Stats: 3,151,125 members, 7,811,165 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 04:20 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (9719) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11603692 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (9716) (9717) (9718) (9719) (9720) (9721) (9722) ... (16124) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 11:48pm On Oct 08, 2020
Starboytwo:
its not that they cant cross proficiently, more like we dont do lotta crossings.... Chuks is like robben, kalu(remember his brilliance againt ukraine) ejuke also like a right footed robben, we need and have got in osihmen, a fast and deadly striker and that is our style... Onuachu is just another Benteke scenario playing out...

Osimhen is not in the team so that comment is irrelevant.

It's shocking but outside Ighalo and Osimhen we are impotent.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 11:51pm On Oct 08, 2020
Subzero047:

If Akpoguma is our best defender in camp imagine when Uduokhai and Torunarigha will come in

Aa well as Iorfa and Adarabioyo

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 11:54pm On Oct 08, 2020
junnyjake:
I has a second look at the formation I dropped earlier and I didn't like what I see, so, here's a do-over.

I see Akpoguma starting whatever happens.

The double standard and expediency employed to get him clearance plus the obvious bias by Rohr for German players.

I will be SHOCKED if he does not start.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 11:56pm On Oct 08, 2020
Karlovich:
quality players have been added to the SE, they can match a few top teams including England

Tell me one of our players that can walk into the England team.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 11:56pm On Oct 08, 2020
Icon4s:

Bros, individually and collectively as a team, we cannot measure up with that England team.
If we didn't play Brazil in a friendly and anybody come here to say we can draw them, the person would have been lynched here.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by komekn(m): 11:57pm On Oct 08, 2020
smartsmith0907:

What's so special about them. Oya remove Kane and sterling who else shey nah lingard grin
They might be better than us individually but when it comes to team sprit I mean super eagles have an huge advantage over them

Can anybody match up to Danny Ings in the SE.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 12:02am On Oct 09, 2020
komekn:

Effectively you are saying that Chukwueze and Kalu cannot cross balls proficiently.

Do you think thats acceptable for a modern day footballer in today's expectations in football.

Not all wingers like to cross...

Chukwueze and Kalu play more like inverted wingers..
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Philosopher1979: 12:03am On Oct 09, 2020
komekn:

Then what on earth was Onuachu invited to the team for to cheer lead.

That's just poor, poor recruitment and decision making.

IMO opinion Algeria are technically superior to us. However, we may have the advantage in terms of athleticism ( pace and strength) without any quality strikers and limitations in our midfield.

We may struggle to control the game and dominate possession in comparison to Algeria.

That means having a target man like Onuachu gives us options because Mahrez, Benrhama and others will run circles around us.

So we dispens with trying to dominate the midfield and use the speed of counter attacks and and good hold up play. Something Onuachu can do very well.

KC has zero hold up play and has no physical presence to trouble any decent defence.

Our attack without Ighalo and Osimhen is in need of an overdose of viagra it's very impotent.

We have
1. Terem Moffi
2. Victor okoh Boniface
3. Tolu Arokodare
and othe young upcomming players on the way. Our football is producing talented forwards everytime. In fact Terem Moffi just transfered to lorient. We are producing talented forwards every time. As per crossers of the ball we have Hillary Gong but he just came back from injury
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 12:04am On Oct 09, 2020
komekn:

Osimhen is not in the team so that comment is irrelevant.

It's shocking but outside Ighalo and Osimhen we are impotent.

Which Ighalo? undecided
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kellycute(m): 12:11am On Oct 09, 2020
Danielnino00:

Which Ighalo? undecided

I tired ooo. Which ighalo he dey yarn upata for? Ighalo wey manure wan flush out of the team like shit wey stuck for toilet.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 12:14am On Oct 09, 2020
kellycute:
I tired ooo. Which ighalo he dey yarn upata for? Ighalo wey manure wan flush out of the team like shit wey stuck for toilet.

He is just finding a way to say "Iheanacho shouldn't start tomorrow" cheesy

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Starboytwo(m): 12:15am On Oct 09, 2020
Philosopher1979:

1. Foitball Academies
2. Private investors league starting in november
3. Nff/futures under15 and various youth competitions

Will keep producing players.
Also the new sports minister (Sunday dare) is determined ti improve our local league and football. All rhesw thungs are working. In fact i can assure you that right niw foreugn born players will fi d it difficult in the striker and wingers pisition. Nentake Dembele (an academy player) is the next big thing in our football.
Its just the local league that needs improvement and it will be done.
Barcelina has a football league in Nigeria and it is pioneered by a Nigerian in partnership wirh Barcelona. The foreign born thing is just a passing phase.
Ordunary olakunle olusegun and Samson Tijani if the u17 are on the way to big things. There is a silent revolution going on. Have you heard if Vandrezzer which is a local club run like a private league.
The silent revolution will stop thus trend. The problem is foreign born fans are making too much noise.

wow, all these are going on? Wow, i pray it works, i pray... The abundance of talent was never in doubt. We just need good LEADERSHIP... Abeg nentake dembele? How come? For a start thats not a nigerian name? Who him be? The name look like person wey go sabi play...

Wow
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 12:15am On Oct 09, 2020
Danielnino00:

Abeg,we don't want a "cross and inshAllah" style of play tomorrow...
We want fluid,easy flowing attacking football..
Dessers or Iheanacho should start... If Onuachu is going to be waiting for wingers to deliver crosses before he can score,then it won't be good for us..
He can come in the second half..
Who told you that Onuachu depends on crosses? most of his goals are through his feet!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 12:19am On Oct 09, 2020
MetalJigsaw:
Who told you that Onuachu depends on crosses? most of his goals are through his feet!

We can't change our style because of him, he has to adapt to our style. We don't have to play long balls, we have our style'

Rohr's words...
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Philosopher1979: 12:24am On Oct 09, 2020
Starboytwo:
wow, all these are going on? Wow, i pray it works, i pray... The abundance of talent was never in doubt. We just need good LEADERSHIP... Abeg nentake dembele? How come? For a start thats not a nigerian name? Who him be? The name look like person wey go sabi play...

Wow

He was discovered by gbs football academy in Jos this year and European clubs are after him. He at least grew up in Nigeria. He might be Nigerian anyway
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 12:25am On Oct 09, 2020
komekn:

Iorfa is a championship player, Adarabiayo may get a chance

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Starboytwo(m): 12:37am On Oct 09, 2020
Danielnino00:

He is just finding a way to say "Iheanacho shouldn't start tomorrow" cheesy
i will not lie. What komekn said is the pure truth, to me, in this list we dont have any striker.... Only osihmen be the striker weve got, i dont subscribe to ighalop abeg. Ok, check, Onuachu is just another Benteke scenario, atleast going by this thread alone, we dont want him, fine form but wrong style...

As for iheanacho, i dont see him bringing anything spetacular,still gonna be same ol player who most time underperfum... I dont rate him as a striker, and his performance and stats over 2 or 3 years now is too poor to still be earning call ups...

Dessers. That 1? ok... Just know unwanted onuachu is benching him,1. Reports here said he hasnt scored a single goal in training...

When i said i have no prefered line up, make everybody sha play, i know wetin i dey talk...

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Starboytwo(m): 12:42am On Oct 09, 2020
Philosopher1979:

He was discovered by gbs football academy in Jos this year and European clubs are after him. He at least grew up in Nigeria. He might be Nigerian anyway
which wing the guy they play, and i hope na really small boy sha...nantako dembele, the name resemble dem mali, guinea kinda name...
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 12:44am On Oct 09, 2020
Asisat Oshoala scored a brace as Barca Women defeated Sevilla 6-2

https://twitter.com/Ojbsport/status/1314230073638244352?s=09

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon79(m): 12:44am On Oct 09, 2020
Well, they lost 1-2 in extra time against Serbia. I wasn’t even aware that Lars Lagerback is now coaching Norway.

O pari

Subzero047:

How are Norway playing, they are my second team
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 12:45am On Oct 09, 2020
Icon79:
Well, they lost 1-2 in extra time against Serbia. I wasn’t even aware that Lars Lagerback is now coaching Norway.

O pari

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 12:48am On Oct 09, 2020
Starboytwo:
i will not lie. What komekn said is the pure truth, to me, in this list we dont have any striker.... Only osihmen be the striker weve got, i dont subscribe to ighalop abeg. Ok, check, Onuachu is just another Benteke scenario, atleast going by this thread alone, we dont want him, fine form but wrong style...

As for iheanacho, i dont see him bringing anything spetacular,still gonna be same ol player who most time underperfum... I dont rate him as a striker, and his performance and stats over 2 or 3 years now is too poor to still be earning call ups...

Dessers. That 1? ok... Just know unwanted onuachu is benching him,1. Reports here said he hasnt scored a single goal in training...

When i said i have no prefered line up, make everybody sha play, i know wetin i dey talk...

Whether or not people on this thread don't want Onuachu to start doesn't change the fact that he is in form this season....
Iheanacho has improved too from last season..
Dessers was the toast of all on this thread after his performance in the Dutch league last season..we shouldn't just discard him because he is struggling at Genk..

We have strikers in the team,and I'm confident any of them can step up to the occasion when required..

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon79(m): 12:50am On Oct 09, 2020
I heard that Algeria is missing one of their star players tho (I forgot his name), but we’re missing way too many of our star performers, Ndidi and Osihmen in particular are irreplaceable but don’t forget the goalkeeper. And we gonna miss Etebo’s high work rate plus Aribo’s creativity.

O pari

smartsmith0907:

I am scared I see rohr playing a kind of mourihno/simeone style tomorrow I really miss the likes of Osihmen,Ndidi even ehzibue
I'm expecting a draw or an early goal which might end 1-0 in our favor
Let's see how tomorrow go be sha.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Philosopher1979: 12:53am On Oct 09, 2020
Starboytwo:
which wing the guy they play, and i hope na really small boy sha...nantako dembele, the name resemble dem mali, guinea kinda name...

He is a winger
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 1:02am On Oct 09, 2020
smartsmith0907:
Likely line up for tomorrow

Okoye

Zaidu. Apkoguma. Ekong. Ebuehi

Ajayi. Onyeka

Kalu. Iwobi. Chuks

Desser

I haven't heard u say a bad word about Dele Alampasu, how come he isn't starting?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 1:36am On Oct 09, 2020
Icon79:
I heard that Algeria is missing one of their star players tho (I forgot his name), but we’re missing way too many of our star performers, Ndidi and Osihmen in particular are irreplaceable but don’t forget the goalkeeper. And we gonna miss Etebo’s high work rate plus Aribo’s creativity.

O pari

yes , two algerian players injured this days , are out for the match . Mehdi Zeffane and Zinedine Ferhat

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 1:43am On Oct 09, 2020
BascoVanVeli:

I haven't heard u say a bad word about Dele Alampasu, how come he isn't starting?

Okoye is the default first choice at the moment since Uzoho and Akpeyi are out. Rohr talked about Yakubu starting one of the games. Alampasu might also get some minutes.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by nairalandankrah: 2:08am On Oct 09, 2020
komekn:

Then what on earth was Onuachu invited to the team for to cheer lead.

That's just poor, poor recruitment and decision making.

IMO opinion Algeria are technically superior to us. However, we may have the advantage in terms of athleticism ( pace and strength) without any quality strikers and limitations in our midfield.

We may struggle to control the game and dominate possession in comparison to Algeria.

That means having a target man like Onuachu gives us options because Mahrez, Benrhama and others will run circles around us.

So we dispens with trying to dominate the midfield and use the speed of counter attacks and and good hold up play. Something Onuachu can do very well.

KC has zero hold up play and has no physical presence to trouble any decent defence.

Our attack without Ighalo and Osimhen is in need of an overdose of viagra it's very impotent.

Kc has zero hold up play Which kc is this one talking about? When was the last time you even watched Leicester citys match..
Guy there are many threads in nairaland, look for the one that fit you..

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 2:15am On Oct 09, 2020
Icon4s:

We are drifting towards a period when all Nigerian starting 11 would be foreign born.

The NFF really needs to step up and boost football development at the local level.

This is inevitable. There is nothing much that can be done, especially in the short term. We have to come to terms with this.

Emigration over the last 25 years has created a situation where the number of eligible foreign born Nigerian players has exploded. These players are exposed to training facilities and coaching that are not obtainable at home. The result that many of our foreign born players are better prepared for the demands of modern football. A lot of these players will play for us as they can not all be absorbed by their country of birth.

We just have to get the best of our players, either born in Nigeria or abroad. We have to accept that we will continue to have a significant part of our team made up of these foreign-born boys if we want a strong competitive team.

17 Likes 1 Share

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Samueltemi337(m): 3:22am On Oct 09, 2020
I really want Dessers to start today
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 4:22am On Oct 09, 2020
komekn:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 4:22am On Oct 09, 2020
Napoli dumps Milik for Osimhen
lawtvnews.com Oct 8, 2020 4:27 PM
Napoli have named their squad for the Serie A and Europa League tournaments with Arkadiusz Milik not included on either of them.

The Poland International’s contract is due to expire at the end of this season and with Victor Osimhen’s record breaking move from Lille to Gli Azzurri has seen chances for the 26 year-old having been on the verge of moves to Roma and then Fiorentina, but they never materialized.
Milik, who has scored 38 times in 93 games for Napoli, was warned that if he did not accept a transfer, he would be left in the stands, and the club seems to be following through on that promise.

Milik is not named in the Serie A squad list or the group of players, who can take part in the Europa League group stage.

Veteran Spanish forward, Fernando Llorente is in the Serie A side, but not the UEFA one, where he misses out along with Milik and Kevin Malcuit.

https://lawtvnews.com/sport/napoli-dumps-milik-for-osimhen/

(1) (2) (3) ... (9716) (9717) (9718) (9719) (9720) (9721) (9722) ... (16124) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: drDoom3(m), Friday03 and 9 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 52