Stats: 3,153,043 members, 7,818,091 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 07:33 AM

Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. - Education (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. (29591 Views)

Is It Advisable For A 21 Year Old To Study A 5 Year Course? / Study A Master In International Management At IUBH, Work In Germany / List Of Courses You Must Not Study In Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (11) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Nobody: 8:49am On Nov 10, 2020
BiggyB242:
Medicine is okay, law doesn't even pay well. Most law firms pay their lawyers +/-50k

anyone reading law now is wasting his time

unless na ESQ title dey hungry you, cause if na guy you be, and no connect, hunger go wire you for years if not decades :-/
leave law for women who fine, at least men go chase them after school cheesy

this our generation of graduates and undergraduates
wahala for who no get any Skills that can put food on their table
cause the way the value of degrees are tanking in this country, hmmm
even people who studied medicine dey complain, even when you find the job, the small 150 or 200, you earn after 9 years studying, responsibility go wipe it

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by shakyum: 8:49am On Nov 10, 2020
currently studying computer sc. even as an undergraduate, I don't collect money from my parents, the skills I have acquired are helping me a lot. When I am done with B.Sc I plan to study Cyber security security sc for my PG

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by iLegendd(m): 8:49am On Nov 10, 2020
Apt.

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Canih28: 8:49am On Nov 10, 2020
I chose Geology for next year Now I'm thinking of changing it to Computer science Any hope??

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Camelot65: 8:49am On Nov 10, 2020
BiggyB242:
Medicine is okay, law doesn't even pay well. Most law firms pay their lawyers +/-50k
Seriously, some of them are even jobless

Plus those who studied engineering, their own case sef sad

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Nicoswit(m): 8:51am On Nov 10, 2020
Ishiewo:
Chai!! Which means no hope for me, because I'm already in 100 level
No there is hope, its just that your course requires strong connection to get a good job...i know of a lady who graduated as an economics student...she got a job through connection in a big company in lagos island...her starting salary is 500K

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Karleb(m): 8:52am On Nov 10, 2020
lekki1444:
so you are trying to tell me you wasted 4 years of your life studying biochemistry and you cant alter the components of spinach to create a super-food ? so what the hecck where you doing for 4 years ? just wasting away in class snoring ?

as for ovid 19 and HIV those things are not what you think they are and that is why there can never be a cure for those things. thise things exist naturally in all humans without causing destruction. however when the electromagnetic frequency field sorrounding you, which is your immune system, when that field is diminished is when these opportunistic pathogens that occur naturally in all humans start to go on a rampage. my point being there can never be a cure. the cure is electromagnetic field alteration or electric foods. see ? you spent 4 years of your life learning nothing. now you are here wasted cheesy

If that is what you can infer from my post. Then it's okay.

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Mindlog: 8:53am On Nov 10, 2020
I am happy that after extensive research and having talked to a Prof over several months,I pursued my dream program, counselling psychology. Started earning from the course while in the second year as our lecturers did motivate us to be creative with what we were being taught and apply it into earning our tuition fees while still in school. cheesy

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Nobody: 8:53am On Nov 10, 2020
Ishiewo:

my sis studied same, did some random jobs in lag till she jand enter europe go do masters, most of her colleagues still dey teach for private schools 7 years later, so careful and be wise

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by lekki1444: 8:55am On Nov 10, 2020
Karleb:

If that is what you can infer from my post. Then it's okay.

nigga you better apply your biochemistry degree. that shit is very valuable. thats powerful knowledge. just apply yourself a little bit. you will figure it out wink

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Nobody: 8:55am On Nov 10, 2020
shakyum:
currently tudying computer sc. even as an undergraduate, I don't collect money from my parents, the skills I have acquired are helping me a lot. When I am done with B.Sc I plan to study Cyber security security sc for my PG
you are using programming ?
Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Karleb(m): 8:55am On Nov 10, 2020
Monday60655:
Nigeria is a failed country. Most of these aforementioned courses are highly employable. If not, I have and as well know many friends outside the country that study the same courses and got well paid jobs.

I wanted to include this but I didn't want the post to seem political.

Leaving this country is the surest bet.

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by MondayOsunbor(m): 8:56am On Nov 10, 2020
Karleb:

Ask yourself, how many Economics graduates you know have gotten a well paid job as an Economist in the last 5 years.

That'll answer your question.

ask your self first which industries do we have in Nigeria?

let we list it out for you??

1. con men industry AKA politics

2. Internet yahoo yahoo

3. Police reverse yahoo yahoo (rerobbering yahoo yahoo )

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Camelot65: 8:56am On Nov 10, 2020
Abyima:
But wait oo. Doctors, nurses, lawyers no dey find job. I have never seen anyone of them unemployed. My thought though.
I have seen lawyers and engineers, that of engineering is even worse

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Exodora: 8:57am On Nov 10, 2020
Alexaonfleek:
Abeg remove that music from there ooo.
I don't understand how someone will use 4 years as an undergraduate to study a course like that.
Most top musicians we have or we had,how many of them studied music
I doubt if you really know what you are saying .
My church , whenever they are going for a competition they always employ someone to tutor them on hymns them will sing just for a period of one month . If only you know how much he charged .

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by juseng(m): 8:59am On Nov 10, 2020
this thread is underrated.

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Camelot65: 8:59am On Nov 10, 2020
Agriculture

IT related courses

Health related courses***

You can also study other courses but please it's advisable to learn a skill in the list above, you can also think outside the box

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by PuZZyNegro: 9:00am On Nov 10, 2020
Ishiewo:

Don't be discouraged. I studied Economics Education and most of my colleagues that studied pure Economics under social science are well employed.

Some are working as full staff bankers.

The only savior you will have studying Economics is to graduate with a minimum of second class upper division (non negotiable) and also graduate and finish youth service at most 24 years old.

These two factors (class of degree and age) play a great role in your ability to find job after graduating with Economics degree.

Other factors involve knowing people and having the ability (finance) to buy job slot.

Before you ask, I am self employed and earn x3 or more of what my friend that works with First Bank earns monthly.

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Maj196(m): 9:01am On Nov 10, 2020
Wahala for who no study computer science or learn programming.

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Karleb(m): 9:02am On Nov 10, 2020
Exodora:

I doubt if you really know what you are saying .
My church , whenever they are going for a competition they always employ someone to tutor them on hymns them will sing just for a period of one month . If only you know how much he charged .

Thank you.

When I speak, I do from experience. Musicians (including instrumentalists) make cool money. Many of them make more than our civil servants.

But people still think you shouldn't study music in the 21st century.

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Nobody: 9:03am On Nov 10, 2020
Skye123:

Bro pls, what are the marketable courses in this country? I'm already studying microbiology. My sis shouldn't make the mistake I made
continue with your microbiology, make a first class or 2:1 to get a high chance of applying for a job...this days the course you did doesnt matter. if you like study juju and get a 2:1 banks will still invite you for a test.

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by juseng(m): 9:03am On Nov 10, 2020
you just want to be noticed, saying something outside the context of the thread, I noticed you sha. next time take your time and read through very well
Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Karlifate: 9:04am On Nov 10, 2020
Monday60655:
Nigeria is a failed country. Most of these aforementioned courses are highly employable. If not, I have and as well know many friends outside the country that study the same courses and got well paid jobs.
You remind me of what someone told about a Nigerian painter, that earns £1,500 per month in Austria, apart from other side jobs given to him.

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Exodora: 9:04am On Nov 10, 2020
galantjoe:
Based on my 15years practical experience during job interviews on what employers really want, the following courses if well studied can always fetch you food on your table.
1. Medicine and surgery
2. Pharmacy, becoming certified
3. Law and becoming barrister
4. BSc nursing and having RN
5. Accountancy, becoming chartered or knowing your onion.
6. Computer science, knowing your onion
7. Computer engr. Knowing your onion.
8. Civil, machanical, chemical engineering, knowing your onion
9. Architecture,
10. Applied art
11. Music
12. Food science, technology, nutrition and dietetics
13. Actuarial science
14. Mathematics with finance/IT or applied maths with options computing, finance, analytics, etc
15. Physics with options in practical Engineering, technology, mechanics, electronics, computing, IT, ETC.
16. Chemistry with option in. Practical engineering, paint production, industrial uses, etc.
17. Education options in English, local languages, science education, technology, etc.

Why local languages and no foreign languages ?
Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Monday60655(m): 9:05am On Nov 10, 2020
Karleb:

I wanted to include this but I didn't want the post to seem political.

Leaving this country is the surest bet.

Exactly, though we should push further on how to get the system working.
Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Nobody: 9:05am On Nov 10, 2020
FahBuLous:
No... I wanna study business admin buh i wanna learn graphic desiqninq as skill..
Alright.
Good luck
Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Senator2023: 9:06am On Nov 10, 2020
Even though I agreed with you in courses selection,It is Nigeria as a country that makes your point real, Quality control job is meant for Biochemistry and microbiology . Every course has area of specialization but low number of industries and inadequate information makes things hard for people. Even Medical doctors are receiving penny as salary now, accounting ;if you are not chartered nothing for you, don't even go to law; charge and bail gang and so on, in short Nigeria is hell fire on earth.

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by Karleb(m): 9:07am On Nov 10, 2020
Biden911:

Don't mind the mumu man. Study any course and come out with good grades with connections you will make it.
Most jobs don't discriminate certificates.

Goodluck.

If everyone had a connection. If everyone could make the good grades then life might be easier.

But the truth is, not everyone will be able to buy a job. Not everyone will make good grades. Not everyone will be connected. In fact, if everyone has connection the whole essence of connection will be defeated, same as good grades.

But everyone can have a skill.

Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by ademola1580: 9:07am On Nov 10, 2020
[quote author=Ishiewo post=95850048]Abeg, is Economics marketable in Nigeria?

All management course are marketable,you just need to improve on the IT aspect of it,as an economist now you have the opportunity to learn financial analysis and modelling,data analytics and also be good at econometrics.
Re: Do Not Study A Course Just Because You Like It. by bluefilm: 9:07am On Nov 10, 2020
Karleb:

You my friend are funny.

Do you know how much a plot of land cost in my village? grin

The question remains:

How do you create a job as a political science graduate without capital ?!

...and your comment brings us back to the reason the thread was created.

Why would one study political science because of passion only to become a farmer post graduation because they needs to make ends meet.

Why didn't such fellow just go with agriculture in the first place?

You know what...?

I am not here to correct your pessimistic and defeatist views because doing that with you will go on and on and nothing will be achieved at the end of the day.

Truth is that whatever you believe in is what works for you.

If you believe that you cannot raise capital to start your own business, fine.

If you think you can, fine.

Whatever you choose to do with your life is fine with me.

Mind you, even those that read the so called hot cake courses are also struggling to find a place in the job market so as you can see, studying a particular course to get a certificate to improve your employability is not even a guarantee in our world today.

There are many ways to raise a capital to start your business.

If your brain is so soft that you cannot even think of at least one way of raising capital for your own business, then I advise you to start thinking now because thinking is supposed to be one of the skills you should have developed while in school.

Lest I forget, the only reason why I pointed out the option of agriculture is simply because I am of the opinion that instead of focusing on just one way of earning the bread, one can actually diversify.

If you believe that your certificate is the ONLY way to guarantee you earning some bread in life, then that's your own cup of tea.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (11) (Reply)

B.sc In Biochemistry & Masters In Pharmacy Can They Go Together? / UNILAG Crisis: Ogundipe Leads ASUU Protest As Senate Rejects His Removal-Video / What Is The Most Embarrassing Day Of Your Life In School?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 49