Stats: 3,153,334 members, 7,819,165 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 12:10 PM

Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary (27008 Views)

Reno Omokri: I Am Opposed To General Buhari But Sowore Lied / El-Rufai: Northern Governors Ready To Confront Anyone Opposed To Ending Almajiri / 377 Wards’ Chairmen Endorse Sanwo-olu, Ambode, Others To Face Direct Primary (2) (3) (4)

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by cbngov01(m): 7:33am On May 25, 2020
Sharrap Sir

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by Fadahunsi(m): 7:33am On May 25, 2020
Like they really care. Try direct Primaries and see yourself go down! But come to think of it, why do our politicians always use this as a vindictive tool? Ondo State is Indirect while Edo is Direct Primary model

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by ssogundele(m): 7:33am On May 25, 2020
Thanks for the concern but delegate of indirect primaries won’t aggravate the covid 19 abi? Smart by half.

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by Amdoyin(m): 7:35am On May 25, 2020
martineverest:
and Lagosians will sit at the comfort of their homes doing permutations for Edo state on how Oshiomhole will trump obaseki. .I just smh

it's either obaseki or PDP... Oshiomhole is dead and buried in Edo land
for your mind ehenn?

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by crosart(m): 7:35am On May 25, 2020
� This Edo primaries will be very hot �

Check this out, coming to your zone soon
Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by zikter(m): 7:37am On May 25, 2020
Just watch out, small time Oshio's camp will counter this with social distancing at the venue. They will even draw circles to support it. Anyways, direct primaries and Obaseki is out, indirect and Oshio is out.

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by DrBasit(m): 7:38am On May 25, 2020
Obaseki is just scared.... Coronavirus can still be spread when delegates converge for Indirect Primary. They may even go back and spread it to their communities. It's just 7 local governments that have cases of Covid-19 and it is more in Benin metropolis. Let party members stay back and vote using the direct primary. Obaseki can still emerge as a flag bearer if he is able to do the needful at this critical point....

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by martineverest(m): 7:41am On May 25, 2020
AmazingMOG:
my guy shut up you bini people makes too much useless noise.

That's why you people hype your useless city, the most useless and under developed city in South south full of mud house

Making noise about your culture and king but it took the British 3 days to burn down your kingdom then exile your king to Calabar

Making noise in politics and your state has nothing to boast of better political position in the country.

Do you think politics is by noise? Please go and sleep you're a lazy youth. go and repair your old city ravage with cultism and prostitution.
Ozuor

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by fergie001: 7:42am On May 25, 2020
DrBasit:
Obaseki is just scared.... Coronavirus can still be spread when delegates converge for Indirect Primary. They may even go back and spread it to their communities. It's just 7 local governments that have cases of Covid-19 and it is more in Benin metropolis. Let party members stay back and vote using the direct primary. Obaseki can still emerge as a flag bearer if he is able to do the needful at this critical point....
Nothing can be done at this stage. You can't shut the stable door after the horse has bolted.
Direct Primaries and he is a gonna, indirect and he stays.

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by BeardGangJnr1(m): 7:42am On May 25, 2020
that means elections Should not be held according to u Mr governor, since direct primaries and the main election is similar In nature.
but one thing is certain...even if rapture go take place...election must be held. it's not a Nigerian thing, that's how it is everywhere.. major elections hardly can be postponed.

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by cmax16: 7:42am On May 25, 2020
When Ambode was removed in Lagos, was it the NEC that told the state chapter to adopt direct primaries? Why are we not thinking here?
Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by AmazingMOG: 7:42am On May 25, 2020
martineverest:
Ozuor
I guess you're a cultistttttttt that's your city trade mark

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by FortuneDeGreat(m): 7:45am On May 25, 2020
Having looked into it, I think the reason he gave is sound and appropriate at the moment, it would be stupid of any body to even suggest such a massive gathering all in the name of ordinary party primaries.

If not that Nigeria being what it is, ordinarily, thinking of a direct method won't work but as the powers that be want it, Obaseki is obviously on a losing side.
Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by fergie001: 7:46am On May 25, 2020
cmax16:
When Ambode was removed in Lagos, was it the NEC that told the state chapter to adopt direct primaries? Why are we not thinking here?
We are thinking, its just some APC members are taking sides...The Court will help them nonetheless.
Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by Luckydubby7(m): 7:47am On May 25, 2020
I'm waiting for those supporting direct primary and also believed that covid19 is real.
Let me see what they have to say.
I'm waiting I knew some of them here.
Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by FortuneDeGreat(m): 7:49am On May 25, 2020
DrBasit:
An indirect method would easily be coordinated and social distance guidelines adhere to strictly but same can not be said about a direct method.
Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by martineverest(m): 7:49am On May 25, 2020
AmazingMOG:
u
Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by martineverest(m): 7:49am On May 25, 2020
AmazingMOG:
u are childish and ignorant

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by emperor863(m): 7:50am On May 25, 2020
When did Obaseki start to care for his people? This is a reckless governor who refused to place his state on lockdown when it mattered most just because of political considerations. His ally in this game of foolishness is Ganduje of Kano.

As for the primaries, no sane person on earth would agree for an indirect exercise in Edo state. Past events have taken care of that.

He should recollect that it was not PDP members that approached the courts for Justice in Rivers and Zamfara states that caused the loss of those states, rather it was APC members who were aggrieved that went to the courts.

Since Edo has never been on any form of lockdown since the outbreak of this pandemic, it will not cause any significant departure from the rising profile of covid 19 prevalence in Edo state.

Obaseki should be blamed squarely for not separating governance from politics. Since he has been in government for almost four years, he should go and meet his people directly to seek another mandate and not hide under some compromised delegates who are his appointees.

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by OKTolu: 7:51am On May 25, 2020
Obaseki is only scared of oshio baba and the outcome of the primary elections which I believed the APC nwc would have plan well, using covid 19 and social distancing as an excuse.
Let's sit back and watch as the event unfold in Edo state.

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by Globad(f): 7:52am On May 25, 2020
martineverest:
and Lagosians will sit at the comfort of their homes doing permutations for Edo state on how Oshiomhole will trump obaseki. .I just smh

it's either obaseki or PDP... Oshiomhole is dead and buried in Edo land

You seem to be so sure
Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by linearity: 7:53am On May 25, 2020
bolaayenimo:
If PDP decides to do direct primary, can Obaseki stop them as governor because of COVID-19??

Yes he can.

But, he is not going to say ‘no direct primary’.

All he need do is to sign an Executive Order against any gathering above 50 people because of the pandemic.

He is the CSO of the State and have the power to do that....the current lockdown he instituted in Edo State is restricting everyone, including PDP members.

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by emperor863(m): 7:55am On May 25, 2020
Fadahunsi:
Like they really care. Try direct Primaries and see yourself go down! But come to think of it, why do our politicians always use this as a vindictive tool? Ondo State is Indirect while Edo is Direct Primary model

Has the party pronounced indirect primaries in Ondo state? No

What you're reading in the media is the direct efforts of the Ondo state governor. Ondo state primaries will definitely be direct as well. Just wait for the party's NWC decision.

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by martineverest(m): 7:55am On May 25, 2020
Globad:

You seem to be so sure
nobody wants Oshiomhole to return .the hatred towards him is too much
Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by Royalfurnitures: 7:56am On May 25, 2020
We know the real reason,...fear or osho baba

Beautify your homes with our quality and durable furniture collections today
Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by Trimque2k1(m): 7:57am On May 25, 2020
AmazingMOG:

That's why you people hype your useless city, the most useless and under developed city in South south full of mud house

Making noise about your culture and king but it took the British 3 days to burn down your kingdom then exile your king to Calabar

Making noise in politics and your state has nothing to boast of better political position in the country.

Do you think politics is by noise? Please go and sleep you're a lazy youth. go and repair your old city ravage with cultism and prostitution.
Is there any other thing you wish to say about Edo and his people, cos you just stop too soon.Hypocrite!!

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by destinychildolu(m): 7:58am On May 25, 2020
Georgry:
This is an example of a man who knows the kind of power he has as a governor of a state, Oshiomhole should go kill himself,, large gathering is ban in the state and indirect election won't hold, I stand with Obaseki and I'm going to vote for you once again.
You are contradicting your Oga with you wrote .

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by xendra: 8:00am On May 25, 2020
so this man is talking about primary when people are sitting at home who will vote for him?

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by joyandfaith: 8:01am On May 25, 2020
Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by 4mable: 8:01am On May 25, 2020
I hope this won't come back to haunt him if the FG decides to appoint a sole administrator in States where elections can't hold to curb the spread of the virus. If INEC and our political parties can't manage the situation for ordinary party primaries, how do they intend to manage the situation when multiple parties would be involved on election days. It better they use this as a litmus test to prove election won't lead to a great tragedy.

Re: Obaseki: Why I Am Opposed To Direct Primary by new2012: 8:03am On May 25, 2020
AmazingMOG:

I'm not from Benin but had to reply u as your ethno-centric biased is top notch. Which city are you from? How developed is it? I bet your city was not worth the British invading, it had no economic value whatsoever.

On political position, what has yours brought u? Hunger?

We are Nigerians and shoud hold our leaders accountable, not stab other citizens of same shithole.

There Was No Sex Party In Kaduna, Police Witnesses Tell Court / The Winners, Losers In Battle For Lagos APC Governorship Ticket / There’s No Human Being Who Is 100% Clean, EFCC Chair Replies Matawalle

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 44