Stats: 3,153,000 members, 7,817,961 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 12:03 AM

Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? - Food (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? (42560 Views)

This Wicked Snake That's Killing My Christmas Chicken Was Finally Caught / Biggest Christmas Chicken 2020 / The Christmas Chicken I Bought For N3,000 (2) (3) (4)

Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by jditimiya(m): 1:06pm On Dec 24, 2020
We the people are the problem the government is trying to fight for change of mindset, some people just want to make gain no matter how thing sare hard or good. Bros make we no blame Government all the time we are the problem of these world.

Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by Karleb(m): 1:07pm On Dec 24, 2020
slick1:

Can you prove that the demand this year is higher?
And who told you demand alone is what drives prices up. Were you not taught about supply in your basic economics?
So has supply suddenly become limited that demand alone will drive the price of chicken to 7000 naira?

Oga! What is your problem?

Supply of Christmas chicken can never be more than the demand. Ever!

The only thing that'll make farmers not empty there poultry this yuletide period will be because consumers don't have money.

Besides, the price depends on your location.

In some places its N3, 500, some places N10, 000. Thesame chicken.
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by bluefilm: 1:10pm On Dec 24, 2020
MrToothBrush:
Chicken! Have You Noticed This?

With just 5 days to Christmas chickens are everywhere already. Today after church, me and my siblings were passing by a poultry and we decided to branch and check the chickens

We asked for the price and the last price was 7000! Yes 7000 per Chicken. I was amazed because during Easter, early this year, I had bought the same size of chicken for just 3000 and 3500 respectively. Although the ones we priced today were very big and heavy I just wonder how something that cost between 3000 and 3500naira could suddenly sky rocket to 7000 naira per chicken. Who else has noticed this increase.

What's the cost of chicken in your area ??

Na the season na.

Make poultry farmers chop small na abeg. wink
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by Black052(m): 1:10pm On Dec 24, 2020
FuckThaMod:
You see this country, the politicians isn't the problem
we are
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by jamesharryson(m): 1:11pm On Dec 24, 2020
chatinent:
A poultry I manage: N2500.

A neighbor's poultry: N3500.

This is price for hotel size
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by friday2011(m): 1:12pm On Dec 24, 2020
SolomonGrundy:
I bought yesterday for 12k

Wetin happen.... For ediye?

For this kain period wey every where dey red like this.

For that 12k, i go add 8k join, buy better goat.

Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by Nobody: 1:12pm On Dec 24, 2020
Demand and Supply.

Simple Economics principle.

Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by greggng: 1:13pm On Dec 24, 2020
Nigerians are bunch of lazy people ...I can do without chicken ....it has close substitute ....my worry is the price of fuel and electricity ..
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by Brandonx(m): 1:13pm On Dec 24, 2020
But lauretta onochie said the price of food item is very cheap so that chicken should go for 1500 at most at lauretta's poultry.
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by OlujobaSamuel: 1:13pm On Dec 24, 2020
majamajic:

3 months ? How ?
Rearing period for broilers is 8weeks to 12weeks.
Most of the birds you see for high price are between 3months to 4months.(12weeks to 16weeks)

Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by majamajic(m): 1:17pm On Dec 24, 2020
OlujobaSamuel:

Rearing period for broilers is 8weeks to 12weeks.
Most of the birds you see for high price are between 3months to 4months.(12weeks to 16weeks)

A bird of 8 weeks never reach to chop

I trained my chicks for 5 months , u need to see them , 12 weeks na under age , though Arabs do eat 2 weeks old chicks
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by solpat(m): 1:18pm On Dec 24, 2020
Some people in Benin City sell 10k. Imagine angry angry

Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by destinyakwa: 1:18pm On Dec 24, 2020
4000 naira
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by BRATISLAVA: 1:19pm On Dec 24, 2020
OlujobaSamuel:

It's not robbery, have you considered other factors.
What if the person raised loan from bank at about 30% interest rate?
Where will he get the returns from to offset the loan?
I have chickens of ₦3000 to ₦7000. It's all about your pocket and choice.
I bought doc for ₦600, feeds for ₦5200, add drugs and logistics, then factor in the time(3months) in production, and still tell us that we are cheating.
Also note that we all spend in the same economy. Will my profit be sufficient to take me for another 3months to get a new set of birds ready? Will I be able to afford transport, clothing, shelter, feeding, etc with the profit considering hike in various goods and services in the nation?

Even the ones who didn't take loans have increased their prices. Same thing with every other commodity. People with old stock will see new prices, and with the usual greed will also hike their prices. If you ask them why, "everything, the price has gone up, the new prices...", or even worse, "fuel price" -- for old stock! So it's not about taking loans.

Let's just say that Nigerians are their own economic problem.
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by Bizibi(m): 1:22pm On Dec 24, 2020
edlion57:
we are taking of chicken not ram
I believe him because some people are selling theirs for 9k or 10k in Benin city.
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by iruoghene7(m): 1:24pm On Dec 24, 2020
arduino:

Easy with the lies nah......We all know say chicken expensive but 12K?
he didn't finish what he wanted to type. He meant to say he bought 3 chickens @4k per chicken.
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by Bahamas95(m): 1:24pm On Dec 24, 2020
Thank God I have twelve cockerels which I reared.

My Xmas and new year don set already......... Nothing concern me with price of chicken for market.

Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by themes009(m): 1:24pm On Dec 24, 2020
grin cheesy

Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by donnie(m): 1:25pm On Dec 24, 2020
It's a wicked feast, what do you expect?

See More
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by Drizzy5001(m): 1:26pm On Dec 24, 2020
Chicken is 3k in my area, there also the one for 4500. Depending on the weight and size.
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by nobilie: 1:28pm On Dec 24, 2020
FuckThaMod:
You see this country, the politicians isn't the problem
Well, if you look deeply, you'll see its tied to leadership. If security was not a problem, farmers will grow crops and sell cheap.
Reason chicken is expensive is because feed is very-very expensive. A 25kg bag of feed cost more than 5k (plus transport to the farm). It is estimated that chicken will eat a bag of feed from day old to maturity.
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by TheLasyBuddha: 1:28pm On Dec 24, 2020
UndauntedYOCA:
My friend sells for 2k and my other friend in Calabar sells for 4k, they're large.

Bought in Calabar today for NGN2,100. Medium size. Felt satisfied. Althought, with so much "abeg na" "na me dey beg you, abeg".
The woman and I were begging each other until she conceded.

Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by udoka1987: 1:29pm On Dec 24, 2020
that same chicken and size is 3k in my area kogi state

Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by TOPCRUISE(m): 1:30pm On Dec 24, 2020
WTF, but goat is N15000 undecided
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by TEQ365VENTURES(m): 1:30pm On Dec 24, 2020
arduino:

Easy with the lies nah......We all know say chicken expensive but 12K?
I actually saw 10k last
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by Unrated900(m): 1:31pm On Dec 24, 2020
chatinent:
A poultry I manage: N2500.

A neighbor's poultry: N3500.

Can you transport one to jalingo
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by Homeboiy: 1:32pm On Dec 24, 2020
It’s 12k in my area

The lowest I have seen is 7k

I bought one for 12k
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by Edyice: 1:34pm On Dec 24, 2020
Lauretta Onochie and lie Mohammed said food has cheep that we can get anything for cheeper prices this Christmas angry

I just don't like the way she move around with lie Mohammed

Lies all around... Nonsense angry

Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by nerd004: 1:35pm On Dec 24, 2020
just bought 4 for #20000
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by CaIIMeAthena(f): 1:37pm On Dec 24, 2020
MrToothBrush:
Chicken! Have You Noticed This?

With just 5 days to Christmas chickens are everywhere already. Today after church, me and my siblings were passing by a poultry and we decided to branch and check the chickens

We asked for the price and the last price was 7000! Yes 7000 per Chicken. I was amazed because during Easter, early this year, I had bought the same size of chicken for just 3000 and 3500 respectively. Although the ones we priced today were very big and heavy I just wonder how something that cost between 3000 and 3500naira could suddenly sky rocket to 7000 naira per chicken. Who else has noticed this increase.

What's the cost of chicken in your area ??
increase in feed, my neighbor that deals on broilers sells at same 7k too
Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by Edyice: 1:37pm On Dec 24, 2020
Homeboiy:
It’s 12k in my area

The lowest I have seen is 7k

I bought one for 12k

Re: Christmas Chicken! Have You Noticed This Increase In Price? by MrToothBrush: 1:40pm On Dec 24, 2020
nerd004:
just bought 4 for #20000
Oshey golden chicken

I Prepared Jollof Rice For New Year / See The Huge Python My Neighbour Was Roasting Yesterday.... / Alligator Was Killed In My Neighborhood Today

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 32