons understands what he said.
He said if there is a way they can bring the light inside the body, that they should test that...then he move on to disinfectants, that it knocks out the virus in a minute, then if there is a way we can do something like that..in reference to bringing it inside the body like light..then he specifically said by injection inside...inside what...again..is it not the body..
I don't know how you want to twist that
Whatever the case he should give his suggestions during the hours of briefings to his people and get them to work on it and not come and spout half-baked ideas to the world

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by Xisnin(m): 6:55pm On Apr 24, 2020
shachris02:

Yes internally. How do you think UV light works for killing cancer cells in Phototherapy?

UV rays are injected into the body using light beams to kill off cancer cells.
Lies.
You don't know what phototherapy is.

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by ThierryJay: 6:56pm On Apr 24, 2020
shachris02:

Im referring to UV injection which could also be seen as UV bombardment. Below are definitions of injection. Check no 3.

You know, your attempt at justifying the indefensible is getting really ridiculous and you are just proving that you are trying to cover up something with your very weak arguments.

See, you need to understand that Trump's bungle does not absolve Buhari of incompetence and cluelessness. They are not linked as you guys are making it look like. So there is nothing bad in admitting Trump messed up while you still continue to criticize your President.

In the transcript which I'm sure you have read, Trump clearly mentioned the UV light issue first and then went on to talk about ANOTHER option which was the disinfectant and that was the point he used the word "injection". In the transcript, the two options were presented in separate paragraphs indicating he was talking about two different things.

In English, register of words is important. You don't "inject" UV light into someone in medical parlance. You "beam" UV light. The term "injection" is used for penetration of liquid into the body via a syringe, or similar device. It's like saying you want to inseminate light. How?? Also, the example you quoted was totally irrelevant as it referred to abstract qualities i.e she injected scorn into her voice, CR7 injected some pace into his play, etc This cannot be your support for "injecting" UV light which would have been yet another gaffe.

You know, you can also build credibility when you are man enough to own up to your mistakes and make lemonade out of lemons! So just give it a rest with all these lamely defensive attempts that will make you look extremely dumb which I believe you are not.

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by edgecution(m): 6:57pm On Apr 24, 2020
Americans know what Trump was talking about. I don't understand the reason why Nigerians are eager to jump in his defence. If Chloroquine works almost 50,000 people would not have died.

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by LannisterIMP: 6:58pm On Apr 24, 2020
Dr Trump

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by linearity: 7:00pm On Apr 24, 2020
GamalNasser:

You clearly didn’t watch it or are in denial trying to spin what he said...

He said, supposed ‘we bring it inside the body...by injection...’ and suggesting it should be tested.

He mentioned bringing it inside lungs as well....and that it should be tested.

The guy is senile and a mental case...stop defending stupidity. Trump himself acknowledged that he said it today, but deflected that he was joking, we know he was not...he meant what he was saying and thought he was contributing something sensible, but as usual he was speaking like a four year old.

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by Xisnin(m): 7:00pm On Apr 24, 2020
Devops:
If you listened to the same briefing I listened to and concluded Trump said people should literally inject disinfectants into their body. Then you and your ilks are scum on the face of the earth. The Trump Dearrangement Syndrome is getting strong.
Despite the fact that Trump speaks with grade 4 level grammar, you still can't understand him.
SMH

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by shachris02: 7:00pm On Apr 24, 2020
ThierryJay:

You know, your attempt at justifying the indefensible is getting really ridiculous and you are just proving that you are trying to cover up something with your very weak arguments.

See, you need to understand that Trump's bungle does not absolve Buhari of incompetence and cluelessness. They are not linked as you guys are making it look like. So there is nothing bad in admitting Trump messed up while you still continue to criticize your President.

In the transcript which I'm sure you have read, Trump clearly mentioned the UV light issue first and then went on to talk about ANOTHER option which was the disinfectant and that was the point he used the word "injection". In the transcript, the two options were presented in separate paragraphs indicating he was talking about two different things.

In English, register of words is important. You don't "inject" UV light into someone in medical parlance. You "beam" UV light. The term "injection" is used for penetration of liquid into the body via a syringe, or similar device. It's like saying you want to inseminate light. How?? Also, the example you quoted was totally irrelevant as it referred to abstract qualities i.e she injected scorn into her voice, CR7 injected some pace into his play, etc This cannot be your support for "injecting" UV light which would have been yet another gaffe.

You know, you can also build credibility when you are man enough to own up to your mistakes and make lemonade out of lemons! So just give it a rest with all these lamely defensive attempts that will make you look extremely dumb which I believe you are not.

No where in Trump's statement did he used"another'.

One question. Can light be injected? Yes or No?
Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by abbey621(m): 7:02pm On Apr 24, 2020
rabzy:

I don't need no post, I watched the actual presentation and someone has posted it. He rambles like a kid...never finishing one sentence before jumping to the other..and I know what I heard and every other intelligent and no biased persons understands what he said.
He suggested ingesting disinfectants

I watched it myself and he never said that, no reasonable person would suggest drinking bleach to cure a virus, he was referring to light and heat therapy as a way to disinfect the body, maybe you have a hard time understanding how Trump talks, maybe you're fascinated by the media spin on thinsg but let's use common sense here, can Trump himself DRINK BLEACH?

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by DEIFIED(m): 7:02pm On Apr 24, 2020
They should just bring those inflected to the Sahara desert and place then under the sun for 30 minutes, I believe that will work. all we need now is for this virus to be defeated and everybody goes back to their normal lives.
Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by shachris02: 7:02pm On Apr 24, 2020
Xisnin:

Lies.
You don't know what phototherapy is.

Okay. What is phototherapy, prof?
Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by LordAdam16: 7:02pm On Apr 24, 2020
cococandy:
Weeliweeli
Shacris02
Gamalnasser
Tok2008
Here’s a transcript of what he said.
You guys can have a field day twisting yourselves into weird shapes trying to defend the indefensible.

Even suggesting the UV light is something he had no business doing. Considering the side effects can be disastrous. I’m saying this for those hung up twisting it to around to seem like he meant injecting UV therapy. Even if he did mean that, it was a dangerous suggestion and he should learn to stfu. But clearly he was talking about injecting disinfectant. The time he mentioned UV light, he said through the skin. It wasn’t until he mentioned disinfectant that he said injection.

You folks are unbelievable.

It was a goddamn question to Bryan!

If you watched the video, he was speaking to Bryan, asking if that was possible. Saying it's a suggestion is being "disingenuous."

He's asked plenty of questions in his briefings to experts on the podium, whether it's about the absolute mortality rate or the effect of the seasons on spread. Normal people don't watch that and decide he's prescribing an injection of disinfectant as a treatment. Normal people watch that and the takeaway is that he's having a back-and-forth with an expert and asking a layman question.

That's how the WT reported that he suggested nuking a hurricane, when it was a layman question during a briefing with experts.

Can we make an explosion to change the path or defuse the strength of an hurricane?
Can we inject something that kills the virus in-vitro as quickly as disinfectants do on surfaces?

Would knowledgeable people in explosive ordnance and health ask such questions, no?
Does it mean anyone who asks such questions is an "id*ot," no?

I'm pretty certain you're a doofus in economy, quantum mechanics, sociology, crystallography, and a million other fields; and that most of your questions remotely related to said fields would sound like you were celebrating 420 to anyone with above average expertise.

Now it'd be all well and good if the backlash was in good faith, like when Trudeau made his "speaking moistly" tip, which is nothing like this by the way. That made the rounds in social media and was a good laugh for everyone irrespective of political bend. But you're literally calling Trump and his teeming supporters wack jobs because a boss asked a lay question to a more knowledgeable underling. Trump is a billionaire, he has made billions of similar off-the-cuff, outside-of-the-box inquisitions to subordinates in meetings, on the call, and everywhere.

This should not even be a conversation much more a news story much more a talking point. But here I am explaining to a full-grown supposedly-educated adult that no one knows everything and how conversations between a President and a subordinate works.

-Lord

Re: Trump Suggests Injecting People With Disinfectant As Treatment For Coronavirus by nextstep(m): 7:03pm On Apr 24, 2020
Perocom:
This man didn't mean they should inject humans with disinfectant, speaking like a layman, if experts said the virus dies quickly under sunlight or when in contact with disinfectant, why not follow the same trend and do something that would act like the disinfectant does and inject same into human bodies to get same results, of course any suggestions must be clinically tested before administration. His statement is literally, he is helpless as it stands now, anything that would bring solutions he will accept wholeheartedly, Americans are dieing in thousands and science is unable to find
solutions.

abbey621:
Except the man never said disinfectant like spray or bleach, he was talking about using light to disinfect the body, this treatment while unproven or untested is certainly a possibility that should be
looked at for crucial cases especially since warmer regions are showing more resistance to the virus than colder ones. The way the opening post was written suggested he was talking about your household
disinfectants like Dettol or something.

His quotes:
"Supposing we hit the body with tremendous ultraviolet or very powerful light"
"I've seen the disinfectant, where it knocks it out in a minute... do something like that, like injection inside..."

Upon hearing the phrase "disinfectant"... most people will reach for bleach and dettol.
Did you know that a ton of bacteria and viruses die in the sun or upon exposure to disinfectants on surfaces? We might as well stop making medicines, because, you know, "we can just inject people with dettol since it acts the same way"

If a leader is helpless, it's far better to say: "the medical community is working hard on a solution", and leave it at that, rather than give the impression he has any clue what he's talking about to save face - while potentially exposing people to hazards.

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) ... (19) (Reply)

Obama: I Smoked 9 Cigarettes A Day In White House & Stopped When Malia Caught Me / 2500-Year-Old Intact & Sealed Coffins Discovered In Egypt (Pictures) / Corpses Pile Up In Mykolaiv Morgue, Ukraine (Pictures)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 81