Stats: 3,153,609 members, 7,820,169 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 10:50 AM

Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City - Travel (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City (56399 Views)

Anambra International Cargo and passenger Airport Almost Ready(photos) / Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport Umueri Update (Photos ) / Ongoing Anambra International Airport City Project: 3-D (2) (3) (4)

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by Philipxxxx0: 3:33pm On Jul 17, 2020
somalianprince:
Firstly you are not from Anambra. Secondly, since there are airports in Owerri and Enugu, once the one in Anambra is completed, we may push for the ones in Owerri and Enugu to be converted to warehouses, so that all the states in the region would use the one in Anambra, since those states are near to each. Thirdly Anambra has the best roads networks, at least in the SE. Finally, Anambra international airport will be Nigeria's busiest airport after Lagos, Abuja and maybe PH.

How are you sure this guy is even Igbo, because Igbos are not stupid, don't engage people in faceless forum, anybody can choose any name here just to cause divisions against brothers, please stop engaging people here.

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by FA13(m): 3:35pm On Jul 17, 2020
somalianprince:

lol just look at this envious afonja. your opinion is more or less useless and inconsequential. Anambra is on top of their game.

Just as your opinion is too. Stupid tribal bigot.

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by somalianprince: 3:35pm On Jul 17, 2020
Where's the division in my post? cheesy

Philipxxxx0:
How are you sure this guy is even Igbo, because Igbos are not stupid, don't engage people in faceless forum, anybody can choose any name here just to cause divisions against brothers, please stop engaging people here.
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by Philipxxxx0: 3:36pm On Jul 17, 2020
The Airport project is good one ,I have told myself if APGA can't not deliver on this airport that I will never vote or encourage anyone to vote for their candidates again.
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by Philipxxxx0: 3:38pm On Jul 17, 2020
somalianprince:
Where's the division in my post? cheesy

try to understand me , am not talking about you, am talking about the idiot's you are engaging with.
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by somalianprince: 3:39pm On Jul 17, 2020
Philipxxxx0:
try to understand me , am not talking about you, am talking about the idiot's you are engaging with.

Oh sorry brother cheesy
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by LZAA: 3:41pm On Jul 17, 2020
Afamed and helinues wee not like thisgrin
Cc immhotep sarrki GMBuharii bastardmod simplyleo Adaibeku Adaibeku blackking98 iceberg3

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by tiredoflife(m): 3:42pm On Jul 17, 2020
lagdmark:

Within 3 to 6 months, the Coronavirus delayed the earlier completion. It for smaller aircrafts only

How can u say a cargo international airport is for smaller aircrafts
Fear who no fear u

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by TheArchangel(f): 3:44pm On Jul 17, 2020
Racoon:
Whao! This is great though Asaba & Akanu Ibiam Airports are just a stone throw.Dredging of the Niger will also be done in the long run.Ala Igbo ya dinma.
there is nothing like stone throw when you have to travel up to 45 minutes-1 hours to get to your destination.

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by obailala(m): 3:47pm On Jul 17, 2020
Feraz:

Are we basing this based on allocations and revenue generated by the states or is there another criteria because I'd have expected Kogi, Abia, Enugu to be here
No my mentions were purely based on funds available to the governors. Kogi, Abia and Enugu are fairly poor states, so their governors can be forgiven.
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by Aboguede(m): 3:53pm On Jul 17, 2020
Those of u usual mugs saying small aircraft and distance, u are block heads.

Just chotap

This is Anambra cargo airport

Just google that and chatup

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by Nobody: 4:06pm On Jul 17, 2020
Kingbuhari:
Igbo people have serious problem, why his village Oba airport would've been more viable due to it closeness to two economic hub of the state, Onitsha and Nnewi ... Who will go to Agulueri when Owerri airport and Asaba is just a stone throw... Anyway Tribal politics no go kee us

Obiano is from Aguleri and the airport is sited in Umueri.

Get your facts right..

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by earnit1: 4:15pm On Jul 17, 2020
oh
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by Onyebuchionu79: 4:23pm On Jul 17, 2020
spy24:
Anambra and Akwa ibom are the only two state in Nigeria that have governors that are working in succession

The rest are just there

And before anybody shouts Lagos
Tell me what Lagos governors have done in that state since the capital was moved from Lagos
Na maintenance them dey do for Lagos

As big as Lekki there is no general hospital
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by Iko5000: 4:47pm On Jul 17, 2020
Sorry to disappoint you but the airport will not be like the pic you displayed or with that number of planes capacity .
Rocksvibes234:
Gigantic project in Anambra
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by vicenzo(m): 4:55pm On Jul 17, 2020
chuxyfranklin:

Obiano is from Aguleri and the airport is sited in Umueri.

Get your facts right..

He has a point though.

Politicians in Igboland have been known for siting land consuming projects not in their own towns but in neighboring towns where the neighbors will lose lands to the government for such construction, while their own town keep theirs and still benefit from the project because of the rule of proximity.
Another reason for such behavior is to avoid being accused of being parochial. As you can see that you are already defending Obiano because you believe he sited the project not exactly in his own town but a neighboring one.
Umuleri is next town to Aguleri where Obiano hails from.

For example, Ike Nwachukwu from Isuikwuato was said to have facilitated the building of the then old Imo State University, now Abia State University in Uturu, even though he is actually from a neighboring town of Isuikwuato.

Enugu State University of Science and Technology ESUT stands on a land belonging to neighbouring towns to Agbani. Chimaroke the governor who moved it there is from Agbani.

Since I was small, I always knew this vision of Anambra international airport to have been planned to be established in Oba.
It makes sense too, because Oba being in Anambra central senatorial zone and having boundary with Nnewi in Anambra south zone, is at a very central location to the two major industrial cities of the state, ie Onitsha and Nnewi.
I have nothing against Umuleri, but Obiano used his influence as governor to influence the location of this airport there. They should not feel shortchanged if another governor comes in and decides to return it to its initial and original location in Oba.
And the idea of Oba not having enough land is not true.
Oba has enough land space to accommodate this airport .
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by WireWire22: 4:55pm On Jul 17, 2020
Note that the runway has 400meter called as the free zone each end of the runway.

Making the runway about 4.4km length

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by WireWire22: 5:02pm On Jul 17, 2020
Also note that Peter obi is the one that sited the airport project at Umueri with 750 hectares of land, while Obiano carried it on and extended it to 1500 hectares of land,

The airport sits on 1,500 hectares of land with enough elbowroom for expansion from Ivite Umueri to neighbouring communities such as Nando, Umunya, Otuocha, Aguleri, Nteje, Nsugbe and beyond

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by somalianprince: 5:04pm On Jul 17, 2020
Umueri is the center of Anambra, surrounded by major cities of Onitsha, Awka and Nnewi.

The choice of Umueri was chosen by Obi administration in 2009. Obiano is only implementing the airport project.

vicenzo:

He has a point though.

Politicians in Igboland have been known for siting land consuming projects not in their own towns but in neighboring towns where the neighbors will lose lands to the government for such construction, while their own town keep theirs and still benefit from the project because of the rule of proximity.
Another reason for such behavior is to avoid being accused of being parochial. As you can see that you are already defending Obiano because you believe he sited the project not exactly in his own town but a neighboring one.

For example, Ike Nwachukwu from Isuikwuato was said to have facilitated the building of the then old Imo State University, now Abia State University in Uturu, even though he is actually from a neighboring town of Isuikwuato.

Enugu State University of Science and Technology ESUT stands on a land belonging to neighbouring towns to Agbani. Chimaroke the governor who moved it there is from Agbani.

Since I was small, I always knew this vision of Anambra international airport to have been planned to be established in Oba.
It makes sense too, because Oba being in Anambra central senatorial zone and having boundary with Nnewi in Anambra south zone, is at a very central location to the two major industrial cities of the state, ie Onitsha and Nnewi.
I have nothing against Umuleri, but Obiano used his influence as governor to influence the location of this airport there. They should not feel shortchanged if another governor comes in and decides to return it to its initial and original location in Oba.

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by IDENNAA(m): 5:06pm On Jul 17, 2020
vicenzo:

He has a point though.

Well , we dont practice such nonsense games in Anambra. Every part of the state is being developed. The reason why the airport was moved was because of scarcity of lands in the greater Onicha areas. This has nothing to do with favouritism. Your examples are insuficient. Zik built UNN at Nsukka while he could have done so next to his town with massive lands.
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by IDENNAA(m): 5:08pm On Jul 17, 2020
somalianprince:
Umueri is the center of Anambra, surrounded by major cities of Onitsha, Awka and Nnewi.

The choice of Umueri was chosen by Obi administration in 2009. Obiano is only implementing the airport project.

These guys are fighting very hard to drive division into Anambra political system and we must act fast and aggressively to check them. Ndi Anambra , biko nu stay awake!

I am from Idenmili north and support the airport. Case closed.

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by IDENNAA(m): 5:12pm On Jul 17, 2020
WireWire22:
Also note that Peter obi is the one that sited the airport project at Umueri with 750 hectares of land, while Obiano carried it on and extended it to 1500 hectares of land,

The airport sits on 1,500 hectares of land with enough elbowroom for expansion from Ivite Umueri to neighbouring communities such as Nando, Umunya, Otuocha, Aguleri, Nteje, Nsugbe and beyond

This is what these people accusing Obiano of favouring his own people dont understand. Many issues went into the decision to site this airport at Umuleri , Oke Ebo.
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by vicenzo(m): 5:13pm On Jul 17, 2020
somalianprince:

https://www.google.com/amp/s/punchng.com/youths-threaten-sell-anambra-airport-site/%3famp=1

Oba international airport proposal is as old as old Anambra state (Enugu, Ebonyi and Anambra).

That land was mapped out long ago.
Why change it overnight?
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by vicenzo(m): 5:14pm On Jul 17, 2020
IDENNAA:

These guys are fighting very hard to drive division into Anambra political system and we must act fast and aggressively to check them. Ndi Anambra , biko nu stay awake!

Stop being ridiculous.

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by illiteratepmb: 5:25pm On Jul 17, 2020
Where in Anambra is the location of this project.
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by donprinyo(m): 5:26pm On Jul 17, 2020
Only mumus will not like this
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by somalianprince: 5:27pm On Jul 17, 2020
That's not the point. The point is that Oba is not a table land, and there is no much room for future expansion. Umueri is central to the major cities in Anambra, it has expansive and flat land for a project like airport. This is something that Oba lacks. That was why Obi chose this site at Umueri way back in 2009 when the airport approval was gotten. Obiano is merely implementing the plan.

vicenzo:

https://www.google.com/amp/s/punchng.com/youths-threaten-sell-anambra-airport-site/%3famp=1

Oba international airport proposal is as old as old Anambra state (Enugu, Ebonyi and Anambra).

That land was mapped out long ago.
Why change it overnight?

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by somalianprince: 5:28pm On Jul 17, 2020
They are fighting in vain. Anambra is a monolithic indivisible state.

IDENNAA:

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by vicenzo(m): 5:39pm On Jul 17, 2020
somalianprince:
That's not the point. The point is that Oba is not a table land, and there is no much room for future expansion. Umueri is central to the major cities in Anambra, it has expansive and flat land for a project like airport. This is something that Oba lacks. That was why Obi chose this site at Umueri way back in 2009 when the airport approval was gotten. Obiano is merely implementing the plan.

Okay.
Good. I never knew it was Obi brain child.
It's well. At least it's not in an Igala speaking community. Maka adi amama O gwalu O.
Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by nextstep(m): 5:45pm On Jul 17, 2020
This is a good development, and I'm happier it's not in Onitsha or Akwa or even Nnewi (which would benefit from proximity to an airport). This way development can be brought to different parts of the state. This will encourage development of homes, businesses, hotels, etc around that axis - which provides jobs and other opportunities. People are free to choose whichever airport they want to use and that is nothing but good news.

What we really need is for these airports to be truly international - especially to China and other parts of Asia, so people don't have to sojourn through Lagos or Abuja for trade, visiting factories, etc.. I also wish that a courier service would be able to fly in and out daily from these airports.

Re: Anambra International Cargo And Passenger Airport And The Airport City by WireWire22: 5:48pm On Jul 17, 2020
Lemme clarify u guys,

Anambra is building a full scaled international airport with cargo and passengers traffic, (Airport City) not just an airport but work class gigantic full scaled international airport. And it's need enough land for it

Oba with 580 hectares of land for the project dont have much land for future expansion.
But Umueri with 1500 hectares still have enough land for future expansion even expanding to the neighboring communities.

Umueri is also near to Awka and Onitsha with few minutes drive way.
So understand this.

Rice Trailer Crashes Into Market In Akungba, Ondo, Over 10 Feared Dead (GRAPHIC) / How Pius Adesanmi's Mother Had Her Canadian Visa Stamped In Her House In Kwara. / Some Tips About Living In Uk

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 59