Stats: 3,325,224 members, 8,420,883 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 01:25 PM

PrinceGee23's Posts

Nairaland ForumPrinceGee23's ProfilePrinceGee23's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 (of 7 pages)

TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 4:05pm On May 25, 2017
Chapecoense:
GOD has done it. VISA APPROVED This morning 6:30am at Lagos embassy.
Eshe o BABA.
Transcript Loading....
Congratulobia
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 4:03pm On May 25, 2017
TheGreat342:
Hello,

I just got my I-20. I don't know what next to do? Someone should please guide me on how to I can apply for f-1 visa and pay my SEVIS fee
Contact texrem to help you pay for your SEVIS fee with no hassle and comfortable exchange rate.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 4:01pm On May 25, 2017
Did I read you type last year exchange rate was is 150-200.... NO. This rate was for the year 2013/2014. Dollar ran up from afterwards. We will be successful by the grace of God.

successflow:
just wondering what this country currency will be next few years to comes, as at last year naira exchange rate was around 150-200/$ to purchased visa fees but today rate is 400/$. and one VO will now want to denied student Visa, no be small matter ooh
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 11:32pm On May 23, 2017
Zeng:
I tried doing this. Didn't show me their research fields, just their qualifications. Will it be ok to just say I don't have a research topic yet?
Hmmmm..... I get you and some do include there research area and publication in there resume if you can get that but it's not compulsory to have a research topic, I believe it will simply boost someone's chance a bit in front of VO.

Best of luck.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 9:25pm On May 23, 2017
Try and check the department website you should see list of there member and possibly there research interest or field then pick

Zeng:
How do I know what prof to work with? Do I just pick anyone?
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 9:19pm On May 23, 2017
Mehn, more than scary with this very good profile.... Hmmm. May b his SOI but even at that.... Mehn the guy don try kilode
temi4fash:
Woooow..

Now that scary

Wetin man go do nowhuh cry cry cry
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 9:07pm On May 23, 2017
happyday:
@ bolded, he was trying to be funny. Obviously, you weren't in the mood! Congrats!!
You catch the drill baba.... Your head valid!
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 9:05pm On May 23, 2017
Baba, we plenty mo be small and everybody they fight for funding everywhere... Imagine 3.98/4(Omo).... Well me don get interest in one computer science field sha..... Its very interesting too grin
temi4fash:
Looool

As in no be here..

I saw an Indian GPA on gradcafe and am like Jeeez? Ki lo de

3.98/4

The waka self don dai taya me small small
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 8:50pm On May 23, 2017
Congratulations and I don't think there is a specific or standard dressing foe interview just be start, presentable and comfortable
nastydamus:
I had my visa interview today and, thanks to the transcripts of others on this thread, I knew what to expect going in.

There was a heavy downpour that kept beating till 06:20am, after which we queued up to be let in.

I was interviewed by a lady on the extreme left hand side (facing the VO's).
I was her second interviewee for the day after she'd dished out a blue paper to the first person.

The interview:

VO: good morning
Me: good morning
VO: pass me your passport, i-20 and sevis receipt
Me: did as she asked
VO: so why Drexel University?
Me: I carried out an extensive research online for schools that would match my test scores and research interests, and two universities were a perfect fit for me - Drexel University and Unl.
VO: so you applied to the two?
Me: yes, and both offered me assistantships (not the full story sha, I'd applied to four schools in the Spring '17 admission window and got rejects from all four, didn't see the need to wake 'sleeping dogs')
VO: so why Drexel?
Me: I'd reached out to a professor at Drexel University who shares similar research interests with me and she was excited about the prospect of having me as her student. She urged me to apply and made me an offer as soon as she received my formal application.
VO: what course are you going there to study?
Me: I'm going to Drexel University to pursue a PhD degree in Electrical & Electronics Engineering, specializing in communications engineering
VO: I see you'll be there for 5 years with stipends?
Me: yes
VO: what was your first degree in?
Me: Electrical Engineering
VO: you also have a master's degree?
Me: yes, in Telecommunications Engineering
VO: what are your plans for after your PhD?
Me: I intend to return to Nigeria to take up a lecturing position whilst providing consultancy services when the opportunity presents itself
VO: congratulations on your funding, you'll be picking up your passport in Port Harcourt right?
Me: Yes

Thanks everyone, the transcripts on this thread are invaluable and I'll keep pointing my friends in this direction.
Goodluck to other Fall '17 F1 hopefuls.

On a side note, I saw a guy who came for his interview in shorts and sneakers, his interview was brief and he didn't leave with his passport. He was brimming with confidence and it worked for him, just saying.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 8:45pm On May 23, 2017
You are welcome but sir u can be dropping some littele help you can give before you go pick up your visa. I bliv Not until you get your visa approve before you can contribute and be helpful to others here.

Am sure u are also a guru in your lane. Welcome on board and congratulations on your way to pick ur visa.

Levels731:
I just want to thank the all the contributors of this thread, the way we young Nigerians help out each other on this platform makes me believe that there are still few good Nigerians.

I really really want to thank in a special way:

Lagosismyhome
Walspring
Mayflowa
Femi
And every other senior fellow who I can't remember right now.
I would be going for my interview soon, and I will not relent to also help others by answering their questions when my own visa gets approved by God's grace.
Thanks to you all for all the love and support.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 8:33pm On May 23, 2017
Hmmmm..... I remember this moniker wella
Successjoy:
Greetings to the house
Been a while here.

Please i need someone to help me pay for SEVIS fee at a cheap rate
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 8:03pm On May 23, 2017
Boss calm down, this shouldn't be an issue, the length of program shouldn't hinder your interview success, I have a guy that got visa for same length of period last year and am also going for the same amount of time. Is it a provisional admission? and even at that just prepare very well and explain why you think its that long. Try and check up the department website , am sure you will see the reason why it's that long.

Best of luck

Levels731:
Good day lovely people, please I would be going for my interview soon. The the duration for my Master's degree program is 36months. From what I have seen on this thread so far, everyone going for MSc seems to have a 24month duration. Please is my 36months MSc normallyhuh?

Sometimes I begin to wonder if the extra 12months added to the 24months is for internship, because I was admitted for MSc Electrical Engineering.

Please great people, do people get issued visas for 36months duration MSc.

Cc: Lagosismyhome, justwise, femi123, Walspring, Teewag, etc

This 36month issue has been giving me worries and I have mailed the school severally, but they keep referring me to their course catalog which is of little help
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 6:57pm On May 22, 2017
Check msinus.com usnew.com, gradcafe.com for list of schools then check there requirement...am sure you will get more than enough based on your profile.
mzjennypher:
Thanks so much, i am still at the stage of searching for a school because i dont know ow to go abt. do u have ideas about schools that do not require such?
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 6:50pm On May 22, 2017
slimmy2005:
Please, Lagos and Abuja embassy which one should I use? I applied to only one school, should I tell the VO? I want to use a friends bank statement, does the name matter?
Congratulations... But I will advise u use Lagos, tell VO the truth, you can get a better SOA... Lolzzz #Scammer boss... Abeg come help my hustle
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 6:42pm On May 22, 2017
Congratulations
topdee:
VISA APPROVED THIS MORNING:

My appointment was for 6:30am in Lagos. I was surprised by the crowd I met there. Anyways, while in the hall I noticed many people were denied visa, even some students. I was at the last lane and I noticed the last four people before me were also denied visa. I became anxious and starting thinking about all I memorized, but when it got to my turn I became blank, I forgot all I memorized, my brain was like a formatted disk. I lost confidence, but I maintained eye contact and smiling face.

ME: Good morning (*with a shaky voice*)

VO: Pass me your passport, sevis receipt and i20

ME: *I obliged*

VO: How did you get to know about this school and why this particular school?

ME: (*I forgot what to say and paused for about 3 seconds before responding*)Two friends who are alumni of the school recommended it and I did my research on the school by......vo cuts in*

VO: What did your friends tell you about this school?

ME: My friends already knew my preferred area of research concentration and they made me understand that the school is well equipped to fulfil my research aspirations and the school’s curriculum structure aligns with my research area on sustainable energy development and smart grid, which is basically…...vo cuts in*

VO: What is the curriculum structure and which courses will I be taking?

ME:I listed the courses..... vo cuts in* (Before I finished listing the courses, VO approved my visa)

I was shocked, my mind was elevated and I didn’t even hear any other thing the VO said afterwards. I was so joyous in my mind…..
Anyways, this is my story, I thank everyone here for the transcripts, vital information and assistance directly and indirectly. smiley grin
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 6:36pm On May 22, 2017
Hmmm..... This your package so close to mine. I applied to 5 schools all together and 3 of your school are there.... Like how long did it take auburn to respond.... Partially giving up on them. I got info that most time it takes them 6 weeks to evaluate

iCool:
cheesy cheesy @ bolded.

My brother, decision hasn't been easy.

No funding from LSU and Auburn, had some issues with my application that resulted in late admission.

I still deh look sha - around 18k due to partial funding to attend Tamuk or UofH for a year versus 39k to attend Auburn for same duration. cry

I need about 34k to attend there. Wish I got partial funding.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 6:27pm On May 22, 2017
Baba thank you for this info am sending them a mail this evening..

May God continue to bless you.

femi321:
If you are a first class graduate or someone that just wrote WAEC, this might help you in achieving your dream. If you graduated with a high 2:1, If I were you I would apply too, you never can tell. All the best.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 6:17pm On May 22, 2017
£47000 wouldn't be too much to forfeit when u get a RA stipends in US with full tuition waiver in conjunction with the employment prospect in US compare to Europe. Not to mention the network US school will give u.
But congratulations on your choice.

I did my research then before giving up.

Ask @drHopeful of UVA for more info.
neahyo:
Unfortunately, I would love to write but next year. 47,000 pounds is too much for me to ignore now (lol) but i would contact you anyways. Thanks very much sister, I really appreciate.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 5:45pm On May 22, 2017
You are so on point, they usually employ those that understand there language first although I understand Deutsch to some extent cos I went to there school in Naija to learn the language but I still find there general unemployment rate as a NO NO for me so I opted out

Germany has the best employment rate in Europe I believe but they are very much interested In those that can speak there local language.
LagosismyHome:
The problem with Europe is the lack of english.... yes it help that you can speak english but if you don't speak the local language first and then english as a bonus its a struggle to get a good job... They love their local language and a lot of European countries have high unemployment Italy yes and Spain too

But if you are using it as a temporary passage because of scholarship that fine
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 5:21pm On May 22, 2017
@neayho, congratulations on your Erasmus mundus scholarship and I understand how u feel as I once chased that scholarship but please listen to her advice not to waste this your high CGPA on Erasmus as I thank God I didn't go to Europe for lot of reasons.
@lagosismyhome... My little issue is that am trying to settle down for a partial tuition scholarship with almost same CGPA(3.66/4.00) WES equivalent. I think I understand a bit why I got that but am not convinced enough with the reason am giving myself so am trying to clear my doubt. I already mail you I will give you full download and of my plans thru mail.

Hope to read your reply soon
LagosismyHome:
Dont let this your good cgpa waste at all... with this gpa the easiest way to have gotten funding is to Write GRE, score high and then apply for masters in the USA and not applying without GRE

Anyway since you still want to apply for phd in the US ... then best to take GRE. If u can study hard for it and write it before the master program start that would be better. Send me a pm if you need help in paying for GRE. You have a good gpa . You should have mentioned the above back in sept and i would have sorted you out based on this gpa for sure
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 9:29am On May 22, 2017
Congratulations and like how many% loaded mow, we are waiting to hear ur success story.

ridlaw:
Visa got approved this morning. Thank you Allah. Transcript loading...
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 9:28am On May 22, 2017
Congratulations and like how many % loaded, we re waiting for ur success story man

Onicemus:
Visa approved this morning @abuja embassy transcript loading
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 9:25am On May 22, 2017
Congratulations sir, just go ahead and book your flight grin, Update us with your travel itinerary so we can gladly pick u up. Baba Abeg I need mock interview jhoor.

Thanks in advance.

slimmy2005:
I just received my I-20. Whats the next step.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 9:18am On May 22, 2017
Visa appointment date should still be much available for july, even some dates are still available in may.... Just try again
segunojo866:
Hello my people, am trying to booked appointment for july but no dates available for july. Anyone facing similar issues
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 11:17pm On May 19, 2017
Please ma, u will have to be well compose and be a bit details in your reply, prepare and know well about your new course of study and while you have to switch to the new course.... I guess the second VO saw in the first comment that you didn't know much about the course. I wish you all of us best of luck as we dey same boat #TeamFall2017
Bukiemarian:
Good evening my people,
please, I need input from you and a sincere one.
last August, I was at the embassy with MS admit from Devry university but was delayed, same in october 13th. My detail is, HND Electrical Engineering and Bsc. Physics, I was 32 then and single, working in a commercial bank as information technology officer and the course is Masters in Network and Communication Management with focus on project management. My transcript goes thus...
August 30th

a chinese lady (VO): good morning
me: good morning
VO: pass me your passport and i20
me: obliged
VO: where do you work?
me: Bleep bank,
VO: what is your job role
me: Information technology analyst, supervising the activities of 3 states.
VO: who is your sponsor?
me: my uncle
VO: sorry, I wont be approving your visa.

October 13th

Me- good morning
VO- good morning, can i have your i20?
I passed it across
VO- I can see you were here before, do you know about the course?
Me- I told him its Master's in Network and Communication Management
VO- I won't be approving your visa, you may reapply.
I then asked him what is the problem exactly since I'm being refused on the same ground with the first time, he told me all the reasons are contained in the blue sheet of paper handled to me
Now, I have admission at WIU to pursue MS in Physics, my uncle died last November and I have my mom as my sponsor on my i20 from Western Illinois University I'm single at 33, the course is not related with my work experience, what advise can i get please? Classes start this august. I will so appreciate whoever can give a candid advise and guide. Thank you in anticipation
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 11:08pm On May 19, 2017
Ma, with due respect MA, did u really think u went for interview or just a chat with VO to pick ur visa
.... Congratulations once again. That your chat was interesting go n enjoy trumpland

drhopeful:
This my friend has come again oh! What name will you give me now? If visa approval was never in doubt, I no for go interview. grin tongue

Anyway, I am still praying for you and scholastica. Thanks for your support and encouragement.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 10:55pm On May 19, 2017
Hmmmmm..... This is the best interview I have read so far sorry this is just a conversation not interview. Congratulations
drhopeful:
Visa approved this morning at Lagos Consulate by the purportedly mean Chinese-looking guy. After dishing out blue papers, it finally got to my turn.

VO: Good morning Ma'am
Me: Good morning
VO: What are you going to do in the US?
Me: I am going to study for a PhD in Materials Engineering at the University of Virginia, Charlottesville
VO: Cool. Pass me your documents
Me: [Obliged]
VO: [Critically peruses my I-20 while I stare at him like one mumu girl and then he exclaims...] Wow! You got a full package from UVA! UVA is a great school. I am so excited for you and I can imagine you can't wait to start! Wow! This is nice! Are you excited?
Me: Yes, I am. Thank you. [At this point, I was just too shocked because it was not kind of interview I have been hearing about on here. I expected those their standard questions, which I had ready answers for]
VO: When last were you in the US?
Me: February last year, on vacation
VO: I am still so excited for you!
Me: Thank you
VO: Where is your husband?
Me: He is outside
VO: [Types and stares at his screen...] Honestly, everything looks perfect..... [Hands me white paper]. Enjoy Your studies!
Me: Thank you

End of interview that did not feel like interview. After all my prepped-up answers sad wink grin

Anyways, thanks guys and ladies. You guys have been of immense help on this thread and on the GRE thread. I try my best to help out to the best of my ability. I wish everyone success in their interviews.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 10:49pm On May 19, 2017
Congratulations
mecigr8s:
Firstly, I want to appreciate the Almighty GOD for giving an individual, Seun Osewa, a thought to create an informative forum like this,Nairaland. My big thank you also goes to GUNTHER6 for opening my eyes to the schooling opportunities in the U.S. I never knew until I met him ,through Nairaland. We later met at Iyana-Ipaja in July last year when he was to help me with a GRE voucher. Actually, I wanted to write the GRE in order to meet up with the requirement of FH Aachen, a university in Germany. I had the intention of schooling in Germany before GUNTHER6 made me to understand I could spend less , in U.S, if offered a Graduate Assistantship with a monthly stipend. Immediately I heard this, I started conducting a research about schools in the US, their admission requirements and how to go about funding.
Fast forward to today, I got to the embassy at about 6:10am, kept my bag with a lady towards the entrance of the gate for a fee of #1000( I was actually prepared for it). She helped me with the correct arrangement of documents and told me to join the queue. Security checks took place and documents were inspected; with a barcode glued to the back of my passport. Inside the interview room , biometric documentation was done and I later joined the queue for the interview. I must confess that the processes and procedures before the interview were very thorough.
Here goes the conversation between the Visa Officer ( a lady in window 7) and I:
VO: Good morning (with smiles)
ME: Good morning ( I smiled back at her)
VO: Please, pass me your I-20 and passport
ME: Here they are.
VO: So, you are going to Middle Tennessee State University?
ME: Yes, madam.
VO: What other schools did you apply to?
ME: I applied to three other schools and got admitted in all the schools.
VO: Really? So, why this particular one( referring to Middle Tennessee State University)?
ME: One of my career mentors, Engr. Ad…. , who is also the Factory Engineer of “Blank” Nigeria PLC, where I work as an Industrial Technician, strongly recommended the school for me because he is an alumnus of the school and he told me how attending the school has given his career a lift. Besides, MTSU provides experiential learning opportu…..(cuts in..it’s ok)
VO: What is your highest qualification?
ME: Bachelor of Science in Electrical- Electronics Engineering
VO: When did you graduate?
ME: 2015
VO: What have you been doing since then?
ME: I have been working as an Industrial Technician with “Blanck” Nigeria PLC
VO: Tell me, how are you going to fund your studies?
ME: I have got a full tuition waiver and a monthly stipend through a Graduate Assistantship awarded to me by my department( VO Checks my I-20 and cuts in….. )
VO: It does not cover all your fees.
ME: Yes, the outstanding fee will be taken care of by my dad
VO what does he do.
ME: I told her.
VO: Where are you going to stay when you arrive in US?
ME: I have not made any arrangement for now.
VO: Okay, I will be approving your visa……….
The truth is I promised myself to listen to those words people here do claim not to hear again upon the approval of their visa, but alas, I fell for this “temporary deafness” as well! I couldn’t hear anything again immediately I sighted her circling a portion of the white paper. All that was in my mind was to grab the white paper together with my I-20 and bounce out(LOL). No document was requested . My observation about this interview thing is that the VOs want to see that you are a genuine student. Again, there should not be any discrepancy in the information filled in DS-160 and your response. Confidence, eye contact ,being able to express oneself well are all very important .The very few seconds of interaction ,at times, could be key in determining what the outcome will be.
My appreciation goes to all the contributors in this thread.I may not be able to mention all the monikers here but thanks to Lagosimyhome,Walspring,Femi32,Texrem ,Djmakins, the GRE thread contributors… et all.
My special regards goes to @ Kenkool, who is now an alumnus of MTSU. He has been there for me during the time of application process and he did play a brotherly role through the relevant information he gave .I will not forget in a hurry his contributions in ensuring that the departmental Graduate Assistantship position did not elude me.
For those who may need this information, I will be doing my Master’s in Engineering Technology and here goes my profile( not in any way stellar):
ND, HND and B.Sc ( all in Electrical-Electronics Engineering with an overall GPA of 3.50/4.0 after an official WES evaluation). GRE score is 301( Q 152, Verb 149, AWA 3.5) after I wrote it again; while I had a score of 87 in my TOEFL .
Please, pardon me; an epistle it is!
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 10:38pm On May 19, 2017
Congratulations
mecigr8s:
I got my visa approved this morning at the Lagos Consulate.Transcript loading.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 10:28pm On May 19, 2017
Hello ma, please calm down and don't sound as if you memories, I didn't even see the VO next question before posting my first comment on it. Sorry to say but u really need to work on most response and give beat possible answer relevant to his question. Please download also the 3 word soc containing transcripts at the beginning of this thread and digest them.

Please don't look too desperate and keep calm when responding. I haven't done one before but I do read transcripts here ma. Best of luck ma

gaviria:
Good morning all. I'm a new member but I've been following so many threads on Nairaland since last year including this one without registering as a member. Everything has been going smoothly, i learned a lot. And it helped me in my GRE and TOEFL where I scored 312 and 100 respectively. But now I have an issue. And please I need the gurus in the house (walspring, imperioxx and other) to help. I don't know what the issue is. I applied for visa last month during the interview I wasn't all that prepared, so I stammered in the first question which was "Why did you choose this course?". I answered because I want to specialize in control Engineering which is a branch of electrical engineering and I enjoyed the theory behind it when I was an undergraduate, it was interesting and challenging " and every other question was just a formality. Me myself I knew I messed up so I didn't care much when she gave me the blue slip. But since that day I've been preparing hard for the interview the second time. I had an answer to virtually all the questions that could be asked because I read a lot of transcript and put down my answers, read them and knew them like the back of my hands. So I went for the interview yesterday again. And this was the transcript
Greetings and pass me your passport and i20
VO: Why are you going to the US?
Me: I'm going for my masters degree in Electrical and electronics engineering at the southern Illinois university in edwardsville, and I chose this school because it's one of the best schools in the Midwestern region of the United States in Electrical Engineering according to usnews.com and forbes.com, and most of the professors in the department are Ivy League trained which is synonymous to having an Ivy League education at a cheaper rate, like professor Tim York of the department who won the 2016 IEEE award of the year for his research paper on "Polarization on image sensoring" and they also have excellent research laboratories and facilities that'll aid in the advancement of my career in this field so that when I come back to the country I can be able to put my skills to work in the power sector of the country as power is one of the major issues we're facing in the country I'd like to come back and contribute my quota to the improvement and development of the sector. (P.S: I said every word)

VO: Where did you learn about all these you just said?
Me: I went online to know more about the school because the last time I came I couldn't explain my situation very well.

VO: Who's paying for this trip?
Me: My Dad.

VO: what does he do?
Me: He'a a renowned lawyer with his own firm and he has about 10 associates working for him.

VO: What are the qualifications needed for this course or something (I didn't hear him very well, but I heard qualifications)
Me: I have a bachelors degree in computer engineering from the university of Lagos.

VO: Have you ever traveled out?
Me: I went for an AIESEC conference in Ghana when I was an undergraduate. (First interview I said the same thing but I forgot to put it in my first DS-160, but I put it in the second DS-160 that I've traveled to Ghana before)

VO: Where do you work currently?
Me: I just completed my National Youth service in April this year as I graduated in November 2015.
(In My DS-160 that place they asked for employment status and all, I put Where I worked during my service year.)

VO: Are you married?
Me: No, I'm just 24 *laughs* .. VO laughed too and said "you never know".

Types for like 3 minutes non stop. And told me sorry you're not eligible at this time. I was weak, because I answered all the questions with so much fluency, I didn't stammer one time. I was just flowing. Please help me what can I do? I want to go for the third time asap because I have the answers to every technical question they can ask. Thanks a lot for the help.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 by princeGee23: 10:18pm On May 19, 2017
Sorry for your delay but seeing your first response it shows u memories yoyr answer and didn't really answer the question. Let me continue reading your transcript. I know gurus in the house will have started attending to the case.
But you for don ask for help after first attempt and shouldn't think you can do it alone. No one os Awade. Sorry for the delay once again
gaviria:
Good morning all. I'm a new member but I've been following so many threads on Nairaland since last year including this one without registering as a member. Everything has been going smoothly, i learned a lot. And it helped me in my GRE and TOEFL where I scored 312 and 100 respectively. But now I have an issue. And please I need the gurus in the house (walspring, imperioxx and other) to help. I don't know what the issue is. I applied for visa last month during the interview I wasn't all that prepared, so I stammered in the first question which was "Why did you choose this course?". I answered because I want to specialize in control Engineering which is a branch of electrical engineering and I enjoyed the theory behind it when I was an undergraduate, it was interesting and challenging " and every other question was just a formality. Me myself I knew I messed up so I didn't care much when she gave me the blue slip. But since that day I've been preparing hard for the interview the second time. I had an answer to virtually all the questions that could be asked because I read a lot of transcript and put down my answers, read them and knew them like the back of my hands. So I went for the interview yesterday again. And this was the transcript
Greetings and pass me your passport and i20
VO: Why are you going to the US?
Me: I'm going for my masters degree in Electrical and electronics engineering at the southern Illinois university in edwardsville, and I chose this school because it's one of the best schools in the Midwestern region of the United States in Electrical Engineering according to usnews.com and forbes.com, and most of the professors in the department are Ivy League trained which is synonymous to having an Ivy League education at a cheaper rate, like professor Tim York of the department who won the 2016 IEEE award of the year for his research paper on "Polarization on image sensoring" and they also have excellent research laboratories and facilities that'll aid in the advancement of my career in this field so that when I come back to the country I can be able to put my skills to work in the power sector of the country as power is one of the major issues we're facing in the country I'd like to come back and contribute my quota to the improvement and development of the sector. (P.S: I said every word)

VO: Where did you learn about all these you just said?
Me: I went online to know more about the school because the last time I came I couldn't explain my situation very well.

VO: Who's paying for this trip?
Me: My Dad.

VO: what does he do?
Me: He'a a renowned lawyer with his own firm and he has about 10 associates working for him.

VO: What are the qualifications needed for this course or something (I didn't hear him very well, but I heard qualifications)
Me: I have a bachelors degree in computer engineering from the university of Lagos.

VO: Have you ever traveled out?
Me: I went for an AIESEC conference in Ghana when I was an undergraduate. (First interview I said the same thing but I forgot to put it in my first DS-160, but I put it in the second DS-160 that I've traveled to Ghana before)

VO: Where do you work currently?
Me: I just completed my National Youth service in April this year as I graduated in November 2015.
(In My DS-160 that place they asked for employment status and all, I put Where I worked during my service year.)

VO: Are you married?
Me: No, I'm just 24 *laughs* .. VO laughed too and said "you never know".

Types for like 3 minutes non stop. And told me sorry you're not eligible at this time. I was weak, because I answered all the questions with so much fluency, I didn't stammer one time. I was just flowing. Please help me what can I do? I want to go for the third time asap because I have the answers to every technical question they can ask. Thanks a lot for the help.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 (of 7 pages)