Stats: 3,153,211 members, 7,818,711 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 10:32 PM

Oni Was A Chief Priest - Culture (18) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Oni Was A Chief Priest (23858 Views)

Students Who Killed Our Sacred Python Are In Grave Danger – Owerri Chief Priest / Chinese Man, Mike Zhang Crowned A Chief In Kano, Nigerians React (video) / Man Undergoes Spiritual Cleansing In A River To Become A Chief In Bayelsa.Photos (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (15) (16) (17) (18) (19) (20) (21) ... (33) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Obalufon: 1:13am On Jan 01, 2021
nocomment9999:
Guys, use the parts of the videos which are referenced.
This guy has already done the job.
I don't need to get myself tired.
I can go back to writing my paper.

Perharps it is time to make a topic on yoruba true history with references such as in the videos.
Also add all the proofs I gave.
The yoruba don't like history, they are interested in destroying history, not discovering it.
True history puts them to shame, so they must destroy it and claim other people's history.
You must show them their true history.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=llporKrPsbU&t=1662s

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2hU-ibkPfg

Etinosa1234
AreaFada2
Samuk
Valirex
Davidnazee
gregyboy

Omo yibbo.. slowpoke
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Etinosa1234: 1:25am On Jan 01, 2021
The word official means approved by authority...

The Story that Ekaladerhan is Oduduwa has been approved by Benin authorities ie Akenzua and Erediauwa... That makes it the official story of the origin of the Oba of Benin..

Not the fuss u are spewing here...

Pls what makes Cyril punch story official when not accepted by authority?

What was Cyril sources sef if not from the same Benin people...

Oral traditions vary in communities... The Yoruba Muslims believe Oduduwa came from Mecca, the Yoruba traditionalist believe he came from the sky.

Even in Benin history, there are different accounts as to the death of Ewuare 1, the story of emotan, the story of Arhuan and this stories get altered as time goes on

What makes an oral history accepted is when it is accepted by most people of which the ife story is not

So Cyril story is not valid especially as there was no known written work where he got his story from apart from the oral stories which can be twisted depending on who is saying it

Samuk
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Obalufon: 1:35am On Jan 01, 2021
s
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Obalufon: 1:37am On Jan 01, 2021
[quote author=samuk post=97599440][/quote]
All these story to fuel your Ego war is normal thing in Yoruba land ,we fight among ourselves we kill ourselves we are dreaded warriors , If Benin fought with Ado ekiti and conquer them is normal phenomena. Even Rome was defeated by Germanic barbarian tribe.. Benin should have gone for the Ijebus kingdom atleast it would showed their strength and military capability .i know Even Benin suffered lot of defeat from the Igala s
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Etinosa1234: 1:38am On Jan 01, 2021
Obalufon:
All these story to fuel your Ego war is normal thing in Yoruba we fight among ourselves we kill ourselves , If Benin fought with Ado ekiti and conquer them is normal phenomena. Even Rome was defeated by Germanic barbarian tribe.. Benin should have gone for the Ijebus kingdom atleast it would showed their strength and military capability .i know Even Benin suffered lot of defeat from the Igala s

Lmao.. let's use ur logic... As great as the Oyo Empire was, why didn't they fight and defeat the Fulanis... It would have shown their military capability instead of fighting who they knew they could defeat ordinarily
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Obalufon: 1:39am On Jan 01, 2021
Etinosa1234:

Lmao.. let's use ur logic... As great as the Oyo Empire was, why didn't they fight and defeat the Fulanis... It would have shown their military capability instead of fighting who they knew they could defeat ordinarily
go and read story of Oyo
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by samuk: 1:40am On Jan 01, 2021
Etinosa1234:
The word official means approved by authority...

The Story that Ekaladerhan is Oduduwa has been approved by Benin authorities ie Akenzua and Erediauwa... That makes it the official story of the origin of the Oba of Benin..

Not the fuss u are spewing here...

Pls what makes Cyril punch story official when not accepted by authority?

What was Cyril sources sef if not from the same Benin people...

Oral traditions vary in communities... The Yoruba Muslims believe Oduduwa came from Mecca, the Yoruba traditionalist believe he came from the sky.

Even in Benin history, there are different accounts as to the death of Ewuare 1, the story of emotan, the story of Arhuan and this stories get altered as time goes on

So Cyril story is not valid especially as there was no known written work where he got his story from apart from the oral stories which can be twisted depending on who is saying it

Samuk

Gbam, what more can I say, don't mind the yeye girl, she wants to promote one version of oral history that have no eyewitness evidence over another.

The Oduduwa story is nothing but oral history that can't be backed up with eyewitness historical evidence.

Who was there that documented Oduduwa life.

The Yoruba know they have no history, that's why they are now forcing the Benin to come down to their level to start discussing oral history.
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Etinosa1234: 1:50am On Jan 01, 2021
Obalufon:
go and read story of Oyo

Lol I've read it... only the surface tho and here's what I saw

The Oyo Empire was defeated by the Nupe and borgu in the year 1789 and 1783 respectively

The Dahomey decisively defeated the Oyo Empire in 1823 and continued making raids in the kingdom

The Fulani collected Ilorin from you using ur own people, besiged Offa and destroyed the capital of the Oyo kingdom Oyo ile

Is there anything I should know abt the invincible Oyo kingdom?
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Etinosa1234: 1:56am On Jan 01, 2021
Obalufon:

All these story to fuel your Ego war is normal thing in Yoruba land ,we fight among ourselves we kill ourselves we are dreaded warriors , If Benin fought with Ado ekiti and conquer them is normal phenomena. Even Rome was defeated by Germanic barbarian tribe.. Benin should have gone for the Ijebus kingdom atleast it would showed their strength and military capability .i know Even Benin suffered lot of defeat from the Igala s

At the bolded... The igala never defeated Benin infact it was the other way round..

In fact the defeat of igala was what made Queen idia very popular in history

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by TAO11(f): 1:58am On Jan 01, 2021
samuk:
The irrefutable facts.
1. As already stated, modern Yoruba was created in 1808 from descendants of freed slaves from all over Africa and south west Nigeria people.
This has been debunked in my foregoing comment.

2. Some of you here are parroting Ife as your new homes because you no longer know where you originally descended from in African because of the circumstance in which your ancestors found themselves in Nigeria amongst the south western people of Nigeria.
I see flood of tears! grin

Anyways, Ife is our shared cradle of Yoruba civilization -- because we are Yorubas. And in addition to being a Yoruba (Awori & Ijebu) whose cradle of civilization is Ife, my mother is a princess of Ile-Ife.

Yes, I know the foregoing information would definitely move you to tears because you are not possibly born of royalty; and as such you’re are bonafide slave of the Yoruba-Oba of Benin. cheesy

Yes, “slave of the Oba” is the ‘proud’ title which every Bini man and woman must bear for being unrelated to the non-Bini Yoruba-Oba dynasty who rules over Benin Kingdom.

3. Most original people or owners of south western Nigeria don't subscribe to Ife or Ooni supremacy, this is still evidence today. After almost 100 years of the political creation of Ife as the cradle of Yoruba nation, …
Oh wait! You’re still hung up on this your 100 yEaRs pOliTicAl cReAtiON after you quietly soaked in the disgrace only a couple of days ago?? LMAO

, the Ooni and Ife is still struggling to gain any recognition from the Oba of Lagos, Awujale of Ijebu, Olugbo, etc, the superiority of the last Ooni was never recognised by the Alaafin
Whatever personal tussle these Obas have with specific occupant of the Ife throne rather than with the Ife throne itself is counter-discourse.

It is clear from their respective ancestral histories, textual evidence and old photographs that the Ife throne is the origin and root of their respective thrones.

What is incomparable is that within Benin City in itself right under you Oba's nose; the Ogimie family has refused till date to acknowledge the supremacy of your Oba. Moreover, the Enogie of Ologbo has also publicly undermined your Oba. Let’s not even talk about the Ijaws in Edo State. cheesy

4. If Ife was genuinely the cradle of Yoruba civilisation and not a concocted and fabricated lie, there wouldn't have been supremacy tussle amongst south west monarchs.
You mean if Benin was truly paramount there would have been no questioning of its authority right under your Oba's nose within the same city from olden times?? Is this what you have in mind?? Lol!

5. The supremacy of the Benin monarch is not being questioned by any monarchy in the entire south south Nigeria because Benin is real while Ife is a fake political imitation.
“Repeating my lies many, many times will eventually cause my gullible Benin people to believe me” ~ Samuk, 2020.

Moreover, the Itsekiris and Ijaws within Edo state as well as the Ogiamie family under your Oba’s nose have all publicly undermined and ridiculed your Oba’s alleged hegemony.

6. All Oba of Lagos from present to previous sees the Oba of Benin as their royal father not the Ooni. They see themselves as Benin descendants not Ife.
FALSE!

Regarding the part of Oba Akiolu’s interview (which the Binis have clung to as a source of hope, at the expense of his disclaimers); the statement here (on a closer and more careful consideration) does not actually say what it has been assumed all along to have said. cheesy

The Oba’s specific statement in question at timestamp 5:00 of the official video (or timestamp 0:12 of the Binis edited video) says and I quote here as follows:

“The first ‘Oba of Lagos is a male descendant of Oba of Benin”.

To examine this statement closely and strictly as you would want us to, this specific statement does not necessarily refer to Ashipa as it has been assumed all along. It could plausibly be in respect of Ado his son.

(1) It is not uncommon that both Ado and Ashipa are often equivocally at different times regarded as the first king — just as it is not uncommon with Oranmiyan and Eweka among the Binis.

At an instant in the traditional narratives, Oranmiyan and Ashipa are each simply regarded as progenitor and not Oba. In the same breath, at other instants in the traditional narratives, each is both progenitor as well as Oba.

(2) Furthermore, the phrase Oba Akiolu used, viz. “male descendant” actually has nothing to do with what we’ve assumed it to mean all along. The phrase is not the same thing as “patrilineal descendant”. grin

“Male descendant” simply recognizes the child to be a descended son from an ancestor — the ancestor being a Benin Oba in this case.

Nothing is said about the son’s mother or father. The descent from the Benin Oba could have been through his own mother or through his own father, in either case of which he is still a “male descendant” of the Benin Oba. cheesy

In the light of this closer examination and scrutiny, it becomes obvious that Oba Akiolu’s reference in his own specific statement here is to Ado the son of both Ashipa (the Yoruba progenitor of the Eleko dynasty) and his Bini queen. grin

Having exposed the foregoing, it now becomes more obvious why Oba Akiolu could have issued a disclaimer (at timestamp 5:45 of the official version of the interview — embedded below with Channels TV logo) declaring that Lagos does not belong to Benin Kingdom. grin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOsp9VLRFno

In order to hide this particular disclaimer issued by the Oba, the Binis went through the stress of downloading this original video from Channels TV's YouTube page and editing out the parts containing the disclaimer.

They then proceeded to upload their edited version to a private YouTube account from where they’ve copied the YouTube link and pasted to Nairaland to further promote their business of deception. Lol.

Notice the Channels TV logo on the official and original version from Channels TV YouTube page which I posted above.

Compare that to the Rubik's cube logo on their own edited version (from their private account) as shown below.

The Benin fraud didn’t begin today, and it’s probably not ending anytime soon.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TvaiC_djW8o

————————
For references to the Lagos account, see the following:

(1) Rev. J. B. Wood, Historical Notices of Lagos, West Africa, 1878.

(2) Rev. J. B. Losi, History of Lagos, 1914.

(3) and Sir Alan Burns, History of Nigeria, 1929.

I have repeatedly posted a screenshot of the relevant page from Sir Alan Burns' work on the Lagos account which is said by Robert Smith to be based on the first two.

7. You will hardly see real Ife here on nairaland debating what they know to be lies. Only the wannabe without historical roots are here parroting Ife fabrications and lies.
“Repeating my lies many, many times will eventually cause my gullible Benin people to believe me” ~ Samuk, 2020.

8. Yoruba can only try to sell theirs lies to those that don't know or have history. Benin itself is history others study and the average Benin person is very much at home with history and can't be intimidated and cowed by insults from nitwits without historical roots.

Cc: Obalufon, Ideadoctor, Balogunodua, babtoundey, sesan85

6 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Etinosa1234: 2:04am On Jan 01, 2021
samuk:

Gbam, what more can I say, don't mind the yeye girl, she wants to promote one version of oral history that have no eyewitness evidence over another.

The Oduduwa story is nothing but oral history that can't be backed up with eyewitness historical evidence.

Who was there that documented Oduduwa life.

The Yoruba know they have no history, that's why they are now forcing the Benin to come down to their level to start discussing oral history.

True jare

Bro u get strength Sha... At least u dey follow the gal do back and forth... I nor fit ooo... I get many things to do..... Maybe when I dey less busy sha
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Obalufon: 2:12am On Jan 01, 2021
Etinosa1234:

Lol I've read it... only the surface tho and here's what I saw

The Oyo Empire was defeated by the Nupe and borgu in the year 1789 and 1783 respectively

The Dahomey decisively defeated the Oyo Empire in 1823 and continued making raids in the kingdom

The Fulani collected Ilorin from you using ur own people, besiged Offa and destroyed the capital of the Oyo kingdom Oyo ile

Is there anything I should know abt the invincible Oyo kingdom?
Nupe and borgu you are dead brain lol
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by samuk: 2:15am On Jan 01, 2021
TAO11:
I’m not sure why you need the Yorubas to prove or disprove a claim made by your own daddies.

Listen lad, it was your Bini daddies who insisted adamantly to the Europeans that they had connections with Ife, with the Ooni, and with the Yoruba country in general. It wasn’t the other way around.

Moreover, nowhere have I ever read that the Yorubas forced your daddies at gun point to narrate such account. So, you may choose to throw your Obas under the bus as usual. I really don't care. Call them sell outs and insecure for all I care. It wasn’t the Yorubas forcing them is the point.

HELLO! I guess your confusion and insecurity hit an all-time high as you were typing this particular comment. cheesy grin

Lagos was documented by the Portuguese in the late 1400s; the Ijebus around the same period; the Itsekiris around the same period; the Oyos in the 1700s by the Governor of the Cape-Coast Castle. I guess in your warped brain these Yoruba subgroups are Bini people.

Moreover, Ife was documented by name in Ibn Battuta’s Travels in the 1300s at a period when Benin, as expected, cannot possibly be noticed. This remains an eternal source of irreversible despair for you. Swallow it. grin

Igbos?? Lies have failed you, hence your attempt at trying your hand on “public discord” – perhaps that may sell. Loser!

Well, no matter the quantum of emotional blackmail and public discord you attempt, the irreversible damage has already been done and the truth has been unveiled. Both the Igbos and the Yorubas have repeatedly testified to identifying your Obas for who they are – Yoruba men from Ife. grin

Your comment here must be due to either of the following, or both:

(A) You failed to receive the basic education required to recognize the significance of the word “returnee”.

OR

(B) You are perpetually but hurt that your Bini daddies and mommies who were sold by Ibadan raiders never regained their freedom.

Moreover, returnees were resettled from the Americas back to their home regions -- specifically to the colonies of Sierra Leone and of Liberia.

While many of them established their new homes in these colonies, a number of them decided to move back to their respective homelands in other parts of West Africa and Central Africa from where they had originally left.

Having debunked your fiction, the following is a direct refutation of the 1808 date which you also wove into your fiction:

Reference to the ethno-linguistic group of people called Yoruba appears in at least one of the early 1600s essays of the Timbuktu scholar, Ahmad Baba.

The embedded screenshot below shows page 39 of the English translation of Ahmad Baba’s replies on slavery which he entitled “Mi‘rāj al-Su‘ūd”.
www.nairaland.com/attachments/12916030_35bd589040034203aa5d7d687c1da64a_jpeg_jpeg5d6dcb71a92c88b75b7bd3b5b6f4593f
www.nairaland.com/attachments/12916031_bce6e5f2e3254df19e5858797b6be638_jpeg_jpega9555b89c3b33922d09a96bffaab55da

This specific translation shown here is by John Hunwick and Fatima Harrak for the Institute of African Studies Rabat, Morocco – this is part of the ongoing preservation effort for his corpus of old Arabic manuscripts.

The link below shows more pages of this particular translation of his old Arabic essay from the University of Alberta, Canada.

http://www.artsrn.ualberta.ca/amcdouga/Hist347/autumn%202012/additional%20readings/ahmad_baba.pdf

Ideadoctor, Obalufon, Newton85, Balogunodua, babtoundey, sesan85

Can you see why I said the Yoruba and especially you Tao is not smart. You come up with your nonsense citations and references knowing that most people don't examine them.

I have just gone through your so called year 2000 translation of a supposed 16th century Islamic text and found references to Ade Ajayi and Ajayi Crowder. Why would a supposed simple translation from 16th century Arabic text to English reference a 18th century Ade Ajayi and Ajayi Crowder. Where these figures in existence in the 16th century when these supposed Arabic text where written?

Obviously the Yoruba in the text came from late 18th century inputs of Ajayi Crowder not the original Arabic text the same way modern interpretations of Benin kings in Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, etc are written down today as Oba.

I will like to see the original 16th century Arabic text that states Yoruba. I can get it interpreted by the Arabs around me.

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Ideadoctor(m): 2:16am On Jan 01, 2021
EdoDefence:

You're really taking this far, you spill hatred for Benins. You should quit this insults.
If you must show you hate us then do it like a man, gather an army and match for Benin.
yeye!
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Etinosa1234: 2:16am On Jan 01, 2021
Obalufon:
Nupe and borgu you are dead brain lol

Ohhh u never read that part?

Try read am ooo..E deh help

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by TAO11(f): 2:25am On Jan 01, 2021
samuk:

Can you see why I said the Yoruba and especially you Tao is not smart. You come up with your nonsense citations and references knowing that most people don't examine them.

I have just gone through you so called year 2000 translation of a supposed 16th century Islamic text and found references to Ade Ajayi and Ajayi Crowder. Why would a supposed simple translation from 16th century Arabic text to English reference a 18th century Ade Ajayi and Ajayi Crowder. Where these figures in existence in the 16th century when these supposed Arabic text where written?

Obviously the Yoruba in the text came from late 18th century inputs of Ajayi Crowder not the original Arabic text the same way modern interpretations of Benin kings in Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, etc are written down as Oba.
Yours is a clear case of a dummy who thinks himself as cunning. grin

Show me a screenshot of the page where you found that the actual body of the translation mentions the names: Micheal Crowder, Ade Ajayi, et al.

You may need a dictionary at this stage to appreciate what a translation is and what a translator's annotation (or footnote, or commentary) is. cheesy

Yes! Both you and I know that you understand exactly what you’re doing. Or don’t you? grin

You’re only trying hard to cover up for your mess up. cheesy

And the best way you thought to do that is to pretend to be ignorant of the meaning of “translation” and of “footnote”.

You obviously never get tired of being disgraced. Do you?

I will like to see the original 16th century Arabic text that states Yoruba. I can get it interpreted by the Arabs around me.
@samuk, I know this is only one of your cheap pleadings with which you seek to save face and soak in disgrace whenever it becomes unbearable.

However, I decided (for the fun of it) to painstakingly read through some of the early 1600s manuscript folios of Ahmad Baba’s “Mi‘rāj al-Su‘ūd“ to extract the actual folio in question for you.

By so doing I will be giving you the fresh and golden opportunity to be creative with yet another special pleading. cheesy

As such, find embedded below the actual folio from where the translators have done their translation — showing the list of the ethnic-linguistic groups with Baba’s Arabic original of the name “Yoruba” particularly highlighted for you.
www.nairaland.com/attachments/12924497_5f8c8fcd48c848d2b88df144cbb2812c_jpeg_jpegf6b00ae4ee5f6daa0c3a908bef599eb7

The link below goes to some more folios of this same manuscript where this particular folio is also present.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/9b/The_Ladder_of_Ascent_in_Obtaining_the_Procurements_of_the_Sudan-_Ahmad_Baba_Answers_a_Moroccan’s_Questions_about_Slavery_WDL9661.pdf

Compare and contrast with the earlier translation as embedded below:

http://www.artsrn.ualberta.ca/amcdouga/Hist347/autumn%202012/additional%20readings/ahmad_baba.pdf

www.nairaland.com/attachments/12916030_35bd589040034203aa5d7d687c1da64a_jpeg_jpeg5d6dcb71a92c88b75b7bd3b5b6f4593f
www.nairaland.com/attachments/12916031_bce6e5f2e3254df19e5858797b6be638_jpeg_jpega9555b89c3b33922d09a96bffaab55da

Cc: LegendHero, macof, RuggedSniper, DenreleDave, Saintbehot, reallest, gomojam, Balogunodua, babtoundey, Ideadoctor, ABULARdotCom, TheLionofLasigi, Olu317, Amujale

9 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Ideadoctor(m): 2:29am On Jan 01, 2021
You f0cking sissies comparing yourself with Israel and other minor nations who hold up against major aggressors, let me ask you do you have any updated arsenal or updated technologies that will serve you against Yoruba imperial power? Benin this Benin that, and biafrans ransacked your little gutter which you call city without your ball less men given any resistance, your big skirt chiefs ran up and down when biafrans announced their arrival with shells.
Yoruba stood against the aggressors and no inch of their land was captured, now tell me you that biafrans sacked within a day, how much do we Yoruba need to ruin you, eyin omode! The glory of the war goes to the Yoruba, awolowo provide the strategy, Benjamin adekunle actualized it,talk less of you maggots, am ready for ya all bastards speaking trash all day long,let this be my new years gift to you f0cking worms

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Balogunodua(m): 2:32am On Jan 01, 2021
TAO11:

Show me a screenshot of the page where you found the body of the translation mentioning Ajayi Crowder, Ade Ajayi, et al.

You may need a dictionary at this stage to appreciate what a translation is and what a translator's annotation (or footnote, or commentary) is. cheesy

Yes! Both you and I know that you understand exactly what you’re doing. Or don’t you?

You’re only trying hard to cover up for your mess up. And the best way you could do that is to pretend to be ignorant of the meaning of “translation” and of “footnote”.

You obviously never get tired of being disgraced.

Ideadoctor, Balogunodua, babtoundey, Obalufon, newton85, sesan85.
So samuk finally enters 2021 with his dullness... grin

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Balogunodua(m): 2:34am On Jan 01, 2021
EdoDefence:

Bro I have been watching you and I must say you are an epitome of wisdom.
This self acclaimed majorities so much believe in numbers.
Let me add to the list they should also read on how Gengis Khan turn China's greatest weapon (Population) into Thier nightmare.

They should also read up on why US still defeats China in military terms
Another Edo miscreant cheesy you go collect beating like deluded brothers... grin

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by TAO11(f): 2:34am On Jan 01, 2021
Balogunodua:

So samuk finally enters 2021 with his dullness... grin
Well I partially agree. He’s dull normally.

But c’mon! He can’t possibly be that dull to not know what a footnote is.

I think he’s only disappointed that he messed up by allowing his heartbroken brother (nocomment99999) mislead him.

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Balogunodua(m): 2:36am On Jan 01, 2021
Etinosa1234:

You won't blame him Sha... They think the whole world ends at Yoruba land...

The way the guy types, u'll see that nairaland is his only source of info hence the reason for his ignorance
Kikikiki...so says Mr. Traveller.... grin let me guess you are also a French teacher.. grin

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by samuk: 2:38am On Jan 01, 2021
TAO11:

Show me a screenshot of the page where you found that [size=8pt]the actual body of the translation[/color] mentions the names: Crowder, Ade Ajayi, et al.

Yes! Both you and I know that you understand exactly what you’re doing. Or don’t you? grin

You’re only trying hard to cover up for your mess up. cheesy

And the best way you thought to do that is to pretend to be ignorant of the meaning of “translation” and of “footnote”.

You obviously never get tired of being disgraced.

Ideadoctor, Balogunodua, babtoundey, Obalufon, newton85, sesan85.

Why would a simple translation from 16th century Arabic text to English require a footnote that referenced modern day Ade Ajayi and Michael Crowder? What was their relevance and inputs, were they the one doing the translation?
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Balogunodua(m): 2:39am On Jan 01, 2021
TAO11:

I think he’s only disappointed that he messed up by allowing his heartbroken brother (nocomment99999) mislead him.

A dull person can easily be mislead...

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Ideadoctor(m): 2:40am On Jan 01, 2021
samuk:

You guys are even going too far to cite international examples. Below is what Benin did to his Yoruba people in the past, maybe he thinks the fighting gene was not passed down to this generation of Benin.

Benin lordship over Yoruba Land.

No part of Ekiti was spared the agony of imperialist invasions…The rampaging Benin armies sacked Ogotun, Aramoko, some subordinate communities of Ijero, Ado communities such as Are, Afao, Ugbo (now Ilu) Omoba and Agbado and settled a large percentage of the haul of captives therefrom in Ikere, their garrison post.

Benin armies constantly waged wars of external aggressions on Ekitiland and other communities in different parts of old Ondo State in their quest for territorial expansion and control, among others. A good reference point is the Ado-Ikere relations that resulted to Benin pillage and attacks on Ado-Ekiti on several occasion. Olomola (1984:2-3) noted that Benin armies invaded parts of Ado kingdom a few times between 1500 and 1815.. Olomola further asserted that the Ewi actually devise a strategy of evacuating his capital city so that the Benin armies would not disturb the Ewi and the rest of his people in their new site.
Odo which was, before the Benin invasion a town of considerable size, broke up as the people sought the safety of rocky and forest recesses and Uyin and Igede lost part of their population in their fight against Benin in 1815.

The development of the Ado Kingdom was seriously affected by external invasion. These resulted in series of demographic upheavals with settlements constantly moved from one site to another. The most serious of these external invasions were by the "Edo" of Benin. They attacked and destroyed many settlements…in the Ado Kingdom… The Edos were invited by Ogoga, the third time the Edos were so invited to settle the quarrel between Ado and Ikere. The line of action they resolved to adopt was to bring all the villages under the ewi to Ikere, settle them there and in this way Ikere would be equal or even bigger than Ado. Ado would then be afraid of Ikere. The Benin soldiers came and sent words to the Ewi Aroloye… He refused to surrender. He did not in any way show that he was not ready for fight. Every town or village under him except Ijan were prepared to fight…

Every town or village under him (Ewi) except Ijan were prepared to fight… The Benin soldiers stormed Igbara-Odo and Ilawe and took them. At this time, Ado town had been vacated. Aroloye took the people to a place called Oke Oko Axis between Ifaki and Iworoko. Most of the gods Ado worshipped on that side: Olua at Eyio, Obanifon at Esure and Are, Ogbese and Orisala at Iworoko. The soldiers pitched their camps near Uyin (Iyin)…Ogbesi Okun, the then Oluyin …was conquered and killed. They proceeded to Igede, Awo and Esure and took them. The inhabitants of Igede then uder Okiribiti were driven in a north-easternly direction to a place called Oke Asha…Edo troops then marched to Iworoko…The soldiers entered Are…The same fate befell Afao. They were all taken to Ikere. The soldiers moved to Igbemo …entered Igbo-Omoba (now Ilu-Omoba)…The soldiers left Aisegba for Agbado and without delay took it and evacuated the people. Agbado was the last place under the Ewi. With the conquest, of Agbado, the soldiers seemed to have finished their job…’

Ewi Idagunmodo (1696-1710), Ewi Okinbaloye Aritawekun (1710-1722), Ewi Amono Ola (1722-1762), Ewi Afunbiowo (1762-1781), Ewi Akulojuorun (1781-1808), Ewi Aroloye (1808-1836) who reigned at Ado but were attacked successively by Benin hordes…‘During the reign of Ewi Aroloye, Ado-Ewi’s kingdom witnessed massive dislocation across the terrain as town dwellers and villagers ran for safety in different directions. Many of the captives from Iworoko, Are, Afao, Ugboomoba (now Ilumoba) and Agbado were taken to Ukere by Benin invaders’."
samudiot you wrote trash,complete trash,naso we mumu reach,idiot who are you composing history for!, if dem born you well Joke apart,go and speak this trash to yorubas in the real world that is when you will that khaki no be leather.
Wish I could see you face to face, to see that your distorted face, or worst still speak this trash in my hearing, I swear, I would correct your deficiency with beating, you f0cking sissy hiding behind keyboard to conquer lands,yeye,your father's no fit talk less of you boys with little experience of life and death,we don't joke, we take the street

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by TAO11(f): 2:41am On Jan 01, 2021
Balogunodua:

A dull person can easily be mislead...
True!

I see what you did. You finally crushed my argument with a superior argument.

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Obalufon: 2:48am On Jan 01, 2021
The great warrior Oranmiyan visited Nupe, Nupe yield to his strength.. Oyo kingship lineage is product of Nupe princess and ife prince Oranmiyan .Go to Nupe land they speak Yoruba and Nupe language that should show you the dominance and influence of Yoruba on them ..Well at a point they do rose to power raided and sacked Old Oyo .. It is dream of every kingdom to rise and conquer their conqueror ..Oyo came back stronger to check them, lord over them again.....Bariba./Borgu has always been vassal state' of Oyo empire ...We share strong historical lineage ..Nupe/yoruba/borgu /Igala

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Balogunodua(m): 2:48am On Jan 01, 2021
samuk:

You guys are even going too far to cite international examples. Below is what Benin did to his Yoruba people in the past, maybe he thinks the fighting gene was not passed down to this generation of Benin.

Benin lordship over Yoruba Land.

No part of Ekiti was spared the agony of imperialist invasions…The rampaging Benin armies sacked Ogotun, Aramoko, some subordinate communities of Ijero, Ado communities such as Are, Afao, Ugbo (now Ilu) Omoba and Agbado and settled a large percentage of the haul of captives therefrom in Ikere, their garrison post.

Benin armies constantly waged wars of external aggressions on Ekitiland and other communities in different parts of old Ondo State in their quest for territorial expansion and control, among others. A good reference point is the Ado-Ikere relations that resulted to Benin pillage and attacks on Ado-Ekiti on several occasion. Olomola (1984:2-3) noted that Benin armies invaded parts of Ado kingdom a few times between 1500 and 1815.. Olomola further asserted that the Ewi actually devise a strategy of evacuating his capital city so that the Benin armies would not disturb the Ewi and the rest of his people in their new site.
Odo which was, before the Benin invasion a town of considerable size, broke up as the people sought the safety of rocky and forest recesses and Uyin and Igede lost part of their population in their fight against Benin in 1815.

The development of the Ado Kingdom was seriously affected by external invasion. These resulted in series of demographic upheavals with settlements constantly moved from one site to another. The most serious of these external invasions were by the "Edo" of Benin. They attacked and destroyed many settlements…in the Ado Kingdom… The Edos were invited by Ogoga, the third time the Edos were so invited to settle the quarrel between Ado and Ikere. The line of action they resolved to adopt was to bring all the villages under the ewi to Ikere, settle them there and in this way Ikere would be equal or even bigger than Ado. Ado would then be afraid of Ikere. The Benin soldiers came and sent words to the Ewi Aroloye… He refused to surrender. He did not in any way show that he was not ready for fight. Every town or village under him except Ijan were prepared to fight…

Every town or village under him (Ewi) except Ijan were prepared to fight… The Benin soldiers stormed Igbara-Odo and Ilawe and took them. At this time, Ado town had been vacated. Aroloye took the people to a place called Oke Oko Axis between Ifaki and Iworoko. Most of the gods Ado worshipped on that side: Olua at Eyio, Obanifon at Esure and Are, Ogbese and Orisala at Iworoko. The soldiers pitched their camps near Uyin (Iyin)…Ogbesi Okun, the then Oluyin …was conquered and killed. They proceeded to Igede, Awo and Esure and took them. The inhabitants of Igede then uder Okiribiti were driven in a north-easternly direction to a place called Oke Asha…Edo troops then marched to Iworoko…The soldiers entered Are…The same fate befell Afao. They were all taken to Ikere. The soldiers moved to Igbemo …entered Igbo-Omoba (now Ilu-Omoba)…The soldiers left Aisegba for Agbado and without delay took it and evacuated the people. Agbado was the last place under the Ewi. With the conquest, of Agbado, the soldiers seemed to have finished their job…’

Ewi Idagunmodo (1696-1710), Ewi Okinbaloye Aritawekun (1710-1722), Ewi Amono Ola (1722-1762), Ewi Afunbiowo (1762-1781), Ewi Akulojuorun (1781-1808), Ewi Aroloye (1808-1836) who reigned at Ado but were attacked successively by Benin hordes…‘During the reign of Ewi Aroloye, Ado-Ewi’s kingdom witnessed massive dislocation across the terrain as town dwellers and villagers ran for safety in different directions. Many of the captives from Iworoko, Are, Afao, Ugboomoba (now Ilumoba) and Agbado were taken to Ukere by Benin invaders’."
So you brought all this trash...from your anus... cheesy wonderful grin
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by samuk: 2:48am On Jan 01, 2021
TAO11:

Like I said earlier, the dull ones are those that are quick to insults otherwise you can make your submission if you really believe in your argument. When you are being beaten, you quickly retort to insults to end the debate.

A well educated person with good upbringing and etiquette and sound knowledge sticks to the point.

You trying to discredit a publicly available channels TV interview of the Oba of Lagos shows you have no shame and can go to any length to show it.

Normally I wouldn't have time for people as low as you but for the sake of those people who you are trying to deceive with your lies.
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Balogunodua(m): 2:49am On Jan 01, 2021
TAO11:
True!

I see what you did. You finally crushed my argument with a superior argument.
Lol... cheesy
Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by TAO11(f): 2:50am On Jan 01, 2021
samuk:
Why would a simple translation from 16th century Arabic text to English require a footnote that referenced modern day Ade Ajayi and Michael Crowder? What was their relevance and inputs, were they the one doing the translation?
Good question /s grin

If you’ve ever read a modern translation of any ancient or classical document, then you would have found the answer to your fake question. Lol!

Translators give annotations to their translations of ancient and classical documents in order to provide modern readers with details and the historical context around the writer’s discourse on certain obscure or cursory passages, phrases, sentences, or words.

Have you ever seen a Bible (in English) before? cheesy That is an example of a modern translation of an ancient document.

The footnotes in these Bible translations are not there because the Bible scholars/translators were conspiring to sTeAL beNiN HiStOrY. grin

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Balogunodua(m): 2:50am On Jan 01, 2021
samuk:

Like I said earlier, the dull ones are those that are quick to insults otherwise you can make your submission if you really believe in your argument. When you are being beaten, you quickly retort to insults to end the debate.

A well educated person with good upbringing and etiquette and sound knowledge sticks to the point.

You trying to discredit a publicly available channels TV interview of the Oba of Lagos shows you have no shame and can go to any length to show it.

Normally I wouldn't have time for people as low as you but for the sake of those people who you are trying to deceive with your lies.
Wailing technic.... grin

Re: Oni Was A Chief Priest by Ideadoctor(m): 2:50am On Jan 01, 2021
nocomment9999:
Guys, use the parts of the videos which are referenced.
This guy has already done the job.
I don't need to get myself tired.
I can go back to writing my paper.

Perharps it is time to make a topic on yoruba true history with references such as in the videos.
Also add all the proofs I gave.
The yoruba don't like history, they are interested in destroying history, not discovering it.
True history puts them to shame, so they must destroy it and claim other people's history.
You must show them their true history.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=llporKrPsbU&t=1662s

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2hU-ibkPfg

Etinosa1234
AreaFada2
Samuk
Valirex
Davidnazee
gregyboy
true history is the one that support your lies and over bloated tribal ego,abeg shift

(1) (2) (3) ... (15) (16) (17) (18) (19) (20) (21) ... (33) (Reply)

Ifa Devotees Who Engaged In Fraudulent Activities Beg Alaafin 4 Forgiveness(pics / The Name Lagos, Was Called Ekonunuame By The Benins / Learning French Language

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 132