@Shy-one: Thank you so much for shedding some light on this issue. I honestly had a feeling it had something to do with what you just said. It really baffles me b/c their parents knew my parents so for them to not have known seems very strange. I appreciate your advice but it's just not in my nature to hide who I am just to appease others
couple of things could be wrong. . .u might be a plain jane. .Nigerian guys like our girls with some little excitement to them. .perhaps a big ole Bottom, some attitude, big lips, big hips whateva
Perhaps they are all already hooked
perhaps they are still in their white girl dating phase
I know that when i was in the states, i dated white chicks for a while then switched to AA chicks, then African chicks and finally only Naija chicks
so give it some time
could be also cause u are mixed. . its wierd but am in the point in my life that i only want a Nigerian chick by my side. .preferably igbo. .
oh well. . be cool
I'm quite endowed physically actually, so I don't think that should be a problem. Thanks for the advice.
BABE!: One piece of Advice: You need to tone your "akataness" down--- Finito! You're a fine babe, so no worries. I like your hair btw.
tpia@: yes, i like the hair too.
Thank you---
dayokanu: I dont think it has anything to do with your American side.
What are the ages of the people involved
Earlier 20s - late 20s
@ Everyone: Thanks for the comments. I Really appreciate them.
Nayah: I don't think so maybe felt insecure or have some stereotypes about being Non-Nigerian because they might think you don't know Nigerian culture, but this is not all NIGERIANS who think like that to my opinion
Don't worry, I know not all Nigerian guys are like this. I just wanted to hear what others had to say on the whole thing. So far the information I've been provided has been great.
Long One: Ha ha, that’s the spirit girl. Tpia has given you good advice. There is always this thing about not being ‘one of us’. It is has to be either black or white, never grey. People will always be judgemental/tribalistic/racist, but do not let that get you down. Anyone who doesn’t see you for who you are isn’t worth it.
Live your life and enjoy it.
Ah ha, I had a feeling it was something like that. Well, these are good guys so I'll try my best to get along with them. If dem no gree, I go comot.
@Potato:
Thanks for the advice. I'll let you all know how things fo with them. I feel very optimistic.
tpia@: poster, next time, in a gathering, dont volunteer personal information about yourself especially as relates to your background.
just chat about general issues, or join them in whatever they're talking about.
I didn't really volunteer it. Its a known fact among our parents that my mom isn't Nigerian. I guess they just didn't know. Strange though. I'll surely take your advice though.
NaJa HaJe: this might come back and bite me in the Bottom but , hehehehehehehehehehehehehe
@ PureOhio
Nigerians really are friendly people. It may have more to do with personal characteristics rather than a general attribute within a particular race.
lol, I know my people are friendly. That's why I'm here
Basseti: I dont think that matters one bit. Nigerian guys date/marry girls that are 100 percent AA; why do you think they will have issues with someone that is 50 percent akata and 50 percent naija?
This is hard to say (given the way wey naija guys eyes dey chook when it comes to babes ) but maybe they were not interested in you romantically and just wanted to chat about naija stuff. When they found out that your mom is AA, they might have figured (rightly or wrongly) that you had nothing to contribute to the conversation.
This a lot to think about.
Long One: Plus, can u speak pidgin/broken English? Learning to communicate that way instead of using the American accent, may help too you know?
Are u familiar with the naija way, particularly the delicacies? Goat head pepper soup, suya, edikai ikong with pounded yam, isi-ewu? Damn, my mouth is watering, lol.
Maybe they feel you can’t/don’t contribute to their discussions.
Yes, I'm familiar with all those thing. I dey speak pidgin well well. In fact, I dey speak am pass dem. See, its not perfect pidgin but its good enough
tpia@: wa, you seem rather unfamiliar with nigerian attitudes.
all this tiptoeing aint gonna work.
were you very sheltered from all these nigerian miscreants wahala while growing up?
just curious.
I wouldn't say I was sheltered. I ry not to group people together just because one person decides to act up
It isn't fair to everyone else. Ya know what I mean?
I know Naija lingo and I'm familiar with the language and culture. Like I said in the other thread, my dad is Nigerian and my mom used to live in Nigeria so it's not like I'm totally out of the loop. I've had my fair share of nonsense guys in the market area when I go home
ragdollz: PureOhio a word in your ear: 190 is a notorious female stalker here: look how he "rushed" u. Take my advice and avoid such hoodlums
So I hear. Seems like a bad dude. I can tell he has a reputation here. Thanks for the advice.
jay bee: Are you sure they didn't lose interest cos of the way you came across? Men don't usually lose interest by having mere conversations especially to pretty girls like you. We only lose interest if the girl comes across has having some loose bolts in her head or just plain dumb/arrogant. Anyhoo, ain't nothing wrong with you, you just need to look outside of your comfort zone.
Honestly, I can't really afford to be rude or mean to these guys or anyone else for that matter. Their family and my family are in the same circle of Nigerian friends. Even if I hated them, I'm kinda stuck with them for the next couple of years lol. My father and their parents grew up in the same area, went to the same schools, traveled to the same places so we're all pretty much tied to each other whether we like it or not. I'm sure you kinda see where I'm going with this.
And thank you for the compliment.
190_@: Pumpkin- Dont get angry OK since u dont want my money
Tell me what u want -
- I can send you to college and buy you new dresses to make you more presentable to Nigerians
I Just saw your pic - can u give a young efficent good looking handsome romantic guy like me
a chance
My assets include
3 cars back in Nigeria
An oil ring in warri
A swimming pool
If you date me -
You stand a chance to win
An LED TV
A Nitendo Wii
2 weeks holiday to the bahama's
A Trip to Nigeria ( Inclusive of all sorted Nigerian dishes )
and a brand new BMX bicycle
- Now would you date me - cos i think im in Lurv with you
Cars? Swimming pool? Nintendo? Why would any of those things matter to me?
A man's possessions aren't what my heart wants.
Ms. Potato: The best way to find out is to ask them. Since u said the older brothers were the one that introduced you to them, than ask those older brothers instead and tell them about your concerns.
Cause I honestly dont think its about your nationality.
Good idea. Some of my parents friends will be in Cleveland this week for a fund raiser so I'll try asking the guys when I see them. I sure hope your right though because this has happened to me before with other Nigerian guys.
Ms. Potato: I dont think its about your nationality. I know Nigerians are one of the most friendliest people on this planet and I dont think they actually give a toss about a persons nationality or race.
I think it has sumthin to do with your character or maybe you have said sumthin that offended them
But I didn't say anything bad or offensive.
In fact, one of the older brothers of the guys introduced me to them and they were all cool with me.
190_@: No wonder AA's are on this site looking for di[i]c[/i]ks all around
Please don't say that. I really am looking for an answers. My Nigerian heritage is as much a part of me as my American heritage
I went to a Nigerian get together in Atlanta recently, and I met some really nice Nigerian guys. They were all cool and assumed both my parents were Nigerians, then they found out my mom was an African American and they totally lost interest in me.
That hadn't been the first time I'm experiencing stuffs like this from Nigerian guys. What's up with that?
My Dad is a Nigerian, while my Mum is an AA. She lived in Nigeria for very a significant period of time and she's very familiar with the culture (so, it's not as if my parents are "non-Nigerians".
I like Nigerian guys, but I don't know what's up with them? I don't wanna lie about where I come from. What do I do guys? Your input and advice will be appreciated.